Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Charleston Southern University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/21/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are Christians and would like to attend a private school in a nice environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus before or after applying.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Although I came from pretty far away, I found my place at CSU instantly. I didn't know anyone when I first got there, but I was accepted right away, getting involved in everything I possibly could. It's a great environment!

    Tips for prospective students

    Charleston Southern is an awesome place to meet people and make great friendships. The school is just the right size to know a lot of people but still keep your close friendships tight. It's near enough to the beach to be tempting, but far enough away that you won't get bored with it by going too often. The city of Charleston is an awesome place; great culture, great food, even greater nightlife.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not the cheapest school, but the experience has definitely been worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love everything about my experience at CSU. Absolutely no complaints!

    Am learning a lot

    Great faculty and diversity in course selection.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to have a small college atmosphere, and love being able to meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    You really need to learn how to manage your money when you get to this school. It is so close to so many shopping centers and food places to go to that you can easily spend a ton of money in your first semester at school. Also you should try to find a good church, there are plenty within just a few miles of the school and it makes college so much better to have a great church to go to. Also if you don't think you will be eating all of your meals in the cafeteria, you can get it changed so you only get 15 meals a week and get fifty dollars for coffee and such in Java City, which is a great coffee place right in the library on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The classrooms are awesome and the school is beautiful. There are only two things I have found that I do not like about the school. The cafeteria food get bland and repetitive after a while. And the dorm rooms are not as nice as some other schools I have seen, even though they are very spacious. The dorms could be much nicer, but they are still okay anyhow.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone here is so friendly. The school is just the right size where you can actually get to know people but just big enough to have your own space.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are amazing and are always willing to help you when you ask. They are all very friendly and keep classes fun and entertaining while you are learning. I love how they always mix faith in the learning.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 out of 13 people found this review useful. 4 people found this inaccurate. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    just read what i said above. i had to leave for safety issues. i dont really care if people rate my comments badly. this is seriously for the people who really want to know what this college is like.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton to choose from. but they don't do anything usefull for the most part. it is mostly ra-ra we are happy christians sort of thing.

    Great for these types of students

    holigans

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the ras told my roommate secret places on campus to smoke.....

    Bang for the buck

    don't feel special if you get a scholarship. everyone does. you will still pay way to much to go to this supposed christian college. i actually became less of a christian while attending csu.

    What to do for fun

    wannamaker park is down the street. and there is a mall about 10 min away. beaches are anywhere from 30-50 min away. isle of palms is the cleanest and best. night life in downtown charleston is scary.

    Food and Dining

    unless you like to eat fresh salad every day of your life or spend tons of money eating out, plan to starve. they have cardboard pizza every day. and a salad bar. otherwise, they serve one main dish. usually a frozen bag of noodles with a little sauce and an inch cube of meat. on weekends all they serve are leftovers.

    Dorm Life

    move in day: you walk in and cant take your shoes off because the floor is so disgusting. literally a thick blanket of dirt. mold in the bathtub. no door on the toilet. mold on all the floor corners. oh and when this school gets bed bugs, all they do is tell you to wash your sheets. 5 girls to a suite.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors here are really nice and very christian!!! but the academics were easier than my junior high courses. didn't even have to study and got as.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't go here unless you hand pick your roommates. otherwise you are put with welfare cases who are going there for free and have serious problems. and they won't let you change rooms because they are overfull with students. this is because 50 % leave during the first semester so they have to overfill in the beginning.

    In three sentences

    please do not skip reading this review! this college recently changed their standards. last year a kid got stomped to death. there is a mass problem with alcohol, sex and drugs and threats. the professors are very nice though. and how is this a christian college? so much crap happened during the 7 weeks i attended that the authorities told csu to get lost when they demanded money for the entire semester. you don't have to go to church on sundays. actually you only have to go to the chapel on church every 3 weeks where dr. hunter talks about school codes. there is no dress code or curfew. office people screw up your finances all the time.

  • 11/16/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As soon as you get there you feel welcomed and they treat you as if you've known eachother for years! Anyone will feel welcomed if they chose to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should most definitly check out the campus it is a new experience!

    Bang for the buck

    Its well worth the money

    Will enjoy being here

    Its a beautiful campus with a homely feel to it.Every one's nice!

    Will learn a lot

    they have small classes and a great student teacher ratio!

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 10 people found this review useful. 6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who live near here and can go home all of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here. The internet never works, the food is really bad, the meal plan is awful. Even if you have 21 meals a week, you have to use only three day and only within the times of one breakfast, one lunch, one dinner. If you are hungry outside of those times, you need to go buy food. The cafeteria hours are not good and there is hardly any food on the weekends/ most things are closed because majority of the people live close to school and go home.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though tuition is fairly high for this school, the financial aid and scholarship that the school offers is absolutely amazing and I personally will not have to pay for any tuition or room & board because of combined scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus life and atmosphere is absolutely beautiful and everyone is very welcoming. There is always something to do. Plenty of games, good food, tutoring help, and nice facilities that allow for an overall pleasurable experience.

    Will learn a lot

    The class sizes are small enough to allow personal time and questions with the teachers, but big enough to have discussion with other great minds and to encourage healthy competition.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sometimes I go to the mall or adventuring around the city. Sometimes my friends and I have a movie night in one of the lounges. Sometimes I just stay in my room and have my own fun!

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't particularly like the food. There are some days that I actually eat, but other days I just grab something quick. Different people have different taste buds.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. Our rooms are actually rather big, compared to other schools'.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research. Gather as much information as you can so that nothing comes as a surprise.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus, it's not too big and everything is neat. I enjoy the events we have around campus, including the sports and chapel on Wednesdays. I love how everyone is friendly.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is average because the security people normally just walk around campus as though they have nothing better else to do. If you need them, they will always come to get your car in a reasonable amount of time. Previously some one's car was stolen and the person has yet to be identified. Just make sure you have your doors locked at all times because our school is an open campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is not as popular at this school because of the size. However there are Greek sororities and fraternities that you find out during the Greek Week and there is also step shows.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs normally are focused on music, God, and volunteering.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who absolutely love God and love sharing their faith with others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many students who walk around campus barefooted and in their pajamas!

    Bang for the buck

    This school has great offers however their tuition constantly increases and the size of the school remains the same! The Career Center helps current and alumni students in job searching.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is not much to do so students hang out in the Brewer Center where they can play basketball, ping pong, watch TV or just chill out. Off campus there is a water park, the mall, and close by there is Folly and Isle of Palm beaches. On Thursday nights some students go to Blue Magic because college students get in free with id.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has the cafeteria, Java City, Edward Express, and vending machines. The vending machines are known for giving the incorrect items and taking your money. The cafeteria has the same food weekly and is not that great. Mostly people get their coffee from Java City between classes and sometimes stop by Edward's for a pizza or a sandwich. Other than that students eat at the Sonics and Wendy's across the street from campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not your average dorm because there is constant construction going on, the cable and ac has been out numerous times. The female doors normally consist of a two and three bedroom suit, meaning that five girls share a conjoined bathroom. While keeping in mind you are paying near eight thousand a year to stay in. There are strict dorm rules--such as the open door policy, meaning that on certain nights your door has to be open for a period of time in order to allow the opposite gender to visit. If you are caught with someone of the opposite gender in your dorm then you are fined.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic dishonesty is taken very serious here. So make sure you only do your work and never cheat! There is always tutors willingly to help you, just make sure you get a good tutor because some do not know what they are doing. Usually you will find a fellow classmate willingly to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student, please keep in mind that this is a small private Christian institution and the professors will constantly relate the Bible to class discussions and everyday life. Every other Wednesday there is a hour long chapel that is mandatory for graduation.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern Unviersity is a small Christian school so in order to truly enjoy your college exprence make sure you get an apartment. If you are struggling academically there is the tutoring center and other places on campus to seek help. If you are not athletic make sure you accumulate as many scholarships possible because tuition and books are outrageously expensive.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards, escorts, and BucAlert is a program that texts, calls or email the campus and your parents when there is a weather or security emergency on campus

    Greek Life

    Psi Delta Phi (Christian Sorority) Psi Kappa Phi (Christian Fraternity)

    Clubs and Activities

    Air Force ROTC, intramural sports, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Baptist Collegiate Ministries, Student Gov. Association, Panhellenic Council, Residence Life Council, Campus Crusade, pool parties, ice skating, harbor cruises, ice hockey games, and midnight bowling. There are over 100 activities each semester!

    Great for these types of students

    Wants to have fun, meet new people, gain experience in a diverse university, not be in debt after you graduate, raised in a christian family, make a difference and enjoy student life!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location is the Wingate hotel on campus but pretty cool to me!

    Bang for the buck

    Student discounts everywhere including the barnes and noble campus store.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Water Park its walking distance from the campus, North Charleston Beach, Tanger Outlets, Downtown Charleston. If you want to stay on campus go to a football, soccer, disc golf, baseball game and more. Play volleyball, hang in the lounges, go to the campus activities, concerts, go swimming at the pool, zumba ,work out, play pool and tons more at the Brewer Center and on Campus entirely!

    Food and Dining

    The Strom Thurmond Center holds the cafe and a Java City Cafe that sells coffee, breads and lots more. Downtown Charleston which is minutes away have plenty of restaurants! And less than ten minutes away are outlets with small business restaurants and the greatest Chinese restaurant I've ever been too!

    Dorm Life

    More than enough activities, Plenty!!! Every room is laid out the same(beds dresser closet bathroom) but enough space for your own creation There are lounges in every dorm and the most popular one (in my opinion) is Littlejohn Parlor in surrounded by majority of the dorms. Barnes and Noble for the campus store and outside of the store is the students own Post Office Boxes.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a christian universtity so the courses are Christian Worldview perspective where christian views are included in your study, coursework, and major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for better chances at receiving work study. Schedule a visit to see if the campus is the right size for you. Ask tons of questions including after doing research about CSU. For the Athletes CSU is a NCAA Division I school Big South Conference

    In three sentences

    CSU has an excellent location close to stores and eateries ,two minutes from a water park and close to downtown Charleston and the beach. The campus is BEAUTIFUL and peaceful, and sized just right! And the campus is still growing, to accommodate students and new activities.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CSU is great for people who want to go to a college where the Christian faith is a part of your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tip I have for students is to come and visit Charleston and to talk to students that attend to get different view points.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though CSU is a little expensive, there are many scholarships and financial aid opportunities offered. While attending the school, I realized it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is not too big but not too small. I love the feel of the environment. The campus is beautiful and so is many Charleston areas that you could visit. Every weekend there is some event to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at CSU have a true passion for what they are teaching. Every professor I have met was always encouraging and very helpful.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CSU is great for those who are willing to learn more about their christian faith, enjoy a smaller classroom size, and like the small town feeling of a college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about scholarships given out from the school, the school provides free tutors if any are needed, there is chapel every Wednesday and church is obviously held every Sunday at the chapel on campus, dorms are nice two to three person bedrooms with a connecting bathroom with one shower and toilet.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit pricey if you cant find scholarships. But the up side is that CSU offers scholarships within the school so make sure to ask about those.

    Am enjoying being here

    I very much so enjoy being here. The professors and teachers around campus are always willing to help in what ever way they can.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot is an understatement. I have learned a lot academically as well as spiritually. CSU integrates Christ in our everyday learning so you learn about your faith while you learn about your academics.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    cru(campus crusade for christ) and elevate are two great activities that each meet once a week. they are both great to get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    csu is not a cheap school, but it is definitely worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    csu has a ton of activities for it's students to get involved in on and off of campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food isn't bad, but it can be a bit expensive for commuter students.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are in the process of being renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes can be challenging, which come in handy to prepare you for courses in graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't stress out about not having found a major or an idea of a future career. it will all come to you as you take your courses.

    In three sentences

    csu is an awesome university. it offers outstanding courses and does just as the university's mission states, integrating faith in learning, leading, and serving.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is generally not too bad. Every once in a while we have a threat or something on campus, but it is taken care of. Also, at night we have security guards sitting at the entrances and after midnight, no one gets on campus without a school ID. We also have some officers from the location police station on our campus quite often as well.

    Greek Life

    We have a few different sororities and fraternities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have quite a bit of clubs and activities here! There's almost always some kind of club sponsored event happening on campus! We have a lot of Christian concerts here, for example, this year we have had Kristian Stanfill, Matt Papa, Trip Lee, and The Annie Moses Band as well as others visit our campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who know exactly what they want to do for a career and have already declared a major will do well here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are quite a few festivities and fun nights with cool activities randomly happening! We also have a giant swamp out behind the campus that has alligators in it.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive but if you have a declared major, it may be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun that you can have at this school happens off campus, because we aren't very far away from the beach! But on campus, we have a park with basketball courts, volleyball, and swings. We also have a swimming pool, lounges, gym, and nice sized workout room. We also have quite a few well-known christian artists come and perform concerts in our chapel auditorium!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is good most of the time, but it has its days. Edward's Express is a good place to eat if you are on the go! The people who work in both of these places are very nice and always have something encouraging to say!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't terrible but they aren't great either. They are too small for the amount of people that are required to live in them. Maintenance is hard to get in a dorm building here, so if something breaks or messes up in your room, you just have to wait it out.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough here but the teachers are always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is good to make friends and talk to fellow students before deciding your classes, so that they may give you advice on classes and teachers that they have personally had.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school, but make sure you have decided your major. Everyone is friendly, classes are decent, and location is great! It is expensive and some of the classes are extremely difficult, but overall it has been a good experience so far.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Kind of on the expensive side but it is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Everything!

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is great during the week but on the weekends they use leftovers.

    Dorm Life

    Free to do almost anything and everything that you want.

    In three sentences

    An amazing experience for anyone that attends. You will meet great people who love to have genuine fun and learn. Teachers are great with students and smaller classes help with the learning process

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere patrolling all day and all night.

    Greek Life

    Charleston has all of the nine original greek organizations. They also have christian greek organizations and a hispanic sorority.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a trial behind the men dorms which takes you around the school. Most people go at night because it no likes and they like the thrill. Also its a pond behind the basketball arena which has alligators living there.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus always have something for you to do. They have cool pool parties, Raves, movies nights, and concerts. All the events are hosted b the campus staff.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves a buffet for breakfast, lunch , and dinner. The food does get a little bad when its time for Christmas break and summer break. Overall its good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life it awesome. The Quads are the guy dorm which are always active. Womens North and South are the girls dorm. All the rooms are suite styled so u get 1 or 2 roommates with a full bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    10 point scale 100-90 =A 89-80=B 79-70=C 69-60=D 59 and below=F

    Tips for prospective students

    To all who are thinking about coming to CSU I would advice you to take it serious because the professors are strict. Make sure you always study and know your material. Pop Quizzes are going to be given.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern is a private Christian school. The Classes are small which makes it easier for you to actually learn. Their academics scale is high so they expect you to study and keep your grades up.

  • 11/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who are willing to work hard and like to learn in a smaller environment.

    Will enjoy being here

    Charleston is very beautiful and there is plenty of free entertainment around the school, and on it.

    Will learn a lot

    The class sizes are small which means more one on one attention with professors.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in Charleston. Charleston Southern is located only 30 minutes from downtown Charleston where there are many historical places to visit as well as a marketplace.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies each day, but is generally wholesome and nutritional.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spacious and homey and are located with easy access from all over campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but with focus and being in contact with the professors, the classes can easily be aced.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors are completely one-on-one with each student in their class or are mentoring.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern University is a great, God-focused school. They help every student achieve their goals and maintain their grade. The campus is amazingly beautiful.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is 100% effective. Campus Security be everywhere.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is OK but it can be better.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs and activities to get involved in on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Chrisitan, want to put God 1st in your life and be saved, nursing and biology majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ummm im not sure about this.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, the school is great and i love it. Need improvement in some areas but nevertheless, its a good school. Alot of activities, fun, games to get into.

    What to do for fun

    Go swimming. Go to the buc park. Hang out with friends at the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. Fried chicken day every Wednesday. You have pizza everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not what you think but they are OK. You have certain days when opposite sex can come over and you have to leave door open. If caught with someone in your room when not schedule and door is shut u get fine.

    Academic Rigor

    They are an excellent school. Very easy but you just have to study and stay focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete alot of scholarships and make sure you have a tour of the college. Make sure your grades are good and study alot. Come with a mind to succeed and do well.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern University is a very expensive college but its worth every penny. They have an awesome biology program. I really enjoy attending Charleston Southern.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel really safe when on campus, you can see camus safty officers walking around at any given time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are my different ways to get involved at CSU, one major way would be going to one of the many campus outreaches.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a strong christian that wants to earn a great education while moving closer to God, CSU is the school for you.

    What to do for fun

    Going to one of the many available campus outreaches, or going to a sporting event is how i choose to spend my free time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is pretty good and there is always enough food to make you full. There is also an express if you are rushing to class.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like many other college dorms, however CSU being a christian school there are many rules when it comes to visiting the opposite sex.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs push for very high GPAs to get in, and the teachers try to load you up with work. but it is all worth it.

    In three sentences

    The school is GREAT! I love the Christian outlook on the world. Also, it is great being so close to everything you need to get the grade.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a waterpark right down the road. In October the fair comes and the is also located down the road.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. It gets old fast. Every Wednesday that we was chapel, it is fried chicken day.

    Dorm Life

    I think they did an awsome job picking my roommate. Me and her are just alike.

    In three sentences

    This school is fantastic if you are looking for a college with a small Christian atmosphere. Everybody knows everybody. The teachers are great. they know you by your name and personality not by your student id number.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    many opportunities on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, and students who are looking to growing closer to God while receiving their education.

    Bang for the buck

    A fabulous school! I would recommend to anyone!

    What to do for fun

    CSU is just 30 minutes from downtown Charleston, which includes many shopping places, many restaurants, the beach, and many historical areas to walk around and enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Needs improvement.

    Dorm Life

    Could be better, but overall, great experience!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging course work, but everyone wants to see students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to grow closer to God. The work is challenging, but there are people all around who want to see you succeed. Always do you best, and strive to follow God's plan.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern University has completely changed my life. They have encouraged me to grow not only academically, but spiritually as well. I am so thankful to attend such a wonderful school.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't park like an idiot, because you will get a ticket from the abominable campus officers.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has many different activites for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great!

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter. However, I have been told that freshman dorms are very small. But the higher your year, the better the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but the professors are very helpful. The school also offers free tutoring for all majors and minors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and keep God first.

    In three sentences

    CSU is a great Christian college and lives up to its mission. The professors are wonderful. There are many campus activities to keep the students active within the campus and with the public.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    IF YOU REALLY LOVE TO GO TO THIS COLLEGE YOU SHOULD CHECK THE CAMPUS AND THE ENVIRONMENT TO SEE IF YOU REALLY WANT TO ATTEND THIS SCHOOL BEFORE AND AFTER APPLYING

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PRETTY GOOD, FEEL SAFE.

    Greek Life

    MY BEST FRIEND IS , BUT I HAVENT TRIED YET, DONT KNOW WHAT IM WAITING ON.........

    Clubs and Activities

    ALOT OF VARIETY.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL.

    Bang for the buck

    EDUCATION......

    What to do for fun

    STUDY

    Food and Dining

    FOOD IS OK.

    Dorm Life

    GOOO, BUT ALOT OF PEOPLE.

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY EARLEY FOR EVERYTHING.

    In three sentences

    ITS A BEAUTIFUL SCHOOL.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    I dont know if there is any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I havent joined any.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious or open minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel on wednesdays.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is only 15 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at the snack machines. It is a pespi campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt participate in this.

    Academic Rigor

    If I can do it so can you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Have all payments planned out ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    It is expensive. It has a beautiful campus. It is very diverse.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is great there. They do alot to help out around the school and Charleston.

    What to do for fun

    Because you are in Charleston there are so many things that you can do down there. There is a beach, food, and shopping!

    Food and Dining

    Its Charleston! The food is also great down there.

    Dorm Life

    They may have some hard rules to follow but they are for your own good and they will help you make good grades through out your time at the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending Charleston Southern you have picked a great school. You will learn everything you need to know from there.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern is a really great school. They have a great nursing program and they have staff that really cares and wants to help the students with their major. So far to me they have a great campus.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join various organizations or even go downtown or to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria offers all sorts of food for everyone with particular eating habits.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an important part of college. Our dorms are friendly and orderly.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are taken seriously at this institution. Your grades come first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study and stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern is an amazing University. They hold high standards in the community. I am so happy that they are a Christian private school.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and even if you take the online classes, don't be afraid to ask questions. The professors are wonderful and ready to assist in so many ways.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern is a well-rounded university that has helped enable me to go back to school in the online environment. The professors are amazing and definitely push the goals of the college to integrate faith in all aspects of learning. Charleston Southern is a wonderful way to be able to learn in a non-traditional setting such as online and get your degree.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I cannot emphasize how terrible the campus security is. They care more about parking tickets than the safety of the students. There have been countless cars stolen IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY, break ins, and the security guards just wander around on their golf carts doing nothing. We'd be better off without them.

    Greek Life

    the greek life here is a joke. dont even bother with it.

    Great for these types of students

    Very religious, laid back, dont like to drink or party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel every other Wednesday. There a certain amount of chapel credits you must receive to graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    I dont mind paying a lot of money for school, but CSU is NOT worth the money you have to pay to attend. Also, there is NO HEALTH CENTER ON CAMPUS. You have to go across the street to the hospital if you want help for any sort of medical need. No matter how big or small.

    What to do for fun

    If you want fun, befriend the athletes. They're the only ones interested in having fun. The rest of students want to shove their beliefs down your throat and shun you for doing anything slightly wrong. Downtown is also a nice option though if you like the bar/club scene. Go downtown if you want to have any fun on the weekends!

    Food and Dining

    The caf is so gross all the time with very limited choices.

    Dorm Life

    THE MOST IMPORTANT THING TO KNOW: PLEASE READ! SUCKS! the RA's suck, the dorms suck, and you have to share a small bathroom with FIVE PEOPLE. Also, if you like to have the opposite sex in your room to hang out or do whatever, DONT GO HERE. There are certain hours and days youre allowed to have the opposite sex in your room and you cant sit in the beds, you have to leave the door open, and you have to check them in with an RA. Otherwise you will be fined $250. totally ridiculous.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are decent and somewhat challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to actually have fun on the weekends, DONT GO HERE. Campus is dead during the week and ever more dead during the weekends.

    In three sentences

    The brutally honest truth, if you want to have fun and party and have a real college experience DONT GO HERE. The rules are ridiculous, the faculty is a joke, the school is not worth the money you pay to attend. It's a very small and close minded school, basically feels like im back in high school again.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always downtown.. The mall is right down the road. There are plenty of things to do in Charleston.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study..

    In three sentences

    Charleston southern is awesome! Lots of cool professors and cool men and women of God. If you are looking to expand your faith, I'd recommend here for sure.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe school

    Clubs and Activities

    You won't hear about them unless you ask about them.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities to do in the city, but on campus its the brewer center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Weigh your options and pick your college carefully.

    In three sentences

    Great school for those interested in finding, re finding, or joining the team of Jesus Christ. Great school for nursing majors. Also a great school for athletic trainers.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Security does an outstanding job making sure the students are safe. They drive around the campus all day to ensure there is no bad activity going on. At night, they have blue blinking lights on their carts in order for students to see them if they are in danger.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities such as Alpha Kappa Alpha, Alpha Phi Alpha, Kappa Alpha Psi and Psi Kappa Phi

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs such as the Computer Club and Writing Club. The activities here at Charleston Southern include intramural sports and often going to another nearby college and playing games with the students there.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for Christians since this is a private Christian college. There are many non Christians here as well and they are never judged because of that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition is when you become a senior. Every senior has the opportunity to buy a brick with their name engraved on it. The brick is placed in the main walkway of the college.

    Bang for the buck

    For the rigorous work and opportunities here at Charleston Southern, the amount to pay for it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers many unique activities for everyone to try. Every Thursday is an event called Elevate where everyone has an opportunity to be changed by God. Downtown Charleston is where everyone goes on the weekends since there are many fun things there to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Charleston Southern has its ups and downs. Some days the food is actually pretty good,however other days the food isn't all that great. If the cafeteria is not your thing, then beside it is a Chick fil A Express.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are not the best in the state of South Carolina, but offers the essentials, such as beds, drawers and bathroom. Everyone is pretty friendly and often hang out at each others dorms. Make sure however, you leave your door open if you have a female in your room.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class at Charleston Southern has a certain level of toughness in it. The best advice is to not procrastinate. Procrastination will lead to a stressful life here at Charleston Southern.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take either SAT or ACT as many times as you can. High scores means better scholarships from this college. Even if you did not score high in these tests, Charleston Southern will still give you scholarship money in some form.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern is a great place to make friends and to pursue your major. The cost may seem a little high since its a private college,but the scholarships they offer offsets the balance to equate to a public college. There are many fun activities and clubs to do here as well.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security although it doesn't really need them. This is a very safe feeling campus.

    Greek Life

    This school has sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and intramural sports that students can get involved in here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school. The faculty really cares about the students' well being and they try to help out as much as they can. The dorms are alright and the food is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Charleston is about 20-25 minutes away. It's fun to just walk around and they also have great shopping and dining. The beach is also close by. The school also has intramurals and clubs that you can join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be a procrastinator.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern is a great school. The environment here is very friendly and welcoming. The faculty do a great job of helping the students and showing them that they care about them.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is constantly roaming around the campus looking for any signs of trouble and ready to act.

    Greek Life

    The have a large variety of fraternities and sorority's

    Clubs and Activities

    Boys and girls club. Work study Gospel choir Gospel band

    Great for these types of students

    The school fits all aspects of student the nursing major, business major, and the christian major students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I stay in the cafe cause the food is all you can eat. I love to eat. I also enjoy working out and swimming so you can guess what other places I hang at the gym and swimming pool.

    Bang for the buck

    Majority of the class rooms have great student to teacher ratios. The campus isn't far from the dorms so if your running late cause you was working on a paper or cause you a procrastinator you don't have far to run to. Great Christian environment .

    What to do for fun

    For fun on campus you can go to the all time access basketball ball courts indoor and out door. They constantly got activities going on around campus. The school also have a pool and state of the art gym equipment, which is my personal favorite.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delectable, but the options are limited. The cafe does have its days where the student doesn't want to eat the food. The environment is peaceful with the clean facility and home with the big T.V's.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life has been one my favorite parts. The area is set up like a hotel. Out side is a hall and open view to either the other side of the dorms and below is a court yard full of well manicured grass or a tennis court.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the university is extensive, yet not impossible they offer a writing center so you have the best opportunity possible to hit all the requirements of the professors and university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage time wisely will be a big key factor to your success

    In three sentences

    The school has a great positive environment. The school has a increasingly prestigious academic program. The professors are very hands on.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do on campus, you almost forget to go out and enjoy the city. There are lots of clubs to join like SGA, CAB (campus activities board), Communications Association, African American Society, Rotary Club, and greek organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    CSU is definitely great for students looking for a Christian atmosphere. You can find a bible study or campus worship almost every night of the week and you can even major in Religion, Christian leadership, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    CSU is expensive, but the financial aid office really tries to work with you to get you the help you need. I believe that if you can get the education for the right price, it's a wonderful place to spend four years!

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do! You can drive to the beach, go shopping downtown, take tours of the city, and the nightlife is always a hit!

    Food and Dining

    CSU cafeteria is probably the worst ever. The food is terrible and the cafe is only open during certain hours so you can't just go eat whenever you get hungry. There are many restaurants within walking distance of campus, but none technically on campus. Bring lots of snacks!

    Dorm Life

    CSU has a lot of rules, but you have to remember it's a Christian campus. CSU has the largest dorm rooms in the state! Members of the opposite sex can never sleep over; they are only allowed during visitation hours and the door must be open. There are 2 and 3 person rooms so 5 to a suite sharing a bathroom. Usually it works out fine as long as you discuss the rotation of the toilet paper :)

    Academic Rigor

    CSU isn't too challenging, but it's no cake walk either. The classes depend on the course and the professor, but the professors are almost always there to help. They really care about your education and seeing you succeed, and by the end of the class you really feel more prepared for that next step, be it furthering your education or diving into the workforce. Take good notes, take advantage of your professors office hours, and study!!!

    In three sentences

    CSU has the best of both worlds of any school. It's close to the beach, to downtown Charleston, and there's always something to do or see! And when it's time to study, the campus is quiet and peaceful and very conducive to learning.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    People love the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    this is a tough school but they hold you to a high standard for sucess.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your degree here from the beginning and you will have a better experience.

    In three sentences

    The school is amazing and offers a safe christian environment that is conducive to learning. I have gone here for a few years now ans i love it. The teachers are amazing and really care about your personal success.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at this school is average.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms should be a lot better for the cost.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are excellent.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Service clubs, and many sororities and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You are required to attend a certain amount of chapel services in order to graduate. Apparently Cookout (the fast food joint) is popular

    Bang for the buck

    Get Scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Religious activities if you are in to that. Football games OFF campus activities like local charleston scene :)

    Food and Dining

    Offers Java city, the cafe or cafeteria which is rumored to be alright, and soon Chick-fil-a

    Academic Rigor

    Offers some variety, however academics (especially science courses) should be focused on introducing students to all forms of information, not simply religious or biblical worldviews.

    Tips for prospective students

    Recommended for those seeking a heavily integrated faith based education. NOT recommended for secular thinking science majors.

    In three sentences

    CSU is a southern baptist faith based school that attempts to incorporate the presence of god into anything and everything. Charleston southern is a beautiful campus and has a kind faculty.The school, in my humble opinion should receive a 6/10 for education, acceptance of all students ideologies, pricing, and variety of academics ( i.e. depending on which biology teacher you get, you may or may not be learning a lot about evolution).

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a must have at any university and Charleston Southern does a fine job of making students feel safe in their new home away from home.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of attractions near Charleston Southern from the downtown area to the beach we've got it as well as fun eateries to enjoy with family and friends

    Food and Dining

    The cafe and the dinning hall are the hot spots at Charleston Southern were students can enjoy a variety of wholesome dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great way to build life long friendship and faithful bonds.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Charleston Southern strives for students to go beyond excellence and while grades aren't the label of a man's worth we still take pride in learning and understanding what God has created. By understanding we hope to create or rather equip leaders to integrate their faith through their career goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    I you feel like you need to be a Christian to be a part of Charleston Southern your wrong, there is no pressure. If you are all ready a Christian Charleston Southern is a wonderful place that can help you grow as a believer as you search for God's calling for your life.Christian or not just be aware of the cultural diversities that arrive on campus. Don't be to quick to judge those before you get to meet them, but embrace individuality and diversity.

    In three sentences

    Charleston Southern is a cozy little campus with a lovey christian family. The atmosphere is Christ centered as we continue to seek his kingdom.Here we embrace the various attributes that God has placed in us and love on everyone whether or not they believe.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A very active and effective school. Not what you'd expect by looking at the website. But very universal and a great opening to the next stage in life.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach and downtown Charleston are very close.

    Food and Dining

    Food is absolutely awful. Not a lot of variety and the quality is poor.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awful. They are in need of renovations.

    Academic Rigor

    Liberal arts cores are very easy, major classes are very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring food from off campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a great campus for community. The teachers are very kind and helpful. Academics and residence life is very poor.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think CSU is great for nursing students, education majors and Christian studies.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive since it is a private school but the education is worth it. I feel that it will pay off in the end.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to participate. There's a gym, exercise classes, lounges, athletic events, worship services and the campus is close to downtown Charleston if anyone wants to go.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It could be better but that's because it's not moms home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was an adjustment for me because I come from a quiet and small family but it wasn't a hard adjustment. The hall has quiet hours from midnight till 7 a.m. so it's usually pretty quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too bad. I mean it is school. Most of the professors I have had have been pretty easy. The course load hasn't been too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend coming to CSU. The teachers are understanding and helpful. The campus is beautiful. It's not overwhelming in size but it isn't small either. I've been told we have one of the best nursing programs but I'm not a nursing major so I don't know for myself.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The teachers are very hands on and helpful. Most of the teachers open class up with either a word of prayer or a bible verse which is pretty cool.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very important to this school. We live right off the highway and we have the guards up at the front of the school after midnight. We have our own campus security and North Charleston Police to hep protect us.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun! You can go to the gym, the pool, and sports activities. Students are able to participate in intramural sports teams and have a great time. Also, with living in Charleston it isn't a far drive to the beach or downtown!

    Food and Dining

    The food has it's good days and bad days like any other school. But we do have a Chickfila and Java City on campus for more options! The staff is very sweet and provide great customer service!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has brought me closer to many people. The people that go to this school are truly genuine and care so much for others. It has made my college experience much easier.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are wonderful! Teachers are able to connect with the students and God. The classes are small enough to where the teacher is able to help one-on-one and really care about the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students need to come in with an open mind. This school has a lot to offer and if you come in with a closed mind you'll miss out on some great things! This school should be at the top of your list!

    In three sentences

    This school has brought me closer with God and my studies and who I want to become. There is no better area to study here in South Carolina besides Charleston! This school everything it says it is and it is just phenomenal.