Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Chatham University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like small schools, want to be in a big city without all the noise

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best in school and you will get accepted here. Also apply for a lot of scholarships because its really expensive to go here. Do the World Ready Women's Weekend to get the scholarship. You can get up to $5000 and you get $1000 for just going.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay a lot to go to this school, but i feel like you could be paying less for the same education.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -This school is great for anyone who cares about the environment (it's extraordinarily involved with going green). -It is an all women college, but the graduate classes ARE co-ed. There ARE men on campus. But they are not as abundant as women. -Don't come here if you're looking for a partying school. It is a fun place, but it is more academic than anything. This is a place for serious women who want to learn how to be leaders!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Budget and get as many scholarships as you can. -Engage the campus if you're coming! -Get to know your professors on a personal level. -Make friends with the library workers, maintenance workers, and the higher-ups. It's a small school and the more people you know, the better off you are when you're in trouble.

    Bang for the buck

    Chatham is an expensive school. There is no doubt about that. When we got our bill, it was estimated to be about 21k a semester. If you want to go here and don't want to drown in debt, GET EVERY SCHOLARSHIP YOU CAN! Or get a job. There are absurd amounts of jobs offered on campus alone. Whatever you do, stay on top of your FAFSA and budget! Also, you get a laptop for free, so if you're planning on coming here, skip out on buying a new one and enjoy a new Macbook Pro! (All maintenance is done for free as well if you ever have a problem!)

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do on and off campus. Even the classes are fun. If you are willing to apply yourself and try new things, you'll never be bored or unhappy here.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are very nice. I am only taking first year courses at the moment, but everything I am learning is either going to be beneficial to me in the real world, or help me in my career. It is nice because if Chatham doesn't offer the class you want, you can duel-enroll with any of the classes that Pitt offers!

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    theres an officer that patrols all the time. also an alert system incase of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    no sorry, but i believe the neighboring school pit and carnegie mellon has some really great greek nights and food.

    Clubs and Activities

    theres plenty of clubs and activities on campus to join if you have time from classes. like volleyball, hockey, tennis, dance team, peaches. etc

    Bang for the buck

    everything depends on your financial circumstance.

    What to do for fun

    theres plenty of clubs and activities on campus to join if you have time from classes. you also can use your school id as a free bus pass to go many places and get into free places with your school id.

    Food and Dining

    im sorry to say the food sucks here; especially if your a vegetarian as myself no options at all. i once saw in the vegetarian section french fries and cucumbers wow yumm. so i would say its best to live off campus, so you wont be forced to have a meal plan and make sure to cook your own food.

    Dorm Life

    its ok in the dorm im in; but its really old and expensive. i feel for the amount you have to pay a semester, the building should be more equipped.

    Academic Rigor

    i am an interior architecture major and it is a hard an rigorous program; especially since everything is crammed into 3 years. its fun and you learn a lot of things, but i do believe to much work is given for such a small time period.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would say work hard and do your best. everyone is really close and friendly, you wont have any problems here.

    In three sentences

    chatham university is a fine, well put together school. only if your looking for a small community of close friends, lots of fun and activities and to work hard.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school before attending and meet the professors in your department! Definitely make sure that your major is still going to be around when you get to the University.

    Bang for the buck

    Got rid of tenure for the professor which caused them to lose a lot of great professors which then cause some majors to get dropped.

    Did enjoy being here

    To much drama since it was an all women's college. The staff could also be a little uncooperative and unfriendly at times. The financial aid office was filled with incompetent persons, thank god I was a math major.

    Did learn a lot

    Had tons of great classes and the study abroad during Maymester was amazing! I would definitely recommend doing a whole semester abroad if you can find a place you like.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers patrolling 24/7, and someone is always on call, so it is very safe. Especially since you know the majority of the people there so it is easy to tell if someone unknown is acting suspiciously.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything, and if there isn't you can make one. Athletics is a big part of the school too, about 75% of the undergrad students are involved in a sport. But it is extremely hard to recruit because of the school's small size and lack of available scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    Small class sizes are great, so if you don't like to just be a number to your professor, or like me like it when that one math teacher you had three years ago for a single class still remembers your name and asks how you are doing when you see them on campus, you'll love it. Also it's all girls in the undergraduate program, so if you are gay, questioning, or just open to anything, the Chatham community will welcome you with open arms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chatham is in a historical area, lots of old mansions on campus, it is absolutely beautiful. There are house Olympics, class wars and many other student events and traditions that give Chatham a unique atmosphere that is hard to come by in larger schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Chatham is a private school and therefore very expensive, especially if you are from out of state or are an international student like myself. But I would say that it makes up for it with the small class sizes that for me personally are essential to furthering my education.

    What to do for fun

    Shadyside has lots of little bars and restaurants that are fun, as well as a couple clubs, all within a 5-10 minute walk from campus. The public transportation is great and you can get to anywhere you like pretty easily if you know the routes. There are student rush games that you can get tickets to the Pittsburgh Penguins or Pirates games for $20, there are tons of museums, the Duquesne incline up the mountain as well as a great zoo. There is always something that you can find to do regardless of where your interests lie.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is great at providing lots of organic foods from local farmers, as well as many vegan and vegetarian options. However, it is sometimes the same kind of food everyday so it gets old. On the other hand, Chatham is a five minute walk from both Shadyside and Squirrel Hill which both have an abundance of trendy little cafes and restaurants. As well as a ten minutes shuttle ride (provided at no cost by the school) to Oakland, where both the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University have their campuses.

    Dorm Life

    I love that the freshmen dorms, except for one are renovated mansions. They are smaller in size so you know a lot of the people that you live with, which is great, its like your own little community. The on campus appartments aren't bad either, not as historically appealing, but still very small. This is also nice because you know the majority of the girls in your building, so it feels very safe. Chatham also holds dorm Olympics that are good team building exercises that alternately bring out people's competitive side as well as the team player in all of us.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that while it could be said that classes are easy, because they are very small and you know your professor pretty well, the work load is sometime really heavy. For those that will be graduating in the next couple years, like myself, we have to write a tutorial, which is like an undergraduate version of a dissertation. For those exempt from this, Chatham has implemented new writing intensive classes that are mandatory. So it is by no means an easy ride.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of the fact that it is a really small school, and a majorly girls school at that. Be careful who you choose to hang out with because it can be like high school, everyone knows you and talks about you. Try to get off campus and see the city, meet people from the other universities and just experience Pittsburgh, its is a great city with so much to offer. Don't get stuck on Chatham campus because it is so small and you will literally see and talk to the same people every day.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school if you are looking for small classes and a more personal relationship with your professors and fellow students. It is a little secluded due to its small size, but there are a ton of opportunities to meet new people and have fun because of its convenient location. While like many schools Chatham has its flaws, but overall it is a great place to pursue a bachelor's or master's degree.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Chatham is hidden, and secluded. There is a private road to get to the school. Only people who live in the area or go to the school are ever found on campus. It is in a very low crime area (between Squirrel Hill and Shadyside). Chatham also has it's own police force and headquarters to add extra security.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus. Chatham students can go to the University of Pittsburgh or Carnegie Mellon frats and sororities if they so wish.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything at Chatham from juggling to crocheting. Any student can make a club and reserve an area for their club to meet. Chatham also offers a wide range of intramural sports that any member of the school (grad or undergrad) can participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Chatham is great for feminists, environmentalists, writers, very liberal people, and serious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chatham has a yearly dance called the Chatham Eggnog. This dance is either in late November or early December. The choir performs and the whole school gathers and has eggnog. Afterwards the students join each other in dancing.

    Bang for the buck

    Chatham University is an expensive school. However it is worth the price. Most classes have less than 15 people in them. You receive a Macbook built into the tuition price. You have free access to all of the building and facilities on campus. Chatham gives out a lot of free apparel. It is a very individualized education.

    What to do for fun

    I will go for a swim in the pool, hangout with my friends at Cafe Rachel, go to frat parties at university of Pittsburgh, and support the athletic teams at home games.

    Food and Dining

    The food starts out pretty good but after a while you get sick of it. All of the food is really salty and sometimes they try too hard to have unique dishes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome. They are built in converted mansions so there is an old majestic feeling to them. They are huge rooms. The laundry is free to use, the bathrooms are clean, and the people are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were very easy while others were harder. Overall I found academic success while putting in a decent amount of effort. Some professors will be harder than others. Some classes have a heavy workload while others have almost no workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do the volunteering sessions at the start of the year. It is a lot of fun, the food they serve is good and it's a great place to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Chatham University is a unique college. The undergrad is small and it is all women. The education is very individualized and I like that.

  • 06/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford it. Stay out of the drama.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is very clique-y (if that's a word). It's an all girls school= drama. A lot of attitudes from EVERYONE.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who strive to excel that would appreciate a green and women promoting Chatham University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what major you would like to pursue before you attend Chatham University, so that you can take all the necessary classes and yet still have room for the extra classes that interest you.

    Bang for the buck

    One of Chatham University's downfalls is that it is very expensive. However, there are several scholarship opportunities and jobs available to help you get money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Chatham University helps each student to find something that they would like to participate in. Each year the student affairs provides the students with several different activities and even goes as far to challenge the students to make a group if there is not one already available that they are interested in.

    Am learning a lot

    Chatham University's professors are wonderful at teaching you how to excel at everything that you attempt. The professors are even willing to work with the students to find the best solution to help you learn the absolute maximum without getting you overly stressed.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can take a bus to anywhere in pittsburgh

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall has organic and vegan options, and a full salad bar filled with fresh produce.

    Dorm Life

    the students can either live in apartments, or remodeled mansions.

    Academic Rigor

    my teachers are fantastic and work with me one on one.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to go to a community college the first two years. save money and figure out what you really want to do with your education.

    In three sentences

    chatham university is a safe empowering environment where women learn to be professional and strong.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get great classes and a beautiful environment to study in.

    What to do for fun

    I go out to see shows, I go to parties in Oakland. I go to see shows in the south side.

    Food and Dining

    They have so many option.

    Dorm Life

    There is nothing quite like it.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some of the hardest classes of my life here and the most fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will get a great well rounded education.

    In three sentences

    Chatham is a great small school with a homey environment.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is tucked away on Fifth Ave. Absolutely beautiful and no harm here!!

    Clubs and Activities

    CMA, Chatham Marketing Association. There are a lot of clubs and activities to do here.

    Great for these types of students

    Women looking for a world ready atmosphere and working hard to do what you want in your career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All of the traditions are so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your moneys worth while coming here.

    What to do for fun

    All the Chatham traditions.

    Food and Dining

    Food is constantly available in the weathervane. Anderson is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    All the RA's are awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Chatham are the same as any other college. Some are hard and some classes are easy. The professors definitely help you if you need anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in Woodland Hall. It is in the middle of the campus!

    In three sentences

    Chatham University is an amazing college to come from. Chatham professors help you do many great things. Student Activities has a lot of events on campus and off.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. We have campus police stationed all over campus and other campus police constantly driving through campus. There are also emergency phones placed through out the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be successful and some of the best teaching. It is also great for students who need one on one help or to work in small groups because class sizes are always small.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we can go to Pittsburgh Penguin games and get $25 student rush tickets or go to Pittsburgh Pirates games for a dollar. There are also plenty of activities on campus for example sometimes they have a comedian come and perform.

    Food and Dining

    There is always plenty to choose from for food. They have a large selection of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing. They are all old mansions that have been donated to the college. We also do a lot of activities in the dorm so we are always meeting new people and staying involved

    Academic Rigor

    Chatham expects a lot of their students. Some of the classes are very challenging but the teacher are always there to help and will meet with you when ever or help over email.

    In three sentences

    Chatham is an amazing school with great professors. The professors take the time to get to know you and do everything they can to help you do your best. I am very proud to attend such a great school.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many student events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard

    In three sentences

    Everyone there is very nice. The professors have taught me so much, and I Iove the campus.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    pretty steep, but you pay for quality

    What to do for fun

    Lots of social acitivites

    Food and Dining

    Great!

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful! Peaceful

    Academic Rigor

    Not too strigent. If you keep up and manage your academic calendar.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take you time to explore all your academic options

    In three sentences

    One of the best writing school on the east coast!

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very secure well lighted at night

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir is fun - they have a trip tour every year and a few concerts. There are so many clubs and events to be active with.

    Great for these types of students

    Any

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chatham gives each class a different color and there are activies between the classes. also in the fall there is a family event at the remote campus it was great- I had a wonderful time with my friends and family.

    Bang for the buck

    Chatham is a bit expensive however I love it ! there are alot of activities, choir, groups, and things to do. There is a great swimming pool, walking track, and beautiful grounds/ buildings.

    What to do for fun

    Chatham is in a great location. You can take the shuttle to Shadyside, Sq Hill, Waterfront ,Oakland , DT- You can go shopping , movies ,restaurants, museums, concerts you are near so much.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is excellent. There is alot of variety and choices

    Dorm Life

    Currently I do not live on campus - I'm saving up to live on campus- possibly next year, Chatham is nice because you can still participate in alot of things without living on campus.. I'm trying to avoid too much student debt.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes have been much easier than I expected some have been much harder - but all very interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, Attend events, sit in on classes.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus! Great Professors/Staff /classes! Wonderful student groups and support !

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Pittsburgh!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep all your information in order because you'll need it!

    In three sentences

    Chatham is a beautiful green campus. Dedicated to environmentalism, a leader in Eco-friendly campuses. A small women's college in Pittsburgh, you'll be able to meet all your classmates.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe school.

    Great for these types of students

    Chatham is an all girl school, which is wonderful for young women who feel boys and on-campus dating might be a distraction for them. There are plenty of schools nearby for socializing, but it does eliminate the in-class distraction. It's also great for older students, such as myself, because this school is full of smart and motivated young women. I have enjoyed interacting with them.

    Bang for the buck

    That's tough. It's a private college, so it's a little expensive. I'm glad I chose this college but paying for it has been a struggle.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great athletic and fitness center on campus (it was even featured in the recent film Abduction!), and there are always events going on.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten at Cafe Rachel, but I do like the sandwiches!

    Academic Rigor

    I find the academics can be intense but they are also manageable. I also find the teachers are very easy to approach and always seem willing to help out students.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an all girls school, so just make sure that's what you want. Also, I'm a Gateway student and applying was not stressful. Orientation was easy as well.

    In three sentences

    As a Gateway student I feel Chatham has been a great experience for me. I enjoy the program I am in (Cultural Studies) and the faculty and students are wonderful and warm. Everyone seems to have an open door policy!

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety phones located all across campus and a private campus police force (not campus security, they are actual police officers hired by Chatham).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Halloween costume contest in the dining hall on Halloween night. The Chatham Eggnog is a dance/party. I haven't personally participated in it yet, but everyone says it is fun. That is also the first night first-year students are allowed to have overnight guests.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun things to do on campus. There is also shopping, frozen yogurt, ice cream, and food places in at least 2 different directions, and not more than a 10 minute walk either way.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good at first, but gets boring after a little while, unless you are an adventurous eater. The macaroni and cheese is the most redeeming factor.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all converted mansions. There is no central air conditioning, but if you have a medical condition, Chatham will install a unit in your room (you have to apply). The heating comes from radiators in the rooms, but there is no way to turn them off or down.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging and you have to work hard to achieve success in them.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour campus police. Key card locks on all campus dorms.

    Greek Life

    No Sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Division 3 sports and intramural sports offered every season.

    Great for these types of students

    HIghly academic students who want minimal distractions and want to really focus on their work or sport.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chatham eggnog. The labyrinth. The pond.

    Bang for the buck

    No. Things are a tad on the expensive side.

    What to do for fun

    Get off campus. Sporting events. Drink. Lesbian sex.

    Food and Dining

    Always a good selection of food. Be careful of under cooked meats. Vegetarian options are available. Kind of weird meal plan times.

    Dorm Life

    Fairly normal dorm life. Apartments off campus are standard. Dorms on campus are roomy and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Mildly rigorous course difficulty. No matter what your major. Be studious and there are tutors and a library with great hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good GPA, and really research your colleges before you decide this is the place for you. It is hard to transfer credits if you need to or it isn't for you. Fairly accommodating professors, reasonable living spaces, limited major selection, and great sports program.

    In three sentences

    Overall Chatham University is a wonderful school to attend. It is located in a magnificent city. It is a University that really cares about its student.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go off campus and hang out at one of the other universities in the area or go shopping in Shadyside or Oakland. Everything is so close to the school.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a picky eater, but there is always pizza, ice cream, and pasta. The dining services offer a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the residence halls here because they're all old restored mansions!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class schedule you make for yourself can depend on how hard your semester is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class because when you go somewhere small the professors always know when you skip class.

    In three sentences

    I really love the atmosphere at this school and how personal everything is here. I love that my professors all know my name and some of my interests outside of class.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    JOIN DRAMA CLUB!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to be who you are; and you'll find your place in no time. You don't have to be a feminist to go to this university. Go to class!

    In three sentences

    Chatham is a good place for young ladies to grow into independent women. Its a great place for those who are passionate about conserving the environment. Chatham University is like a family.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    To not eliminate Chatham because it's a woman's college. There are plenty of men here!

    In three sentences

    Chatham University is a woman's college. The reason I was drawn here was because of all of the positive attitudes of the students I met and how happy everyone was to be here. I am receiving a top of the line education here to reach my dream of becoming a nurse.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cannot comment

    Greek Life

    cannot comment

    Clubs and Activities

    cannot comment

    Great for these types of students

    cannot comment

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    cannot comment

    Bang for the buck

    cannot comment

    What to do for fun

    cannot comment

    Food and Dining

    Cannot comment

    Dorm Life

    Cannot comment

    Academic Rigor

    Cannot comment

    Tips for prospective students

    Cannot comment.

    In three sentences

    I can't comment on the actual student experience, however I know several ladies that have attended or currently attended and they all seem rather well rounded and decently educated.... so I'm guessing that's a good sign. The campus is bright, clean, a little spread out, but very convenient in location.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Greek Life

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Clubs and Activities

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Great for these types of students

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Bang for the buck

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    What to do for fun

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Food and Dining

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Dorm Life

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Academic Rigor

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    Tips for prospective students

    Planning to attend Fall 2013

    In three sentences

    Chatham University is a peaceful, quaint university located in the center of the east end of Pittsburgh. The students are friendly, the staff is helpful, and the atmosphere is like home. The university is small, so you can walk its length before you finish your Starbucks.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here and talk with the police officers everyday almost because they are always around to just talk with.

    Greek Life

    our whole school is a sorority!

    Clubs and Activities

    Here is the link http://www.chatham.edu/campuslife/getinvolved/organizations.cfm

    Great for these types of students

    Every kind of student! We love you all! :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Here is the link that talks all about them http://www.chatham.edu/campuslife/getinvolved/traditions.cfm

    Bang for the buck

    SO many scholarship available, just call admissions!

    What to do for fun

    Oh my gosh there is just so much! I am a member of Emerging Women Leaders Institute, Chatham Ambassadors, the Scholars program, RHC, This is me! LGBTQ, Juggling Club, book club, and SWIRL (social work is real life). All of these keep me busy but all bring me so much joy. We have so many interesting clubs and activities to join here if interested! My favorite event is movie under the stars where they show new movies at night on the quad with our blankets and they provide popcorn!

    Food and Dining

    We have two options Cafe Rachel and Anderson. Both a great offering locally grown Vegan and Vegetarian options! Also we compost everything (we even have specially designed napkins, bottles, and plates that are compostable).

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm experience! We have five options here: Fickes, Rea , Laughlin, Woodland, and the Chatham Apartments. Each are unique because they all were built as personal mansions in the 1800's and Early 1900's (except the Apartments). We also have living learning communities if you are interested in living with girls who have similar interests! Fickes which houses the first year experience, Rea is for the environmentalists, Laughlin is for the intercultural students who wish to be paired with an international student, and Woodland for the All-Faith individuals! In each community they have a Residence Hall Council which meets and organizes fun activities weekly! I am in RHC and love it so much!

    Academic Rigor

    At Chatham, I am not going to lie, it is pretty academically challenging but in the sense of OH MY GOSH I HAVE 4 20 PAGE PAPERS DUE IN 2 DAYS!!!! Nope none of that. What I mean is you have to study hard, read the material, and be an active learner inside the classroom, especially during debates. We have very small intimate classes with a 10:1 ratio which is awesome because your class mates and professors know you personally and actually care about how you are feeling (they will even sit in the cafe with you for an hour talking about the issues facing women in the modern world over a latte).

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be scared to apply here because it is a Women's college. We are all strong minded and empowered women :) If you are interested in Chatham come and visit (we are one of the most beautiful campuses in the world! we have been dedicated as a national arboretum) and do not be afraid to ask a thousand one question. Get to know current students here and have an overnight with them!

    In three sentences

    Chatham is a place that will inspire you. It will push you out of your comfort zone and make you rethink and question everything. Chatham is green, energetic, friendly, open-minded, lgbtq friendly, awesome, and everything else wonderful!

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Before you get highly concerned about the campus safety rating Iâ??ve provided, allow me to explain. The campus police do an excellent job as far as crime rates and care for those with physical handicaps. They are always reachable and usually a pleasure to deal with; however, when it comes to safe walkways during the winter months (which distribution of salt and the care of walk ways is a matter of campus safety) the campus safety is sorely lacking. I myself, feel six times this winter due to untreated walkways from a salt shortage. I fortunately was never seriously hurt, yet several people sprained and tore muscles as well as people who fractured and broke bones. Winter preparedness and safety is seriously lacking at Chatham.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Chatham; however, it is very easy to enjoy the Greek life of the other local universitiesâ??mainly Carnegie Mellon University and the University of Pittsburgh.

    Clubs and Activities

    As previously mentioned there are endless clubs at Chatham, and if thereâ??s a club you want that doesnâ??t exist its easy to make your own. Really though its like a kid in a candy store, thereâ??s everything. Just donâ??t get yourself into too many commitments too soon. To see a partial list of the student activities go to http://www.chatham.edu/campuslife/getinvolved/organizations.cfm.

    Great for these types of students

    All students exploring the idea of a womenâ??s college (although it may become a coed institution by the fall of 2015 depending on a vote by the Board of Trustees in June of 2014) should consider Chatham University. All those looking for the experience of a small school with a close-knit community should apply. Those looking at majors with global focuses or in sustainability or womenâ??s studies should seriously consider this school. Chatham received a â??Green Ratingâ?? score of ninety-eight out of a possible ninety-nine for demonstrating a commitment to sustainability and is currently undertaking the building of Eden Hall (with your interesting in environmental studies I highly recommend looking it up).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chatham is a university built on traditions, be prepared for them. Each graduating class at Chatham is assigned a rotating class color, meaning that the leaving graduating class gives their color to the entering first year class. The colors are red, pink, green, and yellow for the undergraduate classes. These colors are used for the infamous Battle of the Classes, which is a mishmash of weird challenges with dancing and painting and singing in which the rules are never explained to the first year class to make their lives even more difficult (seriously it gets intense). Also thereâ??s the yearly tradition of Candlelight and Eggnog, which is the multi-cultural winter festivities. There are three parts to this event, but essentially itâ??s a dance. The first part of which, is when the campus gets together in the Chapel and sings diverse winter holidays songs, before everyone then goes to Eggnog in the Welker Room where everyone drinks eggnog and eats cookies, and then everyone goes to the dance in Buhl Hall (its pretty fun).

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, Chathamâ??s bang falls way short of its buck. Chatham is one of the most expensive universities in the Pittsburgh areaâ??currently bar none other than Carnegie Mellon. You lose your buck when you blink at this school. The meal plans are required and expensive from some not great meals. Books (like almost all universities) are ridiculous. I certainly donâ??t feel the dorms are worth what you pay in housing fees, and tuition alone is scary and rising yearly. For fall of 2014 there will be a three percent raise in tuition, with no promises it wonâ??t continue to rise year after year (keep in mind scholarships do not increase when tuition increases). Also, the university likes to sell student on the fact that upon admission acceptance students are given a brand new Apple MacBook Pro, with maintenance and software for free; however, students pay for that computer in tuition and computer fees. In fact, if you do the math a MacBook pro costs roughly thirteen hundred dollars where students pay approximately two thousand in computer fees throughout their undergraduate studies. I think the pricing is absolutely ridiculous; however, if youâ??re really interested in Chatham I highly recommend applying for every scholarship you can and applying for on-campus work (insider information: student ambassador jobs pay the best).

    What to do for fun

    A major plus for anyone looking at Chatham is the amount of things to do. There is over one hundred and forty clubs on campus (and growing yearly). There is everything from sustainability clubs to knitting and juggling clubs. There are always visiting lecturers and speakers (donâ??t judge them as boring until you try them). For instance, Piper Kerman of â??Orange is the New Blackâ?? is visiting spring of 2014. There are also annual dances, and intermural sporting events. Even with all of that on campus, Chatham is ten minute walk from all the shops and restaurants on Forbes Avenue, a fifteen minute walk from all the activity of Murray Avenue, within a half hour of the activities of Carnegie Mellon University and a short shuttle or bus ride to downtown Pittsburgh and the University of Pitt.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Chatham is probably the most exaggerated topic of discussion when you tour the university. If you notice when you go to any large-scale student recruiting events (or events that a lot of alumni go to) they are always catered versus actually eating the normal meals at Anderson dining hall. Thereâ??s a reason for that. The food at Anderson isnâ??t good. The hot meals are the equivalent to the average high school cafeteria food: scary. Worse yet, Chatham commends itself on having vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options for dining at all times; however, when attending the university it becomes apparent that most of the cooking staff lacks an understanding of what qualifies these meals as vegan, vegetarian, or gluten-free. Foods often include egg that are labeled vegan. On several occasions vegetarian omelets have included ham or bacon. The initiative of the Anderson Dining hall falls short of the reality; however, I must admit the salad bar is always fresh with lots of options. If youâ??re willing to only eat salads and ice cream for your entire college experience then Anderson Dining hall is for you.

    Dorm Life

    I really cannot express how much I dislike the dorms at Chatham. Your sold the concept of living â??in a mansionâ??â??which you will be. All of Chathamâ??s dorms were built around the same time as the founding of the college (the mid-nineteenth century). On the exterior the campus is fabulous. Truly you are not going to find a more beautiful campus so close to the downtown area; however, the interior is a completely different story. Excluding Woodland Hall, (which is a relatively new building and not one that first year are likely to live in) the dorms are very old buildings that include the same problems as moving into an older home. The rooms are quite small, being not much larger than half the size of the average high school classroom). As well each of the dorm rooms of equivalent size can have as little as a single bed (again not likely as a first year) or as many as four beds with an equivalent number of dressers and desks. Unless you are the unfortunate soul to get stuck with three other roommates (in which the four of you often share a separate bathroom), entire floors share bathrooms that are again very small. Where the renovations of these mansions into dorms keep the antiquated and beautiful feeling of the campus on the exterior, these buildings were never meant to be dorms and come along with all kinds of problemsâ??lack of space, musty odors from the old carpet and woodwork, its cold in the winter, and its hot in the summer. Those that live in the area should seriously consider commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is enjoyably challenging. No matter the major, Chatham is a largely written academia. Papers are a constant occurrence; however, as long as you aren't a huge procrastinator you shouldn't experience too much difficulty keeping up. If you enjoy the tight-knit community of a small university, I highly recommend applying for the Scholarâ??s program. There are not a lot of excess requirements to graduate with honors and my classes with Dr. MacNeil and Dr. Lenz were some of my favorite.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you're visiting this school I suggest you keep three topics in mind; the first of which being the personality of your student guides, particularly if you are attending a large prospective student event. The majority of Chatham's community is highly extroverted, optimistic, and peppy. If its something you love when visiting, you'll love it while attending. If you don't enjoy something like that, or you're more introverted you may want to look someone else. Itâ??s always hard to be the odd ball in a group. Second, if you're at a Chatham event they get it catered while telling you of the great food at Anderson--beware the exaggerations. And third, Chatham has many majors and a lot of possibilities, but its main mission initiatives are globalization, women's studies, and sustainability. If those are not the majors in which you are interested beware because you will have to take several courses in each as part of your general studies.

    In three sentences

    Chatham University is currently a small ALL womenâ??s undergraduate university. The small number of students creates a very tight-knit community with small class sizes that create a focus each individual student. All students interested in womenâ??s studies and sustainability career tracks should seriously consider this college.