Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Chemeketa Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    General studies, Medical, Firefighters, Paramedics, I'm sure there is other good programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you attend Chemeketa keep focused on why you are there. I found a good study group and we are all helping each other exceed. All the questions and information you could ever want can be found at the information center(coinsidence?). People are friendly, teachers helpful and the tuition is underpriced.

  • 12/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Chemeketa is a great school for anyone and everyone. Everybody is welcome to be who they are and there is never a need to put on a fake smile. The location is great and the classes are smaller. The teachers will be there to help you if you want or need it. Other students are eager to meet people. Chemeketa is an amazing place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd say take classes that appeal to you or to your major if you know. Chemeketa is a really friendly place and a great place to meet friends, hang out to get some extra studying done, or help with resource centers. Always do what you need to get done early, that goes with any college or comminty college. You don't want to be waiting in a line for an hour.

    Bang for the buck

    I was surprised at Chemeketa's prices. I know that being a community college it will be less than a university but I was impressed. Up in the financial aid offices there are packets that you can get a month or so pior to the next term with scholarships you can apply for and it's amazing. You really get what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    Chemeketa is a really open place, I walked on campus my first day and I was feeling really nervous and then I started to see people that I knew and I met some really funny and outgoing people and it took my nerves away. Chemeketa has a broad atmosphere and you just love to be around. There are so many places to just hang out between classes and the art gallary is a fun place to go as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I've been at Chemeketa for one term now and I absolutely love it here. The teachers are always there to help you when you need it, there are many resources you can use if you don't exactly know where to turn to.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa offers a scholars program which pays for your tuition for your first 2 years if you maintain a GPA of 3.5 and higher. This has made Chemeketa grow more and more popular because of course, everyone wants to save money.

    Will enjoy being here

    One thing that separates Chemeketa from a university is the rate of people most of the time being much older than you. So in some classes it may feel like you are the only one your age. But that doesn't mean there aren't people whom you wouldn't get along with.

    Will learn a lot

    This school is of course, a community college. Unlike Universities, it offers everyone a chance to interact closer with a professor of counselor. The rate of people whom have successfully passed their classes is pretty high at Chemeketa. It is a good place to start out.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest if you want to go into a four year college, you might want to do your first two years at Chemeketa, allowing that the college you want to transfer into will except the credits. At Chemeketa, you can get all of your general education in, and then at the college or university you transfer to after, you can do all of your requirements that go towards that degree.

    Am learning a lot

    I just finished up my first year here at Chemeketa and it was great! Because CCC gives opportunities to everyone and anyone, I was able to go from being a homeschooler, shy and timid out in the world, to a college student who is learning ASL, science, art, theater, and all of it goes to the Associates of the Arts Transfer Degree. I'm so glad I started out at Chemeketa! The expense isn't too bad and I'm getting a great education for it!

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students, Art and Science associate transfer degree students, EMT and Fire students

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on deadlines, and go to class!!! Oh, and be sure to pay for your annual parking pass.

    Bang for the buck

    While like all schools the text book costs are a tad high, the cost per credit hour and class fees is small compared to the quality of learning environments that I have been exposed to here at Chemeketa.

    Am enjoying being here

    So far I have been met with nobody but pleasant administration and students and I am definitely enjoying my stint here at Chemeketa.

    Am learning a lot

    When you hear somebody tell you that they are going to community college, we all say to ourselves, hm, should just go to university. But in my time at chemeketa, I feel like despite the community college stigma, I am learning a lot.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Chemeketa has it all! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless you have a scholarship to a university, community college is the way to go! Get your core classes done and out of the way for much cheaper! Plus Chemeketa Community College is a GREAT place to do that. They have great staff and instructors and it is a very homey, student-based environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are a reasonable price and I can't complain about the price for what I getting out of it...

    Am enjoying being here

    The instructors and staff are so wonderful and always pleasant to be around. It is a great homey environment!

    Am learning a lot

    I am going for my Early Childhood program and love every class that I have to take. The Instructors are GREAT!

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is constantly walking around campus, and there are cameras in every building.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    They got a rugby club, soccer basketball, baseball, international, etc. If you're looking for a certain club and it doesn't exist, you can make the club yourself and chemeketa will help you get started.

    Great for these types of students

    Students straight out of high school, or for people wanting to go back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Can't think of any.

    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa is pretty much a school for kids that just got out of high school. Or for people who just want to continue their education. But they do put a lot of focus of helping you get transferred to a university, or helping you find a degree program!

    What to do for fun

    They have tons of clubs and sports! Plus there are always field trip opportunities and volunteer work that can be done!

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, I don't really eat there. But when I do I really enjoy having their fries!

    Dorm Life

    The great thing about chemeketa is I can live at home and it saves me tons of money!

    Academic Rigor

    School isn't hard if you pay attention and do your work, if you do that then there will be no reason why you don't succeed here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with your counselor(s). Let them now what your plans are and what you're hoping to get out of your college experience, and they'll work very hard to help you accomplish your goals.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa is a very great place to get your basics out of the way. It's very affordable and there are a lot of opportunities here. They also have a lot of vocational programs that are really helpful as well.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe. They do have a safety program and you can be escorted to your car if you'd like.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to go to college to figure out their career paths or for adults wanting to start over and try a new career.

    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa class prices are very reasonable if your an Oregon resident.

    What to do for fun

    Salem sometimes has a lot to offer in the way of fun. Head downtown. Probably your best bet.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. Pretty standard American school cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at chemeketa community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the students attending the college are laid back and taking general classes trying to figure out what career they want to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early and buy an annual parking pass.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa is a great community college. The class sizes are not huge and most of the teachers are nice and more than willing to help you out when you need it. Would definitely recommend this school.

  • 09/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great if you don't need any aid, pay with cash and never deal with management.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you don't live near the school or don't want to stand endless time standing in lines with financial aid there are better options out there. The school make a mistake with my aid and it was impossible to fix, because no one would return calls/emails then they said sorry its too late.

    Bang for the buck

    its a community college...

    Am enjoying being here

    The administration makes it near impossible for distance students to contact financial aid, there is no voice mail and only 2 people answer calls at one time. Email takes 2 weeks or more and when you do get a replay, sometimes its just dumb (like not being able to open a PDF document) and you have to start over.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers I have had experience with have been excellent, of course there are always a few bad apples.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    chemeketa offers a variety of sports and has many clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    i have not eaten at chemeketa.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at chemeketa.

    Academic Rigor

    i gave chemeketa 3 stars because i have been scorn by a few instructors and the front desk staff too many times...

    Tips for prospective students

    if you know what you are majoring and what university you want to transfer to in the future, be sure to get the core classes that you would have to take at any college done while you are attending chemeketa. i definitely recommend not taking study intensive classes such as any maths or science classes online. those sorts of classes are best taught on campus by an informed instructor. also, look else where to buy your textbooks. the chemeketa bookstore is a rip-off. buy early and online!

    In three sentences

    chemeketa is a fairly decent college for your money. the a fair amount of the instructors are enthusiastic about the subject they teach and are very willing to assist students with their work when necessary. why not get your core classes done for a fraction of the price of a 4 year university?

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i personally have never eaten food from the cafeteria. but there is a convenience store on campus which is nice in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor depends on the class you take and the teacher you take it from. some classes you wonder why you took it and others you get your moneys worth and learn alot.

    In three sentences

    overall a good school, nice teachers and a good selection of classes. there are a few things that need improvement, such as parking and security. though, it is a good choice to start here, then transfer to a 4 year college.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fair; many bomb threats in past 3 weeks

    Great for these types of students

    social concerned regarding own education wanting to move forward with their own educational goals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    building 2 is student union area with many areas for studying

    Bang for the buck

    good

    What to do for fun

    socialize with students

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    medium 3/5

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll early in order to get the classes, time and instructors you want.

    In three sentences

    very crowded community college. excellent instructors with many students moving on to a 4 year university.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is not that great. We have been getting the last past five months. Getting calls at the school from a person that says that they have a bomb at are campus. Or shooting or that the campus school is in danger.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have different clubs that students can attend. For example 5 de mayo they have a party or the art gallery their much more you could do at the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    It has the basic essentials that you will need to attend a University. They show you the path where to go and then your are in your own.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is a great school it has all the basic steps to reach your goal. Their are amazing counselors that help you to get in to chemeketa. They show you all the things that you will need to reach your academic goal.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is visible and approachable.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not had time to participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Chemeketa meets the needs of students from all walks of life.

    Bang for the buck

    The credit hours are a fraction of universities.

    What to do for fun

    Meet other students to study with...

    Food and Dining

    Food at the cafe is great!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers vary. It is best to check in ratemyprofessor.com before taking a professor, or check with someone who has had them to find out their teaching style, etc.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa is a great school with a lot of options. It has transfer courses and is also affiliated with major universities. Chemeketa offers many on-line and night courses to meet the needs of students from all walks of life.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports sometimes only for fun not for college though.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is good but it costs really a lot.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life in this college is pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    The learning in it is really high and if you will skip a class you will feel that you really skipped a lot. If you will study you will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for college life to get good grades and do not slack of or you will fail.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college but it is so fast and diffrent in the same time. The students are friendly but when class ends they are not your friends anymore. A lot of instructors are great and some are really bad because they cannot teach and want you to know everything exactly 100 percent.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on patrol! They aren't the most friendly, but campus security isn't suppose to be friendly.

    Greek Life

    I've heard Greek life is fun. I'm not a member, so I wouldn't know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs around Chemeketa! Too many to list as a matter of fact :)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are open to meeting new people and students who are willing to try new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To be honest, I don't know of any unusual places on campus

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore is home to great bargains! You can pick up books as well as apparel, software and accessories.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of clubs around Chemeketa as well as basketball courts and volleyball nets to play a pick up game. There is also the library and the computer lab.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Chemeketa is great for school food. I will admit though, some of the kitchen staff aren't friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but from what I've heard, it's nice but also frustrating.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of academics is moderate. Depending on the professor, the class can be hard or easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I would give students would be: be prepared for taking a ton of notes and ask questions when you have them! Other tips would be: don't be afraid to approach your professors with questions, be very organized with your notes as well as your homework, make double copies of your homework in case it gets lost and lat but not least: get to know your fellow classmates (because they can be very helpful.)

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa is a great school for those students wishing to get a great education. However, students have to watch out for some of the teachers there. Most of the teachers are easy to approach and are willing to go above and beyond their job description in order for you to succeed in their class, but others don't care. They do what's required of them (barely) in order to earn their paycheck. The office staff are very helpful and very informative, the counselors are very helpful and make sure you have everything you need to succeed. If I were to give Chemeketa a rating, it would be about a 6 out of 10.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Drama, music, theater, many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Working students, single parents. On campus daycare!

    Bang for the buck

    All the same classes for less than a four year school

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my kids enjoying sports and the outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria with some choices.

    Dorm Life

    No oncampus living, but many apartments within walking distance

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are helpful and available to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as you can as classes can fill up fast. Take advantage of online classes!

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa is a great school to attend. The faculty is very good and very helpful. Class sizes are smaller than other colleges, and schedules are made to fit busy student lives.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic clubs like Trio are fantastic.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent opportunity to get your feet wet again and leave with the ability to master all of your dreams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are open and take time to walk around you will be more likely to find a place that becomes your favorite.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it to take as many of the courses at your community college as possible.

    Food and Dining

    Very acceptable but always better to bring your own lunch when you can.

    Academic Rigor

    The math and anatomy instructors are very helpful willing to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to try all the programs available to you and you will find everyone is very friendly and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is a great internationally diverse campus. The opportunities are everywhere. On campus clubs, study labs, free tutoring, excellent library, as well as a book store with everything you need.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    bomb threats happen often, but very little real safety issues

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few, mostly religious based groups

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional or non-motivated students

    Bang for the buck

    same education you'd find just about anywhere else, only cheaper

    Food and Dining

    very few options...bring a lunch

    Academic Rigor

    it's certainly not rocket science

    Tips for prospective students

    realize it's community college and most of the people you are there learning with don't give a crap about their future.

    In three sentences

    easy, convenient, cheap!

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the rivers

    Food and Dining

    i haven't tried it yet

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are lots of work

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your fasfa on december 31 so you can submit it at 12:01 a.m.

    In three sentences

    I'm in my 4th term and I have had the best time ever. The teachers are great, I haven't had any problems with getting my aid, and the students are really nice.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone is always looking out for each other on campus. I see patrol units everywhere I go. This school is definitely secure!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. I could not even come close to describing them all. Just take a look for yourself online at www.chemeketa.edu

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are independent, cannot afford a lot, and willing to learn are great candidates for Chemeketa Community College

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is very involved in Athletics. Everyone on this campus is passionate!

    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa's tuition is super cheap! There are hardly any fees compared to other universities. If you find yourself in a bind, Chemeketa has a scholars program for students who have a 3.5 minimum GPA in high school. If you meet that requirement you are eligible to have all your tuition paid.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! There are tons of club, sports, and courses out there. Try new things! Keep busy, and enjoy what's planned ahead of you!

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is great. They have an easy access convenience store, a coffee shop, as well as a cafeteria. On some days, they even serve free hamburgers or hot dogs. The only downfall is the price. Some of the prices for food are a little more than your average convenience store.

    Dorm Life

    Chemeketa Community College doesn't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are relaxed, and yet you can expect to learn a lot at the same time. The teachers are very helpful, and almost always available all throughout the day if you're stuck with you're homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go online. A lot of information about the school you can find online. Also, be on top of your financial aid, scholarships, and registration.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is a very welcoming, and easygoing environment. The campus is big, beautiful, and well maintained. The teaching staff is also very well rounded.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had no problems and there is a general rule when on campus that if we stay late, we always walk to cars in pairs. Security is available at at all times and can call them to escort you to your car.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is an active program.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and they are well attended!

    What to do for fun

    In Salem, so plenty of movies, exercise, bike riding, close to (45Min.) beach and to (45 Min) the mountains! Willamette River, Music, Shopping, Portland is 1 hour away!

    Food and Dining

    It is in Salem, OR! Great food everywhere! Expensive on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am in is difficult. If I didn't want to be in it, I would not last!!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Step up and make the most of your time. Focus and get the most for your money. Learn how to prioritize and organize and NEVER procrastinate your studies!

    In three sentences

    Small and intimate classes have given me an opportunity to learn directly from the prof's and from other students. I am in the Visual Communication Program and I am learning more information quicker that other friends who went to larger colleges! I am thrilled to be going here and I will be transferring to a 4 year institution when I am done.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chemeketa offers numerous clubs. Each club is designed to have fun and enrich the college by representing their works around the college.

    Food and Dining

    Chemeketa's Cafe offers excellent foods to energize that hungry student. Chemeketa offers the classic burgers and fries to oriental foods and much more.

    Academic Rigor

    Chemeketa challenges every student to their maximum potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are several types of aids available for student. You will never be left alone. You will always have someone to help.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is an excellent springboard towards educational success. It's rich diversity lives up to what Chemeketa means. Chemeketa means a place of peace where everyone is welcomed to learn.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always pro-trolling so it makes a student feel at ease because you know there is always one around the corner.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, but I am not in any of them, so couldn't tell you what there is.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of Art classes and fitness classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really isn't that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a lot and you don't really get a lot of help with Financial aid

    What to do for fun

    There is a bunch of groups and classes you can take like Art, Pottery, bunch of fitness classes, so if you enjoy one of those you can take them!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your homework and if you have a campus class, attend every single one!

    In three sentences

    It is a small, down to earth college, that helps students out a lot and class room are small, so it makes teaching easy!

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult students returning to college.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a bargain. Great instruction for a fraction of the cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a counselor who will help you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere, not scary for those who have been out of school for a while and want to finish getting their degree.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Take an ASL class!

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really. I have a family, so I go to school and come home. I do study once in a while at our cafe onsite. The cafe has great people working there and the food is really tasty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all the required reading for online classes and watch out for hybrid classes! If you have a hybrid class be ready to complete a lot of discussions and homework online.

    In three sentences

    It's a great community college, with attentive wonderful teachers. The available maps and information provided are helpful and direct. Many online courses are available and there are many of them.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The times I have visited the campus I have felt completely safe.

    Greek Life

    Again I take my classes online so I am not qualified to answer this question.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again I take my classes online so I am not qualified to answer this question.

    Great for these types of students

    Local residents of Salem and students who enjoy living in a small quit town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I take my classes online I am not really qualified to answer this question

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the fees are not out of line. I do not like paying an online fee for every class I take online, I would prefer there was a single fee, but all in all I feel there fees are fair.

    What to do for fun

    Salem is close to the coast and I go there often. There is hiking at the Multnomah falls. I enjoy going to the movies and local sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    I take the majority of my classes online so I have not experienced the food and dining at CCC.

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own home so I have no experience with the Dorm life at CCC.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't find the classes too hard. There is plenty of opportunities for tutoring and one one with instructors if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check registrations times and be sure to go online and register as early as you can. Check out Craigslist for text books. Apply for your financial aide as early as you can, there is along wait time.

    In three sentences

    CCC is an ideal choice for people who work full time and need to take classes around their work schedule. CCC offers a variety of basic courses. CCC has many locations for their classes.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    aside from the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society there is no Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa - Honor Society Theater Outreach ASL Club International Club & more!

    Great for these types of students

    First generation students Fresh out of High School Non-traditional students International students

    Bang for the buck

    Expect to pay almost half of what you would pay at a state university for the same classes. Attending CCC and getting your AAOT (Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer) degree will not only save you money but also allow you to transfer into an Oregon or Washington University with Junior standing.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is pretty good and reasonably priced. The on site catering program hosts a free end of term BBQ that you should be sure not to miss!

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing and pre-nursing programs are HIGHLY competitive and rigorous. Their early education and pre-education (transferring to a 4 yr school) are pretty laid back in teaching style, but don't be fooled, you must maintain a B or higher in your education classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of teachers grade on participation so showing up everyday can help boost a grade that might otherwise be lack luster. I've had teachers award up to 30% of the final grade just being participation, normally its around 10% :)

    In three sentences

    CCC offers a wide variety of classes and Associates Degrees in order to help you reach your potential. Students and staff are very friendly in this laid back atmosphere it's hard not to feel at home, especially on their main campus. Small class sizes make it possible for students to really get to know their professors, one would hardly believe that it is one of the 4 largest schools in Oregon!

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CCC is a very safe enviroment to receive an education.

    Greek Life

    No fraterinities or sororities that you need to pledge!

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any clubs, but there are severalavailable.

    Great for these types of students

    CCC is great for students who prefer to live at home and/or for those who work and go to school at the same time. It's a great little commuter college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CC has several satellite locations such as McMinnville and Stayton.

    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa is really affordable for me...especially because I am in a 5-year high school to college program where I earn college and high school credits simultaneously.

    What to do for fun

    Not much night-life in Salem for under 21.

    Food and Dining

    Several area restaurants are nearby...student union has tasty and affordable but limited menu items.

    Dorm Life

    Since Chemeketa is a community college, only off campus living is available.

    Academic Rigor

    Aa high school student, I found the college classes challenging and the instructors kept me interested in my courses. As a college student, I would guess that the classes are maybe not as rigorous as a 4-year college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek educational counseling to help you decide your major and your transfer college.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is a great place to jumpstart a 4-year degree in Oregon. The instructors are informative, interesting as well as interested, and challenging. CCC is convenient as well as financially affordable.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many security guards around. I feel very safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need additional help in different subjects can enter the tutoring center, writing center, or just researching in the library where there is also very useful helpers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual location on campus that I have found would be the copy center that is out back of the campus. I found this odd, as I would have figured that it would be closer to the library or student store.

    Bang for the buck

    Just the fact of going to a community college is a huge savings compared to going to a large university! Many university classes are available at Chemeketa at a much lower cost, I love this fact.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things around campus to do for fun, such as, planetarium, plays, many groups that one can join. Also study groups after hours, shopping in the student bookstore. The list goes on and on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is very convenient and delicious, but a bit costly. The cafe does offer stamp cards to receive a free meal down the road, which does help. Lots of places to sit and rest with your food and homework.

    Dorm Life

    I live off of campus. I have not looked into the dorm life, therefore have no opinion on dorm life. However, if it I had to guess the experience would be pleasant.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Chemeketa is pretty easy going. I personally have not had any difficulties at all, most teachers are willing to work with a student as long as we as students communicate with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and never give up. Make your own opinion of professors, instead of listening to judgments of others by others. Things are not always what they seem.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere at Chemeketa. Everyone is willing to help each other, both students and professors. Campus is very clean and buildings are close to one another.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say that the campus safety is quite good. There are officers who patrol the campus often. In fact, Chemeketa hosts safety demonstrations and gives out information and tips for student safety. Recently they had firemen, EMTs, police officers, and the swat team come in and give safety demonstrations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Chemeketa has MANY different clubs and activities. Many students create their own clubs, as well as join additional clubs that Chemeketa has provided. Every once in awhile, the clubs will get together and have a fair in the central building. They try to interest other students in their clubs, and everyone has a fun time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a short but beautiful forest trail that students enjoy walking along. A little convenience store sits on campus that is fun to peruse. I love to find little-used nooks and crannies on campus to sit and study. There are quite a few of these.

    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa offers great professors for a reasonable price. I have been pleased with the professors I have taken classes from. I have learned much from my time at the college. I believe it's a good idea to get my pre-requisites completed at a community college (which costs less) and then transfer to another college. A wonderful thing about Chemeketa is that they have an excellent transfer program. A student can transfer to many different colleges in Oregon from Chemeketa.

    What to do for fun

    Chemeketa sometimes shows movies. They have a tennis, volleyball, and basketball court, a gym, and a track. Students are free to form clubs of their own and meet in the college. The planetarium has a show every week, and the cultural center will sometimes have guest speakers. There is also a small art gallery that features different respected artists' work.

    Food and Dining

    There is a centrally located and convenient food court in the middle of campus. It has much food to choose from, and serves breakfast and lunch. There are smaller areas to buy food and drinks within other buildings in the campus also. Chemeketa has a way for needy students to get free food.

    Dorm Life

    Chemeketa has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Chemeketa has many fun student programs. There are many clubs and energetic, creative outlets for students who want to do more than merely attend classes. There is a planetarium, cultural center, and library (which can order books from almost anywhere if they don't currently have the book you need). There are many programs for students who need jobs; some can even become tutors or help in the writing center. Also, many guest speakers have come to Chemeketa.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the website ratemyprofessor.com to get tips on who are the best teachers at Chemeketa. If you work hard and study, you should be able to do very well! Never hesitate to ask professors questions; they are all extremely willing to answer questions. I believe they rather enjoy sharing their expertise with students. There are many programs at Chemeketa that can help students. They have a job placement program, a writing center (where teachers and other students help students with papers), librarians dedicated to getting students the books and information needed, a computer lab (for students who don't have access to computers), and an open lab room (for students who wish to study for the science classes they are taking). I have found the open lab room to be immensely helpful for my own studying. There are also many classes at Chemeketa to help new or continuing students. Some classes help students search for scholarships and financial aid, some help students figure out what career they might be interested in, and others help students develop what study habits work best for them.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is a great college to get a good education without having to pay a steep price. The teachers I have had are quite good, with one or two exceptions. The teachers are kind, helpful, and have encouraged me with my goals!

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus security, both within the schools domain, along with all three seperate parking lots, A security person will assist you to your car (if requested after 4:00pm

    Greek Life

    none that I have seen

    Clubs and Activities

    from political, to lesbian/gay, and everything in between

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    End of term, 5k walk, broken into groups decided upon with the students current gpa

    Bang for the buck

    Teacher seem to genuly care about there students, and provide tons of one to one time

    What to do for fun

    There are many student activites for the socially inclinded, i.e gayla parties (non-alochoclic)

    Food and Dining

    within easy walkinmg distance of numerous eating establishments

    Dorm Life

    no on campus dorms

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Prior to committing to attend, seek out the schools financial counselor, as they are truly helpful, and can guide you through the entire prosess.

    In three sentences

    an excellent local school, that strives to meet the individual needs of every student enrolled with an excellent choice of class schedules,with great teachers and fellow students

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is lots of clubs, and groups to join. It helps you meet new people, and get familar with the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The selection is great. But the prices are pretty high. You are better off driving off campus to a fast food joint.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. You must live off campus. Many students live at home with their parents, or rent a house with multiple roomates. But be careful on deciding who your roomates will be.

    Academic Rigor

    It is much less stress then an university. But it is too easy to fall behind and dig yourself into a hole. You must stay focused and be punctual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a plan after you complete your degree here. If you plan on going to a 4-year university, it is very important to check that all your credits and classes are transferable.

    In three sentences

    This college has many advantages including smaller classroom size and cheap tuition. People range from all different backgrounds, races, and ages. The face to face contact with teachers make it easy to excel in class.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the school

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know what this is.. sorry

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and not to procrastinate because it will come back and haunt you. If you don't procrastinate then school won't be as stressful. Try and always meet people in your class so that if you need help you can ask one of them. also create a study group for midterms or finals.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa is a good school it has a variety of different cultures. So that you can get to know people from different places. out of ten i would rate this school about a 6.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Join now

    In three sentences

    The teachers really care. You can get help in so many places. The work studies are amazing.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    None!

    Academic Rigor

    Community college work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the foundation scholarship by febuary 28!

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community college is a good school for people just graduating high school or people coming back to school. It offers a decent amount of financial help. The classes are about 25 people or less.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Travel by city bus to local movie theaters, shopping centers, and parks and museums downtown. Parks and museums would take a 30 minute bus ride on the city bus.

    Food and Dining

    Many varieties of food to suit most people. Large cafeteria with diverse food open from around 10am to 2pm. However if you're hungry later, they have a campus market in the main building for buying snacks and a little bit of hot food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, there are apartments near the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Most degrees and certificates from Chemeketa are two year degrees or one year certificates. They do offer transfer degrees to the local state colleges. This college is very busy, and sometimes packed with students. Plan your day ahead, so if its crowded you don't get caught up or behind with the crowds.

    In three sentences

    Open access to all people on campus. The professors are friendly, and glad to help students. My college fully helps students with disabilities in access to their classes or getting them tools they need.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety. Securities roam the campus twenty-four hours a day

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students, Nursing students, Criminal Justice students, Business students

    What to do for fun

    Being at chemeketa is fun. I like hanging out with friends. You stay in touch with a lot of people from the community and from your previous high school.

    Food and Dining

    The have great food in the cafeteria. I've had lunch there a couple of times. Pricing is ideal. They serve some good espressos, pizza, and a variety of beverages. The cafeteria is a good place to hang out and meet new people.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Chemeketa. Chemeketa is a community college for people in the community.

    Academic Rigor

    Chemeketa is very laid back. I find all the proffessor quite nice and lenient. Professors and counselors are tolerant and understand the busy life of a college student. Chemeketa is far from being rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay up to date with your counselors. It is recommended that you make counseling appointments before choosing your classes each term. Other than this, just keep your motivation high and keep striving for your educational goal and you will accomplish your goal.

    In three sentences

    It is a very diverse and friendly school. Chemeketa is filled with great professors that are willing to help you attain your intended degree. I always have a great time at Chemeketa.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always guards walking around and driving around the campus. Safety should not be a concern.

    Bang for the buck

    The is a community college and has the best prices I have ever seen in a college.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the many outdoor trails of the campus and meet new people with the same interests as you.

    Food and Dining

    The food they have there is delicious and most of the food options are made at the school. They have one of the best pizza places in town right on-campus.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms, so you can enjoy the comfort of your own home!

    Academic Rigor

    The pace depends on the teacher and class, but they can be challenging at times, but just do the work and you should be able to keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to know which classes you want to take so that you can be ready to register for them the moment registration becomes available online.

    In three sentences

    They have decent-length classes for any schedule. The teachers are very helpful and have their own office hours. The other students are friendly and vary widely in age, giving everyone something extra to learn.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch baseball games!

    Food and Dining

    The lunch area is decent. I enjoy the food there for sure, it closes too early though!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go to class, don't skip, just grind it out. Things run much more smoothly when you attend classes regularly.

    In three sentences

    Good school, generally a good learning environment. I have learned a lot here and would give Chemeketa a 9/10. Not a perfect score because some of the teachers are nuts, but that's okay.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not in a good area of town, but the campus itself feels pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    Not even

    Clubs and Activities

    Are there clubs here? If they are they are very quiet about it.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused students who have a larger goal in mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of places to sit outside.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good professors, and not too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    It's not a social school, just a place to learn and then leave. Don't expect to be surrounded by tons of new buddies.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't really tried the food, but it's readily available in every building.

    Academic Rigor

    Not terribly hard, but really very decent classes, small class sizes, excellent professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to a teacher before going to the administration, or at least double check to make sure you're getting the right information. Take advantage of the educational oppurtunities; Chemeketa actually has quite a few but sometimes it's hard to notice them.

    In three sentences

    It's a good college, attractive campus, engaging classes, not too difficult. Good resources.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my time at Chemeketa Community College I have not seen or heard of any violence or threats. It is a pretty relaxed school.

    Greek Life

    None available.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know that there are a lot of clubs and activities available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The psychology and sociology classes will perform experiments around campus sometimes and those can get interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college so you are gaining a quality education for a more affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Take an art class, dance class, pe class, or anything else you ever wanted to take. It is a great school for exploration.

    Food and Dining

    It is a school cafeteria. The food is good considering that much.

    Dorm Life

    None available.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that depending upon the classes you take and the instructor there is a variation in difficulty. There is a lot of opportunity to push yourself as well,

    Tips for prospective students

    It is okay if you do not know what you want to go to school for. Just work on your prerequisites to start. If you know what you want to do that is even better!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Chemeketa Community College as a good school. They offer a wide variety of classes that fit each persons interests. Also, most teachers are very helpful and on a personal level.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is in Oregon's capitol, close to shopping, restaurants and entertainment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, plan ahead, make it happen.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa offers the most generous and inclusive opportunities for obtaining a great start to your educational career. The classes are small and the instructors are down to earth and really interested in their students' success. This school is diverse in student body as well as extra-curricular enrichment.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    P.e. and health classes.

    Food and Dining

    There's a dining area that is all out of pocket for students.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Way more affordable than jumping straight into a four-year.

    In three sentences

    A great transitional college for students just coming out of high school. Most teachers actually care about you and there is a ton of support and help all over campus.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't usually see any security

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to choose from. Very diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a great school for everyone no matter what your interest is. It is very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know if this counts but you can always find parking.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes have have a little but of everything for everyone!

    What to do for fun

    Camp, ride, fish, tube. Everything is so close. Oregon has everything its a great place to live! We can take an hour and go to a beach. go 20 mins to a river or lake to swim, kayak or fish. We have it all.

    Food and Dining

    In the heart of the capital surrounded by everything. It has many options.

    Dorm Life

    Live in a house.

    Academic Rigor

    Very

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I was worried that Chemeketa being as large and busy as it is I wouldn't get the assistance and guidance I needed. I was wrong they have been wonderful! Everyone is always willing to help and polite I love it!

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus security that are on patrol at all hours of the day until there are the school is closed and the teachers and every one else has gone home they are the last people to officially leave the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety to choose from witch is good it gives you the chance to meet new people try new and different things and a chance to explore who you are.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun they offer many different clubs and events that every one can participate in yes even the very shy people that don't really like to do much there is a club for every one.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of good food and its no super expensive, it may not be healthy all the time but hey we got to eat right.

    Dorm Life

    This Campus really doesn't have dorms or anything but there are arpartments that are super close by and that are pretty cheap to rent some of them.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate it this way because they challenge you but at the same time they help build your career the way you want to and at the pace that you want to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you turn in all your need paper work on time. Meet with an Adviser before you make your schedule. Most important thing to do is sign up with the career resource they offer on the school website. Also go to the the Open campus event they have two days before the term starts for the year.

    In three sentences

    It is a really good way to figure out what you want to do. All the staff and Faculty are super helpful all you need to do is ask. They provide you with really good diiferent resources if you need them.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been multiple bomb threats in the past couple of years, while these are scary events, the Chemeketa staff did a decent job of alerting and performing necessary lock downs.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a good college to start out at, affordable but I suggest not completing your entire education at this limited college.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun on campus, because it is a community college there are no activities such as football, basket ball or any other sports. Fellow students are friendly and the main source of entertainment is hanging out.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Chemeketa is not very large but has a wide variety of food choices. However it is not very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Chemeketa have low expectations and are not nearly as informative and helpful as I would like.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good place to begin your college career, affordable and many evening/online classes offered. How ever I do recommend transferring to a 4 year university.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa has low expectations and is not very hands on.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything early as all paper work takes a very long time to process.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun unless you join one of the limited clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take basic classes unless you're going for one of their two-year specialized degrees.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is a great academic school. The teachers are great, but the atmosphere is definitely that of a community college. It's a great place to start, but eventually you'll want to transfer.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some cool Greenhouses with a big Potting shed, and a big fat kitty to keep rodents away from the plants. There are other spots in BLDG. 3 like a gallery and some freaky room with mannequins' and costumes.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great for those who are seeking an Associates degree. Nursing, Dentistry, Massage Therapy, Auto Mechanic, and several other programs are also available for a very reasonable amount.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extracurricular activities at Chemeketa. We have a multicultural center that often puts events together. There are volunteer programs, which host a multitude of activities as well. There is a planetarium, an auditorium for small productions, and many student clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay at my school. There is a coffee stand with a few snacks on one side of the campus with snacks and candy bars, bagels, etc. Nothing fancy. There is a main cafeteria but it is very small, with limited choices (soup, salad, burgers, fried stuff). Then there is some mediocre pizza, sandwiches, and smoothies, and another coffee stand. I'd say the coffee is the best thing at the school. Fantastic espresso.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Chemeketa, so I'll say 5 stars to that!

    Tips for prospective students

    The most significant thing I can suggest to a student planning on attending Chemeketa is o use the resources that the school provides. It is so important to seek help if there is a subject that you struggle with. Many of the professors are willing to help you if you have questions after class, or during their office hours. The tutoring center is a great place to get help with the subjects you find difficult, and to stay sharp on your other subjects as well.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa has a great sense of community, and is very diverse, which makes it a safe and comfortable place to learn. There is a wide range of free tutoring available, and a great TRIO program that I am in which gives a lot of support to its' students. Chemeketa was the perfect school for me, as I was returning to school to continue my education after 16 years, I feel at home here.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always patrolling!!

    Greek Life

    none!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college so the tuition is cheaper than a university and most classes are transferable.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of clubs to join and a lot of people hangout there,

    Food and Dining

    Overpriced!!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at Chemeketa.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been greatly surprized by my biology classes and feel that they actually make my brain think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you check ratemyprofessor.com because a few of the professors are just there for the paycheck.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa, in general, is a great community college. The Trio program is the best and they really take heart to helping a student succeed! The campus is beautiful, although the bookstore and the coffeeshops are greatly overpriced.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have a low income.

    What to do for fun

    The college is very close to a movie theater and a mall, so if there is too much time between classes there are buses that can take you there. Plus, a student can rent equipment to play a sport with friends. Every so often, the Chemeketa Community College also plays a movie from another country, they also offer snacks.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Never hesitate to ask for help, Chemeketa Community College staff will have a helpful answer whenever asked. -Get involved, CCC offer many opportunities to get involved with clubs, sports, travel abroad, intercultural movies nights. etc..

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa Community College is a great college for those who want to pay less for general courses. I find the staff very helpful and the teachers are enthusiastic about the student's learning. Out of five starts, Chemeketa Community College earns the full stars.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and service work.

    Food and Dining

    Average

    Dorm Life

    Off campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    Great faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take planning college finances class.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful supportive atmosphere. I have saved so much money starting my education at Chemeketa Community College. The faculty are amazing and attending school here has changed my life.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a close area that feels secure.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for those who work, have busy schedules, or would like to learn at their own pace.

    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa offers quality education at an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the mall for fun!

    Food and Dining

    The campus is in Salem, which offers many options for food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You can choose your own pace and study as you have the resources and time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to email teachers for questions. They are very friendly and willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa offer flexible classes that can work with any schedule. Online courses are available for those that can't make it on campus. Transfer degrees are also available, and there are counselors to help you with anything you need.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Oregon is beautiful and filled with natural environments. It is generally a safe place to live and attend school Therefore, Chemeketa is a safe place to be.

    Great for these types of students

    All students

    Bang for the buck

    Chemeketa is a great way to achieve a two year degree for less than the cost of tuition at a private college. It may not be fancy, but it gets the job done.

    What to do for fun

    No fun! Do your homework! You are paying good money to learn, so do it.

    Food and Dining

    Chemeketa has great cafeterias and eating spots. The have full kitchens where breakfast, lunch, and dinner can be made-to-order. And the prices are fairly reasonable. And the best part is that the food tastes excellent!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Chemeketa, but there are apartments that can be rented out by students nearby. The apartments are okay if you enjoy young students who are capable of staying up late hours and having parties well into the night.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes vary in difficult at Chemeketa. It really depends on which teacher you get. The lower level classes are the easiest because they are teaching you the basics. But, as you get into the higher level classes, the subject matter becomes more difficult. Online classes are double the workload of classes on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the academic advisors and tutoring programs that Chemeketa provides. If you choose a structured degree program, be sure to follow the guidelines, and don't skip over classes. Only take online classes if you are very responsible and independent in your learning style.

    In three sentences

    Chemeketa is a wonderful school for getting started with your college education. A student can take advantage of the low tuition to earn a two year associates degree or certificate. And the staff are very friendly and helpful.