Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Central Arizona College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    focus & concentrate & pay attention

    Bang for the buck

    good

    Am enjoying being here

    good

    Am learning a lot

    Good

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you're worried about campus safety, then this is definitely a school you want to think about going to. CAC is equipped with a 24/7 fully trained police force, not just the rent-a-cops you might see on other campuses. All of the officers there are fully trained and are able to handle almost any situation that needs their assistance. They're all also former police officers from other city's police forces, so you can rest assured knowing that they are the best protection you can get for any college campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college is more cost efficient then attending a university right away, and the same can be said for CAC. They offer a wide variety of options to help you pay for school, and their classes won't pull as much out of your wallet as a university might. The dorms are offered at a surprisingly low cost as well, so if you're thinking about on campus housing then they're definitely something you want to think about looking into.

    What to do for fun

    Different kinds of fun activities take place throughout the year on campus. Several times a month, an open mic contest is held in the Vicaro Lounge, a place for students to get together and hang out. A few times a semester, concerts have been preformed in the grassy area between buildings, affectionately nicknamed the green. Various other fun events are held around campus, like sports competitions. Basketball and dodge ball competitions have been held on camps before for teams of students that signed up to participate.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different places to eat around campus, weather you're looking for a quick snack, or a meal between classes. The easiest places to get two are the main cafeteria, which offers access to a full all-you-can-eat bar ranging anywhere from $5 to $12 dollars a person depending on what meal is being served. Right next to the cafeteria is the Top of the Stairs snack-bar. Its not just for snacking however, they have a full grill in the back where you can purchase burgers, pizza, or even chicken strips or veggie burgers. There is also a salad bar, and every morning they have an assortment of pastries for sale. In the mood for just a snack? Try the brownies, they're definitely worth the dollar you'll spend on them. Located on the opposite end of campus is another snack-bar, though this one is just for that purpose, snacks. Here you can purchase chips, soda, water, pastries, and a few other snack foods to help keep your stomach from rumbling during classes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at CAC are really great. The main campus offers three different types of student housing; towers, quads, and suites. All of the dorms have internet access, though only in the tower dorms will you not be able to access the school's wifi. The quads ans suites are similar in the fact that they are composed of four rooms, two bathrooms, and a living room. Two people share each room, and four people share the bathroom. The only difference between the suites and quads is that the quads are one story, the suites are two story. The towers are a three story building with the top two floors made up of the dorm rooms, very similar to how apartment spaces are laid out. Two side by side rooms are connected by a shared bathroom, and again its two people to each room. For the towers, an Ethernet cable is required. Living in the dorms gives students another benefit, a nineteen-meal-per-week plan that gives you access to, well, nineteen meals a week in the school's cafeteria. Students also have access to washers and dryers in several laundry rooms located around the dorm areas, however, they don't come free, you'll need a prepaid laundry card in order to use them. You can get this card easily though, and reload it whenever the need arises.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered at CAC will definitely put you to the test, but they aren't as scary as one might come to believe. Your professors will push you to do your best, but unlike in high school, they won't take any late assignments or accept any make up work if you're failing the class because of your own mistakes. All of the classes offer their own challenges, but if you just do the work correctly and study for tests, then I can assure you that you'll be fine. Every class has a different challenge to it, for example, if you're taking a biology class, its much more then just learning about evolution and what we're made up of. The challenge to the class is doing all of the labs correctly, and doing well on the tests, as well as learning about the building blocks of life, and how to apply what you learned in the class to other aspects of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for prospective students would be to take full advantage of any tours offered around campus. Its easy to get lost if you don't know where you're headed, so taking a tour could save you a lot of time getting to class. Another good tip is to apply for on campus housing if you're able to; the dorms there are great because they allow you to be living right there on campus so you don't have to worry about driving to school every day in order to attend classes. My final tip would be to talk with the advisers there to find out if the degree you want to go in for is offered there at the school. Finding out later that the degree you want isn't offered there is never a good thing.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College is a wonderful place to go for students starting a college career right out of high school, or adults returning to school to get their degrees. Everyone on campus, from students to teachers, is very open and friendly, and more then willing to show new students around. The main campus itself is rather large, but being nestled at the base of a mountain, displays beautiful scenery and provides an excellent place to star gaze at night for any astronomy students.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    They have large variety of classes you can take. It's grown since I was there in 2002.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all you can out of the classes, you won't be sorry.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for credits are only $62.00 a credit.

    Will enjoy being here

    The teachers were very good.

    Will learn a lot

    I enjoyed the school very much. I would love to attend full time.

  • 11/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Athletes - Artistically driven - People looking for a college experience before they're thrown out with the BIG DOGS.

    Tips for prospective students

    * Don't be afraid to get your work done early! * If you have a question about ANYTHING, ASK!! * Go to every athletic event you can =) * Go to ANY school event you can, you'll meet great people on the way. * (Sounds cheezy!!..but) BE YOU! No one is worth changing for and people like to try and influence you, but it's all a game. DON'T play it. =)

    Bang for the buck

    Taking advantage of going to a Junior College before a University is a smart move. You get classes out of the way that would be twice as expensive at a University while getting accurate and most importantly, friendly help.

    Am enjoying being here

    It may sound crazy because this is a JC, but I LOVE being here! Because it is such a small college, everyone knows each other (even people that don't live on campus!!) which regardless of drama is a great experience. I would definately say that getting involved and being yourself will pay off in the long run, it has for me & I'm not even at my 2nd year here. =)

    Am learning a lot

    I'm not only learning curriculum here at CAC but I'm learning so much about living on campus, staying on track, and setting goals that will take me to a 4-year university after this.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types young and old =D

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure classes you are needing to take will be transferable if you plan on attending a University later on.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricing is comparable to other Community Colleges and much less than what it would cost to attend a University within the first two years of college.

    Will enjoy being here

    After many years of being out of school will enjoy being there to earn my associates.

    Will learn a lot

    After many years of being out of school, I feel your never too old to learn something new.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    70 dollars a credit hour

    What to do for fun

    attend sports games

    Food and Dining

    hope they have a variety

    Dorm Life

    looking into getting a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    decent

    Tips for prospective students

    take online classes

    In three sentences

    Great online classes, teachers are hilarious, administration needs to lighten up, student employees are all girls which i hate because its sexist

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are posts around the campus and security guards are always roaming around on golf carts.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs on campus and phi theta kappa is always doing something!

    Food and Dining

    while there is no cafeteria, the bookstore does offer snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on-campus so i'm not sure..

    Academic Rigor

    much of the work is challenging but if you put yourself into it, easy to overcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    cac offers an honors program for high achieving, which many other cc do not.

    In three sentences

    small class sizes and caring staff keep your learning at a high level. the smc campus is currently expanding and will allow for state-of-the-art teaching. easy tuition, you definitely get more than you pay for.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I visited the campus over spring break even though Coolidge is deserted from what I saw the campus was still really nice and it is not that far from the city. I could just picture like where events would happen and I could really see myself having a fun there next fall. Since I am probably going to take the community college route to a university I think that school is as close as you can get to the university experience.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus. They have a police training course on campus as well as a Fireman's course. Security is very noticeable.

    Clubs and Activities

    CAC is very active for their size. They have clubs like Art club, Campus Crusade for Christ, Business Club, Funny Biz, HOSA, Phi Theta Kappa, Stem, and several others. All of these clubs are very active and a positive influence on the campus

    Great for these types of students

    Beginning, on-line and returning students who do not have a bachelors degree. There are so many different classes to choose from, and CAC has a lot of different campuses. This college is a low cost alternative to the high cost of education. You can get a great education.It will prepare you for your future as well getting you ready for the 4-year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very low, the education is well worth the $72.00 credit hour. CAC has several degree programs that are transferable to 4-year colleges. I am taking advantage of one of their programs that allows me to take 90 credits at CAC that transfer to NAU and I will only need 30 credits to get my Bachelors from NAU. That is a huge savings.

    What to do for fun

    CAC has a lot of activities for students. They also have a great intramural program. They have a work out center and a pool. Their athletic programs are one of the best in the country.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a variety of food choices available. The choices are abundant, the quality of the food is good for the price. They have 2 cafeterias to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    They have a dormitory on campus I do not use it. The students that I talk to seem to enjoy the experience. the cost is very reasonable. CAC does have a awesome student activities program.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at CAC are designed to make you think critically. They are real world based with and will help prepare you for your future. Choose classes that required for your degree, but also the must be of interest to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The curriculum at CAC is very challenging, and requires dedication and commitment to studying and participating in the subject matter. College is very fast paced and needs to be taken seriously. Your GPA is very important in getting scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Their online classes utilize the blackboard instructional method, and they are very good. The support you receive is very useful. The feedback from the professors is prompt and conducive to a good learning atmosphere,

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for those who seek a smooth of a high school-college transition as possible and/or feel they might not quite be ready for a university experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the assignments, take advantage of the free tutoring that is offered in the Learning Center, and you are bound to go far.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to MCC, and even Estrella Mountain Community College where I'm going to be finishing my junior college experience in the fall, CAC is certainly a little cheaper in the tuition department. Additionally, they are willing to offer scholarships to achieving high school students - tuition for my entire four semesters at CAC were paid for by their Academic Scholarship. Additionally, it's possible to receive even more scholarship money if you qualify for the Honors program.

    Did enjoy being here

    The Superstition Mountain Campus, where I attended, is small and doesn't quite have as many classes as the main campus in Coolidge. However, the small class sizes creates a very personalized learning environment with professors who, for the most part, are readily accessible by e-mail or during office hours for help.

    Did learn a lot

    In my experience at Central Arizona College, I have taken a variety of classes, and in each one I took I picked up something new. In particular, the school's Honors program is an excellent opportunity to truly go in-depth in topics that matter to you - and whether you're in the main campus's Honors class or the Superstition Mountain campus class, with either one you're bound to have a quality experience.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ones who enjoy the heat

    Tips for prospective students

    bring shorts

    Bang for the buck

    cheap tuition lots of classes

    Am enjoying being here

    defiantly enjoying it great campus

    Am learning a lot

    definitely learning

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The tuition isn't much, and if you've received a scholarship to attend here, I suggest you take advantage of it. They have a wonderful Learning and Tutoring Center, both of which are free to use at your disposal. All the professors I've had so far have been excellent.

    Am learning a lot

    I didn't think that I would really like college, but I've gotten to know quite a bit of nice and very intelligent people. The teachers are very helpful and they are always ready to help you achieve your next academic goal.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small enviroment and get more personal with the teacher and classmates. It's perfect for students who want to start slow.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emails go out if there are any security problems which is nice.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Course work can be difficult, but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up for and do all of your coursework. Teachers are good to you as long as you don't just mess around.

    In three sentences

    The campus is kept clean. The Teachers are all very helpful. The Advisors show me what courses to take to get the degree I want.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make friends and go out. Go swimming, to the movies, the park, or go watch some of the games that are held there on campus like baseball and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great for those students, like me, that can't be buying food or eating out all the time. What's wrong with this is that you don't get to pick what you want to eat, so sometimes your not in the mood to eat what they serve.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! It is fun, safe, and a great experience. The only bad thing is when you have those irresponsible or immature students around.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are well explanatory and give the right amount of homework for you to understand what is being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many classes as possible and make sure they are transferable credits if you are planning to transfer. Also, don't procrastinate because it will sneak up on you.

    In three sentences

    Central is a school that gives first time college students, like my self, a feel for what to expect in the bigger schools. It is a school that some say far enough, but close enough. This school is a great place for new comers or those that would just like a quick and easy education.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts, and focused students.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Great! I actually learn and focus on my GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for success.

    In three sentences

    The school provides students with an intimate opportunity to learn the course material. Also CAC provides students with a guaranteed transfer to Arizona public universities with the TAP programs and major maps. Central Arizona College is a great rate school.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There food is pretty good and they have a buffet and some little shops.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived there.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here give just the right amount of work and study you need to better your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to talk to your teachers. They are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The teacher's there are very helpful and caring. I have been to two universities and I still prefer this community college.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a million clubs and activities to keep you active and apart of the community.

    What to do for fun

    Us your imagination. There is an open field, rodeo grounds, baseball field, track, gym and student lounge. As long as you are willing to meet people and put yourself out there then you won't be bored often.

    Food and Dining

    I personally LOVED the food. Also the staff is always super nice, although they change often. My morning class started at 7:30 and since the cafeteria doesn't open until 7:15 they would always work with me so I'd be feed.

    Dorm Life

    If you aren't careful you can find yourself in situations that are harmful to you physically and academically. Besides that they are nice and accommodating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become friends with your advisers and professors, they know the system better then you. Find friends who lift you up and support you. A good support system can make or break college.

    In three sentences

    I love Central Arizona College. The academic advisers and professors really care about me and want me to succeed. The small classroom environment allows me to have access to everything available to me.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus.They have many teachers and students.There's always someone watching out.

    Greek Life

    At Central Arizona College they have no Greek life.They have other cultures like Spanish,French and Chinese.I think it would be nice if they added Greek in their.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have to admit the clubs and activities are the best.They have fun classes like Culinary art,dance,drama and many more.Clubs and activities are what make you hype up and wake you up.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for so many people.They have day an night school.You can even do classes online to get ahead.Since it's a community college many people know each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many restaurants in their.Central Arizona doesn't really have unusual traditions but they do celebrate the day they opened the college.It's one of the biggest events at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck it's pretty good.It's a price that satisfied lots of people.

    What to do for fun

    School isn't for fun.Just make sure you enjoy the career you are going for.Do something you know you'll give your best at.

    Food and Dining

    Food here looks really good but it's expensive.You might as well go off campus and eat somewhere cheap.Plus you can go home and eat instead.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not really the best.The prices are really high and if you don't get good grades they kick you out.Also you stay with people you don't know at all.

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't really much academic rigor.It all depends on your actions and how you chose to act.If your doing good then you won't here anyone rigor at you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go for what you want in life.Try before accepting failure.If you don't ever try you wont know how great you are at many things.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona college is a very good school.They have many different careers possible and it's close to home.Also,they have really nice people working their.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very friendly and up to date campus police.

    Bang for the buck

    Same education, if not better than a University for a fraction of the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Many activities to do as well as clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Can not complain for your typical lunch compared to high school.

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some parts will be hard while other parts will be fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, Fill out FAFSA immediately, and register for classes as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly Professors. Administration not so organized. Campus life is wonderful.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Central AZ College is a great local community college. They offer a lot of classes and have great instructors. I would not have chosen a different school for my degree.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always police officers on campus that will help you for your safety and the safety of others 24/7. They also have a number for students that they can call incase of emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    CAC has many clubs such as the Rodeo team that is for men and women and you are able to travel with friends and your horses.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is out in the middle of Casa Grande so there is open land all around and many places to shop around at the local outlet. Students who love agriculture, Art, photography, nursing, police officers and many more will love attending this college. They are very nice and will hep you if you are struggling in a subject. They have tutors in the library every day if you need help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a lot of wild life that runs through because of the location. They have Dorms for students unlike any other community college.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is very affordable and has many scholarships that you can apply for.

    What to do for fun

    CAC has many great games and clubs to join the first week of college they have a full week the first week of activities for friends and families.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet eaten at the college.

    Dorm Life

    I have not yet experienced the dorm life but I will be living in the dorms for my first semester of college.

    Academic Rigor

    I plan to recieve my degree in equine management and trainers certificate at CAC.

    Tips for prospective students

    CAC is reasably priced so students who never applied for scholarships or cannot afford it overall can afford to attend.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College has living quarters for students who cannot afford to drive every day like me. They have a great agriculture program that I plan on being apart of. I plan on joining the rodeo team that they also have and boarding my horse with me in the stalls.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are alot of security guards on duty all the time i feel very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    very student friendly

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to achieve high standards in school

    Bang for the buck

    they are a very inexpensive school

    Food and Dining

    like i said i live off campus

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms here. but i have herd great things about them

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to the counselors, they are very helpful and can help you reach your academic goals and achievements.

    In three sentences

    i love Central Arizona College. Everyone here is very helpful and very social. there are also a lot of student activities and help centers.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    rodeo student,Science students,

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get registered and financial aid problems solved before moving in to the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College is a college where you truly feel at home. All of the staff is nice and helpful. I love being at Central Arizona College!

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always willing to help. Even if its just as simple as telling a student where their class is.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students and students who don't like a big crowed campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition isn't bad or the book costs.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus activities and the town of Casa Grande is close.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if you are pursuing a major you talk to someone. So they can help you take the classes you need.

    In three sentences

    Great college! The classes are small and very personal. The staff is helpful as well.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college hosts many different events on campus. It tries to ensure that the students interact with the other students. There are many social gatherings the school hosts such as ice cream socials, barbeques, etc. Also CAC has a nice pool that students have access to and a gym for students to workout in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a variety of food on campus. The prices are not really expensive either.

    Dorm Life

    I cant answer this question because I do not live on campus or enter any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic levels are not unsatisfactory. There are a wide variety of courses you can take and that will help you with your specific major. It is a good college and the classes are good as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take the prerequisite courses before the major ones. They are essential to your success in the class you are accepted into. Each class typically is based on the previous required course. Get a firm foundation on the lower class before you attempt the higher one. If you score a little higher on your placement test, go for the lower one. Odds are you will be able to review even more before you get into the more advanced class. It will be very beneficial to you.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The professors help each other and the students. There is a good variety of classes.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around and always communicating any pertinent safety information for the campus. I have never felt that this campus would not be safe or underserved.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa and we are constantly involved with the other chapters and volunteer projects.

    Clubs and Activities

    This campus is the main campus and is a hub for information about the county in general so they are constantly serving the students and the population of the surrounding cities. Every week is full of activity and all of the clubs are involved with a project at least every month.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. Central Arizona College has all walks of life attending and teaching at their campus. The topic of diversity is always encouraged and open.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many of the professors and staff are graduates of Central Arizona College. They want to give back to the community in a way that I have never seen at any other school in Arizona. They are in the field that they are teaching. The professors are open to meeting and molding the education to your learning style.

    Bang for the buck

    Central Arizona College boasts the lowest tuition rate in the Phoenix metropolitan area. They also have Northern Arizona University on campus and programs to transition to University of Arizona that make the switch to finish the bachelors easy. They encourage continuing education and do not just let you go once you graduate with your Associates Degree.

    What to do for fun

    I LOVE going to any of the music and arts fairs. The jazz ensemble is one I frequent the most. They hold concerts, talks, and intramural sports so there is something for everyone on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a food program for people who qualify and it covers three meals a day. There are also low cost food programs for those who do not qualify and there are choices for vegetarians as well. The student nursing association has a food/snack bar that is low cost in comparison to some of the school snack bar items and it raises money for scholarships as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is housing on campus that is especially important for those who do not have a car. There is a commute even for those who live in the city of Coolidge (approximately 7 miles). I live in the city of Coolidge and it makes it very easy to commute so I cannot speak to dorm life but I have not heard any negativity.

    Academic Rigor

    I am proud to be in the nursing program at this school. I am pushed to be the best student I can be and in turn it makes me the best nurse I can be for my community. I am proud to inform people about Central Arizona College. The tradition and academic excellence is something to be proud of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the criteria that is expected of the programs that are offered. If it seems harder than other schools, you have to consider the reasons for the standards of the program. It will only be to your benefit in the success of your future in completing your degree and the success of your career. Volunteering and getting involved in your school will bring real world skills for your future.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College (CAC) is the main college for Pinal County and I have never experienced the help and encouragement from professors to the office staff. The nursing program I am attending at CAC has credentials and expectations that are well beyond the other community colleges in the Phoenix metropolitan area. I am proud to let people know about this rigorous program that has been around for 40 years and going strong.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police department on campus to make sure students are safe. They are not security officers, but actual police officers, and they handle anything from snakes to stolen property.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't too many clubs or activities on campus, and those that are lack enthusiasm.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get a good grip on college before attending university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of athletes on campus, so that helps tie the community together.

    Bang for the buck

    What you get depends entirely on what you do with your education. So many students come to campus and drop out because they assume the work is going to be easy. However, just as many students do well and go on to good universities.

    What to do for fun

    Coolidge is a pretty quiet area, but there are some things to do around campus. A movie theater is only ten minutes away, and if you have a car it won't be too hard to find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is the company that caters here on campus, and their food is lackluster in many ways. The desserts are awesome, but the main courses can be a bit tired at times.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be a lot of fun (and I would definitely recommend it) but it isn't always awesome. The Towers are the most popular living options, but residents can sometimes be extremely loud and everything echoes. Most parties happen within the quads and suites though, and that can be extremely distracting. It really comes down to preference.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, you may or may not feel challenged. Like all schools, a lot of it comes down to professors. Communication classes tend to be a bit easier, while the higher-level math classes are the most difficult. Tutoring is available for all subjects though, so don't worry too much!

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus! It really is the best decision for a student who wants to get a university experience while attending community college because it helps create a sense of community. Also, do your best to be as pleasant as possible -- it's a small campus and you'll want to have a lot of social opportunities!

    In three sentences

    If community college seems like the best choice for you, Central isn't a bad option. The Coolidge campus offers a wide variety of programs and has very diverse classes to choose from. It creates an environment where anyone has the ability to succeed.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They charge way to much for everything. But then again we are in america and every school is over charging there students it the only way they can make money. The teaching is good quality they have really good help and facility.

    What to do for fun

    We play a lot of games and sports. Just going to the field or the gym and messing around. We always find something to do. There is a lot of just hanging out to do and make memories with good people.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is AWFUL. There is nothing on campus or even around campus unless you can get a ride into town about a ten minute drive. In Casa Grande there is ever kind of food you would eve want though.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of things going on in the Quads, the Towers also. You get almost no internet connection in the quads and it is always very loud over there. The towers are the newest buildings. Very fast internet and cleaner.

    Academic Rigor

    You are always going to have crazy teachers no matter what college you go too. I have learned a lot in just a semester here about things i wouldn't have thought i would be learning about. They have lots of programs where you can get help on your school work that are free, so that helps a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very hot all the time on campus. Some of the campus is very boring and not a lot of fun but the education pays off in the long run. Try and make friends for the most part people are very friendly to everyone.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CAC staff regularly patrol the campuses and keep a watchful eye on any threats.

    Clubs and Activities

    CAC offers Phi Theta Kappa, Photography, various arts clubs, a theater club and much more.

    Food and Dining

    CAC has a diner featuring batter fried chicken, french fries, a variety of burgers and soft drinks. It also has a small bar offering canned teas, chicken wraps, cookies, and Starbucks sponsored coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Since CAC is a community college, there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any class you might have taken as a student, you'll find that the academic rigor depends upon the professor that is teaching. I would suggest talking to students that have taken the same course. Alternatively, visit www.ratemyprofessor.com to discover what other students are saying about the professors at any college. Many factors are involved with success in each individual class, including your work ethic, how much you are willing to listen to your professor and how dedicated you are to the class. If you do end up with a professor you do not like, remember, you cannot control him/her, but you can control yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to know exactly what prerequisites you are needing to take. Not all campuses offer the same classes. And that can be problematic when you are wanting to stay at one campus to take all of your classes, considering the price of gas.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College is the optimum choice for the student looking to save money by taking their prerequisites at a community college, rather than going straight into university. Most professors proficiently do their jobs, the students are friendly, and there are many extracurricular activities available.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a mom of four so dont have much time for the college life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great i like eating in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to the right advisor for your degree and it will get you farther faster.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending this school. It has given me great learning experiences. I would recommend and I do recommend other students to go here.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own law enforcement on it. Who are actual police officers and have there own station there on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activites that student have accsess to for example desert hiking.

    Great for these types of students

    If your looking for a great cheap college to attend this is your place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is located in lower elevation desert so they have a desert mountain trail that can be hiked.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus is very cheap all around from normal universities books are also very cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Central Arizona college has one of the top rodeo teams in the country. Where spectators can watch some of the best rodeo around.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning here is really good and have a different special every day. with a student ID everything is cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok but they are very small dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For the time that I have been here ive never seen any student fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get signed up for classes early because they fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good college to attend if your on a budget. Classes are very cheap and easy. Has some of the top courses in the state and staff is very helpful.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at CAC, something for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    CAC offers many activities, ranging from sports(baseball,rodeo,etc.) to plays.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared, have your books and school supplies on hand the first day. Ask questions, if you don't know something, ask, don't try to do it alone.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College is a wonderful college. They offer so much to students and truly care about those that are going to school there. Everyone is kind and helpful, from the front desk to the professors.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know the campus is very safe. I have had to walk from class at night by myself and I have felt very safe there.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an athlete or you like the small town atmosphere this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is located next to a mountain and several miles from the two nearest towns.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of the tuition and the great education you receive it's the place to go.

    What to do for fun

    I never lived on campus and I never went to any of the social events they held. Off campus there are beautiful places to go hiking and bike riding. A few miles away there is a movie theater and several parks and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    I have visited the snack bar several times the food has been very good. They provide lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms so I can't give you any information on them. They did build a new dormitory a couple of years ago.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken have been very challenging. The instructors know how to push the students to think out side of the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the small class sizes this the school for you. They also have one of the best athletic programs ,for a community college, in the country. The have excellent instructors,

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school. It is also small so you have small class sizes. The instructors really get to know their students.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patro cars driving thru CAC all hours that there are classes. There are also blue light safety posts throughout CAC. I would say CAC is a fairly safe place to be at all hours of the day. I have never had any bad experiences.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs at CAC, but the only activities athletic-wise I hear about is Basketball, Track, Softball, and Baseball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I honestly like to just chill in the learning center while I wait for my next class to start.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like overall CAC is a good college but the price you pay for classes I feel like the college should offer more.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at CAC you can join a club, get a study group together, or go to brown bag talks.

    Food and Dining

    The food at CAC is pretty good but a little pricey?

    Dorm Life

    I don't personally live in the dorms but I have visited friends in their dorm and they are very nice with a lot of storage space.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers will work with you when you miss assignments so you can make sure to keep a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to the couselor to figure out the classes you need for the next semester and sign up for classes on your own online so you can make your school schedule fit you daily schedule.

    In three sentences

    CAC is very easy to navigate. Classes are organized. CAC offers a library and learning center with many free amenities such as printing, tutors, book and movie checkout, and computers.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you have to be on campus past a certain hour, then the security guards will see to it that you're kept safe by watching you as you head to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've only heard of a few, religious, homosexual and group-counselling all being present.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to pay less for core classes that will transfer to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe you only pay 5,000 for two years, so that's just peachy.

    What to do for fun

    Hang around with other student or take a walk. They don't have an underground bowling alley, but

    Food and Dining

    It's not all lobster tails and caviar, but it is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on a dorm on campus, but I have been in the social rooms, which are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Regular classes aren't too difficult, but that can be changed by attending honors classes or taking more credit hours. For those who like a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors, they're generally very lenient and will work with you to get a good grade.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College is a very nice place to be. They have a variety of scholarships and job opportunities on campus. A recent addition is the student dorms on campus

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Strict rules, campus police patrol everywhere.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are basically the same as you would expect in middle school.

    Great for these types of students

    Individuals who want an education and avoid all fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best part is equality at the dorms, any damages the who residence life must pay part of the damages out of their tuition. No, this is not great.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap credits, but it shows in the quantity.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has free activities to do on campus throughout the week, such as concerts and contests.

    Food and Dining

    The food is part of the dorms, breakfast, lunch and dinner is a buffet. The food is ok, but expect to gain weight due to the temptation to slowly eat more and more throughout the semester.

    Dorm Life

    Prepare for strict rules. If you dreamed of living a college party life, you wont find it here, just strictly quiet dorms.Drinking and/or smoking will get you often suspended for a semester or expelled if a party. The reason for the low stars is the unreliable staff. The best part is equality at the dorms, any damages the who residence life must pay part of the damages out of their tuition. No, this is not great.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is too easy to pass, most students get lazy and bored with the school and transfer elsewhere (thus the low graduate rate). Administration is unreliable and often forget to respond to concerns.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest the centers and online. In person classes are often unreliable.

    In three sentences

    frustrating college experience

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early and also take placement tests early to determine classes.

    In three sentences

    CAC is a good school that has many campuses for you to choose from. CAC's new Maricopa campus is really nice and new. The staff at CAC's Maricopa campus are helpful.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus would be great for any student.

    Bang for the buck

    I ma 36 years old and also returning to school as a student. I struggle with two children and full time study time too, but I could not have asked for more help getting everything I needed lined up to begin school. These guys KILLED it! Thank you so much!

    Academic Rigor

    Any class that you walk through with your eyes and ears closed are probably not worth your time, but having a solid instructor that teaches you what you need to know without giving you all the answers for tests will make you a much more valuable employee in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, set an appointment with an adviser. Even if you think you have everything planned out and couldn't possibly have missed anything....you never know. Information is very valuable as a resource.

    In three sentences

    Every instructor, administrator and student have been more than helpful and friendly. The classes are well put together, flexible and the one on one time you need from your teacher is there because the classrooms are not overly booked. I cant see myself attending anywhere else or getting a better education for my money,

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college has art exhibitions and ice cream socials that raised money for charitable causes, including domestic violence victims and military families.

    Food and Dining

    Food trucks have served the college, as well as conveniently placed cafes that nourish hard working students.

    Dorm Life

    Central Arizona College is a small community college with off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Central Arizona College has a vast array of people of all races, beliefs, and ages who are willing to share vital information amongst each other. Thus, it enriches the learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students must be willing to learn diligently and be able to transfer their acquired knowledge to real world environments. They must thoroughly research their career goals and universities they attend. Furthermore, they must consult advisors for input on transfering credits and for pursuing scholarship opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Central Arizona College is a cheap and affordable place to learn. The staff is friendly and helpful. At CAC, students interact directly with faculty member for questions or concerns regarding the curriculum.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual location that a lot of people here love is the water tower that is right next to a mountain. You have to walk up this high dirt trail to get there.

    Bang for the buck

    It's reasonable. The thing that costs the most is actually living here.

    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs and activities to join and do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    It's gotten better recently. It used to be worse. They need more variety.

    Dorm Life

    It's average. Depending on where you live. If you live under other people then you will constantly hear them walking around and talking and slamming doors. Sometimes late at night you'll hear people outside screaming for no reason at all, which is extremely irritating.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your professor. More times than not, you'll get lucky and get a nice teacher who's incredible at what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your as soon as possible! If you procrastinate and wait until the last minute you'll become extremely stressed out, which is not fun.

    In three sentences

    Central is small, so you don't feel overwhelmed. There's help everywhere around here if you just ask. Depending on your professors, you should be learning everything you wanted and need to.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I like the art club and the zumba class.

    Great for these types of students

    Long term goals and with transfer options.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's on a mountain.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sports games and activities that happen in school.

    Food and Dining

    The food its good .

    Dorm Life

    I don't live there.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very professional and the advisory help a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay up to date with news around campus and with your clases.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school, but it doesn't have the major that i want.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CAC is a very student-life oriented college and always has activities to do after and even during school hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise any prospective students to not hesitate to meet with an advisor when you have a question.

    In three sentences

    I graduated from High School just last year and decided to attend Central Arizona College. What I love about CAC is that its a small campus, and there are not a lot of students. This allows for more one-on-one time with the professors. Not to mention, all of the administration are very friendly.