Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Champlain College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who want to learn about technology as this school has hundreds and hundreds of computers available to use for a good portion of the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to cope with the core program, it may be a lot of reading/ essays that some people don't seem to find the time to complete.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Champlain is expensive. It is a very nice school with a lot of technology available to students, but for someone who doesn't have loads of cash lying around; it might be difficult to go for four years.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've had a good time at Champlain, and in Burlington. The location is great because in summer time you have the lake you could go to, and during winter there are prime locations to go skiing/snowboarding within an hour ride.

    Am learning a lot

    Champlain has a lot of good teachers, however I feel as though some of the courses could have been dealt with differently. For instance, being a Game Programming major, I had to take a C++ course during second semester and it was a large 3 hour block of coding madness that didn't really help me learn all that much. This year they have reorganized the class into two days, one in a lab and one in a classroom. This should work much better than last year.

  • 07/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Champlain is great for people who love the environment; they put a lot of emphasis on it. It's also good for people who like to put a heck of a lot of extra time into their in-class assignments. Most classes require it anyway but if you enjoy working on things at home or in your dorm until it's perfected then you'll excel here in no time.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get there you'll find you have a heck of a lot of freedom, teachers won't care if you show up to class but they sure as heck won't care if you fall behind because of fooling around either. If you're not serious in what you're doing (and I'm not talking about the occasional mental health day) then you'll fall behind quick and it's hard to come back up. Don't make too many mistakes and you'll make it just fine.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite this being a private college, it's a little pricey. If it wasn't one of the best for my major and didn't have so much to do I'd say it wasn't worth it but it's alright for what I'm learning.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's an endless possibility of things to do here. From free movie nights to gingerbread house making right before Christmas plus an array of other activities suited for nearly every interest out there. If it doesn't exist, it's so easy to make it and find others interested as well! The dorms are cozy and it's not hard to find friends or something to do around town.

    Am learning a lot

    Champlain has a lot of great teachers that don't hesitate to take their personal time to make you the best you can be. Whenever people said that I'd always think they were being paid but honestly it's true. It's only been one year but I've improved a lot since I came here.

  • 02/04/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your interested in one of the more specialized majors like video game programing or graphic design, then this school might be a good fit. If your interested in studying something like business, I would steer you towards a school like UVM. You'll save money and still be in Burlington, which is unique city and a pretty cool place to live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school first. Eat a meal in the dining hall and pay attention to the kinds of people who go there. The school has a very unique culture, and its important to make sure that you would fit into it before you jump in and spend the next four years in Burlington at Champlain.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are good, and the professors do their best (for the most part), but I when all is said and done, your paying about $40,000 for an education that I would argue isn't worth nearly that much. Student life at Champlain is great, and I suspect that's where most of you money goes because the behind the scenes stuff like financial aid and registering for classes is horrendous. The school may be making improvements, but it felt like I was paying a lot for only a decent education and a lot of headaches trying to get scheduling and financial aid figured out.

    Did enjoy being here

    Burlington is a town. The people are nice, and the city is beautiful. There was a good number of things to do in the city, but often Burlington would show its size: small. The nearest grocery store or wal-mart is a bit of a haul to get to, and not at all convenient. The culture of the town is still pretty cool though, with lots of local shops and restaurants. If your not into bigger cities, but don't want to live in a small town, then Burlington might be a perfect medium for you. The dorms are restored Victorian mansions which also come along with their own pros and cons. The buildings are just neat looking, and full of little charms. In my dorm we discovered an attic hidden above the ceiling tiles, and the older doors in the building had the coolest hinges. The small size of the dorms fosters a camaraderie among your dorm mates. Its difficult not to become friends with the people you live in the dorm with. A word of warning, because the school has many video game majors, there are a lot of guys that attend the school, and a good portion of them are on the nerdier side. For some this might be a good thing, for me, not so much. My interests lay in other things than video games.

    Did learn a lot

    The schools nontraditional core program is both a blessing and a curse. Its set up to allow you to explore several different topics at once in a small discussion based classroom. Given the right professor, the core classes can be great. The drawback is a lack of clear focus, and difficulty transferring credits. The classes are given vague titles such as Concepts of the Self. The class is supposed to teach you about what forms an identity based on art, psychology, literature, and science. Although it looks good on paper, its impossible to go over so many different and disparate topics in any sort of detail. Classes in your major tend to be more focused than the core classes. I was a graphic design major, and can't speak well to what students in another major might experience. I was quite impressed with what the school promised it could be. It seemed to me that the GD program had the potential to become quite good, but it seemed like it was still in an early stage of growth and only starting to come into its own.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love small schools where you get to know your professors personally, get involved in a lot of clubs, and enjoy small cities like Burlington, Vt, then you will love Champlain College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with all of your homework, it's easy to fall behind if you miss an assignment. Also, try joining a group or club, you'll meet a lot of friendly people there.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many activities on campus. I am in multiple clubs and absolutely love them. There's always something to do on the weekends, so I never get bored.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who know what they want to major in, career focused, concerned about the environment

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour and meet the professors specific to your major. They're very nice and you'll get a feel for whether or not the college is the right one for you. Don't be afraid to get an email address of a dean or professor off of the website and send them questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the campus life is great, I felt that the level of academics was not worth such a high price. I would say that this is improving as time moves on.

    Did enjoy being here

    The dorms are awesome and very cozy. It felt like living with a family. Everyone is very nice and close with each other. You'll never have to eat dinner alone! The food was great and the student center was an awesome place to hang out and meet new people.

    Did learn a lot

    The academics specific to a major are strong (a 4.5/5) but some of the classes needed for basic requirements were not challenging. Many of the full time faculty are passionate about their area of concentration and greatly help students.

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who are not drawn to the big city and don't like the traditional test-taking style of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit visit visit! The campus is gorgeous and the students and faculty are friendly. Before you apply, you really need to consider if Burlington is right for you. It is a very hip little town, but it is undeniably tiny.

    Bang for the buck

    Champlain loses me with its low selection of majors. If I'm going to spend that kind of money, I want to be able to build an eclectic schedule.

    Will enjoy being here

    I would love to give Champlain a full five star; Burlington is a great town (even if seemingly infested by hipsters) and Champlain has a beautiful, laid back campus. However, it is hard to ignore Champlain's apparent lack of diversity. This may be benefit for prospective minority students, but among the faculty it creates a singular perspective. As a multi-ethnic prospective student, I felt uncomfortable at times as the faculty read their original work. Thankfully I was under the instruction of the more open-minded and brilliant, but several pieces revolved around VERY occident-centric, xenophobic views. I get the impression that many of the Champlain faculty have not ventured into the world outside Vermont and this is heightened by low diversity amongst the faculty.

    Will learn a lot

    I attended Champlain's Young Writer's Conference and it was an amazing experience! I highly recommend it to anyone interested in creative writing, poetry, songwriting, or performance. The sessions I took were very well-organized and fascinating. The faculty led with a hands on style and never seemed arrogant or unfriendly (at least the ones I came into contact with) and they all had wonderful perspectives. The leaders taught some great classes on working with specific genres, why some novels fail, building your confidence as a slam poet, learning to write freely and working within a believable setting. VERY informative an interesting; I was very impressed.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Champlain is great for anyone who enjoys small colleges and a close community of great people.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE CHAMPLAIN

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning things that actually apply to ME and the things I want to do when I graduate. The professors are actually interested in teaching you the skills you'll need to get a job once you're in the real world.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus public safety is located right down the street from campus and are always just a phone call away. our blue light system on campus is connected to both cps and the burlington police department. there has never been a safety situation in which it has been used.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is something for everyone! champ - champlain's student-run planning committee (snowball, spring meltdown, spirit week, comedian/mind reader/psychic visitors) saps (student activity planners) - fondue/movie nights, twister tournaments, be a kid night, tarot card reader/astrologer visits, henna night wilderness planning committee - ice climbing, white water rafting, snow shoeing, ropes course, bobsledding intramural sports - basketball, volleyball, dodgeball, ultimate frisbee, soccer, lacrosse, rugby (division iii, our only divisional sport) active minds - starting the conversation about mental health in college students sga (student government association) - funding for student clubs, the voice of the student population

    Great for these types of students

    skiers and snowboarders love the elongated winters and easy access to local mountains. graphic designers have a menagerie of local landscape to serve as inspiration. game design/cit curriculum consists of state-of-the-art equipment and hard-working professors. it is champlain's most popular major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the fireside lounge, housing the only working fireplace on campus, is a great place for students to relax in between classes and it is also the place for the grind on wednesday evenings. the grind is our open mic night! students can sing, dance, read poetry, whatever they would like for an audience of respectful and open-minded peers. first-year residential housing is guaranteed; students will live in remodeled victorian homes. gorgeous brick buildings lining the residential area of champlain's campus serve as comfortable homes for new students. free movie nights every other thursday of each month! students are shuttled by free taxi from campus to the local movie theatre where they are presented with a free movie pass to a film of their choice. trips put together by the wilderness planning committee: ice climbing, bobsledding in lake placid on the olympic track, white water rafting in maine, a ropes course in new york, and many more.

    What to do for fun

    burlington is the ultimate college town! church street is everyone's favorite downtown place to be, with various hole-in-the-wall eateries, the mall, street vendors and the park. the waterfront is gorgeous in both summer and winter, offering a spectacular view of lake champlain and plattsburgh, new york. for the skiers and snowboarders, champlain is within close range of mountains such as sugarbush, killington, jay peak and stowe. champlain also offers discounted season passes for its students; how does a $30 season pass to sugarbush sound?

    Food and Dining

    our dining hall is run by chef sandy; whatever she says goes! we have a pizza station, salad bar, sandwich station, entre station, international options, and everybody's favorite ice cream corner! there is also a champlain dining hall facebook page which lists all meal options throughout the day for students to view ahead of time. students are able to communicate with sandy and the other chefs and give feedback about the food.

    Dorm Life

    students love the victorian housing during their first year! for upperclassmen, the lakeview building on campus is equipped with spacious rooms and a great view of lake champlain! there are also off-campus housing options, quarry hill and spinner place, which are apartment-style living arrangements. shuttles run from campus to these buildings every 15 minutes during the week.

    Tips for prospective students

    champlain college faculty and staff will work to ensure that you receive the best education possible. small class sizes help students to stand out so that they are not just a face in a lecture hall. integrated learning, career services and opportunities such as annual job and internship fairs allow students to experience the real world early on. take advantage of what the school has to offer and you will be pleasantly surprised!

    In three sentences

    champlain college offers its students every opportunity during their time at the school. international studies, internship availability, real-world information and skills, among many more are included along with the curriculum of classes in each major. champlain aims to prepare its student population for a life outside of college; upon graduation, students are on the pathway to success.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around and willing to help, people are friendly, and Burlington is about as safe as a city gets. Be smart, bring your cell phone, but don't walk down the street at night talking on it. Tell your friends where you're going, and when at all possible go in pairs or more after midnight if you go off campus.

    Greek Life

    When I left there were rumors of some Greek society or other coming on campus, but we didn't have any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Champlain has an enormous amount of activities for their size. There are no true competitive sports, but we have plenty of intramural ones. I recommend checking out the juggling club, table top game club, Champlain Current, and the figure drawing sessions for those artists out there. If you like to plan the activities try CHAMP.

    Great for these types of students

    To really succeed at Champlain you have to be serious about wanting to succeed. This is not a school where coasting through and partying will work. You could pass that way, but you would miss everything that makes Champlain special. Go to the on campus events, do your work (no that doesn't mean you have to live in the library, or that I didn't skip assignments, just pay attention), and take the professors advice seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot is a beaver and the student government t shirts tend to say things like Beava lovin' if you can put up with innuendos then you'll fit in fine. We have a balcony on the third floor of the library that has amazing views of Lake Champlain and it's worth a trip to Burlington just to be up there at sunset. Bring your cameras for the tours.

    Bang for the buck

    If Champlain wasn't so expensive, I'd give them five stars. They are amazing, truly, and I was sorry to leave. Be prepare for a huge amount of loans when you leave, but the experiences you have here and the competence you'll have to face the world will more than make up for it.

    What to do for fun

    Check out Burlington! It's honestly the best small city out there. I recomend the Vermont Pub and Brewery, Halversons, Uncommon Ground, Mirabelles, and the Roxy. If you get a chance check out free shows on church street, the art hope, Burlington Book Festival and a show at the Flynn Theater. Craving take out? 1-800-togo. Monday and Tuesday delivery is free during a certain time.

    Food and Dining

    Champlain utilized Sodexo, but not their top program. They've tried to improve the food to be healthier and tastier, but it really isn't very good. The meat is especially bad. I've had to throw together a meal out of potatoes, bits of the salad bar that weren't wilted, and a bagel before.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in on campus apartments my whole time and feel like I missed out on a lot, especially since I didn't chose to do so in the beginning.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends entirely on your perspective. For me the academics were too easy, for others they were too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you're prepared for the LEAD program (do your research) or you'll be grumbling a lot. Take a tour, take advantage of our gym, and don't be afraid to join the clubs. Everyone is friendly, including the professors. Every one was on a first name basis with all their students.

    In three sentences

    A small business oriented college, your major will feel a bit like a business major with a specific focus. While many of their programs are new, they are working at creating a more integrated education, use www.champlain.edu to check out their Core classes and LEAD program.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aspiring to learn, and work with others in their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wonderful admissions staff!! Super helpful!

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fast learners who like experienced instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    The 7-week classes are fast. Keep up with the reading assignments and encourage the conversation.

    Bang for the buck

    Good education, decent price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Students and instructors are decent and engaging.

    Am learning a lot

    Only just starting, but my time/learning ratio is quite good so far.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and with enough support you can always make a new one if they don't already have what you want!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    things like zombies vs humans and field trips keep things on campus exciting!

    What to do for fun

    burlington is a city that is bustling with activity at all hours of the day and is only a short 10 minute walk down the road. there is always something fun to do on or off campus if you are simply willing to open your eyes!

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining hall is quite good with options ranging from pizza bar to hamburger bar to sandwich bar to international bar and even a diner bar. also they have great ice cream, hard and soft serve, and also things like salad bar, deserts, and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    this being my first year, i have had an amazing experience with my dorm life and all of my housemates. it is practically a large home with so many great people as your family!

    Academic Rigor

    not overly difficult and teachers work well with you to help you achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    come here it is like one big wonderful family! great college for students looking for gaming or computer majors. also great college for digital arts. don't hesitate to come take a tour and see the beautiful dorms and campus.

    In three sentences

    a small, focused, innovative school that does a lot to help the student. laid back school with many great opportunities made available to you. with things like upside-down curriculum and smaller classrooms, you get the education you need.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety patrolling 24/7 for keeping safe college and students.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, and many more great stuff that it offers.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and very nice and friendly place to go to eat after a long hard studying.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professor and very nice teaching environment to be part of.

    In three sentences

    Good small school, for anyone who loves a class not more than 24 students. Great reputation and still growing, and above all good school especially for business majors. I would recommend anyone to come and check out Champlain College in VT.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    definitely a big ski/snowboard area, but there's plenty of other entertainment available. downtown there are lots of coffee shops, bars, shopping, restaurants. every weekend there's concerts and performances happening.

    Food and Dining

    Food's decent up until a month in, at which point you gradually grow a distaste for it. But this will happen at any college. Just look forward to home-cooked food on breaks!

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms- Victorian mansions, fun community, life-changing experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't really too challenging (this is coming from a student who took AP's in high school). The main trouble is actually doing the work; college life can be very fun and distracting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to pursue the majors it offers, especially the gaming majors and media & communications division majors.

    In three sentences

    Champlain is a very nice small private school. The student body and area is very open accepting of all walks of life. Downtown Burlington is fun, overall this is a quaint little college in a quaint little place.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very responsive and take their jobs seriously.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs, including parkour, ski and ride, and tabletop gaming. There are also activities on campus such as yoga and zumba.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are passionate and do work will excel here. Many of the students fail out due to not being organized or doing their work.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends there are shuttles that'll take you to the mountains to ski and snowboard. There is a center that has 2 pool tables and a ping pong table. Music shows is one of the most popular activity around.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that is open most of the time, but doesn't have any late night hours on the weekends or mondays. The menu changes daily, and tries to be diverse as it has an 'international' station and a 'western' station. It also caters to people who are vegan, vegetarian, or gluten-free. The staff is Sodexo. You can check what type of food is served on their Facebook page Champlain College Dining Services.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms on campus are freshmen housing. There are two apartments the school provides to upperclassmen. These apartments have a kitchen. On campus dorms do not have kitchens that are open for resident use. House residents can number from 15-40. Summit is the international dorm and are one of the few dorms that stay open during breaks. Juniper, Lakeview, and Aiderondack are dorms available for sophmores only.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors try to be mindful about the work load, but you'll likely have homework from every class. Papers, presentations, and homework are mostly what go into your GPA. Non-core classes can give tests. Finals week consists of papers and projects that are due. There are many discussion based classes, especially core classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's cold up here in Burlington, so make sure you own a winter jacket. Bring a car if you want to get anywhere outside of Burlington. Inquire if your dorm laundry machines will take the Champlain Cash Card because it's way more convenient than using quarters. Bring only the essentials and some wall decorations.

    In three sentences

    Champlain College will accept most students that apply, however many drop out of the college due to various reasons such as expenses or class failures. It's unheard of that the college closes due to excessive snow. Many of the professors teaching here are adjuncts who have experience in the field, but may not be the best teachers.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who knows what they want to specialize in, because the core curriculum is geared toward you major. You don't have to do those classes that one might have to take at a traditional college, which I feel gives you more time to study in your area of academic study.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun. The malls are just minutes away and there is entertainment, movies, dining and just a brief travel to Lake Champlain. There are also places to see such as the Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream.

    Food and Dining

    I am a fuusy eater so I prefer to make my own meals, but the ones I have gotten there were very good.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life. I have lived in both on and off campus housing and think either one is a great choice. I like the off campus housing primarily because its similar to an apartment and you have your own kitchen so you can eat or cook on your own schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes keep me challenged but not to the point where it is overly stressful. The professors are also always available whenever support is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school and talk with the staff and have your questions answered.

    In three sentences

    I am so glad I chose to attend this school. The core curriculum helps you plan your education so that you are able to make the most of it. I have found nothing bad to say about this school whatsoever.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its fun to go for a walk downtown and the school also provides a lot of cool activities. Also snowboarding and skiing is huge during the winter with a number of mountain within driving distance.

    Food and Dining

    The food is slightly repetitive but good.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms everyone is respectful and there is generally a wide range of people in each dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Champlain has fairly easy academics but it totally depends on your major. You can make it really hard for yourself or very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your work and make sure to make a good impression on your teachers because they can do a lot.

    In three sentences

    Great small school with fairly easy but informative academics. The food is not ideal but doable but the dorms are all really nice. Champlain has a very eclectic population ranging from gamers to athletes to business students.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore the beautiful campus and visit downtown and the Lake are just a few activities to sustain your active life at Champlain.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria has great hours and great food and for any late night snacking you can head downtown.

    Dorm Life

    Surrounded by beautiful downtown, Lake Champlain, and living in actual house are a huge plus for the dorm life at Champlain College.

    Academic Rigor

    Generally, class are excellent and the teachers are incredibly helpful. Tips for success are write it down, and be sure to be on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax, and prepare for an awesome first year where you are going to meet a bunch of friends and teachers. Be sure to keep an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Champlain College is the perfect for everyone seeking a degree in business or technology. With a beautiful campus and incredible teachers Champlain College is a top choice. Champlain's campus is worth a visit, check it out for yourself.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am an online student and feel this is an excellent online educational experience if you are an online learner. If you are self-disciplined this course will provide a great experience for you.

    What to do for fun

    I started taking violin lessons in the spring, write short stories, sing and write songs. Enjoy time with my family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student and once again cannot speak to the food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student, so I cannot speak to the dorm life at Champlain. I can only imagine being in the Vermont mountainous region and waking up to that view everyday would be awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is comparable to other colleges. The professors provide adequate lessons that requires interaction with classmates, and provides research opportunities with real-life scenarios. Some of the professors require an agenda that is filled with daily lessons and at least one major paper per week and one team project due by the end of the eight week period.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are; if you are self-disciplined and enjoy online education the instructors provide quality learning and challenging class opportunities. Champlain requires an on-site internship during the middle of the degree program. They also offer a graduate certificate in Health-care Quality Improvement.

    In three sentences

    Champlain College provides an online opportunity for students to complete their health-care related degree. The administration is available to you through the continuous process and provides instruction on the Angel Learning dashboard, registration, financial aide and is available for questions. Champlain also has an online bookstore to purchase or rent the textbooks required for courses.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am currently interested in the Game Art program, and I have heard only good things about Champlain. It seems to be incredibly well known for its gaming programs. Anyone who is interested in a video game major would be making a great choice in Champlain.

    Food and Dining

    Freshman get unlimited food, which is awesome. Plus, the exercise room is right next to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are renovated Victorian houses, which is pretty cool. It's so beautiful there. The dorms might be a little small, though.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I'm still in high school, I don't know exactly how rigorous the classes are, however I have heard from students that they require a lot of work and (particularly for an art major) a lot of time will be spent on projects.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lights on campus, and Public Safety is available 24/7 for any issues.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs ranging from academic to sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to be social and meet new people. It's a small school so everyone knows each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You must watch the sunset from the third floor of the library before you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of the classes are not worth what you pay for, but it really depends on the professor you have.

    What to do for fun

    Ski, snowboard, walk around downtown, go shopping.

    Food and Dining

    There is one dining hall and if you live on campus you are forced to get the meal plan, which there is only one - unlimited.

    Dorm Life

    You meet a lot of new people. Depending on your dorm it can be quiet, or it can be loud.

    Academic Rigor

    Champlain is not academically hard. As long as you go to class and do the work you will get good grades. The only way to really do bad is to not do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are 100% positive on your major before you go to school there.

    In three sentences

    Champlain is a great college if you know for certain what you want to do with your life. With the upside-down curriculum, you take classes in your major as a first year student. Burlington, Vermont is also one of the most beautiful cities you'll ever go to.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Champlain College is located right near several ski areas so if you like skiing or snowboarding, then you're in for a treat! They also host Rail Jam every so often on campus as well!

    Food and Dining

    Like most other colleges, Champlain has a basic meal plan, but overall, the food was maybe a 3/5. Still, that's just me and my opinion, so don't let it stop you from going there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were great as well! We were told that Champlain specifically picks roommates based on compatibility tests so there are no issues later on. They allow most anything in the dorms as well, save microwaves and things of the sort.

    Academic Rigor

    They've got a great syllabus for students. They do not have tests in core classes, but they still offer them! Plus, you get to start taking classes related to your major the first year you're there!

    In three sentences

    I have only been once, and from that one visit, Champlain College rocketed from my #4 school to my #1 school. The facilities were great and the view of the mountains was awesome! Definitely consider it if you love friendly college atmospheres.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is excellent security, parking regulations, and emergency contacts.

    Greek Life

    For those interested, there are fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that I am exploring to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types, but college is known for it's graphic arts/computer design programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can see Lake Champlain from the campus streets!!! The dorms are restored Victorian estates with exquisite architectural design and woodwork.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is on the higher end, but the specialized academic attention is a huge asset! The location and view is UNSURPASSED!!!!

    What to do for fun

    The Lake Champlain is a few blocks walking distance away to do kayaking and water activities. The college has discounted ski passes also. you can walk anywhere to explore downtown Burlington with shops and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    There is a main dining hall with excellent and numerous choices. there is also a pub on campus and the dining plan allows some meals elsewhere. It is all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are exquisite. They are very old restored Victorian homes with no more than 35 students per building. There is excellent comradery and bonding. They are coed by floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Very strong academics with counselors available to assist you with your major requirements ,and personaliuzed attention to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college, dorms and classrooms. Bring WARM clothing for the winter. Go to web site and explore the curriculums.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent college-small and tailored to my major. The classes are smaller and personalized. The location and view of Lake Champlain is breathtaking!

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Burlington is really safe. Nothing major ever really happens.

    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    It's a small school so there are clubs but not a lot of variety.

    Great for these types of students

    gamers, the environmentally conscious, skiers/snowboarders, people looking to study and party

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chauncey T Beaver is our quirky mascot :)

    What to do for fun

    If you don't drink, your Saturday nights are probably going to be pretty dormant. Parties are really boring sober. The SGA organizes fun evening stuff like free trips to the movies and crafting. Church Street and walking around Burlington is great for warm days and winter sports for winter weekends.

    Food and Dining

    I have gluten allergy and the kitchen staff really works wonders with everyone's dietary restrictions. They still use liquid eggs from a bucket but this is some of the finest cafeteria food you'll find.

    Dorm Life

    MOST dorms have a familial thing going on. The bathrooms can be scuzzy and coed. But freshies get to live in renovated Victorian mansions. And the Victorians are old so they have some quirks but they have a lot of character.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes I'm really bored but other times I'm swamped with busy work. Champlain is very major specific and those major related classes are always the most interesting. The aren't a lot of just for kicks classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour (but keep in mind open houses always put on a show).

    In three sentences

    Champlain is three parts Doctor Who enthusiasts and one part Animal House reenactors. There are loads of nice people willing to help you with whatever you need. It's an all American college experience with a twist of quirkiness.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Public Safety is available 24/7 and can always be reached when called and seen driving around campus. There is also the blue emergency light system all throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    Champlain does not have Greek houses, fraternities, or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and new ones are starting all the time. There's everything from a car club to a paddle board club to an improv group to an equestrian club. Definitely something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Writing majors, game programming or design majors, business majors, career and future oriented students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs Zombies is an event that happens every year that I was particularly struck by as being unusual. That's all I'll say about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Champlain does accept transfer credits which can potentially allow a would be freshman to transfer in as a sophomore and spend three years in college instead of four.

    What to do for fun

    The RAs plan at least one event each month for the dorm and there are usually social events on campus every weekend. There are plenty of clubs to join as well. You can also walk right down to Church Street for food, shopping, or just hanging out. There is a movie theater within walking distance. Champlain students also get free rides on the public transportation.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall can get a little crowded at times but they do have great food options. There are gluten free, vegan, and vegetarian options always. Cooks are friendly and tend to know you as an individual - even after only a couple of visits. Dining hall is opened just about all day during the week and even reopens for late night later in the evening but has limited hours during the weekend so it is easy to miss dinner. Always plenty of dessert options as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are Victorian era mansions for the most part. Some do not have air conditioning though all have cable, wi-fi, and heating. All dorms are smoke and substance free - this is a dry campus. RAs and PAs are real friendly and so are the other students. Some dorms don't have common rooms so it is a bit difficult to get to know your housemates, especially if there isn't a social person on your floor. A great experience to have.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are quite rigorous but the workload is very doable so long as you know how to manage your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before making a decision. The dorms are Victorian era mansions and may not be for everyone. Really do your research and apply early, some programs require a portfolio submission to get in. Apply with plenty of time to complete that. Be aware of deadlines.

    In three sentences

    A small, beautiful campus overlooking Lake Champlain. Easy walk down to downtown Burlington and the waterfront. Programs tailored for career opportunities after graduation.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is available 24/7. I have never felt unsafe while on campus! I would advise however, to be with a buddy when out at night, just because Champlain is an open campus.

    Greek Life

    none- But UVM is right next door!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many great clubs and activities to do on campus! The only problem is finding them and keeping up with the dates/times.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are know what they want to do with their life- Champlain is PERFECT for that. I know many who are undeclared, but coming in with an interest makes the personal experience so much better!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The word unusual isn't the correct word- the word should be BEAUTIFUL! There are certain spots on campus (Library 3rd floor, and dining hall) where the views are breath-taking, especially for sunsets!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, you get what you pay for. The ONLY complaint is how uneven the housing is. For freshmen, you are at a 'hit-or-miss' type of deal when it comes to housing selections. Some people have great rooms for the same price as a small, run-down room.

    What to do for fun

    Going down to Church Street with some friends is always fun! Even without shopping, just walking downtown is fun! If you aren't wanting to walk- especially when it's cold- there is a lot to do on campus, like monthly bowling or movie nights!

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I think there is a lot of options for such a small cafeteria. There are options for any vegetarian, gluten-free, vegan, etc. person- you name it! Some days, there are times when the options are slim but I can always find something to eat! The hours are usually fair, but the dining hall closes early, so an early dinner is a must!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more like houses. Everyone gets to be in a small-knit community within the college at your house. The only complaint is that it doesn't matter whether you're in a single or quad, you will pay the same price. There are some great rooms/houses, and others that more unfair.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes make you think creatively and hard. For the most part, professors are there to help you. The core curriculum is designed to make you more job ready, and isn't like your typical traditional college classes. A LOT of the work done are project-based.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are wanting a personal education that will make you job-ready, Champlain is for you! The programs are constantly changing to form to advances in society. You dive into your major day one, and figure out your skills and interests right off the bat. But just a friendly tip- submit your housing forms early because if you get the short end of the stick (like I did), it makes your experience not as enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Champlain College is career/job-oriented and focuses on student's abilities and interests. It is a small college which offers a lot of opportunity and personal connections. Overall, Champlain is a great school and is the perfect college for someone who is looking to jump right into their field with a intimate education!

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PubSafe is always on the prowl, and always there to help if you get locked out of your room!

    Greek Life

    While Champlain does not host any sororities or fraternities, our neighbour, the University of Vermont, is always welcoming of Champlain students into their Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ski and Ride Center for Service and Civic Engagement Writers' Club Forensic Club Champlain Auto Enthusiast Rugby Team Tennis Team FIREHOSE LEAD BYOBiz

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing Globally minded Socially minded World travelers SnoBros Skateboarders/Longboarders Entrepreneurs Innovators Fun-lovers!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Graduates are given a telescope when they walk across the stage that mimics the telescope of Samuel de Champlain, whom the lake and college are named after. Other than our official mascot Chauncy Beaver, Linus the Cat (a lovable little furball who lives two blocks from the school and constantly roams our campus) is our honorary campus mascot. Humans vs. Zombies is a campus-wide competition played for one week, twice a year. IT GETS INTENSE.

    Bang for the buck

    While the cost of attendance is a little high, this ever-growing private school has everything a student could ever want: dedicated, approachable and available faculty; endless course offerings to expand the mind and one's understanding of the world around them; the opportunity to study abroad at many of Champlain's international campuses and third party affiliates (which extend to countries such as Ireland, Australia and China, to name a few); a priceless location that has something for everybody; and a once-in-a-lifetime chance to meet crowds of people who are just as unique, intelligent and driven as you!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Burlington is THE place to go for all things cool. Art exhibits, live music, numerous bars, fine dining, unique shops and much more are featured on the beloved cobblestone Church Street, which serves as the centerpiece to downtown Burlington. Not to mention that downtown is lined by the gorgeous Lake Champlain, the largest non-Great Lakes lake in the U.S.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo, which runs the dining hall, offers numerous options for students of all diets. Vegetarian and vegan meals are never hard to find, and choices range from Asian cuisine to pizza to sandwiches and much more! Late-night dining is offered Tuesday thru Friday and features student favourites to fuel late-night study sessions.

    Dorm Life

    You have the choice between living in restored Victorian mansions, modern suite-style dorms, or apartment-style housing. All housing options are within a short walking distance of downtown Burlington and Lake Champlain, which has the best nightlife and culture around!

    Academic Rigor

    You will work hard in your courses, but you will take away so much more than you ever expected. Your professors will not let you slip thru the cracks, and you will learn more about yourself and the world around you in even the most academic of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always work hard. Become close with your professors. Be prepared to do your part in the community.

    In three sentences

    The faculty at Champlain embodies an innovative and culturally rich mind focused on social and global welfare. The student body represents the hope for the future that all people share. The location of Burlington offers the greatest diversity you will ever experience.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Burlington is loaded with things to do, whether it's going to the mountains, downtown, or to the waterfront. You'll never be bored at Champlain

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is mediocre, the same as any school. It all tastes the same after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are primarily renovated cottages, which are unique, as each building is different. No other college has dorms like Champlain.

    Academic Rigor

    The majors are competitive, and Champlain's CORE makes it easier to focus on your major, while fulfilling general education requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes, and be prepared for a long winter.

    In three sentences

    Champlain has great resources for multimedia related programs. Its curriculum prepares to students to make an impact in the field of study immediately. Champlain provides a great learning environment, while offering an endless amount of activities.