Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central Methodist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/03/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    prefer a small campus

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus to see if you will like it

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who like a small town environment and enjoy that atmoshpere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus and talk to people at the school before you make a decision.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you like a small environment, you would like attending this campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I talked to a chemistry professor and the classes allow one on one time with the teacher and tutors so if you need help, you can get it.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never once felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    there are many different social and professional as well as national sororities and fraternities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like a smaller community feel will prefer a smaller school like central. being in the countryside, it is very quiet, but also having columbia so close means there are still things to do if you want to get out of the small town feel. it is the best of both worlds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    central is one of the most traditional places i know. with the school being 150 years old, it has its fair share of traditions and stories. probably the most prominent being its ghost stories. there is a ghost story for nearly every building on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    for a private school, tuition is relatively low. despite being an historical campus that is more than 150 years old, the buildings are really nice. it is the perfect off-set of old and new. the campus has so much character.

    What to do for fun

    we may be a small university, but we are located 30 miles from columbia, mo. having such a big city so close makes it very easy to find things to do for fun!

    Food and Dining

    the food is not always spectacular. on the weekends when there really isn't anyone there, the choices are lacking. the workers are very kind and personable though. they very quickly learn your name and your eating habits. one time they even had my food ready for me before i ordered it.

    Dorm Life

    there are several options to fit your needs. some dorms are quieter than others and leave you alone while other dorms are more lively. it really depends on your personal preference.

    Academic Rigor

    i personally took a lot of ap classes in high school, so my workload actually went down when i got to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your work and get good grades, but don't let your school work run your life. don't forget to have fun. college is about balance.

    In three sentences

    central methodist university is a very small and personable university. it is filled with staff that are there to help you whenever you need it. i feel at home when i am here.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most people go to Columbia for fun since Fayette is so small. Columbia is only 30 minutes away and there is a lot to do if you are not involved in things on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is kind of a rip-off. I didn't want to have a meal plan, but on campus students are required to have one. I think they charge too much for what they serve and I would be better off taking care of food on my own.

    Dorm Life

    Central Methodist strives to keep the school current and the dorms are pretty good for as old as some of them are. The school is redoing some of the dorms this summer.

    Academic Rigor

    Many people excel in school and since it is small, most people try hard to keep their grades up and it is also expected of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in some extracurricular! You will get to know people and have a great time once you get out and start talking!

    In three sentences

    I think Central Methodist is a great college. The professors can give students more individual attention because the classes are smaller and it is easy to get to know lots of people at your school. Central Methodist is also easy to find your way around since it is a small campus.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel CMU is very safe! The guards are always walking around and if you ever need anything they are there for you. They are friendly and nice and want the best for their students, I feel super safe walking the CMU campus no matter what time of day.

    Greek Life

    As being a private school we do not have many sororities to choose from, there are actually only four. We have fraternities as well one which is a National organization, TKE. There are many to choose from coming from a small school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Central is known for their sports and clubs. Here at central we have many things to choose from every sport, girls and guys, to fraternities, sororities, foreign language clubs, book clubs, scuba club and much, much more. Every person is bound to find something they enjoy at Central Methodist University.

    Great for these types of students

    Central Methodist University is a great school for learning disabled students. I only say this because I am and I love the amount of help they offer here and what they want to see out of these students, it gives me a lot of comfort being there. I also think it's a good school for people who enjoy knowing their teachers and being able to ask questions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My grandparents attend Central Methodist in the 60's and said that there is a rock on campus in between the church and T-berry that is known as the kissing rock. It is also known as a hang out spot, as I attend my freshmen year at CMU I did see several kissers' there but not a hang out spot.

    Bang for the buck

    Central offers a lot for the price you pay to go there in the end, however, I think the housing could go up in order to get all five stars from my rating it. All in all I do agree Central gives you the bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    CMU offers many free things to do for fun which surprised me and my family. Central buys tickets or event packages for us to attend for free such as Royals games, Fear Feast Tickets, taking us to the KC zoo and etc. Every Sunday you can expect to see a movie in Stedman at 7 p.m. for free, which can be fun.

    Food and Dining

    I give food and dining an average rating only because it becomes repetitive after a while. In the fall we seemed to have better food selection than in the spring of this year. I realize we only have one cafeteria at Central but we only it one place twice a day every day and don't want repetitive foods for a year.

    Dorm Life

    For my freshmen year in college dorm life was alright in my opinion. However, I must say the improvements they're doing for the fall is going to make my rate go higher in the end. They are looking after the studnets wants and don't think they aren't.

    Academic Rigor

    At Central the teachers push you to be the best your ability. You will not be given a grade at Central unless you deserve every percent of it. You are put in different grading scales depending on your majors as well, I know for teaching majors we are on a 92-100 is an A instead of a 90-100 like most other classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know the teacher to student ratio is awesome, your professors know you for you and not you for a number. Also Central is a small school, everyone knows everything, if you do not like living in middle of no where I don't suggest this school for you. Lastly, I want you to know that this is a sports school, most everyone participates in one sport or another, it's what we are known by.

    In three sentences

    Central Methodist University is a 9 out of 10 school in my opinion. I love how small it is, how close you are to your professors and how clean things are becoming. Organization could be a little better, but I love it all in all.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    HANG WITH FREINDS

    In three sentences

    I AM A METHODIST AND WOULD LIKE TO ATTEND. I LOVE LOTS OF OPPERTUNTIES

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Drive to Columbia.

    In three sentences

    Central Methodist is a good and fun school just there isn't much to do there. If you don't have a car like I did you will be stuck unless you have a friend with one. The education level is really good for music, arts, and athletic training.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there is campus police that walk about after dark and we have safetly towers located all throughout campus to where you can just press a button for security.

    Greek Life

    There are many different greek groups on campus. I suggest attending atleast one rush before completely saying no to greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus for people with different interests.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun here in Fayette but there is always activities going on for students such as we go bowling, went to a Ram's game this past fall, had a nerf gun war a couple of weekends ago, and many more activities all throughout the year. Also, Fayette is only about 30 minutes from Columbia so many students go there too.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here on campus is great. The bergsten dining hall has set hours for each meal during the week and on weekends. Also there is the Eyrie Cafe which is open all day until 10 pm Monday thru Thursday and then it closes earlier on the weekend. There are also many restaurants available here in town too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are always kept clean. The only thing that can be a downer is that you have to live on campus until your 21, if you live with you parents within 35 miles of the school, or if your married.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not extremely challenging but they do make you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and talk to the professors and coaches before you make your decision.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a small college..then this is the place to be. Everyone is always willing to help and friendly.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Paul, our head security guy. FANTASTIC! He's personal but doesn't want to know your whole life story. Security Guards are on duty 24/7. Dorms are Locked and can only be entered by a specially activated key card. I've walked across campus by myself at 11pm or even 3am and not a worry in the world.

    Greek Life

    Not in one. But they do a lot of stuff around campus to help with charities. It's your choice to join one. I won't, only because I choose not to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, Chapel, FCA, WGF, Student Government.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town lovers.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school. But you really have to be patient with the Business office and Financial Aid office. They don't communicate well. If it wasn't for the friends, faculty, staff, and courses; I would transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Fayette is quite Small. Columbia is where it's at! But mostly we just hang out in the dorms. Board games in the Lobby, or watch Disney Movies from our childhood.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not picky, but when you have Tilapia, Cheeseburgers, Deli, and Pizza everyday, it gets old after a while. It's good! It just gets boring. The cooks want your opinion though! The Ladies in the Eryie Cafe KNOW you. If you eat in there pretty regularly they already know what you want. They care about your life and will do what they can to help make it better. They always know when I personally don't feel good or if I'm in a bad mood.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the rules could be withdrawn but we know they are there for our safety. It's a dry campus but if you come back drunk but can still walk back to your room no problem and not make a commotion, you will be just fine. The Residents Assistance and Hall Directors are there day and night. They can be your best friend or your worst enemy. You decide.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, don't be afraid to talk to your professors, they actually want you to talk to them. Take advantage of the Teaching and Learning Center, that's what the tutors are for. Fantastic music, nursing, Education programs!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring PLENTY of Quarters for Laundry. Snack food for Late nights are a must. Don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. Need help! Ask your professor! You are a student not just a number!

    In three sentences

    Central Methodist is all around a fantastic school. Professors are like your parents only better! They are there for you; all the faculty and staff are. They want to help you and make yours life at CMU FANTASTIC.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus, small town.

    Greek Life

    Small.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown.

    Bang for the buck

    Way too overpriced, but that's how it is for private schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat there, the food is good but overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown, I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is good for students that like small classrooms. They offer several financial assistance options. Their nursing program is very difficult.

    In three sentences

    It is a small and tight knit community. Everyone is very kind and respectful. Commuting is a pain.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As someone whose done the college thing before- I know that CMU provides the education I need at a reasonable price- no complaints!

    Food and Dining

    can't sa

    Dorm Life

    can't say

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the subjects your taking. Mine have been English (pre-req) and the rest have been nursing courses. Challenging but not overwhelming I would say. Teachers and other students are excellent resources- use them!

    Tips for prospective students

    Worth checking it out. If you enroll, get ready to learn a great many things. Be punctual ad communicate with your teachers- they are there to help you!

    In three sentences

    All the classes I've taken have been online. With that said, there has never been a moment when I didn't feel connected to my professors and the class. Communication about expectation and feedback on work submitted have bee prompt, helpful and professional. The workload can be heavy at times but not impossible if time management skills are put in place.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are security personel that patrol the campus and their are cameras as well.

    Greek Life

    Excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to pick from and explore

    Bang for the buck

    This is a top ranked school that coast less than a big 12 school, what is great though is you get a big 12 education from knowledgeable staff and friendly students.

    What to do for fun

    Attend football games and church. You can attend plays and watch movies in the theater.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and if you have special dietary needs the cooks are more than happy to help provide what you may need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the school tour and have an open minde to new and wounderful challenges that this school has to offere you.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the friendliest schools I have seen. I really love the campus and enjoy my classes greatly. This school is supper.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe! I have lost my flash drive in the library before and came back an hour later and it was exactly where I left it. I feel comfortable leaving my dorm room open all the time, trusting no one will steal from me. I also feel safe walking around campus by myself at night.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students that don't want to be overwhelmed at the big school. It's great for students that still want to have a life outside of being a student/athlete.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a number of ghosts on campus and every year we have a ghost hunter come and we go to different locations and try to talk to them!

    Bang for the buck

    Central Methodist University is literally my home away from home! Everyone just about knows of everyone, and its always a friendly atmosphere!

    What to do for fun

    The school host trips for us to attend on the weekends. We have a lot of famous actors, magicians and performs come do free shows! Playing/watching intramurals are always a good time!

    Food and Dining

    The Eyerie is a great place to get food on the go! The dining hall always has great lunch! They never seem to fail when it comes to desserts.

    Dorm Life

    I wish guys could stay as long as we want. The rooms are spacious and you can come up with a lot of combinations. Having a personal bathroom and walk in closet is perfect for the girls!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are great, they really care about your success! The class sizes are small and great for one on one time with the professors. I love the athletic training program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be optimistic and, try new things! Make new friends, and talk to everyone! Be accountable for your actions, and don't always go with the flow!

    In three sentences

    The athletic programs at Central are amazing! Central has a state of the art Athletic Training Program! I love the one on one time with professors and the new friends I have made!