Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central Alabama Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/17/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are trying to stay close to home.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes because it's close to home.

    Will learn a lot

    Not for the field i plan on going into.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy every moment of it. If your not ready for the major universities, this would be a good choice. It helps you get a foot in the door on what to expect.

    Am learning a lot

    The classroom sizes are very efficient to 1 on 1 interactions with the teachers.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great for all types of students. There is no discrimination.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in the books and learn as much as possible. Stay competitive and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is easy on the tuition and very comfortable with assisting with educational futures.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying my time at Central Alabama Community College. This school has given me a second family.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much information on different ideas and abilities in life. My journey of learning is only to continue.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXCELLENT!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pond is very scenic and down to earth.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for AND MORE!

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the campus. Work out in the gym. Hang with some buddies . Go walk around the peaceful pond on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are mainly sports based.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard but it will definitely prepare you for your four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school and attempt to get a scholarship!

    In three sentences

    Outstanding college in preparation for a 4 year university. You really get what you are paying for. The faculty actually know your name and care about you and your goals in life.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    little to no safety issues. very quiet setting.

    Greek Life

    phi-theta (?)

    Clubs and Activities

    student government association, cultural unity organization, circle k, or create a new club. needs more student involvement.

    Great for these types of students

    for the students with families, returning students, and recent high school students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    spring fling/ fall fest - parties.

    Bang for the buck

    free wifi. simple and light workload.

    What to do for fun

    free wifi.

    Food and Dining

    no food services but there are restaurants nearby and a bookstore that sells small microwave meals.

    Dorm Life

    there is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    classes aren't that difficult. keep up with the course work and you should be fine. simple and light workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your instructors and how they operate. most are personable. read any first class handouts for syllabus.

    In three sentences

    the school is very convenient, small, and staff members are kind. the student government association hosts a spring fling and fall fest annually for students, staff, and faculty - free.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    In three sentences

    It's like still being in high school.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This campus is composed of two buildings. You could go to Cheaha Mountain for a good adventure.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines only.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories on the Talladega Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes require more effort than others. Be prepared to study to make your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to go to school here, do try to apply for scholarships. Students need to make sure that you keep your business in order.

    In three sentences

    For a starting college, Central Alabama Community College is a decent school. I have enjoyed my teachers, and they are very willing to help their students. This is a beginning school, though, so do not plan on staying very long.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very secure campus. They have security presence visable thorough out the day and security steps in place for the students and workers.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs available on some campus

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need to work on-line. They offer hybrid class for those who need a mix Offer classes that can fit a working persons schedule. Great for the students who are parents and need a bit of flexability.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best deals going to get the most bang for you buck. You can attent most times with FAFSA fund if you qualify and have a refund to help with school needs.

    What to do for fun

    They have some clubs and sports teams on some of their campus.

    Food and Dining

    No dining facilities availabe but they are close to many of the towns resturants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    They have a top notch curriculum at this school. You will have to appy yourself if you want to succeed. This school offers great connections to higher education once you complete your associate's degree there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your FAFSA as soon as possible and have an undrstanding of the loan proccess. Come prepared to learn and apply time good time managment skill. Put forth the best effort you can and you will be successful.

    In three sentences

    I know Central Alabama Community College is a top notch school. The teachers go out of their way to make sure you understand the material they are covering. The information covered for a certain subject is always relevant and up to date; I feel I can you the material to be successful in what ever career I choose to go into.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Great for these types of students

    People who get home sick can stay near family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    It is not expensive at all>.

    What to do for fun

    I stay ten minutes away so hanging out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    Neither food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the one i attended.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes it is tough but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a great community college Central Alabama is great and helpful to getting your degree.

    In three sentences

    Central Alabama is a great community college and i have learned so much here. Everybody is so helpful in assisting me in every process needed. I am sad that ill be graduating but thank everyone there, they are real professionals.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always stay safe. No alcohol or drugs on campus. Can't risks getting kick out of school

    Clubs and Activities

    When life is busy by filling with clubs and other activities, life will fly so quick that you won't ever become bored.

    Bang for the buck

    Save a penny, so one day it will become a dollar that may avoid bank fee.

    What to do for fun

    Helping people and performs community services. Interacting new people and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Foods and dining are important to energize and promotes one mind. 10/10

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life. Living on your own is hard. Do what you must in order to succeed. 10/10

    Academic Rigor

    Be the best that you are. Settle for the moon never anything less. Academic 10/10

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Make sacrifices. Aim for the moon.

    In three sentences

    Hard to find financial support here during the summer term. But overall, education requires great amount of knowledge and with knowledge come greater expenses because the rewards are well worth it toward the end. I will rate 10/10.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at Central Alabama Community College. However, I do feel it is somewhat sketchy that we have ex criminals working around campus as a jail work release thing. It kind of sets an awkward feeling when you walk by a worker.

    Clubs and Activities

    Central Alabama Community College does offer some clubs and activities. However, the clubs tend to not be as active as they should be. I was a member of the Student Government Association, and I do not recall us ever actually following through with a plan.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe CACC is great for the types of students who are not yet to move away to a bigger school. Since CACC is so close to most of the local high schools, it has the feel of high school still. Most students still live at home during the years at Central Alabama. If a student is very close to the family, CACC might be the best choice.

    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to a four year institution, CACC is a great money saver! Tuition is more than half of that at UAB. I believe this is what attracts most students to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Since Central Alabama is a community college there is not much for students to do for fun. Students usually just get together and go to the movies in Birmingham.

    Food and Dining

    Central Alabama Community College does not really offer too much when it comes to food. The Alex City campus has a collegiate deli, but I myself have not had an opportunity to see if it is any good. The only other places for students to eat is at nearby fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Unfourtunately CACC does not have any dorms unless you are on the baseball team. I believe this is a huge set back to the whole college-feel of CACC. However, I have heard that the baseball dorms are quite nice, I just cannot speak from experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students believe a community college would just be a breeze, but Central Alabama Community College (CACC) is far from this. Students will quickly learn that this is a real college and the classes are tough. Teachers will definitely not leave students much slack when it comes to assignments. By far the hardest class I have taken while attending CACC, would have to be Chemistry with Mr. Joseph Branch. I would suggest any student to take his class to see how serious of a college CACC is.

    Tips for prospective students

    To any prospective students, I would say do not take the community college lightly. It is school, and I do believe some students brush it off and say it is not a real college. That belief process is completely off. Central Alabama Community College is a great learning experience and should be fully taken advantage of. Students must have a open mind in order to appreciate what this college has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Central Alabama Community College is a great learning experience. The small town environment helps for easy adaptation from high school to college life. I would highly recommend students to attend Central Alabama Community College before entering a four-year institution.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    C.A.C.C. has a retired Alabama State Trooper who makes regular rounds around campus to ensure student safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    C.A.C.C. boasts very active chapters of both the Student Government Association and the Circle K Service Organization. It also has an award-winning chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

    Great for these types of students

    Central Alabama is great for students fresh out of high school who aren't ready for the full college experience that a four-year institution has to offer or who aren't positive about what they want to do yet. It's also great for those who can't afford the high tuition prices of four-year universities.

    What to do for fun

    As C.A.C.C. is a junior college, there is not much in the way of extracurricular activities. However, the college does boast various athletic teams, an on-campus gym, and numerous clubs. It also hosts a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. There is a bowling alley and various other opportunities for fun located close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small deli on campus that serves excellent sandwiches for lunch and that also has a good breakfast as well.

    Dorm Life

    As C.A.C.C. is a junior college, it does not have on-campus dorms. However, there is a small apartment complex located directly off campus that mostly houses players of the college's various athletic teams.

    Academic Rigor

    Central Alabama boasts several teachers who hold Master's and Doctoral degrees in their respective fields. They encourage academic excellence in all of their students and are willing to do whatever necessary to see that their students reach their full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Central Alabama is a great school with professors who actually care about their students' success. It's a small community but it offers a great experience. Also, a new system has just been implemented campus-wide that has caused some problems with getting information to students. The college administration is doing its best to get the problems fixed as quickly as possible, so just be patient.

    In three sentences

    The staff at C.A.C.C. is always willing to lend a helping hand to both current and potential students. C.A.C.C. is a great institution to help students transition from high school to college, as well as being helpful to those who haven't attended school in a while. The only complaint I have is that class registration is chaotic.

  • 10/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We always have a police officer on campus, and he is always visible.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa Student Government Association

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking to save money before you transfer to a university then this is the option for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We really no not have any unusual traditions or locations.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater and a bowling alley near by. There is a few places to shop, but not very much of a variety.

    Food and Dining

    They do not have any places that are joined to the college. However, restaurants are only a few minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm available at Central Alabama. Most student live on their own or they live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes that are offered here, and a few that are not. Talk to advisors and see if the classes you need are available. The teachers always want you to do your best and they will do anything to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always apply for classes as soon as you can, because some great teachers fill up fast. If you have an online class you need to check for work regularly. Also, if you ever need help, just ask.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very helpful. Every single teacher that I have had has become someone that I know I can go to for anything. I feel like Central Alabama has helped me grow as a person.