Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central Texas College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As a community college, it is a lot like high school. All you have to do is get the work done and everybody goes home happy. Central Texas College is a great place to go for your first year out of high school and you can go anywhere on campus to find an intelligent conversation. The teachers are mostly hands-on and the students know how to support each other when they need it. This place is definitely an affordable, fun way to build up transfer credits and save a lot of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is extremely easy to get into the school and neatly affordable. The counselors do what they can to help you achieve your goals and CTC credits transfer to almost anywhere. If you are looking to jump straight into a college atmosphere while keeping in touch with the ease of high school, it is worth a try to apply.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe on our campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Online courses are available with online test sites close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think it is awesome that the Mayborn Planetarium is right around the campus! Great for families interested in space!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to Central Texas College enables you to also apply for the Central Texas College-Texarkana online BSN program.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is only ten minutes away, and so are several different shopping strips, salons, ect.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection in the Killeen area is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    Parking is always difficult. Especially if you live thirty five miles away and you are a stay at home mom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with other students to find out the best professors. These relationships will also help you when trying to buy books and studying.

    In three sentences

    The online library is phenomenal. The counselors, professors, and secretaries are professional and helpful. The campus is clean.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Extremely affordable.

    Did enjoy being here

    It's in a great location, Killeen, TX. Dallas is about 2.5 hours away as is San Antonio.

    Did learn a lot

    The instructors are very helpful in getting you to understand the material.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is great police are always patrolling. there is an ample amount of crosswalks and street signs cautioning drivers as well as pedestrians. emergency stations posted throughout the campus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like to read a lot, and keep their focus on learning by themselves outside of the classroom along with inside the classroom

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    day of the dead parade, along with lots of patriotic themes all the time. with fort hood being right across the highway ctc plays a big role in advertising patriotic themes.

    Bang for the buck

    absolutely the cheapest college i have ever been to, and functions well for the money. many different scholarships available, and plus the credits transfer anywhere. credits are credits wherever you take them and however much you pay for them.

    What to do for fun

    awesome fitness center with many different things to do there. racquetball, basketball, volleyball, indoor swimming pool, and weight room.

    Food and Dining

    food is excellent with very low costs.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are slightly small and require you to be married to live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging but not that difficult. some require a lot of work outside the classroom, but others are totally in the classroom and are very easy with a great professor

    Tips for prospective students

    online courses are great at this institution, but do research on which courses to take online and which ones to take in the classroom. get a parking sticker to make it easier for the police to track you down if your vehicle gets hit.

    In three sentences

    ctc is a awesome school if you are looking for a degree. professors are of decent quality and facilities are nice. the best thing is the price of the courses is very low, around sixty dollars per credit hour.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe and i love that the police department circulates the campus all day everyday.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am in the rotoract club but i am new to it so i don't really have much to say about it except that it's servicing the local wounded warriors and provides funds towards projects targeted towards eliminating malaria and polio around the world.

    Great for these types of students

    if you're someone that spends most of the day on campus, but do not live there, then you will benefit a lot from the library. it's close to the cafeteria and it's a great place to catch a quick nap! not to forget that the computer lab and friendly librarians make the library trip great!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a fountain on the campus and it is right on the line where the neighboring counties meet. it's my favorite feature of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i do believe that you get what you pay for. the school a very good investment for a first time college student.

    What to do for fun

    the school is most eventful during halloween; from what i can recall. i don't not participate in any school activities because i work, but the annual haunted house is a major success for the school and its clubs that organize it.

    Food and Dining

    the dining is great. the food is fresh to order. the cafeteria is clean.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the pacing in the class is ok. the instructor's are knowledgeable of their materials and it shows in their lectures. there are opportunities for attending tutorials no matter what type of schedule you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are thinking about attending c.t.c day day one just as serious as you would mid-terms or finals. just because it's a junior college, or two year school, do not be lazy. always stay on top of your business!

    In three sentences

    central texas college is a great experience for a person that has no idea what to expect from life as a new college student. it is conveniently located and, for anyone that is paying for school out of pocket, the school offers a payment plan. i just wish that the school offered a trolley or transportation system during the day for those that have to walk long distances between classes and need to get there quickly.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe. just about everywhere you walk you will see a campus police everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    Central Texas College usualy always have some kind of activity going on that is very fun to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Central Texas College is great. You will have a big variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Central Texas College are kinda old but they have a lot of friendly people in them. If you are someone who has a hard time finding friends it is a great place to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Central Texas College are usually nice and very helpful to students that may need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are driving to school i suggest that you get there fifteen minutes early so that you can find a good parking spot, and find a good seat for class

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a great school to prepare you for university classes. Central Texas College has smaller classes than the big universities which helps you connect better with your teachers. Central Texas College has a beautiful campus.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Campus police, phone alerts, emails etc always let you know when there is a crisis on campus or near campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for kids who: Want to get a couple of classes out of the way Who are unsocial and don't care about making friends

    What to do for fun

    If you want a social life here you have to join clubs, otherwise, it's a huge bore

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    They are gross. Just get an off-campus apartment

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on ratemyprofessor.com and make sure you pick the right professor!

    In three sentences

    There is absolutely NO reason why should fail any class. The classes are way too easy. You can slack off and still manage to pass.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are only a few clubs, school is mainly military and their families. Gym is great if you like to work out and rec room include pool tables.

    Food and Dining

    great student center with good dining for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Small dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Science department runs a tight ship, classes are intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if this you first time or even third time attending college you researcher through CTC website about you degree, financial aid, testing ect. Because you may not find the help you need through the employees.

    In three sentences

    There is a lot of degrees offered to students. But not a enough people to help with admission and registration. The student life is very military based, lots of young married men and women.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus cops that are always going around.

    Great for these types of students

    Trying to save money but get a good education.

    Bang for the buck

    It does not cost to much and books can be bought used making the cost even less. Financial aid is easy to get.

    Food and Dining

    They just created a new student life center with a bigger cafeteria center.

    Academic Rigor

    Really good classes study and they are not hard to pass and professors are always willing to assist you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not forget to apply for financial aid and stay on top of it.

    In three sentences

    I loved attending CTC. The professors were very helpful and good teachers. It was easy to get the information I needed.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is OK. It's not great, but it's not horrible either. There are several restaurants close to the campus should one with to leave for lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are fairly easy, but there are some classes that are notoriously difficult. If your curious about the difficulty of a class ask around, most likely someone will know about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're able to make it to on time and on a regular basis. The instructors do take attendance and some of them will not let you into the classroom if you are late.

    In three sentences

    It's an extremely affordable school and the professors are friendly and helpful. For a community college it has a wide range of degrees to choose from and is a very military friendly school.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located on post . So security is always a must.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a studfent that need a little bit of help or want to be able to ask questions when needed. These class are small so you can have more interaction with the class and your teacher if needed.

    Bang for the buck

    They class are affordable and so are the books.

    What to do for fun

    I don't know i stay focus and just went to classes!

    Food and Dining

    My school didn't have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    i didnt live in the dooms. sorry!

    Academic Rigor

    They will help you understand the material and if you put effort into tring to complete the assignments you will get a fair grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll as soon as possible and get a education

    In three sentences

    They have great teachers and small class room and they really help military soldier and families get a education. Also they have eight week class which makes it better that it wont take forever to get your associate's degree.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    military

    Bang for the buck

    affordable.

    What to do for fun

    planeterium

    In three sentences

    convenient location. small student teacher ratio. very affordable.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military, online courses, traditional.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college with a transfer agreement to Texas A&M

    What to do for fun

    Killeen is a very central location. Many larger cities are close. Austin is just one hour away.

    Food and Dining

    ok food in the student lounge area

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared with your transcripts and all of your information when you go to register. This will avoid multiple trips.

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a great school. It is conveniently located. Central Texas College offers a good variety of online and on campus courses.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Saftey is great they have their own campus police that is extremely helpful and you can find them everywhere you go in case of an emergency!

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately the down side is that there is no college fraternities or sororities because it is a community college and a commuter campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide range of clubs from Speech & Debate to Student Government to the Agricultural Club! You can even create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for people who want to transfer but get their coure classes completed first.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can buy a brick with your name engraved on it and it gets built in to the campus for $60. The dining hall is a great place to socialize I made tons of friends randomly just by sitting down and eating there. People are super nice and friendly!

    Bang for the buck

    For one year (two semesters) I am paying about $1,500 dollars for tuittion and books! Which is really affordable considering all my classes are are transferable (just make sure you see if they are before you register!).

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much of a student life because it is a community college and most students commute, but there are tons of clubs that you can join! I am a part of the Speech and Debate Team and we travel and the school pays for most of it! You can also create a club and the school can help you fund it if you would like which is great too!

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is excellent for those who dorm and do not dorm. There is a dining place and a snack bar both serve sandwhiches, burgers, and pizza. The actual dining bar has more options than the snack bar and offers more of a diverse set of food from fried rice to pasta salad! The dining is okay there is lots of places to sit it is pretty clean it just gets crowded during lunch, but there is tons of seating outside that are just as great!

    Dorm Life

    They are on of the few community colleges to offer dorms. I live right next to the college and do not dorm from what I've heard the dorms are pretty comfortable and some dorm rooms you don't even have a roommate. The dorms are right next to the campus which is great. The only thing you have to worry about is the cost but compared to 4 year University dorms it is pretty afforadable and comes with a meal plan.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the class I have taken are basic math, history, and english classes. Community colle or not it isn't high school they expect you to be responsible for your own work but besides that the classes are not that much harder from high school as long as you study read and prepare in adcanced to your exams!

    Tips for prospective students

    Rateyourprofessor.com is a great resource to use for Central Texas College to choose the best classes with the best instructors. Don't procrastinate get your work done early, and make sure you schedule all the deadlines for tests and assignments, most professors give our a syllabus the first week of class!

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a great educationa institution for students who want to get basic courses done for the most affordable tuition prices in the U.S. Most of the instructors I have had are great and are more than willing to give helpful advice and assistance for those who want to excel in their classes. Central Texas College also provides great opportunities to those who are looking to advance their careers though their wide range of associate degree plans from Business to Afgricultire to Culinary Arts!

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    yes very great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studing and you will go far.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military students; Distance education

    Food and Dining

    I can't comment on the Food and Dining, as I am not on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the course listing for your degree plan and stick to it. Don't take classes outside of your degree plan. Commit yourself and set aside time to complete your work.

    In three sentences

    Central Texas is a great college to attend if you're trying to obtain a two-year degree. The costs aren't that high, and most classes can be completed online. Their credits transfer to almost any other college, making them a great choice for undergrad studies.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no threats on campus that I have noticed and the campus police are there 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    The SIFE organization is great at this college. They won the national championship one year.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs on the campus. There is also a student center with games: air hockey, pool, video games… Just sitting outside, maybe by the fountain that marks the county line, or at one of the number of tables located around campus, is a great way to relax with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I don't often take meals at the cafeteria, but the snack bar has bothy healthy and delicious food items. There are fruit and even pie slices. My only qualm is that the hot chocolate has been out for weeks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you use the library when you can and study, study, study. Just because this is a community college doesn't mean you can slack off. Your professors are going to work you like any other student.

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a great school to start off your education with. The classes are affordable and small enough to have that personable feel. I would strongly recommend this institution.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the observatory!

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    It's college, of course the classes are hard! Online classes are more difficult!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what courses you would like to take! Plan on taking in class courses rather than online courses!

    In three sentences

    This college is very efficient and helpful. It's easy to gather up basic credits due to the school's willingness to be flexible! Good choice for students looking to get ahead while in high school!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    One frat, who I have never seen.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of campus activities, and lots of clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    Really really affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is a really cool duck pond! Also, lots of student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't too bad.

    Dorm Life

    I know there ARE dorms. But no one usually lives in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't very hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you actually study!

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes. Teachers are very bright. Overall easy to make a passing grade.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is an alert website, so some precaution is taken

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    ones that maybe don't want to spend a lot of money, and need to get help with academics and what not

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have geekfest i believe. as well a planetarium

    Bang for the buck

    compared to the prices of other schools and the complaining i hear from other students that went off to major universities after high school, i say finacially it's a pretty good deal.

    What to do for fun

    take on school activities, meet new people, and make new friends

    Food and Dining

    almost taste homemade

    Dorm Life

    i don't stay in the dorms. i have visited, had fun, and I hear great things about the fun and relationships formed

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the type and number of classes you are taking

    Tips for prospective students

    Just ask for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    CTC is great. The staff if very helpful, but you have to be willing to ask for help. it is a good start on your college career especially if you plan to transfer

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the CTC Police who goes around the school. For emergency and other police help they will be there even for those students who doesn't obey traffic or parking regulations.

    What to do for fun

    They have the Mayborn Planetarium which offers different activities aside from the school activities that usually held at school for school events and etc.

    Food and Dining

    Bldg. 156 Campus Center offers affordable food and snack for students. It is budget friendly and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    They have an affortable On- Campus Living, a housing facility available for 120 full-time students.Room and board including apartments for married full-time students or single parents with dependent children.

    Academic Rigor

    CTC has an open-admissions policy, which means they do not require ACT or SAT for admission. Their credits are transferrable to a 4-year school. They also have an agreement senior institutions that locks you into a for-year degree program which saves your time and money. In addition they also have the Our College Now Program which allows you to take college classes after your second year in High School which allows you to earn credit hours just before you graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    CTC offers different tutoring opportunities and non-credit refresher course like GED or ESL class for free and many more. Disability support services gives free help different wide arrays like registration, classroon accomodation,etc. The school's counselor will help you with your career planning and the placement center for job hunting.

    In three sentences

    It's an excellent school for those who want to enter college and get to start fast like Associates degree ,vocational courses or get some certification first because if one day you decide to go to an upper level course, the core academic credits can be transferred to a 4-year course to any university of your choice. I also like the fact that there is no charge for applying to CTC plus no fees for the transfer of your credit hours from your former school.CTC gives me a hope that I can finish school fast and with more ease as it opens different ways to support their students need. With this help students can be more progressive, diverse and do better things in the real world.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with low incidents of sexual assault, burglaries, and violence throughout the years. The campus police do walk on-campus throughout the day and nights.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities at Central Texas College. They participate in many various volunteer and community projects.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations at Central Texas College without a need for a membership fee. There are a lot of support for international students and students interested in many different things.

    Great for these types of students

    Because Central Texas College has many types of students, it offers continue education classes for many certifications and allows the students to be flexible with their schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Night courses are offered at Central Texas College along with Saturday classes. Many classes do not meet on Fridays and the offices on-campus do close before noon on Fridays.

    Bang for the buck

    Central Texas College has one of the lowest tuition rates in the state of Texas. The Chancellor and Board Members do the best they can to keep it that way.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a variety of foods and the staff are very nice, and helpful to anyone. It is kept neat and clean throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. There are apartments for married couples, single parents with children, and married couples with children. Central Texas College offers day-care services and flexibility for working students.

    Academic Rigor

    Central Texas College is offering more degrees and certifications to complete online or on-campus. Students are able to transfer to many colleges and universities within the United States to continue with their educational goals. It is very supportive of the military families and spouses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students do have the option of taking classes on-campus and/or online. Time management is critical for having a successful semester. There are methods to contact the instructor and students throughout the semesters to ask questions about the assignments or grading standards. Many students enroll during the fall and springs semesters once the registration period begins. The classes required to be completed by many students will fill quickly. Taking summer classes is recommended. Complete all documents required for financial aid, scholarships, and graduation before the deadlines. There will be numerous students submitting documents also.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the support from the professors and instructors online and on-campus. They are willing to help, understand, and guide students to achieve the students' goals for the class. They also recommend and are willing to become references for any jobs on-campus and off.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mall lake golf

    Academic Rigor

    Not to tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Scholarships

    In three sentences

    CTC is great. You will all get in it is open enrollment. It is Affordable.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look into scholarships that CTC offers.

    In three sentences

    I take my courses online and have had a good experience so far. Tuition isn't too costly. Support services are really good.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students have groups to join, I believe they have something goin on every week.

    Food and Dining

    Foods are great. Inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in the dorm but it looks like that the houses are great. Very accommodating and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Great school to start your associate.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    First aid kits everywhere, with a full police/security team. I was at the gym yesterday and read the crime report... Somebody locked their keys in their vehicle.... Like a month ago... haha

    Greek Life

    I think there is two frats/sororities...

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count...

    Great for these types of students

    Any!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Gym for some fun or the student center are very fun places to hangout.

    What to do for fun

    You name it.... haha

    Food and Dining

    Like stated above... TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Had many friends that lived in the dorms.. Very cool place for students to hang out, with flexible rules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try the cafeteria! Great food for a very cheap price!

    In three sentences

    It is very awesome campus!!! The faculty and staff truly try everything they can in their powers to help make your educational dream come true! With all the new buildings it is very fun environment to learn.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school is made for students that have a busy lifestyle. It has great staff that help the learning process go very smooth.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students. military town

    What to do for fun

    live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    easy to apply and great funding

    In three sentences

    great with online classes to accomodate the full time workers

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college wil email you if there is anything threatening your safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student lounge is fun.

    Great for these types of students

    High School slackers, people who want to get their general studies out of the way before going to a university, people that want to go to college, but lack the funds to go to a university.

    What to do for fun

    I just hang out with friends all day in the cafeteria. Sometimes I go to the game room and play on the PS3 or Xbox 360s that they have.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms....

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what your teacher says, and don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The school is nice. The teachers are great and the food is fantastic.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head up. Even if the times get bad, always remember, It could be worse!

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a great opportunity for me with the Online Education Program available. Being stationed in Japan, I can pursue my Associates Degree, and still be in the Marine Corps. Central Texas will be my college that I obtain my Associates and Bachelors Degree with!

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good and when you look around they there even you think they not. Rate four

    Great for these types of students

    Central Texas College is good for students who just need a certificate. Its great for students who just want to take extra classes. If you looking for a community college thats close to home it right for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the planetarium its really nice in there the building is big and awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    I like that Central Texas College is a small campus and the students that are there are very helpful. rate 5

    What to do for fun

    I think they have very relaxing electives to relax your mind especially when you need to unwind.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining was pretty good. rate 3

    Tips for prospective students

    If you not sure what you want to take need help go see the career counselor.

    In three sentences

    I rate Central Texas College good at least four stars. They have very good counselors who help you with what you want to take. The career counselor by herself is a five she is patient and very helpful.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military Friendly

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you enroll early. The classes fill up quick.

    In three sentences

    I love this college because being in the military it is hard to find time in my schedule to go to school. With Central Texas College, they have night classes that are 5 hours long once a week in order to accelerate the program into 8 weeks. Really helps out because I can focus one day into my busy schedule.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Central Texas College campus is small, but there are a few organizations you can get involved with including a debate team and intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Central Texas College is good, but a bit pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Central Texas College are great. In comparison to larger universities, I have been told that CTC provides an equivalent (and for some people, better) education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be wary to start school at Central Texas College solely because it is a community college. CTC is a great school.

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a good environment for people who want to further their education straight after high school, or want to go back to school. It is very military friendly, the classes, professors, and staff are very helpful. CTC is definitely a good school to consider if you are considering transferring to a university after receiving an associate's degree.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military personnel or people who can only attend online classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices if you are in the military, if not average prices for average education.

    What to do for fun

    Student lounge has a pool table, ping pong tables, and other amenities for students.

    Food and Dining

    Great little kitchen in the student lounge where you get fresh food made right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The anatomy and physiology class I took last semester was more difficult then any class I had taken at other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and take advantage of the study tools they provide.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school that provides most classes online. If you do take a classroom class however, the classes are small and very personal. Generally an enjoyable school to attend.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I live off campus and have no input on this.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus with my husband so I have no input for this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid yourself. The business office usually is the one you go to for questions regarding amounts and deposits. Try and find your books online or off campus. The book store is very high price.

    In three sentences

    CTC is in a great location. The classes are very flexible. The tuition rates are really low.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to exersice in my off time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework.

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College the best college i've been enrolled in.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very inexpensive so you can save up for transferring.

    Food and Dining

    OK food but lots of choices around town like Joe's Pizza, McDonald's, and Mexican cafes.

    Dorm Life

    Not a traditional dorm but has other perks: cafeteria, lounge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive early for registration or you will be there forever. Register for classes early, most of the good ones are likely to be fill the quickest.

    In three sentences

    Simple school for simple students. A good community college to start off with before transferring.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CTC on post great for Military dependents and DOD students etc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CTC is located also on the military post FT Hood

    What to do for fun

    Gym, Planetarium, Travel to surrounding cities like Austin. We have Texas Relays, Fests, Car Clubs, Motorcycle clubs, Parades, Clubs etc

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    unsure

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the Central Texas College web site. It is informative and easy to navigate.

    In three sentences

    Excellent Professors are very professional and knowledgeable in their fields. The campus is easy to access and each building is in short walking distance. The professors and support offices are willing to provide guidance and assistance you need.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't live on campus, I am an online student.

    Greek Life

    There is none!

    Clubs and Activities

    Very limited in clubs and activities.

    What to do for fun

    You have to go out of the city for fun, not much to do here located in a military town. If you like to golf, bowl, eat, go to the movies this is the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is fair, you'll learn something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have good study habits.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for an affordable school this would be the place to go.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are so great with security and safety. They send out text messages and emails to let student's know about any cancellations due to weather or criminal activity on campus. This school was real admen about that.

    Greek Life

    not so much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although, It is military based, there are not too much clubs, but they do do a good job of promoting acitivites for not just students, but the family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a quiet room upstairs in the library to the left. If a student ever wanted to an extra quiet getaway.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth the money. It is not pricey as far as a community college and staff are more than willing to help you search for scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There is the new student center which has an awesome appearance. Eat by the fountain and watch the ducks by the pond. Use the gym to get fit.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is exceptional and the kitchen staff is courteous.

    Academic Rigor

    I found that if you study like you should. These course are not intended to be difficult. It is the way you go about studying and the end results are what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help. There are plenty of resources and staff willing to help. Use them.

    In three sentences

    It is a student friendly school with professors who take time to make sure your needs are met. A very diverse population with great attitudes. The Staff are not there just to take your money, but to truly help a student out.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and when you look at the outlook parts of the catalogs you can see there is very minor if not any criminal activity ever present on this campus.

    Greek Life

    There is none that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many of the clubs here tend to lean towards your major like nursing club, flight club, and criminal justice club. They all tend to work towards bettering their awareness and education of the future careers they wish to work towards.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for military students and transfer students that wish to do their general studies before moving onto a four year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    You are able to save a great deal of money attending thsi school over universities but I wouldn't say the educational experience is on par with them either.

    What to do for fun

    There are many lakes and hunting areas around the school if that's your thing. There are major cities within a 30 minute drive of the school and there are vast amounts of dining and entertainment options within minutes of the school.

    Food and Dining

    The school recently built a new building with a new bookstore and cafeteria. The food is fairly good and they offer fair priced meals for college students.

    Dorm Life

    Never experienced the dorms as i commute but I'm fairly sure the dorms are offered to married and international students before normal students are accepted.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem to be fairly easy from a college standpoint but you will get professors that do put just as much of a workload on their students as universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to pass all your general studies classes to later move onto a four year university and save money doing it.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great atmosphere that is welcoming as well as warming. The school allows many military and military families the chance to receive a college education without having to be strictly online based. The nursing and paramedic programs are second to none and are able to give you a great learning experience because all the educational aspects are almost brand new and top of the line.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College police and security are serious about keeping the students safe and respected

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club you can imagine do some research and dont be afraid to join and enjoy (:

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who are open for fun living college experience, want great academic benefits,in a safe community environment

    Bang for the buck

    Good and affordable school with great shopping and eating places nearby!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in the different clubs and organizations that they have and that best fits you! Meet new people from many different places and just have fun at a welcoming school (:

    Food and Dining

    LOVE FOOD! Thats just me I am an eater!

    Dorm Life

    Nice living space and close to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Great programs for Many different majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your are interested in the nursing program, this will be a great hands on choice.

    In three sentences

    CTC is a great college choice for me with its great campus appearance. It carries my major and 15 minutes away from my living! This community college is in a very familiar area for me and will help aid my future education goals

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops are always on the look out

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to chose from

    Great for these types of students

    online. military, family orientated, fast

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    camping, hiking, dancing, and lots of restaurant's to try from all over

    Food and Dining

    so much to chose from its great!

    Dorm Life

    to be honest I don't know I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor but for the most part if you work hard it will pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    -register early -follow your dreams -take a class you think sounds fun, College is about finding yourself -parking sucks

    In three sentences

    Its a wonderful small campus that allows you to find what educational path you want to follow. Or if you want you can just take classes her to further your education. Come here if you want a laid back college experience.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always present, and have all tips in order.

    Greek Life

    Not from this area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not from this area. Military town.

    Great for these types of students

    The nursing and paramedic programs are the best. Everyone is professional and extremely helpful. The program is very rigorous, so be ready.

    Bang for the buck

    CTC has the lowest tuition rate of all two year schools in Texas.

    What to do for fun

    I am not from this area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus has very good food, for a reasonable price. There are also many different restaurants, and fast food places close by.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but have heard good things.

    Academic Rigor

    Students must be dedicated to learning, or they will not go far. All the instructors that I have had have been very professional and tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your limits before enrolling. The instructors at this college expect their students to be self sufficient. If you are not passionate and dedicated to your college career this is not the place for you.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this college very high. The nursing department of this school is professional and very understanding. If you are planning a career in nursing this is the school to attend.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tthere is nothing to fear about living or attending classes at Ctc. The police department is located in building 137. There has never been BIG crisis on campus, but you always have your typical thieves and fighters but Ctc does have a safe environment for any one.

    Clubs and Activities

    For the clubs and activities to join at Ctc, a majority of them to choose from would depend on what you personally like or your major, so if you are interested in crime then you can join the criminal justice club. There are also organizations that go out of the campus and do community service and are non-profit groups too. There is an Otaku club and if you really want to find more organizations, read all bulletin boards across the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who like to reach more than what is given in the classroom, the library is a perfect place for meeting small groups of individuals who like to study together or get ahead and even tutor each other. There are many adult students too who may be a better company for some students compared to younger students like themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    Ctc offers many opportunities for success in education and every penny will be worth it. Classes for a semester may only cost $1000 and sometimes it is the books that raise the bill, but either way nothing is wasted at Ctc if you put good effort into receiving the knowledge the professors provide for you.

    What to do for fun

    At Ctc there are a lot of new people to go around meet, it is almost impossible to be lonely there, but there are many electives that are very fun and entertaining including sports as well, there are many comfortable spots on the campus to simply sit on the grass and have some quiet time as well.

    Food and Dining

    Do not be picky of the food provided, luckily for Ctc being within the city of Killeen if you donâ??t like cafeteria food, you can walk down the road to some fast food.

    Dorm Life

    Looking through the dorms, they may appear small but they are more than enough for single students and married students to occupy in. unlike big universities where the dorm rooms may be blocks from the actual university, Ctc dorms are very close by and a simple walk can take you from your dorm to a class in no time. Only bring what you need and no valuables because the school will not be responsible for any loses.

    Academic Rigor

    The education taught at Ctc can sometimes be harder than actual classes at an average university. The education is quiet superior. From my own classes, the professors are phenomenal and very lively. They are professional but the work depends on teacher. Ctc professors range from hard core to pass by showing up for attendance. But either extreme, you will be doing some work or studying. Understand, I was a hard working AP student in High School, but the effort I put into making A's in high school results in a mid C here, so not to worry you but studying is key. not memorizing but actually learning. like most of the government classes you could pass with high school effort, but when it comes to the science and math department, you need to mentally become a NASA researcher.

    Tips for prospective students

    While in high school, it would be a wise choice to take the Accuplacer at any time because in high school it cost nothing, but waiting to take the Accuplacer outside of school will cost a fee of $20 dollars for all sections. Also, take as many Dual Credit classes as possible because the more classes you pass in high school, it will equal credit at central texas college so you can get your degree in less than two years. Another tip about choosing your professor: if you are not sure about who you want to teach you or what the professors are about, go to the website call Rate My Professor.com and you will have free access to openly honest reviews about every professor in the united states. Another tip, if you lose your ID it will cost $5 for another, and never be judgmental of your classmates no matter how old or different they are because everyone has a strength in something and that may be the person you need to ask for help from.

    In three sentences

    Ctc is a highly respected community college that is affordable but still challenging. Ctc offers many degrees and certificates for many simple and complex jobs. Ctc educators take pride in their teachings and are always there to help hardworking, dedicated students.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Central Texas is a great college. Has great teachers It also has great opportunity for learn.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again I dont eat there but it looks to have a pretty go selection on campus but there are plenty of places right outside of the school.

    Dorm Life

    Cant speak on this topic since I live with my parents

    Academic Rigor

    Most are the teachers try their best to help out the students knowing that some have obligations to the military.

    Tips for prospective students

    You dont have to know exactly what you want to do. Just try out things and rest easy knowing that your credits will transfer.

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a great school for the military and their families. It is affordable which is a huge plus and they have campuses all over the US. It just makes going to school easier for all who would like to experience it.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I think you can join any clubs, or extracurricular activities around here and it would be a lot of fun for anyone. Killeen has changed a lot in the past decade and improved so much since I was a little girl growing up here. I really enjoy swimming in the mornings at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    We have a wonderful Anderson Mill Campus Center, where the bookstore and cafe are. Everyone who has time to chill between classes will stop by there and drink and eat whatever they want while hanging out with their friends. It's a really nice center, I just don't have the time to stop by and 'chill' in there, unless I'm let out of class early.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms offered at CTC are for single parents, and married couples who are trying to pursue the dream of continuing on their education. I think it's absolutely wonderful that they offer these such opportunities for people in an effort to encourage education.

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely not the hardest school to be at, but I would have to say that it does take a lot out of me sometimes. But I feel like that's pretty normal for any college freshman to say.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about attending here, I would say definitely have all of your paperwork together. Stay ahead, and on the ball because registration can be what some might call hell week. It's a literal fight for your classes. But, if you're on top of everything you're more likely to get into the classes you want/need with the best possible schedule for yourself.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the small class size, it gives you and your professors the chance to get to know each other so that they can help promote and instil learning. I love how close the school is to home, it only takes me five minutes to drive there. I especially enjoy the much lower tuition rates, and the diverse programs that they have to offer.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Roomy and great choices and even surrounded by places you can easily go to.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus but they look nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money, and take core courses for cheap. Yeah, your friends may be going to big universities or what ever but join them in the long run and avoid high loans.

    In three sentences

    I love CTC, the campus is clean. The Buildings have the correct names and numbers as they are are the maps, and the cafe has enough space for everyone as well as choices of food.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great community college to start off with before going into a bigger four year university.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    They do have dorms and it is like $2000 per semester and includes dining.

    Academic Rigor

    You have a choice between main campus or military base classes to choose from. Military base classes are 8 weeks and it goes by quickly verses the central campus classes which are on average 16 weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your paperwork turned in ahead of time. The faculty takes their time getting things processed. When registration for a class is open especially a science class, stay up until midnight to enroll in it. Those classes are gone within a matter of a few minutes.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, or seems so. There are signs everywhere with directions to lost & found help and they have their own police department. Considering the campus is full of mostly commuting adults, there is higher sense of responsibility.

    Greek Life

    Basically, none whatsoever.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, home-bodies, and people that just want to get and get out.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely gives you your moneys worth. Every class is about $165, online and offline, and they offer 8-week classes. Most of the professors are pretty decent, despite it being a small town community college, the cafe food isn't bad, the gym is almost always vacant, and surprisingly they do have on campus living.

    What to do for fun

    Due to the location the only thing semi-immediately close-by is Fort Hood. IF you like outdoor sports there are many places to fish and hunt nearby. The mall is a couple of miles down the road also. I would definitely try to make full use of the recreation center because it seems as if nobody is in there when there aren't classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be good or bad depending on the day. If you're looking for a quick lunch, don't hesitate. You'll live.

    Dorm Life

    Being a commuter school, the dorms at CTC are very calm during the warm nights of central Texas. This year, (2013) will be the coldest Winter we have had. Before this, it was possible to live in the unair-conditioned dorms. As far as them being comfortable, that's all user opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes aren't very hard. I believe Chemistry, Physics, and Calculus will always be difficult no matter where you go. I've met some of the nicest professors ever here, and some are genuine about your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a college freshman and planning to experience all of the freedom and fun you can in your first year, CTC might not be the place for you. BUT if that's not you and you're not into the partying lifestyle and crazy nights, you can enjoy CTC and get a great education without having to worry about too many distractions. Central Texas College, like all colleges, is about what you make it. Expect: Professors with life experience, ex-military students, tons of class choices, a nice recreation center, a sense of loneliness if you're young, and decent priced books. Don't Expect: Huge nightlife, dorm parties, massive clubs and associations, Greek life, a good population of freshman, or a helpful student service center.

    In three sentences

    It is a commuter school, be warned if you're into nightlife or anything most ~25 year olds get into for that matter. Classes ultimately vary in difficulty. Students aren't very social.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to wrench on my truck for fun and play video games.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet, but I hear they are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research what you need to bring with you for financial aide, and then bring everything else. I should have just brought my entire personal papers box with me.

    In three sentences

    So far the process for enrolling for online classes has been ok. Not as smooth as it could have been, but it seems that anything military affiliated is a pain. Thus far I think I'm going to be happy there.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security staff is everywhere. Not only is there a campus police station, security roams the campus constantly.

    Great for these types of students

    Skill-oriented students. If you're coming to get a skill, be it Nursing, welding, Network Security or something along those lines, CTC is a great choice for a great price.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the students I've spoken to attending various colleges in the surroundings areas tell me they're 3-4 times more in debt than I am. The courses I'm taking are not only practical, they're generally challenging and are fairly priced.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, I haven't looked too deeply for clubs or activities, so I can't really say much.

    Food and Dining

    The student services building is generally packed and the food is surprisingly good.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly couldn't tell you anything beyond word of mouth. I've heard they're clean and generally quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are literally only as hard as you make them. In my department, where I not only attend classes, but work as well, classes are generally fair. If you put little-to-no effort into the classes, we'll help you, but won't hold your hand. You, as a student, need to put in effort to get a grasp on the subjects being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you're after long before you come. Know exactly what skill you're after, what classes you'll need and make sure you know what semesters offer the basic and intermediate classes.

    In three sentences

    Pretty good. Nothing exceptionally grand, but pretty good for the price.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Has things to do within the limits of the town for all ages.

    Academic Rigor

    Take time to make your schedule and stick with it and include some down time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in get that degree now.

    In three sentences

    Easy to contact the SME's while working to get a degree online and when you are stationed overseas or elsewhere in the world.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Online student once more.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus or any where near it since I am on a online student. Its kind of hard to gauge it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms since I am on a online student. Its kind of hard to gauge it.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, since I do online classes. Gotta stay on top of the work,studying and test. While working I make sure to get as much studying in as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the prospective students, I would say stay on top of it. In the long run it pays off, always make sure to keep in contact with teachers. Most teachers are very good about giving a little leway when needed.

    In three sentences

    Being in the military this college has been wonderful. The counselors have been a huge help. CTC online has been very easy to deal with and the teachers are helpful.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always around

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much in way of clubs or activities

    Great for these types of students

    Part time students

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is ok. With decent selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are co ed

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are lenient with classwork

    In three sentences

    Good for part time students. Commuter Campus Military Friendly

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for military students and students trying to achieve a distance education. This school and its professors were very willing to work with me in difficult times, and were very understanding to issues that occurred while taking classes.

    In three sentences

    I rate this school as a 9/10. I only take away one point due to distance and being in Alaska there is not much for assistance. This school was amazing while I was deployed to Iraq and could not have been more help.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Killeen is a decent sized town with plenty of restaurants and pubs to eat at and a plethora of pastimes including he mall, movie theater, and many other shopping complexes.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking if going to central texas college all you need to do is make sure you go in with a positive attitude and are ready to work. Classes here are very easy if you put in the time and effort. So just have fun here while you work toward your degree.

    In three sentences

    Central Texas College is a great college for students just starting off and learning the ropes of college life. I love that all the professors know your name and really care about helping make sure you do well in their class. I would recommend this college to anyone seeking to start their college career.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    soldiers

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal for soldiers, free college, nothing better than that kind of opportunity

    What to do for fun

    online only

    Food and Dining

    online only

    Dorm Life

    online only

    Academic Rigor

    The german course was very difficult, although, with the help of the other students, I was able to easily learn the vocabulary I needed to further my knowledge of german

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent the textbooks, they are online and will save you a lot of money in the end, just be ready to switch between windows every once in a while

    In three sentences

    Very skilled teachers with a broad history on their subject, great for deployed soldiers who want to further their education to the next level, while currently engaged in ongoing missions and work details

  • 06/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around so there is a sense of security.

    Great for these types of students

    Budget-friendly, one on one type students

    Bang for the buck

    If you are able to receive financial aid, that alone will pay for a full time students classes and books plus money left over each semester so the campus is very affordable with quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus has a lot of facilities for a community college that are free of use so utilize them, however there are no intercollegiate athletics at this school or spirit squads.

    In three sentences

    The best community college in central texas for students on a budget. Friendly staff and affordable classes that make getting your degree or certification a lot easier. The first choice for someone who wants to get a quality education for a cheaper price.