Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Chattahoochee Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security there for your safety and will walk you to your cars or apartment upon request!

    Great for these types of students

    CVCC is great for students who are looking to earn a AAS degree or transferring to a 4-year college.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not paid one penny since attending CVCC. Financial Aid was great and I even was awarded Two scholarship while attending! Book are cheap to rent and buy. The bookstore will try to find you the best deal possible.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student attending and most people are very friendly to talk to. The student center is where everyone hangs out and just get to know each other in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Although CVCC does not have a cafe. They offer a number if different restaurants that comes on different days of the week.

    Dorm Life

    CVCC does not offer dorms, but there are many available apartment complexes in walking distance of the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Set a goal and visualize yourself doing it. 2.Always Keep an open mind to activities and any ways to help complete your goals. 3. Always be friendly to staff and teachers. A smiling face and an appropriate attitude will help change a grade faster and a quick temper!

    In three sentences

    Chattahoochee Valley is a committed to the student college. The staff really goes the extra mile to serve the student in Financial matters, correct grading, and making sure every student graduates on time. On top of the excellent work environment, the atmosphere for friend making and study buddies is amazing!

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are limited choices of food at the college. There are no college restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life on campus is fairly well. Each course has a set schedule on what you'll cover for that semester and every teacher follows it to a 't'. Most teachers though are not unforgiving when it comes to work, and will let you complete things on later times.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to make sure you know what classes your going to take, you don't want to take a course that you didn't need. Try and have a four year institution already picked out, so that you can look up what courses your going to need to transfer over, if you're thinking about transferring. Always make sure to speak to your adviser or teacher if you have any questions about college experience.

    In three sentences

    Chattahoochee Valley Community College is a great starter college for those who aren't quite ready to jump into a four year institution. It offers many wonderful classes for the students and provide a great atmosphere. The instructors at the college are incredibly friendly and helpful to the students needs and learning advantages.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small. There is no way to feel afraid. We also have good campus security and cameras all around.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who just graduated and afraid to leave home immediately.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and fee for classes is VERY reasonable and low priced and completely worth your money. The credits transfer to many schools and big universities and you're learning the same thing you would learn in a large university.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports to play here, and also clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There are local vendors who come and provide food certain days of the week and they are always very friendly with reasonable pricing. Also there are small restaurants less than five minutes away. For example, my friends and I go to a wing place called Dixie Wings almost every day. There is also a brand new Waffle House, right by campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this campus but there are apartments literally across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a good amount of programs offered here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are nervous about attending a large university, this is not a bad place to start. I started off at one and didn't do so hot. Here, I am doing much better and enjoy my classes.

    In three sentences

    It is small and easy to make friends. The teacher-student ratio is great, so you feel more noticed. The staff is friendly.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Chattahoochee Valley Community College is a very respected and advanced institution. Each blessed day, the college is improving in a field. Very clean and organized. The faculty are very friendly and helpful. They will make sure they help you every step of the way.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes are very affordable and most of the instructors are very caring and willing help you when you experience a problem in a class.

    What to do for fun

    Most students congregate in the student lounge and hangout. There are a few clubs but I'm unfamiliar with them.

    Food and Dining

    I've never used the food service beside the vending machines, which are poor at best. So be prepared to bring or go off campus for good food.

    Dorm Life

    CVCC does not have dorms. There are apartments close by that the college recommends though.

    Academic Rigor

    I am giving CVCC 4 stars instead of 5 because my first semester one of the teachers seemed like they were making up the class as they went along. The teacher hasn't been asked back this year and the rules and guidelines seem to be enforced better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your email and Blackboard accounts daily. Also don't be afraid to ask questions or meet with staff if you have a problem.

    In three sentences

    CVCC is a great place to go to earn your general education credits before transferring to a 4-year institute. They also have a good selection of Associate Degree programs. It is also a good transition point for new students and returning students to experience college without being overwhelmed.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is committed to ensure safety and security. It has been times where security guards have waited with me for my ride, so they will always make sure you're safe. They also have an escort service that you can request at the switchboard.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life isn't that big here, because it is just a community college. There is Phi Theta Kappa, which is an organization to recognize and encourage scholarship among community college students by developing leadership, service and fellowship and stimulating interest in continuing academic excellence. They're are certain requirements for it too.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in a club here, but they do have a few that I know of. I believe that most of the clubs they have are either a music program, athletic program, or student council.

    Great for these types of students

    I would suggest CVCC to a student who isn't sure if college is for them, or they have some type any type of issue with going away. The two main reasons I attended CVCC was one financial issues and two my grades and test scores in high school were not the best. Additionally, I really wasn't sure what college I wanted to attend anyway.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is great compared to other colleges and university. If you're trying to save money or trying to get a scholarship, this is the way to go, They have FASFA to and other plans for students who need assistance.

    What to do for fun

    Most of my classes were at night so I really didn't get to do any of their fun activities. They did have a movie day, talent show, and concerts this semester. I did attend come of the concerts and they were good. That's about it though.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have a cafeteria here. They do have vending machines that go in when I'm hungry and have been up there for hours.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here. If students are seeking housing they're advised to contact the management of rental units for information about availability.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is about the same as a college or university. For me, I'm just taking general studies and some of the classes I'm taking would be the same if I were taking them at a big school. Some students in the nursing program even come from Atlanta.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I would just say come up there serious. If you're not really motivated and don't want work you might as well not even register for school. As long as you do all of your homework and pay attention in class everything will be okay, especially after your professors get to know you.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There aren't any fraternities or sororities at CVCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy small class sizes and campuses will be a good fit at CVCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The softball field is probably the most unusual location on campus, considering it is completely underwater every time after it rains.

    What to do for fun

    The student lounge is a good place to sit back, relax, or do homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only take classes set out on your degree plan to ensure you take full advantage of credit hours you enroll in.

    In three sentences

    CVCC is a good quality school with small, interactive classes and a very nice campus. The professors are highly qualified and they provide a great learning enviornment. With great help like the tutoring lab, students get the assistance they need to make good grades.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe.

    Bang for the buck

    The same courses as a four year university for cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Not much at all.

    Food and Dining

    The campus if just far enough from any restaurants that it makes it hard to go in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any dorms.

    In three sentences

    It is great for freshmen right out of high school. They have very friendly staff members. It is a small campus for walking to classes.

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security was awesome. I called them and they came right away. They had the best attitudes.

    Greek Life

    Great place to read, chat with a friend, or return emails would be out in front of the library or under the hill.

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA would be a club I would consider in the future. If they had a fraternity I would consider it as well.

    Great for these types of students

    CVCC is great for first time college students, and even returning students. I am a second chance student at thirty two years of age. Still this is my college of choice when I am able to return.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition was Pirate Day. Everyone dressed as a pirate of some sort and talked like pirates. Class was also let out early...Great!

    Bang for the buck

    This campus was an overall great experience. I really commend the faculty and staff for the upkeep of the campus! I drove an hour and 20 minutes to class 3days out the week, and I don't regret it.

    What to do for fun

    The extracurricular activities that interested me was the mural painting group for the community. I would have loved to be apart of the painting they did downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The student lounge area is a great place to take your food and sit and eat in comfort.

    Dorm Life

    CVCC is in a community of affordable apartments, however there are no on campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are usually available to help, which makes your life of grading easier. The response time in returning emails was usually very acceptable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting to know the people in each department will be of great help. Also Attending the orientation class will give you a better outlook on the college and yourself.

    In three sentences

    CVCC was by far the most helpful college in admissions,financial aid, and scheduling. The campus is very well maintained. Lastly, the security was very helpful when my car battery died.