Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Chestnut Hill College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In my opinion this college is for students who want to be something in life, for someone who wants to be successful. Chestnut Hill is my key for my success in life, and it could be it for many others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the counselors, they're great and very friendly. It is the best campus, the people there are very friendly and they assist you in such a nice way.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many ways to get some financial aid, and the financial aid office will help you find find those ways, and in someway or another you will make it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The fun part at Chestnut Hill College is that you know most of the people in there, because it is a very small campus and more than 50% of student in there. Its been said that it is one the most beautiful campuses on the U.S.

    Will learn a lot

    Chestnut Hill College is a place where students are very close to students, the class size average is 20-25 students per class. The teachers are very available and that can help the students to imporve their skill by getting assistance from teachers in or after class.

  • 01/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Chestnut Hill isn't for people who are looking to party nonstop. Come on, it isn't Penn State. If you're looking on getting an education and learning and meeting new people and having fun in a small, close-knit environment, then this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know how big the school is. There are roughly 900 students at Chestnut Hill, which isn't a lot. A lot of people don't realize how small that number is until they actually get here and they end up hating it because it's soooo boring and there's nothing to do! It's a small school, so know what you're getting yourself into. I really like the smallness. I feel like it was easier to make friends and adjust to the school in general. Definitely consider the size of the school, if anything.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone gets financial aid, which is why a lot of people choose the school in the first place. It was definitely a big factor for me. The school is extremely expensive, but after you calculate all of the financial aid you'll get, it isn't too horribly pricey.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus. I think the people make the school. Everyone is really nice and fun and it's really easy to make friends. Chestnut Hill is located in the suburbs, but it's also fairly close to the city, which is nice because it's like the best of both worlds. The campus is just a really fun place to be. If there isn't anything to do on campus or in nearby Chestnut Hill, you can always hop on the train and go into Center City.

    Am learning a lot

    I've only completed my first semester, but my course load was a nice transition into college. The classes were not extremely difficult, but I expect them to become more challenging as I continue in my college career. All of my classes are small, which I love. It's a really nice learning environment and all of my teachers are really friendly and helpful.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't seclude yourself. Go out and there and make new friends. I still have the ones from when I went.

    Bang for the buck

    It is on the expensive side, but it is the same price for everyone: in-state and out-of-state.

    Did enjoy being here

    They always tell you ghost stories. And me being me, I am afraid of ghosts. Other than that, you'll make a lot of friends. The school is very athletic and theatrical. Quidditch is also something that you should try getting into. You may say it sounds nerdy, but I played my freshman year there and in the Quidditch World Cup & let me tell you, that you WILL make friends from throughout your school and the other schools that you compete against. AND THE PLACE LOOKS LIKE HOGWARTS & THEIR MASCOT IS A GRIFFIN!

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers were very helpful. It also depends on the teacher that you have. They all have different teaching methods. The classes are very small. The most you would probably have in a class at one time would be up to 25. Since it was so small, you could have more of a 1 on 1 with the teachers and also for tutoring. You can also tutor with students.

  • 02/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who enjoy quiet and small classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to on the ball. Talk to your advisor whenever you get the chance. Don't wait til the last minute for imformation.

    Bang for the buck

    Chestnut Hill College is pretty expensive. There are so many thing that they could do for the amount of money a student pays a year. Parking lot during the winter is horrible. Being a commuter and on the days weather is bad, they lack communication for people who live close and far away. Even general communication for important papers that need to be turned in for your major. They lack communication skills and when they do want to send you something. It sometimes does not pertain to you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to class everyday and seeing all the great people along with it. Classes are very enjoyable. They are small enough to feel comfortable sharing personal thoughts and opinions.

    Am learning a lot

    With all the great professors at Chestnut Hill College. I have learned so much and carry what I have learned with me everyday.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe at the Hill. Security is friendly and on 24 hour watch there was never a time where I felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs because there is no Greek on campus. The good thing about Chestnut is that you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Chestnut Hill is great for students who play sports for the school and for students who like small environments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a quidditch team at the Hill. There are quidditch games and tournaments on campus in the fall. Before finals there is always a pancake dinner to give us an extra boost.

    Bang for the buck

    Chestnut Hill is honestly too expensive and we don't get a lot of the neccesities of the bigger schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous activities to do for fun at Chestnut or around our school. The shuttle will take you to the mall and movie theaters on the weekend. Student activities always gives affordable trips to games and etc. You can always explore the city of Philadelphia for fun also.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Chestnut Hill isn't the best but it's food. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served at the cafeteria everyday. The menu changes daily which is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are tough to live in honestly. Rooms can be very out dated with various problems. Sometimes it can be very loud and tough to get work done.

    Academic Rigor

    Chestnut Hill's academic work load can be a lot to handle if you don't stay on top of your work. Get assignments done early or on time and you will have success in the classroom. If you don't take your work seriously there will be problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, Build relationships with your teachers, Turn work in on time, and be active on campus.

    In three sentences

    Chestnut Hill College is a small friendly environment. Even though it's college Chestnut feels more like high school because of the size. Overall it is a great place to focus on academics.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always driving around or walking through campus. It's a small school so soon enough security gets to know each new class. This helps security keep hold of every situation and keep students safe and know when things are not right.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities ranging from soccer to feeding the hunger. There is a club for almost everything! You are most likely to find a club that fits your interests but if not you are able to create your own club or activity by getting a few other students and presenting it to the Student Activities Office.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of students. Chestnut Hill is very diverse and no matter what type of student you are you will definitely find people you can connect with and share the same interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chestnut hill hosts a quiditch tournament every year that brings the staff, students, and community together in one place for clean fun and of course butter beer!

    Bang for the buck

    Chestnut Hill is an expensive school but it's worth the money with all that it has to offer and how well the student and professor relationships are.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on campus hosted by the Student Activities Office. They also offer a ticketing program that you can buy movie tickets for $3, art museum tickets, and tickets for different places in the city. Philadelphia is just a train ride away and many students spend their weekends exploring all that the beautiful city has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    You will never leave the cafeteria hungry! They have a section of entrees, pizza, salad bar, stir fry station and a sub station. The food is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    THe freshman form building is anything special. The rooms are small and there isn't any air conditioning. If i could pick any dorm building I would go right back to the freshman dorm. Even though the rooms weren't that great, the building had a community feel, everyone would leave their doors open and everyone became very close.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some difficult classes and some easier classes. If you do your homework, attend class and study you will have no problem passing the class. Professors can see if a student is really applying themselves or not and will help you out the best they can if they see a good attempt.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip to students is to get involved. I attended the first club fair and joined multiple clubs. I also got a work study position in the Student Activities Office. My involvement helped me to gain relationships with many faculty members and meet more students similar to me.

    In three sentences

    Chestnut Hill College is a small school that is very comforting for students and really makes you feel at home. The staff at Chestnut Hill goes out of their way to make sure every student is happy and help them to reach their goals. Chestnut Hill College offers students rigorous academics, a safe campus and an overachieving staff.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Chestnut Hill College is the safest place on earth =) Enough said

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of trips and events in the clubs. The cost of the trips are very cheap.

    Great for these types of students

    Chestnut Hill is great for students who like a small community. It is also great for students who like to know almost everyone they encounter on campus and form a small family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas decorating is a tradition at Chestnut Hill College. At the end of November every class get to decorate a part of the school and around 2 AM the upper classmates go to the residence hall of the students wake them up and then they go to Sister Carole's house (the president of CHC) and they sing for her.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities!!!! The fun office. There is always something to do on campus. Just go to student activities and find out what's going on on campus

    Food and Dining

    The food is good! Enough said =)

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are a nice size very clean. Resident Assistants are very helpful people.

    Academic Rigor

    High standards, sweet and strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students dont need to be worried about anything. Just come to Chestnut Hill with a good set of mind and there are Orientation Leaders around campus to make everything smooth and easy for you.

    In three sentences

    Chestnut Hill College is a holistic liberal art school where the education of every student is in good hands. At Chestnut Hill, students get to have individual attention from their professors since the school is so small. Chestnut Hill cares for everyone of its students.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated critical thinkers.

    What to do for fun

    Fun? What's that? I'm in a doctoral program. Seriously though, Center City and Manayunk are nearby (15 minute drive) for partying, bowling, miniature golf, fine dining, jazz clubs, the ballet...pick your poison.

    Food and Dining

    I give it three stars because I'm a food snob; the food is pretty decent though. I just wish they'd stop running out of roasted pepper hummus. And while it doesn't apply to myself, they should probably have more vegetarian and kosher options.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing set aside for graduate students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come expecting the faculty to hold your hand every step of the way; take the initiative to check into the status of your own financial aid, room and board, graduation requirements and so forth. There are no stupid questions; but there may be questions that you regret not asking.

    In three sentences

    I can only speak from the point of view of a doctoral student at CHC, however I believe that the College has a lot to offer to those motivated to achieve. The course material is appropriate, most of the students and professors are friendly and approachable, and the setting is simply serene. My undergraduate university was a large Ivy League school and one of the reasons that I chose Chestnut Hill was to sample a smaller environment that fostered deeper understanding and individual excellence, over academic competition; and that's exactly what I've gotten so far.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. We've got some wildlife (don't worry, just deer and foxes, pretty much. Harmless.) Campus security is always present, and you can call them at any time.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not to many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for students who play sports and aren't big on partying and drinking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas decorating competition, Harry Potter weekend + Quidditch tournaments

    What to do for fun

    Go to other schools.

    Food and Dining

    The food tends to suck. But this can be said for every college campus. Just make sure to have a stash in your room for nights when the food isn't appealing.

    Dorm Life

    I'm in a single suite with my own bathroom. It's good, except for in the summer/early fall, and spring when it's stink bug season and really hot because of no AC. The other good dorm is in Fitzsimmons, air conditioned and hotel style.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty normal, not too overwhelming. However, I'm a Comm major and it probably varies by major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you play sports, this is an okay school to come to. The sports teams are very clique-y. There is nothing to do on the weekends, so if you're big on partying this is the wrong place to come. However, the faculty and staff and very interested in seeing students succeed. It's a small school, and everyone wants to see you do well. You'll definitely get support, and financial aid is pretty good.

    In three sentences

    Very small school. Honor's program broadens your horizons, but doesn't necessarily do anything for your major (depending on what it is.) Definitely boring on the weekends.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun things to do is to chill out in the student life room. Another would be to chill in the lobby or dining area.

    Food and Dining

    Food is so so.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I have not experienced dorm life. From what I have heard it is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers helped me out tremendously.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would consider to prospective students is to just enjoy your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Chestnut Hill is a great atmosphere to learn at. This college has great teachers. Also, it has great available resources to help you on your way to obtain your degree.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None!

    Great for these types of students

    Religious (not at ALL required but Catholic students tend to enjoy it even more), hard-working, interesting

    Bang for the buck

    This school is so expensive!

    What to do for fun

    Explore Philly!

    Dorm Life

    2/4 dorm buildings are a bit on the crappy side (Fontbonne especially). The other two are great!

    Academic Rigor

    Some language classes are not as tough as expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your time well. Party off-campus (the last thing you want is an RA knocking on your door. Dry campus, remember?). Always go for the giant chocolate chip cookies in the Griffin's Den.

    In three sentences

    Chestnut Hill College is full of new opportunities to learn. It offers a wide range of classes, although scheduling can be troublesome for science majors. A dry campus, CHC has a strong sense of religion as shown by its chapel, Garden of Forgiveness, and many Sisters living adjacent to the school and teaching classes.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think that on this campus there can be a better security team due to the fact that I see certain things happen that I know are not allowed. I think the security could do a better job with checking who is signing in and out of every building.

    Clubs and Activities

    I think Chestnut Hill is mostly known for its unique ability to create any type of club and sticking with it.There are various things to get involved in and there is always something going on, on campus. I love being on campus because I always learn or see something new that interests me.

    Food and Dining

    I think the food can have more healthy options in the cafeteria. I enjoy the different stations that the cafe offers but there is not as much as a balance as I would like. Also, I think that the cafe and the den area should be open to whatever time we would like to eat especially because everyone has different schedules. The dinning staff is friendly and that makes my day.

    Dorm Life

    I think the dorms for freshman have less quality then upperclassman dormitories. I think that the they should have renovated all of the dorms so that no one is experiencing less of a college experiences then another student. Other than this issue, I think the housing department does a great job of creating a comfortable place for first year students.

    Academic Rigor

    I thing that every academic program has goals and requirements that are reasonable. I have never been challenged this way until I became apart of Chestnut Hill. I can do hard tasks or assignments on my own without being confused. Chestnut Hill pushes their students to be independent and focus on our work.

    In three sentences

    I think Chestnut Hill College embodies everything that a home away from home should from the gracious counseling staff who are always available to the professors who motivate us to do our best. Chestnut Hill keeps our education their top priority which is why students excel. I believe that this is one of Philadelphia schools that could satisfy any student's need.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    its catered, but the food could be better

    Dorm Life

    you meet great friends who stick with you and the RA's are all accomodating

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on the classes and the teachers, but its all very academically challenging depending on what your major is