Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Chowan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great place for Christians who and to experience God at a young age. There are ministries over the campus to help you cope with your new life. And for students who want to meet new people

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you enjoy your last year of high school and ask different people about their college adventure, find someone you could model and talk to them. Then prepare yourself for the journey. Make sure you either get familiar with the place if you are not from the east coast. And remember to just have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Some students complain about the price,but financial aid is available.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being there I live in Hampton, Virginia and its not that far from Chowan, located in Murfreesboro, North Carolina. The people are so friendly and its easy to make friends there.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are amazing at Chowan University, All of the teacher should me how to study and worked with me on the projects. The make their-selves friendly and someone you can really talk to.

  • 11/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get closer to God! This is the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your last year of high school! When you come to orientation here at Chowan ask all kinds of questions! They have faith in your future!

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of kids here complain about the price, as long as you apply for scholarships, and do your financial aid, then you are okay.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Chowan! When I came for orientation, they welcomed my mother and I with open arms! I knew this was the school for me!

    Am learning a lot

    As a freshman I am learning the real definition of time management. This is an important factor because you chose what time you want your classes to start and what time you want them to end. You don't want to pick a class and you over sleep and miss it.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Have a vehicle and make friends. Chowan's how you make it.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to attend a small school and do not want to feel like just another number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Keep in mind the school is pretty small. Everyone has a different college experience so make sure you are absolutely positive about the school you want to attend. Visit the campus. Ask as many questions as you need to. This is your future, take advantage!

    Bang for the buck

    Chowan is fairly expensive. Apply for as many scholarships as you can. The financial aid office does raise your scholarship money if you do well in your classes so keep those grades as high as possible.

    Did enjoy being here

    The school does offer a lot of activities for the students to participate in. The surrounding town is very small and rural; You would have to do some traveling in order to find entertainment. The friends that you will meet here make it worth it. It is very easy to get involved on campus.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers at Chowan are very dedicated to helping their students succeed. The extended library hours during exam week and free tutoring are very helpful. There is also a writing center for those who need assistance with the various papers they will have to write.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have the hawks nest, and you have resturants near by.

    Food and Dining

    On weekends the food isnt all that good, but during the week it is ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    Chowan is in the middle of no where. So make sure you have a car so you can get around.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I live in the area. Have never heard of any problems. During tour campus safety seemed to be a top priority.

    Greek Life

    Most sororities and fraternities are represented.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs for everyone to choose from. Depending on your preference, a wide variety is avaible to everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tradition of ringing the bell as a freshman. Symbol of the beginning of your new life. Planting of your brick when you graduate. Creating a memory, and that you were a part of something bigger than you.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not expensive for out of state tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and various activities on campus. Movie theater nearby town.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and there are several restaurants within walking distance to the university. The campus dining hall serves a wide variety of different cuisine. As well as pizza, hamburgers etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm facilities are adequate spacious. New dorms are in the process of being built. The students appeared to be having a good time and enjoying sharing space.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs that are offered here at Chowan are comparable if not better than larger universities in metropolitan areas. The teachers provide students with subject matter that enable them to compete for interships, employment and further academic programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on line and research the campus before coming for your tour. Write out a list of questions. Come for the campus tour. Ask tons of questions, the tour guides that are assigned are very knowledgeable and welcoming. Read all literature that is offered to you.

    In three sentences

    Chowan University is located in the historic picturesque town of Murfreesboro, NC. The campus is warm and welcoming. I can't wait to attend here in the fall.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on the watch if you need them

    Clubs and Activities

    They have every club possible ehre for you to join there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type even students that are not Christians

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun unless you go to Virginia which is only about 45 minutes away from our school and not far from the beach.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good somedays but majority time it is the fast food you have to go to in the caferteria.The food is nicely cooked and well done.The desserts they have are quite nice. There favorite things to serve is fried chicken, macaroni and cheese, tacos,nachos and sometimes fajitas.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice in simons hall but but belk is a little small .The Jenkins and Simons dorms are roomy and nicer than belk that seems to need to be fixed up.They have new apartment dorms that are known as Whites Crossing it has everything you need like your own apartment.It is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the professors are very good and what they do.The classes are small and gives you a lot more time to ask questions and get help with anything that you are unsure about.

    In three sentences

    The place has a lot of nature and nice outside settings.There is many animals and squirrels there.The weather is always nice and sunny but has a nice cool breeze.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I absolutely love Greek life on campus. I have a lot of friends who are Greeks and they are terrific people. The Greeks are really big on community service and they host a lot events and gatherings to make everyone feel welcome or just have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of organization from clubs for your majors to extra curricular clubs. They are always involved on campus and play a part in making the campus a growing community.

    Great for these types of students

    Chowan is perfect for anyone who wants to try something different from what they are use to or prefer a quiet, country like campus.

    What to do for fun

    Being that we are in a rural town you have to make your own fun either on campus or off. There's a lot of organizations and activities you can participate in to keep the boredom out of your life.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is pretty good. Of course everyone is particularly overjoyed with the fried chicken Tuesdays and the taco Fridays. You have a variety of assortment so if your a health nut, you have a buffet salad bar, or if you are a all day breakfast person, they have a cereal and waffle bar.

    Dorm Life

    I love my residence hall. It makes me feel like i am at home. I get the space, and privacy i need when i want to escape from everything, and just be to myself. Everyone is cool with everyone and we all have a good time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research and find out everything ahead of time. Make you have everything squared away and taken care of before or as soon as you get on campus. Come with the mindset to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Great country, home away from home vibe. Chowan gives you a sense of peace. Good place to see higher levels of achievement.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I do not believe this school is only good for some individuals because I am of Hispanic heritage and I feel right at home although it has a very few Latinos in this school.

    What to do for fun

    The hawks nest is the hang out place where everyone goes.

    Food and Dining

    The food taste pretty good for school food. I really enjoy their salad bar

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a family environment style for a college, visit the campus and you will be pleased on what you will see at Chowan. Take a close relative to help you decide on what you see, they can help you see if that college is right for you. Never hesitate to ask questions about the history and what fun activities are around.

    In three sentences

    Walking into Chowan University is like walking into your momma arms, feeling warm and comfortable. It is like a family environment that makes you want to stay. The anxiety I feel to start in the fall keeps growing because I know I will be at home.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Chowan is for type of students that want a good education for a good price.That want a good and spaced out atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions.Try to get each step in details,and get everything turned in early.Physicals, and final transcript are the best turn in a so as possible before going to the college.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is awesome and it is funny.Everyone has a beautiful smile on their faces.Chowan is one of the best school for least money then most schools.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is so happy,funny,and cheerful.,I love the atmosphere,so yes I will definitely enjoy it there.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes,when I went to the school it was very clear that the teachers are great teachers that I can learn a lot from.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who plan to major in Graphics (ex.: Graphic Communications/Graphic Design). Their graphics lab is exceptional! In case you haven't researched the school, I must tell you that the Graphics Lab has won numerous awards for their lab because it's so exceptional!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your last year of high school, it goes by fast, college is an entirely different world! Of course, once you get to college do your work to keep your scholarships, but also have fun, enjoy your else and network with kids your age and also people in authority.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything that is at the school is worth the pay, especially the Christian education; which is the number one reason I wanted to attend the school in the first place. Although, there are some days where the food in the cafeteria isn't all that great, but we all can't wish for perfect, can we?

    Am enjoying being here

    I am having a better time than I anticipated at first. It was hard for me to make friends when I first came to the school and I honestly thought I would have problems with some of the students. To the glory of God I didn't, one student I'm so close with it feels like we're brothers. Funny thing is I'm not the only one to say we're brothers, many students say we not only look like brothers, but act like it as well; to add to it we have Graphic Communications as our major. I'm having such a fun time and I've only been there for one semester, it's unbelievable!

    Am learning a lot

    This is a fantastic school. I have met new friends and have become close to them already and I've only been there for one semester. The criteria they set for each student isn't hard and the work they give you causes stress, but it's easy to alleviate, it's only how you manage your time and yourself.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's an expensive school , but worth it

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and get active are the best way to have fun and meet new people,

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria offers many healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty average. being able to control your own a/c and heat is great.

    Academic Rigor

    it's not very hard to stay afloat academically. the school offers free tutoring and because classes are so small you can usually just go straight to the professor for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    maintain your gpa for the best possible scholarship as the school offers many of them.

    In three sentences

    it's a very close knit community .

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    is terrible! you never really see them which is bad.

    Greek Life

    i love the sororities and fraternities here. they are very supportive of our school and activities. they show how proud they are to be in the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm really not involved in any clubs like i did in high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have perspectives every wednesday. it's like our church service, since our school is a christian school.

    Bang for the buck

    chowan is a very expensive school but a wonderful place to be. getting a education is important to me. sometimes going to a smaller school is better, even though it is out of state for me.

    What to do for fun

    i hang out with my friends or go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    you get sick of the same food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    i really don't like living in a dorm. living with all girls is terrible.

    Academic Rigor

    not every class is easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    to succeed here you have to stay on top of your work and study hard.

    In three sentences

    it's a nice small campus. it's beautiful and quiet. the faculty is nice and love to help there students.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it could be better because o.k the location and we could have more security

    Greek Life

    it is great with the new greek that come to the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there are great activities

    Great for these types of students

    it great for students that like small class rooms and like to be heard

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the location is in a small town so city students wont be use to not being around lights and close by to stores

    What to do for fun

    the gym, campus activities, hawk nest

    Food and Dining

    it could be better but murf's is cool

    Dorm Life

    it is has new dorms coming so the school is getting bigger in enrollment

    Academic Rigor

    most students tend to graduate from here if they don't transfer

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard, stay on top of your work, and the key to success is time management that's the most important thing.

    In three sentences

    it is a small school based campus. trying to expand and build more. it has great things to come.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food needs to be way better.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms could be better.

    Academic Rigor

    chowan don't play when it comes to academics. you will get kicked out if you don't do your very best.

    Tips for prospective students

    do good in high school so you can get a scholarship to here if you want to come here.

    In three sentences

    chowan is small. it is a private university. chowan is what you make it.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of variety

    Academic Rigor

    As in all school studying is important.

    In three sentences

    Chowan offers a students a good education with nice student /teacher ratio. The campus is small but spread out enough to give student a nice environment for socialization.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus saftey is very good they just over do it sometimes

    Bang for the buck

    chowan is a very expensive school but a wonderful place to be. getting a education is important . sometimes going to a smaller school is better and i like being here

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good , we have differnt things to eat every day

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is good . i enjoy everybody that stay in my dorm me and my roommate get along well . and they keep the dorm clean

    Tips for prospective students

    tips are makes sure you student and work hard dont party all the time .

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, Christians

    Bang for the buck

    OVer expensive, prefer not to recommend Chowan, its not worth 30000

    What to do for fun

    Talk with friends not alot

    Food and Dining

    Alright, Needs improvement

    Dorm Life

    Its bad matter of fact one of the worst! Just stay in the books because your surrounding sucks lol

    Academic Rigor

    Hard and Challaging; just study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use time wisely, study daily

    In three sentences

    Quiet, Old -Fashion, Christian Faith

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While I was on campus it looked pretty safe to me! The enviroment was very soothing and relaxing.

    Greek Life

    Chowan have three national sororities available on campus: Alpha Sigma Tau, Delta Sigma Theta, and Zeta Phi Beta. Three national fraternity, Omega Psi Phi, Kappa Alpha Psi, and Kappa Sigma.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have sooooo many activities; too many to name!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students whose GPA ranges from a 2.25 and 3.25, with a 1300 the SAT.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chowan was founded in 1848 by Baptist families and the name means “people of the south” , to honor the Native American Algonquin Chowanook tribe.

    What to do for fun

    You can play pool, air hockey, or relax with your friends in the Hawk's Nest.

    Food and Dining

    They're fried chicken is great! The food is buffet style, I enjoyed it.

    Dorm Life

    I like how they have the dorms set up with 2 residential advisors on each side of the residential halls. The dorm rooms are nice sizes. They even have a sink right there in the room!

    Academic Rigor

    They have a writing center! We all will be writing great papers after attending Chowan!

    Tips for prospective students

    When you are feeling stressed out because of all the college planning, Chowan makes it worth the wait!

    In three sentences

    I am really excited to attend Chowan University this fall! This school is culturally diverse, small, and is a christian school. I couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Its private. I think it will be a great opportunity to meet new people from different areas and cultures. Smal campus but still fun.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Delta Sigma Theta is a really good sorroity.

    Clubs and Activities

    International students club, Newspaper club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students use to living in a very small town, with very little entertainment.

    What to do for fun

    Not much, It's a really small southern town.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good.

    In three sentences

    Chowan is a small Christian university in Murfreesboro, NC.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chowan has a lot of recreational sports for their students, like Frisbee and bowling. They have a cool hang-out spot for students called the Hawk's Nest, which has music, snacks, billiards, and other games to play. There are also fine arts performances every week.

    Food and Dining

    Chowan has a great cooking staff. On the two occasions I have been to the campus. They also have a student-run restaurant which I have heard is amazing. You get meal cards and can dine all day.

    Dorm Life

    Even though the rooms might be small, you have a great connection with your suite mates. And if you are lucky like me and my best friend, they will honor your roommate request! But all jokes aside, they will match you up with someone that you will be able to get along with. you even have a survey as part of your application for housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Chowan University pushes their students to achieve academic greatness. Even though they expect great things of you, they don't just dump a ton on you. And with it being a small campus, you have a better connection with your teachers, and can ask questions if you don't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for you would be to just be yourself if you go to interview for a scholarship. Everyone there is friendly so there is nothing to worry about. Also, make sure yo get all your paperwork done early!

    In three sentences

    Chowan University is a very family styled school, with alot of oppertunities for students to get involved in campus life. You feel welcome the minute you step onto campus, and your professors feel like old family friends. In comparison to all the campuses I've toured (including top state schools) i would have to say Chowan is my top choice!

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make your own fun. Enjoy college get involved in campus activities

    Food and Dining

    Chicken Tuesday is the best.

    Dorm Life

    Girls try to get Simons. Guys you only have two choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have to create you own fun. If you have a car bring it

    In three sentences

    Chowan is a small easy going college. The teacher student ratio being so small helps you get work done in my opinion. Chowan University is what you make it.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is generally very safe. I have only heard of two real incidents in the 6 years I have been living around the area. There are no call boxes for security, as at some of the bigger schools, but security does answer their phone and can be anywhere on campus pretty quickly.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a whole lot of greek life. Those that are on campus are generally talked of well, but there isn't any special privileges for them that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs to get involved in and campus activities to take part in. Chowan makes sure everyone has something they will like to get involved with and do a lot with the surrounding communities.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal arts students do very well here. It's not big for technical or the hard sciences and there is no real computer science major. Business majors do very well here, too.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in the clubs. Virginia Beach is only about an hour and a half drive away. Busch Gardens is about two hours away. There are a lot of options if you have a car or can hitch a ride with someone.

    Food and Dining

    I did not have a meal plan but ate in the cafeteria and at Murf's (the on campus little cafe type place) and the food was always good for me. It's not the best, but you can't expect a ton from college food. I liked Murf's better than the cafeteria, but the cafeteria had a lot more options.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed off campus and did not live in the dorms, so I can't really comment. I do know that new apartments are being built for this fall and they look really great.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very easy and some are notoriously hard, but overall, most classes are challenging but not overwhelming. Keep up with homework and don't be afraid to ask questions. Most professors will work with you after hours if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all your paperwork done early. You really want to get express check in. Check back often to insure that everything is filled and checked. Go to the earliest orientation (SOAR) possible to have a chance to get a good class schedule.

    In three sentences

    Chowan University has a great atmosphere for students. It's a small town school, which makes for a great interaction between faculty and students. The small area, however, makes social events outside of school small and not often.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus. There is campus police on duty at all times.

    What to do for fun

    Chowan has a cafe called The Hawks Nest which holds game rooms and cable TV for sport games to be shown on. They also have wi-fi areas for students to do there home work with.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is very good. They different types of menus each day. They even have a buffet style dining room.

    Dorm Life

    Chowan is currently building new dorms now. I think they should be finished for the start of the fall semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Chowan is a small classed based college which is great for everyone because they really get a chance to meet their teachers and develop an great relationship with them.

    In three sentences

    Chowan is a very good for anyone to attend. To me it's one of the best colleges in the CIAA. I know when I attend Chowan in the fall I will have a very great experience.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is not so great. They have one car that patrols the whole campus, and they respond slowly to calls. They need more people on patrol.

    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities and sororities on campus. Greek life is beginning to grow, and I believe that it'll continue to grow.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a wide variety of clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't mind hanging out with friends on the weekends. students that like the small campus life and ones that enjoy interacting with other students. Students that dont mind spending their Saturday nights inside.

    What to do for fun

    Jenkins Center is a nice place to work out or play basketball. Every now and then they have some fun programs to attend. But on a normal basis, there aren't many fin things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and complete your assigned work!

    In three sentences

    Chowan University is a pretty okay school as a whole. I like the convenience of having a small campus and I enjoy attending some of the programs that they have. I would like for there to be more activities on campus for students.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent security is always there when needed.

    Greek Life

    throw a lot of parties. also look into it before joining very active but secretive.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many to choose from and very time consuming.

    Great for these types of students

    all types.

    What to do for fun

    campus activities and parties.

    Food and Dining

    food is okay but it will be enough to hold you. not too many varieties of foods though.

    Dorm Life

    rooms can have bad smells, few cracks here and there and sometimes insects.

    Academic Rigor

    very hands on and will always grasps your attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    very traditional

    In three sentences

    great academic dynamics, campus life can be great it just depends on how you make it. Not a lot of things to do in the area but you will eventually adjust or miss home.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its really not much to do for fun around here because to the town so small. They have parties every Thursday night also step shows and sports. Also you can go to the gym to work out or play basketball. You also could sign up for flag football basically sports is a big thing at this college and that's where most fun comes from.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good but not the best. They have many different foods you can choose from. They have food that they cook for you or you could have pizza and fries everyday. Also they have a sub station and pasta station. Or you could just choose to have waffles and cereal if you would like that. They have to soda machines tea, and coffee station.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is ok here most of the dorms have enough space and comfortable to live in. They all have their own air conditions which is a big help that way if you want your room cold you can or if you want it hot you can have it that way to. The dorms have lobbies with flat screens and couches so you can relax with your dorm mates and which tv as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are easy to keep up with you just have to stay focus and stay awake. Do all your homework assignments and if you need help just ask for it or get a tutor they want you to succeed here you just have to want it for yourself as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be focused and stay on top of your classes or you will get behind. Also make good friends that have something postitive that is going on in their life. Your friends determine the life you choose to live as well if you around negative ones you won't go far in your life but good friends will push you to do your work and go to class.

    In three sentences

    Chowan is a good university to start off with. Its small but u get close relations with your teacher that way your not just another student but a student they can actually take time out to help you. Its located in a small town but it helps you actually because it helps you save money and keeps you focused on school and sports if you want try out for one.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around. There is a security booth right outside the main freshman girls dorm. They give out their phone number to everyone.

    Greek Life

    The Kappas, Deltas, Ques, Alphas and Zetas are always strolling holding events and parties. They are always together.

    Clubs and Activities

    I believe there is always something to do. It can be going to sports events, joining the SGA, or volunteering work.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the students who are a little shy and like to stay in comfront zone. This school can bring that out of you or you can also hang around a small group.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a tradition to ring the campus bell as you first enter the school ( first year) then also as you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    I am on the basketball team, I enjoy that very much. I also attend movie and bingo nights which are very fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafertia is okay. I wish there were better choice to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I now stay in the newly built suites. I think they are very nice

    Academic Rigor

    At first in general classes, i did not feel very challenged. But as i took classes pretaining to my major it became more challenging, which is how school should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do not want to go to an enormous school. But this is where you need to be if you want to feel appreciated.

    In three sentences

    I give Chowan a 7 out of 10, I like that is not too big but not too small. I also like that everyone knows each other. I also like that there are so many different groups and/or activities to do day and night.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not that safe of a campus

    Bang for the buck

    Too much for what they offer

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun. you can play pool or hang out in your dorm. you can play in the park or just get involved in the school.

    Food and Dining

    It has its good days and its bad days. overall its not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are nasty and gross. that is mostly because of the way the students keep it.

    Academic Rigor

    Some Professor are Good but there are some who are not teaching the right class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a college where there is not much to do around the campus Chowan is for you. The area is Friendly but it is also very dangerous.

    In three sentences

    Chowan is a 5 out of 10. They have great professors and Great Faculty but the location is not the best. the campus isn't really good

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their good days and bad days, mostly bad.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus ministry is very good. There is the Gospel Explosion, the choir, and praise dance team. The band and orchestra are really good too.

    Great for these types of students

    People who use to living in a very small town without anything fun to do.

    Bang for the buck

    WAY too much money for such little quality the school has.

    What to do for fun

    You have to make your own activities because there is literally nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Same nasty food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The showers and bathrooms can get nasty but that is probably because its public.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers know what they are talking about but few waste time and are unorganized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the school before attending. Make sure you do your work and turn in everything on time. Sit in the front of the class

    In three sentences

    Very small town with limited stores. I like it at Chowan University even though it has its ups and downs. Most of the people are really friendly.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the Hawks Nest where people hang out and socialize with others. Also, there is squirrel park if you just feel like sitting outside for a change. There are many activities that the school does to get the students involved.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent and you have a variety.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't know because I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are talented when it comes to what they know so a student will do well in that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time for classes and do your work. Also, Chowan has an academic honesty policy where no plagiarism is allowed and a student has to take four semesters of Perspectives.

    In three sentences

    Chowan is a very accepting school where anyone would feel welcome. It is a caring environment where all of the faculty will help in any situation. Chowan is characterized by Christian values to help the students gain knowledge, skills, and creativity for the outside world.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The first Sunday when you arrive they have a worship service and then once a month they have one. Around the holidays they serve holiday foods and one special day they serve food from different nationalities. They even have Chowan Day in which people who are interested in the school come, and the students play a game to win free stuff their very first time coming. There is a day where they can also give a tour around the town which is a historical site to say the least.

    Bang for the buck

    We have many music concerts and events throughout the week after you have finish studying. Some events have been like the David Esleck Jazz Trio, or karate choreograph shows, or even plays that tour around the world. We have bingo night in which they give back money for laundry, food, etc. and movie nights in which they play the latest movies.

    What to do for fun

    There is a recreational building that the students called Hawks Nests in which you can play pool, ping pong, or turn in your IDs and play games. Outside of the building is a volleyball net, huge painted chess/checkers board on the sidewalk, and basketball court. There are two gyms (Helms Center and Jenkins Center). Jenkins Center has a weight room, aerobics room, and the actually gym. There are many academic clubs and they have out of class activities depending on the club. The town is also small and local and have places to eat out and coffee shops to hang out at.

    Food and Dining

    There are two lines one for cafeteria lunch (Rotisserie Chicken, Rice, Vegetable Eaters Select) or junk food (Pizza, Fries,etc.). There is a fix your own subway cart, breakfast cart, soup cart, salad cart, and pasta cart. There are varied desserts and ice cream cart.

    Dorm Life

    This is the temporary home in which many people will make it feel like home or not. Honestly that depends on you and how you interact with the other people in the dorm. There are RA's (Residential Advisers) that are willing to help if problems arise, and are there when you need them. Over them are RD's who also you can go to if the RA is in class, et cetera. Depending on which dorm, some have kitchens and some have game rooms. Your roommate should be friendly but if not you can ask the RA or RD about room change.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher wants you to come with questions and willing to learn. They don't mind helping after class and have office hours if you need to schedule a meeting with them for extra help. Study, study, and study. A teacher once told said for every credit hour you should spend two hours reading the materials and studying for that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to the campus you will learn really fast that your parents are no longer at your toes about your room, classes,etc. The biggest tip is to stay focus and don't be afraid to ask questions. Of course you don't want to seem like you don't know things, but it's better to learn to do it the right way and you just might make a new friend.

    In three sentences

    Chowan University is a small friendly school in where it's easy to get one on one with teachers and make friends (Networking). The class advisors help you shape the classes around the major you choose and they are ready to help. The teachers are very eager to teach and love when you come with questions so that they can help you in every way possible.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    chowan is a great school with great professors that take time to make sure each and every student as fair opportunity and understanding of what information is being giving.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Takes Public Safety forever to respond. My roommate and I had bed bugs, we were put into a room that previously had bed bugs and they still put us into the room. It took us getting severely bitten and swollen to be accommodated.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life barely host any events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have a class on Wednesdays call Perspectives at 11:00, at this time no other classes are offered. Perspectives is a participation grade for the entire campus where you have to attend at least 8 events. The events range from everything to Sports events to Greek life and Historical Events. Also the class isn't transferable.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not great, the sub station and pizza station are pretty good, there aren't a lot of local eateries, and there is a drive between you and common eateries.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here at Chowan is not the best; there are no doors on the closets, no privacy in the rooms, the water is always off, the showers always overflow which leave the shower room floody, and the wifi is horrible.

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't really a strictness to how well you do in your academics. There are however several honor society's and greater privileges for people who excel higher academically. The most common average here at Chowan is in the 2.0s.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your car with you. Be very open minded. Stand strong for what you believe in. Be sure to do your research on the campus and environment. Research their academics and academic catalogs. Research their transfer rates and drop outs. Research their organizations and clubs. Be sure to do your RESEARCHH!

    In three sentences

    Chowan University has an amazing writing program, they have a wonderful writing center that focuses on building and better their students as a writer. Chowan offers a limited amount of opportunities for their students, educationally and socially. Chowan is not a diverse campus.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a lot of security on campus at all.

    What to do for fun

    You have to find ways to have fun to be honest. There are college parties and the school has activities that they put in motion to keep us entertained.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay focused and beware of the people you decide to become friends with.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small and quiet campus. It is very easy to concentrate on your studies and have a pretty helpful staff. Unfortunately there are not a lot of things to do around school.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have off duty police officers patrolling the campus and they mean buisness

    Greek Life

    i only watch greek life im not interested in it but they put on some good performace

    Clubs and Activities

    im not in any clubs or activities but there are pleny on campus for people to join

    Great for these types of students

    for the religious raised kids and for kids that are on their first time away from home. its a small college in the country we never have any violence or crime every body knows everybody the dean can call you by name

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    got to football games basket ball games movie night the hawks nest hang wit your buddies

    Food and Dining

    the food is good it just like home cooked I work in the dining hall so i know first hand it not boxed frozen food we get it in fixing breakfast lunch and dinner

    Dorm Life

    after your studies are done for the day you can meen wit your new friends and shoot hoops or listen to music and joke in the dorm hall they always have activities planned for us

    Academic Rigor

    we are expected to do our best in all our classes its stressful and your always on the go from class to class to library to seminars. bring your walking shoes or bike

    Tips for prospective students

    secure as many scholorships as you can for college. Its an expensive world here.

    In three sentences

    its avery good school.i like it here. on scale of 1-10 i rate it a 10

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go for walks, watch movies and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food not the best, the cafeteria does have it's good days. There is also Murf's ,which is a burger place on campus which is not that bad. There are also local restaurants in town.

    Dorm Life

    If you want a good quiet place to study don't go to your dorm room. Most of the time the halls are loud, even during quiet hours. The bathroom are not the best quality. Depending on what kind of people live on your hall you may see bathroom stalls that make you want to throw up. Large portions of hair on the shower floors. Your dorm may even lose it's visitation privileges which is when you have a guest of the opposite sex over to visit. You may lose this due to any rage of bad behavior in anyone in your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes general education classes at Chowan are fairly easy. Again the is and attendance policy. The school is small so you can better attention then you would get at a larger school. Most of your teachers will know you by name. If you spend a good amount of time studying you should do well in most of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can not go home on weekends get creative with activities to keep yourself entertained. Attend class because there is an attendances policy. You can only skip class certain amount of time about you automatic F.

    In three sentences

    Chowan is good school. Needs some improvements such more parking space, refurbishing of most dorms. Chowan could also rise it's standards for selecting incoming students.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus 24-7 posted in residence halls as well as in the cafe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is growing and probate season is live!

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide range of clubs to join on campus and plenty of opportunity for leadership and starting your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who learn better through interaction and personal relationships with their professors. Great environment for students who like building lasting friendships.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't many things to do for fun within walking distance of the campus, so there are a lot of activities that are held on campus. I recommend having a vehicle.

    Food and Dining

    three full course meals on every week days included in your tuition expenses and 2 full course meals a day on weekends. All meals are all you can eat, buffet style!

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm life is what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year is not difficult if you meet your deadlines and do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the writing centers and tutoring centers that are available for you to use on campus for free. Also, do your best and let your professors know that you are interested in receiving a good grade in their course.

    In three sentences

    Chowan has very home-like, family, environment where students get the opportunity to know there professors personally and even their campus president. Chowan isn't a school that only cares about students growing intellectually, but they take the time to make sure that their students are well-rounded in their overall development as a person.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools, I don't think their prices are so bad

    What to do for fun

    At Chowan University, you make your own definition of fun. Whether it's chilling at the lounge, chess club, or partying with friends, the staff trusts their students to be responsible adults and it's truly what you make it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is amazing; can you say buffet? Whatever you like they have and if your a pizza fan like me welcome to heaven. The atmosphere is fun and inviting.

    Dorm Life

    Whether your roommates your best friend or simply your roommate, you'll never have to worry about too much. It's comfortable and very welcoming, you'll have no trouble turning this into your new home.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are extremely supportive. They are willing to work overtime to see you succeed as long as you are too.

    In three sentences

    Campus Life is all about what you make it. This is truly an institution that not only allows you to find yourself, but guides you along the way. This school can make a comfortable fit for anyone looking to expand their learning.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety here is awful because the public safety officers are usually in their booth sleeping and pay no attention to the students surroundings. Also, people located around the community can just walk straight on campus because it isn't fenced off or anything.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Chowan is not that great they have the same options just about everyday for lunch and dinner such as the pizza bar, salad bar, pasta bar, and rotisserie chicken.

    Dorm Life

    The girls here are pretty cool, and you often cross a few that are over the top but that is no big deal. When applying you are asked to fill out a residence form and it contains a few questions about your interest so they can pair you up according your answers. The residence assistance usually schedules events for each hall every now and then for a little fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Chowan is all what you put in and they have tutor programs that are offered that helps students if they are struggling in a subject. You are assigned an academic advisor at the beginning of the semester and they help you with class scheduling so that you are taking they necessary classes to receive your degree.

    In three sentences

    Chowan University is located in a very small town. You have to get involved in order to have the full college experience here at Chowan. The faculty and staff at Chowan want to see everyone succeed and work to their full potential.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good here. I like it personally because, I really don't have any choice but to eat it. It isn't bad at all though I enjoy it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. It's fairly easy to get along with the people you live around. Just don't do stupid stuff to get you into any trouble and you'll love it.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the teachers here. I learn something new everyday. It only my first semester and I earned a 3.2 because, my teachers gave me advice and pushed me to the point where I earned the grade I got for the semester.

    In three sentences

    I like Chowan University a lot. I've learned a lot and its only my first semester. I can't wait for the outcomes of the next semester.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a small school with not a lot of people or not much going on around campus, here you go.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little on the expensive side and the Financial Aid office is a bit unorganized.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much at all to do for fun. The students try really hard to add some fun to the campus, we have lots of movie nights and game nights, there's a small bar not too far from campus. But the surrounding town is a total drag, it's barely even a town honestly, if Chowan was placed in a better atmosphere, the entertainment would definitely get spiced up. You can get bored fairly easily, like me, I've taken up reading a lot of books.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, I'm not the type who changes up my diet, so I'm content with eating pizza all the time. That's the only issue, that the food is a bit repetitive, but I've only been here for a couple of days. Lets see how I feel at the end of May...

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't too shabby, I've seen better dorms but hey I have my own dorm since my roommate left and I'm not complaining.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly tolerable, although I sometimes feel like the professors a little unorganized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, immerse yourself in all the sporting events, and events that go on around campus. If you work at it you may find your niche or what you're looking for.

    In three sentences

    I'm fairly new the Chowan, but it's not that bad. The sports teams seem interesting, the classes or okay so far. My only issue is the social scene, considering the surrounding town is scarcely nothing at all, it's pretty easy to understand the lacking in social life. One could get bored fairly easily here, especially on Weekends. It kind feels like a high school, something I don't really like.