Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cerritos College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cerritos is great for students who have full-time or part-time jobs, who are tight on money, and who just dont know what they want to do for their future, or where they want to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would come check out the campus to see if it is right for you. Its cheap, great for the LA area, and the professors are nice and are always there for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to Universities Cerritos is the cheapest you can get. $26 a unit and the books are cheap too. Professors try to get the cheapest books for the students because they too know how the economy effects us. Cerritos also has programs like EOPS and Financial Aid which can help with books and tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cerritos has a really nice campus. Most classrooms are up to date and the campus is not that big so the buildings are close to each other. Parking is sometimes a hassle but only for the first 2 weeks. There are many different activities the student government holds for us like they bring an in-n-out truck and every student gets a free meal and they have lots of job fairs. The sport teams are really good and competitive and going to the games are fun. They also have 2 computer labs that are open to all students that are perfect for between classes when you have nothing to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Cerritos is a great place to start off if you dont really know where you want to go or what you want to do for your future. The professors are nice and help you as much as they can, they want you to learn and will not make you feel dumb. They treat you as a University student which is a plus. Good Luck =] I've had a lot of fun here.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cerritos is great for all students who are interested in taking a few classes, getting their AA degree, or receiving a certification. If you're looking for a school to complete your general education requirements I highly recommend Cerritos. It has the highest number of transfer students which means more people can transfer out and pursue their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all the students who are planning to attend Cerritos I highly recommend that you register as soon as possible. When it comes to enrollment choose your classes wisely and pick the classes you want to take ahead of time so that when it comes time to enroll it can be done fast and easy.

    Bang for the buck

    Unlike most Universities, Cerritos is a great start for first time college students. It's an affordable college that offers the same material and classes at most Universities. Why pay more for knowledge when you can get it cheaper? The only thing that is quite expensive would have to be the books. But of course you can find cheap books all over the place. There are great books across the street from Cerritos Campus who sell books at a reasonable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy Cerritos College a lot. It's close by and it's not hard to get there at all. The only thing that is a hassle is the parking. I always arrive to school ahead of time just so I can get a good parking spot and arrive to my class on time. The only classes are amazing! I can stay in my pajamas all day and do Homework.

    Am learning a lot

    Cerritos College offers a wide range of classes. I've been taking my General Education classes and I'm learning a lot of interesting things. The Professors here that I have encountered with are extremely helpful.

  • 09/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who want to learn. and are and want a chance to be involved, here at Cerritos they find ways for you to stayed involved and give you a numerous ways to be involved

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your Professors and email them if you have questions. Even if yo think it is a dumb question email if you are to embarrassed to ask in class, the dumb question is the one not asked.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are trying to go the cheaper way for school then Cerritos should be your choice because it is only $26 dollars a unit. At the CSU and UC levels i don't know yet but they are a lot more expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am here four days out of the week and I wish I could be here more. Here at Cerritos everyone is very friendly and there a number of ways that you can stay on track and there are always activities happening on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Every teacher has their specific style but yet they are similar in lots of ways. Here at Cerritos all the teachers want you to be involved in class and there a tremendous amounts of extra credit they make available to you.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cerritos College is great for students who are really trying to save some money, while getting all of your general education stuff out of the way. I would suggest that more extrovert people to go here, because having a social life at this college is going to require that extra effort. However, very worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for any students who are thinking about taking the CC route, is I would say go for it! You will save a ton of cash, plus if you apply yourselves you can easily have a great experience. Join clubs, take part in the ball and float design, etc. GET INVOLVED. I know everyone stresses that, but at a commuting college, if you want the college experience you really do have to try your best to get involved. Join the student government body, do something. If you do this, you will really enjoy your time at Cerritos College.

    Bang for the buck

    Cerritos is extremely affordable and the quality of classes and amount of credits you can obtain is SO worth it. You can get your entire general education out of the way for about ~4 grand (4 semesters, books included) roughly. That's a good deal right there.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy my time at Cerritos College currently, however I really can't wait to transfer just because CC is such a big commuter school. What I'm excited about is dorming and meeting friends that will last a lifetime, and although that is possible at a commuter college, it's that much harder.

    Am learning a lot

    Cerritos College is actually a very good community college in terms of faculty and class quality. Every class I've taken so far, I have learned a lot in. Almost all of the professors act like they care, and if you ask for extra help most teachers will help you.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police will escort you to you car if needed! PRETTY SWEET! :)

    Clubs and Activities

    JOIN JOIN JOIN JOIN a club!!! There are so many different clubs there to choose from its unbelievable and also you will meet a lot people with the same interests as you!

    What to do for fun

    Cerritos is close by freeway so its easy to jump on it and go to beach after class or anywhere you'd like.

    Food and Dining

    On campus they have a variety of food to choose from and with reasonable prices!!

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms on campus, but there are apartments around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Cerritos is still a community college, and doesn't have the big UCLA name attached to it but, all the transfer courses and undergraduate courses are excellent at giving you a challenge to get used to, before transferring to a four-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    ASK ASK ASK questions to clear the air of all these rumors you hear from your peers! Staff at a cerritos college are friendly and nice, don't be shy to ask for help around the school as a freshmen. Make friends with older students to get most of the 411 on campus and to get the DO's and Don'ts! Regularly see a counselor to make sure you're on track with your educational plan!

    In three sentences

    Most helpful and successful at helping you succeed in your studies! There are still a lot of programs and transfer courses to choose from with all these budget cuts! Classrooms are up to date with the latest technology.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are everywhere you go even in the parking lots. They make sure the students are safe and reassures us that nothing is going to happen to us what so ever

    Greek Life

    I don't have a greek life at cerritos which i highly need to look into myself

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs that you can join to keep you busy while you are bored with your life.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for student with different types of backgrounds doesn't matter where you are from. only thing that matters is that you are there to gain a degree and move on with your life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not to my knowledge that i can think of

    Bang for the buck

    All i can say is that it is easier than going to universities thats for sure.

    What to do for fun

    You can always go and watch the games that they have. Either its a football game, track n field or something there is always things to watch and do at the school. Like take some dancing classes or boxing for a stress reliever.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is great. its not quite like a resturant but it is affordable for students going through hard times in this economy. It's not too expensive and its not too cheap that's why i like eating there most of the time

    Dorm Life

    What dorm?? its a community college not a university. Wish they had dorm rooms though so it would bemuch easier for people to get to know one another and their personalities

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is great. The school gives you financial aid to go to school and pass your classes while enjoying being a college student at the same time. Classes are good; plenty of fun teachers and the environment is good as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for school because its not like high school where you think you can slack off andpass just like that. Take college seriously; it determines your future and use your financial aid wisely. make sure you apply to classes that you know that you need.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos college is a great way for student to get the fill of college and ready for universities. They have a varity of people willing to help and accomdated you with things that you may need and require. Campus is big easy to get lost but also to find your classes.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are on low budgets, or for those that don't know what kind of future is right for them.

    Bang for the buck

    With a financial aid office, a low cost per unit, and very good courses to pick from, it is a very great school to start with.

    Am enjoying being here

    Large campus, not very crowded, and there are many different courses to choose from. Also, there are many clubs, activities and such, that its pretty hard to not get involved.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very smart, and the college has a writing center with which to help you with essays, a math center for help with math, and various tutors that help a lot. There are also a few work experience courses to help, and overall, is a great school.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip is review your Professor before choosing the class, www.ratemyprofessor.com, that way you will know what kind of class you are getting into. That helped me to get teachers and classes I enjoy.

    Did enjoy being here

    The environment at Cerritos College is a freindly one. everyone is concentrated on what they are there for, no one fools around. My two years of being there never did I see one problem.

    Did learn a lot

    Cerritos College has an outsatnding Staff. The Proffesors are great, always helpful and leading you in the right direction. There's plenty of tutoring available for students who struggle in whatever subject.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I say Cerritos College is for students who want to prosper and study hard. This is not an easy college and studying is required. i personally did not have any problem with this because I know that once I transfer, UC coursework will be similar to what I am already used to; making this transition a whole lot easier. If you want to go to Cerritos College just because you think it is easy because it is a junior college, you are wrong. This college is an extreme preparation towards great learning and thinking. I highly recommend this college to dedicated students who want a great and fast education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I have for any prospective student is to always try hard and use office hours (time of extra help offered by an instructor). This college always encourages good studying tips and I suggest one follows them beacuse believe it or not, they DO WORK. Makes sure you make an appointment with a counselors or do a walk-in just so you know that the classes you will be taking apply to your major and you don't waste any time.

    Bang for the buck

    Grea education at a UC level for a fraction of the price!! The 26 dollars per unit paid is nothing when one sees the amount of learning being done here. Books can be expensive but through the Internet many great deals can be acquired so this should not be a problem. I think this College is just great.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is great! It is clean, big, friendly and elegant all at the same time. Walking through this campus lets you relax and the diversity of people who attend is a plus. You meet so many different individuals in this school that being friendless is a bit difficult. Great learning atmosphere! Also, the administration provides the students with free In n Out Burgers every so often and live DJ music . I love Cerritos College and I tell everyone i can to go there.

    Am learning a lot

    Definitely the best choice I have made after high school. The quality of the professors in this college is amazing, they really know their material. I have taken a total of 70 units in this college so far and I can assure everyone I have learned a great deal and that it has prepared me in my future education in CSULB. I have not had an instructor which I disliked in the two years I have attended.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus have security and sheriffs located at the back of the college. They have their daily routine. They patrol and walk around the campus making sure each student is well protected.

    Greek Life

    We have mythology classes here so if you wanted to know and learn about Greek life you can get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cerritos College have Drama club ,chest, swim, acting and so forth.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about going to school and have many interest,then this school is for you. Now if you want a specific course only then you can look into different programs here and if you don't find what your looking for then this school isn't for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a new student who has never been to this school other then this semester so, I have no ideas about the traditions just yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Cerritos College has many scholarships you can apply for if helpis needed. Our financial office staff do there best to make sure your semester runs smooth. We also have student loans, personal loans or you can also do a FaFsa on line. They also have BOG fee waivers. These waiver waive your tuition. This is so you won't have as much to pay. Now it depends on how many units you have. If you have 1-5 units you might only pay a little less but if you have 9 and up, you might not have to pay at all.

    What to do for fun

    Cerritos College have different programs you can inter that are fun. They have games you are allowed to attend. It is important to become involve so they also have different clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there are food stations. We have Taco Bell, Pizza, Suzi and so forth. The students have a cafeteria where they can sit and eat. The tables are big, that way your able to do home work as well.

    Dorm Life

    Cerritos College is a junior college so there is no dorms. You don't live on campus, so you will have to pace yourself on how to make it to classes in time.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are what I would call hardcore. I call the course hardcore because each course is hard, but gives you exactly what you need. Under each course in the catalog, shows you if they are transferable or not. They have classes you can take to earn your way into a four year college. The teachers allow you to study, show you how to study, then quiz you to see what was learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    when you come to Cerritos get connected. Find and surround yourself with students who want to learn. Utilize your teacher to your advantage. Make sure you take the techniques you're taught and reserve them. Here at Cerritos College, the professors and campus staff do what is needed to get you through each semester. So don't be afraid to ask for help. last but not least get tutoring if needed

    In three sentences

    I started going here Aug.20th, this school is one of the top highest schools. I rate this school top 10 on a scale 1-10 because the teachers are well rounded and help in anyway possible. I find it really fascinating, how the staff work together to help the student.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, great environment and school.

    Am learning a lot

    Great teachers that you notice that enjoy what they are doing.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look into school you aspire to transfer to so that you have a clear goal and direction for your studies. The opportunities are limitless.

    Bang for the buck

    With this economy it is not the schools fault that the price for classes has gone up, but the raise in prices have hurt in the amount of courses I could take at a time.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed my time here. It has been a great transitional step in my life, helping me take my time easing into the real world. I had the opportunity to go to a huge four year campus but this helped me figure out for sure what I wanted to do instead of settling on a major and paying a lot of money for it.

    Am learning a lot

    My experience at this school has been a life changing one. All of my professors have had some sort of positive impact on the path I have decided to take.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this campus is very safe. there are students patrolling the campus at every hour and never has there been an issue in my years of attending this school. it is safe and a police station is located in our back parking lot of the campus. safety is taken seriously but has not been an issue.

    Greek Life

    none available

    Clubs and Activities

    active minds amnesty international club anthropology club artists' society aset astronomy club atheists club auto body club black student union board of accountancy business club/phi beta lambda c.c.m club child development club (cdc) christian club cosmetology club court reporting club dental hygiene club economics club eops club geology club design club health promotion club ifalcon club international student association (isa) kabarkada club library club literature club math club model un music club philosophy club project health psychology club/psi beta rotaract environmental club scholars' honors club stocks student veterans club talon marks press club triathlon club the women's studies club

    Great for these types of students

    any student wishing to pursue higher education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cafeteria is a place where many students go to chat or socialize while they have their breaks in between class schedules. the library is also a place where most students go to study during the afternoon, which is always the time of the day when it's mostly packed.

    Bang for the buck

    this college is safe,calm, respected and most importantly a school with a respected and well equipped faculty, with hardworking, and determined students. the campus is big compared to other local community colleges. this school is also known as a great school for students interested in automobile careers due to its exceptionally respected and outstanding program it offers to students.

    What to do for fun

    the campus contains a student activity room in which you can play games such as pool and arcade games, an abundance of diverse clubs to join, theatre performances, sports to join, a computer lab, and a wonderful library to study or read.

    Food and Dining

    cerritos offers a cafeteria providing commercial fast food and private owned food restaurants to choose from. the is also a snack shop called the elbow room and in our bookstore you can find another snack shop located inside.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms avialable.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses here at cerritos are easy to maintain a c or better of course as long as you the student put the effort and take advantage of the various tutoring sessions when needed. professors are willing to help you in every step throughout the semester, providing office hourse for the student to visit, an email to contact them, tutoring recommendations and of course help in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in whatever sparks your interest. cerritos offers many clubs and activities to join to broaden your educational and personal learning experience. try your best in every course and your effort will reflect in your grades.

    In three sentences

    cerritos is a great community college that offers students quality education and a lifelong learning experience. professors and staff are more than dedicated to help students achieve their academic goals. cerritos contains a diversity of students and staff which makes your college experience interesting and a lot like our more than ever diverse world and culture. it is a great school.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Could be a lot better, people always get their cars stolen.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Puente! I am the president and I love the club dearly. There are a lot of clubs on campus that fits everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We celebrate every holiday and have a Hoe Down Day every year!

    Bang for the buck

    $46 per unit

    Food and Dining

    Could be a lot better, there are not a lot of healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but if you go everyday and ask questions you will learn a lot and pass the class.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have improved

    Clubs and Activities

    library club, wilderness club!! both great and active clubs with wonderful people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a great child development center where students can enroll their child. they have a friendly staff and wonderful and creative curriculum.

    What to do for fun

    check out the cerritos public library, local mall, join clubs they have fun activities during the week and some even have weekend get-a-ways.

    Food and Dining

    the only quality food is from the culinary arts students

    Tips for prospective students

    ~use school resources: math and writing lab, workshops, programs- teaching program, nursing program, automotive program ~don't be afraid to ask questions to your professor. and if you are afraid go to their office hours ~get involved in a club, any club or volunteer in the library. ~connect with classmates (i.e.) study groups, sell textbooks to them or buy textbooks from or let each other borrow textbooks you might not be using :)

    In three sentences

    the campus is easily accessible from the freeway and the size and distance of the campus isn't too big. i have had some friendly and decent professors they have a wonderful teaching program!!

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students working during the day can easily take night classes that would fit your schedule.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be tough at times, but you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do the work, and time management is a tool you will use throughout your experience.

    In three sentences

    I have received an A.A. Degree in Paralegal Studies. I am back to continue my education for transfer from this college because it is exceptional. The instructors and campus staff are helpful, knowledgeable and love their jobs.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Read the reviews on the teachers and talk to them.

    In three sentences

    All of the teachers I've had are great. They are all overqualified and also teach at Cal States. Very helpful.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be motivated in transferring/

    In three sentences

    Cerritos college does not have a lot to offer. Most of the classes offered are not transferable. Class is often canceled.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the beginning of the year, the In-N-Out truck come to our campus and gives out free In-N-Out burger. Make sure you get your semester sticker first!

    What to do for fun

    One of the things I do for fun is find the friends who are not in class yet, and go near the performing arts building. There is a hill there, and they play music on the radio you can listen to. It is a calming place to hang out with your friends and just chat. Another place to go is the arcade room, people love their arcade games.

    Food and Dining

    The food court in this college is not the best, but not the worst. The food place consists of Taco Bell, a pizza place, a Chicago harvs, and a Tokyo fast food restaurant. Their California roll and boba drinks are pretty edible.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life in cerritos college.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the main problems in this college, or any college is getting the classes you need. There is fierce competition in achieving that goal. However, the college professor there are there to help you and and the best teacher I have met so far. Many of them are willing to work with you and help you succeed, and I am happy with all the professors I had the chance to meet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to wait for a computer, college students like to spend excessive time on the computers.Treat the professors with respect. They are to teach you because you chose to take that class with that professor. Lastly, think twice before you drop or add a class. Students need to take classes, and if people keep dropping the hard classes the moment when other students cannot join, the school will not have much progress on graduating college students.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos community college is a college where students can get education at an affordable price. The place is nor dull or excellent. Their resources are helpful and help students with any problem they are facing.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is OKAY. Cerritos College has campus security however, they can't help incoming strangers because the school is not enclosed by a gate and seems open to public which can be scary for some. do

    Greek Life

    They don't have a formal sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm only at Cerritos College as a transfer, but from what I seen, there is a variety of clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Cerritos College is good for students who want to explore their career options and also good for students who live nearby and wants to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many students do tend to hang out at the Cerritos College library for their break or what not and it can get pretty noisy.

    Bang for the buck

    To detail it a bit more, Cerritos College campus offers a bachelors program right by automotive area. Northwood University is only a few years old and it saves students money and the time to transfer. Love it.

    What to do for fun

    You can socialize with other students, go out for lunch, go join a club. Cerritos College had a variety of school organizations and sports so there is many things students can do. Learning is fun :)

    Food and Dining

    There are many fast foods on campus and in the surrounding vicinity including a convenience store and a drug store across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in cerritos college, but many houses and apartments to reside in :)

    Academic Rigor

    Classes don't seem that difficult, but depending your schedule, many students go to school Monday-Thursday and that can be tiresome.

    Tips for prospective students

    -If you enjoy being around other people who are more a mature audience, take night classes for Cerritos College. - Always try to network with some students and teachers.

    In three sentences

    There is a lot of variety in Cerritos College. There are teachers who are quite helpful and care for your future. Great school for transfer students and high school students who want to save money.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is good, but can be improved a little. I wished they had poles around campus where you can press a button for an emergency. But campus police is good at keeping the college safe. They also go around in carts or on bikes to ensure the safety of the students efficiently.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Cerritos College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many types of clubs at school: Cosmetology Club Business Club/Phi Beta Lambda Dental hygiene Club Anthropology Club Economics Club Astronomy Club Eops Club Active Minds Club ifalcon Club Christian Club International Student Association Library Club Scholars' Honors Club Pphilosphy Club Mmusic Club Literature Club Psychology Club/Psi Beta Child Development Club Math Club

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the kinds of students that love to learn and for the students who like 15 to 18 week long semesters. This is good for students who have family commitments and who work because there are different kinds of instruction: online, morning , day and night classes. For math classes, they can take a semi-independent class where they can learn math at home and take tests at school. For age, this school is friendly for all ages of people. There are community classes here during the summer and winter where children or the elderly can take.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a location called the child development center where students who have children can take them there while they are in class. Not many people know this but, there is a university on campus called Northwood University where you can go in there and sit down.

    Bang for the buck

    I really think that this school is worth your money. They have so many activities here for students to do and the professors here are extremely helpful and understanding. Now it is $46 per unit, but still this is a good price for what you will learn and experience. There are also programs for both nursing and automotive so I really think it is worth the money you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is a student activity center where they have a game room. There is a pool table and arcade games you can play with your friends. It is good for students to hang out there while they are on break. Also, most of the time there are activities to do during school. For example, our school had a a little fair where a man was sitting down in a big glass tank where you could hit the ball on the target to dunk him. Also there were little carnival games to play and to win stuffed animals. It was really fun and a lot of students enjoyed themselves. There is a mall not far from the college where you can go shopping and eat out with your friends in a sit down restaurant. Cerritos College is near a freeway so you can go to the beach. For students who do not have a car, it is fun to ride your bike on the riverbank on a hot day. The San Gabriel River Trail is close by so it's easy access for students. Usually there are cool breezes on the riverbanks and you can see other people riding their horses on the side. Sometimes there are DJs that come to the school and during the weekends, they have professional musicians that come to the performing arts center In addition, there are plays at the drama theatre which is nice to watch :) !

    Food and Dining

    There are not many as healthy choices, but there are many resturants near Cerritos College. If you drive, it takes about 3 to 5 minutes to go to Wienerschnitzel. There is a great coffee place on campus and they have a food court. They have Taco Bell and Frantones and a Japanese place where they sell boba and california rolls. And across the street there is KFC and a 7Eleven. Also, you can buy snacks on campus at the bookstore and and the elbow room. And there are some Mexican resturants down the street. They also have a place to buy burgers at A&W and have root beer. If you drive ten minutes, you can get to the mall where you can drink alcohol at BJ's which is a brewhouse and resturant. You can also eat California Pizza Kitchen if you don't like Frantone's Pizza. And if you don't have a car, there are many buses around the area you can take to go to the mall.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms here, but there are apartments next to Cerritos College, but I don't know about the life there because I live at my my house.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are challenging. The professors love to challenge the students because they want students here to succeed. These classes have an excellent academic rigor which helps students with their critical thinking skills. Many professors here want to challenge their students so they will be prepared to transfer to a university. Also, this school has an excellent academic rigor in their academic programs they provide. For example, Cerritos College has an automotive program that works with Ford to provide the students the most learning experience that they can. They provide students an intereactive software where they learn how a motor vehicle functions. In addition, Cerritos College partnered up with Northwood University so that students can also get their Bachelor's degree here as well. They offer challenging business courses over ten weeks for students who want to major in Business Management and other business majors. This is a great school for learning different things which keep your brain working at full speed.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students with disabilities, make sure you do your paperwork. If you wait too long, it will take a while to get an appointment for someone to look over it. You should familiarize yourself with the disability office. Another thing I want to say is that make sure you go see the campus before actually attending here. Some people prefer a different type of environment. This is a great school for people who have jobs and family commitments because this school has weekend, morning, day, night , online, and semi-independent classes. It fits every one's needs. But if you like a shorter semester, I would suggest you look into a different school. But you get used to the 18 week semester long classes.

    In three sentences

    I would give a B+ to Cerritos College because the professors are extremely helpful and they help students to succeed. The process of applying to financial aid is extremely easy and the people who work there are knowledgeable. However, it got a B+ instead of an A because finding parking is difficult for the first few weeks of school.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good decent markets.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well I don't know much since i only been there for a week.

    In three sentences

    It is well organized for students even though it's impacted. The classrooms are great, and the campus is nice. Everyone seems friendly, I feel safe and blessed to go to a community college like Cerritos.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe in campus, in the library and all around. Their has not been any type of dangerous situations in school or evacuations in the time i've been there. You can see bike cops around cops which adds to the comfort level.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafeteria which has taco bell, pizza, sushi. The student stores in campus has small snacks and sandwiches. Across the street you can find KFC,CVS for snacks and gas stations.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply ;

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are incredible, the ones I've had makes me feel that I am at a Ivy League their material and the way they present it is very informative. The material they present is very refreshing and makes you want to learn more about that specific class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go ahead of time to school if you need help with financial aid or need to see a counselor. Cerritos has a website which is very user friendly and you can create your account once you have a student ID and pay fees and add classes.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos college is very clean and safe environment, school atmosphere is very inspiring. The counselors are very helpful and knowledgeable, the staff is also very helpful. The best part for me is the professors they are incredible and go above an beyond.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs available. For example they have a debate team, and of course a chess club, they also have a child developemet club, plus many more that I can't even begin to name.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers fairs, and dances, and of course all the sports and events that go along with them.

    Food and Dining

    The campus offers a variety of foods from Hamburgers, to Pizzas, to Japanese, to Italian, and Mexican. There is something that will please even the pickiest eater.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know there are no dorms as this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigors of the classes depends on what courses you are studying. Some Courses require 60 units for an Associates Degree; others only 49 units.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go on line and view the catalog early and put your selections in your wish box; then when it is time for you to register all you have to do is click on your wish list and all the information pops up and it immediately tells if that class is still available.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one through ten; I would give Cerritos College a nine. the instructors more often than not go above and beyond the simple duties, they use many forms of education, and want to see a person succeed. The only down side to the campus right now, is that it is going through major renovations that can be quite noisy.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe; there is always security on campus they even give you directions when your lost on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    for all students that desire to complete an AA Degree or complete their general education requirements. Also for anyone who wants to just expand their knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    Cerritos is affordable and gives students the help they need no matter your background.

    What to do for fun

    For fun anyone can head out to the beach, the mall, enjoy the environment, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very healthy and delicious. For me the food was very irresistible.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm but I have heard that the dorms are very comfortable. They are very spacious and perfect for anyones lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    It is perfect for anyone who wants to succeed in life. Also if anyone has problems with a subject the staff members are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this college to anyone who wants to achieve and succeed.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College has a very educational and relaxing environment.The staff is very amicable as well as the community.This is the perfect environment so that i may endure to succeed.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price per unit went up from $36 to $46 but still convenient, more so when you get financial aid from the school.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out around the quad or with friends

    Food and Dining

    Could have more dining places.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have older friends who go to Cerritos, take their advice on which professor you should try to take a class with.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is very spacious & always kept clean. Although construction is going on, it is a safe environment. The professors and staff are always willing to help & won't let you down.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs at Cerritos College. The most popular club with students seems to be BSU (Black Student Union)

    Great for these types of students

    Cerritos College is great for students who come with a strong ambition to learn.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of on campus clubs offering many different experiences.

    Food and Dining

    Cerritos College has a very spacious cafeteria serving a large variety of foods. They also have various vending machines throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but Cerritos College does offer off campus housing for housing as low as $300

    Academic Rigor

    Cerritos is a very involved school with high academic expectations, that holds a medium graduation rate of 40%.

    Tips for prospective students

    The starting student should always remember to manage his/her time wisely and participate in as many extra curricular activities as possible to make there experience at Cerritos College worth wile.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos is a very diversely supportive college that helps its students to the best of its ability, offering its students hourly tutoring and supportive transfers to various Universities of there choice.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    theres a few. but im not part of it, so i dont know much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them! some are hard to find, but if you want to join a club or even make one up, theres always ways to do it!

    Bang for the buck

    yes! If you really want to learn, then definitly. Teachers are always around and you can learn a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Theres alot of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There is a few spots on campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Theres no dorms available. But there is postings for students to share apartments and cost of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into classes early. They fill up quick! Make sure that the classes you choose actually fit your schedule, if not, another student couldve had your spot, and now noone gets to learn.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers! I have only taken a few classes which are only online, but the teachers are happy and willing to meet with students for any questions. They always return emails within 24 hours.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club, or s sport

    Food and Dining

    food is not soo great

    Dorm Life

    no dorm available

    Academic Rigor

    Really good professors that truly care for your learning

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor to get on the right track to get the right course

    In three sentences

    Cerritos Community College is a junior college with excellent professors, providing a great learning experience for students. The college is growing with new class rooms and building making it better to accommodate the student learning.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in school, study hard and get the good grades. Choose your major as soon as possible and join the Honors Program to get priority registration and it helps transferring to four year universities!

    In three sentences

    Great Professor, especially in the Liberal Arts and Social Science department. Great Counselors especially in the Transfer counselors. Great Programs, especially the Honors Program.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    DO NOT buy the snacks, pencils, answer sheets from the small store near the Liberal Arts building. It is less expensive at the campus bookstore.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you study for the assessment test, or else you will be finding yourself taking the same classes as you did in high school.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. It is not a very rich community college, but inspite of that, it is a great place to recieve your degree. So far I have had amazinf professors.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Cerritos Mall is extremely close with shopping, movies and eating out.

    Food and Dining

    Unless you want KFC all day every day, chances are you wont be eating around there.

    Dorm Life

    There is practically none.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want A's and B's the academic rigor is what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and sign up for your classes when instructed to do so.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is an institution that is all around solid. Their Accounting Department is very strong with instructors who know their trade. School has been under construction for some time, so visually the school is not as attractive.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theirs a lot of activities on campus. For example, free in-n-out, football games, theater, game room, meeting new people, etc

    In three sentences

    So far I been attending cerritos for 2 years and so far am loving it. I would recommend my friends to attend cerritos because its a friendly environment one can be at. School staff members or teachers are always there to help, so don't be afraid to ask.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard any incidents while i've been there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of tutoring clubs, sports classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody really, it can help you focus and find your path.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In & Out Truck comes by every semester to give away burgers.

    Bang for the buck

    At Cerritos College you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding areas.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply. This school does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at this school varies per teacher and class level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students need to get involved in the variety of activities that the college offers. Research each teacher and course before you enroll. Plan each class ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a great institution that allowed me to pursue my dream. Cerritos College goes out of their ways to help with each person's careers. The faculty and staff at Cerritos College are always very helpful.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student center and the computer lab is where I'm at if I'm not in class.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and other food options such as taco bell, sushi, and italian.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what courses you take and what teacher you get, just like any other school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always stay on top of your work. Getting a map of the school and knowing exactly where your classes are on the first day helps.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a 2-year college with high transfer rates. The atmosphere is enjoyable, the student center is very roomy and open. Cerritos also has a great computer lab and library for whatever your needs are.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whomps, there's no such thing as campus safety. These dudes absolute whomp at their job. They're like the dang campus security officers on a high school campus: ride around in the little cart and flirt with cute chicks every chance they get. Straight up perverted. These dudes don't deserve a single star at all. Shame shame shame.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything that you want. It's college, there aren't really any rules. You can find friends and or meet up with other classmates and make your day like that.

    Food and Dining

    You have a small variety of choices as far as where to go. I haven't really ate at the school cafeteria, but heard that the food was BOMB. But it all depends on the person and what they like. There is 7Eleven, KFC, and other spots around the area, but you can also go to the Mall on 183rd Street and get more of a variety.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Long Beach, so there's no need for a dorm when I get free showers and whatever at my parent's house. Nothing wrong with that!

    Academic Rigor

    You'll run into to really dope teachers, average teachers, and

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though you're going to a CC and your friends might be in a UC or CSU, still walk into college with your head held high. There are a lot of neigh-sayers out there, but remember that they aren't doing what you're doing to further your life. You're still going so show them how fast you can knock out your General Eds nd still be on the same page, maybe even further than they are.

    In three sentences

    The campus is open and you run into different faces give or take depending on what you're majoring in. Really fun, but still kind of has that high school feel with immature students and what not.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Thing's you can do for fun at this school is join a program or hang out at the Cerritos mall since it is so close to the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not my taste but they have a taco bell, Frantone's, Shushi, and hamburger place.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that a future student get their paper work such as FAFSA and any other paper turned in before the deadlines. To take the placement test ahead of time that way you won't have to wait long lines. Lastly, to join programs that will give you early registration.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a great school because it has great programs that can get you early registration such as the Scholar's Honor's Program or Extended Opportunity Program and Services (EOPS). The counselor's are very helpful and refer you to tutor's, Universities, and joining clubs. Also the teacher's are amazing they are really nice and often help the student's when asked.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The best way to go is digital. This is because books are cheaper this way and more interactive depending on what you're getting. The best thing to do is check what books you have to get for your class through the book store before class so you can look for deals online.

    Food and Dining

    They have good and affordable food here.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe there are dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    You have to really provide evidence for your opinions and must be open for discussions. You really have to work on the skills that you are lacking to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here manage your time effectively. This means don't procrastinate until the last minute to do your homework. This is not a successful way of doing things and may stress you out.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College has a big campus with plenty of parking. The teachers here really care about their students. The classes here are planned in a way that helps students learn better.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here at Cerritos there is always people EVERYWHERE no matter where you go there is people. Everything is done in an orderly fashion which I love. And all the businesses around the school are so welcoming and delicious. They make the environment safe And attractive for everyone.

    Greek Life

    I don't know too much about Greek life but I'm sure it's a very artist one. Just by seeing photographs of Greece it looks amazing the Dancers just make me want to pop out of my seat and dance to a tune.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities provided for us are quite amazing I have to say. The sports can be looked at as an activity the gymnasium is beautifully put together for all the students to use that is also an activity Is offered to us at no cost.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love open doors meeting new people this is the CAMPUS FOR YOU! People are so kind here its great, teachers are hands down the coolest thing on this campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student resource center/ library is so amazing its filled with books, computers, people, resources, tutoring centers, it's the whole deal.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a freshmen here at cerritos and I love it. I was helped out by ms. Yajaira she's the link leader. I'm a foster youth so she made everything accessible to me. And everything just came with it the classes are super easy nothing crazy I Love it here

    What to do for fun

    You can go into any class room and see the class in action. Walk into art and see the art being done, walk into culinary the food is sizzling on the grill. There is a computer lab go and just surf the web.

    Food and Dining

    They have a large variety of snacks that young adults enjoy. Plus they have Taco Bell, frantone's and more to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do t not sleep in a dorm at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is very stressed all over campus you will see signs, newspaper, and other material that challenges our academic life. Here academic rigor is valued the fact that you would even try to accomplish anything beyond your expectations is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is magnificent in everything they do, they genuinely care for the students no matter what. And the campus is a no brainer it's so easy to get around and find the buildings.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos is very clean. The teachers are dedicated to what they teach and don't just ramble off. They have GREAT resources for us.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of campus police and security to ensure your safety. They even have traffic controllers to keep the walking students safe.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school for those wanting to save money and get a university-level education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extracurricular activities to help pass the time. For example, you can choose to work out in the weight or get involved in a club the specializes in enhancing the brain.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Cerritos is great and cost acceptable. There are an abundance of food markets to choose from on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I currently have no experience or advice on dorm life, but I am guessing it is good since many students are taking part in it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Cerritos varies depending on your major. However, there is always going to be work for every major and a lot of studying. In my opinion, the upper level math and science courses are the most challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard for what you want and always stay on top of your game. Even though it is not a university, the courses are going to be the same wherever you go. Also, do not be afraid or shy to ask your instructor and classmate for help and guidance.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a great place to start for someone willing to continue their education. It is very cost efficient and gives one a university level education. There are also many extracurricular activities to help enhance the individual and prepare him/her for many obstacles ahead.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Food and Dining

    Limited and somewhat expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are sometimes challenging, it just depends what classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get as many units as you can if you want to finish your degree and transfer within two years.

    In three sentences

    The campus of Cerritos college is beautiful, and their stadium is amazing. Every teacher I've had has been willing to go the extra mile to help students. The class selection is amazing as well.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to sport room and play pool and video games.

    Food and Dining

    I would say brig your own food or go out of college and eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Here is the thing If you follow all the direction you are through with this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time. Visit teachers in their office hours. Complete all of your assignment.

    In three sentences

    Best Programs for Students. The counseling is great. If you are new students and English is your second language you should sign up for EOPS program.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Workout.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good GPA.

    In three sentences

    Its really Good. I like the people there. I'd give it a 9/10.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and different activities, and that is why it is a good idea to research everything that Cerritos College has to offer to miss out on anything!

    Great for these types of students

    Cerritos College is great for students who like to get to know their professors in a personal level as well as the students. It is good for those who like a small community type of school.

    What to do for fun

    There is really nothing fun in Cerritos College, and I feel that that is what encourages students to transfer as fast as possible to a University.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school offers many ways of advancing into any career, it is advisable to explore all that the school has to offer before transferring out and not taking advantage of it. Another tip is to talk to a counselor before attending any University or College to get to know what it is that you need in order to succeed and advance. Also, getting to network around the school will come in handy later in the future, as you learn what others know.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a school that is very focused on their students and on helping them succeed. There are students from different ethnicity and so it is a learning experience as you get to know other students from different backgrounds. It is a small school and so it makes it easy to get to know other students and the professors.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While this campus is great, I heard, twice, that some classmates, and even one of my friends, was mugged. That doesn't really sit well with me.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't really say much other than that their is a lot of clubs that come out during the beginning of the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    The only hard part is finding the deals.

    What to do for fun

    There's a big place called the Student Center and it's basically the place where students meet up and hang out. From what I've seen, people play Magic the Gathering, Yugi-oh, Mavel vs. Capcom, etc. Near there is an arcade and pool area. The scenery nearby is beautiful too.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good. The selection is pretty good too, there is a pizza place with more than just pizza, a burger place with more than just burgers, a Taco Bell and a Japanese place. And that's just the places I know!

    Dorm Life

    I can't say anything since I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are helpful and try to help through class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sign up late. Do your work and don't mess around. Find friends that will help you through class, and sometimes life.

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and big with a lot of facilities. The stores here are reasonable in price and have good food. The student store doesn't always have the book you need, but help you in finding where you can.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always securities and campus police circling the campus and parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join clubs and extracurricular activities just like I mentioned on what to do for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The library and computer labs. Not to mention the wifi.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay for and the time you put in it, you'll get a good education here. Unfortunately, the prices keep increasing

    What to do for fun

    Club meetings and extracurricular activities. Just so learning will not be too boring.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food here, especially frantone's pizza near zebra's coffee. They cook the pizza bomb. Also, its only $3.75 for a slice of pizza and soda. Not to mention that they have friendly customer service.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors. They make learning fun and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the assessment tests before you enroll here. If you don't do well, they will make you take courses that are similar to the ones you took in high school.

    In three sentences

    Great environment and well organized. Great resources available to students. Safe campus.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police walking around or in cars, so its a safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Most people at this college are hispanic.

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs and making friends on campus can be really fun.

    Food and Dining

    Taco Bell and pizza are the best options for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    To any students looking to attend Cerritos, keep your grades up because the better grades you have, the better chance of enrolling in classes you have.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a really good school. Although the classes are usually packed and there's a long waiting list, I can honestly say I've had great experiences at this school. The staff is wonderful and the instructors are really helpful and good at their job.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, outdoors, campus. Only problem is in the summer its super hot!

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of activities booth carnivals all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    With finacial aid things can be easier, if i didnt have it im sure it would be much more difficult for me to pay for books, classes, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sport activities to get involved in. i myself joined the gay straight alliance club and i love it.

    Food and Dining

    They have a pretty good food court! i myslef love taco bell and they have it here,plus sushi pizza fries burgers, etc. They have a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Its not a hard or complicated concept to grasp, if you do your work and study, you will pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    TRY your hardest to get early enrollment! i was never told this and wish i was, classes go unbelievably fast and the nest thing you know you have to wait for the next term for the one you actuallly need. Take this time to seriously get things done because the more you procrastinate the longer it is for you to transfer.

    In three sentences

    The administartors from cerritos college really want to help you. They do their best to assit you in any questions you have and the faculty for the most part are great teachers. I'm defiently glad i came here to get my A.A and hopefully transfer next fall.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to talk to my friends, use the internet to check my email, go to museums, hike, and watch movies on my laptop

    Food and Dining

    This school has a student center with Taco Bell, Sushi place, Burger place and a pizza place. They have a small cafeteria inside the cafeteria that the cooking students make themselves. This school also has little pizza places around campus and have a little store. This school gives you different choices of places to eat

    Academic Rigor

    The School has many options for you to get tutoring. The teachers will work with you to make sure you will pass the class. The teachers fairly grade you.

    Tips for prospective students

    1st tip: make a counselor appointment 2nd tip: know your major or find one before your appointment 3rd tip: Make sure you have your financial aid papers turn in 4th tip: look on your school website to see if you have any to do's. 5th tip: Enroll in your classes but make sure they are good teachers 6th step: enroll in a program at your school last step: make sure you pass all your classes

    In three sentences

    It is a School where they have many programs to help the students especially foster kids. This school have great counselors who care about their students success. This school have great professors that can relate to the students very well.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    50 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) Business leaders organization Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honors Society, need to be invited to join though by having a high GPA.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and organizations

    Food and Dining

    no variety

    Dorm Life

    does not apply

    Tips for prospective students

    Be a note taker for priority registration, join EOPS, join clubs and honors societies (PBL, PTK, etc) talk to different counselors until you find one that is the most useful.

    In three sentences

    Many professors are very well prepared. It is very hard to enroll in classes if you do not havee priority. There are new and nice buildings.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This is probably the only time when you should actually talk to strangers. All the students are nice!

    Food and Dining

    I guess it's alright... It's okay, there are a lot of food places near school!

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really know... I'M A FRESHMAN

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply ASAP and get your enroll in your classes quicker! Also, communication is key. Always email or talk to any of the staff if you're having trouble. They're nice. Won't bite/

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College has very helpful staff. It also has a variety of classes you can choose from. The students are the life of the campus.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security always making their prensence.

    Bang for the buck

    A great place to obtain your general education at a lesser price before you transfer to an university.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes we have the opportunity of getting free concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes in n out comes and caters.

    Dorm Life

    Do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any place some great instructors and also has some that can careless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dedicate to each class, branch out and be open to new adventures.

    In three sentences

    A chance to follow your academic career without going into debt.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am a female and I am scared. Security only walk around the parking looking just to write tickets or in front of the college to help with the traffic of the drop off/pick up location. The security do not walk around, but you can call the security if you want security to escort you.

    Clubs and Activities

    In order to join a club you have to look for it. They do not go and promote any clubs which is sad.

    What to do for fun

    Sadly, I find nothing fun there.

    Food and Dining

    The food court food is horrible. The food courts are around but everything is expensive. They definitely overcharge for everything I usually bring my own food and beverages from home.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors who are just lecture and do not let the students participate, while others try to make the students participate. Sadly, there is no in between who add both lecture and participating together.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice will be to be early everywhere. Another tip is to be prepared for students who are not there for better education.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College does not try to get students to participate. Also it is hard to get help in Cerritos College, because everything is packed and feels rushed. Finally, most students here do not seems to be interested in their education.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria, try the culinary students food something surprising and delicious! The menu is always changing.

    Dorm Life

    Cerritos a commuter college from home to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, you can have a tough semester, but well rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Apply for early admission 2. Take your placement testing 3. Meet with a counselor 4. Don't forget to pay for your fees!!! 5. Never be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    Cerritos Community College is a mecca for students wanting to enrich and enliven their educational morality. With the guidance of more then exceptional professors, staff, and fellow classmates nothing is impossible. A day in the life of a Cerritos College Student will leave you saying Yes, I can. to any situation.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room for fun and there are clubs that many students are active in to make their time at Cerritos worthwhile. There are also various sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    There is a student cafe and there is a Taco Bell and other reputable restaurants on campus. Though, there is not many. The student store is the best because it has quick and easy snacks for being on the go.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Cerritos College.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academics are well. Cerritos is a great school, with very helpful professors. Though every class requires dedication. You have to be willing to put in the effort in order to get the grade that you desire.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you know what your overall goal is while attending Cerritos College so that you don't take classes that you don't need. Try to take your general education classes first, because those are required for any degree. By your second year make sure that you have declared a major and follow the course plan for that specific major.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a diverse school. The professors are very helpful. They offer a variety of different classes at various times.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a variety of clubs

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food locations: Taco Bell, and others

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll into classes: petition for certain classes

    In three sentences

    The college is a nice place. Wonderful view of campus. Variety of online and on-campus classes.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very intuitive and very respectful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs. There are a lot to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices vary with the city, but for the most part it's an inexpensive way to knock out your general ed.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has many clubs that allow a student to have fun outside of the class. I am a member of the astronomy club and we constantly take trips to star-watch.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! The food is made by students and is super cheap. They also have a variety of sections, especially if you just need a quick meal before class.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes and stellar professors. Most of the professors are very knowledgeable and prepare you for the next level of classes. Also, they relate the material in a digestible format.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak with your counselors. Also, do not be scared to ask questions if you are having trouble. The staff at Cerritos is awesome.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos College is a great school. It has provided me with many opportunities to succeed with the tutoring they provide. Also, registration is very easy.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of the school is welcoming in the sense that no harm will be brought to the students or faculty. There are campus police that patrol during the school hours, ensuring that the students are kept safe.

    What to do for fun

    Students can walk into the game room where there are arcade games and billiards. The students can also bask in the sunlight or sit in under the shades provided by the many trees on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers students access to restaurants that appeal to anyone's food desires. The campus also has a cafe in the main hall where students can engage in gourmet food, prepared by the students of the culinary class. The food ranges from in between snacks to full on meals.

    Dorm Life

    The School provides students with information of possible living space near or around the campus. This information is posted on a bulletin near the student center of the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors value the proliferation of the students knowledge and will seek to enrich it in anyway possible. There are programs, such as tutors as well as success centers that will help students that are struggling in English, Math, or Science.

    In three sentences

    It is an expansive campus filled with a wide variety of students aspiring to accomplish great things in life. The school offers a large selection of classes to take part in, all categorized alphabetically. There are helpful instructors all over the campus that will gladly answer any questions that a person may have.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    basketball and weight traing the the funnest classes..

    Food and Dining

    never ate in cerritos.

    Dorm Life

    they dnt have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the best instrutors then any community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    always ask for help .. join a program like eops/ linc, they help you out in ur schedule.

    In three sentences

    i love playing basketball in the gym, i feel confident. i will perfer cerritos than any community college. my criminal justice instrutor is the best, he explans everything you need to know.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are more campus police today, then there was before.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pharmacy Technician club

    What to do for fun

    We (my child and I) go to the park to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are food stands and mini restaurants, but the cafeteria is not as big, needs more space and more restaurants to choose.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at Cerritos College

    Academic Rigor

    Pharmacy Professors are very strict and helpful at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study at least 48 hours before you start an exam.

    In three sentences

    Cerritos college offers all types of classes including pharmacy studies. All the counselors at the school are very helpful when it comes to the type of classes to select. The parking lot structure is huge and expanding.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very on top of things. If something happens, everyone will know.

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS of clubs to join! They range from academics to LGBT.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    --

    Bang for the buck

    Great classes for awesome prices! The professors make the school what it is.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the local mall or the beach is only a ten minute drive away!

    Food and Dining

    They have a Taco Bell, sushi place, pizza, and even a really great little place that is served by Cerritos College's hopeful chefs.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories, but everyone is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be very challenging but its worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers! They can be very helpful.

    In three sentences

    It is very easy to navigate and I have not once gotten lost. The teachers help you reach all academic goals and are very supportive. The classes are wonderful and it has just an overall great environment.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres a lot of fun things to do on campus , you can walk around and enjoy the scenery , you can go to the gym workout etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining area is excellent a very social and accepting environment . The best hangout spots for those long breaks between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are amazing and very well paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to stay home on friday nights and saturday afternoons to get your work done . Be fully commited to what you want to do with your life .

    In three sentences

    Cerritos is a excellent driven college. It offers so many oppurtunities to those that really want to be successful . The staff is always fun to be around !

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs and other extra curricular activities are available to students that seek out information.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary arts allows for delicious food that is affordable, however, eat with caution.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, so there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are time consuming, which means that students must learn to prioritize in order to be efficient and achieve the grade they want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply yourselves and be prepared to ask a lot of questions because the information available can be overwhelming at times.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to develop skills that will prepare scholars for the rigorous academic environment of universities.