Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Centre College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a small school and good teacher interaction.

    Tips for prospective students

    great atmosphere to continue schooling

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students, who want a challenge, but also want to have a life outside the classroom. And for those preparing for grad school. Centre students tend to be more well prepared for grad school because of the amount of work and activities they are used to balancing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on your writing. You will be writing a lot, in all of your classes. Test scores mean nothing once you get here, it's all in the application and the quality of your work.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school, but you get so many opportunities you wouldn't get anywhere else. Last year, I saw the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, the Russian Ballet, and Chanticleer, all for free, just for being a student! Study abroad is common, even for sophomores. Where else do sophomores get the chance to go abroad? There are so many study abroad choices, and all you have to pay is tuition!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. I love the classes, the people, the town, and the campus. The campus is small enough so that you can never get lost, but big and intricate enough so that if you want to be alone, you can. Danville is small, with not a whole lot of attractions, but nothing beats a midnight Walmart run with friends! ;D

    Am learning a lot

    Centre has fantastic professors who really know their field, and are passionate about teaching it. Classes are difficult, with a lot of work, but fun. The professors like doing different things. I've had professors take us on field trips, hold discussions, watch movies, bring cookies, play Jeopardy, all sorts of things.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like small schools where you know everyone on campus and proffessors take an intrest in your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, it is absolutly beautiful. Sit in on a class so you can see how involved the students are in activly learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Ranked Forbes number 1 college in the south! The best education you can get in a safe small town atmosphere.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Centre, I couldn't imagin going anywhere else. It's like a second home to me and the students, proffessors, and staff help to make it that for me.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are difficult, but it forces you to try your hardest. The proffessors also are very helpful in providing extra help when needed.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    dps is our security organization on campus and they will drive you from building to building for almost any reason at all. they lock and unlock things for students and are great support.

    Greek Life

    greek life is prominent on campus and brings a lot of cool philanthropic opportunities to our school.

    Clubs and Activities

    you will find everything here and if you don't, you can make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone that takes academics seriously will thrive here because this school is about getting the most out of the college experience when it comes to academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is an amazing art warehouse called jvac in which you can make, analyze and study art. this building is an artistic student's dream. we also have a warehouse used for various parties and events with special guests. another place a lot of famous people get to come by is the norton center which houses performances and even this year's presidential debate!

    Bang for the buck

    your tuition dollars go toward a full gym membership at the on campus sports center, your money to use on the campus restaurants as well as printing money. and that is just a few of the great things you get with just your tuition money.

    What to do for fun

    there are nature groups that go on trips every weekend, there are parties at fraternity houses and there is always activities brought to campus by the student activities council.

    Food and Dining

    there are various healthy and enjoyable options for food on campus and close to campus that include a buffet-style dining hall, a grille and a café as well as local coffee shops, pizza shops and more.

    Dorm Life

    first-year dorms are surprisingly comfortable. although they are closely packed they are quite accommodating. the dorms for upperclassmen are all very environment-oriented.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is known for their graduates becoming leaders in their prospective communities. for example, a handful of vice-presidents for the united states have graduated from this institute.

    Tips for prospective students

    come here with an open mind because the campus is broadening their views on various topics of culture and politics and doing so quickly.

    In three sentences

    a culturally-growing campus with many opportunities. the student-teacher relationships are one of a kind here. there are so many clubs and networks to be a part of on and off campus.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The DPS (dept of public safety) officers patrol campus regularly and respond quickly to any calls. Dorms require swipe card access, as well as the academic buildings after dark. The Student Center is open all night if you want to study in a public, well-lit environment.

    Greek Life

    85% of students go Greek. It's a great way to make new friends, observe beautiful traditions, and start your path in leadership and networking.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for every activity you're interested in, and if there isn't? Start one! With more than 400 events a year taking place on campus, how can you choose just one?

    Great for these types of students

    --independent thinkers --people who love learning --people who want to study abroad --people who want to make lifelong friendships with students and professors --people who enjoy personalized education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rope swing in front of Old Centre is a great place to picnic. Run the Flame if you're not afraid of nudity or a citation. Never step on the seal in front of Old Centre or run the risk of not graduating!

    Bang for the buck

    Centre does an amazing job of offering tons of scholarships, financial aid options, and resources to just about any student that applies. The Centre Guarantee says that you'll graduate in 4 years with the chance to study abroad and work at an internship--or the 5th year is free.

    What to do for fun

    Stay on campus for a weekend! There are frat parties, concerts, plays, volunteer groups and movies to participate in. Danville is a moist town with a liquor store (finally!) and restaurants that serve drinks. If you're in the car, head to Lexington or Louisville with a friend to explore the Bluegrass.

    Food and Dining

    Cowan is the ubiquitous dining choice on campus for most meals, but you can always stop by Jazzman's for coffee if you're going to study. There are nice and affordable restaurants around town, as well as your favorite fast-food chains.

    Dorm Life

    Virtually everyone lives on campus, which is a great way to meet people. Some of the upperclassmen dorms are beautiful, with lots of housing options for just you or even a group of friends. Nearly everything around town is accessible by foot or bike if you don't have a car.

    Academic Rigor

    Centre is known as the Harvard of the South for a reason. Profs don't give grades; you earn them. If you love a challenge and mental stimulation, this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and stay overnight with a student! Be prepared to be more than just a number--don't be surprised if President John Roush himself stops you to say hi! Study abroad as many times as you can.

    In three sentences

    Centre is an excellent environment to foster learning! We have caring, intelligent professors; an amazing and socially diverse student body; and a beautiful campus ripe with opportunities to explore Kentucky and the world.

  • 10/31/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Centre can be quite expensive for a family of average income.

    Will enjoy being here

    I visited this campus last year and it was beautiful! The only thing that would make it better if it was slightly larger-attendance wise.

    Will learn a lot

    I've known several people that are at this school or have attended this school and say its an amazing school to get an education at.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe at all during my four years.

    Greek Life

    Awesome. Never met a better group of such intelligent and proactive members of the community in my life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did a lot of work with the Student Activities Council and even served as president my Senior year. This club, along with the staff of the Student Life Office, really provide great activities for its students and the Danville community at large.

    Great for these types of students

    social yet studious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Running the Flame. There is a statue of a flame that represents our school moto, learning, the light of the mind. Most students go streaking around the sculpture frequently.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but when you look at the quality education, people, and campus, i'm surprised it isn't more expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Mainly hang out in the campus center

    Food and Dining

    For college food, it's actually really good. I hardly ever go out to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorms. Mainly the new brockman commons area. Probably better then my first apartment will ever be.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared for a very rigorous curriculum, but you will love every moment of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your pass/fail classes during your junior year, not senior year. Graduate school applications will be in by the end of your junior year, so your senior year GPA won't matter as much. Plus, your junior year will most likely be the hardest one, so a pass/fail class is a great cushion.

    In three sentences

    My time at Centre College has been the most humbling and rewarding experience of my life. It has effectively shaped how I view the world around me and has influenced my future career plans significantly. The faculty and staff will take a unique interest in you as a student, even if you aren't the smartest person in the class. They genuinely want to see you succeed not only during your time at Centre, but also far beyond it.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    athletics is a great opportunity to meet people and become a member of a family!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a building from when centre beat harvard in football, back in the day. the building has c6 h0 painted on the side of it and that moment is still number three in the histories biggest football upsets!

    What to do for fun

    danville is a college town full of fun but campus always has student events that are available to attend.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is located in a brand new building. the choice of food is also very abundant.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are a great size and give the student an excellent view of living on their own.

    Academic Rigor

    it is academically very demanding, but if you are paying for a college education you should expect no less.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a difficult and challenging school, so be prepared to work diligently and try to strive to be the best you can be.

    In three sentences

    an excellent schools with caring professors who push you to your complete work at your fullest potential.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS keeps everyone safe and does a great job.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many things you can do on campus and stay busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small school where you can interact with the teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    The money spent is well worth the education.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, social events, sports games, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty cool. There are actually new dorms on campus now.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard but it id do able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of everything. School will be hard but it is worth it.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school that offers a great education. Being here is a great experience. I will be happy to have completed my undergrad studying here.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While on campus I feel completely safe. Off campus in the surrounding areas not so much after dark. The Department of Public Safety take their job very seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Flame is an important tradition that you have to ask about if you ever visit.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities on campus. However there is little outside of campus that is nearby. A car is necessary for clubbing and going out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. In the dinning hall some days are much better than others. The two cafes have good food and coffee but the selection is limited.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. The rooms are a little small but there are lots of options for living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty difficult especially depending on the professor that teaches it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and go for it. If you think Centre is the right, you will fit in.

    In three sentences

    It is absolutely amazing here. Everyone is super nice and wants to help you achieve your goals. Classes are amazing and there is a good variety.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No matter where you are and what time it is, you will feel safe on this campus. It is a huge family you are living among.

    Greek Life

    This is a big part of Centre. You won't regret getting involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything

    Great for these types of students

    Searchers of enlightenment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well first semester you will pretty much spend your time studying and adapting so the jury is still out on this one.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey but it forces you to think big or go home. I wouldn't change my decision after my first semester. It really is all it is cracked up to be. The four stars instead of five is simply because it is so pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved. There is Greek life, tons of clubs and always something going on around you. The weekends are packed full so don't plan on going home if you are the life of the party.

    Dorm Life

    I can only give this two stars because as a freshman I am bound to the oldest and smallest of dorms. As a junior, you can apply for the new suite housing which is exceptionl.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to use your time wisely and bring your best study habits. Greek life is big here and I encourage everyone to give it a chance. The relationships can be life long.

    In three sentences

    I have found this first semester to be challenging and enlightening. I feel I am receiving the best education in the state. The campus is beautiful and promotes a feeling of belonging to something bigger than myself.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Increadable. The campus is smashed between our own private security team and the Danville police department.

    Greek Life

    It's here and pretty important. I don't care for it too much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Councel, SAC, Arab Club, different singing groups, photography club, the list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one who like to work hard and posesses a curious mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Running the flame is when one streakes from there own resadance dorm to the statue of the flame outside or Crounse and runs back.

    Bang for the buck

    Just about every degree is intensive and at various degrees of hands on. Centre college also has a career services department to help students to get work.

    What to do for fun

    Centre is almost constantly doing things. There are occasionally CC After Dark functions where we will have things like a live band to sing kareoky with or a silent disco. Many consider community service to be fun and there is more than enough of that to go around here.

    Food and Dining

    Cowan is ok and the food in the immedeat area gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    I mostly like to live by myself but Centre has a large solection of on and off campus housing available for uperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Centre is a diffacult place to be academicaly. Every single proffesor that I have had has made themselves always available to students when the need has arisen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Present to the admissions counselors what you think makes you stand out.

    In three sentences

    Centre has the number one study abroad program in the nation. The atmosphere here is one of extreme academic integrity. All of the professors and administrators make it known constantly that there primary goal is to fulfill the Centre promise.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS, or department of public safety, does a good job of making sure students behave, especially during finals time, and also of reaching out to us if there is a potential threat near campus. In a town like Danville, the safety has not really ever been that much of an issue so that's another benefit of Centre.

    Greek Life

    6 different fraternity's on campus, and 4 different sororities, and while more than half of campus participates in Greek life Centre does a good job of not making it seem mandatory by any means.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are probably 30 different clubs and organizations on campus, and through SGA, it is easy to propose an idea for a club and get it potentially approved.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, hardworking, Open-minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal!! The seal is located in front of one of Centre's oldest historic buildings and if you walk across it, there's a saying that you may not graduate; or if you kiss your loved one over the seal, then you two will probably get married.

    Bang for the buck

    Centre is always ranked very highly when it comes to affordability and I know from personal experience in discussing with the President of the college that he tries his very best in every circumstance to get the kids that want to be here, here.

    What to do for fun

    Social life at Centre is very fun - fraternity houses open. Within Danville, there are great restaurants, a bowling alley, and multiple options as far as community service goes.

    Food and Dining

    Centre has one primary dining facility - which also adds to the community feel of the campus, and a couple other eating options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Centre has an ample amount of dorm options, and with 97% of students living on campus, the community feel that Centre provides is really something special.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to work hard to get the grades you may have been used to getting in high school, but it pays off; the teacher's challenge you and it's very rewarding in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    The faculty has office hours for a reason, so go to them; they really do want to help you and see you succeed. Get involved with student or campus run organizations; great way to meet people, but be careful not to overcommit yourself because your schoolwork will take up a big chunk of your time. Don't let your GPA bother you, especially after your first year. Always try your best, but know that you're at a place where everyone around you was also in the top of their classes from their high school's, just like you.

    In three sentences

    Centre College is the perfect place to be if you're looking for a small community feel with a vibrant social life. The multitude of study abroad options are just one of the many great assets that this college has to offer. Not to mention, the relationships that the student easily builds with their teachers is something that will last a lifetime, and make a positive difference in the student's future.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are weekend activities every week. There is never a lack of parties!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty bad, however the other options on campus such as the Everyday Cafe and The Grill are really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are a few very nice dorms on campus and some not so great ones (Old Quad).

    Academic Rigor

    Centre prides itself on its level of academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the activity expo and sign up for everything that sounds interesting. Signing up is not a commitment and you can meet a lot of people that way.

    In three sentences

    Centre College is a tight-knit community. It is rigorous in academics. The students are offered many opportunities to expand their cultural understanding.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Frat houses on the weekend, Lexington is closer than it seems.

    Food and Dining

    Decent, gets slightly boring and repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are fairly nice, the old quad (freshmen boys dorms) is considered the worst, but still not very bad. However, upperclassmen dorms are amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to spend a lot of time on studying and consider your social time to be studying with your friends around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit overnight! It really is the only way to tell how much you are going to like the college.

    In three sentences

    A super friendly campus where everyone just wants the best for you. Its a lot of academic work, but totally worth it. Everyone wants to be here and that makes life so much better.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security, DPS, are very nice and work namely to ensure the safety of the students and campus. While they can nearly always be negotiated with, they are not above citing underage drinkers, unauthorized parties, and even the legendary nude runners. As for crime, I don't even lock my door. Let's face it: Centre kids tend to be from pretty well-off families and aren't very inclined to steal. This is not to say that it doesn't happen or that you should not take precautionary measures, but it is unlikely to happen. Though we recently endured a campus-wide lock-down for the nearby pawn shop shooting, the event was clearly isolated and did not endanger the lives of students. Regardless, it must be mentioned that the lock-down was initiated haphazardly and sloppily, with many students still walking around outside unaware of what had happened, and many students having to crowd into their professors' offices until the lock-down was lifted.

    Greek Life

    About 40% of Centre students are apart of Greek life. I personally am not and do not plan to be, but those who are seem very pleased to have a strong support group behind them in all their endeavors. Those of different fraternities and sororities tend to eat and go out together.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for nearly everything, and if not, it's easy to form it yourself. There's no pressure for a busy college student to make it to every meeting or participate in every event, but when you do show up, the club leaders are sure to welcome you and appreciate your participation in a common goal or hobby.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious- Though I am agnostic and prefer to be separated from religion especially in school, I would estimate that the majority of students and staff are religiously-oriented. Our president even prayed in the opening convocation. Small-town- Danville is no NYC, and if you think you can be comfortable in a city where the main entertainment is the local Walmart, go for it. Pre-Professional- Like me! Almost all students (90+%) who graduate from Centre get into their desired professional school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Running the flame On campus, we have a sculpture called Flame, which almost everyone celebrates by running around it naked. I know people who have done it 40+ times. It's actually quite amusing, and usually goes unpunished. Cowan sitting Our cafeteria is called Cowan, and when the procrastinating mood hits, what better way to pass the time and get unlimited free food than to sit there and people watch? The Olin Hall Pendulum Truth is, Miley got her wrecking ball idea from the tradition of Centre students riding the pendulum naked. Well that isn't true, but we like to take credit for the idea. Convocations These academic events super boost your GPA--as long as you attend 12 a year! They're always interesting, such as scientific discovery discussions, lectures, orchestras, and plays.

    Bang for the buck

    Though it's a wonderful educational opportunity, I consider it quite overpriced. I come from a middle class family and feel like I am always drowning in debt thinking of paying for this and law school. Scholarships only get you so far.

    What to do for fun

    If you're into party life, every weekend and even on Wednesday nights, there are parties on nearby 5th street, at hillside, or in fraternities. If you aren't, well, the campus is gorgeous to take walks around. Downtown has historical charm and many quaint little shops and some very nice restaurants (Mermaids is probably my favorite thus far). If none of that sounds fun, the Student Activities Council always hosts events such as game night, nacho night, et cetera, to help students forget about their stress and entertain themselves.

    Food and Dining

    In the words of my Hum 110 professor, The food's good. It could be better. I, for one, would like to see that the kitchen buys even more locally-grown produce.

    Dorm Life

    While Freshman dorms are not 5-star hotels, they are decent. The RAs take care of you and the halls are kept clean, bathrooms never overcrowded, and generally well-maintained. However, the upper-classmen residence halls and suites are newer and much nicer. Seniority allows the best chance of obtaining a spot in one of the nicer residences.

    Academic Rigor

    While nearly no one even reaches sophomore year still carrying around a 4.0 GPA, the classes are definitely manageable as long as one manages time with great accuracy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work your butt off in AP classes and earn course credits beforehand. They really help, and could save you a ton of money (attending Centre College is definitely not cheap). Also, upon attendance, DO NOT overextend yourself. DO NOT sign up for 10 clubs thinking you can balance it with your school work, Your main objective is to learn, not fight world hunger, save the narwhals, and create world peace. Keep your goals real and never underestimate or overestimate your abilities.

    In three sentences

    The campus is breathtakingly-gorgeous and small enough to walk to all classes in less than 5 minutes. The professors are all highly-qualified and can help you in whatever field you wish to pursue, but firstly aid in broadening your mind and critical thinking skills. Though the city is remote and not particularly exciting, Centre tends to have more than enough to entertain, and the party life is commendable.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Flame. We have a statue near the library of a flame and it's a tradition to get naked and run around it. We call it running the flame

    What to do for fun

    Go to frat parties, hang out with your friends, join clubs. Danville is a small town but I have never once been bored at Centre because everyone is so involved in sports, clubs, sororities, or other organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Cowan is amazing because we never have to worry about preparing food, but it does get old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life at Centre, because everyone lives on campus. This way, everyone is close at all times!

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough, but honestly not as tough as I thought. I came from a public school in a small town so I thought I was going to be fed to the dogs being in class with kids from big city private schools, but that wasn't the case. You have to do your work, but it's definitely manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am extremely biased because I love Centre so much, so my only advice would be to come to Centre!

    In three sentences

    Centre College is the greatest place on the planet. They foster a love for learning here and you'll meet your best friends as well. The professors are truly life-changing.