Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Central Oregon Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get your basic classes out of the way and save lots of money your first year of college then come to COCC!

    Bang for the buck

    Seriously, saving the money by living at home and going to a community college for one year is SO worth it! Fall term alone cost me less than $1000.

    Will enjoy being here

    I know that I'll enjoy being here because I love Bend...however, I would love to go to a bigger college after this year.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm just taking my regular basic freshman classes and so I'm sure that I'd be getting about the same level of education regardless of where I went for this first year.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    COCC is perfect for anybody because no matter who you are or what you look like people will accept you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check all you options but COCC is a great place to start because they have lots of options to chose from so you can start your education close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    I decided to attend COCC instead of OSU for my first two years because the tuition cost are reasonable. At OSU the tuition would have been very expensive but COCC is about right and I could afford everything I needed. Also if you cant afford all the cost COCC is willing to help you so you can go to school and get an education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everybody at the college is really helpful and nice. The teacher especially are fantastic because they sometimes act like one of the kids instead of a teacher. This makes learning more fun and easier. Also the students are great because no matter if you are their friend or not they will help you if you need it. The campus in general is a great place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    At COCC you learn a lot more then you would at a university because the class sizes are smaller. Since the classes are smaller the teachers have more time to spend with each student and therefore you are able to ask more questions so you can understand the material better. The teachers also like to help the students in every way they can and try to make it so everybody, whether a visual learner or not, can learn the material. I have been a student for a full year and felt that all the classes I took were worth it.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    COCC is great for just about anyone who is looking to jump into a higher education. Only 200 level and lower classes are offered mostly but its a great starting point for someone who isn't ready to move into a huge university. Community college is a great transition from high school or not going to school to a university. The atmosphere is wonderful and the people here are some of the friendliest around. If you're outdoorsy its even better because you would be right in the middle of everything; skiing, snowboarding, hiking, camping, floating the river, fishing, shopping, hunting, biking, running, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early!!! There is such a demand for education right now that registering early is very important. Even though current students have priority over new students, classes still go quickly! Also, when you are getting ready to register, know what classes you want before it comes time to actually register. Plan, plan, plan! It really pays off in the end.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and registration costs for COCC is amazing compared to big universities. Although it's still expensive for someone who doesn't have a full time job, I was able to get a loan through the school to pay for this year and it's been a lifesaver. The classes really are worth the money it costs per credit.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus because it's beautiful in the summer and in the winter. The campus is set on a hill which can be difficult at times but is a great workout if you have classes all over campus. There is a great view of the mountains and it doesn't feel like we're right in town. Feels more like we're up in the mountains somewhere.

    Am learning a lot

    COCC is great for small classes where the students have one-on-one contact with the instructors. The advising part of registration is great because the advisors only recommend classes that the student needs to be or should be taking to be successful in their chosen field. The instructors offer outside of classroom help and are timely in getting feedback to students. I've learned more in the last year and a half at COCC then I did in four years of high school.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always seeing patrolmen around.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of them.

    Great for these types of students

    outdoors, specialty programs like culinary arts or forestry science.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's an event called storm the stairs. we're talking more than ten stories from the bottom of campus to top.

    Bang for the buck

    i'm getting credits for fairly cheap.

    What to do for fun

    join a club, use the tennis courts, frisbee golf is popular.

    Food and Dining

    typical cafeteria fare but the sandwiches at the cafe are good.

    Dorm Life

    haven't lived in them, but i've heard stories.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are what you make them.

    Tips for prospective students

    getting into classes can be difficult, so apply early.

    In three sentences

    cocc has a great campus, though a lot of stairs. the professors really care about the community. most everyone is kind and helpful.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always security around campus. its safe.

    Greek Life

    community college..... not sure

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everything you are interested in, and if not you can create one.

    Bang for the buck

    cheaper than a university for sure, but i do not like the transfer acceptance of incomming credits.

    What to do for fun

    student life has a lot of activities that you can do, and there are always clubs to get involved with as well as a number of activities going on weekly all around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    good and cheap food in many places across campus.

    Dorm Life

    never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    not. sure

    Tips for prospective students

    know what you want to get into class wise, and have backups that you can take. do not take too many un-needed classes.

    In three sentences

    good school, but so many students it is hard to get into classes that you need. good programs to help degree seeking students get into their classes still needed to help them graduate.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are in a very safe location and have 24 hr security features in our facility

    Greek Life

    no Greek life...but we make Greek food in international cuisine!

    Clubs and Activities

    Culinary Club and Student Ambassadors (there are other clubs at the COCC campus as well, but culinary club is all you really need!)

    Great for these types of students

    Food passionate, motivated, knowledgeable, driven, excited! explorers, risk takers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the walk of steel every year for graduation. Students make two lines down the hall and raise their knife sharpening steel. Then graduates walk through the tunnel into their culinary careers! Every midterm (once a semester) we have our Midterm Celebration (Midterm buffet). Every classes midterm is displayed in our restaurant and then we eat it! We have some presentations from students about events they have participated in and family is welcome to join.

    Bang for the buck

    CHEAP!! Compared to many culinary schools in the US, it is one of the cheapest with the best education. Highly recommended if you want to save money! CCI won an award for sustainability just a couple months ago. We strive to use local ingredients for our restaurant and learning purposes. We have one baking and pastry kitchen, one culinary foundations kitchen, and our advanced kitchen which doubles as the restaurants kitchen. We have a beautiful restaurant, Elevation with indoor and outdoor seating. There is a view into the kitchen so you can see your meal being prepared! We also have a library, storeroom, offices and our halls are decorated with art from students in the upper campus. It's like a museum!

    What to do for fun

    Every semester, there are numerous events to volunteer at and network with students and other chefs. Many of these events can be found through the Culinary Club and the Student Ambassadors Program. We travel throughout Central Oregon and sometimes out of state to promote the school and teach others about food. Examples are Bite of Bend, ProStart, High School get togethers, Meal of the Year, Taste of the Town etc... We also like to go to local restaurants and get to know students and teachers outside of school. Besides food, we also live in Bend (which in Oregonian means OUTDOOR FUN!). There is so much culture and so many activities to do in Central Oregon it's ridiculous.

    Food and Dining

    We have our own restaurant called Elevation. It is fine dining and student run. We serve lunch and dinner Wed-Fri, with lunch being al a carte and dinner being prix fixe meals. The menu changes every semester giving our community only the best local Oregonian food! All students (culinary and baking/pastry) rotate through the kitchen, bakery and dining room to get a full education on an operational restaurant. and we have lots of FUN!

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms on the COCC campus but most students live out on their own. It's not a terribly big dorm community. I also don't know much about them; thus, I can't give a true rating. But I know they are there and readily available!

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, baking and pastry comes pretty naturally. I've only had difficulty with a few classes that have much more challenging obstacles. But I learn differently from other; many need to practice practice practice to finally get the skill down. A final reason I only gave 4 stars to rigor is you get to eat your homework! What's easier than that?

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't compete! Yes, you want to be the best you can and strive to impress, but don't drive yourself crazy by trying to beat everyone else. Everyone has their own ways of learning and completing assignments. Soak it up like a sponge and have fun! Be willing to compromise with classes you may not be the most happy about. More than likely, those classes can help improve your resume and job opportunities int he future! Get involved with clubs, activities, events etc. There are tons of opportunities to network with people in the business who could change your life!

    In three sentences

    The Cascade Culinary Institute (part of Central Oregon Community College) is the best culinary school on the west coast due to it's brand new facility, amazing faculty, one on one time with students and broad learning experience of various cuisine around the world. I am able to come there everyday looking forward to going to school and delving into the world of pastry! Our chef instructors continue to promote our education and help us achieve our goals as future chefs.

  • 09/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the outdoors. Bend is all about being outside summer or winter doing activities for both. Even the professors like to shake things up a bit and do an activity outside at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Orientation. Student Life goes out of their way to make orientation fun as well as informational both for the students and their parents. Another major tip is to register for classes as soon as you are able to since the classes fill fast. Also, get to know your professors, they make great future assets for recommendation letters as well as great mentors.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are much cheaper than the other universities I thought about attending. My only disappointment was that even though I was a state resident, I had to pay the out-of-district cost for classes, which I wasn't aware of until later. But the extra cost was well worth attending the school.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved the area of Bend. There are a lot of activities both on the campus and off the campus to enjoy when not busy with classes. I also enjoyed my professors, my favorite being my psychology professor.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes I took here were very informative but also fun and engaging. Also because of the smaller class sizes, I got to know the professor and everyone in my classes. Also because of the small class sizes, feedback was given in a timely matter. The professors also made time to see students for any extra help.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus could use more lights especially on the stairs especially for those of us who have night classes. campus is slick because of poor shoveling. campus security is right on it though! :)

    Clubs and Activities

    there really are a lot but i am too busy to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    those that like a small, hometown feel are good here. the ones that are undecided in their majors are also popular here. i think really cocc is great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we are on a giant hill the is no fun to walk up and down and especially not fun to drive in in the winter but we are all used to it so no big deal really!

    Bang for the buck

    tuition everywhere is a little ridiculous but the reward at then end makes every penny worth it!

    What to do for fun

    frisbee golf, ski, snowboard, pretty much anything outdoors you can imagine!

    Food and Dining

    cap center has an amazing salad bar and great food otherwise. there is a huge menu. i've never eaten in the cafeteria but i'm sure it's good!

    Dorm Life

    i don't know. i live off campus. i've heard nothing but good things, though. i think the dorms are small but aren't they all?

    Academic Rigor

    it's college. classes will be challenging but depending on your learning ability and the professor, it's not so bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to work but to also enjoy yourself because you will do both!

    In three sentences

    cocc has knowledgeable and passionate instructors! i, also, think that cocc has a variety of classes to choose from and are very accommodating to students wants and needs. cocc is a small, family community at school.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    anything! it's bend, or. in the top 25 ski towns in the world.

    Academic Rigor

    difficult, but not too difficult. prepares students for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    going to class is half the battle. college is all about applying yourself. if you do that, i guarantee you will do very well and get good grades.

    In three sentences

    beautiful location. cocc is anything but just a community college. the difficulty of classes prepares you very well for either transferring to a university or succeed in your choice of career.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    the athletes and the health people can take specific classes that relate to how they believe and what they are in to.

    Bang for the buck

    you get a high quality education for less money which is important in our society.

    What to do for fun

    bend, or is a great place to be. there is a lot to do. you can be active by riding bikes, snowboarding or skiing and running and being athletic. you can also take classes through cocc like yoga and physical training.

    Food and Dining

    i ate at cocc one time for a fbla meeting. they had good quality food. i heard sometimes they let the people aspiring to be cooks cook the meal, because their is a culinary arts program at the school. they let these students cook.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    my writing classes were difficult. you must value your time and get things done as soon as possible. the work can stack up quickly so do not put off anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    attend cocc i would say to new prospective students. it is a great education at an affordable price. this is what the world needs.

    In three sentences

    i am currently taking classes at my high school through cocc. this class was exciting and really helped expand my writing knowledge. it was exciting expressing my ideas and listening to everyone else's.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a mother of two. Usually anything with them

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not drive to campus during the first two weeks of a semester. Carpool or take the bus it is packed.

    In three sentences

    I love their campus and the RN course instructors.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    theres a small amount

    Great for these types of students

    people who are self motivated, and self sufficient

    What to do for fun

    the campus is on the westside of bend which is close to the local ski resort which is a 30min car ride, maybe even closer then that. you also have downtown bend which always have something going on. in the summer time you have plenty of outside stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great at the student center and even in town.

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in the dorms so i dont know what they look like but i've meet some students who live on campus and they say they are nice

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers will work with you and also push you at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    live with a friend or buddy to help pay for cost of living. buy books from craiglist.com or amazon its way cheaper.

    In three sentences

    C.o.c.c is a great 2yr college the teachers are great and the students are super friendly. Its easy to pay for and the lifestyle in bend is easy for any new college student to pay for.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100% safe and secure

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are way to many to choose from and they are all active

    Great for these types of students

    any student can archive there goals here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    Yes you get so much going to a community college.

    What to do for fun

    The are so many out door activities

    Food and Dining

    They have a huge cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Never stayed in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I have not a clue what to put here, sorry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as you know you want to attend do not wait around.

    In three sentences

    They have great class sizes. You can find help anywhere. The campus is beautiful.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I would rate this area a 5. I have visited the COCC campus various times and often frequented the campus dinning room that offers a bit of everything to accommodate for many students taste buds.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about the dorm life at COCC.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate the Academic Rigor a 4.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before applying to COCC I would suggest talking to an advisor about the degrees they have to offer and the transfer options that they have in place. Consider the possibilty of being wait listed into a program and how many they allow per year into it and how long it will long it will take to get into it. Have a back up option.

    In three sentences

    From 1 to 10, I would rate the COCC campus an 8. It offers many options from start to finish. Although with the numbers students increasing every year it seems as if the student to class ratio isn't fully satisfactory for all the students needs. At the same time there is progress to the expansion of the campus to expand the classes and what many things COCC has to offer.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent campus safety patrollers. For students with night classes, they offer a bussing for those who do not want to walk to their cars at the end of the night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and co-ed sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for adult students returning to college after a hiatus, or for students fresh out of high school. Very diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    Not too expensive, but be prepared for textbook and supplies costs.

    What to do for fun

    There is a frisbee golf course on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Many different choices and options. Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    COCC is planning on expanding their dormatory with a new building.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot of up-hill-to-down-hill-and-back type of walking. Try to schedule your classes in a location of campus where the buildings are close so that you don't have to rush up and down the capus to get to a class that's far from the others.

    In three sentences

    Great campus location and scenery. Professors are caring and understanding. The student body is diverse and laid back.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent security.

    Great for these types of students

    Wilderness lovers, chefs, and outdoorsy folks. Lots of classes are offered outside in beautiful Oregon.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lactation Lounge in Grandview Hall....I've never seen one of those before.

    Bang for the buck

    I checked out statewide tuition rates for Oregon and COCC is in the top 5.

    What to do for fun

    There's always events, bbq's, music, culturally diverse activities, contests, and fun events going on at COCC.

    Food and Dining

    Love their soups in the cafeteria! There's also two coffee shops on campus, and I must say that's a great idea!

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus, unsure.

    Academic Rigor

    Staff and faculty has always been right there to help, and it really feels more family-oriented then anything here. There are counselors there to address ANY issues you might have. I can't stress how helpful the staff at COCC is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the shuttle unless you'd like to exercise a lot, utilize all the tutoring services, keep up to date on the community events, and remember our library has everything you'll need during finals. Great school.

    In three sentences

    Central Oregon Community College is an absolutely wonderful facility and is very accommodating to a diverse group of students. I am thrilled with the teachers, computer labs, and free tutoring for all types of classes. I rate COCC a nine out of ten, simply because all is wonderful except for the parking.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its central oregon. what ISNT there to do

    Tips for prospective students

    There are some great professors and teachers here. Learn from them.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus that is in the heart of central oregon.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe. Bend in general is SAFE. My biggest worry was running into a deer, which hasn't happened. Drive safely.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here. Although, I did make friends with a girl from Greece. Their way of saying hello is pretty long.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an awesome tea place downtown, five minutes away from the Bend campus called Townshends. Please do visit, and don't be afraid to try the Bobba teas. Also, there is a bakery next door, that has organic carrot cake, and carry a lot of gluten free products that is amazing for afternoon snacks while you wait for your next class!

    Bang for the buck

    If I had stayed in California, my tuition would have cut in half!

    What to do for fun

    There is always a lot of outdoors stuff to do. That's what Central Oregon is all about.

    Food and Dining

    One of my favorite things has to be their bacon cheeseburgers with fries. The coolest thing is culinary students get to monitor that department. My only complaint is the pricing, but other than that, great food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know what dorm life is like. I've heard both mixed reviews. Ultimately, I'd say don't be afraid to try new things!

    Academic Rigor

    Every teacher I had seemed to be unbelievable equipped. They're background varied from professor to professor, but certainly very impressive. I think their background has to do a lot with their teaching styles. Therefore, teaching styles were challenging, and I loved that they tried to correlate with the growth of society in social networkings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off, or procrastinate. Seriously. It's probably the thing you don't think about, but end up doing most often.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten, I'd rate it a seven. I absolutely grew spiritually, mentally, and educationally. I made the right choice by choosing COCC as my first choice instead of going directly to a university. The teachers are greatly equipped, and somehow my classes were small so I felt like I had the benefit of that of a private school but with a better pricing.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bend is an amazing place to live with lots of outdoor fun adn great concerts in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    There is a culinary school, I have particular diet restrictions so there is rarely anything for me to eat at restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea about dorm life as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a community college... the rigor depends on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be mindful of checking ratemyprof.com and interview your profs if possible. DO NOT take classes from David Dralle for math...he is terrible.

    In three sentences

    What a wonderful place to study. The faculty is amazing, and the student body supreme. the professors are truly top-notch.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even with such a diverse population of students there, I rarely feel unsafe. The college really does a great job at producing a safe environment, and they listen when students share there concerns. There are a number of emergency beacons set up around the campus, where if someone was in trouble they could push the button to call for help. A siren goes off and there's a light at the top that flashes until help arrives. I don't know if anyone has ever had to use it yet.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about Greek life on campus, sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know all the clubs, but chances are, if you like it, there's a club for it! And if there's not, then I hear it's pretty easy to get one going.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are adventurous and love the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure about traditions, but there are two perks to being an early bird with those early morning classes: One, you get a great parking spot, and two, the views you get of the sunrise on campus are really unlike just about anywhere else in town!

    Bang for the buck

    I'll admit it, Central Oregon Community College is kind of an expensive little college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a wide variety of activity classes that are lots of fun. Biking, running, cross country, tennis, yoga, etc... plus in Central Oregon we are surrounded by mountains, hiking trails, rivers and lakes. The primary source of recreation here is the great outdoors! The Central Oregon area is spectacular! The people are friendly, little businesses and downtown life is bustling, and we take great pride in the beauty of our surroundings. We have a ton of state parks, a major river that runs through the middle of town, and I have to say that we have quite a few excellent restaurants. We've got a little bit of everything here all wrapped up in the middle of the Cascade Mountain Range.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing too fancy, but you can get a nice sandwich or salad, they have coffee stands in a few different places, which is great! And they have an excellent culinary program that puts on little events throughout the school year.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I don't have any feed back to offer for dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I've been both, challenged and under-stimulated. It depends on the class, and on the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to get your exercise! The campus is very spread out and there are many stairs. There will definitely be classes where you might feel singled out because of your age, maturity level, or educational level. There is always something you can take away from it though, and you may even be able to help someone else get through it, so don't be too quick to drop a class if you don't like the feel of it. It is okay to disagree with a professor as long as you can show a clear understanding of what they are teaching.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus with mountain views and surrounded by nature. They offer a wide range of majors, which gives students a lot of different options and opportunities when trying to figure out their career path. The classes have very diverse age groups, and it is very easy to be singled out as either the youngest in the class, or the oldest.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love the library.

    What to do for fun

    Many things from hiking, walking and camping.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early

    In three sentences

    It's a great community college school! Have great teachers. New classes and options.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, there are campus officers all over and there are emergency call buttons for when an issue arises.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for athletic students who like exercise and those who want good teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hills are crazy it is mostly going up or going down. Its a great way to get exercise.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do is to get out there and get to know people. Another great thing to do in the Central Oregon are is to go hiking.

    Food and Dining

    The food bar is very good in its ability to present a variety of appetizers and main dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Appears to be really good given the setting the way it is run, but I can't be too sure for I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    So far my classes are not too hard but just right.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a question, ask it before it is too late.

    In three sentences

    A great 2 year campus. The teachers are wonderfully outgoing and passionate about what they teach. The faculty is willing to work with someone and give them good advice.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a safe place whether it be from social or natual factors.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a wide range of clubs and activities to fit anyone's needs. I hope to join some martial arts clubs myself.

    Food and Dining

    I eat off campus, but when I am there, they do offer vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm so I cannot accurately answer this.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience, the students can get competitive, but in a good way. Competition in a friendly manor pushes someone to their full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look over classes and their requirements before taking a class. Meet with teachers and advisers to set up a schedule fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Central Oregon Community College is a diverse school, filled with incredible people. The school offers a variety of classes as well as study programs. COCC helps you succeed to the best of their abilities.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unsafe practices are absolutely not tolerated. safety is top priority.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure what greek life is supposed to mean

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not part of a club, but i do receive at least 1-4 emails a week about upcoming clubs and activities. and that is just for the culinary program.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is built to succeed. I your a first time college student this is the best type of school for you, as well as people returning to school after a long period of time. They have classes and schedules to fit work lives. and small campuses in other cities for people who live outside of bend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The artwork all around the entire campus is very original fresh and funky.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely university learning at a community college price

    What to do for fun

    Spend as much time with my children as possible.

    Food and Dining

    most of the food and dining comes from graduated or almost graduating culinary students so of course its top of the line.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, however i know someone who does. They say it is great and the dorm managers are very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous, but that probably depends on you degree. It's worth while , though, because you know the information will be carried with you for a lifetime.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize resources early. Don't be afraid to ask for help til it's to late. The professors are great at explaining and helping step by step. register early and apply for every scholarship you can.

    In three sentences

    This college campus was originally going to be a university so it has a huge campus full of resources. The class choice is amazing. Anyone wanting to study anything can find a good start here

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm too busy earning my degree right now to have fun...but I'm sure if I were younger I'd be out there living it up with the best of them.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus...I bring my food from home.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus....I own my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    I find my classes challenging and refreshing. I have to put a lot of time into homework, but as a whole it's fun for me as I'm totally invested in getting my degree and certificate in Pharmacy Tech. There are a wide range of classes offered at C.O.C.C. and a very positive environment maintained on campus that invigorates the mind and works toward continuing enrichment.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to have a plan mapped out as to which career or major your interested in. It is imperative that you have two to three schedules chosen for each term so that if you can't get into your first choice for classes, you have back up choices ready. Be sure to check your campus e-mail daily if not a couple of times each day that's where professors log changes in the class syllabus or alert you to cancellation of class.

    In three sentences

    I attended one year of College back in 1979-1980...I just started back to school this fall of 2012. It's been along time since I've been to school but I have good instructors and I'm learning far more now than I did back then. C.O.C.C. is a good school and it sits on a beautiful campus what more could a girl ask for? I love having blackboard to do assignments on makes life a whole lot easier.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Exceptional. We have a security force on campus and we have electronic safety alert systems that can be activated by any student if they feel threatened in any way.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great,

    Great for these types of students

    Education students, law enforcement, culinary, math majors, English majors and many other majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a frisbee golf course.

    Bang for the buck

    Great What I really like about community colleges is that the cost per credit hour is less expensive that major colleges. I feel that I am still getting a great education and the staff are highly qualified.

    What to do for fun

    Hike, camp, and spend time with my adult children and my grandchildren

    Food and Dining

    The college has a amazing culinary degree.

    Dorm Life

    Fair to good.

    Academic Rigor

    I am excited about pursuing a Masters or Bachelor's in child behavior.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in a teaching degree this is a great community college to get started with. We also have a Oregon State graduate school on our campus that you can obtain a Masters or Bachelor's Degree in a number of professions.

    In three sentences

    I have had a wonderful experience a Central Oregon Community College. It has been great to attend a college that has small classes and very relational instructors. Attending college at a later time in life has been great.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Campus Center does a good job of providing cheap, yet quality food for students. There are various types of food from cake and pizza, to veggie burgers and salad. I am very pleased with the wide array of choices in the cafeteria, because I am a vegetarian and like to eat healthy and have been able to maintain my eating habits here. There is something for everyone!

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not have much to say about the dorm life of COCC, because I am living at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The course material in the majority of my classes at COCC has been challenging, but not impossible to complete. None of the professors I have taken classes from have given the class work that they do not thoroughly prepare us for. Math has been difficult for me, but after spending many hours in the tutoring center, I managed to finish the class with a B!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to take full advantage of the tutoring centers, as they are extremely helpful and can make a letter grade difference. Forming study groups is also ideal for information heavy classes, such as psychology. Considering the campus of COCC has an endless amount of stairs, I would tell prospective students to wear comfortable shoes. Also, a spare jacket always comes in handy, because the weather changes quickly in Central Oregon!

    In three sentences

    I would recommend Central Oregon Community College to students looking to receive an economically sound education without missing out on quality. Attending COCC for my freshman year of college has been both an academically and spirit enriching journey. The campus is beautiful and makes me look forward to going to class each day.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on site 24-7.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs, cultural drums and such. There are lots to join.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who want to go to school with all the fun things this area has to offer it is a deal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Vets room works for me.

    Bang for the buck

    The students are all there for personal improvement and treat each other as equals. Lots of lab help and advisers along the way.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities available to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The shools cafe is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a little less intense than University levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for the red tape and go for the scholarships that are available.

    In three sentences

    They have great staff and aides. Their courses are put together in an interesting manner. The various locations make attending easier.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bend is a safe place, stay alert and you will stay unharmed.

    Clubs and Activities

    The annual Hot Seat seminar in February is great.

    Great for these types of students

    Casual, laid back, outdoorsy.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you put into it.

    What to do for fun

    Central Oregon is the best place in the world for recreation. Bring a bike, a backpack, and a Hydroflask and your set! Always tell someone when you go into the outdoors. Bend is known for our Beer and our Dogs! Examples: Kayaking, Canoeing, Biking, Hiking, Site Seeing, Yoga, Dogs, Lakes, Trails, Rock Climbing, Mountain Climbing, Martial Arts, Microbrewery's, Hunting, Fishing, Shooting, It goes on forever...

    Food and Dining

    Make friends by eating/studying in the campus center.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know..

    Academic Rigor

    Some terms will feel really easy and some will feel really difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak extensively to advisers, they are knowledgeable and can get you on the right path. Tell them what you want to do after college so they can help get you there. I recommend transfer degrees to young students instead of an associates degree.

    In three sentences

    Super friendly staff. Great Business and Culinary programs. Parking is known to be bad.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great location, great teachers and great staff.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you would do outdoors. sports, biking, hiking, rock climbing and so on.

    Food and Dining

    Great Culinary program that provides food in the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many impressive professors at COCC. I attended for two years and have been taught by two Harvard professors, a Georgetown University professor and an NFL pro.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is a bit troublesome so show up early. If you don't you will have to walk a long way up a huge hill

    In three sentences

    There are many professors that have previously worked at prestigious colleges such as Harvard. This college features some of the most beautiful surroundings in the area. COCC is a great way to receive a certificate or a great stepping stone to transferring to get a four year degree.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety should be every woman's concern. I would like to go to school and know that I can be safe. I love how they have a Zero Tolerance policy. That makes me feel better.

    Bang for the buck

    This does sound like a really cheap college. I'm impressed.

    What to do for fun

    Hey! I see that they have outdoor activities. Hiking Fishing A track for jogging.

    Food and Dining

    I don't really know how the food will be. But I have had worse before. Hopefully the food will taste great.

    Dorm Life

    Like I said before, not every place or school is going to be perfect. I have lived in a dorm myself not just once but twice. Both times were for free. So the idea of me being able to pay for my room and board sounds like something I would like to do.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has a variety of classes to take while enrolled. I have found that there are classes I can take and need to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you start something, don't give up. Finish it. Not every place or school is going to be perfect. It will have it's issues.

    In three sentences

    This seem like a really great school. It is in one of my favorite parts in the state of Oregon. Perfect for starting out in life.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Occasional incidents but nothing to worry about.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There's tons of stuff to do in bend if you're the outdoorsy type. Hiking, kayaking, climbing, snowmobiling, fishing, camping, skiing ect. Outdoor activities out the wazoo; you name it, we've probably got it.

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't know, I don't live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know, I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too challenging. Very doable courses. For most classes and teachers you really have to work hard to fail the class; show up and pay attention, it's just that easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class at least 30 minutes early if you want a decent parking spot.

    In three sentences

    It's an alright school; you get what you pay for. The teachers, for the most part, are friendly and helpful. Most of the students are there to learn and the ones that aren't filter out after financial aid is dispersed.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bend Patrol is composed of former police officers and military personnel. They are extremely friendly and within a couple minutes call.

    What to do for fun

    Disc golf is behind the track. This is a must-do for every college student, nay, every person living in Bend.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is high-quality, filling, inexpensive, and worth every cent!

    Dorm Life

    I haven't personally stayed at the college, but with Internet service, security, and walking distance to food, I wish I would have. The only downside of living on campus is that food facilities are closed on the weekends, and the dorms are at the top of the hill, making for a treacherous walk/drive down the hill to the closest gas station.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and engaging. However, some professors take too long explaining certain concepts that one or two people haven't grasped, slowing down the pace for the rest of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pack light! You will be hiking up and down hills all day. Also forget about driving! While they have made improvements to the parking situation, there is simply not enough room to go around. Take public transit to the college, and then catch the Campus Shuttle to get around campus.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes and friendly and helpful faculty really set this college apart from others. Expect to hike everywhere, but that's just a fact of life living in Central Oregon. If you have any issues, advisors are always available to assist in any way needed!

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    not a whole lot to do at school.

    Tips for prospective students

    start applying for classes early and try and sing up for classes asap

    In three sentences

    Teachers are great but the office people are not helpful at all and applying and getting in to classes is very hard and no one is their to help you

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is go for a relaxing run becuase in central oregon there is many locations to run for any running fans.

    Food and Dining

    Again I cannot for say how the food is in COCC but I did hear its made by the culinary arts class

    Dorm Life

    I personally cannot say how the dorm life is becuase I live outside of the campus

    Academic Rigor

    Not a lot of challenge COCC or harsh at all unless you want it to be

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the school because it has many types of majors to choose from that can be transferred credits to a different school.

    In three sentences

    COCC is a okay school to attend if you like fresh air, nice faculty and the diversity of people in the campus (age group). A good school to start at for a transfer student.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any issues with campus safely. We also have a safety vehicle that patrols around so there is no problems. COCC has a rule with smoking to keep everyone safe. Smokers have to smoke at least 25 feet away from the building. Those who are involved or want to be involved with the LGBTQ community also will be safe as something called safe zone has been put in place. The campus safety goes to lengths to make all feel welcome and stay safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    GSA- Gay Straight Alliance Gardening Club Psychology Club Latino Club Black Union Club Truth Seekers-Christian Club gaming club nursing club American sign language club math club....and a few more

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. Those students who are unsure of what they want can test different classes out until they know. Those who know what they are doing can get in and get out as quick as they can. There are all kinds of students at COCC. The ages range from 17 to 60's. There is something for everyone

    Bang for the buck

    COCC is a great school, but I recommend being very intentional about what you do. Don't be afraid to ask questions to those around you. COCC has awesome services offered in the library. We have a bookstore and study rooms. The study rooms can be checked out for a few hours. Internet is offered and not to mention the game room in the cafeteria. The experience you have is what you make it.

    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs on campus. The psychology club tends to hold fun events such as movie nights. A lot of the fun one would have has to be intentional as there is not a lot of options.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive. Depending on what you get it tastes good, but food such as the deli sandwiches are not very good. I prefer the drinks they have and the snack foods like cookies and fruit.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been in the dorms. heard there isn't much space or very many rooms and the dorms are expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors do their best to help anyway they can. They wont hover, you must as for help. If you ask, then they are willing to help, so the academics is easier but not easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be very careful picking classes and make sure the times aren't conflicting or classes aren't in different campuses 2. find out all COCC has to offer so you can really have a worthwhile experience 3. Try to meet with your advisor early on so you aren't taking unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    COCC is a great school. I love the view. One of my complains is how many stairs COCC has. Other than the layout, COCC has great faculty and should be considered for attendance.