Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central New Mexico Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to get back in to school after dropping out, or students who are not ready for a four year university or do not yet qualify for a four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. There are limited spots open for degree type classes. This school has a curriculum built for certificates.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students are great and staff is friendly

    Am learning a lot

    I have the best instructor in the world. She always keeps us motivated.

  • 03/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to attend classes that you registered for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have meet many good friends there and realize my full potential.

    Am learning a lot

    Opportunity is there, if you are motivated.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Most teachers are very good, although some have checked out a bit. But the cost is so low that even a bad class isn't a total waste.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the class size and variety of online classes. But since my goals require a 4 year degree and Masters, I need to attend UNM to continue.

    Am learning a lot

    I have had some amazing professors here. In general this college has really challenged me and given me an education closer to what I would expect from a University, and in some cases better than you find at UNM.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a good computer, good internet connection and lots of time to study

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the money!

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is really fun. Never dull

    Am learning a lot

    I have been able to expand on what I know and learn new things

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campuses are not too big and they all have those emergency buttons all over the parking lot. it also has great lighting if you are taking night classes.

    Bang for the buck

    cnm is pretty affordable for the most part and you really do get a great education. everything is more hands on than at unm and sometimes being more hands on is better.

    Food and Dining

    not all campuses have a cafeteria. i go to two different campuses for cnm. the one with a cafeteria has pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at cnm.

    Academic Rigor

    the same as a university just with more hands on learning.

    In three sentences

    i would rate cnm an 8 out of 10. they offer alot of tutoring sessions. teachers know your name because classes are small.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Central New Mexico has security that watch the campus everyday and at night. They will escort students to cars upon request and they provide excellent immediate response services in case of emergencies. They also monitor classrooms and building constantly to maintain order.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs that one can join like: Native American Club, Honor Society (Phi Kappa Beta), TRIO program, Leadership clubs, Writing clubs, and they also have other fun activities like learning chess. It is also a great opportunity to volunteer and get credits for it while in college; Student Learning Service center.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for both, in-state and out-of-state students who are thinking of attending an affordable college before entering a university. It is also great for students that need the extra help in academic status, like getting a GED or adults that are returning to college and are intimidated by Universities and want an introductory through college first.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that success is achieved in college through the students' motivation and hard work through studies and self-discipline. You are basically deciding on your own to get an education. I know it is a great start for a great career and I say that it is an investment for life.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun. There are movie theaters, golf courts, roller skating rinks, bowling, hiking, tramway rides, and many other fun activities that go on year round in the Albuquerque metro area. The balloon fiesta is always the main attraction every October. It is awesome.

    Food and Dining

    There is food and dining available within the main building of the campus. I would rate the food to be excellent and readily available for students on the go. Staff are great also.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, all students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that in order to be successful you have to apply your own personal ability to get what you want out of the education provided. The instructors are great, all you have to do is make the time to get to know them and talk to them for any extra work you may need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be self-sufficient and ask a lot of questions to get the answers you need to know to have a successful future with the college. Apply for all scholarship available and talk with financial aid for any other opportunities for other scholarships. Please, talk with an advisor for the best possible goals for what you want as a career in life and be careful that you do meet all financial aid requirements by filling out the FASFA student on time. Take advantage of all the programs that are available to students such as: special services for students with disability (physical and mental), tutoring services, honor society and other programs.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College is a great beginning for students that want to put their aptitude of learning to test; a great starter college. It has easy access to all student services in one general area, with excellent staff and instructors who actually care about educating their students, and excellent opportunities in work-study for students who are eligible. Central New Mexico Community College is also affordable.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on campus with many deputies monitoring parking lots, buildings, and surrounding areas.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is extremely cheap comparitively to the amount of knowledge you get every semester. Cheap education, proven by Central New Mexico, is not always an indicator of quality of education.

    What to do for fun

    There are several different large parks nearby for outdoor activities, there are bike paths for exercise or fun, and there is movie theatres close by as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is everything as far as food and dining in the immediate area. Anywhere from fast food to fine dinings is walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There are no On Campus Dorms, however, there are dozens of apartment complexes in the university area close to both the University of New Mexico and Central New Mexico. Great area that is close to classes, restaurants, and night life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are comparible to any other university. Some professors are extremely hard and others teach easy subjects. You can get a great education out of the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an Advisor. They will get you accepted to the school, set you up with a class schedule that meets your degree program, and give you advice on future schooling plans if necessary. They are very helpful and you will walk out of the office feeling ready to get on with your schooling.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico has a low student to teacher ratio making your learning experience more intricate and effective. They offer a wide range of programs from Nursing degrees to construction degrees. Central New Mexico genuinely care about your education and are easy to contact and discuss degree programs, and your needs to succeed to fulfill your goals.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are re-entering the college scene from a long absence will be extremely successful considering they now value time & discipline which will promote a smooth transition.

    Food and Dining

    The food court has a great variety of snacks, drinks and a chef who will offer the menu of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered provide appropriate introduction into the subject. The classwork includes lectures, in-class assignments, group work and one-on-one opportunities with the instructor on an appointment basis. Online classes offer research, intense reading, writing assignments and assessments which are expected to be completed in a weeks time. Procrastination or cramming is not advised. Discipline and time management courses are recommended for anyone who is unsure of their self-disipline techniques.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to attend the FREE workshops offered weekly. Get to know your instructors so that they may guide you in the appropriate direction.

    In three sentences

    CNM employs educated instructors who take time to help you. This is a smaller environment which is typically 20-30 students per class. Online classes are prevalent which allows more space in the classroom.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Long board across campus, hang out in the grass, shoot some hoops on the basketball courts!

    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafeteria with a lot of variety of snacks. It is open and very social.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is really hand on. The teachers are very helpful and are willing to work one on one with you. No talking to a teachers assistant. They really want you to succeed when you attend there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your pre-requisites first at a smaller college then transfer to a bigger one. It saves money, and helps you get all the pesky intro classes out of the way.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community college is a great starter college to get your pre-requisites out of the way. It is more hands on and helpful. I would give it a 7 out of 10.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is here 24/7 and they are friendly. They are here when you need them.

    Greek Life

    It's probably great but I have no idea about this one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa which is a honor society for 2 year colleges. I love it and the benefits. There are other organizations to join as well.

    Great for these types of students

    First time students and older students like myself. I would be intimidated if I went to a larger school/campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The west side campus is small, three main buildings and a portable bookstore. Its nice and small and quiet compared to the main campus. I think smaller is better.

    Bang for the buck

    I can absolutely say that I got what I paid for. I cannot say enough positive things about this school. I am happy I made the choice to attend school here.

    What to do for fun

    I am a single parent with 4 children ages 17, 14, 13, and 4. So no time for fun really. But I do enjoy reading when I get the chance.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe here at this campus is great. Employees are friendly and I like the food. It could use a little more variety.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended CNM for 2 yrs straight. Although I find some of the classes I have taken to be a challenge, I worked hard and passed every class. I loved it!!

    Tips for prospective students

    CNM is the best way to start your education at a College. The classes are the perfect size and the professors are absolutely amazing. It will be the best choice to see if you like college. If you do, you can always continue your education at a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College was the BEST decision I have ever made. I enjoy school so much I will be graduating with honors December 2013. I love school, I am transferring to University of New Mexico to continue my education.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CNM has fairly safe campuses. There are emergency call boxes all around the parking lots, though some areas are not well lit so be sure to have an escort if walking to your car after dark.

    Greek Life

    There are no Fraternities or Sororities at CNM to my knowledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs and each has their own set of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    CNM is great for returning students, older students, and any student not ready or unable to qualify for a traditional four-year college. This school has a lot of certificate programs. If you are in a degree program, more than likely there is a certificate or two that you would qualify for when you graduate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really know of any campus traditions, but that doesn't mean there aren't any.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is quite inexpensive whether you are attending as an in-state or out-of-state student. It's the books and supplies that will hurt your wallet the most. Best suggestions, search Chegg.com, Amazon.com, or Craigslist.org for the best prices. Also, Phi Theta Kappa recently started a free book exchange.

    What to do for fun

    Pick up the Alibi at any campus and you'll find more bars, restaurants, and hot spots than you'll know what to do with. There is usually something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    There are quite a few restaurants, pubs, fast food, and coffee shops within a few blocks from the main campus. The main campus has a cafeteria with fairly decent food at a reasonable price when compared to fast food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CNM.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes really aren't all that hard. The teachers tend to be very lenient and most offer extra credit and/or drop low test scores to help you get a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as early as possible for your classes for the best options. Sign up for the payment plan if you have to in order to save your seat in the class. Most classes are only offered at the main campus so expect to have to attend more than one campus througout your degree or certificate program.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great (most of them). They are knowledgeable and helpful. The students are nice and friendly. You're sure to make several long-term friendships.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secutity is everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    Awsome education and experience for the buck!! You couldn't get any better.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in the things you love and get to know the students involved in the same things...everyone is very open and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard as long as you are willing to do the work to improve yourself!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick with it. Get back to school and have a wonderful future. It is not hard to get into college, all you have to do is believe in yourself and you can do anything you set your mind to.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The teachers are very motivating and helpful. The classes are not to big and it is NOT expensive at all!!! Over all a wonderful place to learn.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    recent high school graduates, students who are uncertain about what field they want to get into it.

    Bang for the buck

    if your there to get your education your definitely getting educated by their current faculty. its not a social scene at this college.

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    its a great start and they offer bridge programs for students to transfer into 4 year universities.

    In three sentences

    central new mexico community college provides an opportunity for any student to attend their school and they offer excellent support to students who want to finish a degree. their programs are challenging to get into and requires a student to achieve higher grades. they have many professionals there to help get a student through their courses through tutoring.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe the security guards are really nice,and willing to help

    Clubs and Activities

    to many to list

    Great for these types of students

    all types are welcome here i am a 31 year old mother of two.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel that picking this school was such a great idea.come join us and see for your self.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many things to do ,plus it is so easy to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good!

    Dorm Life

    i don't dorm.herd its a lot of fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would advise all students to talk to a student advocate if you are having any problems with anything . they are always willing to help.also take a collage success class.it is a great way lo learn how to succeed in collage .

    In three sentences

    i am so grateful to the professors and the students at cnm.i have been through so much lately and everyone is so nice and willing to help any way they can. i am so glad i made the decision to go back to school.thank you cnm

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 74

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the college is great i have a lot of friends that went to unm that are switching to cnm because they think its better.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i love to bake!

    Food and Dining

    none.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Tips for prospective students

    always study!

    In three sentences

    i love attending a community college. the prices are is much better, and the teachers have more time for. i am happy with my decision.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent. securities are always walking. and answering questions of safety.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    theres four locations that can help you and that can be closer to your home.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport or an extracurricular activity.

    Food and Dining

    food is good and giive you a good price. and most importantly is fresh.

    Dorm Life

    dont own a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard for you upcoming test. Even though you may think you know it all its better to be safe than sorry.

    In three sentences

    CNM is great with helping with questions. CNM gives you an easy way to sign up. They also help with your progress at school.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend going to CNMCC. I found that it was a better pick for me than a big university.

    In three sentences

    CNMCC is a great school. Classes are the perfect size. The teachers are amazing as well.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it cares for those on its grounds.

    Great for these types of students

    any student who wants to do more with their life.

    Bang for the buck

    very cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    they want to make sure you can go to every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up early for classes and don't forget to speak to a academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    it is a school that will do everything it can do to help you meet your goals.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I personally believe the library is the funniest spot on campus. One can always explore a little farther down the street and explore the different shops and stores that are near campus. Or join of the many clubs available at CNMCC

    Food and Dining

    I rated this Five Stars because they have a variety of healthy foods to choose from that is available for on the go type of eating. Your food is prepared fresh and right in front of you. Their are also different locations to be able to get food.

    Dorm Life

    No stars because this Community College has no Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is meant to be intense, this is not high school anymore. The professors to their best to push you so you become the student your meant to be. And then go on to be in the profession you wish to be in and accomplish all that is required.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and figure out what your major is going to be. plan ahead in the finance situation just in case your not eligible for financial aid. Its nice to make friends and get into study groups if necessary.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this campus, very diverse in student body. This Institution has made significant amount of changes to the new student center which includes a new library and student lab. Nice,friendly atmosphere with knowledgeable professors and a willingness to help in any way possible.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are frquently shootings there, this makes me a bit uneasy.

    Great for these types of students

    working moms, busy people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unsure of any

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good school for the cost.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are okay with their teaching just sometimes I feel they let the computer do all the teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure when you are applying for scholarships you verify everything was submitted properly.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the college because they are flexible and offer online classes. The teachers are friendly and helpful. They offer summer classes and anytime I need help they can answer my questions.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i have been reading online and they seem to have great extra activities .

    Food and Dining

    haven't explored that much into it yet .

    Dorm Life

    i don't think they have a dorm there .

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    definitively a great school for future students to look forward to .

    In three sentences

    the campus is a neat one so far . the staff there has been really helpful so far and is the best quality i like .

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The have security 24/7 on campus and they will escort student per request for late night classes. I feel very safe at CNM.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know they have Native American pow-wows, and the honor society also participates in sports and other volunteer events.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CNM periodically celebrates the different cultures that make up New Mexico such as the Native American, Hispanic, and African American and other minority recognition.

    Bang for the buck

    CNM is an awesome starting point if you are looking for a college that is affordable and a place where instructors are willing to go the extra mile to help students achieve academically and they work with the student to accommodate their personal life also.

    What to do for fun

    You can do anything for fun; volunteer, join the sports offered, and many more surrounding entertainment in the city of Albuquerque.

    Food and Dining

    I love their service in the cafeteria and their food is delicious. It is also conveniently located in the main building on the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    CNM has a range of academic escalation ranging from Adult education, GED, to the Honor Society. You are not just thrown into the midst of unknown territory, the academic advisors are genuine and they are dedicated in the placement of each student's starting regarding their academic skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Central New Mexico, it is affordable and you do not have to stress on finances due to scholarships and other programs available. Utilitize all the resources there is when you attend this college.

    In three sentences

    The college is affordable and is located conveniently on the bus route. It is possesses a friendly and professional atmosphere. Instructor are helpful and there are programs that assist if a student needs the extra help.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security always watching.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Students who had a hard time in high school or never went.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No just the odd mascot.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap education compared to other alternatives.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate at CNM.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms for Central New Mexico Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher attendance is a must.

    Tips for prospective students

    Helps you relearn all thing taught in high school.

    In three sentences

    CNM is a great school to start. Multiple campus's make it easy to get a specific class. The teacher are nice and helpful.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on patrol!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Great art program, they do beautiful work and sell it there on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of friendly people and staff!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot opeople

    Bang for the buck

    I am in my 5th year of college so I already have my share of student loans, while still finishing my basic core classes. This school is a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go downtown for fun. There are a lot of shops and dining to meet new people. The food is great!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a lot of variety, lots of fruits and vegetables!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CNM.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very passionate about their area of study and are ready to teach students in any way they will succeed. They are available for questions, able to work with different learning types, and help with concerns. Friendly as well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Central NM Community College is a great place to learn. It is my advice to keep an open mind and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    This will be the end of my first year at CNM, and it has been amazing. The professors truly care about my education and my progress. The class sizes are perfect for learning and growing in any field.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a big deal at all CNM campuses. There are security in cars and on bikes. Convenient text messaging to students for emergencies and/or dangers in the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get with an acedemic and financial advisor before doing anything else, so that you can take a tour of the campus and feel better about your choice.

    In three sentences

    CNM is a great place to start your acedemic path. The process is easy and there are several departments that will ensure you are on the right path. CNM is convient with in class sessions as well as on-line courses.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can get updates sent directly to your cell. Any types of situations that might cause concern. Updates on snow delay.

    Greek Life

    We the library at Main campus is open until 8 Monday through Thursday if that's NOT wonderful I don't know what is. A MUST is Ratemyprofessor.com

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a new club that helps disadvantaged youth. I thought that was really neat. One of our students' saw the need and started a club to help collect supplies needed for poor, disadvantaged, and/ or homeless youth. Excellent idea.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say CNM is a great place to get your feet wet and get the feel of college life. Credits from CNM are transferable to UNM.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the campus are further apart. The instructors are worth the drive.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordabe. Have you checked out the local University? Come to CNM and stretch your income. Why pay those crazy prices? Plus, our instructors' are the BEST!

    What to do for fun

    Study this is college. Oh, and go to Frontier restaurant good eats!

    Food and Dining

    The food is affordable and very tasty. The staff is always helpful and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm here at CNM. We do have many close to Main campus reasonable rate apartments available.

    Academic Rigor

    It is reasonable. Don't forget to study and you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sell this community college short.

    In three sentences

    I love CNM it is very affordable. Small class room size. CNM is all about students' and helping them reach their goals.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fully trained and capable security department, many of whom are retired police/law enforcement officers.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at CNM.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to mention. There are plenty of clubs/organizations for students to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional; right out of high school; anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot, even though we do not have any sports teams is: Sol, the CNM SunCat! Gggrrrr.

    Bang for the buck

    CNM has been a truly wonderful experience for myself, and have heard much of the same from many other students attending CNM. The faculty and staff are genuinely interested in assisting students with the things that will help them succeed in the college environment.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and chat/study with fellow students in the Student Resource Center. Enjoy nice lunches in the food court.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining experience is pretty awesome CNM students, staff, and faculty.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at CNM

    Academic Rigor

    Tough at times, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set realistic goals; stay focused; ask for help if needed; stay actively communicative with instructors and fellow classmates throughout the term.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College (CNM) is a great institution of higher education. The faculty and staff are immensely helpful in my experience attending the school. CNM is truly interested in helping it's students succeed.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security everywhere on all campuses. I know they have had some incidences but the security is very thorough. Mostly depends on what campus you are attending; they are in different parts of the city so each has different issues.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    CNM is great for people working and going to school, going back to college after being in the work force, or new students who aren't sure where they are headed in their studies.

    Bang for the buck

    Majority of the instructors at CNM are professors from the University. The classes are half the price and being taught by the same people. It's a great way to get your pre-requisites and lower division classes without the higher costs; if transferring to UNM all classes should transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Albuquerque is a fun little city and the main campus of CNM is very close to the University and downtown nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias offer good food and reasonable pricing.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm or housing at CNM. But if you are transferring to UNM they have amazing student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    As in any school work is required. The instructors are strict about school policy and will drop you for missing to many classes. However, the small class size allows for a more personal atmosphere and teachers have the ability to work closely with students on assignments or other needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a good advisor before enrolling. These people are good at helping you achieve goals you have for your education or create a plan if you're not quite sure what direction you're going.

    In three sentences

    CNM is convenient for any schedule. Small classes and good instructors have been a nice introduction into higher education. CNM also offers great learning resources like tutors, libraries, computer labs, and advisors.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CNM has a great campus safety system. Security guards are always on campus and there are emergency phones located all around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    CNM is a great school for students who are just starting out in college and want to go at a relaxed pace. CNM is also great for adults who are looking to go back to school or further their education.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do at CNM on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food made at CNM is decent however the cost could be much lower. The dining is great very clean and organized.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately no dorms are available through CNM.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at CNM is very easy paced and could be made more advanced for students looking to challenge themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for small classes which is great for learning purposes, however not if your looking to expand your social life.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College is great if your just starting your college life! CNM is easy paced and introduces you to college life in a stress free way. CNM focuses on the students needs.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is multiple security and police that constantly patrol the campus all day long. Usually within a rang of every 50 feet there is at least one officer standing by. Students always report suspicious activity and it gets taken care of right away.

    Clubs and Activities

    There really is not much to do there other then the courses themselves. If there are some sort of clubs or activities then they do not provide good promotions for getting students involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for just getting out of high school or coming back from being out of school for a prolonged amount of time. Also good for a quick degree or getting ready to transfer to a University.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely one of the best cost colleges in New Mexico. The cost of tuition and courses are dramatically cheaper then anywhere else. The books usually end up costing more then the courses themselves. CNM also offers some of the exact some courses as UNM does, but for a fraction of the price. Well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    They offer quite a few fun electives, but they don't have many school activities to get involved with. They have work-study programs so as long as you attend they can give you a job there, but I don't know if you want to include that as fun exactly.

    Food and Dining

    No food or dinning is offered at this college. They have vending machines, ones that even accept credit cards oddly enough, but it would be nice if they offered a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not offered at this school, any of the campuses they have in fact. They do however allow you to bridge with University of New Mexico, or UNM. UNM will allow you to stay at their dorms while you attend CNM, as long as you have plans to transfer over.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are great and the majority of teachers are very helpful and understanding. They are always free to talk with you before, during and after classes. It is rare to find a teach that is confusing, misleading, or unhelpful, but just as any college, it can happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college to start off at and get familiar with the college feel. This is also great for anyone who has been out of school for quite the while and wants to jump back in and start again.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College, or better known as CNM is personally a great school to attend. It is great for beginning college students to work their way up to transferring into a University. The classes are small, and the teachers are always willing to work with you.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe. If you are in a class that runs late you can call security to be escorted to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    The students in the organizations are fun but there are few students that get involved. The newspaper is currently 9th in the nation.

    Bang for the buck

    Credit hours for most classes are $56 and for IT classes only $5.

    What to do for fun

    Catch a play at the local theaters.

    Food and Dining

    The food is priced a little high and not available on all campuses.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college and the curriculum is set more towards things students will encounter. The small class sizes make it easier to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers. Get involved with student organizations. Take advantage of services and programs the school offers to help students.

    In three sentences

    The teachers I have had are really helpful and want to see you succeed. The campuses are comfortably designed. Free tutoring and technology are available for student use.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have really good foood in the Cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    i dont believe that there are any dorms here at CNM

    Academic Rigor

    the academic are great, and there are many different classes for students to take that will help them get to where they want to be in the future. CNM has great programs

    In three sentences

    CNM has good teachers. It has good classes. And great opportunities to succeed in what you like

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School Work

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria was not open

    Dorm Life

    I did not see a dorn.

    Academic Rigor

    average

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful due to the area

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico community college is very affordable. The college is affordable, but not as valued as a college. This school is a good strater school for someone just begining college.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great on site safety at each campus.

    Food and Dining

    Looks good.

    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know. I live in my own housing

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, early, early! Don't ever be late for class. You'll regret it.

    In three sentences

    Great resources and really good quality education, which I expected. Hope to gain entry into the program of my choice within the next two semesters. It's a very popular program.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot cheaper to attend CNM than it is UNM and they offer a lot of the same courses.

    Dorm Life

    NONE

    Tips for prospective students

    Main campus is always packed. If possible try to get as many of your classes completed at one of the other four campuses.

    In three sentences

    They provide a quality education at a reasonable cost for tuition. It is truly a community and many resources are available to students. Flexible schedules

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are many securities on CNM Campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is spend time with my friends and the campus is actually a nice place to relax and think.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is delicious and their are restaurants close by school too.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CNM.

    Academic Rigor

    CNM isn't really too strict but strict enough to make students do their work and on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I really encourage is to make sure that there are no errors on your FAFSA application and keep checking your status because I didn't and now I'm having to stress about money and redo the application all over again.

    In three sentences

    This is my first year in college and i have to say that CNM is a great place to start. CNM makes it less difficult for me to understand the new things that I'm doing. I think CNM is really going to help me get ready to do much more difficult things at a University.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Both for online classes and campus

    What to do for fun

    Down town has a lot of shops and historical places to check out.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many different things to eat from fast food to restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    I just started going to this school .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help ask for it there will be someone who will be willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College has been a great experience, The faculty has been real helpful on getting my school schedule where it needs to be. I enjoy everything about this school.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Introverted people would do well at CNM. There are many students, but the typical class size falls between 20 and 25, so it's easy to get to know your classmates and make connections.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think it's odd that there are seven campuses of CNM. Seven! Most of my classes this semester are at the Montoya Campus, which in my opinion has a more homey feel than the main campus.

    Bang for the buck

    CNM's tuition is ridiculously cheap, however the bookstore is ludicrously expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of fun things to do on campus and in the greater Albuquerque area. Downtown houses alot of bars and two 18+ nightclubs. There are also many hookah lounges throughout Albuquerque, which can be the setting of a great night for those of us who want a club-like atmosphere without the alcohol and creepy people at Lotus.

    Food and Dining

    The CNM cafeteria is very overpriced, in my opinion. Four dollars for a Red Bull? Give me a break.

    Dorm Life

    CNM doesn't have on campus housing, so if you plan to go here, you'll probably have to get an apartment or live with your parents. I would suggest to keep all of your classes at one campus just to make transportation easier, especially if you ride public transportation.

    Academic Rigor

    I've never studied at another college so I can't compare the academic rigor of CNM to another institution, but I believe that the classes could be more difficult. There is a medium amount of work outside of class that I find myself very capable of, however I am not really challenged by it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Basically, just get all of your work done. Communicate with your instructors if you are having an difficulty with the class, transportation, etc.

    In three sentences

    CNM is a good school with good teachers, but lacks variety in the choices of majors and courses. There are many resources available for students here. The small class size aids in my personal concentration abilities and the retention of knowledge.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for non-traditional students. Flexible schedule and classes. A full time single parent could do it!

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome value!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok. I prefer the cafe

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Relatively easy compared to UNM

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what professor you have and look them up on ratemyprofessor.com

    In three sentences

    Great value for the price. Great transfer agreement with UNM. Look up your teachers before you take the class!

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It can be interesting sometimes.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who just want to start a couple years then transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The study rooms that can be checked out for group studying sessions.

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable compared to University of New Mexico.

    What to do for fun

    I pretty much just study in the library.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but I prefer bringing my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms in CNM.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the courses that are being taken. I have had some difficult classes and some not really.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to earn your degree from CNM or not, attend all your classes and study!

    In three sentences

    What I like about Central New Mexico Community College is you get to experience one-on-one with your instructors and get to know them. The class size is small so you won't be with two hundred other students. The only reason I am not staying is because CNM doesn't offer my major; Economics.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    planty

    Great for these types of students

    movtivated to learn

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    near UNM popular sports areans

    Bang for the buck

    better prices compared to UNM

    What to do for fun

    meet new students

    Food and Dining

    Not enough locations

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Academic Rigor

    challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want.

    In three sentences

    Great location. Great prices. Great course selection.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. You just have to know who to talk to.

    What to do for fun

    There's a couple of places around that you can go to with your friends. Mostly fast food restaurants but they're great!

    Food and Dining

    The pizza is delicious, I love it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Everybody is great! I love this school. The teachers are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just focus on what you are doing. Ignore the drama. Believe that everything is possible.

    In three sentences

    I think this college is amazing. It has so many great opportunities and teachers. Everybody is really helpful and nice.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they care a lot about students safety half the time they even have a city police officer to help the security.

    Bang for the buck

    its cheap but they don't act like a cheap school.

    Food and Dining

    very good food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    CNM does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is very rigorous at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    study and absorb what the professors say.

    In three sentences

    very well trained professors. professors care about their students. well kept facilities.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on duty but with large campuses things are sometimes over looked.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that pay for college by themselves or older people returning.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money saved versus a university, CNM does a great job. The staff are dedicated to their jobs. The material is challenging at times but understandable.

    Food and Dining

    There is food courts with decent options but it can be pricey.

    Dorm Life

    CNM does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting with academic advisors is important because they help ease some of the college stress by setting out a plan for graduation.

    In three sentences

    CNM is a great school for people who do not have a lot of money. The tuition is cheap and the staff is very helpful. The various campuses are good for the students such as myself, who live in different sections of the city.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security and lighting good, parking is close to buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students or students with families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each campus is diferent.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    Food and Dining

    There are cafe's and snack bars, but I haven't eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging but teachers are always willing to help and offer assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take you ACT or an accuplacer at the school and sign up for your classes as soon as possible to take advantage of the many classes offered.

    In three sentences

    CNM offers both basic and specialized courses to students of all ages and schedules. Smaller classrooms and individual attention make CNM a great choice to begin college.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most people smoke.

    Bang for the buck

    It depends on how much effort you put into your classes. if you give it your all then its completely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The pizza is my favorite not too saucy or cheesy, just perfect.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They are a bit strict with computers because most students need them for assignments so if you don't need them for assignments bring something else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on school completely. Don't slack off at all it affects you a lot. Never give up, there are so many opportunities just keep looking for them.

    In three sentences

    This college is amazing. They have so many opportunities and they are all very great people. I love this college!

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Albuquerque is full of history and culture. The best way to find fun things to do I'd to talk to the locals. Music, bars, clubs, restuants, movies, theater. You name it.

    Food and Dining

    Downtown Albuquerque is a fantastic location for great, inexpensive food and CNM is right near many of those places.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe there is dorms for CNM

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to remember to treat your education with dignity. The institution works hard to supply the students with university quality education dispute the financial strain. This school will be a great stepping stone to reaching the top.

    In three sentences

    I am looking to pursue big dreams with a little budget. CNM has quality education with the community college cost. I have truly enjoyed my time here at CNM.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Superb

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    non applicable

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    non applicable

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely get my money's worth out of my books, materials, and campus resources, its really difficult to fail at CNM.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the computer lab, because there's not much else to do.

    Food and Dining

    non applicable

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently taking my prerequisites for the Nursing program and it is as difficult as you allow it to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend keeping a hard and soft copy of every important document, and submitting everything more than once because it doesn't always work the first time.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College's faculty and staff have helped me and answered any questions I've had. However I have had a lot of issues with them Financially, and after asking various people, the help does not come easily or right away. If I had rate CNM from a scale of one to ten I would give them a 7.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but overpriced. I like the food court and the atmosphere, but there isn't always enough chairs.

    Academic Rigor

    The students attending are generally motivated because of the opportunities provided and the encouragement from professors.

    In three sentences

    CNM is a great school that gives a fair chance for anyone planning on furthering their education. It is much more affordable than many of the other colleges out there and its programs are diverse and interesting. I enjoy attending CNM and will continue until I have to transfer to complete my degree.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are little light stations with buttons on them that call campus security immediately. They have cameras everywhere, and they officers get the job done. If you are staying late, you can call for one of the campus' guards to drive you to your car so that you don't have to walk. Everything is well lit, and there is usually someone around if you need to call for help. Campus drills and emergencies are texted and emailed to all students. We are very well protected here at CNM. And if the guards or officers are far away, our students have no fear of standing up for their peers. We do not tolerate any bullying, ransacking or physical/mental/psychological harm in any way.

    Great for these types of students

    This school has a great set of diversity even though there are a lot of Hispanic people. But the Hispanic people give our college a more family oriented goal in life. This is great because they are true to their word and they have great skills you can learn from on your free time from college. Not only that, but students here have great attitudes and actually want to be here. They don't screw around because their rich parents paid for everything and they don't have to do anything. No, everyone here is fair and tries their hardest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of kids and I go to this restaurant called Frontier. We go there there every night before finals/midterms/etc. We also go there for celebrations of birthdays, good grades, and especially, for graduations. We also go to Sagio's for the same reasons.

    Bang for the buck

    The pay for CNM isn't expensive at all. Especially if you apply for the bridge and the lottery scholarship. I also won a pell grant. They even give you free bus passes, free access to UNM's library, student discounts at Albuquerque stores, and so much more. You're getting more than your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are several activities that CNM has to offer. The fact that the Isotopes park and the Pitt are literally down the street, is such a convenience. The students at CNM get huge discounts to all the sports events. Also, students arrange gatherings to go hiking, to the lake, golfing, and playing all sorts of games at parks like basketball, volleyball, baseball, ice skating, you name it. Make sure you become socially involved, it has it's benefits.

    Food and Dining

    CNM's campus has great cafeterias. One of my college friends asked me if I wanted to get lunch with her and I agreed. When she told me that we were going to eat in the cafeteria, I was a little skeptical, thinking about my high, middle, and elementary school cafeterias and how awful they were. When she returned with our food, I had the most incredibly tasty and juicy hamburger that I have ever had. The mashed potatoes that came with it were even better. The brownie was so chocolaty, that I thought I had died and gone to heaven. They also have a wonderful range of sodas, teas, and other drinks. I definitely underestimated CNM's cafeterias due to my pride which was my biggest mistake because I know eat there every day that I have class!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm, but I have a friend that does. The dorm life allows for social interaction, finding great and supportive friends, and even meeting that special someone. It builds bonds with your dorm mate, it teaches you what living with another person really means. It teaches you discipline, responsibility, and humility.

    Academic Rigor

    CNM has a great focus on education. Most classes are hands on and involve a lot of cooperation. My teachers are set on strict grading and will not tolerate any plagiarism. They want you to succeed, but they want you to do it honestly and with a learned brain. Letting you slide would be their greatest failure. But instead of failing you, they help you further learn the material and give you second chances.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the free student organizations at CNM. Their study groups and and mentors helped me to pass all of my classes. Take your work to a student volunteer that has taken your class with your teacher before and they'll know exactly what that teacher is looking for in their assignment and in which direction to lead you.

    In three sentences

    It has an amazing and diverse student body. The classes are small, allowing for one on one interaction between student and teacher. It has an incredible atmosphere with incredible resources, great staff, and plenty of locations to attend for convenience.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For anyone needing a more affordable school with university quality education.

    Bang for the buck

    The extremely affordable cost of attendance makes it much easier to swing the costs of school and raising a family and it takes a bit of the sting out of textbooks, though if you know where to look you can find what you need at a lower price. Since you can get a 2 year degree and transfer to UNM for a 4 year or more, the cost of your education can be greatly reduced.

    In three sentences

    I love the fact that CNM has locations all over the city so I dont have to drive all the way across town to attend my classes. The smaller size of a community college works well for me to start out. The diversity of students and openness of the staff and students makes it an enjoyable school experience.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards all over the campus when I am there. In the parking lots, especially.

    Greek Life

    There are many things to do no matter what culture you come from.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most clubs or activities I have heard about are workshops, personal ads for things, and personal clubs made by individuals.

    Great for these types of students

    CNM is great for any students who are looking to save some money versus a university and students who are used to high school type surroundings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, often times they have random street vendors selling photos and jewelry.

    Bang for the buck

    You learn a lot more and have a more personal experience. Also means more hands on group work, and presentations. However, for the price you get a great education, but overly expensive supplies, like books.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join and in a neighborhood with many things to do. Like go to the park or out for food.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very nice and simple food court and they have many vending machines. The vending machines have a consistent price of $1.15.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been involved in any dorm life through CNM.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and classrooms are very accessible. You have a high chance to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do research about your loans and any other information you may need help with before you ask the financial aid, cashiers, or advisors.

    In three sentences

    CNM has many very amazing and credible professors. Much of the administrative staff has no clue what information or details they should know about their jobs and things they need to tell students. They have many locations which is very convenient.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Central New Mexico Community College is a great way to earn a degree without spending all your hard earned cash on an viable education.

    What to do for fun

    The area allows for lots of recreation whether you are into physical activity or just taking it easy by seeing a movie.

    Food and Dining

    Food options are plentiful in and around the campus. There are great places to meet for study partners and food is always a welcome way to study.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms at Central New Mexico Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The folks at Central New Mexico Community College want you to succeed. The professors for the most part appear to believe the only dumb question is the one not asked.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student who is looking into Central New Mexico Community College is simply to ask lots and lots of questions. The staff is very helpful and concise on their assessments and answers.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Central New Mexico Community College is a wonderful opportunity for those that have the goal of getting their degree in several programs.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working full time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Initailly speak to an advisor to proper direction.

    In three sentences

    Simple and helpful registration process. Caring and Outgoing professors. Clean and well maintained campus.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 74

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love to go there. Teachers are helpful and will help you in any way you can to succeed. The are tutors that are willing to help you at no cost.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theft seems to be a problem.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Limited.

    Great for these types of students

    Certification programs only.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None to speak of.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are interested in certification programs at a reasonable expense this might work for you. If you are looking for a better than average education for Associates Degrees - look elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    Not much offered.

    Food and Dining

    On-site cafeteria. Not many healthy choices. Drink items are expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your abilities. I find it time consuming but not necessarily challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in certification programs at a reasonable expense this might work for you. If you are looking for a better than average education for Associates Degrees - look elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1 to 10 with 10 being the highest, I would rate CNM at a 4. CNM Connect is worthwhile, this department is able to get things done in a timely, compassionate manner. The other departments are cumbersome and not well organized.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a great and effective security team.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, though can be slow sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The main point of the collage is to get you started. They provide a strong starting point and build you a good work ethic to start off at a better collage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every assignment seriously! Passing collage is easy as long as you do the work and stay on top of your assignments.

    In three sentences

    Its very small which and student friendly. The staff are great and helpful. The overall attitude and environment are great and positive.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students.... Especially on a tight budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    What to do for fun

    Form a study group and meet new people or hang out in the food court and get to know fellow students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Studying is important in keeping your grades up and taking full advantage of the education you are paying for. Use all the available resources like free tutors and libraries and study halls.

    In three sentences

    CNM is a great campus. It is a smaller campus allowing the students more time and individual study with the professors. The education and resources are definitely worth the cost.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't gotten anything here.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty good.

    In three sentences

    Cheap, small classes

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    61 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some

    Bang for the buck

    i need it

    What to do for fun

    Produce music. Dj. Listen to music.

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten here yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Good i guess

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything done on time. Look at your email constantly. Don't wait till last minute.

    In three sentences

    Great welcoming campus. Lots of help. Really friendly people.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is alot of campus security who are very attentive. The campus is clean and easily accessable.

    Great for these types of students

    Non uptight types

    Bang for the buck

    I think this college is definately worth the money so far. I love the atmosphere and the instructors are awesome. They will definately take the time to give you the education that you need to advance in the career of your choice.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't really eaten on campus yet.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Just remember that you are in thinking about going to college because you chose to. You have no own it no matter where you go to college because, nobody is going to do it for you.

    In three sentences

    Relaxed atmosphere, eveybody understands that they are there by their own choosing not because they are made to be there. Very good instructors on campus. Clean, safe environment.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is located next to the University district of the city so there are many entertainment and academic activities for students within walking distance. The night life lends to late night studding at 24 hour dinners and coffee houses.

    Food and Dining

    The the food and dining at CNM is great with a wide variety for all students to choose from. The prices are great as compared to eating off campus fast food or shopping in the store.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CNM.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level of CNM is up to current government standard and most teachers are involved in the students academic progress from the first day until graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the new student or returning student the campus is small and easily accessed for all types of students. With small class sizes students have a better chance to interact with each other and teachers.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community college is great school to start college for the first time or for the returning student who wants to get a degree to help jump start their career. The school is fees are low compared to a four year college. It is a good way to start getting college credits to transfer if needed.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who need a very affordable form of schooling, or adults who need late night classes due to their jobs and families..

    Bang for the buck

    It is of course the best for those who need an affordable alternative for universities.

    What to do for fun

    It is by the Nob Hill area right next to UNM, so students can still enjoy a college social life, and a nice variety of restaurants, bars, and clubs. The main campus is also right next to Isotopes Stadium and also UNM's sports facilities and can enjoy baseball games during the summer, and all other sports during the Fall, Winter, and Spring.

    Food and Dining

    There is a general cafeteria, with some options for meals available for students.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms, so it is for those who live off campus. It however is in a college section of the city, so housing off campus can be found rather easily.

    Academic Rigor

    They have achievement coaches and counseling for those who definitely need help about finding themselves. There are plenty of tutors all over campus, and the professors do actually show compassion towards making their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good choice for anyone who is not sure what they want to pursue their interests in. Since it is affordable, it can allow you to be able to be flexible and you can definitely find your niche as a student as a result.

    In three sentences

    CNMCC is very affordable. It has a good variety of classes to take, and provides a nice environment. The best thing is it isn't far from UNM and students from both can be social with little commuting.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have alot of security it seems like also they have those security poles where you can call for help if need be.

    Greek Life

    None to my knowledge Might have some avaiable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some on the campus just have to pay attention to where there are as well as what they are. Sports that are offered. Special activities that are around the campus's

    Great for these types of students

    All students there is a great diversity in attendance at CNM Students with busy lifes.CNM has many classes that are offered at different times to make it convient for the students to attend and work at the same time. Students willing to continue their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They might have some not that many as opposed to a university. You can always make a new one and present it to the school. You are always welcomed to start up a new thing at CNM

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it is very inexpensive to attend CNM They have a payment plan for students paying out of pocket

    What to do for fun

    There are some extra activities around campus. Library's Computer labs

    Food and Dining

    They do have a food court on all the campus's which is very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms Small community college You can find a rental though close by the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They have several rigorous courses however they also have tutors to help you with many subject math,english,reading etc.... They also have achievement coaches to help you out as well. You can use their resources at CNM to help you with completing homework assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say they need to become very aware of due dates, very responsible as to when and how they should apply,registar, drop etc...... Also make sure your financial aid is on time and everything is ready for the next term. Don't wait to take care of your business at the school.

    In three sentences

    It'a a good college for students trying to get back in the college life. Many of the professors there are well known for their background as well as accredability. Central New Mexico has many degree as well as certificate programs. I overall rate them with a 6 on a scale 1- 10 not all colleges can be at a 10, and if so then there tuition is probabaly one that no middle classs american can afford.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Rio Rancho is located just outside of view behind city hall. However the main campus may be a bit scary at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have only heard of one club or organization since I began attending CNM

    Great for these types of students

    If you need to work and go to school then this is the school to go to, they have many classes and at many different times.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is inexpensive, but the quality of education is not particularly lacking because of this.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, Go to the movies, Enjoy some sun burn.

    Food and Dining

    The campus in Rio Rancho has two places for food close by, subway, and pizza 9. For any other food you would have to drive a few miles.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms from what I understand. This school is a community college so I am not sure they can afford it, or maybe they just don't want to.

    Academic Rigor

    I was genuinely surprised at how easy this school has turned out to be, but this does not mean its like shooting a bull or you won't learn anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    While this school is easy to get into, its important to remember to apply asap rather than just put it off and procrastinate

    In three sentences

    Several Campus' that offer many different class'. Job training for those looking to learn work skills. Fun and centered close to important areas of town.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at CNM is affordable. They have a variety of foods like burgers, subs, tacos and burritos. I especially love their fries.

    Dorm Life

    CNM does not provide housing for students because CNM is a community college. Although that is the case, CNM does have achievement coaches to help provide shelters for students who are homeless. Student housing is provided by UNM.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at CNM are reasonable. CNM provides rigorous courses for students who although they did not have the opportunity to take the SAT/ACT in high school, can still take those courses based on the placement tests. Generally speaking, placement tests determines the level of courses students should take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community College is great transition coming from high school. Tuition is affordable and students can balance their education and their occupations. Students of any age regardless of academic background can apply to CNM. They can earn a two-year degree, which is rigorous because the degree is a 4-year education compressed into two years.

    In three sentences

    Various students from diverse backgrounds enroll to CNM. As a result, the enrollment has grown drastically to over 30,000 students. The faculty is very respectful and passionate about the diversity at CNM's campuses.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    aviation academies and people interested in aviation

    What to do for fun

    Skills USA

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend this program to any incoming students. This aviation school has a succesful graduation rate and one of the cheapest schools to get an A&P license.

    In three sentences

    I'm currently majoring in aviation maintenance i've succesfully completed my first semester with a great experience. Intructors are proffesionals in there field of study with really great teaching techniques. Not much people are familiar with the aviation world in New Mexico so this made it a perfect oppurtunity.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security around to make students feel safe. They do their job and are there if you need them.

    Bang for the buck

    CNM is very affordable even for a full time student.

    What to do for fun

    CNM is again a community college. There is not much of a campus life style. Student's go to class and go home.

    Food and Dining

    I cannot honestly rate food and dining for CNM. I know they have snack bars on campus but I have never felt the desire to go there.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. Simple. If you are a student looking for dorm life you'd be better at UNM. CNM is mainly for people who are older and going back to school or students who can't afford schools like UNM.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors push you to succeed. They give enough work that you will learn something as well as not falling behind. They are also lenient on attendance if there is a logical reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    I discovered this year that taking morning and night classes at CNM main campus in Albuquerque when I live in Rio Rancho is not very smart. If you are a CNM student and live more than 20 minute from main campus do not take classes first thing in the morning or after 4:30. The traffic is horrendous this time of day. Also finding parking at main campus is very tricky. Around 8 am the parking lots tend to fill up and don't start emptying until around 6-7 pm.

    In three sentences

    Central New Mexico Community College is a great place to start before moving on to a larger university to get your bachelor degree. The professors are very knowledgable and helpful. They will work with you to make sure you don't fail. For those who don't like large classes, CNM is great. The class sizes are large enough where it doesn't feel like one-on-one learning but small enough to where you don't feel lost in the crowd. CNM also offers a large array of classes to suit anyones needs.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems quite safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have yet to encounter any...

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value

    Food and Dining

    Each campus has a food court or multiple.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    In three sentences

    Has great course selection opportunities. Has campuses all over the metro area. Campuses are modern and clean.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    71 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't feel read to enter a university with classes of 100+ students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to classes as soon as possible because they do fill fast!!

    In three sentences

    CNM has been so far a good college for me. The staff is kind and helpful. Campus is very clean and has a variety of classes.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    72 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CNM main campus I find safe. I belive they have a good security system. As students, staff and faculty we get alerts or notifications notify us about extreme danger to school delays and closures. Also they have securities patrolling the campus, so its a safe place.

    Greek Life

    This I also can't tell more in detail about, because I am unaware of a Greek life here on campus, as far as clubs, orginzations or groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities here on campus are more if you seek out for clubs. I am not sure what the camps offers, but I so see flyers here and there around campus. So I really can't emphasis on this topic. This also goes for activities aswell. Nothing really promoted on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I am not sure what your question is asking?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The strangest spots I find odd are the smoking locations on the main campus. I am glad they have small areas for these smokers, but im am not a huge fan for smokers. Its a disgusting habit and very stinky. As I pass these sections I have to hold my breath and walk past it. I think they should limit these areas.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable. Courses and instruction are suitable, Ive learned a lot since ive been here. I am pleased with my courses and cost.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located in Albuquerque, New Mexico. So the life outside of school is adventurous. There is a lot do outdoors and entertainment to particiapte in. Such as concerts, fun/walk runs, and family interactions. Numerous dinning facilities.

    Food and Dining

    CNM has a cafeteria which is convenient for most. But I would suggest getting more options such as Subway or another sort. I understand that the school wants to make a profit from their cafeteria, but should prices really need to be that high? I would think that they should know that most college students are broke. Something reasonable to should be taken into consideration. On the other hand they do have small little snack shops and vending machines through out the main campus. I would hightly recommand another snack shop at the Smith Brasher Hall.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is highly vauled, instructors encourage you to preform at a collegiate level. Therefore expectations should be meant, as a student I believe academic success is valuable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I hightly recommand that you really decided and go with a major you are willing to fulfill and presue. Keep up with homework, class assignments and just have fun with learning. Always plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1-10, I would give CNM a 8. Because class sizes are reasonable and they offer different sources of after hour tutoring and outside resources. Also its more one on one with instructors.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    73 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very reasonable! A big reason I love it.

    Food and Dining

    No food plan because of it being a 2 year college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school where people care about you, than this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I love the small classes. The teachers have a lot of time to meet with students. There is a lot of tutoring help offered around campus.

  • 07/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    74 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Guards regularly guard the campus and there is emergency call stations located throughout the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're someone who likes smaller class sizes and a more personal approach to learning, you'll love it here.

    Bang for the buck

    All my teachers have been amazing and the tuition isn't as bad as other colleges. Their tuition stays the same price unlike other big colleges that raise their tuition each year.

    What to do for fun

    CNM is right next to isotopes park so if you love baseball you have it all next door! There isn't much to do at the campus but they have regular blood drives and donating can help save someones life so be sure to donate whenever you have the chance!

    Food and Dining

    Prices are a bit high but what isn't? The food in the cafeteria is great and the area to eat in is nice as well. I love their grilled cheese and fries.

    Academic Rigor

    If you go through ratemyprofessor.com and choose the right teacher that suits your learning style, you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to fill out your free application for financial aid each year. Make regular appointments with Academic Advisers to make sure you're on track with your goals as well. CNM is a judgement free zone so if you need help ask! There is free tutoring and teachers offer office hours where you can ask additional questions. The teachers are amazing and I love every minute spent at CNM.

    In three sentences

    CNM is a college for everyone and is a judgement free zone. From their free tutoring to their amazing Faculty and Staff, they are always there for you. CNM is the best.