Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Central Virginia Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    great little cafe in the student center

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    includes many many courses and degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know how much your books will cost and be prepared to get have all materials needed. if you don't understand something, always ask!

    In three sentences

    cvcc is a great school for people of all ages. whether you are just graduating high school, or in your thirties, cvcc has something for everyone.. i would highly advise anyone considering community college to start with cvcc

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    on campus there is a entertainment room to play pool, watch tv and socialize. there is also a fitness center for those into health and fitness. off campus there are jogging/biking trails , bars , ice skating rink, movie theatres , ski slope , and shopping centers!

    Food and Dining

    they have many options! there is a cafeteria that is open all day and there are lots of vending machines near by. if you want to go off right off campus there are dozens of restaurants to choose from !

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life there .

    Academic Rigor

    great !

    Tips for prospective students

    you will not be disappointed! they have lots of career studies and for a community college they are very pro-active towards their students.

    In three sentences

    central virginia community college has amazing programs for those just starting out in college. i would recommend this college for anyone because they have an amazing campus and are highly recognized. the staff has been nothing short of great for me !

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe while on campus since a very popular Campus Security Officer is a retired police officer.

    Great for these types of students

    The school has something for everyone from all walks of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The area where the picnic tables are is a great scenic view of nature.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not where you can get a better deal!

    What to do for fun

    You can socialize in the cafeteria, student center or hangout outside.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check with students for selecting the professor that is best for you.

    In three sentences

    It is an ideal college for commuting. The professors are very understanding. The choice of classes are a good selection.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CVCC has many activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria but I havent ate there.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are tough but I think that they just expect the best out of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check into all the resources that are available to you.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending CVCC of and on since 1999 to finish my Associates Degree. I think that it is a good school for this area. The teachers have been most helpful to me when I have asked for it.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good, and few incidents are heard of.

    Bang for the buck

    CVCC is an excellent school to attend to fulfill general education requirements. Cost per credit hour is lower than many other schools, and CVCC has transfer agreements with many schools in the area. The student can choose the correct courses to fulfill requirements that will transfer to another school.

    Food and Dining

    CVCC has a cafeteria called the Spot. It's the typical college fast food--breaded chicken, french fries, macaroni and cheese balls, pastries, and coffee. The college is located near several restaurants, so some students will go off campus to eat as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors here are very good in their field and will help the student wherever they are at. Some are tougher than others, but many are committed to the student's improvement and success. Come prepared to work and be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    My greatest tip for prospective students, and one thing I had to learn, was to be prepared to work with different types of people. Not everyone learns and likes the same things you do. Be willing to learn from others and how they do things. If you do, you will gain a valuable skill for your career days.

    In three sentences

    Central Virgina Community College is a great place to become acclimated to an upper level academic career. The professors are well-versed in their subjects, and very accessible and ready to help. Faculty and staff are all student oriented and make the student feel welcome.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe here even taking night classes. The security is visible and polite.

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek organizations that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many clubs and activities that I know of. I am sure that there are some if you look.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those looking for an associates degree, trying to get better grades to attend a four year school, or going back to school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college, so it is not expensive. It is a great school with amazing professors and instructors.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have any experience with the food and dining here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a typical community college. Challenging for some students and easy for others. Most prospective students will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you take advantage of every opportunity here as it is inexpensive and you only have a few years to complete your degree.

    In three sentences

    Central Virginia Community College is a great school! The staff is very helpful and the professors are knowledgeable.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police located just about everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activites to be involved in at this college.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who like smaller classes.

    What to do for fun

    Just sitting outside between class watching everyone around you can be fun. They also hold many activites.

    Food and Dining

    There is a student cafeteria and there are also many places to eat off campus that are very close.

    Dorm Life

    This college is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is important that you get your work done, but your teachers work with you to make it easier for you.

    In three sentences

    Central Virginia Community College is a great college. All of the staff and students are very nice. It is also so close to everything and makes it easy to get from class to class on time.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is good

    Greek Life

    dont have it

    Great for these types of students

    cvcc is great if you live closer to altavista and cant get to lynchburg and if you like small class rooms

    What to do for fun

    they have concerts and programs

    Food and Dining

    the cafe center is nice

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    always be on time and if you like a small college this is great

    In three sentences

    Cvcc is a good school to attend for a freshman.The teachers are very nice and helpful. I love that the tuition is not high.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, we are located in a calm suburban area.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking for an inexpensive start to their college career, and a school to transfer from. Great if you want to live at home.

    Bang for the buck

    It's inexpensive to go here, and financial aid is covering all of my school with a grant, so I have gotten a lot out of it.

    What to do for fun

    We have occasional student picnics and trips to major cities.

    Food and Dining

    We only have a small cafeteria and a small coffeeshop. Options here are limited, but the coffee is cheap and pretty good for the price.

    Dorm Life

    We are a commuter college, so we have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are what you make them. You can make them rigorous or you can breeze through them. It mainly depends on you, although it can sometimes depend on what professor you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors I have had here are good, but research your professors on ratemyprofessor.com. Apply for financial aid early.

    In three sentences

    A great start to your college career. An economical college. We have guaranteed admissions agreements with universities such as the University of Virginia.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Other than attending classes here there is nothing else offered.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on what courses you are taking. I have managed to take a full load each semester while working part-time and still maintaining a 4.0 average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep in touch with the professors if you need any extra help because they are always willing to give outside help. Also make sure you are on track with taking courses that will transfer if this is your intention.

    In three sentences

    CVCC has been an excellent school for me to attend because it has prepared me to attend a larger college. I have been able to learn good study habits while attending smaller classes.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very pleasant to speak with while still doing their job.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for everyone from a fresh out of high school student to the middle age student looking for a change or just an up to date education.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the education here is on par with the local private schools. Even with the small budget and the occasional impact that it has on education the teaches have such a passion for their subject that the small budget can be over looked.

    What to do for fun

    There is a large common area in between all the buildings that students regularly use for throwing sports. There is also a rather nice gym on center that is open for all students.

    Food and Dining

    Small but convenient cafe with everything from water to coffee to energy drinks. Food is good and you can get anything from fresh made biscuits to snack bars.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class it can be challenging, but the teachers tend to do an excellent job of helping students. If the teacher can't do enough there is an excellent student learning center that does tutoring and much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come in and speak with a counsellor and get signed into a program. If you have a question or concern the counsellors are excellent at either having the answers or finding who does for you.

    In three sentences

    Great community college. They have to operate with a small budget and they do so remarkably well. Excellent staff, from the security to the teaches, everyone is pleasant to deal with.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are great. they will walk you to your car/class whenever you need them to.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs to join!

    Great for these types of students

    those who want to just get the degree to transfer

    Bang for the buck

    too expensive for the classes you take but cheaper than a 4 year university.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the student center is pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They give spelling tests in some classes... that says it all.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to get the run around from advisors when your first get accepted. Also, the financial aid office is a joke.

    In three sentences

    small, just like high school, cheap

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult students, those exploring majors or undecided, second-career people, anyone who is economically minded.

    What to do for fun

    There are some student organizations, but most people just come for classes and leave for jobs or other activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    CVCC is an affordable and convenient way to complete your Gen. Ed. requirements for any degree.

    In three sentences

    My classes were taught by interested and informed professors. Generally, the staff is willing to help with questions. The student body is very diverse.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of social events held throughout the year, and Lynchburg is bustling with stuff to do!

    Food and Dining

    The food at CVCC is pretty delicious!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't think there is really any difference between CVCC's rigor and the rigor that I dealt with at a 4-year university I attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the workshops/seminars that are offered. Take advantage of all the social events that are held here. Do not make the mistake of treating a community college like it is a joke, because it is the gateway to the rest of your education.

    In three sentences

    The faculty/staff at CVCC are super helpful and friendly. The location is convenient and beautiful. I am more than happy with the quality of education that I am receiving.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a great nature trail!

    Food and Dining

    They have a quick little cafe. Its not huge or upscale but if you're really hungry it'll do!

    Dorm Life

    I don't even think they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very casual, the professors are fairly decent and eager to get to know you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload yourself with credits, I'm in an early college program (its like dual enrollment on steroids) and I take 15 credits this semester. Don''t stress too much and you'll be fine~

    In three sentences

    A very casual school. Perfect for people in the area, I don't recommend traveling a great distance for it. Very nice, cheap way to get college credits!