Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central Piedmont Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want credits to transfer to another college.

    Bang for the buck

    Very easy admission process!

    Will enjoy being here

    Campus is nice and people are friendly!

    Will learn a lot

    Many useful, transferable, flexible classes that meet academic needs!

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 out of 5 campuses are completely safe. central however is in downtown charlotte, combine that with night classes and the need for some students to carry around laptops, smart phones, ipods, and other expensive gadgets. results in about one mugging every other month, which isn't that bad considering their are 70,000 students at cpcc as of spring 2012.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who likes to have no more than 34 students in a class. and/or needs to take classes for work, their own enrichment, an associates degree, or to transfer to a four-year university.

    Bang for the buck

    community college tution is the same as all community colleges in the area so about $1200 for 5 3-classes. not including books.

    What to do for fun

    depends on which campus your at, and the day. there's two gyms, student life has something going on almost every other day. and central campus is in downtown charlotte so theirs allot to do there all the time.

    Food and Dining

    depends which campus your at. the levine campus has a subway.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms, i live at home so definitely 5 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    the administration has instituted a program that requires all classes to strengthen a students skills in math, writing, or science to help prepare students for their careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to a counselor before signing up for classes every semester and tell him/her exactly what you are trying to accomplish with your college carrier, especially if you are using financial aid, because there are so many classes and options you could easily get sidetracked and run out of financial aid.

    In three sentences

    cpcc is great, with small classes, two free gyms, and classes on every subject i've ever heard of. the staff are always helpful and informative. they offer classes to fit your schedule from 8:30 am to 10:00 pm m-f and online. and with five campuses it is convenunt travel wise.

  • 10/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I believe you will love it!

    Bang for the buck

    The admission seems very easy.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love and really want to go to Central Piedmont Community College for there Dental Hygiene program. It seems like a really great school and so far it meets all my needs! I really want to be a part of Central Piedmont Community College.

    Will learn a lot

    Me personally will learn more about the Dental program and also college life and experience on a college campus.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I cook at home for my family to save money. I am a single mother of two.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    I only attend campus for testing but for online students, make sure you are checking your blackboard daily!

    In three sentences

    I have been attending CPCC for over 2 years. I have only attended online classes at this point and I have to say I love it! The online options I have been able to register for have been great. I am able to do my studies in my own time while working and taking care of my children. I do have to say you must be self motivated to chose this option. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for those that have classes at night, the security can ride you to your car if you request it.

    Great for these types of students

    young and older students

    Bang for the buck

    for in-state tuition, it is the best value for the money at $66.00 per credit

    Food and Dining

    there's not many choices to eat on any of the campuses

    Dorm Life

    it's a community college and i am not aware of dorms

    In three sentences

    it offers various programs, that offer a lot op options for starting school after many years of being out of school. the campuses are new and constantly changing, very easy to get to.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    basketball games, shopping, and just hanging out downtown

    Food and Dining

    we have different choices to chosse from. yumm

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you take your classes serious and do all the work assigned most teachers don't accept late work.

    In three sentences

    central piedmont community college is a great school. i have learned so much while being here. the teachers are great and willing to help you learn.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love going into the CPCC library. It doesn't sound fun but for me it's fun, because i have a quite and peaceful environment to research, study, and surf the net for interesting things. I also love going to Cpcc's festival's they are fun to see and very enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    Food depends on what campus your at. If your at the Central Campus, your in luck but if not, they do have food for students such as vending or restaurants like subway.

    Dorm Life

    Cpcc don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Schooling at CPCC isn't difficult. As long as you take notes and listen to your instructor your good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge the CPCC before knowing it. I judge CPCC before entering the college and in the end, I ended up really liking the school for its hands on instructions and helpful staff members.

    In three sentences

    I really like Central Piedmont Community college. The teachers are amazingly helpful and kind, which made my first year of college stress free and fun. Not only that but thanks to the amazing CPCC staff, I will be able to transfer to a four year college, CPCC has been very kind and helpful to me.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for transfer students and for students who work full-time. also good for students that can't afford a university.

    Bang for the buck

    great bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    charlotte is a big city, so you can find many things to do. the weather is great in charlotte so outside activities are plentiful

    Food and Dining

    i do not eat on campus, but there are many restaurants that are near by

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    its hard for me to comment yet on this as i have only completed one semester

    Tips for prospective students

    jump right in. don't wait too late to register as classes fill up quick!

    In three sentences

    i think that central piedmont is a pretty good school. so far i have had good teachers and have enjoyed my classes. the only think that is missing is the college life.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is fast and makes you feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs to choose from at cpcc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bo jangles is a cool place for students to hangout.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is a great price for the education you get.

    What to do for fun

    theater is a cool place to see shows and plays.

    Food and Dining

    could definitely use some more place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    this is a community college with no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i believe the instructors and professors are of top quality.

    Tips for prospective students

    financial aid department is very helpful and processes the paper work quickly.

    In three sentences

    central piedmont community college is a great school! they have a lot of different degrees to choose from. the central campus is fairly large and easy to get around.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown

    What to do for fun

    I read a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework, and find out everything you can about the course before you take it.

    In three sentences

    I am a little disappointed because the CNA program is not covered by financial aid. On the other hand, I love the convienence of the college being close to home. Lastly, the staff is friendly.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Still working on this, parking garages are not totally safe, need to be aware of security officers to assist you as you need, located in middle of city of Charlotte. Other campuses around Charlotte, etc.

    Greek Life

    Some involved students have access to this type of life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to join, such as Student government, student ambassador, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Open idea type students, one's who aren't sure about their major yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very open campus, streets go through it. Can be very confusing to new students, need to have a tour or review online before attending.

    Bang for the buck

    You are in charge of your life and actions, do not let anyone discourage your ideas and insperations when choosing classes and desired subjects, be very aware of everything first.

    What to do for fun

    Attend all the free festivals and try to go to shows/plays as available. Library is a great place to hang out with coffee/snack shop ymm, reading, great computer areas to use theirs or yours, 4 floors of help and amazing workers/helpers.

    Food and Dining

    Does not apply.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Be aware of your needs, wants, and available classes before you start.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very cautious as to what you choose to major in, ask many questions to your advisor as you are planning. Be very serious when attending, this is your opportunity to shine!

    In three sentences

    It is improving in great ways. I feel more comfortable now. Improvement is needed in ways of assistance for new/older students, but they are improving slowly.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is located in uptown Charlotte and there are a lot of armed robberies and assults on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition continues to rise

    Food and Dining

    They should offer a wider selection of food for the students to chose from

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this school

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for graduation early other wise you will be sitting and wondering if there is something wrong. Always follow the advice of the advisers. Participate in school activities.

    In three sentences

    Counseling staff is very helpful when it comes to helping you to register for classes. The graduation department is a little slow on reviewing your graduation applications. The environment is welcoming.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few incidents this year of robbery and stolen items. The lockers at the gym were broken into and a car was stolen at the Levine campus this year. Downtown campus is very unsafe at night.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Central Piedmont houses many clubs and activities and you can see the list on the website.

    Great for these types of students

    Slackers or frugal people, basically. The people aren't too pleasant to look at with few friendships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Levine Campus has a strange spot for smokers on two entrances to the schools since you cannot smoke on campus and it is annoying to look at when driving up to park.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, Central Piedmont is great and affordable if you are just looking to pass through and pick up your two-year degree.

    What to do for fun

    The Levine campus has a free gym to students and staff. They have a nice library and pond with fountain.

    Food and Dining

    The Levine campus has a subway, snack bar, and tables to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm on site with little local affordable housing options at the Levine campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a bit on the easy side and most of the teachers are either funny or well educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to bring a pillow.

    In three sentences

    Central Piedmont is divided into convenient locations across Charlotte. The campuses are beautiful and the staff are very caring. I feel like it is a great, safe place to harbor my education.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always keep your belongings with you, they've stepped up on security but regardless, NEVER leave your stuff unattended.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They just opened a gym and it runs for certain hours but its free to ALL students! All you need is your student ID and you can exercise when you want.

    What to do for fun

    Every week they have an event going on, but you HAVE to check the students calendar. Don't just go to class and go home, HAVE FUN and MEET NEW PEOPLE!

    Food and Dining

    On campus, they have Subway, Bojangles, and Victoria's Coffee. If you ride the trolley (it's free and goes to downtown), there's a plaza that offers the following restaurants: Salsaritas, McDonalds, Burger King, China Shuttle, and much more.

    Academic Rigor

    Some have a lot of homework, others have homework open the whole semester, but meet the deadlines as soon as you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class ON TIME. Do all the online homework(sometimes it takes about 2 hour, depends on the class). Make a good relationship with your professor, they're easy to talk too.

    In three sentences

    CPCC strives to make there students feel flexible about their class and for it to be inexpensive. There are great professors and great facilities on campus. It's location is downtown near Presbyterian Hospital and if you don't have a car, the Charlotte bus routes have about four buses passing through CPCC every hour.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Location everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, mall, club.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    In three sentences

    Great school and offers many opportunities for students in different fields.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well........... the central campus is very close to uptown Charlotte so... some crimes such as robberies occur pretty often. The other campuses don't seem to have as many incidents.

    Greek Life

    No Fraternities or Sororities, however there are lots of Greek Honor Society Chapters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    All! Every race, nationality, disability, its a melting pot!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None come to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    I have received an excellent, thorough, education at CPCC.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you want!

    Food and Dining

    A few places around to get food at the Central Campus Uptown Charlotte. Not so sure about the other campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot is expected at CPCC. A full load can be challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! And if classes fill up beg to get in!!!!

    In three sentences

    CPCC is a great school. It offers lots of different options of obtaining your degree in a timely fashion.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is basically a safe campuses and the security is visible both day and night. There is visible police presence surrounding areas near campus. Response time in emergencies are less than 60 seconds.

    Greek Life

    On point and very visible and active within the school and communities served.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many organizations are represented here from government, political sciences, web technologies and professional services. Our gem is the Crusade for Christ for believers and those seeking answers about spirituality.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults seeking career change or enhancement High school graduates or those seeking thier GED International students Seniors citizens in our continuing education programs or our self-expression courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Today the campus has created an extraordinary greenway that offers walking rails, rest area, bicylcling, skateboarding that leads to one of our major hospitals. We have access to free trolley rides at the central campus that takes one to the center of downtown area. Celebrates arts/crafts by our annual Sensoria event-which is a city favorite. Summer months bring about out-door events in music, drama and the arts.

    Bang for the buck

    This has proven to be the most friendly campus in town. They are constantly improving the appearance of the campus and course material based on using student feedback surveys. This campus offers a separate Culinary Arts program, Healthcare, Legal and Entreprenuership training curriculum. Partnerships include our major healthcare systems such as Carolinas Health-care, Novant Health-care. The Entrepreneurs Leadership Academy is exceptional and partners with Charlotte's business professionals offering workshops and networking opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in many student activities available from government to professional organizations. Attend plays, concerts or recitals at our on campus theater Take part in Gaming Technology feats Participate in cultural activities by our International student organizations

    Food and Dining

    Surrounded by a diverse selection of eateries of many nationalities, the school offers on-site dining at Subway, Bojangles and the school Library Cafe. The surrounding eateries offer healthy eating as well as vegetarian menus.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories to date; Available housing for students available via bulletin posting and word of mouth.

    Academic Rigor

    This college offers comprehensive short session courses of 9-12 weeks; Attendance is just as important as submission of coursework. Use of course Discussion Board mandatory for class questions concerning assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take an ACA course that teaches you good college study habit and how to study for exams Speak with a course Advisor early to get your education plan Use the on site course assistants and mentors to help in trouble areas. Take placement tests, register early!!!

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent community college with the best instructors. This college has many degree programs and organizations for student participation. This college is affordable and offers unique course offerings.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are occasional robbery attempts on students in the parking garages, but there are security cameras everywhere so they usually catch their suspect and charge him.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure. I think there might be a few honor societys, but I don't know about Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that is unsure of their major. This is a great place to get you going.

    Bang for the buck

    The textbook prices are high, but then again they are that way everywhere you go. The tuition ranges from $1,000-$1,500 per semester (and thats including technology fees, parking fees, etc.)

    What to do for fun

    Its in the middle of a big city so there is plenty to do. There are all sorts of mueseums and concert venues near by.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway, a Bojangle's, and a small cafe right there on campus so there is a variety of places to eat in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    None. Its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't hard, but they aren't easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time picking a major. CPCC has a wide array of subjects to choose from and if you don't know right away you can still get your general education courses knocked out while contemplating on what your major will be.

    In three sentences

    I love CPCC. It is a beautiful campus located in the middle of downtown Charlotte, North Carolina. They have a great music program (I am studying music education) and the staff is incredibly talented, nice, and willing to help any student with any need.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a gym on campus as well as tons of activities and six different campuses.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for a simple degree or to help get your college path started.

    In three sentences

    I love this school they do an amazing job and helping with all my problems. They always make it extremly easy to sighn up for classes. Also are extremely helpful with financial Aid.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It depends on which campus you have classes at. Levine campus is nice and safe, except for the aggressive geese. I don't know much about the Harper, Cato or North campuses. Central campus has several robberies.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a mock U.N. and a few other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students with busy schedules, students looking to transfer, and older students.

    Bang for the buck

    In state tuition is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Since it is located in Charlotte there are plenty of activities. Malls, bars, dance clubs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, there is only a Subway, vending machines, and food available in the bookstore or the coffee bar. However, there are numerous fast food places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a commuter campus

    Academic Rigor

    It really just depends on the class and the instructor. Most classes are fairly easy and instructors are helpful for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    If taking classes on the central campus of CPCC keep an eye on your surroundings, especially at night. Also, register as soon as possible for classes because they fill up fast but if you can't get in at first wait for the payment deadlines to pass because the next morning the system kicks out those who haven't payed making it possible to register for previously filled classes.

    In three sentences

    CPCC is one of the best community colleges, at least in the south. They offer a wide variety of classes & have campuses located in different parts of the county to make it easy to attend.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While there have been some robberies and other incidents, the school is diligent in reporting recent crime. Security is available and willing to escort students to cars at night.

    Great for these types of students

    CPCC is great for adults and self pay students. There, I am one of many professionals returning to school.

    Bang for the buck

    CPCC has a reputation for being one of the strongest community colleges in the country. They have articulation agreements with many state universities to make transfers simple.

    What to do for fun

    Charlotte offers museums, art, concert venues, clubs, restaurants, and great parks.

    Food and Dining

    There are fast food restaurants on campus and a variety of restaurants in the general vicinity.

    Dorm Life

    community college

    Academic Rigor

    My first class was mostly self-taught; the burden to learn was appropriately placed on the students. The teacher in the second class was more engaging with creative assignments, but the class was much easier; I could have made an A without doing the reading at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't settle with the first answer to any question. Staff and personnel in different departments can give new ideas, perspectives and information as well as help you discover any inaccurate information you may have received early.

    In three sentences

    Most of the staff were helpful at registration, but I was ill-advised by the adviser on the best course for me; I'm a self-pay, working adult returning to college with the desire of transferring to UNCC to obtain a 4 year Business degree. One of my teachers was helpful in pointing out a more efficient and cost effective plan of action. Both classes were politically slanted and some important details in American History were never discussed or inaccurately reported.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have take classes at all but two campuses don't be afraid to travel.

    What to do for fun

    I love the theater and the festivals,I checked out a few during my short time here and I wasn't sorry I did.

    Food and Dining

    Bojangles And subway.

    Academic Rigor

    Moderate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register early and get the best prices on books and that's not always the book store. Don't give up! Start your homework and readings yesterday!

    In three sentences

    I would say that although the size of the school can be a bit overwhelming it's a very intimate experience. There is tons of help around the corner for all students if you are willing to take it. I would love to have more Internet classes offered.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs that you can join. If not, people get together at the library cafe or around campus to eat or study. They hang out while they wait for their next class to start.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining depend on what campus you attend, but central campus has several restaurants there. In the library there is a cafe too. There are also vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CPCC because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    In the classes that I was in people seemed to try their best to do every assignment. Everyone wanted to pass the class. There were only a couple of students who really didn't seem to put much effort into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students to always work on homework during the breaks that they get between classes. I discovered that it's a great way to catch up on work. It really helped me finish up so that I wouldn't have to do homework when I got home or after my job.

    In three sentences

    CPCC is a great place for students to get started with their education. It's a school that offers variety in classes. The cost is very economical and it's quality education.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is up to par.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back students.

    Bang for the buck

    Perfect bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym on two of their campuses.

    Food and Dining

    The only food I have consumed from CPCC is from the vending machine, and they are easy to use and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not rigorous, it just depends on the teacher whether or not there will be a lot of coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that everything is in order before you start. Do not do anything over the phone, and make sure that what you need to get done is done on the spot.

    In three sentences

    The campuses at Central Piedmont Community College are easily accessible. The student services can be frusterating because of the lack of organization. The school is overall okay, and the staff are friendly, but they seem to always lose files and do not put important changes in the computer system when asked.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are no places to dine on campus but there are a variety of places around the campus that are very close. mainly fast food but there are also a variety of restaurants to dine at as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is at a moderate level. the best thing is that if you do have trouble they have various ways to get help with the course your taking and the teacher are absolutely willing to help in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective student is to apply as early as possible and apply for financial aid as soon as possible because classes fill up very fast. and to take the classes very seriously especially if you plan to transfer as i do.

    In three sentences

    central piedmont is a very good school. i plan on attending in the fall semester, and was blown away by the excellent service and the positive attitudes of all the staff i encountered. The overall environment of the campus in amazing as well. on a beautiful day the campus will definitely enlighten your mood.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security and special police are contracted by the college to provide 24/7 support.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure of this, have not looked into it yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Working, low-income, and those with kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing in particular.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a low cost. Better than paying a private college for the same education.

    What to do for fun

    Again, campus is located right near uptown Charlotte so activities are plenty.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of restaurants on campus but the campus is conveniently located near uptown Charlotte so you can drive into uptown for food as well.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so dorm life is not an issue for me.

    Academic Rigor

    This field is fair. As good as it can be for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start registration process early as classes book up fast then you will be stuck taking classes you don't want to take.

    In three sentences

    Cpcc is convenient, affordable, and comfortable. There is no high stress level environment here. Campus security on site to provide added safety.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Seems like they have been highly recommended by others and they are a good stepping stone if your trying to transfer to a four year school.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway on campus

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure about this aspect

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the orientation so you know how to navigate through school as well as what services are available. Don't be afraid to ask...they are willing to help if they know whats going on.

    In three sentences

    They have been very helpful through the entire process from start to finish. I had questions and they answered them in a timely manner as well as helping me with me specific circumstances. I would definitely recommend them to others.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security team on campus is well trained and diligent. I feel safe at all times.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at CPCC is far less than other schools in the area.

    What to do for fun

    I own a business. Therefore I have little time for socializing outside the classroom

    Food and Dining

    There is an opportunity for a good meal at Bojangles or Subway on site at the central campus, and several eateries close by.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the work is demanding, it is not overwhelming. I have no problem submitting all work in a timely manner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the best you can to learn all you can and the grades will take care of themselves. Remain focused on your goals. I've found that doing this gains the greatest rewards.

    In three sentences

    CPCC is one of the finest community colleges in the nation. Academically, it is unsurpassed. The instructors are informed and accommodating. I continue to enjoy excellence in my education.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your papers. Sign up for admission is fast and simple. Make sure you have your materials before classes begin.

    In three sentences

    It is very organized. The campuses are quite big but diverse. The teachers understand what they are doing.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards in every building of every campus making sure the hallways and streets are safe to walk on. They always do their job!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs an activities going on at CPCC. For example, one of the clubs are for people that have an interest in animation and graphic novels, which I will shortly be joining next week.

    Great for these types of students

    CPCC, is great for students that like to take their time and are on a schedule. The teachers and staff are very understanding to the students that attend the school, because not all of the students are between the ages of 18 and 21.

    What to do for fun

    At the Central campus, they have a building wear some students can play chess and video games while they wait for their next class or just to relax and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of fast food restaurants and diners near most of the campuses. Easy access to food is always reliable when you are in a hurry, or just relaxing with friends

    Dorm Life

    CPCC, unfortunately does not have dorms because it is only a community college. But there are some apartments near some of the campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are very important. They take academics very seriously, and the teachers try their hardest to get help you towards success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have a goal, and never doubt yourself. Doubting will always end in failure. Keep trying and persevering to do your best and accomplish you goal or goals.

    In three sentences

    I would rate CPCC, with a 10! CPCC is a great school, with very awesome and unique majors. I enjoy my time there very much!

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very important at Cpcc. We always have security on duty at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to transfer to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a very easy admissions process.

    Food and Dining

    Since this is a community college we don't have cafe's and dining areas as a university would have.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college I don't live in a dorm so i don't have any dorm experiences.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has multiple resources for your academic need. They have professors who are always there to help, they also have personal tutors, and they even have online resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering going to school but not sure what your major is or not sure where to go, then Cpcc is a great choice to start with. They help you make big decisions like that. If you are also in a bad financial situation and cant afford a university Cpcc would also be a great choice for you. Always keep an open mind because this was one of the best choices i made coming to this school, it can help you a lot in the future.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start college. It helps you take beginning steps to becoming a successful college student. The professors are great, they are always there to help you with anything.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about everything here and there is a co-ed soccer team.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone in the world comes to CPCC. The groups of students here are so diverse. Young and old and every color of the rainbow comes to CPCC.

    Bang for the buck

    The education and the hospitality of all the employees of the school is worth every single penny.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do at CPCC?! The campus is right uptown and everything is in walking distance. My kind of campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips i will give are the same tips that most college students will give you, and that is to prioritize. Never fall behind in your studies and always give your best because no one is there to hold your hand. You want the grade; put in the effort and prove it.

    In three sentences

    CPCC is just like every college i have had the pleasure of doing research on. The classes are just the same as at a regular university but they are much, MUCH cheaper; but the quality of the education is still the same. CPCC in my personal opinion was the best choice of my life that i have made so far just because i know that i didn't kill myself with an expensive university and i still get the same education.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    CPCC offers multiple clubs and activites for students. They will email you if they think you are a right fit for a specific club and there is also a bulletin board with new clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are transitioning from high school to college.

    Food and Dining

    CPCC levine campus has a coffee shop on the first floor as well as a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for CPCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of classes can depend on which you choose. Some classes may seem easy, like theater appreciation, but can be somewhat difficult depending on the teacher you have. Also, you should take note that all of the appreciation classes require you to see plays and concerts.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise new and coming students to only take online classes if they are responsible and can hold their own weight, it is very easy to fall behind in online classes. Taking one for your initial semester should get you used to online classes. Also make sure you visit counselors and the help that is available on campus if you are having a hard time with classes.

    In three sentences

    CPCC is a fantastic college for students looking to transfer into another college. It is a good atmostphere and provides a good amount of help for those who are struggling. I would definitely recommend attending this college if you are wanting an easy transition into the college life style.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't live on campus

    What to do for fun

    I officiate basketball games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Continue to work hard and stay on top of your studies.

    In three sentences

    It is a great institution. The staff is very helpful. I have learned quite a bit while attending this school.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security ususally always driving around.

    What to do for fun

    Study.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway located in the Levine campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you are serious about staying in college this is a great begining school.

    In three sentences

    I think this is a great community college with many opportunities. They have many great teachers here and help to make sure you have the opportunity to do well. Its a very clean and well focused school on helping to get an education.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their are quite a few fun activites on campus to get involved in. There is a local coffe shop that has a few options on specific nights for college students. Also their is a bible study that organizes outings to various places.

    Food and Dining

    As far as I know the only dining we have physically on Central Campus is Bojangles. They are a few restaurants within walking distance, and offer a variety of food choices. A few of them offer student discounts.

    Dorm Life

    CPCC does not offer dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards of CPCC's academic expectations are top-notch. Any cheating of any nature is strictly forbidden. The instructors expect the utmost of you for your grades, homework, and class participation. They are rewards for good grades and honest conduct, such as the deans list or the two year honor society.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest looking into which campus offers what choice of study you are interested in. Also the seminars for new/beginning CPCC attendees are very informative and helpful. In addition always keep your valuables either locked up or if in a vehicle hidden. Beware of your surroundings, and sign up for CPCC's campus alerts.

    In three sentences

    CPCC is a great place to start your career for a low cost without compromising your education goals. In my personal experience CPCC had been very rewarding. The teachers are state of the art, they are knowledgeable in their careers and teaching field. CPCC offers a variety of courses and career fields to prepare you for your job or for transferring to a university.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always public safety officers walking around and in the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many clubs or activities. Its super hard to set one up on campus too.

    Great for these types of students

    The ones who are unsure what they want to do with their future career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I can think of...

    Bang for the buck

    Don't buy books at the campus bookstore. They will rip you off. They charge way to much and then buy back books for next to nothing.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun on this campus, unless you are part of a club.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of vending machines. Subway is the only choice for food at Levine. There is a small coffee shop, but its just as expensive at Starbucks and not as good.

    Dorm Life

    There are NO dorms on these campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are harder than others. Most hold pretty strict to their syllabus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Subway is the only eating place at Levine, there is a microwave, and lots of vending machines. Be familiar with the layout of your classes before the first day. Stay on top of the classes you are taking, they don't always transfer like the counselors promise.

    In three sentences

    Pretty decent class choices, as far as time offered, teacher, etc. Teachers could be better in my opinion. Levine Campus is always clean and has something going on!

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is all over the campus for your protection and safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    TRiO Club, Human Services Club

    Great for these types of students

    TRiO club which is a tutoring program. They have you placed with an individual tutor once a week on your time schedule. They tutor in math, reading, english, and help you write papers for your classes. They also have counselling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student Resource Day and Spring Fest, and Fall Fest are wonderful traditions that we have on campus during those special times of the semester.

    What to do for fun

    Watch dvds.

    Food and Dining

    We have Bojangles., Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I take transit to the college. There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up fast and join TRiO Club and the Human Services Club.

    In three sentences

    I rate my college 100. I think it is the best college in Charlotte. I really have learned a lot since I have been attending.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Offers great education for a very low price.

    Food and Dining

    Has a subway on the levine campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Can definitely be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great transition school. Look at the various opportunities the school offers. Also, go online and take a look at the schools scholarships, state scholarships, grants, and financial aid. You will be surprised to what you can find and what you might be eligable for.

    In three sentences

    The college is very accepting and helpful to all students. The school provides a top of the line education with the best instructors. Is a big school with a small student to teacher ratio.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CP does have security on the premesis. They always keep up informed of any mischielf caught on the premesis. They have police officers canvasing the school.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities and clubs that you have access to participate in. Since I am an online student I do not participate in any of the activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. Young as well as older.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not attend on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    CP have four other locations available for their students to attend. It allows you to attend evening classesl in case yo work during the day.

    What to do for fun

    There are times when they have bands come and perform during the summer months. They also have poerty contests. College Day.

    Food and Dining

    I no longer attend classroom settings, I take online calsses. They do however, have some restaurants such as: Bojangles, Subway, and surrounding restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. CP does not have dorms. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, I am satisfied at CP. My insturctors made certain that you learned what was taught in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload yourself with classes if you already have a busy schedule. Discipline yourself if you want to make good grades. Take a break in between studying periods.

    In three sentences

    CP is a great community college. It allows you to earn a two year degree. The instructors are concerened about the welfare of their students.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are debating on attending Central Piedmont Community College, I would recommend that you take a tour first. I would also ask that you follow the steps that the college ask you to take. Such as the orientation, the academic plan that they provide for you. I would highly suggest that you get involved with the veriest student life events and organizations the school offers.

    In three sentences

    When I chose Central Piedmont Community College it was the best decision I made thus far. Not only did I find my calling with the Man Up program. Central Piedmont Community College's staff and faculty are really here to help you.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Downtown has tons of resturants around that give student discounts.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Standard college

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize their counselors. Research all the programs before making your choice.

    In three sentences

    A great affordable school. It has multiple locations. They are transferable to any university in NC.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for all students. It is an economic way to knock out your first two years of school. There are night classes and day classes available as well as many online.

    What to do for fun

    There are many free things to do on campus each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned in all of my classes and have been stretched while being encouraged to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go see advisor right away. They will help guide you through the process and will give great pointers for attaining your goals.

    In three sentences

    CPCC is a great local college. It offers many opportunities for learning at multiple sites. The staff are great and helpful.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is in the center of a major city. I've never felt unsafe there, even after dark.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for everything. From video games, to environmentalism.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sensoria. A yearly week long celebration of the arts. This is one of my favorite weeks all year, artists, writers, musicians, architects, and more all come and give talks. It's like the schools personal TedX event.

    Bang for the buck

    Many of the professors work at UNC Charlotte as well as central Piedmont. This means that in many classes you get the 4 year college experience and expertise you expect, but at the community college price.

    What to do for fun

    Located right near downtown Charlotte, Central Piedmont is close to everything. There are always shows going on in their amazing theater, Broadway quality productions and symphonies for $5? Students have it good.

    Food and Dining

    A few places on campus, but the surrounding areas have many great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Put your nose in a book, and show enthusiasm in class and you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a few continuing education classes, this lets you meet older returning students who have real life experience.

    In three sentences

    To put it simply, Central Piedmont is outstanding. There are few places with staff as dedicated to students and learning. Best of all, the students are diverse in every way except their dedication.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In State tuition is amazing. I feel blessed to have found this school.

    Academic Rigor

    CPCC has challenging classes with heavy course loads. Be prepared to really learn and be tested.

    Tips for prospective students

    CPCC has all the resources available to help you. The staff is very caring and giving of their time. Take advantage of everything they have to offer!

    In three sentences

    I really love this school. I am an adult student returning to college for a career change. I have attended other community colleges and universities and can honestly say that Central Piedmont Community College has been my best experience of all.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Depends. What campus are we talking about? Harper sees car thefts often. Levine is the safest, being in a fairly affluent suburb of Charlotte. I've never been to Cato, Merancas, or Harris, personally, so I can't speak to those, but I get at least two emails a month during the academic year reporting a theft/larceny/assault/mugging at Central Campus, sometimes in broad daylight. Campus security is fairly visible, and I've seen a bike patrol wheel by as I go to and from my car.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really participate, but there are a lot, from what I've seen.

    Great for these types of students

    People who can't afford four year schools straight off, people who want occupational degrees, and people who just want to take classes for fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main campus is on Elizabeth Avenue, which has streetcar rails running through it from one end of campus all the way to Presbyterian Hospital. An unrealized pet project of the city. It looks interesting, but that's about it. Also, the Sugar Creek Greenway's northern terminus is just west-ish of campus, near the Van Every building.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for in-state students- if one was awarded the highest Pell grant the state offers, it would cover two semesters of full-time study plus books, with some left over. As CPCC has articulation agreements with a slew of in-state four-year insitutions, credits transferring is no problem. Out of state is another matter, but I digress.

    What to do for fun

    I... am a boring person. I don't know what normal people do for fun. :)

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options, depending on what campus you're at. CPCC main has a Bojangles, Subway, and a little coffee shop in the library lobby. Also lots of snacks at the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    Community college. No housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the teachers are great. I've encountered plenty that are engaging, fair, and well-read, but there are a few here and there that are under the impression that their class is the most important thing in the world, and you have no other obligations to attend to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Transfer classes fill up fast, especially the science ones with lab components. New students sign up last, so it might take a little longer than you'd hope to get an Associate's degree. The class registration widget on the website is a little outdated, and takes a little getting used to, but it works well for what it is.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my time at CPCC. It's a good value for the money, and I believe ranked second best nationwide, at some point? There is an art festival every April that draws community figures, and other events throughout the year, as well.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of security guards on campus to meet your needs for safety. If there are any incident on campus, they notified everyone about the incident occurred right away. A big 5 out of 5 stars here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities offered at this college are excellent. One thing this college lacks are organized common club that everyone need, but we do have tutor service for free, offer to every student needs.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaurants on campus. CPCC do have ReCharge U at Barnes and Noble at Central Piedmont Community College, Subway, Bojangles, and few others.

    Dorm Life

    CPCC do not have dormitory, which helps your tuition to stay low instead of an university. This is a big plus to every college students here at CPCC.

    Academic Rigor

    This college do have flexibility in academic settings. The policy is fair for everyone, including safety procedures, grade procedures, appeal board, etc. Also, most faculty always provide fair grading method for every student and every services are always courteous and friendly to serve your needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to get to know the college beforehand and get a feel of their education materials. This will help you guide to where you are supposed to be once you step onto the college campus.

    In three sentences

    Central Piedmont Community College is an excellent college to attend to. If I were to rate one through ten scale, I rate the college an ten out of ten. Instructors and faculty staff are showing excellent and friendly educational environment for every students attending here.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Bojangle's inside the campus is open for students.

    Dorm Life

    CPCC do not have dorms. well at least Central campus doesn't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study well before the placement test if you happen to take it. In case you are going to transfer , stay in touch with the school you want to transfer into to make sure the classes to take at CPCC are transferable to that specific school.

    In three sentences

    I think Central Piedmont Community College is a great college not only because of its very affordable tuition, but also the way the staff take care of the students. I've am few days away from my first day at CPCC and I am so excited to start the next step of my future. Besides, most of the credits from CPCC are transferable to most of the universities in North Carolina and in few surrounding states.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. We get alerts whenever something dangerous is going on near the campus, and even those are few.

    Bang for the buck

    It's affordable and you get a great education. Definitely a smart wallet decision.

    Food and Dining

    There is not really food and dining on the Levine campus there is a subway which is great!!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a community college so most students live at home with their families or roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you take, but for the most part classes are pretty rigorous. You have to invest a lot of time in studying and really work hard. With good time management its completely doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time. Do not waste it away wishing you were somewhere else. Community college is a great way to save money

    In three sentences

    Central Piedmont has willing and patient teachers. The courses are difficult but you are definitely getting a good education. It is a great community college.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety for the campus is very good it keeping the school safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs to join. There is a history club, drama club,amine club, student veterans association, LGBT and allies club.

    What to do for fun

    It depends on what you like to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is Subway on campus that have a great here outside and inside. There is also an Bojangles in the overcash building.

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to a counselor before you sign up for your class because if you plan to transfer the counselor can you with the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first enter the college on the first day of school. There will be a table with a teacher that will help where to go. Don't sign up for an clubs just yet. You need to wait a less a month see you know where to go.

    In three sentences

    The college have lot of fun activities and clubs. The college have a lot of difference programs.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe with staff always walking around. You can find campus security everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the clubs would be better if the school had a better system for them; they don't have their own rooms.

    Great for these types of students

    Beginners. If you are new and afraid, this is small enough that it wont overwhelm you. It will get you ready for bigger campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school, it just needs to keep growing. I''m meeting loads of new people and different types of people.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do and many of them are free. I personally love the concert hall for the comfortable seats and diverse performances.

    Food and Dining

    They only have 2 places to eat and they are pretty cheap but I would like more options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are not good. The ones that are good are so bogged down with work you might not get the full effect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the different meetings and open houses that they have, otherwise you will never find out some things about them. Their website does not allow you to look up everything you need or want to know.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college with enough choices for first time students or students who have been out of school for years. They are helpful with everything you need, although they are not accurate at times. They have a lot of different clubs but not many people participate.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Smoke-free campus isn't enforced and neither is parking passes, which parking passes isn't a big deal.

    Greek Life

    Honor societies are available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join if your interested.

    Great for these types of students

    If you smoke, all the smokers hang out in front of the Overcash building.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I have encountered.

    Bang for the buck

    Not a bad idea to go to Target or Best Buy about a block over for some in-between class shopping.

    What to do for fun

    Go eat, walk around and enjoy the city or campus, sit down and absorb some sunlight, and talk to friends you may have met.

    Food and Dining

    The only noticeable restaurants on campus is Subway and Bojangles which gets old. If you cross the street from the bookstore, you will see a couple of interesting breakfast/coffee shops.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it's a community college but I guess the apartment's can't be that bad. Within 10 minutes of everything in the city if you drive which sounds good.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great, if you choose the right ones. The teachers probably do their best when it comes to being fair and cool but some completely missed those two things by a mile.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will still enjoy central campus and the classes, but you may not make many friends outside of class.

    In three sentences

    CPCC central campus earns a rating of three stars out of five. The classes are good, the teacher's that teach them are most of the time too, and easy to navigate on the campus. The problem is the non-enforced tobacco-free campus, speed demons down Elizabeth Ave., and it's not diverse enough.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always had security.

    Greek Life

    Not involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone wanting to start a new career. A student who did not get accepted into a University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Did not know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    I am debt free after two years done. I paid a fraction of what I would have at a university.

    What to do for fun

    Homework

    Food and Dining

    Never ate at any campus

    Dorm Life

    Did not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Was just enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up, do it, and graduate

    In three sentences

    Central Piedmont Community College gave me a chance to go to college when I did not have a high GPA to get into to a University. The many campuses made it easy to commute. The teachers were all very nice.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    To ensure CPCC is the right fit for you, get in contact with an academic advisor prior to your enrollment.

    In three sentences

    Central Piedmont Community College is a large school offering so many opportunities to improve your future. The staff is very helpful and will ensure that you are given all the resources needed to be a succesful student. CPCC is a great choice for someone looking for an excellent quality education for affordable prices.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We had a few car robberies. But nothing too crazy. Security is good. And if you need help with anything they are glad to help.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to save a little money and then transfer to a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    For fun they have (again, at Central Campus) plays and musicals from time to time.

    Food and Dining

    Food variety is good at Central Campus. They have restaurants near by you can walk to. They have from fast food to medium class restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college. Although, I did not look into it since I lived close to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    I had only one F in the two+ years I attended this school. I wasn�¢����t discouraged though. I retook the class and received an A. Try your hardest all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest for everyone to put up their best effort in order to succeed in this school. Try to make friends in the class and give yourself a goal you want to achieve at the end of the class.

    In three sentences

    Overall, CPCC was a good school. It had its ups and downs like every other school. I do recommend this school to anyone that is trying to obtain their two year degree and then transfer to a four year.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I give CPCC 4 stars out of 5 for campus safety and there are 2 reasons why. There is a presence of security guards that you pass by in the hallway but there is not but a handful of guards on campus. I would have given CPCC 2 out of 5 stars for that. But what brought it up to 4 stars is the one thing that I love about CPCC's security. When something is happening on any of the CPCC campuses, such as a lock down, you can sign up to have those alerts sent to you so you know exactly what is happening, where, and why. They also keep you up to date on the situation as it's happening. That way, you are fully informed. That helps tremendously because if a campus you are heading to goes on lockdown, you need to know that so you are protected from danger. It also gives you peace of mind because you know that they are going to warn you when there is danger. Even if the danger doesn't affect yourself, it may affect one of your friends or family members and you can keep informed on the situation so you know what has happened and you can know if they are safe.

    What to do for fun

    Well, it depends on what you consider fun. The only fun things to do at CPCC is hang out with your friends and I guess watch the concerts whenever they have a little concert in the main hall for special occasions. The concerts are mainly a band/orchestra performing.

    Food and Dining

    I give CPCC 2 stars out of 5 because the only food you can get is from a vending machine or a fast food restaurant such as subway. CPCC is a community college so there is no reason to put much emphasis on a food court since you do not stay on campus overnight.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus due to it being a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I give CPCC 3 stars out of 5 for academic rigor because not all teachers are rigorous in their teachings. Some do care but many do not help you to understand something, they just tell it to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be shy, ask questions. Even if it makes you feel embarrassed, ask questions. Someone else might have that same question. And at least you will know. Also, take notes on everything. Write down almost everything the teacher says and why. You may understand it at the moment but if you forget it later and need something to jog your memory later on, those notes will help you tremendously.

    In three sentences

    I like CPCC because of the way the classes are set up. You have a variety of times and locations for the same class so you can pick what time and place works best for you and your schedule. One thing I do not like about it is that the teachers are independent and some care and want to help you succeed while others do not; they just tell you what you are supposed to learn and then they're done, which makes it difficult to fully understand a topic.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go downtown an experience our beautiful city

    Food and Dining

    Great food there is no cafeteria on the main campus but many restaurants near by

    Dorm Life

    If you are an out of state student you can easily find an apartment surrounding the downtown area of Charlotte

    Academic Rigor

    Excellant Instructors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your best

    In three sentences

    CPCC is a great start up college for taking all your basic classes like English, math etc. Its located all around Charlotte. The faculty is nice and willing to help with any problems!!!

  • 05/02/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Some scholarships only apply if you are going to a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    There are many campuses.

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A campus can only be so safe, especially when it is located in a large metropolitan area. There is never any guarantee of safety for any establishment, so my advice for someone attending any night class would be to lock your car and hide valuables! And always walk in pairs, if possible.

    Greek Life

    CPCC offers many transfer-student Greek honor societies, however no sororities or fraternities exist as of late.

    Clubs and Activities

    CPCC offers one of the widest varieties of clubs, organizations, and activities of any other community college in the state! I never found myself having to search in depth for something to be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Central Piedmont Community College is best-suited for those who are unsure of what major or career they intend to pursue, and also those who are looking to save a pretty penny rather than attending a 4-year school to complete an Associate's degree! It is also perfect for parents or other non-traditional students simply searching for a way to obtain skills and other trades.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CPCC is unique for its sporadic student-lead protests, as well as the occasional flash mob!

    Bang for the buck

    I completed a two-year degree for less than half of the price a 4-year university would have required. For the money, I am positive that it did not go to waste at any point. The professors know that we pay to be educated by the school, and they give their all in doing just so.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are beautiful walking trails that I enjoyed venturing on during my breaks from class. The school's performing arts division also puts on amazing productions, which are coincidentally located in the exact building that the art gallery is.

    Food and Dining

    CPCC and the surrounding area always has something delicious to offer, especially considering that the campus is within literal walking distance of downtown Charlotte, which is loaded with tasty choices!

    Dorm Life

    Dorming at CPCC does not exist, yet. If they chose to create housing, I do not doubt that it would leave no vacancies!

    Academic Rigor

    Though academics are the top priority for all students, CPCC also provides its students with many organizations to choose from, great food venues, and also an amazing library! However, I have yet to meet an educator here that didn't try to assure their students that we were capable of learning anything if we studied hard enough, and also took detailed notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely keep an open-mind while attending Central Piedmont Community College. It is one of the top five community colleges in the country, and the teachers, and staff definitely show you why. Take advantage of the information you're being given at a discounted price, as compared to a 4-year university...it will come in handy!

    In three sentences

    CPCC is the perfect choice for those whom are lost in their search for a future. CPCC helped shape my goals, and also my study habits. This 2-year school is filled with highly-educated professors that genuinely care about your education, as much, if not more, than the student!

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never felt wary of my safety, but always take precautions. Being near a major city, within walking distance, is always something to keep in mind on any campus.

    Greek Life

    Though there isn't an active Greek Life, there are still clubs pertaining to Hellenistic lifestyles.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more clubs on this campus than I expected before enrolling, and I made sure to take advantage of whatever sparked my interest.

    Great for these types of students

    CPCC is great for anyone questioning what field they are thinking of starting a career in; students looking to save money but still be educated with quality; students looking for a degree in a specific trade.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes, the campus students hold a protest, or bring petitions to the other students' attention, and it is so educational and fun to get involved in, (within reason).

    Bang for the buck

    You can take fast-paced classes over the summer for a third of the cost at a public/private university, and I highly suggest taking as many classes as you can! My AA in Arts is exempting me from having to take any more math/science/foreign language classes at UNCC, and I couldn't be any more happy that I was able to network with skilled professionals, and also save myself money.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoyed going to live performances in the theater, and also their documentary screenings, which most of the time meant extra credit opportunities if a student mentioned it to a professor of the respective subject.

    Food and Dining

    Both healthy and not-so-healthy options exist on campus, so one is never going to worry about their health or go hungry on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No apartments exist on the campus, yet, but if there were, the college life would feel even more rigorous in an amazing way.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at CPCC have been mostly published, and take their work extremely seriously. They also give every student an equal chance at success, as long as the student is willing to take notes and listen. Never be afraid to ask a question, my teachers love hearing what their students are questioning to further help their understanding of a topic or subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your professor's classes as seriously as they take their students. You never know when they will be willing to hand out extra credit, or even a reference for an internship!

    In three sentences

    Responsible, Scholarly, Trustworthy