Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Citrus College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money, want to get back to educating themselves, students who want a small-town experience with big-city dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great teachers who take time to make sure you understand the materials. Many resources available to help you succeed, so take advantage of them. If you are eligible for a BOGG fee waiver, your classes are paid for by the government

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is 24 hrs. They will walk you to your car if necessary.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs.

    What to do for fun

    Near the school is the movie theater, mall, and couple dancing places. Also, there is Downtown Covina which is nice for a nice walk. Citrus College is many many places.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many restaurants. Any type of food is nearby. Fast food to healthy eating is simply around the corner from the school.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. Students at Citrus College have to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors are awesome. The way they teach is in a way I understand. They are really helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely. Buy necessary books online. Get to school early for parking.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is a great college. There are many great students and teachers. The campus is really big and beautiful.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Citrus is great for all types of students, for what they offer says it all. They offer free tutoring to help in the areas that need a little more support for more understanding. When having to ask questions there are no judging remarks. No questions are viewed as too dumb or not being smart enough. Filling out the admission paper work to go to school says to you that you want more in life, and to the faculty members to get ready for a future someone. Every class I take I often wonder who am I Sitting next to. I feel students should take every opportunity to learn who everyone is and be optimistic about life.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can say for prospective students is come with an attitude for higher learning. Not only will it help you that to stay grounded and focused, but it will give your teachers the motivation to teach you at their best as well. What I have learned while going to college is teachers need motivation just like we do. They want to know that we need them to teach us the knowledge that they have. When having a readiness to learn I realize that my teachers teach more better and are happier with the outcome of their students. For the people that make the decision for higher education I feel its the best thing they can do for themselves, because it says that they want and have a desire for more.

    Bang for the buck

    As all schools costs is a factor in obtaining your education. With the recent rise in the school funds it has made earning money or retaining money that much more hard. I was a little disheartened by the raise, but I refused to let that effect me in continuing to go to school or complain. I did not choose to go to school to earn financial aid, I went to school for my education. No I don't always get the funds I need but I'm okay. All my needs for school are met, for I feel as long as I can sit in a classroom and receive a great education then I am great. My education is free to me even if I have to pay the knowledge I receive can never really have a price, for it will stay with me forever.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy every moment at Citrus, for they have campus clubs that allow the students and faculty members to come together as one. One of the clubs I'm involved in is Foster 2 Famous; A resource club for students who were in foster care. The club has helped me to maintain in school as a former foster youth with support and lots of motivation. Also by being involved in the clubs I have been able to obtain a better image of the faculty members and gain support when needed. Growing up I never imagined I would be in college from all the moving that happened while being in foster care. To be social was not something I would consider for me as a child. With the help of the clubs I am continuously learning how to be more social and happy with my friends and teachers.

    Am learning a lot

    As an English Liberal Arts study major I take a lot of interest in finding ways to become better at my goals. At Citrus I'm not only receiving a great education, I'm being challenged and brought to my greatest potential. I will always rate Citrus at a high number, for their dedicated work to help and teach students. I didn't always have the best education growing up; when I got to Citrus I didn't feel very smart being along side the other students. They allowed me to keep a slow pace for my understanding and did not judge me. to me that was the best Citrus could ever offer me as i continue to grow with my goals at becoming a better learner.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During school I like feeling safety and secure. I am a peaceful person and like others to be the same around me. I like others feeling safe around me and I am expecting to feel safe and secure around others.

    Bang for the buck

    My heart is not in Bang for the Buck I am really humble and don't expect to have much. Money is good to cover necessities, but just that my heart is not on it. When I have I give others that need.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do there at the college ,but I think that I won't have much time for it because am a very busy person. Fun for me is going to church and praising the lord. Many people may disagree with me, but trust me there's no better fun than this.

    Food and Dining

    I love food and dining, but during college I will try to eat less than I usually eat. I am not going to waste on food much I will just wait until I get home to eat. I am sure food there at college will be expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sounds fun, but when you have to pay monthly rent and food I sound difficult without a job. Citrus College does not have dorms. This means that I will be at home and school, not in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have an Academic Rigor such as exercising. I don't really like exercising because It's not my thing nor hobby. I prefer reading and writing, exercising is a challenge for me because I am not used to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students will be first of all always be yourself, never try to be someone your not. Never giving up from trying, so that you can obtain the victory. Never let the fear put you down, but keep up with your goals.

    In three sentences

    I am planning to attend Citrus College this fall. I am registered already and hopefully I get the classes I need as my major. I chose Citrus College because I heard it was a very good school with many good professor's that take their time in explaining the materials.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college so the tuition is way lower then a university, but it feels like a university, just because of how many students go there!

    Am enjoying being here

    the campus is awesome and its right next to Azusa Pacific so their are student walking around everywhere. I would definitely recommend Citrus

    Am learning a lot

    Great teachers so far, every teacher ive had knew how to connect with the students and make you learn with ease

  • 08/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're unsure what field you want to go into or want to cut the overall cost of a degree, take general ed classes while exploring areas that may interest you. Also, if you just want to learn, Citrus has a lot of continuing education opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going for a degree, keep your goal in sight; don't get stuck at Citrus for life. The student population is as diverse as the local general population - anyone would feel at home at Citrus.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable! I'd recommend community colleges to almost anyone.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    People aren't very friendly and nothing is very straightforward. There are lots of things that you are supposed to be doing that you won't even hear about until after the deadlines.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always willing to help students

    Great for these types of students

    on a budget

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    right at the foot of a mountain

    Bang for the buck

    cheap, and incredibly knowledgable professors

    What to do for fun

    share conversations with other students around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't give up on getting classes at citrus college, it is worth it!

    In three sentences

    citrus college has professors that are incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and determined to give their students a quality education. my experience there has been exceptional. i love the campus, the staff, the educators, and the students.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing, they are always there to help and are on seen in case of an emergency within minutes. very on top of all campus actions.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very fun and active on campus. we have very big diversity of clubs and even more diverse members. The clubs know how to have fun and they love them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Citrus is a proud college and has build its self around helping students better themselves. We take pride in giving everybody a chance at an education such as disabled students, veterans, students that dropped out of high school, and students that were not ready to attended a 4 year university.

    What to do for fun

    For fun in between classes most students come to the campus center where they can watch TV, play games, relax, and study. almost every week clubs host events outside in the middle of classes that all students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, its all home made and fresh that day. There is also a book store with prepackaged food if you do not have time to sit down and enjoy lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Citrus is a commuter college so there is no housing. Although they do have a housing box in the campus center where students can look for housing and rooms they can rent from near by cities.

    Academic Rigor

    Citrus builds you up, if you are not ready to handdle the upper division classes you take the remedial classes that prepare you for the next step. Classes are meant to be challenging and once you hit the upper the division classes you feel like you are attending a 4 year college, that way you will not feel over whelmed when you transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay strong and be proactive when it comes to adding classes. be polite and you will gain so much more from the staffing then if your impatient and rude. Always have a plan B and C in case plan A falls through.

    In three sentences

    Citrus has been a great experience for me. The staffing is great, the faculty is helpful, and the atmosphere is nice. I am glad I attended Citrus before going to a 4 year college, it helped me grow in so many ways that I would have never received at a 4 year.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out the performances from the theater department - I've only heard good things!

    Food and Dining

    There should be more than one cafeteria - maybe there's another one but in one year I have yet to find it. It's very limited in terms of food!

    Academic Rigor

    I had As and Bs in all my classes and barely ever opened a book last semester. For two of my classes, I didn't even buy the books. I found the classes I took to be very easy in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you find out who the best teachers are. Some of the tenured instructors don't really seem to care anymore, which can be a drag if you're really there to learn, so you want to make sure that you get the best teachers. Also, make sure to get there way earlier on the first day if you want to find parking and be on time for your class!

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is not too bad for a community college. Small campus, which makes it hard to find parking, but easy to get from one class to another. There is a lack of support for International Students however.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been some incidents

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many

    Bang for the buck

    Fill our your FAFSA...

    What to do for fun

    Homework

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually pretty good in the cafateria.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are much harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit a career counsellor and transfer center early to avoid taking unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    Some of the teachers are awesome, such as Arnold Kondo... he is amazing. Many necessary classes are impacted.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria food is great and the people that work there are as well.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, I feel that Citrus challenges their students. In any class you will feel yourself being pushed and challenged at some point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regularly meet with your admissions counselor. Also, if you are not able to get a class try adding and follow up continuously because a lot of people end up dropping. Some teachers will add you if you email them and convince them that you are serious about studying.

    In three sentences

    Cirtus College is a college with a great atmosphere for student. There is a lot of great tutoring and other help opportunities for those that need it and Citrus has a great admissions team and other professionals to help you get through college smoothly. The teachers truly care about their students and their outcome in the class.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is ALWAYS around. Either walking or on their cars, but i really feel protected with them looking out for us.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs, not much experience but I've heard that there are quite a lot.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any types of students, anyone who just wants to be someone great in the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Azuza Pacific (a private university) is next door neighbors to Citrus College. The school is in a very centric location. There is a Ross, Payless, (( cents store, O'Rileys, Fresh and Easy etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Citrus college, will be in fact one of the schools that will have an impact in my life, With all the support from teachers and counselors, i feel really confident in the rest of the years i have to be there. I feel like home although my house is about 30 minutes away from my house

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends, walk around, and go into he cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, and there are many restaurants around also. They have healthy foods, if you're hungry just stop by and you will find something!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this school for anyone who wants to transfer or get their associates degree in anything. Everyone is really helpful and don;t be afraid to speak up.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is one of the best schools I've had contact with. Although it's my first year here, I find alumni, counselors, teachers and other students really helpful. I am grateful that I chose this school, with all the support and tips.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They take theire job seriously.

    Great for these types of students

    Beginners of the college life.

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Community Colleges are great to start and learn how college life is, though difficult as well.

    In three sentences

    The best opportunity I've ever had at getting a handle in life and aspiring a greater and brighter future.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Citrus College, I like to hang out in the Campus Center and talk to friends after coming out of a class or play Foosball. There is also TVs in the Campus Center that provides entertainment with comfortable couches to relax on. Also, the events at Citrus are a fun experience such as Spring-fest and Citrus week.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Citrus is always great when I have breaks during my classes. I can always go to the cafeteria and snack on some chips or purchase food. Also, some of the benefits of being a student at Citrus College are the perks, with my identification I'm able to get a free drink every semester, it always comes in hand when I do not carry change.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a dorm at Citrus because it does not have any dorms. But the community there is great. The community is always looking clean and nice. Freshly cut green grass and the view of mountains is just a nice site to enjoy while studying.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficult with Citrus College is getting classes. I am not a priority student so when my registration day comes around, all classes are full. In which it worries me very much, but when I talk to a counselor they advice me to email the professor which helps very much.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those prospective students, be sure to always see a counselor every semester. They are there for you, they help you so much, they go through every step with you until you are satisfied with the school or goals you wish to reach.

    In three sentences

    It is a pleasure for me to attend an outstanding college like Citrus. I am very pleased with the professors and other sources that I can reach if I i ever need help. Overall my experience at Citrus College definitely helps me move closer towards my goals in life.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Of all the wonderful activities that go on and the wonderful professors that teach the classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities that go on throughout the year like Spring fest, stress busters, and also getting involved in lots of fun clubs and being involved in student government.

    Food and Dining

    There are a wide array of food options on campus at the book store, at the art and coffee bar, and the owl cafe, but at the cafe expect to pay at most $6-7 for a meal. The better deals would be at the bookstore or the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it is a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are hard, but it also depends on what teacher you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to register as soon as possible so that you can get all the classes that you need.

    In three sentences

    It is a very friendly environment. There are lots of ways to get involved on campus. Lots of tutoring services available and offers a wide array of classes and you could put yourself on a wait list if a class is currently full instead of just walking into a class on the first day to try and get in.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security around, even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Type of students that are not sure what they want to do yet.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot cheaper than a four year.

    What to do for fun

    most people are close to home still, so they do what they usually do for fun: movies, the beach, go out to eat, things like that.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dinning.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor really depends on what classes you are taking. If you are taking core classes that demand a lot of work than yes, classes can get hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I could give a prospective student is to stay positive and try and add as many classes as possible if they are not receiving priority.

    In three sentences

    I think Citrus is a great school. It offers a lot of classes and is a great first step into the college life. Its best feature is that the classes are small so people do not get lost in the crowd during lectures.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    This is a great school if you are good at any sport or just really smart

    What to do for fun

    They have sports and great curricular activities and a study building if you just want quiet.

    Food and Dining

    they have great food around the campus but haven't really tried there food. They do have a Starbucks inside the school

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    dont ever be afraid to talk to any one everyone is friendly.

    In three sentences

    Citrus is a small campus easy to find classes and to make new friends. The staff is always there to help and never to busy for you. I find it easy to get around and find classes.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Citrus College has a great safety department. One can see sheriffs on campus in a daily basis. Some students work for the safety department by patrolling the parking lot to ensure that cars are up to date with the parking stickers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Citrus College has many clubs students can join. Some clubs require a fee to join. Clubs such as Alpha Gamma Sigma help students do community service to make their resumes much more appealing when they transfer to a university. Other clubs are for people to simply meet and make friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Citrus College has a large amount of international students, so if interested in making friends from overseas, students should attend Citrus.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges in general are getting pretty pricy every year. There are, however, many financial aids available through the state of California. Fastweb is another way to make money. This website offers many scholarships to students.

    What to do for fun

    Citrus College offers plays to the public, which are performed by student actors. The theatre is very active and is available year round. For those who love football or baseball, the college has a football and baseball team. They compete with other colleges when on season. There is a small fee for watching the game.

    Food and Dining

    Citrus College has a relatively small cafeteria. The food is healthy. They recently added a Starbucks coffee shop on the other end of the school.

    Dorm Life

    Citrus College is a community college, therefore dormitories are not provided for students. There are, however, a lot of out of state or international students who are always looking for room mates in their apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Citrus College is dedicated to making students successful in their future academic lives, therefore there classes can be intense, specially math.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who will go to college must be ready to work hard for their grades. College is not high school, and the key to succeed in college is to study hard. Be wise when choosing classes, for instance, math should not be taken with another science class. If you have a hard time managing time, take less classes. Do not clutter yourselves with classes, the result will be having to re take the class. It is ok to take a couple of classes per semester, as long as you do not repeat anything.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College provides great access to counselors. The professors at Citrus College are very willing to help their students. Citrus College, overall, is focused on helping students in any way possible.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Citrus notifies students of any criminal activity that occurs within the campus' surrounding area via email. they take security very seriously.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, classes are drastically cheaper than their counterparts at 4 year institutions.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs, campus activities, and being in the SoCal area surrounded by Hollywood, Disneyland, the beaches, and Six Flag's Magic Mountain (as well as the discounts being a student here offers to enjoy some of these places) make college both fun and enriching.

    Food and Dining

    With two student snack bars, a cafeteria, and nearby restaurants (panda express, taco bell, chipotle, jamba juice, mcdonalds, etc.) surrounding the college within walking distance, you never need to worry about a growling stomach in the middle of class.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming available.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the amount of units you take and what type of classes, you can gauge your difficulty level. The hardest classes would probably your mathematics and sciences if you are not geared in that direction. However, learning should always be an enjoyable experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of financial aid; one of my books costs $214 and I wasn't able to receive any federal aid other than for my tuition. Learn about the school's Honors Program; it allows you to get priority registration and you get amazing opportunities for networking. Lastly, student government has always been a must for me and it has allowed me to get into contact with people who have supported me throughout my academic career.

    In three sentences

    If you know how to navigate the community college system, schools like Citrus College can be an amazing, if not preferable, alternative to the 4 year university track. I've only been here for one summer and I've encountered so many inspiring faculty members as well as many well-rounded students. The reputation that many people around me that community colleges are overcrowded pools of under-achievers is completely wrong; they, like all higher education institutions, are centers for learning that deserve the prestige allotted to any other college or university.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on campus and parking lots. Makes you feel safe when you have late classes.

    Greek Life

    no Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join. Just visit and find the right one. Students are friendly and if you belong to a club you might even be eligible for more scholarships,

    Great for these types of students

    Every student whose is looking for an inexpensive education, Students who are still deciding on a major.

    Bang for the buck

    at $46 dollars a unit I have no complaints. The classes are inexpensive and you get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    On campus you can buy ticket for the latest play.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay on campus. however there is a lot of places to eat outside campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are amazing and definitely now how to teach, but there are some who bring personal life into the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the two free hours per week tutoring. Make a general ed plan as soon as possible. Check in with counselors every semester.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College has amazing staff. The counseling office and the cash office have been very courteous in the past. I love that they apologize if you have been waiting a long time and they are always so friendly.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Numerous clubs are scattered all around campus. Also, there are socials help by various organizations that one can go to.

    Food and Dining

    Not much selection to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a challenge, but compared to a higher level university, it should be a piece of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    First and foremost, sign up for the Honor Programs mainly because it gives students priority over classes. The benefits to the program are limitless due to the enhanced nature of the classes.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful staff and teachers. Make sure to take advantage of the opportunities given to you, i.e. the honors program, Phi Theta Kappa, ASCC, guidance counselors. Work hard and you will succeed.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel comfortable walking around campus even when I had to take a night class; everything is well lit and accessible.

    Bang for the buck

    Great classes great professors worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many school groups to get involved. Don't forget the swim team, they are the best.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is central and accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are stimulating and well taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the counseling center and use the resources available.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school with great professors. The curriculum is designed to teach students what they need in a timely manner. The advisers are prepared for any questions you may have.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is not bad. Just ok.

    What to do for fun

    They don't have too many things to do for fun. But there are some movie theaters and other fun spots around school. I'm sure you'd love it. :)

    Food and Dining

    Expensive and very few food options. Not a good one.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing available for students on campus since it is a community college but it does offer housing (with reasonable price for every necessary things for household)close to school for out of state students and international students.

    Academic Rigor

    Very awesome I guess. Most of the classes are small even the general requirements classes. Since it's not too crowded, you can get the full attention from your professor and communicate with other classmates during class. Plus, most of the classes require you to do group works or with partners so it is so useful. Professors are very well prepared and really concerned about each students. They also knows almost every student in their class by name. Overall, really awesome in academic. Plus, there are many tutoring and other supplementary workshops for the classes in different subjects. Even if you don't quite understand the lecture, you still can go and ask the professor in his office hour or still can join those workshops and tutoring for free at any time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the most out of everything. Be engaged and get involved in every activities that the school offers. Get to know the professors personally, attend major related meetings and conferences offered on campus every once in a while. Since Citrus is not too crowded like other community colleges, you can get a lot from it by being active.

    In three sentences

    Citrus is such a great community college. It is cheap, not too crowded and offer many good opportunities academically and for future careers options. If you are truly engaged , you 'll get the most out of it.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    online and continuing

    What to do for fun

    sing and write

    Food and Dining

    there are healthy options

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you apply for classes early and take advantage of all programs.

    In three sentences

    The school is quit focused on students furthering their education. I really enjoy all the resources offered at the school. Having all of the programs online can sometimes be a little inconvienient.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a dedicated team of security guards to watch over campus. They patrol the parking lots as well as campus and make sure that all of the students are safe. I have never had a problem with anything of mine getting stolen on their watch.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there are no sororities or fraternities on campus but there are a few honor societies if you're looking to go greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you have an interest there is a club for you. We have clubs about anime, art in general, foreign language, psychology, carpentry, and so much more. If you're interested in something and we don't already have a club for it you're welcome to start a club for your activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Citrus has a mentality of come as you are there is no type of student this environment wouldn't be good for. Citrus is a melting pot where the students have shrugged off all of the high school stereotypes and just mingle together as one great big student body. There is no one that would feel out of place here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around halloween the latino club dresses a bunch of students up as zombies and lets them loose on the campus. Always a frightful good time trying to walk to class amongst hoards of the un-dead there are also a lot of other holiday related fun.

    Bang for the buck

    A solid education that won't break the bank. Tuition is the same for junior colleges everywhere but with citrus you get a smaller, for university style experience. For the same price as those jam-packed student mills they call the other community colleges in our area, my money's on citrus.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I suggest join one of the many clubs on campus. There is literally something for everyone. They have clubs ranging from drawing to paranormal exploration. We have such a diverse student body that there are so many options when it comes to clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The stuffed owl cafe serves up a mean sandwich and the fries are to die for. There are also a lot of options in the surrounding area such as Chipotle, Round Table Pizza, Von's supermarket and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave the academic rigor 3 out of 5 stars because it is a bit of hit and miss. You need to do some research on your professors to make sure they are the good ones that care and want to challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Citrus, like the other junior colleges in our area, is highly impacted. If you want to get in try taking any class you get. Math and science classes will help boost your priority for registration so try and knock those out of the way quickly. Get in touch with a counselor right away, they can help you set up a two-year path to get out quick.

    In three sentences

    Of the colleges in our area, citrus is the smallest and most personal junior college. Citrus offers that feeling of an intermediary between college and high school. Citrus offers just enough classes so that you can get a feel of the major you have in mind without drowning in prerequisite courses.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is generally safe with security always patrolling the many parking lots. The major crimes reported happened just off campus late at night when no one should be out walking anyway (midnight).

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for a wide variety of students like those who are not sure what they want to do or those trying to save money before going to a four year university. It has many classes for those who find school difficult and classes to challenge others.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the price keeps going up it is still a lot less than a four year university. So it is a great way to finish general education and even classes for majors.

    What to do for fun

    The are many sports that you can join or be a part of theater or music. There is a student lounge in the campus center and many places outdoors to study or just hang out. As for the region there is hiking, or going out to see a movie or a few bars around.

    Food and Dining

    The is a small cafeteria/ cafe area to buy food and eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. There are a lot of good places off campus that are well priced for lunch or dinner.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very easy, the one or two unit classes. While some can be very difficult, three or five units. Like wise some teachers are very easy while others make you jump through hoops. Look up rate my professor to learn about the professors you will have.

    Tips for prospective students

    When starting see a counselor to create a two year plan or to get a list of the general education requirements. Know what you need to take in order to get out quickly. And know what major you want or degree you want to achieve. Parking is hard to find, especially the first couple of weeks.

    In three sentences

    Citrus college is a great college for student who are unsure about starting their college experience. The campus is not too big or small, and the school is very Eco friendly. Things to look out for is parking and staying for longer than two or three years. Other than that most of the faculty is very friendly and does their best to teach well.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Go Chess Club!

    Great for these types of students

    Shy and personal students.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library! Or go play Magic with some of the kids in the Campus Center!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is a fantastic college. I am incredibly happy that I choose to attend there. It is a great starter college.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I say the classes are pretty standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to deadlines. Before you know it you missed out on something important that could have helped you.

    In three sentences

    Over all this college is treating me well. I've only been here one semester, but I have gotten a lot of help by doing my part in asking. Don't be afraid to ask around. There are lots of things around the campus that can help you a tone!

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the Starbucks on campus and many of the restaurants nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The Citrus Cafe has great food and a wide variety as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Citrus College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too difficult, but they do make you work to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study and do your homework, and don't be afraid to ask the professors for help because they are always more than happy to do so.

    In three sentences

    My time at Citrus College has be a very pleasant experience. I have enjoyed the staff and the overall campus environment. The professors are always willing to help and there are many convenient amenities.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and sports to join, and there are plent of students to get to know.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright, the college itself doesn't supply much but there are plenty of restaurants around.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors classes are like any other college's course and are treated as such. Even the higher level classes are great and the professors really strive to make sure every student understands the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register right on your registration time and enroll in the honors program to get priority registration.

    In three sentences

    Citrus college has turned out to be great for me. I can get all my classes, and the professors are great. The classes are small so things feel personalized, and they really prepare one to transfer.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far, in my experience, there have not been any major incidents on campus. However, last year a friend of mine was harrassed when a drunk guy tried to get in her car, but the campus safety was there in a few minutes and were able to control the situation. The campus safety phone number is encouraged to be registered in your cell by nearly all the teachers. Campus safety does regular patrols during the day and night. I've had classes run until 10 pm, and the campus safety is always walking around or driving around. You can ask them to walk you to and from your class if you want and they will gladly help you. Even if you dont, sometimes they will come up and ask you if everything is ok if you are walking alone at night. The campus itself is pretty much lit, except for parts of the parking lot where a light may burn out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the student government and a few other odd clubs available, but you have to look for them and ask people in the clubs for more information. Many of them look for recruits during club week which usually happens during the first couple weeks of school starting.

    Great for these types of students

    Citrus is great for students who don't mind being on a small campus and who will be comfortable with commuting to the school everyday. Since the campus is small, you are more likely to see the same classmates either in another class or around campus througout the year. At this campus, it is ok if you are majorly outgoing, or even if you are super shy. The other students and campus people make you feel welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    If you attend Citrus for general education classes before transferring to another college (4 year), you will definately be saving A LOT of money. The general classes are identical to the ones at larger universities, except way cheaper! and Citrus provides small class settings so you can focus more and have a better relationship with the teachers.

    What to do for fun

    The campus sometimes has a few different events for students to participate in. For example, the performing arts department puts on shows and sometimes there are movie screenings. In the city, there are different places for college students to hang out at, including a movie theater a few blocks from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    On the actual campus, there are many drink vendors. In the snack bar, there are also snacks, coffee, and other drinks. There's also a small cafe/lunch prep area where you can get a hot lunch during certain times. Around the community there are a variety of places to eat (Starbucks, tacos, pho, etc).

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the Citrus College campus. You need to commute from where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty much the same as any other college. The only difference is that since the classes are smaller in size, the teachers at Citrus tend to be more friendly and understanding. They will help you when you need it, you just need to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll for classes early because they fill up fast and then you will be waitlisted and sometimes you won't get the classes you want. If you are elgible, apply for EOP&S. Also if elgible, accept the BOGG financial aid. It helps to pay for your classes and tuition.

    In three sentences

    A small but nice campus. Everyone is very kind and helpful. If you need help finding a class or need to do a campus survey, most people are willing to undrestand and take time away from their lives to help you out.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is usually campus safety roaming the parking lots and the campus so I do feel safe at school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not involved in too many clubs or activities because I have to work, attend class, and am a full time mom. But I do know that there is a large variety of clubs to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are interested in the sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there are really any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are willing to explore the campus to fully utilize its resources, then you really will get the bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of school clubs and there is a trail close by that a lot of people like to go up for a challenging workout. Because of the diverse group of people, it is also good company and people have a lot of ideas on what to do to pass the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good for what it is worth. Citrus is surrounded by a lot of restaurants, fast food places, and stores that are within walking distance, so that is a definite advantage.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, the rigor depends on the classes. I can only speak for my own classes, but especially in the sciences, the professors have required and expected a lot. Not so much as in a course load, for example a lot of homework, but as far as being responsible and getting involved in the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and find out what Citrus has to offer. There are lots of great resources like free tutoring in different departments, clubs for all kinds of leisure activities, and a lot of different people you can network with.

    In three sentences

    Depending on your major and the classes you choose, Citrus College is a great school. The professors I have encountered have all cared deeply about the students and the subjects they teach. There are a lot of resources that are available if you look for them.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up, never tell your self you can't. Education is not promoted in every country, so take full advantage of the opportunities bestowed upon you as a student.

    In three sentences

    They really aim to keep class sizes small, which I respect. But, it's so disheartening to see the negative effects of impaction. Citrus has been good to me though, and will always have a place in my heart.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on the lok out. They send emails to students when something has occured on campus or in the community to keep them aware. Also, security is available to walk you to your car for those taking late night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every semester there is a Club Rush on campus that informs students of the different clubs on campus. Clubs get together in the campus center and encourage others to join. Theres music, food, games, and many interesting people to interact with.

    Bang for the buck

    It costs $48 per unit so you are svaing more than half the amount for classes than you would pay at a university.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on campus owl cafe that serves breakfast and lunch as well as a starbucks. Local food joints are walking distance from campus which is a plus side so one does not have to give up their parking spot.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of academic rigor depends on what your majoring in. In general, the professors are felxible and are available to answer questions and help with your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free on campus tutoring! There are many clubs and resources to help you make your stay here at Citrus College fun and worthwhile.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give Citrus College a 7. Compared to other community colleges, it is less impacted so classes are fairly easy to obtain. The campus is small but in a great outdoor environment with many helpful resources offered to students. Parking is not so great...have to get there extra early to get a good spot.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around, they're always on top of the latest issues. Always get warnings if anything happens and they work hard to keep the students and faculty safe.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know, there's Sigma something-something. And some of the members can get a job as a group tutor. Really cool people as far as I've met! Check it out!

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't had much experience with Clubs and Activities but there are some vendors that come and sell cool things in the quad, blood drives, health care trucks come by to educate you, clubs are fun and you meet cool people and cool instructors.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love theater, art, dance, and the sciences have great opportunities at Citrus College. Great instructors in the Fine arts who have had respectable real world experiences and still work in great venues. There is so much talent at Citrus! In the science department, there are TONS of opportunities and people ready to help you succeed in your career. Take advantage of these resources!

    Bang for the buck

    If you get a BOG waiver, this is a great school for little out of pocket. Try for scholarships, FAFSA financial aid, EOPS, and other financial offers. There's also a 99 cent store near by so stock up... The cosmotology center is another way to save some money. Cheap hair cuts, facials, makeup applications done by students but just because they're students doesn't mean they aren't good. They take their time and don't rush.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! Some clubs are just fun for watching movies and making friends! Be involved in your college and activities to make friends and it will open opportunities for you as far as jobs, internships, or recommendation letters. There are lots of places to eat around campus and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    They make good burgers and chicken strips at the cafeteria. A decent amount of vending machines around campus for snacks and drinks. We have a starbucks on campus as well! In the student store there is more food and drinks. My only complaint is how expensive it is! The cafeteria isn't as expensive with good sandwiches, soups, and actual dinners but they close early.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available for Citrus Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of these classes offered at Citrus are tough. They require lots of studying and reading and dedication. It's well worth it and teachers are always willing to discuss topics and help you out. But this goes with any school and any class. You need to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for you are to go see a counselor every year. Make sure you're on track for your intended transfer school and career to avoid taking classes you don't need. Secondly, take classes from different fields of study that complete your GE and interest you! Be a well rounded student and well rounded individual because ALL subjects in ALL fields of study interrelate to one another.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school with great people to make friends with. Many opportunities to help you succeed are offered and most instructors will help driven students go further. Some counselors are very helpful but some rush you through the meeting without hearing you out... so don't get the older lady with blonde hair (Anderson I think).

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around the parking lots and campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lost of clubs. The best activities have to do with sporting events. Go to the games get to know the athletes.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for self motivated students that have goals and are welling to work hard for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is wifi in the math build, by the athletic building, and in the library.

    Bang for the buck

    Talk to the financial aid ladies, then talk to them again. And get any sort of financial aid you can!

    What to do for fun

    Its in a great location. Go hiking, to the gym, or go to a football game. Or eat at all the new fast food places that just opened up around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The breakfast burritos are bomb!

    Dorm Life

    Its a commuter school. However, I know that there are some football players that house together and really like it.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some great professors and there are some professors that shouldn't be teaching at all. For the most part the professors care about there students and are welling to help as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in something that is going to give you priority registration like sports or the honors program.

    In three sentences

    A great community college. There are many opportunities to get classes and excel at citrus, however, it all comes down to you making it happen. This is college and you have to work for your goals.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are so many places to dine around Citrus and they are inexpensive. Great for students who spend an entire day in school.

    Dorm Life

    I did not choose the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    So many opportunities are available at Citrus but you must stay focused and take advantage of what they tell you because it is valuable information!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is to be as friendly and open minded as you can. Many of the people you meet in college will help you succeed and feel more accomplished mentally and emotionally!

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is such a diverse and clean place! Citrus is the right place to start connections and meet new people. Gives me the opportunity to also get ahead while enjoying relationships with other students, from 1 through 10 I would definitely rate Citrus with a 9(:

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always watching over the parkings lots and main streets

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are Independent and need somewhere to start. Classes are offered at different times of the day to give people who work options some classes are offered weekends . Great for students looking to transfer

    Food and Dining

    Nothing too fancy but college is right off a main street so alot of cheap sit down restraunts and fast food places

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are awesome. Because the classrooms aren't as big as the UC's and Cal states it gives you a more one on one atmosphere with your profesors

    In three sentences

    For being a Junior college they are well organized. Very detail orientated when it comes to staff and teacher helping you get things done. Great opportunities and certification programs. The transfer department has been very helpful too

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus s=Safety is awesome. If you need something they will help you. They are always present on campus and take the safety of the student, faculty and staff very seriously.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said before Citrus has lots of activities that are both fun and educational. There are many clubs on campus that are both social and academic. If you are looking fr it they probably have it, and if they don't the Office of Student Life and Leadership will help you make it.

    What to do for fun

    The student government is always throwing fun events in the quad. So stop on by in between and either climb a rock wall, play a game of inflatable twister, fly on the gyroscope or dance to the funky music being played by the DJ.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafeteria is soooooooo good. Philomena who is the manager of the Cafeteria always has hot food to eat. She usually has two different dishes prepared daily. So make sure you stop in and have a good ole home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms :)

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will challenge you because they truly want to see you succeed and want you to be prepared to transfer to a four year institution or be prepared for your job career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors after class and ask for help they will most definitely help you. Learn about all the programs and services that they have available for you like the Writing Center, Tutoring, the STEM Center and USE them. Go to the events on campus. Last but not least have a meal in the cafeteria Philomena always has delicious hot meals in their daily.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College was an AMAZING College to go to. I had a great experience. The faculty and staff always went out of their way to help me succeed.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Again, none to speak of. There's no dorms at Citrus, and no fraternities or sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Citrus isn't terribly impacted, but it's still ideal for a student to work during the day and take classes at night. Day classes are difficult to get.

    Bang for the buck

    The value of a community college education is immense and undeniable. You receive an equivalent education to all of your friends at state schools, but only pay a fifth of what they do.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is attached to Azusa Pacific University, so for all intents and purposes, Citrus students are APU students. Glendora is a fairly central location in the Inland Valley, with places like Disneyland, Downtown LA, and the beach all relatively close.

    Food and Dining

    Remarkably high quality food that costs very little to students.

    Dorm Life

    None to speak of.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are geared towards helping their students succeed - even if it means sacrificing coursework or curbing exam difficulty to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be fooled by the stigma of community college - your professors are brilliant and very qualified. Speak with them. Ask them good questions. You'll want their letters of recommendation when you transfer.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is about what you should expect from a Community College experience. Competent professors and a diverse array of students from various ethnic backgrounds and upbringings are your peers in this academic environment that is geared less towards arbitrary rigor and more towards concrete success.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always present!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, but what I love the most about this school is that it is near the mountains.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Cafe and you can find snacks in the bookstore.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to be truly dedicated and study a lot! You especially need to study more for science and math classes they could be extremely stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend low income students to apply to the EOP & S program they are very helpful! Also try to get into the honors program , the honors professors are great! Both of these programs give you priority registration and you actually transfer in 2 years.

    In three sentences

    I have attended different community colleges and this one was the best choice I've made. There are a lot of great professors and most of the staff is nice.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Citrus College is located right next to a shopping center. There are stores, restaurants, and a movie theater. There is also a drive in theater close by. Raging Waters is also only a few minutes away. Citrus is located about 30 minutes from L.A. So there are plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food at Citrus is good. They have a menu you can order off of. As well as a meal of the day. They also have a salad and sandwich bar.

    Dorm Life

    Citrus conveniently located. On a good day I can get to school in 5 minutes. There are apartments for rent near by or you can live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    We all have our academic strengths and weaknesses, and after taking so many different classes at Citrus I can honestly say they are all passable. I have taken a wide variety of classes from art to chemistry. I have passed all my classes with good grades; I was not an A student in high school. I've enjoyed everyone of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that all students visit the Student Services building. There are many great programs offered at the Student Services building that will help students academically, financially, and even with personal issues.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is located in a very lively area. The staff is wonderful. They offer a wide variety of classes.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome

    Clubs and Activities

    Stem

    Great for these types of students

    older and younger it is really nice

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    What to do for fun

    Only go to school.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, but I wish there was more for evening students

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and pay you fees on time or you can loose your classes.

    In three sentences

    Citrus college has a very nice campus. It is easy to find places. The information boith is very helpful.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is patrolled very thoroughly

    Greek Life

    there is no greek system

    Clubs and Activities

    Anime Club, Pokemon Club, Football, Basketball, Volleyball, Theatre

    Great for these types of students

    Students Interested in the Arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    as far as i know there arent any traditions

    Bang for the buck

    from what i have seen citrus is slightly cheaper than some community colleges but not by much

    What to do for fun

    take some art related classes or hang around with friends, Citrus is located in the city so there are many restaurants and other things to do such as the movie theatre

    Food and Dining

    The college is surrounded by many businesses however there is limited dining options on campus

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes depending on what you take can be easy however som can be very hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any College Find Out ways to pay for your tuition and Always meet the dealines for class registration as it can be hard to get classes.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is an excellent College to attend for those seeking a General education or and education in the arts. There is a diverse range of classes courses to take for students wishing to do so. The staff at Citrus is also for the most part very informative and helpful.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school tries to be very good about campus safety. They send out emails/phone call alerts for anything suspicious that happens on or near the campus. They also make sure all students have the campus security phone number in their cell phones, in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a Club Rush every semester, where they have a variety of different clubs for different types of people. There is an LGBT club, an Anime Club, cheerleading, and a few others.

    Great for these types of students

    For students looking for a smaller campus in the area, this is a small one. It is not tiny, but it isn't as big as surrounding schools. It is also very good for students pursuing STEM majors because they have a very good STEM program.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a community college, so it is less expensive than a four-year university, obviously. However, the book store does not seem to be as inexpensive, but textbooks are textbooks. They are always expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many performances put on by the drama and music department. The area is also surrounded with gyms and parks. It is a good area to be a college student in.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty all right. The cafe on campus makes good food. There is also a Starbucks on campus and several vending machines. The amount of food around this area is a little much, but you can find anything you want within walking distance. If you have a gap in your class schedule, it's nice to be able to walk less than a half of a mile to some good, inexpensive food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Citrus College. However, there are many surrounding apartment complexes that look really nice and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    It honestly depends on what you are studying, what teachers you get, what they teach, and how often you are on campus. If you are going full time, you will probably notice that you are working a lot, studying a lot, etc. If you are only going for a class or two, it is a much different experience. The general education courses are usually less involved than the major-focused science classes, but many professors are very good. When the teachers care about their subject, they care about teaching it to their students a lot more. I have had better experiences with the higher-level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip that comes to mind is not education-related. It is parking-related. You need to show up very early, maybe even an hour early, to get parking here. Also, get everything you need done for admission, financial aid, etc. done before the semester begins. Once the semester begins, lines in the student services building are too long.

    In three sentences

    Citrus College is a smaller community college, making it slightly easier to get classes, but not that easy because everything is impacted anyway. Many of the on campus resources are beneficial, while others seem to waste your time rather than help you. There are a handful of professors who will truly dedicate their lives to teaching you the subjects they are passionate about, which is great.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety I would rate a 2.5 because of the amount of people being held at knife point while sitting in their cars in the school parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Citrus offers some weekly activities, such as a veterans celebrations, and this school does offer some clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to finish their associate's degree to transfer to a 4 year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The outside art center is very lovely to sit and eat lunch while enjoying the artwork displayed on the walls all around center, and being nestled between large, oak trees.

    Bang for the buck

    There are interesting, highly qualified professors who teach at Citrus and it is worth the amount you pay per unit.

    What to do for fun

    There are many art classes that are for college credit such as painting or ceramics. I enjoyed taking a ceramics class while attending Citrus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria called the Owl Cafe on campus where students can sit either outside or inside.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Citrus college in Glendora is relatively easy depending on what course a student is taking. There is a math success center which aides students in any math class, which is very helpful. Overall, the difficulty of the course solely depends on the instructor and the determination of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent your textbooks online for courses, it is much cheaper than buying them at the campus bookstore. In the Fall, give yourself at least 30 minutes to look for parking because the Fall semester seems to be the hardest time to find parking. Also, make regular appointments with a counselor to get on the right track to transfer to a four year university.

    In three sentences

    Good size campus, but unorganized in the tutoring department. Too many people soliciting on campus by selling phone cases or trying to get students to sign petitions not related to school. However, it offers many advantages for disabled people such as elevators to building with second floors, and handicap buttons used to open doors to almost all building.