Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Chabot College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes here are very affordable. With the BOGG I am only paying $22 for my classes total! They make sure to accommodate all students from any financial background.

    Am enjoying being here

    Chabot is a very nice campus and school. However, I would much rather be at a four year campus. I feel that I am missing on the true college experience. This is my fault though, for slacking in High School.

    Am learning a lot

    Before I went to Chabot I didn't think I was very smart and didn't have my true academic ability exposed. When I started classes here I realized my true intelligence and now I am excelling in all my classes.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the library read books.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places if you need snack and a big place to eat the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The classes are good.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a great college to go to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss class. Do your work and apply for financial aid!

    In three sentences

    Chabot college is a great college. The students and teachers are great. When ever you need help you get help fast. The financial aid is always there to answer question. It's a great college.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is kind and helpful.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends on campus. We take walks around the campus, and the area surrounding it. But most of the time we just hang out in the lobby of one of the faculty buildings.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but it is expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your Instructors, and use their office hours often. The harder you try, the harder they will try.

    In three sentences

    Chabot College is a good school. There are some very good teachers here who strive to help students succeed. it is also a great place to make lasting friendships with fellow students.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards driving/walking around campus to make sure nothing bad happens in order to keep the students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs offered at Chabot like the Japanese Club, High Achievers Club, GSA (Gay Straight Alliance), Ft (For the Cross). They also offer students to be a part of their student government (ASCC).

    Great for these types of students

    Chabot is great for students who want to save up on money for a four year school or want to start over and do better. For example, if they didn't do so well in high school but want to go to a good four year school, going to a community college like Chabot will give them a second chance to do better depending on how motivated and dedicated they are.

    Bang for the buck

    It really helps with students who couldn't afford to go to a four year; however, because of the economy, Chabot, along with other community colleges, have slowly raised tuition. When I started Chabot over a year ago, the cost for classes was $26 a unit. Now it's $36 a unit and sooner or later the cost will rise up to $66.

    What to do for fun

    You can hangout with friends around or across campus during your break or when you get out of your last class. I would hangout near the arts and humanities part on campus with music students or with people I went to high school across campus at Quickly or Eon Coffee.

    Food and Dining

    Chabot has it's own cafeteria on campus that serves various kinds of food (burgers, fries, burritos, salad, breakfast) and drinks (coffee, tea, water, and soda) along with having a Starbucks booth, and it has a taco truck located near the entrance of the performing arts center that has been a favorite for the students. There are also places to eat around campus like Jack in the Box, Subway, Burger King, Straw Hat Pizza, and Quickly.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it's a community college. Right now I'm living with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes offered at Chabot can be difficult and some that students can just breeze through, but it just depends on the teacher. There are some teachers that really want to help their students succeed and there are some that seldom help but don't want to get too involved after their lectures. You just have to find the right teachers that suit you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate the level of difficulty at Chabot just because it's a community college. Coming from personal experience, the classes offered at Chabot for transfer, ge, or for your major can be really difficult especially when you're taking the higher level courses or if you're signed up for a class and can't follow the teachers teaching method. I recommend using ratemyprofessor.com to help pick out what teachers to sign up for and which ones can fit in your schedule. Also, if you're motivated to transfer as soon as possible to a 4 year school, avoid as much distraction as possible but don't stress so much about your classes also. To succeed, jump as quickly at opportunities as you do at conclusions. -Benjamin Franklin

    In three sentences

    It's a fairly nice campus that offers a lot to help students achieve an AA/AS/Certificate or transfer to a 4 year. It's not easy to pass every class that you take on campus, but you get a lot out of it whether you get that A or any other passing grade. It's a struggle to get everything done, but in the words of Bill Cosby, In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there have been a couple incidents that have happened, the campus is still relatively safe because the campus security guards act quickly to ensure the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Gamma Sigma (Honor Society) is a national community college-based Greek life club. They dedicate themselves to helping the Bay Area community while encouraging academic rigor.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus that range from religion to culture to hobbies. Whatever you're looking for, you can find here.

    Great for these types of students

    Seeing as it is a community college, it's great for students who haven't decided to what to major in yet because they can explore their options while only paying for a fraction of the cost of a CSU, UC, or private school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many random pep rallies or days specified for certain subjects, like Popcorn Day where the ASB (associated student body) provides free popcorn for students, or Toothache Day where students were given free toothbrushes & toothpaste while learning how to prevent toothaches!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely cheaper than CSU, UC, & private schools with tuition at $46/unit.

    What to do for fun

    A couple blocks down the road is the Southland Mall where you can go and hang out with your new friends. There are musical events and plays that you can also attend to appreciate the beauty of the arts.

    Food and Dining

    There's a taco truck on campus! The food here is a lot better than high school but it can be pretty pricey in the cafeteria. Across the street is E-On Cafe and Quickly's which offer a pretty good selection of yummy food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, Chabot doesn't offer housing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are definitely challenging as to stimulate your mind and make you work for your money. It's education after all, you've got to do your work if you want good results.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's quite similar to high school minus your friends but it's a great opportunity to meet new people and learn how to live independently. As expected in high school, and as an adult, you have to be responsible for your own actions and attend class, do all the assigned work, and study for tests if you want to pass.

    In three sentences

    Chabot college is quite a diverse campus with many friendly students and staff. Because the campus is situated in the Bay Area, there are plenty of opportunities to learn more about the culture of other students.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Southland mall is nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh, made-to-order pizza and burgers along with other food choices around campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a good variety of academics. If you find a class to be easy there is always a more rigorous alternative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a program! They help you figure out what you are going to do in life and they give you free resources.

    In three sentences

    It is adequate in terms of community colleges. A lot of people say it is basically high school with more people, and I agree. Its better than many of the other local choices.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated Adults going back to school for night classes Online classes People who really want to learn a subject Self-motivated students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of. The area in the center of the campus has trees and you will certainly be able to find a place to study if you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus was built in the 60's. It has a nice feel. Bring cash if you want to buy snacks from the food truck that stops by every day.

    What to do for fun

    Not much going on in Hayward Farmers Market on Saturdays Very boring town, but rent is still inexpensive.

    Food and Dining

    Nice cafeteria area. Not much choice for vegetarians ( unless you want to eat sugar). Suggest that you bring your own snacks if you want something healthier.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms The local area provides low cost apartments. The campus is close to Oakland airport. Easy to find a job in the East Bay area while going to school here.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to get out of class what you put in. Expect to do all the reading and be tested. This is not a slacker community college. The standards are high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out all paperwork ahead of time. Save money in advance for books. During the first two weeks of school arrive early to find parking. Stay on top of your assignments so that you don't fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Excellent teachers. It is easy to apply online and the onsite staff are very helpful. I worked as hard here as I have at any other University, the standards that the teachers set are very high. Bonus: Lots of online classes and a lovely campus!

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around I am even friends with on of the security guards there.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very cheap school but that will change if the economy gets worse. they did just raise there prices.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is not on of my choices at Chabot. I think they should change it and fast.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms at Chabot College.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a very good academic program here and the are very strict on it.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school. Its does have a wide range of classes. Also I am getting very good support here from my counselors.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs in this college, for me has been a great experience since I started college they had help me so much with my classes and also field trips.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some traditions that this college can do are celebarting graduation and any cultural celebration.

    Food and Dining

    we all have few restaurants around the college , but also in college food in college can be describe in my view not so good.

    Dorm Life

    we are sure that dorm life is like becoming independent, not necessary in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The most urgent challenges in education in the United States are promoting academic excellence, promote effective work and a code of ethics in young people.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students that wish to attend to this college maybe get information on what is your focus to study. If you know what really is your passion go see a counselor as soon as possible, but if you have any trouble with any classes just ask for help they would help you.

    In three sentences

    In my own opinion chabot has been amazing so far not the less the great oppurtunities that these college gives you. Chabot has been a place where i can really express myself , also the different ecthnicity that are. My experience in Chabot has been so incredible so far because of my teachers with out their help i wouldn't be able to be what i really want to be.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Football games!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't attempt to come to class at the last minute because you WILL NOT find parking space.

    In three sentences

    A Community College with a high school feel. Very easy to become distracted in this kind of environment. Those who can keep focus will take advantage of the teaching here.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So, some of the security guards at Chabot are sort of a joke. Which is okay, I guess, because there are virtually no dangers/ hazards/ security necessitating occurrences at Chabot. Chabot is safe!

    Greek Life

    To put is simply, greeklife at Chabot is non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join at Chabot. From volunteering clubs to gaming and recreational clubs, the opportunities are endless. Even so, if you don't spot a club that raises your eyebrows, you can always form your own !

    Great for these types of students

    Chabot is a great school for intelligent, motivated students seeking an affordable environment in which they can academically and socially flourish.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rallies and events at Chabot are fairly dry. There aren't many unusual traditions carried out at Chabot. There's always annual free Cotton Candy Day .

    Bang for the buck

    Chabot, oh Chabot, is a pretty great community college. From academics to sociality, if you have focus, Chabot will be absolutely wonderful for you.

    What to do for fun

    As I previously stated, JOIN CLUBS AND STUDENT GOVERNMENT. Become respectfully amiable with your teachers, interact with other students in class, these are all things that will inevitably lead to the formation of friendships. Friendships lead to fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat around Chabot, many. However, they are not all healthy. Also, the cafeteria is moderately tasty.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at chabot, as it is a junior college. However, the social scence at chabot is very diverse. You will definitely meet amicable people there. I would suggest joining clubs and involving yourself in student government to broaden the opportunities for social interactions.

    Academic Rigor

    In terms of options at a community college level, I would say that expectations in terms of academic achievement are pretty high. Teachers love to challenge you. Math teachers can be a pain.

    Tips for prospective students

    1- School should always remain your first priority. 2- There is a fifty percent drop out rate, don't become a statistic. 3- Involve yourself in activities on campus to supplement your academics.

    In three sentences

    Chabot is a pretty good school in terms of academics at a community college level. There are definitely challenging classes. If you have focus, succeeding should pose no problem.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty good. They're on their toes constantly, but that means they give you parking tickets if you don't have one very quickly too...

    Clubs and Activities

    there are at least couple of dozens of clubs active every year. It isn't difficult to start one up either! Overall tough, there isn't much school spirit.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to save money and get good grades early on in college! Transfer to an outstanding college from here. I'm transferring to UC Berkeley.

    Bang for the buck

    Taco-Truck burritos. Large and cheap! Costco food court has great lunch for great prices. It's only 5 mins away!

    What to do for fun

    The classes which tend to be hobby-oriented are fun: swimming, table tennis, tennis, archery, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is alright. I wasn't a big fan of it because most of the food isn't spectacular nor especially healthy. The Taco-Truck that is separate from the cafeteria is cheaper if you are just looking to fill your stomach.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so it doesn't have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Chabot is not very strict overall. Though the higher level classes (especially on the math, sciences, and nursing programs) seem to be more strict/difficult, overall it is very reasonable. The quality of classes are pretty good as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a friendly community college. I LOVED that I could get to know students and even professors because of the smaller size classes. Take advantage of the personal interactions you can have with the instructors!

    In three sentences

    Tell Us a Little More (Optional): Chabot College is a community college.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Go to the food truck, its better and cheaper than the cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early, they fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    Chabot has many amazing teachers that are more than willing to help any student. Unfortunately most students at Chabot do not seem to be as goal minded. The atmosphere at Chabot really needs an update.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling

    What to do for fun

    What, fun? I take 18-23 credit hours/term.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food isn't outstanding but it'll work. There are restaurants across the street. I pack a lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of effort you put into each class is what you'll gain when you are through.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to study any of the applied technology degrees, go straight to the instructors that teach them. They'll give you better direction, regarding your schedule and educational plan, than the counseling department.

    In three sentences

    Chabot College has some very talented, inspirational, and professional instructors. I feel very lucky to have this quality of instruction at a community college level. From 1(worst)-10(best) I give Chabot College a 9.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safety school. always have police walk around the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different kinds of clubs and activities waiting for you.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I guess the teacher's office. It's not easy to find.

    What to do for fun

    Maybe sport? or reading? or even join the club.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is not too bad. There are difference types of food you can chose.

    Dorm Life

    Too bad, there is not dorm in my college.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are not easy. But if you go to school everyday and finished all the homework I guess you can pass it with C.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always Email your professor when you have question. Have your personal plan of what class you need to take in spring, fall etc. Attend school everyday.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school. It's safety. The teachers are lovely.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras all around the parking areas. Securities are on watch 24/7 and the college offers an alert service via texting for free that informs about emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Architecture Club at Chabot College which I am part of is very active through out the whole year. This Year we went to visit some architectural sights in Los Angeles, Hayward, Alameda, and San Francisco. During Summer we organized a couple of get together at some regional parks in Union City, CA. to strengthen the group.

    What to do for fun

    The campus have many classes for physical education that can provide you with a lot of fun. I took swimming, hip hop dance, soccer, indoor soccer, weight lighting, guts and butts, tennis, and fitness for everyone. This year, Chabot built a new fitness center facility that is well equipped.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Chabot is not that cheap but it is healthy. A meal for lunch should not cost you more than 6 dollars.

    Dorm Life

    I am an off campus student

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard to have a stable GPA at chabot college because the classes require lots of effort from the student. However, the professors are there to help you succeed and be more competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every class you take and any project you are assigned make it matter otherwise let someone else take your chair and take advantage of the chance to get good quality education at Chabot College.

    In three sentences

    At Chabot College you will find engaging professors that knows their subject in depth and are passionate about it. There is tutoring help given by the same students that attend the college and had taken the class they are tutoring and passed it with an A. At Chabot you will succeed.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patrolling campus security around the clock.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and events.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a local setting as well as students looking to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Greatly priced.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student sports center that was recently built. Hayward, CA is a mere BART ride away from Oakland, Berkeley, and San Francisco.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and several food stands.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on which classes are being taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should tour the campus to get a feel for it. Make friends and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Chabot College has a very diverse campus setting. Many students from many different backgrounds attend. The instructors are very interesting.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Chabot is great for those who wanna try college out first, and for those who want to transfer. To get to know what you'll have to deal with.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as community college goes, chabot is expensive. They will sell you practically anything just to make a quick buck. Community college should not cost this much, especially since the economy is in the pit.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports and clubs and all sorts of activities to do for extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there. But I know it's clean.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about their dorms, or if they have any for that matter.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and teachers are pretty cool so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead, and register for classes once you have everything ahead of time. Doing things last minute can start to make you go crazy, I would know.

    In three sentences

    Chabot is pretty cool. I'm a freshman there. Started my first year of college, things are a little tough but hopefully it'll go smoother soon.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always roaming around in their cars and the lighting at night is pretty good. the campus is not very big for starters

    Great for these types of students

    great for any student who wants to get education for an economic price. Save lots of money, especially if you're fresh out of high school

    What to do for fun

    once you get out of class you can do lots of stuff like go to the mall that is close by or go eat with you friends or just go home, or stay in the campus since they do some activities also.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is sold at a reasonable prize for most of the stuff, with the exception of drinks it might be a bit expensive. Also if you don't want any food from here there is a variety of restaurants in front like a jack in the box and other restaurants

    Dorm Life

    It is not applicable because this campus doesn't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I'm putting average because it depends the classes you take and your schedule. it can either be easy or hard

    Tips for prospective students

    - don't get scared if you get lost, everything here is easy to find just ask or explore the campus beforehand, you will find your destination eventually. -if you sign up for classes around noon, best thing to do is take the bus

    In three sentences

    It a cozy school and its not too big and everything in this campus is in walking distance. There is a lot of ways to get here so transportation is not a problem, although it can be if you come to school later around noon by car it can get congested. Overall it is a nice school.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. There are security officers also roaming the school just in case of an emergency.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is not many unusual locations at this school , but there is a lot of greenery. There is a spot with a lot of nature flowers, trees and bushes that have gnomes on the greenery, its very pleasing to look at.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun here. There are always activities that clubs and organizations set fourth and there are many plays and drama related activities. There are also clubs that focus on individual majors such as business clubs that help grasp the concept of the business world and what us as business majors are getting into.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty healthy and provides the students with everything they may need throughout the day. From little snacks to full blown out meals.

    Dorm Life

    Since it's a community college there are no dorms here. But, I do imagine the dorm like being very social and helpful in meeting people.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty challenging especially since its at a higher educational level. None the less the academics are very pressing but the part that makes it worth it is that it makes you learn and try your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once starting make sure you look out at the extensive resources Chabot College has to offer such as the scholarships and the many clubs and activities that will add to the positive experience at this school. Also, never be afraid to reach out in times of academic need there are also help at this school!

    In three sentences

    The college is very helpful in assisting their students with what is needed to become a successful student. They provide tutoring centers to help struggling students and help them learn subjects that are not very easy to understand. The counselors are nice and easy to talk to and help with transfer agreements in order for students to move forward and better their education.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Join a club

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to major in as soon as possible. Once you've decided use assit.org.

    In three sentences

    Not a bad community college to use in order to transfer to UCB. Also one of the best Firefighting programs.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hayward is considered the heart of the bay with access to major freeways and public transportation hubs. Very close to a range of venues outside of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, seek counseling, and take advantage of all the academic services filled people and resources to help students become successful.

    In three sentences

    Chabot College has a fantastic broadcasting department and state of the art radio station, campus newspaper, and television studio. The campus is going through a remodeling period and is home to its own planetarium. Also houses the only BMW mechanical training course west of the Mississippi.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around and hope you get to your class without being gawked at.

    Food and Dining

    Food is terrible. Not many choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Chabot. Though there should be.

    Academic Rigor

    My grades are amazing so far this year.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to save money, I suggest junior college, especially chabot, because they give almost everyone financial aid. It's just that the people who work at the financial aid office, they're mean.

    In three sentences

    At chabot, the teachers are really friendly. Well, some of them. At times, most of them are boring.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a good selection of clubs and sports to join. It is also right across from Southland Mall, so you can hang out and shop in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food. The cafeteria has a nice selection. There is also a food truck on campus, which is a bit cheaper than the cafeteria and has good food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Is decent academic-wise. Has a center in the library, which helps students with studying and provides tutors. Teachers provide a good amount of work and are good with helping you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to read the syllabus and be on top of deadlines! Use long gaps between classes to study, it's very helpful. There is also a WRAC center, which helps with tutoring and school work.

    In three sentences

    It's decent for a community college. The professors are nice and helpful, and are willing to work with you. If you are a hard worker and good student, then you will learn just fine.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs at Chabot. There aren't as many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking for an associates degree or planning on transferring out to a 4 year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that I know of.

    Food and Dining

    There is just normal food which is a little overpriced, but all college food is.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are friendly and helpful. Just make sure you stay on top of your work and don't wait until last minute.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend clubs School events Have fun with the other students

    Food and Dining

    There were food options but I never ate at school

    Academic Rigor

    It's as challenging as you make it to be If you do the work you'll get the grades Definitely had to work hard to do well

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take Mr Dave's astronomy class Take Rachael's film appreciation class Have fun

    In three sentences

    Good student representatives from other colleges Lots of fun events for students Some great teachers

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm saving a ton of money for my transfer to a four year institution by going here.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sports team or join a club. You meet a ton of people this way. These are both great ways to get involved in the campus community.

    Food and Dining

    There is a mediocre cafeteria, but plenty of yummy off campus dining!

    Dorm Life

    I don't think there is on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the number of units you are taking and the intensity of your major requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many resources and clubs here at Chabot that you should utilize.

    In three sentences

    I am a first year student at Chabot College and they have been extremely helpful with my academic planning and assisting me on my way to transferring to a 4 year University. There are so many resources here for transfer students and students seeking an associate's degree here at Chabot College. I am so impressed with the staff and community here!

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    new and improved ;)

    Bang for the buck

    they have a great career center that helps you for real life and job search.

    What to do for fun

    events, games , music , there's lots to do!

    Food and Dining

    pretty good

    Academic Rigor

    Make friends and study in groups help boost your academic performance and test scores depending on your studying techniques.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a hard working student and you like on campus then this is the school for you, you have to develop great study habits and put your best foot forward. And be sure to check out all resources and events that help aid your academic / career goals, etc.

    In three sentences

    I like the diversity , I like the fact that the teachers really try to help you stay grounded and ready to excel;Chabot is a great school, I rate them an 8.5.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a few campus police always on duty patrolling the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Have yet to join a club

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cnt think of any

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is affordable except the books, but I am sure that goes for all colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall nearby, a nice library, plenty of school activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and fairly cheap

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Only community college in my area that offers my degree choice, no complaints so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its hard to find parking in the morning, so make sure you plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    Chabot College is a very nice community college. There are newly renovated buildings which adds to a nice and clean learning enviroment. The staff are also nice, and i have yet to have a truly horrible teacher.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of security that go around the school. They mostly focus on traffic control, but if there is an emergency case, they are pretty good at springing to action and notifying the students through emails and verbal communication that something has happened.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said earlier, there are a multitude of clubs and activities available to you to sign up for on Gladiator Day.

    Bang for the buck

    You may take classes here that can count for CSUs and UCs that would have cost a lot of money in those schools for a lot cheaper at Chabot. Also, the tuition for the classes you do sign up for is not too bad, especially if you have the Bogg waiver. So, in terms of bang for your buck, I believe that it is totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    What you do for fun is basically up to you because it is a commuting school; however, if you wish to join any clubs or activities present on campus you may look into all that on Gladiator Day, which showcases all of the things available to you on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria, although lacking in variety, actually has some pretty good food quality. If you do not like the cafeteria, then you can always go to the food trucks available on campus. Also, there are restaurants and fast food chains nearby that can also be options for your next meal. (For example: Subway, Quicklys, Jack in the Box, etc.)

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this school because it is a commuting school.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is pretty easy to get used to; however, when it comes to trying to get help about how the school works, they will usually just say it is all online and so they won't really try to guide you through anything. You must be able to be fully independent and capable of researching what you need by yourself. Also, the counselors don't really know how to help you if you have questions; they mostly just give u a sheet of paper with a list of classes you need to take for general education in order to transfer to a CSU or UC and then send you on your way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like I said earlier, you should definitely get used to the online programs that Chabot College uses because they integrate these programs a lot in course curriculum. There might be some technical difficulties due to these programs, so be aware of these types of mistakes and make sure you keep track of everything that you do in these programs in order to avoid future conflicts with the staff. Also, like I said earlier, always come to class because this school values attendance.

    In three sentences

    It's a pretty easy and straightforward college to attend and get used to. It is important that you get used to all of the online programs Chabot College uses in order to be a fully efficient student. Attendance is actually pretty important for this college, so be aware of that!

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    Chabot College is a friendly community. Students here have great relationship with teachers and with other students. It is a great environment and very divers.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never heard of anything happening on campus ever since i started

    Greek Life

    we have an Alpha Gamma Sigma, which is an honor society club.

    Clubs and Activities

    it varies. but there are a lot of clubs on campus, you just have to be friendly enough to ask around

    Great for these types of students

    those who really wanna get started with college and get a lot of learning in the process

    What to do for fun

    join a club!!! there are tons of clubs on campus

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food is good. their burritos and nachos are the bomb!!! **they have a taco truck too, food is cheap and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    chabot college doesn't have dorms, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    it all depends with the students really, if you want to learn you have to do your part and study really hard to get that A.

    Tips for prospective students

    when choosing your classes go and check out rate my professor first, because sometimes some professors can be very difficult to deal with. and remember to always list all the classes that you would want to take, do everything early than late

    In three sentences

    chabot college is a community college and like any other community college it is a perfect started school for most high school graduates and for those who are getting started in college. This school has a variety of classes and most of the professors are often times very helpful and you can really learn a lot from. and if you're trying to save money while starting then this is a better way to do so.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    More worth it than any online only university.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall or study.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria always has fresh food and we also have an asian taco truck on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Chabot has a lot of specialty programs which many colleges around the area do not offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs as you can and take advantage of the Library while its still here.

    In three sentences

    Diversity is a very major part of the Bay Area and consequently affects this college. There are a lot of extracurricular programs. Bathrooms are clean sometimes.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I just go to math lab or library to catch up on homework.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is okay.

    Dorm Life

    There no dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is okay depending who you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Taking a lot of units if one want to transfer quickly and follow the IGETC!!

    In three sentences

    Chabot College is full with determine people. The teacher are very helpful and there for the students. Also, the counselor helps a lot.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing, they are always around and I feel protected.

    Greek Life

    Not much of a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gigantic range of clubs to participate and extra activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the quiet environment or a smaller campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    The 46$ per unit is sure worth it!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to go into the theater or drama classes. I also love finding new places around the campus just by roaming around.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a generous variety of food for breakfast or lunch even dinner!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not too tough but you do learn everything you need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    If the library isn't your place then there is many coffee shops around the campus to study at. Teachers also have office hours at your convenience for help with any projects or just questions.

    In three sentences

    Chabot college has a great campus with welcoming staff and students. The library is and awesome study place and there are many tutoring services available even if you think you've got it covered, still check them out! Also, Chabot has most to all of courses you will need for any major.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There isn't much in the cafeteria, but across the street there is a Quickly's, Subway, and Jack In The Box.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college. There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They really give it to you like any other college. But the professors understand that you have other courses and work so they give you time to do projects and work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to the school half an hour early before your class to find parking.

    In three sentences

    The campus is big, but parking is hard to find in the morning. I like my professors because they really engage with students since we have small classrooms. The professors really are passionate about teaching.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus supervision

    Clubs and Activities

    SBBC, Puente, Cal- works are all great programs for students and they have more also

    Great for these types of students

    great for students transitioning into a four year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    700 building and the library are the best locations on campus

    What to do for fun

    join a club or a sport

    Food and Dining

    good cafeteria food but has great surrounding location like subway

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on this campus

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to counseling they are great with assistance

    In three sentences

    Chabot College is by far the best community college in the Bay Area. It has outstanding programs such as EOPS that allows under privileged students to get classes and assistance with books etc.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I must admit that I did not step in the cafeteria for the duration of my first semester. Partly due to familiarity, day after day, I found myself at the taco truck near the auditorium. Tacos, breakfast burritos, sandwiches, aloha chicken, you know, the classics. Once the taco truck stopped carrying red bulls I had to sniff out a new source. I found myself in the cafeteria and they had more than enough. Once I got my fix I began to check out the spread. Salads, burgers, snacks, a pizza oven, not too shabby. They even have a vegan section if you're into that kind of thing.

    Academic Rigor

    I am hoping that as my education progresses the material will become harder. If you are not challenged you are not learning. Considering I am currently a freshman I must remind myself that the meat and potatoes of my education will come in the form of upper division class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    As in most facets of life, you get what you put in. If you strive for excellence in education and character Chabot will reinforce your values. As an older freshman I know now the importance of sacrifice. When I am not in class I am in the library, and when I am not in the library I am getting ready for class. I recommend scheduling an hour lull at least once or twice a week between classes so you may have a chance to study.

    In three sentences

    As the cliff swallow heads south for the winter, they visit Chabot before their great journey. While Chabot homes the birds in preparation of flight, one cannot help but liken themselves as one in the same journey. I am proud to call Chabot my nest before launch.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS of great clubs, they hold activities in the court all the time, club days and fairs often.

    Bang for the buck

    Most teachers try and only get you to buy books IF necessary. Bring own food if you can, buy a parking pass.

    What to do for fun

    Lors of places around. Southland mall less than 2 minutes away. Great eating places.

    Food and Dining

    Food is better than highschool. Could use more fruits options.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go see a counselor right away and make a plan. Get all and any classes you can.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Teachers care and are very hands on. Lots of services for extra help, tutoring, and keeping the campus safe.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities throughout the semester and other sports events as well

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time to class, get there early of you want a parking space, participating in class will not only help you gain credit, but will also help you learn the material.

    In three sentences

    Chabot college is great school for students who want to begin their education and make steps towards finding out who they want to be and what they want to do in life. It is a great school with a diverse campus full of unlimited opportunities for everyone who attends. The professors are great, get involved with their students and make it clear that they want to light a fire in the minds of everyone they meet.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club and find friends,

    Food and Dining

    I know they have a mess hall.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I really don't know yet because I haven't gone to this school yet,

    Tips for prospective students

    Recognize the environment, adjust to the changes in the academic requirements, create a solid friend group, manage your time, and study, study, study.

    In three sentences

    I have a learning disability, so I was sent to the student disability center and they were such a huge help. They got my classes together for me and my schedule, and now all I have to do is just register.