Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Chaminade University of Honolulu Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 out of 35 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ... who appreciates diversity, who wants small size classes, who are sociable in some way, and who does not get easily bored (that is not to say that there is nothing to do).

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and taste the food. Understand all the fees that have to be paid. Know the requirements needed to graduate. Do community service and/or volunteer work. You have a head start if you are an organized person.

    Bang for the buck

    Wireless campus. The new library is nice. The dormitories are alright. There are some scholarship opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the on campus events that go on every semester. It is a Catholic/ Marianist school, but it is an easy going campus. There are a grip of student resources and people willing to help. Chaminade University is a friendly and open campus. There are small classes and approachable instructors. There are a variety of clubs on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The first two years is like an upgraded high school review.

  • 12/17/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - ...who like the benefits of a small school in a big city environment. -...who want to explore new cultures or a school with diversity. -...who like being treated as an individua,l instead of a name on a sign in sheet.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Make sure you fill out your FAFSA report -Apply for scholarships and grants -Take advantage of the brand new library -Get Involved!

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is very affordable. There are many scholarship opportunities for all students. Also tuition is approximately $9,150 per semester and you can take anywhere from 12-19 credits. That breaks down to $481-$763 per credit. Also the cafeteria is buffet style and the Courtyard Cafe is affordable as well.

    Did enjoy being here

    The staff is friendly and the professors are great. The campus is in a excellent location and it's also not too far from University of Hawaii-Manoa or the beach. I didn't like staying in the dorms and that is why I gave it a 3-star rating.

    Did learn a lot

    I was a day Undergraduate student studying Criminology during the Spring 2009 semester and the Fall 2009 semester. The professors for my major are all incredible. They are very knowledgeable and more than willing to do what it takes to help you succeed both during and after college.

  • 03/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Chaminade may be very expensive but all schools are expensive Chaminade University offers a lot of, FREE MONEY it's just a matter of you going out there and looking for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate Don't Slack Always take Advantage Help is everywhere

    Bang for the buck

    Always ask for help, Scholarships and free money are offered. Many workshops to also help every student.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending Chaminade University, because not only is it small. But it's just the right size if you want to gain something. Unlike other huge schools you need to fight for attention to obtain any knowledge you want and need.

    Am learning a lot

    YES! indeed I am learning a whole lot here at Chaminade University, there are a lot of things to take advantage of and no reason for any student not to learn, because Chaminade helps any student in need.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is very dependable.

    Greek Life

    None existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs such as Hula, Samoan, Belly Dancing, Environmental, Educational, Football, and Surfing. If there is not a club that fits your needs you have the ability to create it.

    Great for these types of students

    Chaminade is a school for students who prefer a school with a small campus and class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a student at Chaminade has introduced me to cultures from the neighboring islands.

    Bang for the buck

    For Chaminade being a private school it is more on the affordable side.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is a fifteen minute walk.

    Food and Dining

    The food experience is limited. There is always fruit and salad options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is extremely welcoming. There are so many wonderful services that are provided to the residents living at Chaminade.

    Academic Rigor

    Chaminade provides a variety of different majors to fit everyone interests. If a course is challenging there are a variety of ways to get additional tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are several scholarships that offered to first time college students. Check the website at chaminade.edu.

    In three sentences

    Chaminade is a community where you always feel welcome. It is smaller campus which allows you to get to know everyone on a personal basis. There is always something to do on campus.

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a close-knit community

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour if you can! Ask questions! The faculty at Chaminade is very helpful and willing to answer whatever questions you may have.

    Bang for the buck

    Chaminade is pretty pricey. The campus is pretty nice but the dorms aren't anything amazing. The rooms are very small. The campus is just very small and it seems a little limited..

    Will enjoy being here

    Chaminade is a very small school where everyone seems to know everyone. The two times that I visited the campus made it evident that teachers and students at Chaminade have a very close-knit, family like relationship. Small class sizes allow students and professors to work together on a more personal level. I can tell that I will feel at home at Chaminade University.

    Will learn a lot

    I met Dr. Goff, a Forensics Science professor at Chaminade and was very impressed with his knowledge of the field. I was also able to see some of the things which will be covered in the Forensics program and was glad to see how much hands-on learning is available for students.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe. so far nothing has happened here in chaminade. the campus is so small that you can't hide anything from anyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are more than 20 clubs in this small school of ours, but we make the most of it.

    What to do for fun

    chaminade has several activities that brings the students together. there are several activities that i had enjoyed.

    Tips for prospective students

    chaminade may be an expensive school, but it's worth it.

    In three sentences

    chaminade is an amazing school. the faculty, staff, and students are very friendly. the environment is awesome as well.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food pretty good, there's lots of variety, everyone is well accommodated, and it's all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorm is a wonderful experience,the students are friendly, there are always fun events planned for you, and you feel like your a part of one big family.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but when your done, you feel like you've truly obtained valuable information.

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay on top of your work, and be a cheerful person.

    In three sentences

    Chaminade is a very nice school, and the people are very welcoming and accepting of cultural differences. Its interesting to see how Chaminade gets its students involved in the community. And it the perfect school to choose because your not just another student, your family.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Chaminade has security but like any school/university, we have our share of car break ins and vandalism.

    Clubs and Activities

    Chaminade has many clubs and activities that the students can participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL STUDENTS

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -There are many different activities that happen on campus throughout the year

    Bang for the buck

    -Activity center (TV, pool table, computers, couches for relaxing) -Computers for loan (FREE of charge and if you qualify) -For the boys...the ratio of girls to boys is about 9:1 -Free bus pass if you are a student (limited amount available)

    What to do for fun

    The university has a gym, great lawns to relax on, and a activity center where students can watch movies, play pool, access the internet, or simply hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Chaminade offers a cafeteria where students can eat buffet style. You pay a flat rate and it is all you can eat. We also have a Cafe which offers hot lunch, frozen selections, sandwiches, pizza, drinks, and snacks at a fairly decent price.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a student currently in the Nursing program and the course here are very challenging. However, we have wonderful professors/advisors who open their doors to us. We also have a state of the art simulation lab that allows us to practice our skills before doing them in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Great university but very expensive...applying for financial aid, scholarships, and grants is a MUST! -You will never get lost on campus because it's very small -It's walking distance from the bus stop, grocery stores, and many food places

    In three sentences

    1. Chaminade has a very small, yet nice campus. 2. Chaminade is a Catholic university that has great Marianist values that all students are required to abide by. 3. Chaminade provides a great learning environment and has many professors that really care for their students.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chaminade University of Honolulu has different extra-curricular activities for the students. There are many activities such as live performances from local, yet famous bands; Pacific Island Review (PIR) where students perform a cultural dance, based on where they are from. Students want to have fun, so there are many students that socialize, make friends, and hangs out with their friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is always time to eat. Students tend to rush to class without eating breakfast, but there is are two different cafes on campus where students eat.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am currently not living in the dorms, I still have time to spend with my other friends that are living in the dorms. By staying in the dorms, you tend to get to know and make friends with other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Chaminade University of Honolulu is a small university located on a hill, which is isolated from the city. It is a peaceful setting where students can learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    A small campus like Chaminade can help students get to know other students, faculty and staff members easily. Students from different places around the world come to Chaminade, sharing their beliefs and cultures through extra-curricular activities, and in or out of class.

    In three sentences

    Although it is located on a small hill, I find it amazing of what is provided by the small university. It is is a small campus where you basically know everyone here. Chaminade University of Honolulu helps student by shaping their lives spiritually, mentally, and even physically.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe here. Security is always driving around giving tickets in the parking lots. They're out there patrolling.

    Greek Life

    None except for acadmic fraternitites.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't think there are too much except maybe games and some free classes of offered such as yoga and zumba. I usually don't go to the school events, but they do have some good clubs and activities planned by student leadership and housing.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about learning, service-learing through volunteering, getting to know students, staff, and professors, want small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a catholic university, but roughly half of the school are actuallly catholic. The school is beautiful. You get to live in a pretty place.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get a better quality education with smaller classes. It could be from 13-20 some students per class. Compare that to a public university.

    What to do for fun

    Well, it's Hawaii. Beaches, surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving, biking outside, walks and runs by the beach, hikes... people come here for vacations. Enjoy the weather.

    Food and Dining

    I like the dining hall. They have a couple different choices everyday, and always has a fresh salad and fruit bar.

    Dorm Life

    I am over 21 so I chose to live off-campus. I hear it's okay, but really it'll be a personal opinion because I do not like sharing a room with anyone.

    Academic Rigor

    I guess it can depend on your major, such as nursing, which is pretty rigorous. But for each class, you get what you put in. If you're just trying to pass, it may not be too hard. But if you're trying to get A's and B's, you really have to put in the time and effort to study and understand the materials/write well/research well. You can always reach your professors and ask questions and guidance. You can call, email, or go to their office. I love how I can email them, and I get a response fairly quickly, or call their office during their office hours and am able reach them. You don't get that in public universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a super social life, then this school is not for you, apply to University of Hawaii instead. But if you want a better quality education at a beautiful location with a friendly atmosphere, this school is great. The classes are super small, so you are held accountable, and will learn more.

    In three sentences

    I like the small classes with great professors, and the friendly, warm atmosphere of this private Catholic shool. It is a small school but I prefer it over a huge university. The school is gorgeous, the island is beautiful, the weather is nice; you can make the best of your time here.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security here is active. It does not matter where a student maybe on campus, securities are available. Securities are always around ensuring safety for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs on campus. Every person is involved in at least one or two. There are ethnic group clubs, religious clubs, and clubs just for fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus once again is at a location not too far from anywhere. The bank, the airport, the water, and even the movies are relatively close to the university.

    What to do for fun

    Students are left with several options here in Hawaii. The university is almost at the center of business. The water is close by for swimmming with friends, the hike spots are close by, stores and malls are always there for your needs.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent. The cafe hosts buffets for every meal. Students are able to have whatever is wanted at whatever amount pleases them. This is already included in the students' tuition.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been dorming. My friends though, they say the dorm life is peaceful most of the time. And things hardly go wrong because everyone cooperates. And many interesting people are around to meet.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic so far is not a hassle, the reason being is that I am still Freshmen. It has mostly been review from my high school classes. Generally the classes are easy and fun

    Tips for prospective students

    New students should prepare to have a whole different experience. Things would not be the same as the high school years. It can become difficult, but with the many people around to help things will be easier than thought. Always be prepared to pay for college expenses and tuition. The university does offer some, but students will need outside help.

    In three sentences

    Chaminade University has been a success. The teachers or professors are attached to their small population of students within the class. The University outstanding in the fields it offers.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security and locked gates

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs for everything

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, love the ocean and outdoors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They host a Basketball Tournament on Maui every year and for $150 you can go. It was a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall its a good school, but it really isn't worth it unless your in the Forensics or Nursing programs, the rest is just par.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is really close, Waikiki is the closest beach and the largest tourist destination in Hawaii. There is a lot of great hikes and plenty of other things to do in the outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is definitely not the best food I've ever had is good on some nights, many food establishments are close by.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best living arrangement's but it is in Hawaii so you can't complain,

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are difficult at times but still very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only go if your as forensics major or a nursing. Those are the schools specialties, everything else is just par education.

    In three sentences

    It is a rather small school, that doesn't provide that full college experience. The rules are rather strict as a Catholic School. Still a good school for forensic science

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Again being that I take most of my classes on line I'm not on campus but when I was I do see security all over campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I belong to the Education Club, it is fun and exciting and filled with wonderful activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for any student who is determined to make a difference in the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private university and tuition is a bit higher than UH, but you have great classes and wonderful professors.

    What to do for fun

    I take online and evening course so I'm not at the actual campus, but I get emails of tons of wonderful activities the school plans for all of their students.

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Chaminade University does have a tough educational backing, but it you commit yourself the professors are there to assist you through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want in your life and don't let anyone stop you from achieving your goals.

    In three sentences

    It is an exciting and informative school. The teachers are exceptional and really care about the development of all their students. It is a top notch school.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Aside from the university fun, Chaminade is close to the beach so one could also go to the beach during the weekend. There are night life close by so it never gets boring when school is out of session. The bus routes take you anywhere so its easier for easy access to activities all around the island.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but it's really expensive especially for breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Chaminade offers a lot of rigorous classes that's very challenging on an individual level. The classes may be easy at first, but I really like that it starts off easy and gradually gets harder. The professors are very understanding and as long as its reasonable, I'm sure they're understanding about the situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upcoming students that's planning on attending Chaminade, I welcome you to a great school year here at Chaminade. Chaminade is unique to that of other universities because the campus is that enclosed that you are able to learn a lot of the faculties names and they will have the chance to get to know your name and who you are personally. I like this school because my professors try to get to know me at a deeper level rather than a name bases. For prospective students, I would encourage you all to approach your professors with any problems that you may have regarding the course or anything in particular and they are always willing to help you in whatever ways they can. Also, join a lot of clubs and create a social network with other students to make you feel welcome and at home here at Chaminade. Also, bring shoes because you will be climbing up and down hills often!!! Good luck!

    In three sentences

    Chaminade University is a very small university where you are able to share a relationship with your professors that will last longer than a semester. The students, faculties, and staffs are very friendly. This university is one of the safest universities here on the island of Oahu.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A university is always going to be more expensive, but you get what you pay for. I do feel that Chaminade is a great school to get an amazing education.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the island of Hawai'i with your classmates and enjoy the wonderful dining they have all around campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many places to dine and eat, I cant list all of them, but do visit Soul Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus so I couldnt speak on this subject.

    Academic Rigor

    OFF THE CHARTS!!! AMAZING

    Tips for prospective students

    Think big not small, and give 150%!

    In three sentences

    Chaminade is a wonderful school to attend and it has a wonderful Education program. This university caters to your every need. Attending this school has open my eyes to new levels of greatness.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are adventurous, easy going, and appreciate help from staff.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, beaches, concerts, city life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out what classes you want to take before hand.

    In three sentences

    Students are close to each other, friendly staff, and thorough in teaching.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hit up the beach, or the club!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in contact with your adviser!

    In three sentences

    Very diverse student body community. Everyone is real accepting. Staff works hard to ensure that your files are all in order.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly safe most of the time, but take a buddy or pepper spray with you at night. I've known several people who have been followed and a couple who have been assaulted coming home late at night from work.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can start just about any kind of club you want. In place, there are already a lot of cultural clubs and dance clubs. There is also a club in place for almost every degree program offered, and these clubs are really good for learning more about your career and preparing for it. There are several social justice-type clubs, athletic clubs, and sometimes just plain random clubs too.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is extremely diverse and prioritizes justice, equality, and community. It is particularly accepting of LGBT students. I have not known anybody to be harassed for being gay or transgendered, and there is a pretty substantial population representing the LGBT community on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    The sense of community is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of places to go hiking and lots of beaches to choose from. Waikiki is always an interesting area to go exploring and there are all kinds of things to go check out as far as Hawaiian culture. Clubbing is fairly popular, though not quite the same as it is on the mainland.

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally very average, but the kitchen does respond to feedback. There is a main cafeteria which is open for lunch and dinner and a smaller place to buy snacks or meals all throughout the day. For one night during exam week, they also have a free breakfast buffet, which is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of activities to help you get connected with other people and most of the halls become small, tight communities. It's a dry campus, so no alcohol in the dorms, even if you're 21. The living space is decent and conveniently located, but it is rather expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the rigor depends largely upon what program you're in and who you get as far as professors. The wonderful thing is that most of the professors will help you out if you're struggling or if you're bored and need a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of conferences, clubs, and other programs pertaining to your degree and career. You'll gain a lot of experience and it will give you a more competitive edge. Get to know your professors. Try new things.

    In three sentences

    It's a very small school and you'll start to recognize everybody after a short while, be that good or bad. It's a very positive, accepting environment and it begins to feel like family. It's not the most competitive school (aside from the forensic science program), but you gain a lot from the culture that you can't get anywhere else.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing is ever totally safe but this sure is close

    Greek Life

    !!!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Any I am a single mom - I go part online and summer on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cultural element is amazing !!!!!

    What to do for fun

    Um it is Hawaii what else do you need?

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors -they really do care

    In three sentences

    Chaminade University has been a 10 out of 10 for me. As a student I am supported and as a consumer my needs are met. Love this school!

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its been very good since I have been attending school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many different clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are not very big ,its just a great college to me.

    In three sentences

    Chaminade is very good college. The teachers are so helpful and understanding. Students on campus are a variety of nationalities .

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there and willing to help. If you feel unsafe walking somewhere on campus at night, you can call and they will give you a ride. Security is wonderful and never fail at their job.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs on campus including many polynesian clubs for our polynesian population to feel at home with their traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private institution but worth every penny. There are many things to get involved in and the faculty and staff are friendly. Since we have small class sizes, students really get to know their professors and the professors actually learn all our names.

    What to do for fun

    The Office of Student Activities & Leadership always has events for students to attend. There is always a dance for each holiday and there are many varieties of events on campus. For example, there are zumba classes, self-defense classes, yoga classes, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and is made fresh daily. I bring my family here all the time and we all love it!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very safe and you can always call security or your Resident Assistants for anything you need help with.

    Academic Rigor

    Chaminade University does a great job on challenging their students just enough so that they will stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to get in the habit of studying hard because here at Chaminade, the courses are tough and will challenge you in a great way. I would also advise to ask for help whenever you need it. Whether it be academic or personal problems, there will always be someone on campus to help you.

    In three sentences

    Chaminade University follows the five characteristics of Marianist universities with great pride. The faculty and staff are always there to help and there are many events on campus for students to get involved in. Overall, Chaminade provides a loving and warm environment to pursue your education.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I leave my books computer in the library while I make a phone call online, and never have had a problem.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, but there are not too many members in each of them because it is such a small school. But they do have some fun ones like surfing club, scrubs club(premed), nursing club, MMA club...etc.

    Great for these types of students

    All, not a huge party school which is good because it allows you to focus on school more, but for the weekends where you feel like you need to let loose, University of Hawaii @ Manoa is down the road.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is such a diversity here that you get to experience traditions from all cultures. Hula dancing, poly club singing, Japanese dancers not your average american college.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit expensive, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    5 minute drive to downtown Waikiki, whats not to love?

    Food and Dining

    Food is exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    I dont dorm.They are not top notch.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major. Nursing is HARD here.

    In three sentences

    Going to a small school feels like everyone is family. I am in a difficult program, and it makes people come together rather than struggle on your own as I have experienced in a community college. Beautiful campus, would not attend anywhere else.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety here is adequate. Yes we do have security guard around and cameras, but, we lack the one thing other universities of Oahu have, which is needing an ID card to enter any of the school building or facilites.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that go on on campus. We have all kinds of cultural clubs such as Tongan or Hawaiian club. We have intramural a throughout the semesters. There is also many free classes given on dance or fitness.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for criminology and nursing students. Very excellent programs!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun at Chaminade. We have a fitness facility where student can go and work out. We have tennis and volleyball courts. And there is always something to do in the lounge!

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. The great thing is that the Cafeteria takes suggestions and usually all of the suggestions are met.

    Dorm Life

    I live in an off campus student housing apartment facility. It is great, the R.A's make a lot of fun activities happen where we can hang out and get to know the people in our apartment community.

    Academic Rigor

    There are great programs here,but, only a select few of programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and you will pass!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with an outlook of Diamond Head. Small campus and classes so it easy to communicate with professors and also to make friends. Everyone is friendly and the professors really try to help you!

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's really small and there is always security and security cameras all over the place.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe we even have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food is okay. It really depends. Best food is off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what classes you take

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join activities or go out with the new friends you have made.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I never dorm at Chaminade.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't taken any classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions or even for help.

    In three sentences

    This is school is friendly. Atmosphere is very comforting and welcoming. Chaminade really helps attain ones dreams.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is quite safe as there is security around the clock, but be cautious and go with friends if you're going around parts of Honolulu at night.

    Greek Life

    There is none to speak of.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is my favorite part about attending Chaminade. There are a myriad of clubs and activities available to students, from gaming clubs to academic honor societies to dance clubs and intramural sports. If there's a club you want to be in but don't see it on the roster, start it! It's super easy to get started, and once you get through (an admittedly fair bit of) paperwork then you're good to go. Chances are, if you want something there's someone on campus that wants it too.

    Bang for the buck

    In terms of anything but academics, Chaminade is a fair university for those that enjoy small communities. Academia wise it varies from program to program, with only about five or so majors (in terms of a Bachelor's program) being really worth your money. However, being situated in Hawaii has provided a rich cultural experience and a welcoming community that is well worth staying here for.

    What to do for fun

    This also depends on what your idea of fun is. Of course there are many beaches and plenty of activities to do in Waikiki, but there are also numerous hiking opportunities, as well as food festivals and a decent nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    The food, while definitely an improvement from when I started in Fall 2010, is still rather lackluster. While it is filling, and there are a variety of options to choose from including a fruit and salad bar and a grill, you could likely find places that are better off campus. The meal plans are also expensive, especially if you do not plan to eat in the cafeteria often.

    Dorm Life

    Being a student from the mainland, it was great to have a place to stay when I knew no one else and did not know the island at all. The rooms, if not sizeable, are functional and clean, and to be honest living in Hawaii you're not likely to remain in your room all that often anyway. I'd definitely recommend living off-campus or not in student housing after your first or second year, as the residential life office can be unreasonable at times.

    Academic Rigor

    To be fair there is a variance in difficulty among each program, and among students. For me, coming from a straight-A, AP-course filled high school career, the first year was really more of a review of high school and was frustratingly simple. However, as you progress, upper level classes tend to stray away from merely shoving concepts down your throat and will focus more on seminars and discussions, making you remember and apply concepts learned early on, which is excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check out the campus if possible. Chaminade shares a campus with a private Marianist high school, and is quite small, but pretty.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lost and found, Patrolling campus buildings, grounds, and parking areas, Securing and opening campus buildings and classrooms, as needed, Maintaining overall traffic control on campus by monitoring traffic flow, Issuing van keys to authorized and scheduled users, Escorting students during evening hours, if requested, and Respond to routine and emergency calls.

    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish club, Adventure club, Samoan Club, Hawaiian Club, Surf Club, Criminal Justice Club, Nursing Club, MMA Fitness Club, Physics Club, Tahitian Club, Tongan Club, Silverswords Blogger, Rugby Club, Gay Straight Alliance, Environmental Club, Education Club, Asian Cultures Club, Civic Engagement Club, Gamers Guild, HIP-History Club, Accounting Club, and etc...

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, religious, need smaller classes to learn or extra help, very close to their cultural roots.

    What to do for fun

    On campus they have many activites and clubs you can join to have a better experience on campus. My favorite is the dance clubs. Twice a year they all go up against eachother and try to show off their skills in front of the whole school. Through this event everyone gets to see the different cultures and races of Chaminade.

    Food and Dining

    Chaminade dining and food is not a five star experience, but they have enough food to get you through the years there. The cafeteria has different varieties of food that let the foreigners taste the local flavor of Hawaii. Right off campus there is a food store and different food stops so you can pick up your own food. We are provided with a kitchen so we students can create our own meals.

    Dorm Life

    So here is the thing with dorm life at Chaminade University, there is nothing to do on campus unless you make the fun yourself with your friends. The campus is very dry because there arenâ??t that much people that live in the dorms. Having a dry campus isnâ??t always bad because there is less chances you will get sidetracked and not lack on the school work. On the positive side, there is a lot to do off campus too keep you busy. Another positive is that the dorms are very nice and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Chaminade Universityâ??s classes range from easy to vigorous. Depending on the studentâ??s choice of courses they take, they decide whether they will be challenged or not. The academic advisors will review your previous grades/experiences and help assign the perfect classes for you.

    In three sentences

    Chaminade University is a wonderful private catholic school that provides the students unique opportunities they wouldnâ??t receive at any other college. This quiet but joyful school has teachers that relate to the small classes they teach making sure every student gets the help they need. Chaminade University is a great college to go to because they make the transition from high school to college easy peasy.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You need to be dedicated and ready to take on the challenges in the field of Counseling Psychology. As long as you have the passion, you can do well!

    In three sentences

    It's a school that is strict but aims to prepare you well for the real world.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    read, arts and crafts, spend time outdoors, swim

    Tips for prospective students

    embrace the college experience! ups and downs.

    In three sentences

    it's a great school with amazing students and a great staff. the people are always smiling and very friendly. the staff is always readily available to help.