Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cheyney University of Pennsylvania Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/10/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    make good friends, be more school oriented, stay focused

    Tips for prospective students

    tip one- work hard on your school work as soon as possible can if you miss one day it will feel like you missed a week in your work. tip two- make a good but reasonable time schedule and actually follow it so u wont fall behind. tip three- always do your homework soon as you get it assigned to you so you can have the rest of the days to recheck your work.

    Bang for the buck

    indeed you do get more bang for your buck. good food, nice housing, good teachers, many sports, and many school programs to get involved in.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved being there and i plan on returning back soon. nice people to be around and just learn an have fun with. and there is always activities to do while staying on campus so you will have no problem being bored.

    Did learn a lot

    By attending you have a lot of learning experiences whether its in the class room or on campus. Being there i learned that no matter what problem you have there will always be someone there to help.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cheyney has a very safe campus, with their own university police force that patrol 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Cheyney University has all the Devine 9 Greek letter organizations on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Cheyney has a variety of different opportunities to get involved on campus. Different clubs, organizations and dance teams, as well as Division 2 sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    Cheyney has two places to eat on campus. There is a great selection and varieties of food.

    Dorm Life

    Cheyney will open a new dorm this fall. Cheyney's dorm life has comfortable living that allows you to meet new people around ever turn.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be given assignment on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved on Campus. Don't be afraid to get out and meet people. This is an amazing opportunity to grow as a person and gain an education.

    In three sentences

    Cheyney University is America's first Historically Black College. Students that attend Cheyney grow as a person and leave with a family of peers.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appears to be very safe. I haven't heard or seen any incidents thus far.

    Greek Life

    Hopefully, one day I will join a sorority. That is my ultimate goal.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am now apart of the band as a color guard. Alot of fun!!!! Highly recommended.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haven't had any bad experiences and hope to never have any.

    What to do for fun

    My first 2 weeks I tried out to be apart of the band (color guard) and made the team. It's been a very intense practice but was well worth it. I have had fun during my practices and performing for the new students (freshman). Well, in my room...I am just either watching tv, on the computer or laughing and talking with my roommate and friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food has been good. No complaints so far. There are a variety of foods you can choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I was blessed to room with a junior during my band camp weeks. We got along very well. I was a little nervous about that because I never had to share a room with anyone before. We actually clicked and got along very well. However, I am now in a different dorm and have a new roommate. Dorm life is great so far. I love the independence. I feel like a grown-up now and ready to take on my responsibilities. I highly recommend residing in a dorm as a freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't actually started any classes yet. I have been at Cheyney for 2 weeks now for band camp and I am really enjoying the college life. I really had no idea what to expect but I am enjoying my time so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and be who YOU are. Come as a leader, not a follower. Participate in extracurriculum activities, it helps breaking the ice as a new student. Come prepared ready and give it all you got. Come with a positive attitude, smile.

    In three sentences

    The students, staff and professors are very nice. I started band camp there and the welcoming was great. The new dorm I am assigned to is beautiful.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Greek Life

    Yes . you need to be in school to have a better life in the future.

    Clubs and Activities

    Football Team is OK

    Great for these types of students

    students that don't want to be too far from home or too close and does not have a lot of funding from home. It will be hard to get.

    What to do for fun

    Play Madden in the studen lounge with fellow college mates

    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    in new dorm. LOVE IT

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus for your success is in your hands.

    In three sentences

    In my league, friendly atmosphere, friendly guidance to help start me in the right direction. I am excited and determined to make my parents proud of me in which I was a handful in high school.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can never not be safe on campus. Everywhere you turn there is Public Safety waiting

    Greek Life

    Greek life is exciting it makes you wonder

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Marcus foster is where students hang out. There's a game room and the snack bar is there. It's also where most events take place

    What to do for fun

    Work hard. Then you play hard. There's a lot of stuff to do on campus so you could never get bored

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining y'all was good it just could of been better

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the newest building that Cheyney university built and I must say I felt like it was my own little apartment.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come in with a positive attitude then you will be ok.

    In three sentences

    Cheyney University is a good college. I like the time there, because it's filled with nothing but positive people. It's a safe and homey environment and I plan to spend the rest of my college years there.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If I could have given this a 2.5 I would have. The past two semesters have been pretty interesting in regards to students being assaulted (Cheyraq). It's a public college campus so any of the type of things that happen could happen anywhere. Depending on what you do in public, who you don't know, and where you live on campus, you'll be fine 93% of the time.

    Greek Life

    Becomes a focal point when it gets warm outside.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students try to organize different clubs and activities. Start something yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Overall Cheyney just needs students who care and are strong enough to handle the situation. Again, if you come here on scholarship do not waste your time. Instead go to class, get above a 3.0 and have fun. If you aren't trying to be the type of student that cares about their future, please don't come here, this school needs no more of those type of students. Also, if you are from Philly, make this a last resort. This place is full of Philly kids and makes it seem like Philly is a terrible place to go. If you are from Philadelphia and decide to come here, please actually care about your work and act like you're an adult.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just being in any place where you don't know someone is generally a bad idea. Especially on nights that there are parties.

    Bang for the buck

    Honors Academy is a great deal. Paying for anything here? Go to community.

    What to do for fun

    Just find the right friend group who likes to do the stuff you do.

    Food and Dining

    Buy a microwave as ramen is generally a great substitute for most of the food offered in the cafe. The snack bar certainly offers tasty fast food type stuff but it gets cliche and ultimately unhealthy after a while.

    Dorm Life

    If you're not in the honors dorms or on the first floor of any of the other residence dorms, good luck.

    Academic Rigor

    This completely depends on how the student learned/what a student learned in high school. Currently I'm taking some of the highest math classes offered at Cheyney and because of what I learned in high school I find mostly everything very easy. The English/writing intensive courses are typical however. The course load is standard as well, but if you come here and don't retain anything, it's all because of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here expecting any typical college experience. It will be impossible to not notice the obvious fact that a good majority of the students are here wasting their time and money. A student can come here and really get four years done easily without having some of the rigor at other schools. There will be indefinite fall backs such as the university dropping a major but if you are on a full ride apart of the KHA it will be worth the struggle. A 4.0 gpa and independent study/ advanced preparation will certainly get a student into a good grad program. Hang out with people that you know will benefit you and are safe to be around. Don't get caught up in anything that may seem shady.

    In three sentences

    If you are serious about maximizing your time in college and really want to utilize the resources handed to you apply to the Keystone Honors Academy. It can be done without being a honors student at Cheyney but the perks of being in the KHA are great, and pretty rare. You have to be strong minded to attend Cheyney University regardless.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for individuals who are looking to go to an HBCU. It is great for a student that is as I was, I attended schools that were majority white most of my life. Once I graduated high school I felt that in order to be a well round person of society I needed to attend a school with a majority of African Americans. Cheyney is a majority African American school but not ALL. I found this comforting as a first year student. Students at Cheyney literally come from all around the world and country and are not all of African descent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the thought of an HBCU scare you away Cheyney is a wonderful university with diverse students. Which ever school you choose to attend remember why you went to school and do not get caught up in college life good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheyney University is very affordable at about $15,000 a year in state and $24,000 out-of-state. There are many activities available on campus. There is a new dorm that was just built and will open in fall '12'. This dorm and one other dorm has suite styled rooms. All dorms have wireless internet and have cable. (Bring cable cord)

    Am enjoying being here

    Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is the Oldest Historically Black College/University (HBCU) That being said the campus has activities specific to African American students. The campus is filled with Greek life, talent shows, fashion shows, as well as step shows. Cheyney is home to the Wolves. They have a basketball, football, volleyball, tennis, bowling, and cheerleading teams. They also have intermural sports. They also host The Soulful Sound Marching Band. The band has its dancers and colored guards. I enjoy most homecoming and concerts, bowling and skating parties, may weekend and spring concerts.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel this school is teaching me a lot. The majority of the professors have doctoral degrees. The most important thing to me at this school is that the professors actually know how to teach and relate to the students. It seems that other universities which have large classes and professors who may be extremely knowledgeable on there subject but not know how to teach it to others. At Cheyney University the professors seem to really know their material as well as how to transfer that knowledge to their students. There are small classes and student teacher relationships are great. Finding your professor for extra help is never an issue.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get the education you pay for. The teachers are nice and encourage you to do your best in class.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's like any other college. I feel like the people are what make it a good school.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a lot of things to be learned when going to a college in general. Most of all I believe that we learn the real world and real people when we attend college

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of campus safety

    Greek Life

    lots of fertenities and sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    every club that you can think of is there. If not you can make it a club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its grass in the middle of the camouse the quad. you CAN NOT walk on that part of the grass or you will not graduate on time.

    What to do for fun

    Parties, meetings, game nights

    Food and Dining

    Luckly we have something calledflex. With this we are able to eat food thats not in the cafe !

    Tips for prospective students

    Before ypu do anything always make sure your you are claeared for the next semesters.

    In three sentences

    Cheyney University is a great university. It is not diverse so much, it is more on the African American culture. Its plenty to do on campus.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Become a part of the SGCA. Participate in on campus activities and events

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep copies of everything and turn in things on time. Ask questions

    In three sentences

    Good small school Good support from faculty Affordable for Pennsylvania residents

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has public safety are on our campus 24/7. They are kind of efficient. If we have a problem we call them or theres buttons all around campus if we have an emergency we just the push the red button and they come immediately.

    Greek Life

    The greek life on campus is an experience everyone should experience. This year everyone is back on the yard so it would be interesting to see them all interact with eachother.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in gospel choir, carribean club, tutoring and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    We have a keystone building for students with academic excellence. This building is great for these type of above average intelligent students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Cheyneys campus there are traditions. You dont walk on the quad until you graduate, its a bad luck.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are so many activities to get involved in. Im in gospel choir, carribean club, tutoring. Also, when the activities are over we have parties, movie nights, probates and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    I personally like the food but thats because i dont like fried foods. Most, students dont like the cafeteria. Overall, the foosd is good.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm life you come and go as you want. the dorms could be nicer but they are alright. There is never a dull moment its always fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can sometimes be tough. Overall, its not hard and you get out what you put it. Lastly, your attendence counts big tiomje towards your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, stay focused on the prize, your studies. Second, get involved in student activities, its a great way to network. Thirdly, make friends by going in with an open mind and heart.

    In three sentences

    I rate Cheyney University a 10 for being such a great campus with great people. i give there hospitality a 4 because they dont seem to have alot of staff to accomodate efficiently. Overall, Cheyney is a beathe taking life experience.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun. There are cookouts all the time, and special events every week. Just hanging out with new friends is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. There is something new to eat everyday. Also the staff is very helpful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The new Residence Hall one the nicest dorms I have every seen. The staff in the building are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are excited to teach. Students are excited to learn. The work challenges you to do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to stay in your books. Students need to have fun. Also you are going to get out of college what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    Cheyney is a great school. It is small and everyone is very friendly. Also the staff is very helpful.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's ok.

    Greek Life

    All fraternities and sororities are on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    If you are outgoing

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities on campus through student life. However the parties are limited.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be lot better. It should reflect different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. I stayed in new residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty challenging. People always say it's easy to get in however, you def have to prove yourself academically if you want to obtain a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have is to make sure you choose a college that fits you.

    In three sentences

    Cheyney University is a great school for learning and striving for success. Although their are minor issues that are fixable Cheyney University is a school full of helpful alumni and professors that will assist you in any way possible. The first HBCU lives up to it's name.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Inner city high school students looking for a second chance at academics and rebuilding reputations or building on a great one they already have.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Marcus foster building is where all the students meet up between classes.

    What to do for fun

    At Cheyney the parties are never hard to find, but what sets this university apart from others are all the organizations a student could join, from the NAACP to debate teams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for some of the bad students who have slipped through the cracks and can be a bad influence.

    In three sentences

    At Cheyney University the students are, energetic and the administration is supportive. Cheyney University distance to Philadelphia and the West Chester area is very convenient. With the University being founded in 1837 it is the oldest higher learning instituted created for African Americans.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs

    Food and Dining

    Best PLace To Eat Is The Snack Bar

    Dorm Life

    Can BeToo Noisy At Times

    Tips for prospective students

    Always Go To The Teachers Or Staff IFC You Need Help Because They Are Always Willing To Help !

    In three sentences

    Cheyney Feels Like Home. It Is AGreat Place To Learn. The Students Are Very Friendly

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In my spare time I attend social outings such as rollerblading and sometimes small get meetings off campus.While on campus there are students playing all sports for fun, watching movies, and even doing things such as sewing and reciting spoken word poetry.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and there are a fair amount of options. The only problem at times is that there are not enough options for a vegetarian, but other than that the food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice depending upon where you stay and the rules are not strict. The resident advisors are pretty easy going and they are very understandable.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is large, however the work itself is not too difficult. As long as you pay attention in class and ask questions obtaining A's and B's in your classes is very possible. The professors at the campus are extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best advice for incoming students would be to study hard and get involved. There are hundreds of clubs, activities and internship opportunities available on through professors on campus that seldom get used due to students not taking advantage of them. Also since the campus is rather small it is very beneficial to get to know your professors personally.

    In three sentences

    Cheyney University is a school that garners plenty of great opportunities for students of all majors. While the school may not be very diverse, there are a number of guests from different ethnic groups that speak to the students regarding things in their major. I am very happy that I chose to attend Cheyney University.