Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central Ohio Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus, COTC has a security department so students can feel safe on campus. COTC is also a tobacco and drug free campus so students can enjoy a healthy place to be at.

    Clubs and Activities

    COTC offers over 50 different clubs. Most students either are involved with just one club, or maybe 2 or 3. The ideal of having so many different clubs is to give students are variety of options to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    At COTC, there's never a bored moment. There's always something to do on campus, whether it's an event or an activity they plan for students. Each weekend, something different happens. One weekend, we may have bingo on campus where you can win prizes and get to meet other people, when another weekend there maybe be a concert held on campus as well. Another thing that is offered at COTC is sports. For fun, most people join clubs doing something they love, while others may do sports to have a competitive side to themselves as well.

    Food and Dining

    Central Ohio Technical College food is well known and always fresh. When leaving home for school, you're also leaving homemade cook meals, and delicious food. At COTC, you'll never want to eat at home again. The food that's offered at COTC is just as delicious, and has reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    Central Ohio Technical College offers apartments just next to campus. The apartments are extremely helpful for students who live more than an hour away from school. Apartments are also affordable, and well kept. The only downsize to the apartments are there isn't enough avaiablity for all students.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Central Ohio Technical College are always there to help students. If your in need of extra help with a specific course, they have design a tutor class to help your needs. For example, if math is one of your struggles, they have a lab where professors stay after class hours to help with any questions or test needs you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Central Ohio Technical College offers exellent academics and majors for all students. When looking into COTC, create a plan that you see yourself doing and talk with an advisor before you decide which courses to take. They then help you come up with an easy way to work around what you prefer, to make your college experience less stressful.

    In three sentences

    When I hear the word, College, I think of second home. Central Ohio Technical College has done more and beyond to make it a place where students can call it a home. All staffs and professors are always helpful, and know just what to do to make you satisfy with your choices.

  • 09/08/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go into career you want and don't let anybody tell you how to live your own life

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know what this means, but if it is about financial aid, then yes because my family is struggling with the economy problems

    Will enjoy being here

    I saw the commercial on TV for C.O.T.C and i think i would enjoy being here.

    Will learn a lot

    I am only 14 years old but I think that i will probably learn a lot from this school.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Did some checking around... It takes just as many credit hours here to get an associates degree as it does to get a bachelor's somewhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how close this school is to my house, it's very convenient. But there's not a lot to do in Newark.

    Am learning a lot

    I love my technical classes here! I honestly have learned a lot.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security staff. Parking lots are well lit and the size means that you quickly recognize those who belong.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown

    Great for these types of students

    COTC caters to students of all ages. Many of my classmates are returning to school, have jobs and families outside of school. COTC is designed to help all of us succeed through on-line learning, labs, and tutoring hours.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has several areas throughout the campus where students can just sit and exchange ideas.

    Bang for the buck

    Having instructors who work in the areas you are studying, make the information come alive. My Forensic Photography teacher is able to bring real life experience into the classroom. Our assignments are relevant to what we will encounter on the job.

    What to do for fun

    I can't really respond to this. Because I commute, I typically attend classes, labs, and tutor sessions, then return home.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines, a cafeteria, and local restaurants to choose from to obtain the energy needed to sustain you enough to continue your studies.

    Dorm Life

    I can't respond to dorm life. I commute from a neighboring community.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult. However, the instructors often work in the area and bring their expertise to the classroom. You will need to study, but there are many resources to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with an advisor from admissions. They can help you plan how best to succeed in your major.

    In three sentences

    COTC is an excellent school for students entering into Forensic Science. Classes are small, instructors are knowledgeable, and the admissions staff really listen to what you need. The campus is small enough that it's easy to find your way around.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the game room in the student center is the place to be. there are also paths and trails around the campus and surrounding areas

    Food and Dining

    great cafeteria with a variety of selections. a coffee shop, pizza shop, sandwich station, burrito bar, and a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    couldn't tell ya. I live of campus

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very dedicated to making sure you are successful. there are counselors that are readily available to help you with any issues you have, whether it be academic or personal.

    Tips for prospective students

    pay attention to deadlines. make sure your work is completed and submitted on time. if you have questions dont be afraid to ask

    In three sentences

    COTC has small classes so the instructors have more focus on the studentsd as individuals. They offer online learning as well as classroom. They also have regional campuses to add more convenience for the students

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it has the best security you could ask for.

    Food and Dining

    They have a few vending machines at the Knox Campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of dead lines.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college. The people are very helpful and almost overly nice, but that is a good thing.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Easy to understand the lecture my instructors give. The campus is very well designed inside and outside. Students are very nice.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. they have security personnel there all the time. They are very friendlly and always there to help out if in need. Great job guys !!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a single mother of 1 and i work part time so im not able to be involvedin clubs and activities..Im not real familiar with what they offer but the web sight has tons of information.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for single moms or dads and also right out of high scool students. Its just great for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    right next to the school is the Historical Roscoe Village which is really nice. There is alot of history there and lots of stores to visit and lots to see.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like COTC in coshocton. Its really affordable and economical. Especially for the local residents. I truly am grateful that it is here and I am proud to say i am a student there.

    What to do for fun

    You can go tto the computer lab and get on the pc's and they have several sitting areas that you can sit and relax and conversate with your peers.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria with vending machines. It would be nice if they had actual food to serve there but coshocton has a ton of fast food placces with in 2 miles fromt he scool.

    Dorm Life

    We dont have a dorm for COTC inCoshocton but there is one at the Newark campus.

    Academic Rigor

    IThe only thing i dont like is that its only a 2 year school .)

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out COTC..Its a small sschool in Coshocton Ohio but offers alot of proograms. you will be very surprized. I love it there.

    In three sentences

    I love COTC. Its really nice to have a school in our little town. The professors are really nice and are willing to stay after class is over to help you more.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Low grades

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hazing

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    go elsewhere

    In three sentences

    Its a ugly Campus Staff is rude People are rude

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read

    Food and Dining

    The only reason I rate the dining low is because it is located within the library.

    Dorm Life

    There are on-campus apartments but I have never been in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and teacher/professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and know what classes transfer!

    In three sentences

    Average community college, many gateway and student adviser's are student employee's or associates degree graduates.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have free movie nights and other things.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of food options near and on campus

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Isn't bad if you take online classes they give you one assignment a week and you have a week to get it done.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have patrol officers who drive around campus parking los, and the school has a Safety department

    What to do for fun

    Enroll in school clubs, different activities including sports

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor from the beginning, they will guide you in every step , they update you on schedule changes, prerequisites, updates , as well as registering for classes.

    In three sentences

    I give the school four stars!!! The school has amazing resources, almost fro every subject enrolled. There is an option to meet with your instructor for academic assistance, they take time to know their students. Resources include library, books on line, academic adviser's, open lab, tutoring, and lots and lost of practice.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The moodle website always posts activities for students to do. There are many sports activities and sororities and fraternities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is amazing. The prices are not bad either. It's like they know you're a college student and can't afford fine dining!

    Dorm Life

    I have never personally lived in the dorms. I, however, did a tour and they look fairly decent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty challenging. Always stay focused. Some teachers however are fairly easy. Seems to be the luck of the draw.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized! The Gateway has a tendency to not update things under your documents and or takes your documents away after you turn them in. Call to always be sure the school has received something. Most items you have to mail in!

    In three sentences

    I would give Central Ohio Technical College at 3/5 rating. I love the academics and the teachers, I am very challenged. I am however disappointed with the lack of organization in the student services Gateway center.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    went to campus in cleveland. very clean auto bays. friendly students and instructors,

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a few very good places where you can sit down and eat, although it is not like Columbus, for how small Mount Vernon is there are a good amount of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I attend COTC, the KNox Campus. I have my own apartment, I do not think that there are in dorms in Mount Vernon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you choose this college make sure you want to go to a smaller college or if you want to experience a bigger college with more people.

    In three sentences

    Central Ohio Technical College is a great school to go to if you enjoy the high school environment. There are not to many kids and the teachers help you when you need it and will provide one on one help if needed.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have movie nights.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head up, and ask for help when you need to.

    In three sentences

    I give Central Ohio Technical College 7 on a rating scale. They have a lot of staff the really cares about your success, but they are just a little disorganized. Also their website is constantly down for work.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police

    Greek Life

    I really cant tell you, but would like to meet them. Lol

    Clubs and Activities

    Well i just part @ downtown columbus

    Great for these types of students

    Cool, laid back, who are focused and trying to get their associates degree quick.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Go Buckz

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym

    Food and Dining

    The Newark campus well COTC share the campus with OSU, and the cafeteria there serves breakfast, lunch & dinner, i like their pizza, & italian sub

    Dorm Life

    I dont stay at the dorms nothing to report

    Academic Rigor

    Small sized class

    Tips for prospective students

    You going to like the environent, and how everyone puts in effort to lead you to your success.

    In three sentences

    The faculty is awsome, very energetic open mind advisors. I love the campus. Is not far close to my place of stay.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The nursing program is great, there are many awesome instructors.