Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Chicago State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/02/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and never give up. Let the negative motivate you and do what you have to do to be successful

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in majoring in science (nursing, biology etc.) and business (accounting, business management etc) fields. Those programs are very enriching and will prepare for your future careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and be engaged. Don't let anyone discourage you from applying to college it will definitely benefit you when you receive your degree. Always be prepared and organized. Listen intensely and take notes at all times.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition here at Chicago State is a lot less expensive than most universities. Students are allowed to apply for financial aid to help pay for tuition as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how the professors interact with their students. They offer chances to make up exams even when if there is a deadline for them. Professors are very lenient with students but strict at the same time because they know how hard it is being a college student. The atmosphere is very clean and everyone here is polite and courteous.

    Am learning a lot

    Chicago State is the perfect choice for students who want to major in the science and business fields. They are very strict with their teaching techniques. They are always looking for ways to help students improve. They offer tutoring for all subjects and it actually helps. I appreciate everything that I am learning here. You have to have patience and good listening skills at Chicago State because most teachers are from different countries and speak swith slight accents but are very innovating professors.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is one of the top priorities at chicago state university. be ensured that the students and staff are always in good hands with the fine men and women from the illinois state police depatrment stationed on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    chicago state university exceeds expectations. student life at chicago state university will open your eyes to culture, ideas, and better life choices.

    What to do for fun

    a student can choose from a number of clubs and societies to join. the recreation center is always a hit for any athlete. the clubs at chicago state university organize events, concerts, and luncheons.

    Food and Dining

    chicago state university is known for having exquisite food options. lunch and dinner are, probably, the meal times when the cafeteria shows off their best work. all food is inspected and processed for freshness.

    Dorm Life

    the living courters have a at-home feel to them. there is always something going on on campus. with the busses from the chicago transit authority stopping at the main entrance every 15 minutes, students can explore the city of chicago.

    Academic Rigor

    the instructors at chicago state university will see to it that the student gets the most our of their class. instructors are always happy to give a student additional help. chicago state university also provides its students with the best tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be nervous when coming to chicago state. always get to class on time. make friends with your peers, and with the staff.

    In three sentences

    chicago state university is perfect for any minority student who is conscious about fitting in with their peers. the teachers are very proactive and thorough when it comes to assisting a student with a dilemma. chicago state university's councilors are professionals who will help a student get on the right track to graduate.

  • 10/15/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Well I think students should choose for themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    Seems very expensive, but I'm willing to try and get a scholarship.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus seems fair and yes I think I will enjoy it here.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes, I think my chances of going to this school is pretty high. I just want to learn more about it!

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are on watch everyday and every night. have some of the best systems to keep the school and students safe.

    Greek Life

    chicago state has a great greek life and they really care.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs are very known around the chicago area and still doing a great job.

    Bang for the buck

    the school helps so much with money and issues. at the end of the 4 years students be happy that they came to chicago state instead of another school.

    What to do for fun

    chicago state host a lot of events and parties for all the students. famous people come from all over to to be at chicago state. also the sports are very good such as track and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    food is fresh cooked right in front of your eyes and the price can be a little high sometimes but still will buy it. wish they could add a few more things.

    Dorm Life

    very nice and meeting new people everyday. little party's and field trips for students that live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    one of the best colleges to help incoming freshman's and giving out ipad 2 to every full time freshman. helps with class work, but fun to use.

    Tips for prospective students

    chicago state do not cost as much as other top colleges and a lot of students get more help with their work to help them move on.

    In three sentences

    chicago state is a very nice college and can make a lot of dreams come true. chicago state can be rated very well just like other top school in america based on the programs like nursing. chicago state might not be a super big college but can feel like one everyday.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    like myself things i do for fun is i joined the gospel chorus, political science club, and book club. also they have a great pool and gym that you could stop by for additional experience.

    Food and Dining

    they food and dining are exceptional. each and every day they have something different and they also offer a variety of meals to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    like myself i stay in the residence hall at chicago state university, and it is a great experience. they have mentors for extra help, and even counselors for advice.

    Academic Rigor

    when you fall below a 2.0 the schools academic support office will contact you via email and telephone to make an appointment with you. they also have tutors for every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    continue to be mindful of the tuition and intended major, while also planning your time wisely. chicago state university is a great school to attend basically because of the variety of styles they offer.

    In three sentences

    chicago state university is a great school for any student. they with held a diversity of students along with a variety of intended majors.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe and there is always campus police around.

    Greek Life

    Honestly, Greek life could be so much better. At the moment its pretty wack.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities for students to get involved in according to their majors and also interests.

    Great for these types of students

    CSU is great for traditional, non-traditonal, and commuter students. CSU has something to offer everyone from all walks of life.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Chicago. Chicago state is 20 minutes from downtown and 20 minutes from Indiana. There are museums, shows, festivals, malls, clubs, parks, everything imaginable.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has several option and the food is edible and quite healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Chicago State has one dorm building. I have never lived on campus but it seems like it is clean, safe, and convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Chicago State are great and so knowledgeable, and diverse. CSU has classes and resources that holistically and positively effect the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to take advantage of all the wonderful opportunities and resources CSU has to offer. Also, if they have a problem, don't complain; make your voice heard and make a change.

    In three sentences

    CSU is going through quite a bit of changes , for the better. There is a bit more structure and the campus has a lot more resources with Dr. Watson as President.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are on patrol 24 hours 7 days a week and just a call away. the whole campus look out for each other safety.

    Greek Life

    they are very active on campus. events are plentiful.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is an endless list of clubs. I started Friends of the Prairie club. If there is not a club is interested in they can start one, and have the full support of the other students, staff and faculty as well as the community

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students that want to learn and enjoy learning while enrolled at Chicago State University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tree planting ceremonies on arbor day. there is an aquaponics off campus for students to learn a different way to farm. fast food places are in walking distances. they understand single parent that are back in school, encourage them get their degree.

    Bang for the buck

    never have to worry about someone breaking in your car, campus police is there and friendly. each department has free printers in study rooms. the library is full of computers and there is no waiting. Everyone makes you feel welcome.

    What to do for fun

    there is a swimming pool. tennis court. work out gym. a prairie garden....lots of student activities on campus for all ages! Parents are encourage to bring their children.

    Food and Dining

    the dining area is clean, they do a vegetarian menu! food for everyone taste.

    Academic Rigor

    the one academic rigor is the one that one's self creates. the work is expected. it is up to that individual to do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy and do not be afraid to ask questions everyone is so helpful and want to help you be successful!

    In three sentences

    this school supports the students in their education. the other students,staff and faculty are really helpful . the environment on campus is a great place to study. they really make you feel welcome!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is open until late evenings. This school has great food selections, including healthy options. The dining area is modern and up to date with flat screen televisions extended from the ceiling.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is quiet during the week and full of life on the weekend. Enjoy having a roommate and getting to know new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough professors and great academic books, whiteboards and other interactive technology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus hard to take adequate notes and stay focused on your lesson when attending Chicago State. Take advantage of late afternoon courses for those deep sleepers. ;-)

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University has very accommodating evening and weekend schedules for those who students who work during the day. Their instructors are well-educated, diverse and tough. The student atmosphere has a multi-cultural population with many sports and academic activities for all.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Connectors gatherings and Greek socials.

    Food and Dining

    There were 3 days when the cafeteria was closed, during regular business hours. This forced students to leave campus for meals.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, I am a commuter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read all the guidelines and deadlines for yourself. Don't take anyone's word for it.

    In three sentences

    The school is very slow with updating information. You have to make sure that you read all guidelines and deadlines for yourself or you may miss something. It is close to home, the classes are a nice size and it is affordable.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Greek Life

    various

    Clubs and Activities

    good

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student who decides to attend

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    good

    What to do for fun

    Clubs to join and student days to enjoy

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Read, get organized and start a file on yourself.

    In three sentences

    Chicago is a great University. It opens doors. It allows you to be all you can be.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety could be alot better. There are petty robberies that occur because the campus is too open at the wrong times therefore many people can hide out or slip into buildings and parking lots due to a big crowd and blending in.

    Greek Life

    On campus there are The Divine 9 and other organizations that were founded after them. I wish there were more organizations outside of D9 on campus to attract interests who want more variety

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs in various majors and programs.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pretty cheap compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    It depends on what individuals consider fun. There are parties here and there and events held by student activities and Greek organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mediocre and high priced. I strongly suggest making a lunch if you are a commuter or visiting nearby restaurants such as Popeye's, Wendy's, Panera, Applebee's, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but from what I heard the dorms are somewhat small and the rules are a little unreasonable in some aspects.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors that I had kept the class on track by setting realistic goals, but at the same time slowed down the pace if people were falling behind. I have learned so much. I swear!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always find your own resources and pay attention to every bulletin board on campus in order to find out about events going on. Also, do research on ways around the system in regards to paying for printing and looking at alternatives to save money. Do not buy books from the school bookstore unless you absolutely have to!

    In three sentences

    Chicago Ste University is a pretty good school. I do wish there was more diversity on campus, better food in the cafe, better resources for students, and better publicizing of events going on around campus. The best things about my school are the variety of classes and very competent professors. The psychology department is also very good.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I attend during the day but I feel that the campus is secure.

    Greek Life

    Unknown. I do not participate.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who want a quality, affordable education in-state. For those students who want to feel needed and nutured. For those students who are still trying to find their place in life.

    What to do for fun

    I'm an avid videogamer.

    Food and Dining

    Aokay to me.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown. I commute from home. I do have plans to reside on campus my junior and senior years.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff is dedicated to your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships early. Beat deadlines instead of meeting them -- e.g., applications for scholarships and/or any other services that you may need. Keep good documentation of anything that you turn in to anyone. Make sure that you have a clean copy of any documentation that you submit for yourself or that a parent submits. Keep all passwords in the same place so that they are easily accessed. Keep in constant contact with your advisor and/or Dean if necessary. If you don't understand -- ask until you do.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending CSU. The location is very convenient to my home. The faculty and staff are genuinely interested in ensuring my personal and professional success.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I stay at home so I can't say if it's good or bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything at Chicago State is very hands on. We get tons of real life experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become friends with your teachers. They will be much more willing to help you when problems occur.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State is exactly what you make of it. If you slack off and don't do anything, it won't work for you, but if you apply yourself and utilize your teachers, you'll excel. All of my teachers are great and care about their students passing.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    From what I have heard The Grill is the best place to eat.

    In three sentences

    I give Chicago State College a 10 out of 10 based on the information that I have learned from this website. I would really like to attend this school and I hope I get accepted.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the Jacoby Dickens Center and work out. They have events at the Convocation Building, so you can always catch a concert there.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Chicago State is okay. The cafeteria is not very big and it gets very crowded at times. Many times, students will eat off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was okay. I stayed on campus for a year, and it was very small and noisy. A lot of people smoked weed on campus and I think they could have better security. Plus there are no communal bathrooms, if you have a roommate, you have to share the bathroom with two other people plus your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are really good. There are great professors at Chicago State as well as advisors who will help your every need.

    Tips for prospective students

    They changed their gpa requirements. The days of getting accepted with a 1.0 GPA is no more. SO make sure your grades are up to par and your gpa is good.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University is a pretty good school if your grades are not really good from high school, and it's very cheap. It was okay while it lasted and I made some really good friends there.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies in the grazz, jazz in the grazz, parties, basketball games etc.

    Food and Dining

    Not a fan of any college campuses food but Chicago State is just like the rest.

    Dorm Life

    No comment, never lived on campus but Ive heard its pretty fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard. Read all assignments before class of discussion, study daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend every class prepared and on time, keep all syllabus, turn in every assignment proofread and well thought out, keep a positive attitude toward all professors and academic advisers.

    In three sentences

    This university is very undergraded! Chicago State is a great university, especially for those majoring in criminal justice and philosophy, with small teacher to student ratio in most classes. Great for in dept learning, intense comprehensive academic training in writing and english, Chicago State University is a great option for any serious prospective college student

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, there is always state police troops around the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is sort of important, they always have little shows and parties for everyone to attend.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of clubs for everyone

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room and the gym is always open for sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food most of time is great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus because I can't afford it right now, I hope to live there next semester. From what I've heard, dorm life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Right now the work isn't that difficult as I thought it would, however if I need help there is always a tutor available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and get acquainted with some of the staff. Make sure you have a studying schedule and try not to procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University is great, I like that they have tutoring services for every subject. The staff at the University is nice and polite to everyone. The classes are not too large nor too small, and the professors I've had so far are excellent.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Chicago State is a good place to get a education, but its nothing like I expected.

    What to do for fun

    Im still trying to figure that out for myself.

    Food and Dining

    The foods pretty descent, its just expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your accounts as far as financial aide, credits and classes.

    In three sentences

    Very small, low key type of environment. Cool place to get your studies, but not to get the full college experience.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a nice size campus but I always see campus police patrolling and the emergency phones are posted.

    Bang for the buck

    CSU is a all around a good school. It is accessible for transportation train or bus and nice size parking lot. There is a variety of activities and sports. A workout center that opens early and stays open late. When you have down time there is a game room which is awesome. There is always flyers up about speakers on different subjects.

    What to do for fun

    It depends on the person. The library, game room, thearter. It is always something going on at CSU.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good just over priced especiall since it is a college campus. Kids are broke

    Dorm Life

    I live off dorm but heard the staff is helpful and living quarters is normal for dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student in college everything will seem hard but putting forth effort makes everything a little bit easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not know ask questions. Do not assume you know the answer. Get to know your campus. If there is a problem ask question or report the problem.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University has molded me to be an excellent student. Faculty and staff are helpful at helping students achieve their goals. The University itself is an all in one center that assist future, present and past students with all around situations.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get all the amenities of a big college/university for half the amount.

    In three sentences

    CSU is a good school; it's convenient, has quality curriculum, and inexpensive. What a student puts into his/her experience at the school is what he/she will ultimately get out of the school.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have an on campus police department.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many sports. Many frats and sororities. Various educational clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Energetic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Step shows and dances.

    Bang for the buck

    Its about 8,000 for 15 credit hours and 8000 if you live on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus isn't that great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not very exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    Chicago State's classes are above average and you will receive an excellent education from this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Chicago State is a very diverse campus and you will enjoy your time at this school.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State is a friendly campus. Chicago State is overpriced. Chicago State needs newer venues.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 stars.

    Greek Life

    Take a Greek cooking class.

    Clubs and Activities

    4 stars.

    Great for these types of students

    Listening to Mozart.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love to walk along the beach after dinner.

    Bang for the buck

    3 stars.

    What to do for fun

    Walk, run, and bike riding.

    Food and Dining

    3 stars.

    Dorm Life

    3 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    3 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study as much as you can on the course you plan to take in the coming academy year.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Chicago State University a 'B'. CSU pharmacy school has joined with UIC school of pharmacy. Not only have great teachers but knowledgeable in their field.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable and it is a really good school. It is mostly known for teaching majors, which is what I am majoring in. At first I was not sure because its not really diverse. There are many African Americans in this school but they are all so friendly that it does not even matter if it's diverse or not.

    What to do for fun

    There are many after school activities and job opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    I would say the food is okay not the best or the worst I have tasted.

    Dorm Life

    I am not dorming but I heard that the dorms are nice and plus the students are really friendly so I believe it will be fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that some teachers a lenient while others are not. But most teachers do want you to pass their class and will help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay close attention to the lectures and attend all your classes. Remember deadlines and follow the syllabus. Keep all your notes organized and study them.

    In three sentences

    It is consisted of many courteous students that are hardworking. The teachers make the class easy to understand and enjoyable. It is a big school yet easy to get around to, and the classes are regular sized to meet the students needs.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've yet experienced any malicious foul play at CSU.

    Clubs and Activities

    Due to my at home commitments (child), I'm unable to partake in clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    CSU is an university for all age groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The newly remodel library is amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to my age/maturity and being a single parent, I don't participate in the student life activities. However, based upon my fellow classmates, student life is pretty exciting.

    Food and Dining

    I bring lunch from home.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors I've had the privilege to obtain knowledge from were definitely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    The advise I offer potential students is to visit the campus to in order to get a feel of it. Afterall, selecting an educational institution is one of the most important decision one will make in their life.

    In three sentences

    CSU is an affordable university. The guidance counselors and instructors I've encountered with are awesome. The relationships I'd established with former classmates were a blessing.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are shuttle buses to take students to near-by train and bus stations/stops, as well as posted campus security.

    What to do for fun

    There are many posted outdoor events such as Jazz-in-the-grass and the Yard shows. Indoor events include game shows, a game room, and athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of different food choices and the time frames are very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    Staff members, including student employees, work hard to make everyone comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and advisers to ensure you are on the right path to your degree and career choice.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State is continuing to improve academics and athletics. Chicago State offers multiple majors and minors. The small class sizes make the learning environment more comfortable.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are studying pharmacy, business, and education would benefit greatly.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of campus activities that are really fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good there is a variety of selections, although the lines tend to be long and there is not enough places to sit and eat.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are good at what they do but not all of the instructors teaching methods are effective for some students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to deal with problems in the admissions office. Register for classes early to create your ideal schedule. Try not to buy your textbooks from the campus bookstore. Try to meet with your academic advisor as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    A diverse atmosphere with good instructors. A excellent education program. A interesting college atmosphere.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Chicago State University and state police are always on campus.

    What to do for fun

    You're in Chicago, there will never be a day were you can't find SOMETHING to do, I promise!

    Food and Dining

    If you don't like the food in the cafe, there are restaurants all over the city that are quick to get too.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but there is a building for dorms, key word a meaning only one. Since the school is in Chicago there are apartments for rent near by that are ideal for students.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a math test that students have to take with out a calculator and can only get one question wrong. Luckily, there is no limit to how many times you can take it, but if you rely on a calculator to help you pass the test, get ready for a rude awakening.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come to Chicago State with a high school mindset, the professors and other students will quickly excel and you will be left behind. DONT BUY ANY BOOKS FROM THE BOOK STORE. some professors don't use the text book, and you can sometimes find the book for WAYYYY cheaper online.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State is fun, inviting, and peaceful.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All demographics.

    What to do for fun

    Join different social groups, attend university sports games (tennis, golf, basketball).

    Academic Rigor

    Tough, but if you love your major you'll become so interested in your classes that all you will want to do is make sure you pass with a excellent grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand how the academic process works, stay focused, listen to your instructor.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University is a great University. I love the professors, most of them are people friendly and very approachable. The professors I have had are very good and thorough with teaching, explaining, and setting examples of what a scholar should be. I feel so good about what I have learned that once I finish my bachelor's degree I plan on continuing to get my master's degree. Chicago State is a great University to attend for learning. Most of the student are also great to collaborate with on group projects.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    You find out a lot about Greek life by talking to members. They do a lot, they just don't advertise about it all.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, people who don't have #30,00 a year for school.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of things to do, just look at the bulletin boards.

    Food and Dining

    The food cold be better, but it will do when you're really hungry.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms here, so I can't grade them accurately.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give this school more than the 1 semester test. I've had more challenges and fun my second semester than I did my first. I only wish I had started her instead of transferring here.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State is a university that you have to take advantage of everything given to you, including professors. If you show promise, or that you are really wanting to learn, the professors will go above and beyond to help you learn, and attain internships. Don't let the location or distractions discourage you from an otherwise great university.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work, so I don't have time for on campus participation.

    Food and Dining

    Food pricing is reasonable and dining is fine.

    Dorm Life

    I'm unsure about dorm life; I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your advisor everything you need to do, otherwise you will be lost.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State have very good programs, but finding out about them is the hard part. Chicago State can be make it very convenient for students, if they had access to computers in the other builds, besides the library. Chicago State's overall rate on a scale from 1-10, is an 6, due to things not being that easy to find out when becoming a new student.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    State police station is housed on our campus, if anything despite the location and surrounding neighborhoods safety is a minimal issue. The campus is extensively patrolled and closely watched.

    Greek Life

    Mainly divine nine. There are only two multi-cultural organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of activities that par take throughout the year, every month there is something planned. There are over 80 active clubs and organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is commonly dominated by the urban culture but that does not mean that there is a division between cultures. When it comes down to cultural and campus events in general there is a unison and support from all types of individuals on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The university is very embracive of african culture given that adinka symbols that are located around campus and used to represent several organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is one of the lowest in the state, you are not cheated out of an education and you definitely not over paying for it either!

    What to do for fun

    The years calendar is packed with activities for the student body. All activities are carefully planned and inclusive of every month within the academic school year.

    Food and Dining

    The university is in the process of changing vendors for cafeteria. The current contract is about to expire and we are looking for a separate entity that can provide better and healthier services.

    Dorm Life

    The residence hall easily accommodates student living, each individual room is equipped with a separate bathroom. The residence hall is at close range from all buildings and transportation is provided to door of the residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    There are excellent programs at Chicago State University, it is simply a matter of maintaining the stellar and productive student image, and excelling in your field of specialty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Become familiarized with your campus as far as resource centers go, administration, staff, faculty, programs, internships, honor societies, and clubs and organizations. Make this your institution!

    In three sentences

    A hidden jewel on the south side of Chicago. Excellent institution that adequately prepares our students career wise and life skilled wise for the near and upcoming future.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THIS IS THE SAFEST CAMPUS IN THE WORLD. WE HAVE CHICAGO POLICE, CHICAGO STATE POLICE, AND CONTRACT SECURITY. THEIR EVERYWHERE ALL THE TIME.

    Greek Life

    THEIR IS ALWAYS GREEK WEEKS POSTED. YOU WILL FIND ALL YOUR SORORITIESAND FRATERNITIES RIGHT HERE. DON'T THINK YOU HAVE TO GO DOWN SOUTH TO PLEDGE YOUR LOYALTY.

    Clubs and Activities

    THEIR IS A CLUB FOR EVERY GENDER, ETHNICITY, SORORITY, FRATERNITY, SPIRITUAL GROUP. IF IT'S NOT HERE YOU CAN START IT YOURSELF. THE ONLY REQUIREMENT IT THAT IT HANCES STUDENT LIFE.

    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE ANYWHERE CAN BECOME SUCCESSFUL HERE AT CHICAGO STATE UNIVERSITY. THE FACULTY, STAFF, COACHES, PRESIDENT, ARE ALL DEDICATED TO YOU. YOU COME IN WITH A SUPPORT SYSTEM FROM DAY ONE TILL GRADUATION.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WE ALWAYS HAVE SPIRIT WEEL. WE HAVE A GAME ROOM. WE ALSO HAVE A RADIO STATION.

    Bang for the buck

    WE HAVE THE LOWEST UNIVERSITY PER CREDIT HOUR RATE. YOU GET ACCESS TO THE SAME PROFESSORS WHO TEACH AT THE OVERPRICED UNIVERSITIES. YOU WON'T RACK UP A BUNCH OF COLLEGE DEBT,

    What to do for fun

    THE VARIOUS GROUPS ON CAMPUS ARE ALWAYS HOSTING ONE EVENT OR ANOTHER AND IT'S USUALLY FREEE TO THE STUDENTS. WE HAVE HAD STEVE HARVEY, MICHELLE WILLIAMS DESTINY CHILD), MICHEAL EELY, TRIPS TO THE BULLS, AND THEIR ALWAYS A FREE FOOD EVENT. THIS MONTH IS POETRY MONTH SO THEIR ARE OPEN MICS EVERY MONDAY EVENING.

    Food and Dining

    THE CHEFS IN OUR KITCHEN ARE THE BEST. OUR FOOD IS NOT ONLY GOOD BUT GOOD FOR YOU. THE DINING AREA IS ALWAYS CLEAN.

    Dorm Life

    THE DORM'S ARE STATE OF THE ART. THEY ARE NEWLY REMOLDED. THEY ALSO ARE CONVIENTLY LOCATED TO THE CAFETERIA AND FITNESS CENTER.

    Academic Rigor

    THE COURSE WORK IT'S EXTENSIVE JUST BECAUSE WE HAVE THE BEST PROFESSORS IN THE WORLD. ALL OF THEM HAVING MULTIPULE DEGREES AND DOCTORATES. DON'T BE ALARMED BECAUSE TUTORING IS READILY AVAILABLE TO YOU.

    Tips for prospective students

    THE FINANCIAL AID OFFICE IS VERY HELPFUL. DON'T WORRY ABOUT EDUCATION COSTS THEY'LL FIND A WAY FOR YOU TO ATTEND HER. EVERYONE ON CAMPUS WANTS YOU TO SUCCESSED IF YOU NEED HELP JUST ASK.

    In three sentences

    THE SCHOOL IS VERY DIVERSE AND CULTURE RICH. HERE YOU ARE FREE TO EXPRESS YOU INNER PASSION AND AMBITION FOR SUCCESS. OUR PROFESSORS CULTIVATE THE MINDS OF STUDENTS.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc., is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Join an organization

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule a visit to see if the school is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University has provided me with caring and motivating professors. I would give my school a perfect ten because this institution provides me with everything I need to reach my education and career goals. I am excited to see what the next two years has to offer me.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great Campus to live on Its peaceful on the campus It looks like fun living on campus

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They host parties right here on campus and ofcourse there are some in the dorms too but nothing too crazy plus they make sure everyone comes and goes safely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your finances!, keep all your receipts, & plan out how your going to pay for whatever it is you have to pay for accordingly.

    In three sentences

    Overall I'm satisfied with the school! Although there are cliques here, most people are very friendly, moderately big campus (but you'll find your way around), there's always activities & fun things to do/going on. Easy, quick & close transportation, a number of stores, restaurants and hangouts close by too! Oh & tuition is a little lighter on the pockets and wallets.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety here is okay, but it always could be better. I do feel that our university should be a little more closed off with fences possibly. The way they have it now, anyone could walk onto campus and into the buildings right off the street. To me, that's a little dangerous. However, I will say that state policeman do frequent different areas on campus on foot and in squad cars.

    Greek Life

    There are NPHC/Divine 9 (first 9 African American Greek organizations to come into existence) including Delta Sigma Theta, Omega Psi Phi, and Zeta Phi Beta; and there are other Greek organizations including Zeta Phi Zeta Christian Co-Ed Fraternity, Elogeme Christian Sorority, and Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc. which is a multicultural sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of different organizations that students can join including Foreign Language Organization, C.R.E.W club, Wrestling club, Greek organizations, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, could just be better overall. The school could have more places for students to eat,

    What to do for fun

    CSU does offer a variety of events throughout each semester to encourage students to get involved on campus including the CSU Carnival, Clubs & Orgs Day, also several hangout spots like Student Activities and the Game Room.

    Food and Dining

    The food service we use on campus is Sodexo Food Service. The food is subpar. The food is extremely expensive. I'm talking almost 10 bucks a meal expensive. I have never tasted such subpar food in my life for the prices we are FORCED to pay for it. The Student Government Association as well as other students are fighting to get Sodexo Food Service removed from the campus. The administration does not care about the quality of food we eat. They just want to pay as minimal amount of money for food and student services as they can to keep up at bay. Chicago State University is currently in an area that would be considered a food desert. The university definitely has the money to bring other food stations, restaurants, and choices to our university. However, they refuse to!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life could be 100 times better! I think this is the worst dorm I've ever experienced in my college career. First off, the visitors exit curfew. On weekdays, visitors must be gone by 12 am. On weekends, 2 am. And that is only if you are a visitor of the opposite sex. I guess it is to discourage sex in the dorms, but we are adults. Sexual activity of only heterosexual relationships are taken into account. They count out homosexual relationships and other types of relationships, which I think is very unfair. They walk a fine line of taking a negative view on sexual activity, which public universities and sectors cannot do. I feel that if the opposite sexes must be out by 12am on weekdays and 2am on weekends, EVERYONE should have that visitor exit curfew or the curfew should be lifted. Also, the internet service on campus is horrible. For us to pay the amount of money we do for tuition, our internet should be almost flawless. We also have to pay for printing in the dorms! Horrible! Inexcusable! There aren't even ice machines in the dorms. Students must walk across the way to the cafeteria just to get ice for their drinks. Living here on campus is wayyyyy too expensive for this type of stuff to occur. The dorms in general just need improvement. The dorm life at Chicago State University is comparable to a child or teenagers life in a boarding school.

    Academic Rigor

    Chicago State University does offer rigourous courses with teaches that do have passion for what they are teaching. Expectations are high for majority of the professors on campus. Make sure you come to class punctually and everyday and you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep your grades up. Chicago State University does not give a lot of scholarships. With that said, make sure you are constantly researching different scholarship opportunities! Get involved! Be the person that fights for change on campus! We need more students like that, but also get involved to get to know more students. We literally have a huge amount of clubs and organizations on campus. Students can even start their own organizations. Make sure you come out to Chicago State University's open houses and events to learn more about what's going on and what's coming to campus.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University has great degree programs. However, I feel that the school could be better if we had a more lucrative administration. I feel that in some instances, the best interest of the STUDENTS is not taken into account when university decisions are made.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not safe on campus at night esp if you park off campus or take public transportation.

    Greek Life

    I'm not apart of that life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are barely known to outsiders. They don't publish them well enough to inform others.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for incoming freshmen.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    I never heard of bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Anyone can go to the gym, student union, or the library for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The grill in the food area is amazing. The dining area is clean and neat.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus but it looks nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your grades, gpa, and your account. Constantly look and record your account summary.

    In three sentences

    Chicago is a good school but it has the potential to be great. They had student worker so it takes some time to get things solve.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It definitely a bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an activity going on to get involved in at CSU. Rather you like sporting events or fashion shows there is always something that will peek your interest.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafe is ok. Sometimes they have good stuff on the menu and sometimes they don't. They are very expensive considering that they are catering to college students.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but from what I hear they are ok.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Biology major and so far my prerequisite classes have been rigorous. It's only going to get harder as I move up into my major classes. Intro to Biology and General Chemistry are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you register for a particular class go around and ask about the professor.

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University may be small and not well known but the professors are awesome. You definitely get a one on one connection with the teachers. I love going to this University.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    yes

    Bang for the buck

    Csu is affordable and worth the cost

    What to do for fun

    various activates and clubs sports gym(pool exercise)

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and get involved

    In three sentences

    Chicago state is an well diverse school. It helps make your learning experience so much better. not only will you get an education but long term knowledge

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    .Since I take majority night classes, safety is always a concerned of mine. I absolutely feel safe walking to and from the campus. There are many other students that do the same, blue light security call stations, campus lights, and typically there are multiple campus police quad cars that roam around.

    Greek Life

    Does not apply

    Clubs and Activities

    Does not apply

    Great for these types of students

    Does not apply

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Does not apply

    Bang for the buck

    Chicago State University definitely has allowed me to spend less money on my education and provide more funds towards my daughter educational experience.

    What to do for fun

    I love the library....it's relaxing, modern, and clean.

    Food and Dining

    I've only had the opportunity of eating on campus twice and both experiences did not exceed my cafeteria expectation.

    Dorm Life

    I can't share any experience on the dorm life because I'm not a traditional student. I'm a single mother enrolled in full-time studies plus committed to working a full-time job.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the University employees knowledgeable faculty to assist in the students college experience. The one thing I really appreciate is the staff's empathy to a non-traditional college student balancing work and life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and be determined no matter how many obstacles may come your way. Obstacles will come!

    In three sentences

    Chicago State University is a home and a family to me. Being able to have flexible classes schedule options has given me the opportunity to work and go to school full-time. For the most part the faculty and staff are passionate about helping students realize and achieve their goals.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have state troopers on campus and cameras at almost every light so at all times campus is patrolled by up to five cars around campus and four on the inside with security in every building.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing. energetic. friendly. adventurous. motivated. diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no traditions but the outside live is to die for. you can study on the grass or in the shade of trees or even sit my our historic train box car dedicated to our school from john Pullman himself.

    Bang for the buck

    oftentimes you have to make sure you stay on the staff that are handling your paper work. they oftentimes misfile and forget certain documents. therefore, leaving you to handle all the payments and copying yourself. so when you apply make sure you have proof of your papers and backs also. you sometimes have to do yours and their job too.

    What to do for fun

    sports. jazz in the grass. study time. school markets.

    Food and Dining

    sometimes the food is seasoned right and they have many varities. then other days they are slow to serve, overcook the food, disrespectful to students.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on dorms. I hear the rooms are not coed but the building itself is.

    Academic Rigor

    it all depends on the teacher. Chicago state has teacher evaluations so take those in mind when youre picking classes. this allows you to hear from the student stand point of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit tutors as often as possible. if they offer the course online take it. start the class before you buy the books. and be prepared to spend almost all your time devoted to classes.

    In three sentences

    the academics is challenging. the teachers are often unmotivated. the staff are disorganized and uninformed.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The head officer is very friendly and down to earth.They have numerous ways to keep students safe.They have -Shuttle buses for students -panic buttons on campus -gps program for students phones with a timer the alerts police if you are not at your set spot in the time you set -officers can be seen anywhere on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone is so friendly even a shy person would feel comfortable enough to open up.They seem like one big family at Chicago State.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of choices at Chicago State.You can joins groups and teams.They also have classes like swimming lessons,zumb,and zoga.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of food choices.Everyday you can have something new.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is beautiful.They give you optins on how you want your room set up.They also have a garden to sit and relax in.That is located in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I spoke with many students on campus about classes and they said that classes can be difficult but there is a lot of help around for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to be prepared ahead of time.There will be a lot going on getting orientated, but if you make appointments it will be simpler.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Chicago State University a ten.The moment i got their i felt like part of the family because all the staff and students were so polite and welcoming.My adviser was very helpful and everything about the school was flawless.