Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Central Wyoming College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CWC is a good starter school. Here one can get the basics out of the way at a minimal cost. It is great for students that want to save a little money while attending school. Students who want a smaller, more rural school will be very satisfied. Anyone that wants a good educational experience, and great social life will be very satisfied at CWC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students will want to take the next step up from high school and advance into college. CWC staff will help students out tremendously, but one should want to be on top of things for themselves. This means take notes and pay attention. Other than that, students should just enjoy the college experience and have fun. You only get to do it once so students should enjoy it the fullest!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that by attending CWC one will get all their basics covered at a very minimal cost, compared to a University. Their classes are very up to date and will teach you most anything a larger school would. CWC's cost for education is very affordable and this is partly why they have so many satisfied students, and parents as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like the community and surrounding area. Looking out my window and seeing the mountains is beautiful. The community is very friendly and well kept. The students that I have met are for the most part, very friendly and respectable. The staff at CWC are very nice and willing to help out anyone that is having problems. I feel very acknowledged around the students, staff, and community members. this is why I am very pleased to attend CWC.

    Am learning a lot

    This past year I was very impressed with the professors and how they were teaching their classes. They each had their own way of explaining and doing different things, but each got their point across very effectively. This small class atmosphere and one on one help really gave me the chance to prosper in the classroom.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    central wyoming college is a great school. there are great teachers, staff and students here. the teachers and staff care about the students and are willing to help in anyway they can.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    wonderfull varieties of food are provided at a low cost

    Tips for prospective students

    if you enjoy the outdoors and a high teacher/student ratio, this college if for you.

    In three sentences

    the programs here offer a wonderful start for anyone wanting to complete their first 2 years of college. the programs offered here transfer, guaranteed, to any ncaa accredited college. tuition is also one of the cheapest in the nation

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    outdoor club, climbing club

    Great for these types of students

    outdoor education majors will fit right in.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a pretty cheap school, but you still get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    rock climbing, arts, sports, working out.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is open everyday, although weekend hours are limited. the food is pricey and they have a limited selection.

    Dorm Life

    you can live with someone, or by yourself! whatever you want, cwc has it.

    Academic Rigor

    all the teachers here really know what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    take the leap and try out cwc.

    In three sentences

    central wyoming college is a wonderful college to attend. it is very personable and everyone on campus tries really hard to make sure you feel comfortable and welcome. there are also tons of things to do on campus like climbing in the rock wall, volleyball, dodge ball, working out in the gym or drinking coffee in the library!

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very well lit. I know at New Student Orientation campus safety was addressed. CWC is a smaller college so in know time you get to know people and if there is a problem there is always someone who will help. I think there is a real sense of community here which is one of the reasons I am here :)

    What to do for fun

    I know there are tennis courts and places to walk and ride bikes. Riverton is small but we do have two movie theatres and some places to go eat out. Lander is twenty minuets away and for people who like to hike,mountain climb,take pictures,it is a great place to go.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE our food court. There are three different places to eat and a place to get coffee and smoothies. Everyone is real friendly and it is a great place to socialize.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the teachers I have had are passionate in the subjects they teach. It is a smaller college so if I am struggling in an area I can get the help I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a good relationship with your academic advisor. Keep in contact with your teachers and let them know when you are struggling in your studies or in your personal life if that becomes a problem with your studies.

    In three sentences

    The staff is helpful. The classrooms are small in size so I am able to learn and get the help I need. The library is great and there are plenty of computers to work at.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The more active you are, the more you will like CWC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, the Jackson campus is in the same building that a HUGE dancers studio is in that entertains the NYC Ballet every summer. The auditorium downstairs has had the likes of Steve Martin and b/c Harrison Ford and Calista Flockhart are locals, you see them a TON. Also, there's a very active art gallery and pottery studio...all in the same building! And the bagel shop around the corner is fab!

    Bang for the buck

    The nursing program is a realistic price and time frame. Which was exactly what I was looking for!

    What to do for fun

    At the Jackson Hole campus, there is the rodeo, snowboarding/skiing, hiking, mountain biking, white water rafting, fishing, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    They are always looking to help your success here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books before the first day of class. Always organize your folders/notebooks before first day of class. Speak up, it will help you to learn.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easy to get to. The distance learning is realistic and interactive. I have been pleased with the tuition costs.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety and CWC is great. The moment they found out something has happened on campus they report it immediately for everyone to know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of fun clubs like Student Senate, Gear Up Club, Book Club, and a lot more that I can't name because there are so many. Clubs at CWC are fun and you get to meet new people and make new friends and have a great time.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do on campus. For example, they have a homecoming dance, Halloween dance, movie nights, and much more activities that Brittany Yeates announces online when something happens to be going on campus. So it's always good to check your emails to see what fun things might be going on. There are even games nights with a wii and much more with snacks and drinks for students to enjoy themselves and get away from homework and class for a little while.

    Food and Dining

    The food up at Central Wyoming College is not the best, but it is still really good and they always have some kind of lunch and dinner special for students to choose from which always tends to be good. The chef there used to be a professional and makes excellent food for students to eat and I don't ever hear complaints about the food or how it tastes.

    Dorm Life

    I am unsure of dorm life since I live at home with my family and so I can't answer this question with no experience living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Central Wyoming College academic rigor is excellent. They always make sure students and faculty/staff follow campus rules and make sure that it is a safe place for everyone and that every person enjoys themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students debating on going to CWC must know that there is always help with staff/faculty and you can ask as many questions as needed. What is important that you can go to tutors in the TRiO program where you can get help by checking out books or any other class supplies that they might have as long as it is returned before the semester is done with. You can also get help with money through scholarships which you can find information about at Registration & Records.

    In three sentences

    Central Wyoming College has cheap tuition and fees and affordable costs to take classes and start your degree. They have great instructors willing to schedule times to help you out in classes and with homework so you always understand whats going on and that everything makes sense. Finally, there is always help with scholarships, transfer options, and renting books and other supplies for classes with Central Wyoming College staff and faculty who are always willing to help.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is free movie nights every Wednesday. All sports are free to watch. There is an occasional dance every once and a while.

    Food and Dining

    I have only ate at CWC two times and both times I had no complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms, however I have visited them and they seem to be very entertaining. They're not a condo by any means, but everyone does seem to get along.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to see anyone at CWC be rigorous. All of the professors are very down to earth and helpful. They actually seem to care about the students instead of just taking our money and doing the bare minimum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to ask any of the staff for help. No one will lie to you, if they don't know the answer to your question, they will help you find someone who does. Don't overload yourself with too many classes, CWC is very a enjoyable school and it will be worth your time to take longer and pass all of your classes instead of stressing yourself out and failing.

    In three sentences

    Central Wyoming College is very organized. By that, I mean it controls class size, time, and productivity. This makes the classes very interactive and one on one, which helps comprehend information in more depth.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No incidents so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot of clubs but the one's that exist are great.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, outdoor education, rodeo students

    Bang for the buck

    It's very cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Climbing wall, Gym, Wednesday night movies, basketball and volleyball games, comedians.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly large workload but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors don't bite.

    In three sentences

    Close-knit staff with great student support. Small campus. Lots of outdoor opportunities.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    INBRE is a great research program I'm involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    It's for small town and rural loving people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure there are any.

    Bang for the buck

    It's affordable and they work with out of state people!

    What to do for fun

    We can go out hiking and see wildlife.

    Food and Dining

    There are not too many options, but breakfast is great!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally I think it's not too bad, but if you don't know how to study it can be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a place that suits you!

    In three sentences

    It's an academic orientated community college. I'm involved with the science department and the professors are great! Also, it's a great school for undergraduate research!

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe as far as I have seen. No violence or disrespect has happened that I have been aware of. They did cancel school one day because of storm and weather conditions.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a basketball, volleyball, rodeo, theatre, and acting programs. As far as the sports, they are pretty average and rodeo seems to do really well. Again there are many Native American/ Indian clubs and opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are into farming, rodeo, theatre, living in small towns then it would be great for these types of students. Also those who are into environmental and outdoor studies, Central offers lots of programs for that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have holiday dances every year that are very small and local. Kinda fun if you don't have anything else to do.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer a lot of scholarships, especially for native Americans and Indians. They provide books for your classes at the school bookstore, but its cheaper to get them online.

    What to do for fun

    As far as having fun, there are 2 little theaters close to town that many students go to on the weekends. And if your looking for something at the school they have a rock wall where you can go climb with your friends. Its pretty much whatever you can come up with. The school also hosts various activities throughout the week like dodgeball, volleyball and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    We have one cafe here and it is pretty great. They offer different specials breakfast, lunch and dinner and they are always using fresh homemade food. It is probably the best place for your buck in the whole town. The chefs are also very nice and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I was very disappointed with my dorm situation. I was promised that the dorms would be redone for the years I was attending, but yet I got stuffed into a dorm that was made from like the 70's. However the dorms that were redone were much nicer, just too bad I never got one. Our RA's were okay, nothing great- they would usually be on top of repairs and emergencies and what not.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academics, it depends on what classes you are taking to determine their challenge rate. Most teachers are very flexible and a lot of the tests and assignments are online, where you can do them at home. They also provide book -buy- backs so you can find some of the books you may need for cheap. All the courses I took were fairly challenging, but not bad if you just read the book and kept up on the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small towns where everybody know everybody then its for you. CWC offers a lot of scholarships for Native Americans and Indians. You have to be careful though because a lot of their credits don't transfer.

    In three sentences

    It has many things to offer as far as school goes. It is mainly focused on outdoor education and rodeo. It is a very small school, and town teachers have time to work with you.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Caf sucks

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, study, don't party

    In three sentences

    Its a good College.