Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Christian Brothers University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who will work hard, that have good study habits, and who want a smaller campus will love it here. If you aren't religious, it's okay because you aren't forced to go Church but it's always available if you want to.

    Tips for prospective students

    CBU is a great school. It's small but you will get to know most of your classmates. Do well on the ACT and participate in a lot of clubs. Definitely visit the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and room & board is over $25,000 but CBU awards great financial aid packages. The higher the ACT score, the better the scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    The parties are so much fun and there are a lot of clubs on campus. Greek Life is cool here, they have a lot of activities and are always doing something on campus. On the weekends there isn't anything happening on campus unless there's a party!

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are usually small and you will be missed if you're absent for two days of school. The course work is medium difficulty but if you study hard and do your homework everyday, you will do well here.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much everyone in my opinion, but particularly anyone majoring in any liberal arts field, seeing as though this college is a liberal arts college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on your work, log in ALL contact information from your professors into your phones, emails, and calendars, and set up meetings with your adviser whenever you feel you need a little encouragement with classes or whenever you need to decide what classes are right for you. I would also suggest having meetings with your professors if you are struggling a little in class and you need a little help.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the tuition may be a little high, but for the small class sizes, great staff and faculty, and a beautiful campus to learn and study, I'll pay that much for school. CBU has a very comfortable environment and fits my learning styles and preferences perfectly.

    Am enjoying being here

    Here at CBU, there is enough going on for the residents and commuters to interact and hang out. There is usually a community Mass on campus where everyone of different faiths can come and get a little prayer if they need it. The Greek life on campus is very active, but appropriate in the way that they do not interfere with classes or studies. From what I have noticed, parties are usually during the weekends or breaks, so you are not falling into your Monday class hung over from the weekend.

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are small, meaning that if I have a question in class, my teacher will be able to answer it for me. Also, your teachers WILL know your name, unlike bigger schools with 200 students in a lecture hall. The work load is of medium difficulty, but it is nothing a little studying cannot fix.

  • 12/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Things (like food for instance) on campus can be pricey, but everything is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small, beautiful, and full of friendly people. It is very easy to find locations of classes, and helpful friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are knowledgeable and approachable.

  • 09/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    The great teachers are really what set this university apart.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY! If your are going to go to Christian Brothers University, then you'll need to study. The best places to study would be the library or the lounge on the second floor of Cooper-Wilson( the science/math building ). If you are accepted, make sure you get to know your professors and ASK THEM QUESTIONS. They are there to help you, and if you take the time to talk to them, they most often will. Have fun and do well!

    Bang for the buck

    Though CBU is on the cheaper side considering what it offers, it is still pretty pricey. Not to say that you aren't getting your bang for the buck, just that the buck is a little high.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a very fun campus. The parties are always great and the extracurriculars are varied and generally fun. I prefer video games and such, so it's a great thing that they also have student organized video game tournaments.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors and courses here are definitely challenging, but for the better. The classes are almost always interesting and will probably have you coming back for more.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great about everything. They monitor everything. They make sure everyone is safe at all times

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great here. There are a bunch of great guys and girls I know in organizations that go about greek life in the right way. It is more than partying here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to join. There could be more activities that take place on campus. Campus life is good but could be better.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering. This is a great engineering school. Also, it is great for students who want to attend a small university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock that is painted by anyone who wants to paint it at any time of the day. One tradition is people spend their time at the volleyball court and pool. That is the one spot on campus where everyone comes together.

    Bang for the buck

    One gets their money's worth at this institution. The academics are challenging. There is plenty to do on campus and in Memphis.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my fraternity brothers. I play guitar. I play baseball and other sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible at this University. I constantly have to eat off campus to receive a decent meal. There is not much effort put towards making the food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are nothing special. There is not enough space to put one's belongings. Everything always breaks down as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are extremely challenging here. One must apply oneself in order to make good grades. Also, if one does not attend class, he or she will definitely fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus in some way. Do not live in Rozier or in Stritch. Do not get a big meal plan because the food is not that good.

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers is a very good academic school. It gives students opportunities in many different aspects. However, the school is too small.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety and Campus Security work around the clock to ensure the safety of all the students on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for those who want to get away from home and experience different cultures and experiences.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is a 24 hour fitness room accessible by ID card, an indoor and outdoor basketball court, a soccer field, a track, an out door swimming pool, and events that take place throughout the academic year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides a wide array of choices, whether you're looking for something healthy or something to fill you up.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty quiet and allows for studying and down-time.

    Academic Rigor

    The work given to students is challenging enough to make us think but easy enough to accomplish.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend, be sure that you intend to stick to your studies and not to shirk your responsibilities.

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers University is a student friendly campus that has excellent security. The professors care about what the students have to say and want to help them strive to be their best.Along with the many programs on campus, it's also within walking distance of some attractions in Memphis.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CBU is a gated private college with campus police who frequently check around campus.

    What to do for fun

    CBU frequently has activities for students to participate in. Greek life holds many events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    They have nice dorms and many activities that allow for bonding between those to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    CBU is demanding but only because they believe their students can achieve more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and take notes.

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers University has a remarkable staff. They really care about their students. It is a small campus, but Christian Brothers University has a lot to offer.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many great things to do in Memphis and great people to do it with. I enjoyed visiting the Pink Palace Museum, the IMAX theater, the zoo among many other things.

    Dorm Life

    I was only fortunate to live on campus for a year but I loved it!!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and require you to actually use reason and imagination. The professors are always a phone call or office visit away if you need help with any assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register!! Register!! Register!! You can are missing out if you are not a Buc!!

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school with great opportunities up for the taking. This schools atmosphere is amazing. I love the teachers, classes, students, to be honest I love everything about CBU!!

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramurals, greek life, sand volleyball, swimming, and hanging out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to talk to your professors. Get involved in campus activities.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus where everyone knows eachother. The staff is friendly and willing to work with you to help you succeed. They have many connections for prospective places to work after you graduate.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is actually pretty good. Sometimes, they can be annoying (especially if you have that moment where you and significant other are trying to have an intimate moment in the car and they show up), but overall, they give you security, and that really gives you peace of mind.

    Greek Life

    This is one of the rather cool things about this campus. Even though there are national known urban Greeks, and Greeks with mostly caucasian members, race does not stop you from joining. Equality really is a trait that this school holds dear, so you will be apart of something.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost EVERYTHING! Plus, the school is really vital on unity and equality, so if there is a club or activity that you want to get into, just ask!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that are really for a change. Christian Brothers doesn't really stick to the status quo, and that makes it a gem. If you want a chance to find yourself, you will really do that at CBU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One really interesting thing that happens on campus is The Rock. It's this gigantic boulder that the students get up really late at night and spray paint for events, fundraisers, or awareness. It's really cool, and it gathers people together because they really enjoy it; I know I did!

    Bang for the buck

    Now, I can say that the one thing that complicates going to this school is the tuition, but there are plenty of on campus jobs, work study, and scholarships they give, so you WILL make it.

    What to do for fun

    Every single day on campus, there is always something to do. From parties, to carnivals, to fundraisers, there is always something to grasp your attention, and get you a part of the community, so get into it!

    Food and Dining

    Four words; YOU WILL GAIN WEIGHT! That is just how great the food is at this school. The freshman 15 is actually the freshman 50 at this school. So, you will want to take advantage, but DON'T! Lol

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms for my first two years of college was the best experience of college for me. If you want that full college life-style, you will surely want to stay on campus because the dorms are really nice, the campus is inviting, and you will gain so many friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor actually isn't as hard as most would like to believe. This school works with you, and that makes the word easier to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip for prospective students is GET TO KNOW YOUR PROFESSORS! This will surely help because when you build and actual relationship with them, they are more flexible with you, and they can help you with a lot of your classes and any problems you may have.

    In three sentences

    Overall, CBU is a very diverse place with so many experiences that will help you become the person that you wish to be. There are so many opportunities to take part in, and groups to be apart of that will definitely help you with your degree! This is one college that once you take a step on the campus, you will know it's for you!

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We were voted one of the safest campuses in the country. The active police and hired security who work on campus are dedicated to their jobs. They are always available and willing to walk with you across the campus at night. They are one of the best parts about Christian Brothers University.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a big part of on campus activities. However you do not have to be a member to attend most of their parties and other activities. The fraternities and sororities are all excellent if you are looking for that college experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to choose from like Black Student Association, Gay Straight Alliance, Student Activities Committee and many more. If you don't like any of the clubs then you and 20 students are all it takes to start a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small school with lots of tradition and an urban setting. Both students with great or mediocre grades could do well. This is a great place for students who want to participate in the Honors Program, CBU has the most active program in the area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a huge boulder in the middle of campus that students spray-paint when important events coming up like parties or sports games. It is the best place to look for info on what is going on on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Christian Brothers is a more expensive than most colleges but generally they give great scholarships and the education is of high quality.

    What to do for fun

    Christian Brothers University is located in Midtown Memphis so there is plenty food and entertainment especially since Downtown is a short drive or bike ride away. The campus is also near the Memphis Zoo one of the best in the country. The Pink Palace and Graceland are also close as well as several different parks. Cooper Young a growing youth community has several funky urban restaurants and stores as well as a yearly festival with food and local artists is with walking distance. There is almost always something to do on campus as well and often clubs, fraternities and sororities through off-campus parties.

    Food and Dining

    This is my lowest rating.The cafeteria meal plan is required when you live on campus and though it is all you can eat the food is only a little bit better than high school cafeteria food. They do have a full service salad bar that is generally good and they do have good lunches occasionally but it often hit-or-miss

    Dorm Life

    The buildings are old but there are multiple options to choose from that will fit your budget or personality. The maintenance and cleaning staff are great. And there are lots activities to do if you are involved with the organizations on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of your college experience will depend heavily on your major, but all of the courses require willingness to study and work hard. Classes are small so group projects are often a part of most classes. Professors are enthusiastic about their area of study and therefore enjoy in depth study and discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    You cannot stay anonymous on this campus; all your professors will know you and call you out. If you don't want small classes with teachers that work one-on-one then you need a bigger school. However, if you like being able to get to know everyone on campus and want the extra attention from your professor than CBU would be a great place for you. The food isn't perfect and right now we don't have a fitness center but in the spring of 2013 the Kroc Center (an all-purpose sport facility with a pool, water-slide, and indoor and outdoor sports fields among other things) will be opening across the street. Students will have memberships to while they attend CBU.

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers is a small school that heavily focuses on student and professor relationships. It is great school for commuters and has decent on-campus living. The Engineering and Business departments are some of the best anywhere.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    We have diversity, we have people from every where and for me that's very good. Is good because you can know different cultures and thoughts.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be better, but at least we have food every day. I don't agree very much with the meal plan that everyone who lives on campus have to have one but is cbu rules.

    Dorm Life

    Is not bad, i really like living on campus just because you can meet more people and they have events.

    Academic Rigor

    In the academic part i like it just because the professors are very good in what they do. They are always available if you need them or have problems.

    In three sentences

    Is a very small campus. Everyone knows you because is a small campus. Is more like a family and your professors are there for you when you need them.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have not been there

    Food and Dining

    have not been there yet

    In three sentences

    they seem to be very nice people

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang with friends and participate in on campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is prepared by a host of great cooks.

    Dorm Life

    There are several dorms that are all co-ed. It gives you the perfect college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are put into classes with less than 35 students. Professors know you by name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students must put forth the effort if they want to succeed. You must put at least 3 hours a day into studying, but also have fun.

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers University is a great school to attend. It is a small environment that gives students the opportunity to further their education and so much. It has a wonderful faculty here that cares for the students.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great people protecting the future leaders.

    Greek Life

    I hear it is great. I have many greek friends, even though I am not a member of any fraternity. People at CBU are all great, in their own way. Each person brings something to the table

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of almost all the clubs but am in process of creating a club for soft skills also I am the president of the creative writing club

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who has an open mind

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    painting the rock

    Bang for the buck

    well worth it

    What to do for fun

    a little of everything

    Food and Dining

    delicious, many options

    Dorm Life

    it is what you make of it

    Tips for prospective students

    never give up hope try your best be proud of yourself be yourself

    In three sentences

    A great school, full of great peers, tutors, and rising stars. It is my home away from home. This place has lead me to find myself

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very prompt. Kinda strict but always looking out for the safety of all students and guests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who will work hard have good study habits and who want a smaller campus will love it here. If you aren't religious, it's okay because you aren't forced to go Church but it's always available if you want to.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of sporting events. Greek life is always holding events for all students. A lot of clubs and organizations to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. Generally there are a lot of different options to choose from. Personally, I think lunch is the best time to eat at the cafe on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Campus housing is okay. Nothing to write home about. Prices went up this year but for a student who doesnt live close enough to commute, campus housing is exceptional.

    Academic Rigor

    C.B.U has set high standards for each student that chooses to enroll. Slacking off is not an option. Be ready to face many challenges and work hard to go above and beyond what is expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on the ACT and get involved on campus. Definitely visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    A great school for students looking to succeed. Teachers and staff always there to help. Small, close knit campus.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really strict, but they do get the job done. We have actual police officers on campus 24/7.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life on campus is definitely amazing! Everyone gets along really well. They support each others events. The Greeks are continuously increasing on campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for each major at the school. There are also community service clubs as well. There is a club for students that do not live on campus and are commuting. Whatever type of club you can think of CBU probably has it. If they do not have the club that you want, you can always get permission to start your own club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main computer lab is one of the best study spots! The BUC is the area where most of the students lounge and relax with friends other than the cafeteria!

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus events that take place. The school also has intramural sports that can be played. The parties are very fun, safe, and violence-free!

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually very delicious! There are a variety of options. There is a diner, a cafeteria, and a cafe on campus!

    Dorm Life

    The newer dorms are amazing! They look more like hotels. The older dorms are not so great, but they are good enough to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers strive their best to make sure that their students pass. They give plenty of opportunity to come to their offices and get help with any problems that you may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you all check out all of the clubs. You do not have to go into school knowing your concentration. Take different courses of things you may be interested in. Definitely come and view the campus!

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers is very hands-on. They are always about their business. They want the best for their students.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They always patrol the campus, it was never a time I felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    If you're into the Panhellenic Council, it's two sororities and three fraternities. If you're into the NPHC, you shouldn't attend here. The divine nine isn't here. Basically Greek life here is a joke.

    What to do for fun

    It was this really fun thing they started this year, the September of Services. It's basically the whole month of September and you volunteer all over the city of Memphis, and it's amazing. I swear you'll love it!

    Food and Dining

    It's only three places to eat on campus. You'll probably spend all you buck money in the Buc or the Canale, seeing that the Dining Hall offers no variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't all that great, unless you live in the apartments or the LLC. Dorm life is honestly expensive for the condition there are in. I wouldn't suggest living on campus, it's really overpriced for no reason.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is sometimes rigorous, but it'll pay off. You'll have to be good at time management in order to maintain good grades and a good standing at the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage you get involved on campus. The more you're involved the better off you'll be. You get out of college, whatever you put in.

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers is actually a great school, for those who plan on coming here to get an substantial education. The teachers are really friendly and understanding. As well, as the students. They make you feel at home.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe has security.

    Bang for the buck

    The academic counsels are great.

    What to do for fun

    Sports.

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been there yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    I will give it a 9 a nine because its a good school. However is very pricey. I love how its small and makes you feel welcomed.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While the campus is safe altogether, the location is AWFUL, and there have been many shootings right outside of it.

    Greek Life

    The greek life at CBU is mean. The girls here are more interested in makeup and self-importance than helping the community. It is typically the same popular girls from high school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear they have decent clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you live near Memphis, and you don't want to go far away this is the school for you. If you want a small, local atmosphere that is a little bit dangerous and not up to parr with other schools, this is also for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They do have occasional bonfires and fun little things to do. There isn't a lot to do on campus. Except for maybe the rock that you can paint 24 hours after its painted.

    Bang for the buck

    As I said before, CBU is not a good school. On top of the fact that its COMPLETELY pricey unless your ACT score is high enough to get into a better college such as Rhodes or Sewanee.

    What to do for fun

    It's NOT fun. I highly suggest not going to this college. They have service work opportunities and things like that, but its in a bad part of town and going anywhere off the campus is crazy dangerous.

    Food and Dining

    The breakfast I had at CBU was decent. Their chicken biscuits are good. But I wouldn't say its a five star dining.

    Dorm Life

    The majority of the dorms look trashy. Unless you stay in the most expensive one, you won't be satisfied.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard the classes are really good. At CBU preview day, I got to sit through a class on forensics of fraud. If you're looking at going into the FBI, that's a great class to go through. The teacher seemed so informative and helpful. However, when compared to more rigorous colleges elsewhere and even locally, it is disappointing.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to be an active part of the community, but I don't consider CBU as a very selective college. Almost anyone could get in.

    In three sentences

    This is a second-hand school for teens and adults who live in the Memphis area and don't want to go far from home. I would highly advise against attending Christian Brothers until you visit campus because it completely changed my opinion on the college; besides, my friend dropped out a week after attending there because he hated it. If you are looking for a college that has more to offer, Christian Brothers is not where it's at.

  • 09/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt any less than completely safe on campus. The security guards you check for decals at the enterances are very nice and I feel completely comfortable walking around campus after dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is ALWAYS something going on on campus. There are every kind og club and orginzation on campus and if you cannot find one you want you can make it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a connection with their teachers and peers. CBU is a close knit community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus there is The Rock which is a boulder that anyone can spray paint to advertise their clubs or any news. I love that it is not regulated; anyone can decide to paint on it as long as it is appropriate.

    Bang for the buck

    Christian Brothers is more than willing to award scholarships. Not only that, you recieve an amazing education here worth every penny, not only in the education you recieve but also in the connections and experiences.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here. There are always a lot of options and if you cannot think or decide what you want the staff is willing to give you suggestions on what you can combine to make a delicious meal.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the LLC which I love. Having visited the other dorms I can say that they all are very nice and well kept. The staff in charge of room assignments try very hard to make sure that roommates and suitemates are compatable and they do a good job.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are taught so that you learn. If you are having trouble in any of your classes, the teachers are very willing to help out any way they can. The Professors who teach here teach because they want to, and this shows in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, but if you get the oppertunity to come visit the campus take it. Once I got onto campus I knew that this was the school I wanted to attend.

    In three sentences

    I love Christian Brothers. Out of all 13 colleges that I applied to and was accepted to Christian Brothers outshone all the rest by far. Everyone here is incredibly welcoming and nice, and being a long way from home it is nice to know that if I ever need the help it is here for me. The classes also have the academic standards that I wanted but the Professors are always willing to help.

  • 09/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! CBU is gated with security guards in each entrance at all times so the campus is really safe. They are happy, nice people that are more than happy to walk you to your dorm/car late at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot to do! CBU has a large range of clubs and organizations that you can join from departmental/academic to Greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at first can be seen as kind of pricey but they are very generous with scholarships. The university is based on the Lasallian tradition that education should be available for everyone and not just the wealthy so don't let the price tag scare you from applying.

    What to do for fun

    CBU is located in midtown Memphis and really close to Downtown. There are plenty of museums, theatres, and other attractions nearby. It is also near Central BBQ, the best BBQ place ever, and Beale Street!

    Food and Dining

    There's a variety of food choices on campus. The Alfonso Dining Hall is a buffet style cafeteria. It always has some homestyle cooked meals, pizza bar, salad bar, pasta bar, and dessert bar. The Buccaneer has plenty of fast food choices, apart from salads, wraps, and sandwiches. The Canale Cafe has wraps, salads, and awesome smoothies!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very clean and spacious. Every dorm has a common room with lots of storage space. There's also plenty of activities and events that are perfect for residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not hard but professors want to make sure you're prepared for a career and/or grad school. If you are finding a class hard, they are more than willing to help you improve!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your Admissions counselor often. They are here to help you in any way that they can. Most, if not all, are Alumni so they know what is like.

    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers University is a great place to come to school. Everyone is so helpful and nice from the students to the faculty and staff. The School of Science facilities are amazing.

  • 09/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Christian Brothers University is a great option if you prefer a small campus. This makes the classroom setting more interactive, which makes for better student-professor relationships and better grades. I consider Christian Brothers University to be my second home.