Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Chattanooga State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing or shy students would love this college. Outgoing because there are always activities available and the shy because the classes are not large so when it comes speech time, you don't have 100 people to talk in front of.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have an early morning class.. get there early to get a parking spot. Make sure you don't park in the grass because I got a ticket for doing so!

    Bang for the buck

    Chatt state isn't very expensive. The best thing about the school is when you take more than 12 hours in classes they only charge you for the 12 hours instead of say 15 (unlike other colleges where they include extra fees for taking more than a certain amount to be a full time student).

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus life is great. The people are friendly and there are a lot of activities that happen around the campus. I was the captain of an intramural softball team and met so many friends by doing so. They also offer other intramural sports as well as paddle boat on the pond.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here at Chattanooga State are very helpful. The classrooms aren't very big which enables you to have more one on one contact with the teacher when you need the help.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    prominent but never bothering students. it's a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    the school offers a lot of clubs and you can sign up to do all kinds of free activities with the school around chattanooga.

    Great for these types of students

    students pursuing nursing will really enjoy this campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the smoking shelter is a joke. its really little and in the mud haha.

    Bang for the buck

    book store located across the street sells our school books for so much cheaper. go there!!

    What to do for fun

    really big computer, it's an easy way to meet people. music is always playing outside. ping pong table is outside year round as well. racketball court and a gym.

    Food and Dining

    cannot complain about the food. breakfast is always a must if you get to the campus early. the food is very well priced the drinks are a little high though.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, but i have heard in the next few years there will be.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are very easy to pass as long as you come and pay attention. i would recommend coming here before making a move to a four year college. it's a cheaper and better alternative.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for as many scholarships as you can, tuition is very cheap. you can go to school and not have to work if you put the work and effort into applying for scholarships. always arrive thirty minutes before your class starts so you can get a parking spot and to class on time.

    In three sentences

    it's a good school, good people, nice campus. the only issue being that the faculty seems to be a little overwhelmed because i've had papers misplaced on multiple occasions. but i love my college.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to get started, or start fresh, in their college education. Chatt State has all of the basic courses you need before transferring to a 4-year school. It's great for anyone who wants a good education, but doesn't want to spend a fortune.

    What to do for fun

    Chatt State is located right off of the TN river. Although swimming is unadvised, there is a paved path called the River Walk right off of campus. It goes all the way to downtown and is very safe and scenic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do some walking. There is poor interdepartmental communication so, if there is a problem, the staff sends you all over kingdom come to figure it out. Also, register early because the great teachers' classes get filled up fast!

    In three sentences

    Great quality classes and teachers, poor interdepartmental communication, and class flexibility is fantastic.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good!!!!

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for the students in the programs their.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, dedicated, and determined to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No but the do have great shopping close by.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good teachers and learning atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    Okay for a community college.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very well prepared when you start taking classes.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a very dedicated, hardworking college. It's one of the best community colleges I've ever seen. The classes are great.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on property police force.

    Bang for the buck

    for what i am doing i am getting way more than i paying for.

    What to do for fun

    go to bowling night. you will meet students from all over campass.

    Food and Dining

    there is a student cafeteria and plenty of vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on what you are studying but for the most part very thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to file all paperwork as soon as possible. with the amount or paper that there is to be processed there if you do not get it in and there needs to be corrections done to it you may run out of time to file said paperwork.

    In three sentences

    campus is nice and not to big so that you can not make your next classes. the science and technology wing is very comprehensive especially with the new addition of the wacker program. staff really tries to go above and beyond for those who really need assistance.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe... i've never had a problem.

    Greek Life

    none... that i know of anyway.

    Bang for the buck

    seriously good deal!

    What to do for fun

    meet friends, checkout the intramural sports, and go fishing or rollerblading on the river walk.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria serves your average junior college food.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus dorms as of yet. they are planning for expansion soon!

    Academic Rigor

    there are more opportunities here to make points than just on the test. so do the pre-work and homework and grab up all the points you can on tests and quizzes. it's not easy... but you can do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    the college has a great website. check it out and look at the majors you are interested in as well as the path you need to follow to graduate. also checkout the scholarships and apply early.

    In three sentences

    chattanooga state is a friendly community college on the river. the faculty has always been very supportive and delivered a great education. i would recommend chattanooga state to my friends and family.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i have had no experience with this.

    Dorm Life

    i have had no experience with this as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    i can't say my classes have been all that difficult in terms of work and projects as most of my experience has been very test and lab intensive courses with class time spent on lectures and reviewing the course selected textbook.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to the campus early to get a feel for the layout, i.e. building locations, parking, etc. i also highly recommend taking a tour as it can be extremely confusing trying to get plugged in and acclimated. also, the earlier you can register, the better b/c classes fill up very fast and the tigerweb program is very complicated if your not familiar with it.

    In three sentences

    i'd say i've been very happy with my decision to come to chattanooga state. it's much more affordable than the private school i attended my freshman year and there are a vast amount of degree concentrations to choose from. i'm also very pleased with the amount of involvement between the school and connecting students to businesses for employment.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE! People tend to mind their own business, no one seems malicious or has ill intent. The security keeps the campus clear from those kinds I believe. Just follow simple campus rules (usually about parking) and you'll be fine, and you won't normally have to worry about trouble.

    Greek Life

    None. Not a 4 year, so I don't think we really have this.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot to choose from. I think I mentioned it above.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need one on one attention with their schoolwork will love it here. Non-traditional students (elderly students, students who are parents, working class) will love Chattanooga State's flexibility. At the same time, traditional students will like the liveliness of the campus. Students who need a challenge will also find Chatt State surprisingly challenging. Most people will find their niche at this school and love it.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY inexpensive. I am very poor, but I am able to make it at Chattanooga State just fine. Financial aid supplements my living while I finish my associates. Great deal, and quality education.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at chattanooga state. They have a lot of performing arts entertainment, and also sports. There are clubs for most majors. There is a lot to do within the confines of the school. If you want entertainment outside of the school, there is obviously shopping, eating out, going to the movies, going to parks of various sorts, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food itself isn't really the greatest, but there are two separate areas to get food. The short order cook lady (I don't know her name) is very friendly, enthusiastic, and will make just about anything for you within the confines of what they have. Cafeteria is usually overcrowded, so a suggestion is to eat elsewhere if you need to study while you eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms yet, though I believe in a year or so there will be dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Surprisingly, this school requires a lot of time and attention. You can't just skirt by, and the classes usually get harder the farther up you go. For paralegal students in particular (me being one), you'll need to make sure you are prepared for a lot of projects. They may give you a week or two to do things, but that will catch up with you quickly. Overall, challenging and you definitely leave knowing a lot more!

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid can be a bit rocky here. It takes time, and the financial aid and bursar offices, being as overwhelmed as they usually are, can be hard to get in contact with via phones and emails. When you need major help from them, you should go in person.

    In three sentences

    I love this school! It is perfect for those not sure about going to a large college, non-traditional students, and students who need a cheaper school to start at. I am happy with it almost completely!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are wonderful! They have jumped me off, and they also helped me out when I locked me keys in my truck while it was running!

    Clubs and Activities

    It has over 40 clubs that you can get involved in, and clubs are encouraged to stay active. The student government association is always willing to help with leadership training and funding for club trips.

    Bang for the buck

    At Chattanooga State you definitely get the most bang for your buck! It is inexpensive, but yet there are so many more things you can take away from you college experience besides just academics.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing about Chatt State is is the student life department. They Intramural sports for everyone, and it is so easy to get involved. There are always events going on around campus that are available for all!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is great! Sam and Libby are the absolute best! Sam's Philly cheese steaks with Libby's fries is my favorite meal.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here yet, but that is something that Dr. Catanzaro is working very hard on.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never fax any of your paperwork, because chances are they will lose it.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a great college for anyone. Most class sizes are small, and you get great one on one help from the professors. It is a great school for those coming right out of high school, because it has that small college feel.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have campus security on site always.

    Greek Life

    They don't have a greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a wide assortment of clubs and activities that could include anything from Chemistry club to Student Government to a Hacky Sack group. There is something out there for anyone attending their school.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who need to continue working while attending school and it is also great for adults who are wanting to go back to school to get their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They don't really have any unusual traditions or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is quite a bit cheaper than a university and if you choose Chattanooga State you are paying less for the same quality professors. It is a great choice especially if you are going into an allied health program. They just recently build a brand new health building with all new state of the art technology. They even have programs for Volkswagen. Chattanooga State offers so many different programs you'd be a fool not to check them out.

    What to do for fun

    The school is constantly hosting fun gatherings. Sometimes it includes just the students while other times it includes both students and faculty. They could be any where from a cook-out to a water relay. One things for certain, if you attend, you will have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't any better than your average high school cafeteria. But look at it this way, it is all apart of the college experience. If you really can't stand the cafeteria then there are several options nearby. The only down fall is that you'll have to leave campus for this.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus but you are still able to socialize as if there are some.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are sometimes found to be difficult. However, the professors are all so passionate about their work they help you understand. The professors are willing to talk to you after classes if you are falling behind. They are more than willing to work with you to catch you up.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first go to the campus take someone or find someone to give you a tour of the campus. Have them give you the inside scoop on the social and academic activities they have to offer. There is definitely more to Chattanooga state than meets the eye.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a smaller campus and with that size comes a more personal experience. Everyone is very friendly and more than willing to socialize with you or help you find your way. The staff is top notch and they have a great thing going for new and old students.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Costs too much. Especially books.

    What to do for fun

    Musical, cultural and arts events.

    Food and Dining

    Acceptable. Not too many choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Just as good as the university level. Classes are challenging but interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get yourself ready ahead of time because they really launch right into the work. the end of the semester deadlines are tough as well.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are excellent. I have had problems with the change over in administration and computer systems however. Overall I have not had too many problems.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take night classes mostly and I always feel safe. There is always a cop visible while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not currently in any school clubs or activities, but I know there are quiet a few offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Some one looking to get a diploma or certificate. Chattanooga state is more of a technical school then a state college to me.

    Bang for the buck

    To me you get what you pay for at Chattanooga priced. They are on the cheaper end of the scale, but you do not always get the biggest bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    I know their is different clubs, sports and organizations offered at the college however I am currently employed full time right now and have no spare time for anything but school and work.

    Food and Dining

    They have a snack style cafeteria not many different choices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise they are fair however classes are not challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that no matter how many emails it takes for a response or how long you have to stay on hold to talk to a live human being do it and take their names as well. Also any thing important that you fax to them keep your confirmations because I have simply been told well we never received it sorry.

    In three sentences

    I actually plan on transferring colleges in the Fall because Chattanooga State is so unorganized and does not have it all together. I should have realized when it took them three months to accept me that this was not the school for me. Since then they have lost important documents and have yet to approve my financial aide for the summer so I will not be attending this summer like I need to.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great choice for returning college students, as well as those just out of high school not ready to leave home for school yet.

    What to do for fun

    There are some planned social activities on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be in a rush when its time to register. it's often a more lengthy process than it should be.

    In three sentences

    good education for the money. teachers who seem to care about how your doing flexibility for family/work schedules

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have people constantly patrolling the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The river walk is right behind the main campus which is a great place to hang out or do homework.

    What to do for fun

    At the main campus you have the river walk behind you. Also on campus you have a volley ball area and many computer labs where you can sit back and relax between classes.

    Food and Dining

    They have a pizza stand and a cafeteria. Most food is good but the prices can be a bit steep.

    Academic Rigor

    Faculty and staff push you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State has many opportunities to people of all ages. It has many programs and people to help student succeed in their education. The professors are great and very helpful.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe here, it's on the highway so you do not having to worry about random individuals walking on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've seen tons of clubs and acitivities go around. I've only been to a few and they have been great!

    Great for these types of students

    This isn't a typical college student college. But, there are a wide variety of walks on life on campus. I really like that! I don't want a college that only focuses on partying.

    What to do for fun

    The student acitivities department are really hands on! I really like that.

    Food and Dining

    Decent variety of foods, i cannot really complain. I wish they had more healthy foods for individuasl that eat raw or are vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there is no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because this is a community college doesn't mean you can pass with no sweat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your financial aid consistantly! Do not wait for them to contact you.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a wonderful local college. When i arrived on campus i felt immediately welcomed. I absolutely love the diversity at this college.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is somewhere on campus daily until the last person leaves the campus. They are also in buildings patrolling to keep the campus safe. They interact with the students to make them feel secure.

    Bang for the buck

    Funding is something Chattanooga State helps tremendously. Students are given the chance to receive funding to continue their success in their school terms.

    What to do for fun

    Chattanooga State has several opportunities in the fun zone. They send emails to let students about upcoming events and activities. Students are able to join their peers at sporting events. There are several organizations students can join and be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafeteria keeps the students satisfied with the meals. Each building on campus provides students to get a snack or beverage. Water fountains are also provided.

    Dorm Life

    No housing on campus as of yet, in progress.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a plethora of area of studies for each student to be fulfilled and successful. They fit you with a path so a student can have a term by term guide so a student could reach out to other peers and or professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dear Prospective students, I believe Chattanooga State is a great choice to further a students' education. It has a plethora of majors that best suits students. Everyone is given a chance to show their talent and ideas. The faculty has a chore to teach and they also take time to make sure no one is left behind. Peers are definitely a player in a students' school term by helping one by doing assignments and study guides together.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a school of opportunities and challenges by offering internships and other hands on activities. The faculty are determined to help and guide each student in their active and inactive school terms. If a students' goal is to succeed, Chattanooga State plays a part in a students' success.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everyone has different ideas of fun. The college has a student life center that hosts all kinds of events. There are foam dance parties and football and softball leagues.

    Food and Dining

    Chattanooga State has a cafe to die for! They will cook you just about anything you want to eat! They have breakfast early in the mornings to and can cook your lunch in a matter of five minutes.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm but I do live in an apartment with three other girls from school. I like living here because it is a start to your adult life. You learn to manage money, pay bills, and be independent.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here a fantastic. They will take time out of their office hours to discuss anything you would like to discuss and help you in any way that they can. They do everything in their power to help you understand the lesson and will work with you until you get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to come here, you should check and make sure they offer your major, or at least the prerequisites for you to take before you transfer. Also, this college is just small enough to feel homey and it is easy to get around. If your looking for something not to big but not to small, this is the place for you!

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State Community College is a fantastic school. Everyone here, teachers, advisers, students, everyone is always willing to help in any way that they can. They even have tutors for certain subject areas!

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security staff are always driving around campus checking students and directing traffic.

    Greek Life

    They have 2 programs you can choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and sports to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to save money without losing quality of education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are all sorts of locations that students find on campus to just relax. There are decks, bridges, and walls overlooking campus all for students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is so cheap!!! yet your education doesnt feel any different from a big university.

    What to do for fun

    The IM rec department always fun activities for students to be apart of. Also, there is a gym, fitness center, riverwalk, access to the Tennessee River, sporting courts and fields, and a game room.

    Food and Dining

    So much food to choose from each day. There are different places to choose from and plenty of helthy options as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no live on campus option.

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn a lot in a very short time here, but the professors are always willing to help and completing your assignments is easy in the amount of time they give you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply as early as you can Check your account everday for tigerweb updates Sign up for classes as early as possible

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is an amazing place to go to school. They offer tons of degree, transfer, and certificate programs. They really care about their students and will do anything to help you enjoy your college experience.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our security staff consist of security guards an post certified police officer . I do not know of any major problem so they must be doing their job

    Greek Life

    I am not sure what you want here . I am not greek so I am not aware of this subject. I do not think this is an important subject to enter about this ccollege.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs for many interest. If there is something you are interested in and there is not a club for it , then it may be possible to start a new club

    Great for these types of students

    Chattanooga State is great for any student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing unusual for a college

    Bang for the buck

    Because of the great reputation this college has many student get the first two years of thier education here before transferring to a 4 year colege

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of student activities so you decide

    Food and Dining

    Be careful walking by the cafeteria when you re hungry you just decide to stop and put on a few pounds

    Dorm Life

    no dorms yet at Chattanooga State but the college has plans to build them

    Academic Rigor

    Stay up to date with your studies as much as possible if you have problems do not ba afraid to discuss them with you instructor

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the time you have a t college . Take your time to learn new things and make new friends for life

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is the best school. I am not the only one who believes this. this is proven by the continue growth in attendance

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's worth every penny

    What to do for fun

    Play sports

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused

    In three sentences

    Very outgoing Helpful Eager to help

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chattanooga, TN has so many amazing outdoor resources! Lots of trail systems, mountain and road biking opportunities, fishing, kayaking, boating in general, rock climbing and it seems like there's some race going on weekly. There's also a pretty good music scene and lots of great food. I'm a climber and that's the whole reason I moved here. Chattanooga State has the best nursing program in town, so here I am.

    Food and Dining

    The lady that works the grill is the best part of the cafeteria! The menu is mostly sandwiches but they're pretty good. It's possible to eat fairly healthy...whole wheat wraps, veggie wraps, Naked juices. Not enough variety to eat there every day though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here. Rent in Chattanooga is reasonable though. They do have a Rec department that hosts events throughout the semester to bring students together.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had both mildly challenging and easier than high school classes. But every instructor I've had was very helpful, open to questions and wished success for their students. I can only speak for the first semester of the RN program...definitely time consuming! But so far, nothing super stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into any nursing program prepared to spend a lot of time and energy. I can't yet say how great the rewards are for said time and energy, but everyone says they love the profession!

    In three sentences

    After attending one of each, I appreciate the cost of attending a community college versus a university. Their nursing program allows students to start work in two years. All the instructors I've taken so far are incredibly helpful.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is at every corner to guide/assist/protect you. Usually during slow days of campus life, you will solemnly see Campus Security.

    Greek Life

    Sadly no Sororities or Fraternities exist on Chattanooga State Campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Extracurricular activities and clubs are abundant, with the option to partition your own club in the mix. Clubs coexist with your major, activities reach from mundane to fun in the sun.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for A.A.S or A.A.T, High-school Grads, General Electives Prerequisites & General Education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions. Everything is pretty commonplace.

    Bang for the buck

    If you come to pursuit after a tangible goal, your money will be well spent.

    What to do for fun

    Campus Clubs and activities will occupy your time between classes. Tiger-Web ,which will facilitate email relating to events on campus, will be your connection to campus life. Events include Month specific activities, Holiday & Charity events, fields trip and aboard studies.

    Food and Dining

    Savory assortments of delicacies varying from; hamburgers to vegan platters. Prices are usually from fair to unreasonable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are currently available at Chattanooga State.

    Academic Rigor

    With ppreperation & dedication one can easily make the Dean's List. As easy as one can make the Dean's List, flunking out can come swiftly as well with procrastination .

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what your goal is here & stay productivity. There is a lot of opptunity here and its easy to miss it.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a great college for expanding minds. With countless activities, boundless clubs and basic necessities.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As a young college student, I don't have much money. Chattanooga State is affordable and works great with my schedule.

    Food and Dining

    Not much food and dining....this is a community college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Chattanooga State.

    Academic Rigor

    Not terribly hard; you just have to focus and dedicate yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for hard work.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State has been a great beginners step for me. I recently graduated high school and they have made me feel welcome and at ease. The staff has been extremely helpful.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not overload yourself with hours unless you can handle them.

    In three sentences

    Its a good starter school for getting an associates degree. They have an excellent Middle College program for current high school students. The advisers are very helpful.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety all day. Security is always near by anway on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities are plentiful.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafeteria is excellent. You have several choices to pick from. There is a variety of food for anyone who attends Chattanooga State.

    Dorm Life

    There are no campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Chattanooga State is very well academically challenging. There are many challanges in every program. In the end, hard work will pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying hard is always going to be the most important thing. Going to class is just as important though. Using other materials then the book and teacher are helpful.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a great school to attend. It has amazing teachers, small classes, and great education programs. I love that it is not a overly crowded school.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have only heard of one incident at Chattanooga State, its a very safe school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chattanooga State has 5 different campus's which makes attending school easy.

    Bang for the buck

    Chattanooga state is an inexpensive school, that offers may different programs.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in at school activities. Check the bulletin boards and tigerweb for upcoming events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nice, and has a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    Chattanooga state does not offer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead, talk with advisors and your teachers often. Meet with financial aid often.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a great college I rate most all my teachers a 9. Parking is horrible so arrive early rate parking a 3. Financial aid is confusing always go to speak to Maggie or Willie in person, you will get diff answers everywhere else Maggie and Willie 10.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is around to support your needs

    Great for these types of students

    financial hardship

    Bang for the buck

    great price for the education

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities provided though i don't have time to attend the sports and activities. they also provide study abroad programs which is nice

    Food and Dining

    not a huge selection of healthy food and a cook to order option is great

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing program is great

    Tips for prospective students

    get your FIN-AID done as soon as possible and remember to confirm your classes even if you think you have double check.

    In three sentences

    great education at a great price. a place full of friendly and helpful faculty. but the most difficult part is getting started.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently not active in any clubs

    Great for these types of students

    fearful, scared to attend. I was and I love it!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as if I have not only gained knowledge, but confidence.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the campus....there is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Very expensive and little to offer

    Academic Rigor

    There have been 3 or 4 classes that I have WORKED to earn my grade and quite frankly, they have been my favorite classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early doing your fafsa, registration and advisor appointment

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is an excellent school. I have been lucky enough to have wonderful instructors. Also, the class size is not too big.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work out at a near by RUSH!!

    Food and Dining

    lots of resturants close by and food on campus not bad either

    Dorm Life

    no dorms live in apartment close to campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early looking for an apartment due to housing not being available on campus.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Chatt State has been one of success. They have met my expectations on every level. I have enjoyed their ongoing willingness to ensure my college experience is successful.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several officers on campus.

    Greek Life

    No such thing at Chatt State!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and people get super excited about them. FRISBEE GOLF especially!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to get started on a four year degree, but can't necessarily afford to go to a big university. Transfers are simple.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ... There are lots of ducks on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a cheaper alternative than going to a university for the full four years.

    What to do for fun

    Anthing. Chatt. State is in a GREAT location. You're near some fun things to do in Chattanooga.

    Food and Dining

    The food is about as good as any cafeteria, I suppose.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, no problems :)

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and you learn a lot. You definitely get your money's worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FAFSA as early as humanly possible or you will NOT get your classes paid for on time!

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State Community College is the perfect school for those belonging to small town, low income families. The staff is kind and caring and the academics are rigorous. You do what you came there to do: you learn, you grow, and you move on.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards there to help with parking and safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    Chattanooga State does not have sororities or fraternities because they do not have college dorms on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a TON of clubs and activities that go on 24/7 at Chattanooga State. They have clubs that I have never even heard of!

    Great for these types of students

    Chattanooga State is a great college for students who like being close to their friends and family, and also for students who don't enjoy the dorm life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cannot really think of any unusual traditions or locations on campus, although I was only there for a short period of time, so I didn't know EVERYTHING about it.

    Bang for the buck

    As I stated before, I only went to this college for a year. My college was being paid for by the American Cancer Society, because I am a cancer survivor. Chattanooga State does have fairly low tuition, but don't let that fool you! They are a great college and give you every opportunity to have a happy and successful career!

    What to do for fun

    There are many different activities to do for fun at Chattanooga State. They have sports teams you can join, a dance team, beach volleyball on special occasions, different fundraisers, bowling etc. There was always something fun to do at Chattanooga State. I believe that is one of their number one priorities; to have a ton of fun while getting prepared for your future career!

    Food and Dining

    I honestly never ate in their cafeteria because my hours were late at night. I have seen the cafeteria a couple times and it was always very clean. The food always smelled inviting as well, although they served a lot of fried foods, and I would say I am a health nut, so I never partook of the food there.

    Dorm Life

    Chattanooga State does not have on campus boarding, unfortunately. Although, they do have an on campus daycare to watch your children while you are in class.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Chattanooga State proved fairly easy for me in my career path to be a Radiologic Technologist. Although, there were a few classes I experienced there that were somewhat challenging, which is a positive thing! You need things to be challenging sometimes so you will ask questions and learn more about the subject matter!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a very nice college. The classrooms are average size, which helps you to get more attention from the teacher when you are in need of help. Their are also many different programs at Chattanooga State so you will have a ton of choices for your future career!

    In three sentences

    I only went to this school for about a year, although the time I did go here, I had a very pleasant experience. All of the staff and teachers are very polite and extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this college to anyone in that area!

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police patrol campus routinely

    Great for these types of students

    Student that are looking for small classes, intimate setting, and one on one help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Often appearances from bands and singers doing live performances. On campus Game shows with student participants.

    Bang for the buck

    Great 2-year programs. Excellent education that won't eat away your bank account.

    What to do for fun

    Game room with provided xbox and playstation consoles along with games. Pool table and Air hockey table in game room. Racket Ball room. Fully furnished workout gym. Yoga classes available. Basketball Court open during regular school hours.

    Food and Dining

    Buffet is available. Mid sized menu cooked to order made right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    As long as a student actually does the work; they should pass. Hard courses are made easy with the way teachers present it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early to get wanted courses with comfortable class times to match your schedule. Make an effort to talk with and build a relationship with your professors. Checking TigerWed and E-learn should be a daily action.

    In three sentences

    The campus is new, well kept, and clean. Teachers are hands on and very helpful. There is free tudoring available for almost all classes and subjects.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's a smaller campus so there is not a lot of 'on campus' things to do. But Downtown Chattanooga is ten minutes away so there are tons of things to do there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and have all your paperwork together. Once you have that, it's all easy peasy.

    In three sentences

    The environment is very conducive to open learning. The teachers genuinely want to help you succeed. The campus is large enough to support a healthy body of students but not so large you get lost.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel im getting a great deal on my education hear. Small(ish) class sizes for a great price.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Health& fitness center, book club, chem club, game room.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafe & snack bar. New cafeteria redone.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    CSCC is very strong on work ethic: showing up to class, being on time, turning work on time,

    Tips for prospective students

    Get FA done early, it can be a hassle. Take study seminars and go to introduction group sections for new students.

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean and state of the art. The students are friendly and helpful, as are the staff. The classes are great and reasonable size.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is the type of campus where everyone is there to get their degree and go home. Students are local, so they more than likely have somewhere else to be. Safe, calm environment on the river. I have never had an evening class, so I don't know what to expect after hours around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fitness club is my favorite.

    Great for these types of students

    On-the-go students, students planning for University, students that need to develop study skills, students with children, people pursuing certificate programs, older people going back to school, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    Food and Dining

    School's food is pretty good. I usually use vending machines or bring my food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Typically easy course loads. Some teachers expect more out of you and some do not. They offer Tennessee Transfer Pathways, which is very useful to students planning on attending a four-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on time and reach deadlines. Admissions and financial aid can be a real pain to deal with after deadlines and it is only hurting yourself.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a convenient, affordable, and friendly community college. The faculty is very helpful and eager to aid in you advancing to a four-year institution.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many campus safety staff roaming around the school, the only problem that i see is that anyone can come into the school regardless of whether they are a student or not because no one checks ID's or ask for any proof that you are a student.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who work a full time job because they work with your schedule very well. It is also a good school for those with children because there is a daycare on campus. This school is awesome for anyone who is looking to create a better future for themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    I took financial planning classes when i was in High School and it was recommended that i go to a community college to get my basic classes out of the way because it would be cheaper, my teacher was absolutely right, my financial aid covers all of my expenses!

    What to do for fun

    Chattanooga State is always holding events for the students to enjoy. We have had a few really exciting guests like the Dalai Lama who have come to speak for us. There are many clubs to choose from including math and science that will be helpful if you are taking those classes.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried the food in the cafeteria yet because its a bit pricey but it smells wonderful when i walk by.

    Dorm Life

    We do not currently offer dormitories at this location.

    Academic Rigor

    Like all colleges you will have your good teachers as well as your bad. The best thing you can do for yourself is to take advantage of the tutoring that they offer and go to the library as often as possible so that you can keep up with your homework. Most teachers will work with you if you need the help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to college can be a scary thought. It takes motivation as well as courage to take the first step toward a better life. I was nervous about going back to school and wondered how i would ever have time, money or motivation to come in each day, but when i walk into these doors every day i see nothing but better opportunities for myself. My tip for prospective students is to take the first step toward a brighter future and join Chattanooga State Community College, they are here for you! I would suggest that students get to school early if they want to get a good parking space or a good seat in the library. At the beginning of each semester it is wise to come to school a day early so that you can easily find your classes.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State is a great college that is both affordable and educational. Many of the lessons i learn here are helpful both inside and outside of school. I feel most comfortable in the Chattanooga State Library because it is a comfortable and peaceful environment for me to catch up on my studying.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Social clubs, art clubs, atheletics, events

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is large and has great food and a nice variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    No Pressure. Except the teachers expect the best out of all the students and do help you achieve your personal academic best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak often with teachers and advisors, always check the schools site for updates, as they change things frequently, always stay abreast via school email for all school news, and ASK questions if confused. The staff is well-informed. But I suggest to always set up appointments, as they are VERY busy.

    In three sentences

    Chattanooga State has a diverse campus, from various ethnic backgrounds, ages, and prospective career goals. The staff is helpful. The students are friendly. The campus itself is state of the art, accessible in different areas of the city (multple campus locations), easy to navigate. A truly great college.