Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cincinnati State Technical and Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready and motivated when you are a student, the professors here make sure that you stay on top of your game and you are learning...

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students can benefit at Cincinnati State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and talk to the faculty. You will find just what you are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the least expensive way to get an exceptional education. I'm so very glad that I found Cincinnati State.

    Am enjoying being here

    Love the school and the faculty. Campus is easy and my schedule works great with my job

    Am learning a lot

    I am attending the Midwest Culinary Institute at Cincinnati State and love the program. I am learning more than I ever hoped to.

  • 09/16/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    My grandmother attended there for sign language classes because she founded out that i was hearing impaired. I went to the classes with her and i said the school couldn't be better than any other small community collage in Cincinnati!

  • 01/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Know your major before coming to the school, meet with your academic advisors a MUST otherwise you'll take plenty of pointless classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a pretty inexpensive school, again I dont know about the other fields because my major is education, but I dont believe I am getting the education I am paying for.

    Am enjoying being here

    Other than it at times feeling like high school because of the individuals who attend this is a pretty unique place.

    Am learning a lot

    At Cincinnati State the biggest problem for me is my previous education. I am easily bored when learning the same things I learned in high school and throughout life. I come from a family of educators and I have learned about education my entire life, coming here taking classes to be an educator I feel like my life is on repeat, however this is not a bad school for people interested in education. The process is just beginning to end I'm talking infants to whatever grade your interested in. It can be well worth it if your truly interested and need to learn about the education field.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its extremely safe.

    Great for these types of students

    hardworking students who want to capture their dreams.

    Bang for the buck

    very very cheap and it's a good education for the money.

    What to do for fun

    there's a gym and a pool and a game room. there's a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    there's the summit reastruant and it's amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    it's challenging but at the sometime it's not impossible to make good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    get used to people of different cultures it's a very diverse school and you can be a little overwhelmed at first but, once you get to make friends it's so much better.

    In three sentences

    the professors are outstanding. they really care about their students and make their selfs avalible for extra help. the college is an amazing place to be.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great as they have on campus police officers. the parking garages are safe as only those students that have paid for parking privileges are allowed access.

    Greek Life

    as this is a 2 year community college, unfortunately there is no greek life. however, they do have a national honor society for those students that are academically eligible.

    Clubs and Activities

    the school has a wide variety of clubs and activities. for more information on those, i would suggest you check out their website.

    Great for these types of students

    cincinnati state has something to offer all students. they have an honors program for the academically gifted students. they also have programs and classes for students that did not graduate high school and those that were not as academically gifted.

    Bang for the buck

    the reason that most students choose cincinnati state to complete their first two years is because of the affordable tuition. also, as stated earlier, the campus is much smaller than a traditional 4 year college/university making it much more easier to navigate. also, because of the small class sizes, you're able to personal attention in the classroom and you're able to build a rapport with your instructor. also, most (if not all) of your degree program class credits will transfer to any 4 year college/university.

    What to do for fun

    the school offers a lot of student activites - such as social gatherings, sporting events, networking opportunities, etc. also, the city of cincinnati has two ncaa teams, an nfl team, an mlb team, and a hockey team (not nhl). also there are a lot of museums, art galleries, stage plays/musicals, clubs/bars, and other entertainment options.

    Food and Dining

    the college has two restaurants. one is very formal dining and the other one is more of cafeteria style set up. the food is great and affordable; however, there are no meal plans available.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life at cincinnati state. all housing is off-campus; however, there are a lot of affordable apartments within walking distance to the campus. also, the school is on the busline and right off the major expressway.

    Academic Rigor

    all of the classes are structured in a way to challenge you and help you learn. for the difficult times that you may face during your academic pursuit, there is always help available. the college offers onsite tutoring and the instructors are always available and willing to help you grasp the information as they want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    the classes are small in size, often less than 30 students (similar to the size of your high school classes). the campus is very easy to navigate with adequate parking very close. their co-op program is wonderful as it gives you the opportunity to gain valuable work experience in your selected field while you complete your degree requirements.

    In three sentences

    my experience at cincinnati state tech. & comm. college was great. the advisors, instructors, and staff are helpful and want to see you succeed. you have the ability to build a strong networking group.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cincinnati State is great for all !! Very enjoyable atmosphere and campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I have really learned my monies worth. I have really surprised myself for being out of school for so long. I think that the tuition is a fair rate.

    What to do for fun

    I am a single mother trying to go back to school. I dont have time after classes to discover all the activities going on. Cincinnati State always has something planned and happening.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class!!! I have not missed a class and I am amazed by the amount of students who just dont show up. The instructors give very vital information in their lectures that is not in the books.

    In three sentences

    I began taking classes in February of this year. My experience so far has been great. I enjoy the atmosphere of the campus, the instructors and the class size. I feel more 1 on 1 with the instructors because of the class sizes. I have really enjoyed myself this term and I am looking forward to the following terms.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Cincinnati State Technical and Community College is a nice start to your collegian journey/career. Most credits transfer and enjoy great teacher-to-student relationships due to small classroom sizes. Get everything that you possibly can out of your experience at Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, it's worth it.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are all kinds of food place scatter all around campus and they are actually good.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorm are offer here.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very competitive school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with your advisor and become aware of all the tool that are out there for you.

    In three sentences

    Cincinnati State is an excellent college that provides a lot of good resources to their students. They really want you to succeed and they do anything they can to help.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never witnesed a negative situation on campus. There is also a campus police force.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for non traditonal students because is has extremely flexible class schedules. It is also great for people who are looking for a new career path.

    Bang for the buck

    One would be hard pressed to find a better bang for the buck than Cincinnati State.

    What to do for fun

    Cincinnat State is always hosting events. We have functions assosiated with the Reds, many student activities, and fairs.

    Food and Dining

    Cincinnati State offers degrees in culinary arts and pastry arts. The quality of the food is incredible at the food service locations such as Bakery Hill. The Summit, is an incredible dining experience. It rivals any resturant in the Cincinnati area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Cincinnat State.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is like any other with the rational that you get out of it , what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise any prospective student to explore all of the available degrees Cincinnati State has to offer. Listen to your advisor, and complete your core classes first. Also, take advantage of the opportunities Cincinnati State offers outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Cincinnati State is an excellent opportunity for anyone who is trying to begin their professional life, expand on their career, or even start a new career. Classes are challenging and flexible. Graduates from Cincinnati State have a reputation in the work force as ready to work.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet new people. The school often has fun things planned weekly.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great, especially when you're in need for coffee.

    Academic Rigor

    Fast paced, but in an excellent learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared, and always think ahead. Always make time for homework, and keep your eye on your diploma. Make new friends, and when you can hold study groups.

    In three sentences

    Cincinnati State offers an effective and mature classroom atmosphere that promotes a higher education. Eager teachers and advisors are always willing to help anyone with problems or questions. Located conveniently north of the city making it easy to attend their flexible class hours.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great place for older adults returning to school.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I highly recommend the Audio/Video career for anyone who loves music, film, and art. I love it

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very inexpensive for the quality and access to professional equipment.

    What to do for fun

    I think that the projects and things to do with my major are fun, being in the studio and learning the ropes of being a great audio engineer is what I consider fun. Plus I continue doing it when I'm not at school in my home studio.

    Food and Dining

    I have never really eaten anything at the school because I live so close, I've only gotten things out of the vending machines. They do have a really nice cafeteria area, plus with the amazing culinary program they have there has to be a lot of good food.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived in an apartment in Cincinnati since I started but I have loved it.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Cincinnati State push you to bring out the best in your abilities. I think some people are put off by the fact that the school is a community college, but they do a good job of shutting down that assumption.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead, meet your deadlines and stay ahead of the pack, especially in a program like the audio video program, where in the end its about showing your talent and not how much you can memorize.

    In three sentences

    I am extremely impressed with the program. Its hard to find and Audio video program at a college this good and that is this hands on. I feel like I'm learning more than I ever have in my life.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for these types of students who full time employ, or have kids.

    Bang for the buck

    It cost way lest than a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    Fun does not exist when your a student, but their are a lot restaurants and parks around.

    Food and Dining

    i hear that they have a great staff kitchen that is provided by the culinary program.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus, because it is to costly.

    Academic Rigor

    I this point, I am not sure. I have not started yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please try to meet all the school deadlines on time and go to class.

    In three sentences

    Cincinnati State has a beautiful hilly campus. The staff seem to care about the student more than a bigger university would. I like this school because it is affordable.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for young student parents and people looking to go back to school and get or finish their degree.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Basically the same as with any other technical and community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stop looking here. Check out all your options for schools and programs.

    In three sentences

    A good school for getting your general education out of the way for a lower price. Also good for specialized short degree programs at a lower price.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    perfect blend of fun and study

    Tips for prospective students

    go for it

    In three sentences

    well as far as i know the college i am attending is one of the best college in the region for IT education, most of the faculty are well educated and want to hear your concerns that nice

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't leave valuables in cars and just be street smart with you surroundings

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    bid variety

    Bang for the buck

    pretty affordable tuition, books are pricey too but there's a discount book store across the street that has decent deals.

    What to do for fun

    the is an entertainment room with a pool table and lounge area to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Best bakery and cafeteria around town because the culinary students make everything and its fresh.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the program/major you're taking but Culinary Arts at Cincinnati state is really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get a parking pass and don't worry about joining a gym because there a bunch of set of stairs that will be a great work out for the day.

    In three sentences

    I started to attend at Cincinnati state in 2007 and the school appeared as a you get what you pay for type of environment except the culinary school section was the only nice part. Going back to campus in 2012 they improved the main building. They also improved with the newer parking spaces.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I need more camera in walkside and parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    i love there activities

    Great for these types of students

    everyone can study in here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No where.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than other school.

    What to do for fun

    they have some activities that make you feel relax and be welcomed in there.

    Food and Dining

    They need to bring more food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not has chance to see the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They strict enough for you to be volunteered

    Tips for prospective students

    Be confident in yourself and just know that only you can help your future

    In three sentences

    With me, this school is my chance to change my life. This is my first stand for my future. In here i can learn not only knowledge but also how to be a responsible person

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Greek Life

    got to have a gpa minimum of a 4.0

    Clubs and Activities

    Basketball, band, clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i REMEMBER 101.1 THE WIZ WAS UP HERE TO PROMOTE VOTING.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities such as sports and ice cream socials.

    Food and Dining

    FOOD ARE GREAT.

    Dorm Life

    THERE ARE NO DORMS.

    Academic Rigor

    GOOD

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would suggest you to stay focus and work hard. There are many places here that can help you such as the tutoring services. Also keep turning in your work on time and get a laptop.

    In three sentences

    I love it at Cincinnati state and its very affordable. This is a great two year school to start at then transfer. The classes are a good minimum size for me.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work

    Food and Dining

    online classes

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academics are pretty challenging: I learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan ahead by getting registered for class before classes start and get all your books as well.

    In three sentences

    I have only been at Cincinnati State since August of 2012 and so far I feel that I am getting a good education. I just finished the fall semester and I believe I am in a good place for higher learning.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non- traditional, working parents, people who prefer a smaller scale school.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall I think this is a great school, especialy for non-traditional students like me. Going back to school after so long was very scary & I needed some help learning how it all works and I've had no trouble finding people to help me at Cincy State.

    What to do for fun

    I've never been, but there is a gym & game room available. There is also usually some sort of extra activity going on.

    Food and Dining

    My food & dining experiences have been limited since I take night classes. I usually eat before I come to class, but I have stopped at bakery hill for a WAY too sweet coffee once.

    Academic Rigor

    Aside from the ECE classes- the adademic aspect has been great. I've learned a lot and had really good teachers/professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch with financial aid right away- they will help you understand what is going on a lot! Meet with your advisor- as long as it's not ECE, they will be a HUGE help to you. Don't let your fear stop you- it's scary at the beginning, but it is only temporary- it's awesome after you get going!

    In three sentences

    Great school for non-traditional students. Terrible ECE program all around, from advisors, to faculty, to quality of students (not all, but most). Lots of resources & help available to help you succeed.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is only one sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    Very little sports but there are lots of clubs

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay

    Dorm Life

    Cincinnati State does not have any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are pretty good

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe.

    What to do for fun

    Older person - not looking for fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    No comment.

    Dorm Life

    No comment.

    Academic Rigor

    My daughter has been attending Cincinnati State and she finds the courses and instructors require her full attention to excel and pass with a good gpa.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look through the programs, apply, fill out the FAFSA and take that first giant step forward.

    In three sentences

    Conveniently located. Diverse certificate and degree-granting programs. Good value for the money spent.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get more bang for your buck. The average cost is about 150.00 per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on the college campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a very nice dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have campus housing, but there are several apartments located near the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Cincinnati State helps the student to be independent and learn on there own. They teachers are there to help guide the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to go to the college for a tour and take part in the Information session.

    In three sentences

    Cincinnati State is a great community college to attend. There credits can be transfer to any four year college and they have many relationships with colleges. They even have a program that allows you to stay at Cincinnati State and finish your bachelors degree.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some car break ins.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wasn't involved in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Those undecided, struggling with money, or like smaller colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Great pricing.

    What to do for fun

    Raquetball, basketball, gym, sports games.

    Food and Dining

    Really good food all around.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many basic classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saves you a lot of money compared to other colleges in Ohio.

    In three sentences

    I liked it because it was smaller and the class sizes were smaller too. I felt like I could get the attention I needed. Many of the teachers however seemed to not care much about students.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is affordable.

    Food and Dining

    They have a culinary school on campus, and we benefit from their creations.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live there.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but you are able to get help from the teachers.

    In three sentences

    A very affordable school with teachers willing to take the extra time with the students. Easy campus to find and get around.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with the people I know and just go to the gym and workout.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there yet.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't know yet because I haven't been in that setting yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you have an idea if not already know what you want to do because it will make things a lot better and from that information you'll have an idea of what college you should go to.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is very nice and I felt very comfortable there. It of course is a whole new experience, but the people seem friendly. The people I've met and talked to were also very nice.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very good food very fresh

    Academic Rigor

    Very good classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time Study hard Dont fall behind

    In three sentences

    It's very small and the teachers work with you. They want you to succeed. Its Very fun.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police station is across the street and the campus police is right in the front doors of the main building. very easy to access.

    What to do for fun

    They have a game room that has basically any kind of game you can imagine, and you can go down to the gym and get a personal trainer. there is a swimming pool and many different clubs and things to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is absolutely amazing. They have a walk up counter where they can put burgers and chicken on the grill for you! there is pizza and fountain drinks, and the also serve breakfast in the mornings!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms to live on campus but there are apartments that you can get into right across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is by no means impossible but they don't make it easy, it's college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to each class and be ready to spend a lot of time outside of class working on assignments.

    In three sentences

    Cincinnati State is a decent college with many oppurtunities for different clubs and groups. There are many different types of classes, and there are people here that anyone can make friends with. All in all i enjoy attending Cincinnati State.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On duty officers

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Phi Theta Kappa Christian Club ect...

    Great for these types of students

    Great for older students and hands on students

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable price for a good college education

    What to do for fun

    I utilize the exercise room and pool. I also am apart of a few school clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food cooked by culinary students.

    Academic Rigor

    Reasonable work load and a reasonable learning pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, seek scholarships, utilize campus resources.

    In three sentences

    I very much like Cincinnati State Technical and Community College. The professors are very reasonable and understanding, the college possesses an excellent staff. The college is very willing to work with students who have disabilities, jobs, and/or children.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe Cincinnati State offers is amazing, they have everything and there are always vending machines right across the corner.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus in an apt, i personally don't like it for personal reasons.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes they have too offer, there is such a variety.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look at colleges expenses. Just because you receive financial aid doesn't mean it will cover your full tuition.

    In three sentences

    I honestly love Cincinnati State, I just graduated from high school and I would've been so overwhelmed if I started off at a university. The professors are a great help and they're always available for extra help if needed.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have fun with my kids and husband. We eat out every Friday and watch movies.We go to the park when the weather let us. My life is fun because of my kids.

    Food and Dining

    At home and i make everything that my family ask. I'm Puerto Rican so we miss the food from Puerto Rico and that the most food that we eat.

    Dorm Life

    I have my own place so its comfortable for me by my way.

    Academic Rigor

    Well honestly i just learn that. I was young and ignorant so i didn't value the college and what offers me for my future. Now that i have people depend of me, I now what is worth it and what sacrifice we have to make to give the best to your little ones and for your self.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hold On on your goals and dreams. Never let anyone tell you that you can not finish or make something. Be very jealous about your decision and keep going no matter what.

    In three sentences

    Exceptional service and care if the Students. I'm from Puerto Rico and the don't care where you from, they just want to make sure that you are comfortable and fulfill your goals.