Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/14/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CSU is great for students that didn't do so well in high school, the teachers are patient and are willing to work with students who need special attention in certain areas, its also a great school for students who like small class sizes and the Honors program is always there for the students who excelled in their High School class..CSU has something to offer for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your Professors, they can be your wost enemy or your best friends, also take advantage of the student orientation, you will gain friends that last a lifetime.

    Bang for the buck

    CSU is worth the price tag, there's always something to day, the teachers are helpful.

    Did enjoy being here

    CSU is a small University to its like a second home. The people are nice and the school is very hospitable. Its easy to find things to do with all the clubs, activities, and organizations to participate.

    Did learn a lot

    Central State University is a great HBCU for African American Students. As the only HBCU in Ohio it provides students with with a rich learning experience. The professors go out their way to make sure students comprehend classroom material.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I hear its an good school and you learn a lot

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope the campous is beutiful amd look forward to seeing the college

    Will learn a lot

    I am very excited about going to the school,and I hope learn as much as I can as a new student there

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is always riding around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The are so many activities to do for everyone no matter what you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those students who like a small campus environment. Also, great for students who are trying figure out what they want to do in life and more about themselves.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do. You can take a nice walk, go hoop in the gym or the outside court, or just go to a campus event.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay in the cafe. The best days to eat in the cafe is Chicken Wednesday and Fish Fridays. There is also taco bell and the grill. The grill sells burgers, chicken sandwich, and grilled cheese as well as others.

    Dorm Life

    The building I live in last year was College Hall. The honors dorm for incoming freshman and transfer. It is a brand new building and the rooms are very nice size. You will have to share a bathroom with only your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    All the professors will try to help you to the best of your ability. There are numerous opportunity of getting help outside of the classroom with tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on your studies before you decide to go partying. Do not consider everyone your friend because they are not. Central State or any college is what you make it. It can either be a good experience or bad the choice is up to you.

    In three sentences

    It is a great historically black university. You will learn a great deal academically, as well as with yourself. Central State is a family based campus.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a big thing here at CSU. We have campus cops who ride around making sure kids stay from out of troube. At CSU I felt safe and I'm sure anyone else would too.

    Great for these types of students

    CSU is an awesome school filled with good people and fair teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's Cry Baby Bridge- legend has it that back during slavery days when slaves were escaping to the North there was a woman and her baby. She fled from the South to come North to make a better life for herself and child. On her way to freedom she came close to this bridge that was considered KKK property but it was on her route and she had no time to turn back or find alternative routes. As she reached the bridge her child cried uncontrollably which gave away her cover. She tried and tried to hush the little one, but the pressure continued to grow. The slave woman tossed her baby over the bridge, killing it and ran to freedom as fast as she could. Its tradition to go through the dark woods at night to the bridge, if you can make it. Some say that during witching hour you can hear the baby crying and her sobbing for her terrible deed. Best done around Halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    If you lived in state, in Ohio, you could afford it. Sadly I'm from Michigan and I have to pay out-of-state tuition. I have to pay my debt down to register, so I'd recommend filing out scholarships to anyone here already or coming in fresh.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are parties and Greek life- at CSU there's the Divine Nine to get into and join. There's plenty of other clubs included on campus as well. Now if you venture into town, there's shopping, bowling, movies, etc. We also have homecoming, talent shows and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, not that good and not that bad. The best advice I could give on college food is to eat small portions and work out- the food they serve does stick to the bones; and always pray over food, just because there's too many diseases.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is crazy!!! It could be loud and obnoxious screaming, or it could be too loud of a TV or radio. The rooms don't have kitchens either, but the freshman girl dormitories are quite nice and spacious. Overall you learn to share and live with complete strangers. You may even build strong friendship's.

    Academic Rigor

    All you have to do is ask questions, stay close to the teacher, complete your assignment's and research things you don't understand to get good grades. The teachers are very helpful too, some college don't really care that much to help students out, but here at CSU, everyone is like family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to CSU, keep you mind open. College is a big step, so keep an alarm clock handy too. Your not always given the afternoon classes, so you might just have to wake up around 6 or 7am. Get involved in some type of activity too, networking really does pay off.

    In three sentences

    I would rate CSU as an 8 on a scale from 1-10, its not perfect- but the environment and teachers are vibrant and upbeat. I truly enjoy CSU and a lot of the traditions too.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Central State University Police are always on the look out. There are even emergency boxes around campus just in case their is someone who needs help right away.

    Greek Life

    All Sororities and Fraternities are on campus. They are always having step shows against each other, which is always fun to watch.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs on campus such as, NAACP,TLC(Today's Latino's and Carribeans, SAAB(Students of African American Brotherhood), NSBE(National Society of Black Engineers), and many others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an unusual tradition for the Freshman and Seniors. We have this garden that is called the Sunken Garden. There is a week called Pirate Week that are for the freshman and it helps them to get acquainted with the campus before school starts. The freshman are known as pirates during this week and can not go through the garden until initiation. Once the freshman have there ceremony, they have to walk through the garden, with candles, dressed in white an black. Once they walk through the garden they can then blow out their candles now being known as Marauders. The Seniors have to go back through once they graduate to then be known as Centralinans .

    What to do for fun

    There is always something for the students to do here on campus. There are always fun activities such such as, open mic night, family feud game night, talent shows, dance shows, concerts, and many other things that will always keep you occupied.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. There are three choices for you to eat from on campus. We have Taco Bell, the cafeteria, and a place known as The Grill.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is amazing. There is always peace in the dorms and you never have to worry about going to the library to do your studying. here on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If there is something that this University wants you to be the most focused on, it is your academics. The first thing that the faculty will ask you about is your academics and if you are falling behind they will make sure you have help no matter what. There are many tutors that are able to help you and there are also study group sessions as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely encouraged students to come to this school. There are always people on campus who care for you. There are different sections that pertain exactly to your major, which of course will allow you to be more focused on what you want to do for the rest of your life.

    In three sentences

    This college is one that will give you the experience of a lifetime. Not only is it fun but it teaches you to value yourself as a person. Best of all, it is an HBCU.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Central State is Ohio's most affordable University. You gain knowledge and an education for a reasonable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    So far, I have enjoyed my stayed here. Like many HBCU's, Central State is not only a home away from home, but a community who view itself as a family. The only negative is the area that the school is located in.

    Am learning a lot

    Central State University is a Historically Black University. Being Black, I am learning a lot about my race and the history of my people. This institution's grounds are historic, as many enslaved African Americans has walked on this campus striving for an education.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    it's great for students who do not like to big in a big campus.

    What to do for fun

    i am apart of the imm's flag team. i enjoy being apart of an team and it help make my college experience great. it is also nice to walk around campus and several activities, like yoga and dance classes.

    Food and Dining

    there are several places to eat on campus. the cafe have food close to what you eat at home. the grill and taco bell is the fast food places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm i stay in, which is college hall, is a brand new for honor students. it nice and very spacious. the people in the dorm all get along and are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    my major is biology. as a biology major, i have endless opportunity of internships & research projects. there are several tutors and teacher there to help you stay on top of your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay on top of your school work. do not like partying & the freedom to do what you want to go to your head. college is what you make of it, you can either have a good experience or a bad experience. the choice is up to you.

    In three sentences

    central state is an excellent school for those who like small schools. the teachers are there to help you & guide through the process. central is a great place to learn & grow.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the buildings could use remodeling

    In three sentences

    Has people that are willing to help you. Have great programs. Has a great history.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    National Society for Black Engineers(NSBE) Society for Manufacturing Engineers(SME)

    Food and Dining

    Taco Bell, Sodexo, and Grill 155

    Dorm Life

    Phenomenal

    Academic Rigor

    Check at www.centralstate.edu

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Change is Central. This institution is one of the greatest. Opportunities are basically given to those who want change.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to every Greek event and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    The grill will be the best thing to eat on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your information correct before you go. the school and campus life will be what you make it.

    In three sentences

    Central state university is a great family oriented school. The academics and culture as well of the campus is taken very serious. 1-10 central state gets a 10.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are pretty good and they are fairly accessible.

    Greek Life

    Every organization in the Panhellenic Council is active on campus. There are also other professional, social and arts organizations that are active on council.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you have an idea for an organization it is not hard for it to be recognized by Student Affairs.

    Great for these types of students

    1. Second chance students 2. Students who want to pursue Water Resource Management

    What to do for fun

    Parties, concerts, fashion shows, football games, basketball games, pep rallies, barbeques, Breaking News

    Food and Dining

    There are only 3 places on campus to eat, but the nearby town of Xenia offers many fast food and sit down restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The student body grows every year and just this past year 2 new residence halls have been opened.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors try their best to stimulate curiosity in the mind of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make it your business to meet play of people your first year 2. Make a good impression on all professors and administrative staff 3. Be a leader and don't conform to the pressure of your peers

    In three sentences

    Central State fuses together fun social activities with an academic environment that any student can survive in. The professors come from diverse backgrounds. Being a Marauder has helped me to have a sense of pride and my university.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Candle Light Ceremony, Sunken Garden

    What to do for fun

    Intramural Sports, Campus Activities, Parties

    Tips for prospective students

    Handle your buisness early and take care of all your financial aid. Stay focus and keep God first

    In three sentences

    Central State University is a great school with many opprotunities. Classes, teachers, and deparptments are known for being the top in the state of Ohio. Its a small school in a secluded area that brings a family like enviroment to the campus.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun things on campus consist of having your own fun. If the frats and soros arent doing anything you're off on your own to make fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not so okay. The servings are pretty much the same and you will get tired of it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay. The best dorms are the newest dorms and Foundation 2.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are at a good standing. If you are a focused, dedicated student you will do great. Classes are all of 40 minutes long and about 10-20 students in a class. Very small classes. You will have many one on ones with your professor and you will get to know them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are used to a busy life I will not recommend that you go. If you are okay with being in the middle of nowhere and traveling at least 10-20 minutes to get to a restaurant then Central is for you.

    In three sentences

    Central is an all over okay school but I will not recommend a person who is used to a busy city. Wilberforce is very small and there is only a gas station and another college.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay. Nothing much to brag on but it is good some days and some days its not. Over all ill keep eating in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. I have my own room so it makes it more comfortable and relaxing when i come in from a long day of classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not take advantage of all of the help that is offered here.

    In three sentences

    One of the most encouraging campuses i have been on and it is a joy and honor to be a participating student at this university.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 police officers on and around campus. There are also safety buttons located on campus for immediate help as well as a direct line.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very interesting!

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities lists are very lengthy. There should never be a dull moment for anybody on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    CSU is great for any student that is willing to be taught and accepted for who they are!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None to my knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the wonderful opportunity of meeting new people from various of places. You develop a sense of independence and freedom as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few things to do on campus. You can go to the gym and work out, swim or play recreational basketball with your Marauder family. We also have a Game Room which has game systems, ice hockey, and pool tables.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies. We have the cafe' where you get all of your homemade favorites as well as foreign favorites. We have the Grill 155 which serves your fast food burgers, chicken sandwiches and fries. Then there is the lovely Taco Bell! We are also expecting a new building with some new dining additions.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is the best decision no matter what institution you are at. The dorms at Central are amazing and reminds you of life at home with all of the responsibilities on you. It is a great way to become independent while still enjoying the presence of others.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. It keeps you on your toes and challenges you to do and be the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that Central is for you, meaning that it has something to offer it and that you have something to offer as well.

    In three sentences

    Central State is a very family-oriented institution. They look out for the best interest of the student(s). Central is a great HBCU from its history to its courses.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe enough campus to go walking at night for a quick exercise.

    Greek Life

    Of course the divine nine are n our campus but also other organization for students who want something different.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's many different club and activities on campus everyday! Its never a boring day

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to have fun but also are determined to receive a good education.

    What to do for fun

    The gym located on campus is great, there's swimming,treadmills,weights, elliptics, bikes, and more. Also the game room in the ward is fun too.

    Food and Dining

    They have three different eatery's on campus so you have many choices from a day to day basis.

    Dorm Life

    The girls dorms are great you only share two bathrooms with 5 other girls are they are very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Your instructors are always there to help and if they're not there are plenty different tutors around campus for majority of the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Create a balance between your social life and education.

    In three sentences

    Central State University is a home away from for many students. The campus is beautiful but small so new students wont feel overwhelmed. Also the instructors are open and helpful.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Grood amount of college campus police

    Greek Life

    They're good

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sunken garden

    Bang for the buck

    There is Walmart, Kmart, Krogers, and restaurants in xenia

    What to do for fun

    There events like basketball, football, and volleyball games and other events organizations throw has well as parties

    Food and Dining

    There is not much to choose from on campus. It's only the cafe, the grill, and taco bell. The cafe make ok food from time to time. But the grill and taco bell only has a select amount of food you can get on your card the rest you have to pay for. There is also cousins vinnys ( pizza place) and Chinese take out both in Xenia.

    Dorm Life

    For female students the dorms are small but very nice. Also have to many rules for the first year.

    Academic Rigor

    Once again this school mainly focus on education,music,and engineering majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Central has many organizations and group activities for students who enjoy on campus activities. There is a great choir and music programs here. As well as the sororities and fraternities. You must have a car on this campus (my opinion).

    In three sentences

    Central state is a small school and it is not for everyone. This school mainly focus on education, music, and engineer majors. It's very far from some shops and mall and other intercity places.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always around there's not a minuet that goes by that you don't see campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs and activities here on campus. Women Empowering Women (WEW), Student Government Association(SGA), Tour Guide, NAACP, Royal Court, Hall Council

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright every wednesday is chicken wednesday and we have fish friday's. I suggest you come early cause the cafe does get full quick on those days.

    Dorm Life

    We have honor's dorms that are very well kept up the Gpa to get back there is a 3.0 or better. Foundation Hall 1 and 2 is where the girls live(freshmen are in the 2's) The boys live in Green and Anderson and Hunter hall.

    Academic Rigor

    You start off taking some of you general education classes but if your a transfer then you get to skip right on past them. The teachers here really do what you to succede I have experienced this first hand from an english teacher. The teachers here may seem easy but that's what they want you to think, they will challenge you to do your very best in their class and will help you along the way, but you have to take the first step.

    In three sentences

    Central State University is really what you make it. Yes we are in the middle of a corn field but there is so much history on this campus that you would want to find out about. Get involved I can't stress this enough if you don't know what to do keep a look out for things coming up.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own Central State police that roams around campus to protect the students. The school does not allow violence or you will be excluded.

    Greek Life

    Central State have the Ques, Kappas, Divine 9 and the Deltas that are relevant on campus. They are respected, popular and great step entertainers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Central State has plenty of activities on campus. The activities consist of student organizations such as management club, english club, biology society, destined for greatness, communications club and many more. The clubs that students hang at are in other cities outside of Wilberforce such as Dayton and Fairborn.

    Great for these types of students

    Central State would be great for all students. The only thing thing Central should upgrade on is the food and dining. We need more different types of food to eat because eating the same foods can be tiring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Central State is a small campus so it's easy to meet people and make friends.

    What to do for fun

    Having fun on campus depends on what you like to do for fun. I like attending basketball games, chatting with my friend and even going to the gym on some days.

    Food and Dining

    In honesty, there should be more food and dining places to eat on campus. The school only has three. We have the main cafeteria that serves a variety of different foods 3 times a day. We also have taco bell and the grill.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome. The rooms are a decent size, that includes showers, air/heat, electricity and wifi. Everything we need to make a living is in our dorms rooms at Central State.

    Academic Rigor

    Central State is requiring everyone to maintain at least a 2.0 g.p.a or they will be in academic probation. That's why studying and attending class everyday and on time is important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn off the television, limit time on social net works and get plenty of sleep to stay focused in school.

    In three sentences

    Central State is a respectable historical black college. I rate Central State an 8 for allowing many students to pursue their degree. This school also has an incredible history and awesome professors.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Has divine 9, as well as other orgs for LGBT, Christian, women empowerment, male orgs

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something to do!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Want that home town feel.

    What to do for fun

    Its in a small town closest town for food and shopping is about 20-30 minutes away. So you make your own fun by getting involved with campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    Café is the café and experience that can not be explained until you get there O/\O!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Really good programs. Teachers really care about the success of the students and make it known the first day you walk on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be assertive in what you want out of your education. Central can be a place where you can achieve great things if you remember why you are there. Don't get to caught up in the campus life if it wont help you in the end ie. sororities and frats or other orgs

    In three sentences

    Central is a public HBCU in Ohio... overall as a science major we are exposed to many opportunities that can lead to work placement and grad school. I enjoy my school but like any other school administration sucks and things are always changing

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can play sports. Look around for campus events or jus have fun with your friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades and Sat up. Work hard and never give up.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing and just what I'm looking for. A friendly neighborhood with a great learning environment. Central state here i come.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus. security guards are always surveying the campus and there are help buttons placed all around campus/

    Greek Life

    we have the Divine nine including other great non greek fraternities and soroities

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for those who like small campuses and nature because trees are everywhere. and its also great for African Americans because its an HBCU and the tuition is lowere than average.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have place called the sunken garden. and theres a ceremony done every year for freshmen, they first go through pirate week, no ones on campus but freshman, and theres activities to do, you get to meet your class. during that week they are considered pirates and arent allowed to step foot in the sunken garden. after the week is over, sunday night, they dress up in all white, and have a cndle light ceremony where their candles are lit by each others and they make their way through the sunken garden as upperclassmen then come to try to blow their candles out. once they make it through the sunken garden they then become marauders, and thats what they will be until they graduate, then they'll become centralions. There's Cry Baby Bridge- legend has it that back during slavery days when slaves were escaping to the North there was a woman and her baby. She fled from the South to come North to make a better life for herself and child. On her way to freedom she came close to this bridge that was considered KKK property but it was on her route and she had no time to turn back or find alternative routes. As she reached the bridge her child cried uncontrollably which gave away her cover. She tried and tried to hush the little one, but the pressure continued to grow. The slave woman tossed her baby over the bridge, killing it and ran to freedom as fast as she could. Its tradition to go through the dark woods at night to the bridge, if you can make it. Some say that during witching hour you can hear the baby crying and her sobbing for her terrible deed. Best done around Halloween.

    What to do for fun

    on campus here, there are many clubs and groups to choose from, like from debate club, SGA, Royal court, tennis club, basketball club, band down to fraternities and soroities. not possible to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    We have a limitless plate Big cafeteria on campus, taco bell and The Grill. so many foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    You get an opportunity to make friends right when you move in. With suites as dorms your partnered with 6 girls or boys (including yourself) in an apartment life atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone works hard on campus. to be on the Dean's List is the goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) come with an Im Ready Attitude 2.) Work Hard before Playing Hard 3.) Take advantage of tutors 4.) Create study groups with friends so you can all help each other 5.) Get INVOLVED!

    In three sentences

    Coming to central state is awesome, you feel part of the family as soon as your foot steps on campus. Professor not only are your teachers but they become friends and mentors. There are also great fundamental classes you can take to catch up if your a little behind.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police and emergency buttons all over campus.

    Greek Life

    WONDERFUL...! Everybody loves the greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of we have it.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students would have a good time at Central State University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a sunken garden, its a sacred sanctuary for Marauders only.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activities such as band, cheerleading, football, tennis, and etc. Also many other things during free time like swimming, gym, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. A lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and big. Some halls have suits which is a nice way to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are small and hands on with the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Central State University in a all about there businesss. If your trying to get ahead in life Central is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    Central State University is a place of opportunity. Central gives everyone a chance to change. Our saying is Change Is Central for a reason.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have officers on duty non stop. They go around helping students and are very friendly. They do their job and they help protect student s. Less crime and violence happens on campus because if the terrific staff.

    Greek Life

    great divine 9. they through the best partys and they show what being a Central state student is ll about.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the ward center, the Mason plot, and the gym.

    Bang for the buck

    Central has grown a lot on me. I never expected to come to a school were I feel so safe and at home. Being on campus and living in the dorm life helps you grow your network. You meet so many different people hear. People from all parts of the world and some people that can help you in your career field. Central strives to reach excellence and places its students in the right place.

    What to do for fun

    Campus game nights, the ball room, the gym, track, party's are amazing

    Food and Dining

    Chicken Wednesdays are the best.

    Dorm Life

    Could be better, but newer dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. It is very easy to fall behind in your classes at Central but luckily we have the proper staff that helps the school and their students to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Central state university is a school of hard work and dedication. Could be one of the top HBCU colleges to attend. Students follow Service, Protocol and civility makes central the best.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different people at Central State and everyone has there own opinion of fun so it actually depends on what you like to do or the type of people you put yourself around.

    Food and Dining

    Our food has its ups and downs just like every where you go. Your not always going to have a five star meal everyday but there will be a lot of days were you will be satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Central State is good to me depending on where you live. you are going to have your people who don't clean up after themselves but the buildings themselves are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The class work here all in all can be easy or difficult depending on how much time you actually put in your studies. sometimes it is difficult getting up for class but that's the whole part of growing up and becoming responsible.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students that come here always remember that peer pressure is big here so try and keep your head on straight and make sure you always do what is important before fun.

    In three sentences

    Central State is a good school to attend because you learn so much from different people and their cultures. Central also provides professors that care for each and every student. since I have been here all faculty members would like to see all of their students succeed.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have A lot of police around campus

    What to do for fun

    Their is a lot of things to do for fun. Such as Tennis, Basketball, Football,swim, Zumba etc

    Food and Dining

    The Food is Ok. Maybe it could be alittle healthier!

    Dorm Life

    They Have Really Nice Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Classes And the teachers are really good. My Tips To Prospective students is when you cant get into any other college central state will take you.

    In three sentences

    I Would Rate Central State University A 6. A Rate CSU A 6 Because i Believe Our School Can Become Much Better. The School Gets A Bad Image From The Students That Makes The School Looks Bad. Also, Its An HBCU.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    AWESOME

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During your first week of campus you have a candle light ceremony and walk through the garden with your freshman class before schools starts and when you graduate you walk back through the garden.

    What to do for fun

    Central University is in the middle of no where so there isn't much to do except on campus. Campus events are really fun and it gets you out the dorm to meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give would be to build a network. You'll never know when you need someone to lean on.

    In three sentences

    Central is overall a good school. It is very active with the students that attend. I would rate Central State University a 7 out of 10.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I join school activites and voluteer for organizations for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at central. You have variety of choices to choose from. There is also three different places you can choose from which is The Cafe, Taco bell, and The Grill.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you make it and how you obtain it. Its a great experience of meeting different people from different states and interacting with your peers.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of your work and to study hard. And don't let your activities and party come before your work.

    In three sentences

    Central State University is a welcoming and change in you school. Its not just about a higher education, but its about growth in yourself. So if another dont give you a chance, come to central because change is central.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police here are mostly driving around and there are emergency stations around so if you need help you can simply press the button on the station.

    Greek Life

    They have many Greek life programs here, from sororities to frats

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and organizations that you can become apart of. Just have to know time management between the programs, studying, classes, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is an HBCU not many outside races besides African Americans here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On every wednesday, you will dress in buisness attire.

    Bang for the buck

    Central is in the country part of Ohio. You will definitely need transportation o get around. There is literally nothing in walking distance except for a gas station and a post office.

    What to do for fun

    Me, I dont do anything because nothing seems to interesat me here at central.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is sometimes good, but ont all the time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really nice. You will stay in a suite with 6 other girls.

    Academic Rigor

    Central has many different courses here to fit hopefully your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, Meet with your professors nd advisors when needing help on work or scheduling classes.

    In three sentences

    Central Statw doesnt fit my critieria and nor is making my college experience fun.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sunken garden, a secret only know to those who attend... ;)

    What to do for fun

    You have to be creative here at CSU to have fun. It is 10 mins from the city where there restaurants and places to go.

    Food and Dining

    Sodex Cafe food. Magic Johnson owns the food company. The food is average. But, you get tired of campus food easily.

    Dorm Life

    It co-ed dorms here. Some of the dorms are spacious and some are small, you have to pick the right now.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a psychology major. My class are fun, but challenging. The best team of professors are here to help you succeeded.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is easy to fall into a crowd and ignore your studies in college but you have to remain focus to be success for her. It is only 4 years to be here and out.

    In three sentences

    The best environment. It is nice and quiet. The students are respectful here.

  • 06/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe not a lot crime. An occasional theft of clothes but nothing too serious. Campus police are always available to assist anyone in need.

    Greek Life

    Fraternity members and sorority are always on campus stepping and showing off their pride.

    What to do for fun

    There is football, basketball, and tennis to able to play. Not a lot to do on the weekends though.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a fine choice for food any day. Taco bell is always open if you want to grab a taco or burrito after class or before you head to class.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is fine but could improve. Students interact with each other on a regular basis with not a lot of negativity for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is not strong at first for general education courses but for major classes it does get rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small setting I would suggest it for you. It is somewhat far from the city but not too far.

    In three sentences

    Central State has a good Academic Program. it is a place for students to learn grow. The small size allows students to interact with each other more often with a good amount of activities.