Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central Maine Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The Community collages have great programs and not half as expensive

    Will enjoy being here

    It is a very nice campus and close to my home

    Will learn a lot

    Every one I have meet are very nice! Seems like a great school, a lot of new Technology in Criminal Justice,Computer Forensics

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Exercise area

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes great. Dining room stays clean.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms, however they look decent from the outside.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course that is being taken, it can be easy or hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not hard to get accepted. Study for the accuplacer before taking it. The college has a variety of majors.

    In three sentences

    Student to ratio is not bad. Easy to find way around the campus. It is affordable.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school tries really hard to keep the campus as safe as possible.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who prefers a small classroom environment with few distractions.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost, the education is fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, use the fitness center, watch sporting events, various events are going on for students as well.

    Food and Dining

    This is kind of expensive but most dining halls tend to be.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter student, but hanging out in the dorms was a fun experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Some levels of classes can be tough and challenging but the more focus you have the easier it is. Getting a tutor, if needed, helps a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to save money and get a good education to start out, check out Central Maine Community College. Get involved around the campus, it makes your time there even better.

    In three sentences

    Central Maine Community College is a great place to jump start your college career at an affordable price. The classroom environment for any student going to college the first time, whether you're young or old, is fantastic.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no incidences that i can recall in my two years.

    Great for these types of students

    for students just starting out or for people just getting back into school it is a diverse community.

    Bang for the buck

    cheapest in-state tuition and a decent transfer rate.

    What to do for fun

    the campus is a good distance from downtown so you get a rural feel in an urban setting.

    Food and Dining

    they have decent cafeteria food

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    cmcc has a great staff that helps you figure out what your next steps should be.

    In three sentences

    i give central maine community college and 9 out of 10 for a good starter college. i have attended since 2010 and have got a great start on my bachelor's degree. i would recommend cmcc for anyone looking to get a college experience and not break the bank.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is an amazing gym and fitness center and all kinds of different clubs that students can join.

    Food and Dining

    the food at central maine community college is really good. they have warm meals, a fresh salad bar, and a wrap station.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm so i can not answer this question truthfully.

    Academic Rigor

    i have learned a lot about myself along with the subjects i took.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to other students, either that currently go to the college or have in the past. i would differently advise to get to know your student advisor, he or she is a huge help when it comes to picking classes and help guide you in the right direction i order to do well in college.

    In three sentences

    central maine community college has a comfortable campus. the campus is in a great location making easy for students to commute back and forth. the instructors at central maine community college are fun, down to earth, understanding, human beings that care about your success.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's a campus police that goes around the campus ensuring that whoever is in the area actually attends. also you cannot get into the building unless you have a dorm key card like the hotel cards you swipe

    Clubs and Activities

    there's the lakeside players drama club, music club, native american club,sororities, fraternities, veterans club and so many more

    Great for these types of students

    great criminal justice program and i here the culinary arts program is great as well i mean you're in maine the food is going to be great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the auburn mall is minutes away i believe students do get a discount for transportation also we get discounts for the movies and certain shops

    Bang for the buck

    its great if you're in state but if you're not you will have to pay a little more but its definitely worth it the classes are smaller at most 15 students and the teachers are really helpful

    What to do for fun

    residential life offers many activities like bowling, rollerblading, movie nights etc...

    Food and Dining

    we have a taco bar salad bar frozen food and every dorms favorite ram en noodles. also you get 20 dollars a day that comes from your room and board to spend and weekends you get 13 dollars

    Dorm Life

    everyone is welcoming

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging enough to make you think and learn something new everyday

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the campus and if you can dorm go ahead everyone is welcoming here even to out of staters like me!

    In three sentences

    central maine community college is a great two year school. this is my first semester and everyone is so helpful. i have mostly a's in my classes and my professors are always willing to help improve my grades

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We get movie tickets for $4 each 2 a week. and you can always find something to do

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best, but do it anywhere you go!

    In three sentences

    I really Like my experiences here and love how open they are. I do not like how big it is! but I love the classes.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CMCC campus life is very safe and there are hardly any endangerments. People can be sure that nothing will happen to them. Campus security and others work very hard at keeping everyone safe and do a good job doing their job with this.

    What to do for fun

    There are basketball and soccer games on campus that can be watched. There are also activities at night that dorm students are able to attend. There are also fundraisers and drives that people can be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The caf does not have a lot of options for food and is fairly limited. However, there are plenty of room and seats to choose from. The people in the caf are also extremely nice.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be boring at times and there is not always a lot to do. Be sure to make friends in the dorms because it will make campus life more pleasurable. There are activities almost every night from 9 pm to 11 pm that help keep students active.

    Academic Rigor

    CMCC has strict plagiarism rules and helps people with medical disabilities attend college. They also have good policies about showing up on time and making sure you attend class (each teacher has their own set of rules). Most of all, CMCC is all about respect and being truthful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to some students that have attended or are currently attending CMCC to see which teachers you should take classes with and teachers you should stay away from. Pick class times that you know you can make it to on time. Try not to miss classes because some classes are hard to make up.

    In three sentences

    Class size is small and therefore teachers can give more attention to students. The layout of CMCC is very simple and you can get from class to class easily. Signing up for classes is very easy with CmConnect.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security that patrols and are able to reach at anytime, as well as local campus pd, as well as local and state police keeping an eye on the campus, as well as being at the students' disposal upon need.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is CMCC's honor society, which further demonstrates the level of accomplishments that can come from just a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Outdoors club is more than worth it, and it's free of charge to go on events and excursions like kayaking!

    Great for these types of students

    CMCC is great for any type of student of any race, creed, color, or background; as a matter of fact, they actually do an exchange program as well from international colleges and ethnicity's around the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an amazing lake view, it's called Androscoggin Lake, and CMCC is actually known as The college on the Lake. It truly is amazing to view as well as lets a person escape in tranquility.

    Bang for the buck

    The best bang for your buck, is what comes to mind about CMCC. They make sure their instructors are well-versed in the educational backgrounds, but also in the business and personal backgrounds of the same profession/classes they teach or are over. It's more than worth the money, and honestly am surprised that it's as little as it is per credit hour/course.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a great outdoors club that does everything from kayaking to biking and everything in-between, and one is more than welcomed to invite ideas for new activities. The residential staff is also great at providing ideas and accepting ideas for fun games, events, challenges, or trips as well.

    Food and Dining

    The dining staff at Central Maine accommodate to the needs of their students, ask and you shall receive. They changed their hours, and they will order or make anything if they are able to do so.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in the apartments my first year, and I wouldn't change it for the world. The college and their RA's and their RD are great at activities of any and every kind from poker nights to bowling to military getaways.

    Academic Rigor

    Central Maine Community College is great with overcoming any academic challenges when it comes to their students. They have an amazing staff who is more than pleased to work with any and everyone from any and every religion as well as walk of life, from blind to deaf to adhd students all the way to the ones who do not have any harmful medical history that stands in the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not walk into the college at CMCC with any preconceptions that it's just a college you chose to apply to in order to save money before transferring to another bigger-named institution, it would be your greatest mistake. The lessons one learns at CMCC are not just in text, but also in life, and you can't place a dollar sign on that.

    In three sentences

    CMCC is not your average community college. Central Maine Community College is down-to-earth, in a good way. The instructors have college as well as life experience, which the life experience prevails through the teachings as they ingrain into the minds of students that they're human, but they can all live, learn, and grow.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their are a multitude of on-campus clubs

    Food and Dining

    I am a really picky eater and found maybe two or three meals I liked in the two years that I was there.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what you like their are different floors for you. I never stayed in the apartments but Rancourt has four floors that are tailored to fit student needs. the first floor is easily accessible. The second is rather loud. The third is a comfortable mix, not in constant silence but peace. And the fourth is 24-hour quiet. Each room is set up with two beds and closets attached to another room through a bathroom with a shower stall, bathroom stall and two sinks/counters.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college, it is not as difficult as most universities. However keep in mind that different teachers will have different set ups and some of the classes can be very difficult, especially if it is a subject you already study with. None-the-less, most teachers are willing to offer help so over-all it is not too rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you intend to take human services, psychology or sociology classes try to take them with Frankie Holt. She is a wonderful teacher. Her class set us is amazing, she keeps things very interesting and is exceedingly understanding. Five classes is a good, even class load. Six is too many and four keeps you there three years.

    In three sentences

    The college is rather diverse. The class selections are great. And the set up is simple and understandable.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Greek Life

    unsure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents Non-traditional Low income.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap education! Quality as well. A Lot of the professors that teach at CM also teach at other colleges in the vicinity.

    What to do for fun

    There are quite a few activites on campus to join in on. CM also has fitness classes and a gym free to students.

    Food and Dining

    The food was average. There are plenty of places outside of campus to go to.

    Dorm Life

    I did not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are not any more difficult then the ones taken in high school

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with your advisor. Take advantage of the writing center.

    In three sentences

    This college is an excellent place to start. There is no better way to get your core education at a great price. They have wonderful resources for anyone willing to utilize them.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is key. This school is rated number one in the state of Maine for safety on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College prices are great.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Lewiston is right next door to Auburn and there is mountains not too far away either.

    Food and Dining

    Food in my opinion is great. I am not a fussy eater.

    Dorm Life

    Great new dorms in Rancourt.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very challenging, however some are not as with any school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into the book store line very early in the morning the first day of classes.

    In three sentences

    This college is very small, making it very home like. Everyone is very respectful to you. The teachers are always nice and willing to help you with anything.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We boast a very safe campus. We are located very near the Auburn Police Dept. so in the event of any issue, things are taken care of promptly. The police make regular rounds on the campus day and night, so these issues are rare. Our criminal justice program trains student security guards that patrol the campus during all class hours. The environment here is very safe.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a wide variety of clubs and organizations, including a gaming club, music club, outdoor club, Rainbow Alliance club, and various other organizations suitable for varying interests. The Resident Directors organize weekly events on campus such as themed parties that are fun to attend, and every year we have a Spring Fling out on the front lawn. Students can also join the Student Senate to have their say about what goes on on campus, how student funds are diverted, and making improvements for education and the student body as a whole. They are dedicated to the betterment of the college.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons is a popular hangout and a great place to eat. Personal pizzas, pizza by the slice, burgers, chicken, hot snacks and fantastic entrees are available. Sandella's sandwich bar is a great place to get wraps, quesadillas, and many other types of sandwiches are made right in front of you when you order. There is also a salad bar and a huge soft serve ice cream machine.

    Dorm Life

    CM has three dorm buildings: Fortin, Rancourt, and the Apartment Complex. Fortin is the original dorm building on the campus. It is a traditional dorm with a communal bathroom on each floor, paired rooming, a game room and lounge, and a kitchen. It also sports a game room with a large TV, couches, air hockey and a pool table. It is a popular hangout for all resident students. Rancourt is the newest dorm building. It is a four-story structure and it is coed (men and women live on the same floor but do not share rooms or bathrooms). It boasts solar power, a conference room on the top floor that overlooks the lake and the trees, a bathroom for every two bedrooms, and multiple student lounges. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The Apartment complex is generally for second-year students. There is a central living area surrounded by five private bedrooms. This allows students to have more space and privacy, which is especially nice when peace and quiet is needed to do homework. The resident directors are fantastic, serving with a smile and making resident life fun. They organize weekly events that all resident students are welcome to attend. Dorm life here is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Our faculty come from a wide array of professional fields and backgrounds, and I have found their knowledge and experience to be a tremendous asset to me in my pursuit of learning in their courses. The idea that community college courses are easier and not as well-rounded as university courses, think again. The classes here present just as good a learning experience as any other college. All but a select few of our classes have a maximum of 30 students. This allows for more face time and recognition with instructors, making it much easier to get to know your professors and get the one-on-one learning that you need. The assignments for each of the classes really help the students to learn the material in a way that they can apply it without the workload being completely overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending CMCC, drop in the admissions office and talk to one of the admissions representatives. I have found them to be extremely helpful and supportive. In addition, you can walk in and get a tour of our campus anytime. If you are worried about struggling to fit in because of a diverse background, there is nothing to worry about; we boast an extremely diverse student body, and expression and individualism are greatly encouraged. Our Hall of Flags represent our geographical diversity, displaying a flag of every nation from which we have an attending student or faculty member. If you are a non-traditional student (not coming straight out of high school), you can still fit in here. Although we have a large number of traditional students, the average age of our student body is 33.

    In three sentences

    Central Maine Community College is exactly what they advertise themselves to be: a great place to start. They are fully accredited so transfer is easy, tuition is extremely affordable, and there is a wide variety of program options ranging from technical programs to health care.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a few security officers around patrolling ensuring the safety of students and staff. No major incidents or threats to the safety of people at CMCC, it is a safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I view CMCC as a starting point school that is convenient and reasonably valued. I believe students who are unsure of their future major or the school they want to go to should start at a community or state college.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are open to the members of the community so you would be interacting with people of all kinds and ages like one would in the real world. The mix of students is very diverse and it is a good chance to work with different types of people. The faculty, staff, and students of CMCC has created a welcoming and friendly atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to get involved in and there are sports for athletic students.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria with limited options. They do not provide the best options, but there are nutritious entrees, soups and a salad bar. The cafeteria of the school may not provide many options but the location of the college gives students more choices since there are many restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dormitory, so I cannot comment on the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor varies, I have some classes that doesn't require as much work done as opposed to some classes that will fill up a whole 2-inch binder with notes and labs. The academic rigor is average overall. There are rigorous courses, it depends if the student wishes to take them.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school will help you get the feel of college, the faculty here understand people have other plans and business to attend to, so they can be lenient at times. The one thing that makes any course enjoyable is the professor regardless of how hard or dull the subject may be, and CMCC has a decent amount of amazing professors. The faculties are here to help and it is always nice to seek out your advisor if you have questions regarding almost anything they'll be there to listen and give advice if needed.

    In three sentences

    This is my first college, so I don't necessarily have any prior college experience to compare my time at CMCC. However, in the time I have been here studying general courses and meeting with advisors and faculty, it is a nice school to begin one's college path. The courses are manageable and taught by very helpful professors.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These guys are excellent at their job!

    Clubs and Activities

    You have a lot to choice from

    Bang for the buck

    It is a decently priced school, you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Explore downtown Auburn and the surrounding lake areas.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a pretty good selection of foods.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I hear they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Number one, be prepared when you go to class. Also don't be afraid to question things and last but not least, get plenty of rest and give your self time to do your homework.

    In three sentences

    You get a great education here, a lot of the teachers work in the field so you get more hands on experiences. The support staff are always willing to help and make college life a lot easier. There is also a lot of student activities and volunteer opportunities available, it makes it pretty easy to meet new people and make new friends.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love that it is a small campus, and I am excited to start in the fall.