Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City Colleges of Chicago-Harold Washington College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who desire excellent teachers that push you to the limits of your achievement. It is a fun place to be and there is very good learnng environment here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and utilize all of the resources available to you. All of this will pay off in the end.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that is willing to make the best of the two year college. Especially those in financial crisis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discourage by the title of City College. The college has many great professors that teach at four universities, therefore the work load is the same. Your saving a lot of money for the same credit that many students are getting into debt.

    Bang for the buck

    Financially it is very affortable during this time of crisis in our country. The best part is that most of the classes offer at Harold are trasferable to a four year university.

    Am enjoying being here

    The urban area of the school's location brings people from many backgrounds and nationalities into one classroom for the purpose of continuing an education. It is something that I enjoyed the most during my second semester at Harold. The experience of many of my classmates during a lecture in philosophy class made the class come life.

    Am learning a lot

    Harold maybe a city college but the professors are passionate about their teaching and interaction with thier students.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    You can easily succeed at HWC. Many students put in the minimum amount of effort and do just fine. If you wish to be challenged, you will probably have to let your instructors know so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring any problems to the administration as soon as possible. Teachers should be held accountable for slacking off just as much as students should be.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington is great for students who are willing to show up and do the work. Speak up to be sure you get what you're looking for, and you will make the experience what it is meant to be.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any student who does not have the financial status to attend a four year university and anyone who wants to continue their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to pay attention in class. its not good to get distracted or start missing class. Keep in mind that you paid for the classes and it will be a waste if you don't attend. Its good to study and do well in tests because in the end you will be happy with the results.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is pretty affordable. There is no problem with paying for school and a good thing about the classes is that you are able to transfer them to a lot of schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    The social environment is great. There are mature students as well as adults and there is no problem concentrating on work during the school day.

    Am learning a lot

    I like coming to school because i really am learning a lot of things that i didn't get from high school. I like how the teachers are and how serious everyone is about getting their education and succeeding.

  • 10/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get your gen eds done and then transfer. Because I think you'll get the same or even better education than another university but cheaper. Also, I recommend having someone there to be a friend. Someone you can go to, if you are having problems. College life is hard; you shouldn't have to do it all alone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind!! it's like digging a hole, the more you dig, the harder it will be for you to cover it. Always think positive, and don't miss class.... EVER! because you miss SOOO much. trust me, i learned my lesson.

    Bang for the buck

    After all it is a community college so its pretty cheap!

    Am enjoying being here

    Because of how the college is set up, I personally don't enjoy going there. I mean, I don't like that you go there, and get out. It's almost like you're in a room of strangers that you see twice a week.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers really do have different things to bring at the table. From my Russian literature teacher, who loves that school. To my Puerto Rican Spanish teacher who always wants us to dance. They all have different ways to teach but they all want you to learn as much as you can! It's always fun!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i think anyone who is potentially going to go here knows how to get by in chicago. there are worse neighborhoods to go in this city.

    Clubs and Activities

    i work full time so i don't personally have extra time and therefore can't speak about any clubs or other organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who wants to raise their gpa before transferring to a 4yr school. they also offer some associate's degrees as well.

    Bang for the buck

    my classes so far haven't been all that difficult but i feel i'm learning none the less. there really isn't much more to ask of chicago city college.

    What to do for fun

    it's in downtown chicago so anything you want to do is probably nearby!

    Food and Dining

    i've never eaten at the cafe because i take night classes when it is not open.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a junior college so i'm sure that other places are much harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    be patient getting enrolled in classes especially the first semester because you will likely feel as though your on a wild goose chase. it's really hard not to get frustrated with the enrollment process here but ultimately my classes thus far have been good.

    In three sentences

    harold washington college is convenient in that it is located right in downtown chicago, about a block from millennium park. it's cost effective if you live inside the city limits but even if you are outside the city, it is really inexpensive. there's not much more to say other than it serves it's purpose.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety at the school is really great, they have security guards walk around constantly, have video surveillance that is constantly monitored, and there are security desks if you have any questions. the only thing i think is difficult in the schools security system is that they close all the parts of the building (including the bathrooms!) at 9:00pm, although i've had classes that are not scheduled to end until 9:15pm.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at harold washington college.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few cultural clubs that host events in the main rooms on the first floor, i haven't been involved in any of them, but i do know they exist.

    Great for these types of students

    freshman college students either just out of high school who either did poorly in high school or are taking their general education courses at a cheaper institution than a 4-year university. also good for working professionals who are trying to go back to school and need night classes, weekend classes, and online courses.

    Bang for the buck

    i think the classes are so inexpensive (generally about $87/credit hour) that the education received is just fine. the school could work more at developing their teachers, and leveling the rigor of courses across the board, but in general it does well.

    What to do for fun

    there aren't a lot of activities outside of student organizations and the classes themselves. there are no sports teams or groups, as there would be no where on campus to play.

    Food and Dining

    there are food carts in the main lobby of harold washington that have a few nice breakfast items (muffins, fruit, bagels, etc.). there is also a nice food court in the basement of the building that has lunch and snack items, that are reasonably priced. the only downfall is that all of these places only accept cash and there is no atm in the school.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms for the city of chicago schools.

    Academic Rigor

    this depended on the course. i've found that the 100 level science courses are very easy, and the teachers aren't as high quality; for example, my first chemistry teacher repeatedly made mistakes in his questions on all of our exams that i found and had to correct. however, the majority of the 200 level science courses are challenging, and the teachers really push their students into learning a lot. the 100 level humanities type classes were not challenging to me either, but the 200 level are more rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    register online (if you can), and as soon as possible, the classes do fill up, and usually the ones that fill up are the courses you need / want to take! also, if you are planning to transfer to a 4-year university (as i am), make sure to find a transfer guide to help with deciding which courses you should take. the advisors are helpful, but hard to reach, having your own plan going into the advising center is wise.

    In three sentences

    a great school for students who work full-time elsewhere and need night classes, weekend classes, and online classes. the school is inconsistent with the quality of teachers; some are rigorous and challenging, others are more lazy and their courses are easy. tuition is inexpensive, and courses transfer easily to other illinois universities and colleges.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall Great

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for: Highschool Students Transferring Students Career Advancement Students

    What to do for fun

    For fun i visit the library!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to plan and prepare before entering any college. I think that perspective students would enjoy attending this college and i strongly encourage doing so.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Harold Washington College a 9 out of 10. Harold Washington College is a 9 out of 10 because this is a college that provides me with access to all the thing i need while pursuing my education. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because although the school provides a lot of help information to getting that assistance is poorly presented.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe because it is small and you could be rendered help to as soon as possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    African Student Association (ASA) Science Club

    Great for these types of students

    If you are willing and open to learn.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machine is mostly filled with junk foods. Would advice you bring your food from home.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm within the school

    Academic Rigor

    It is just fair enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should be focused and have an idea of the Professors you would like to teach you.

    In three sentences

    It is okay.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with the friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of restaurant around here so pick your choice and get something healthy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions or ask for help.

    In three sentences

    its decent i get to meet new people which i love. You also have smaller classes and teachers know your name.At the end of the day it just seems friendly.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I rarely eat food from the school itself because, in the heart of Chicago, there are multiple restaurants to eat at that are in walking distance form the campus. Students can enjoy Johnny Rockets that is half a block down the street, Dunkin Donuts across the street, or embark on a quick trip around Downtown to try one of the many others the city has to offer.

    Dorm Life

    This is a City College. There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    People assume that City Colleges are too easy and that students can not meet their full potential. While it is true that universities provide an extensive education on whatever major you choose, Harold Washington provides classes that are both challenging and rewarding. The classes are taught by intelligent teachers who are always understanding and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the opportunities this school can offer you. You can find tutoring for classes that you are falling behind in. Scheduling is flexible if you do it quickly so if you have a job or other responsibilities you can easily establish time for them and continue to go to school.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington College is surprisingly challenging. The classes, though sometimes long, are extremely informative and students learn and retain the information they are taught. The teachers are kind, genuine people who are very knowledgeable on their topics and understand students who have issues in their classes.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great we had new panels installed only allowing students to enter with a school I.D. They security their also patrols the floors there on a regular schedule.

    What to do for fun

    Go around shooping, visit famous landmarks, go to museums and sjust hang ou in Chicago

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! Not only do you have a dining room inside but you also have many great surrounding restaurants around to get lunch from at a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldnt know what to say on this one because i live around the area so its pretty easy to get there and stuff but from the surounding it looks decent.

    Academic Rigor

    it is challenging in times but you just have to put your mindset to it and not give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good scol to go for the general requirements. Good practice before transferring or wanting to experience the college life in a four year institute.

    In three sentences

    A very intresrting school; get good one on one attention by teachers when the help is needed. The school itself is very easy to get around from class to class or floor to floor. Overall the population is good not to crowded and not to empty; very diverse.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Harold Washington is located in downtown Chicago and depending on what your craving you should be very pleased eventhough you might have to walk a good distance

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I've only taken classes at 2 of the CCC and my preference is Harold Washington. The teachers and students put forth efforts in learning and will not just hand out a grade because of their frustration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your courses and courses needed for graduation because I have been seeing advisors for the past 3 semesters to make sure that I'm on the right track. I was assigned an advisor and she reviewed my course and gave me the ok then when I went in to apply for graduation she tells me that I'm missing a class. Needless to say I was very frustrated it's a big deal but no sweat. I'm going to register for the last class and see a different advisor. So please please stay on top of your classes and always seek a 3rd or 4th opinion.

    In three sentences

    3.25. Some of the instructors sincerly care and will put forth as much effort as you do in your request to learn. Beware of the advisors especially those that volunteer in the computer lab.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can go to the school library to study or check out books. Most students go to Dunkin Doughnuts in front of our school to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Harold Washington College has a few vending machines around the school. There is no room and board.

    Dorm Life

    Harold Washington College does not have room and board.

    Academic Rigor

    Harold Washington College is doing a great job of making sure students are writing at a college level. They strictly place students in different English classes depending on what a student wrote on the placement exam. At the end of the English course, students are given an Exit Essay that determines whether the student advances to the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would offer to prospective students is to always go to class. The majority of professors at Harold Washington College count attendance as part of participation. A student can earn easy points for just attending class. Another tip I would offer to prospective students is to be an active learner. Every professor has a different style of teaching. The student should be alert of what the professor is saying and what they are trying to convey about the topic.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington College is a great community college because it offers a variety of courses for young and adult students. The school has small class sizes and professors really interact with the students. I recommend this school for many people who wish to return to school and get a degree.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to the computer lab, is where most students go on their free time. However, my favorite place would be in the library. The atmosphere is extremely quiet and peaceful.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria is very small, and their cafeteria is mostly crowed.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academic is very professional. They have a variety of classes in which you are easily able to enroll

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend to learn more about the professors reviews. Also, learn about the class that you will be taking, before enrolling to the class.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy that am attending Harold Washington College. Their campus is very convenient to me because right on the loop. Also, their school schedule is extremely well organized.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i think the campus safety is a little bit on the rough side because of the exit terminals its only one way out of the school and i think that its kind of a safety hazard

    Greek Life

    the isnt much greek life on campus but it very well diverse

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs and activities vary for chess club the the psy club there are many club in the student government that give students and opportunity to be involved

    Great for these types of students

    most of the student attending the harold washington colleges are just business individuals that work and come for a education the affordable

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in unusual traditions on campus is when class or brought to leisure students occupy and area on the second floor where people chat over classes and papers

    Bang for the buck

    it one of the top community colleges in the city and great on location

    What to do for fun

    some of the events that organizations within SGA organize are great opportunities for students to relax and have a joyous time

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining at the school is really on the minus side because of the low variety of food selection available for students

    Dorm Life

    the student has not dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    has a great academic background and helping students understand the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    many students might have a lot of different prospectives about the school. it a very diverse school so there might be a lot of different opinion about how the school is. but i think the record amount of people the attend each semester should show for each person prospective on the school.

    In three sentences

    great opportunities for students to get an education for a affordable price. also with the many organizations incorparated in the college it makes for bettering students job servicing skills.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at the campus is great and there are rarely any violent incidents.

    Greek Life

    The library is a great place to hang out if you wish to get your reading or work finished.

    Bang for the buck

    Harold Washington is a very affordable school and will give you a bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in downtown Chicago, so there are plenty of movie theaters, restaurants, and parks to go too.

    Food and Dining

    The Plum Cafe is an excellent place to hang out at for students.

    Dorm Life

    Harold Washington does have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a school which is committed toward helping students who may not be ready for a completely academically rigorous education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and never be afraid to ask a question. Asking a question can go a long way.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small and intimate school. Harold Washington is a good school for anyone who is trying to attend classes after sometime away, those who are just trying to earn credits in order to transfer, or those who just want a good education. Harold Washington offers all those.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HWC can have some issues, but again downtown Chicago, a lot safe than other areas South and West.

    Greek Life

    Small to none see clubs and activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can start any organization on campus. Phi Theta Kappa, Phi Beta Lambda, and Student Government.

    Great for these types of students

    No additional comments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    See food courts.

    Bang for the buck

    see Harold Washington College or the City Colleges of Chicago website for tuition rates. Textbooks are a little expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Navy Prier, Gold Coast, any downtown Chicago!

    Food and Dining

    This is downtown Chicago, the Loop, there are lots of places to buy food and dine out. Harold Washington College's student government is currently attempting to give students discounts on restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at HWC, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The harder, more difficult classes are after the basic 100-level classes. You will find them in math, sciences, philosophy, and computer sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    In this current macro-economy, I suggest that you look at the community colleges first then plan to transfer to the expensive colleges. In takes some planning, but in the long-run 10-years later its' worth the time of during your research.

    In three sentences

    Great school, I wise I had applied to HWC before going to Minnesota in 1993. I didn't know that I would've saved $30,000 in student loan debt. My time and the students have been might nice to me!

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm guessing they will or should have extra curricular activities but I have not attended actual school so I don't know.

    Food and Dining

    Again I haven't had their food yet.

    Dorm Life

    I'm actually not completely sure the school has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not quiet sure since I haven't actually had classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    get better directions of how to get there on your first time.

    In three sentences

    It was hard getting to the school the first time , but I think it was a nice place looked very professional.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though the pre-requisites have lowered for the school, the quality of teacher has not. During my time at Harold Washington, I have experienced a class of teacher with a passion for their craft of molding minds for the next step in life's journey. Though I have had a couple of teachers that did not have a knack for teaching, you will get that at any institution. I originally started my journey at Purdue University's main campus for Aero/Astro Engineering and I have definitely seen my fair share of both spectrums of teacher. Harold Washington will at least prepare you for the journey ahead.

    What to do for fun

    There is a limited amount of activities within the school walls unless you are apart of a club, however there are many shops and sceneries nearby on State Street and the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago. There are also two movie theaters within walking distance and several theaters nearby in the theater district. Theatre productions also take place within the school walls once a semester with a rolling cast. Student pricing for those productions are usually five dollars.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, though small, has a nice selection of healthy sandwiches that are made to order. There is also a selection chips and basic, whole fruit options as well as exotic fruit cups containing melon, pineapple, etc. The only negative comments to make are the high prices and limited seating.

    Dorm Life

    This institution does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Harold Washington is mediocre. The pre-requisites have been lowered for a higher graduation rate which makes a division within all of the classes: there are those that have the capability to understand the course load, and those that have been granted a pass to ascertain the fact that they should not be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are passionate about education and your desired career path, and don't have the funding for your school of choice then this school is a great starting point. From what I hear about the nursing program it is very lucrative and worth wile, so if you are planning to pursue a career in that field kudos to you and good luck. However, basing any other career solely on this institution would be ill advised.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Harold Washington College of Chicago as a 6 out of 10 on the scale. When I started at the school in 2009, I found that the qualifications and rigor of classes could be compared to that of any prestigious institution on the first year level. The reason that I would rate this college as a 6 currently is because I found that, with the instatement of the new chancellor of the Chicago City Colleges School system, certain changes to the rigor of the curriculum has been made. Class that had high levels of pre-qualifications have been lowered to allow for a higher expected graduation rates for the circle of institutions. What I can say after two semesters of this new tactic is that it was in poor judgement. Classes that are expected to be at the 200 level are now filled with students that can barely spell the basics of the English language, let alone write in complete sentences. This problem is so drastic that sometimes the teachers have to take extra time during the lecture to explain the fundamentals of the English. This decision has proven to be a failure on the current administration and I hope that it can be corrected to hope for a higher caliber student, rather than a higher graduation rate of mediocrity.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe

    Greek Life

    Not too sure

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in none

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of Hispanics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The eleventh floor is cool place.

    Bang for the buck

    Good education for cheap

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    I dont eat much here.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus focus focus !

    In three sentences

    I love the school. There are nice teaches and students. Very easy for transportation.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a food area that is nice.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken numerous classes here and most have been challenging and rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Registering will be a pain, but just stay positive to get through it.

    In three sentences

    This may be a city college, but expect the classwork to be challenging. Most of my professors were very knowledgeable. The downside is during registration; plan to be there ALL day.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not many. A couple clubs but less than your tradition university.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult students and new college students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really.

    Bang for the buck

    The best factor of this school is the amazing financial situation. Since it is a community college, the tuition is more affordable. The institution is clean and environment friendly.

    What to do for fun

    This is a community college so there is not much to do, but it is located in downtown chicago which has more than enough activities for you.

    Food and Dining

    Not many choices for food and dining. There is a potbelly and 7-11 eleven a block away from the school.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not provide dorm housing. Although there are building which help students live closeby area.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers here are great teachers. I recommend using ratemyprofessor.com to help decide which classes to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete the registration process as quickly as possible. Take any test that you need to complete and be very patient in the process. Take advantage of the free tutoring. Get your books early; get them before class starts. Take summer classes to finish your degree or transfer credits quicker.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington is a great starter school for those who are not ready for a 4 year university. It is budget friendly. I recommend it to those who want to start school from a short break from their education.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. HWC has just added a scanning school id entry when you enter threw the main doors.

    Greek Life

    Their are some Greek chapters but they are very small. I believe Harold Washington has one or two Greek chapters. Given the fact that Harold Washington is a junior college and not a university it would have little to no actual Greek life ( non of the Greeks at HWC have their own house. HWC is a commuters school.)

    Clubs and Activities

    Harold Washington College has a lot of clubs students can get involved with. Their are language clubs, honors clubs, music and acting clubs, and cultural clubs too.

    Great for these types of students

    Harold Washington College is very diverse so, I'd say this college is good for people who like a diverse atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for buck! if you are a full time student you will receive a u- pass that will cover all of you transportation cost for that semester. The u-pass works with cta transit.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with classmates and also taking a look around the town before class is always fun. The fun activities are what you make it.

    Food and Dining

    Harold Washington Colleges dining options are expensive and mediocre. Harold Washington College is in the heart of downtown so, the food opinions outside of the college are endless.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms at Harold Washington college. All students are local and surrounding area commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    Harold Washington College is a hard when it comes to the classes, but the students have to keep up with assignments and they should pass with flying colors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Due to the high volume of students who attend Harold Washington College I'd suggest prospective students try to register for classes early. Registration at Harold Washington College can be very long especially if you are a new student. All new students have to register at Harold Washington College not online and this process take long( long like 3 hours or more). Upon registration it is best to have an idea of what classes you would like to take when you go to register this will make registration faster for you.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington College is a great junior college that offers a wide variety of programs for students to study. All of the classes offered their are transferable; Harold Washington College has class ranging from the sciences to business, music to theater, to languages offered like French, Chinese, Italian, and Japanese. The Instructors are great at Harold Washington College, and I have attended this school for three semesters.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of neighboring restaurants and stores for shopping!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with advisers to discuss academic plans. Take advantage of all resources available to students.

    In three sentences

    Located in the heart of downtown. Very easy to commute via public transportation. Nice learning environment and diverse setting.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security are good about stopping people when they first come into the building, but I haven't seen any walking around the building. That might change when classes begin next week, but so far I'd say it's just alright.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a few, but none that I am interested in enough to join. I would like to see more options personally.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who have busy lives, for parents, for students straight out of high school, for people who have a job or multiple jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. I went from paying $22,000 a year at DePaul to $89/credit hour for a school with the same accredidation and that suites me better. I am totally happy with that.

    Food and Dining

    I would not know.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't begun classes yet at Harold Washington, but I did take two at Malcom X (another city college of Chicago) and they were somewhat difficult. It won't be EASY just because it's a community college. The quality is still the same or they wouldn't be accredited the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions do not be afraid to ask them. Sometimes faculty can get into a routine from having dealt with so many people who have a certain issue. YOUR issue might not be THAT issue so make sure to make people clear about what you need from them and ask the right questions.

    In three sentences

    I would give my school an A so far. The reason is because they got me through the registration process pretty much in a breeze. There was only one set back when I was sent to wait in the Financial Aid office for about 45 minutes, but I'm paying out of pocket so I didn't need to be there.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If great students, tons of security guards, and a great reputation is in the definition of unsafe....this school would be dangerous. There is a ton of security guards, and the students are only worried about their academics other than starting trouble.

    Clubs and Activities

    African Student Association (ASA) Creative Writing Club Criminal Justice Club Inspired Creative Expression Performing Arts Club (ICE) Infinity National Union (INU) Organization of Latin American Students (OLAS) Pride Alliance Project Nur Psychology Club Such a variety! and if none of these are for you, find a sponsor and start one of your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Dorks who want to get some extra credits in before going off to their dream school Mothers who are trying to get their careers all set up Overall, this school is filled with people who are willing to continue their education

    Bang for the buck

    If you get your FAFSA all corrected, you could get a lot of money for this school. If your FAFSA isn't giving you enough money, you may need to get a small loan.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of wondrous clubs to join. My favorite is their creative writing club. It's the absolute best. If you're not a fan of writing, there is a club based on passions toward performing arts. There is also the city of Chicago. You can go eat lunch in Millenium Park, or go buy tickets to see a Broadway musical down the street. The city is your playground. Now go play!

    Food and Dining

    They make you pay for your food out of pocket. Go to the fast food places nearby, or the grocery stores near the school for something lovely.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school. It is a Community college, or a two-year institution. You can transfer after your two years and go to the beautiful four year Universities surrounding Harold Washington. The following include: Roosevelt, Columbia, and Depaul.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a cakewalk, while others aren't. Once you know the class is definitely not a cakewalk, pay attention and do all of the work. Do not skip class without e-mailing your teacher, you might get dropped.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay really close attention to what your professors have to say. They truly hold the key to what it takes to get straight A's and extremely great letters of recommendation in the future. Ask for help when needed because none of them bite.

    In three sentences

    I have been with Harold Washington Community College for at least 2 weeks. I have to say that I am seriously impressed with the professionalism this school requires. Last semester, I went to a school within their network, and it was the complete opposite.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and participate in school events.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make your goal to get in and get out, sometimes you can easily get caught up by everything going on at the school.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for students fresh out of high school looking to get themselves ready for a 4 year university. However it's only a 2 year college and I want to earn my degree from a 4 year college.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Good amounts of activites in the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Good, and affordable school.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning room is on the lower level, which is always seems to be clean, no matter what day it is. Also, the food it pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in the school. It is a community school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is well, not to bad than expected.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost benefit ratio of the school is very well. $89 per credit hour is pretty nice to me.

    What to do for fun

    In between classes I just do homework and explore downtown Chicago

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is available at the school but its very minimal and expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus with my own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging but fun to go though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started early because Financial Aid can be a tough process. Be effective in communication with the school.

    In three sentences

    For transfer students going to bigger universities this is a good school to get started and transfer. People are willing to work with you.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Harold doesn't really have much of a dining area. Though, the area downtown has plenty of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington is a friendly environment and a very diverse place. The teachers there always have an open agenda to help their students. Classes there are small and have a good ratio to the teachers.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been a few altercations and problems, but all are dealt with in a matter of minutes. The school has actual security guards, instead of just your every day rent-a-cops who don't care whether or not they successfully stop a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    Harold Washington is filled with tons of clubs & activities for everyone & anyone. From academic clubs to comic book clubs - It's a lively place most of the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Harold Washington is the perfect place for someone who is continuing their education in a smarter way than the rest of the crowd. College costs a lot of money and the degree programs are pretty diverse and most people who stay at Harold to earn their degree transfer or go on to a bigger university to work towards their Bachelors or Masters. It is like working your way up the ladder of degrees to get where you want to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harold is located directly in the city of Chicago, so anyone who goes here will have tons of different places to keep them occupied when they have a break from classes. And when you're too tired or even too lazy to venture out, you can hang out downstairs in the student lounge/cafeteria with a group of friends or even just yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a city college - you work hard for what you want and you will receive what you want.

    What to do for fun

    Harold is located directly in the city of Chicago. Trust me, you'll never be far from something fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons and tons of different restaurants surrounding the school campus, so there's never a shortage of places to go when the hunger hits. And even if any of the options are not to your liking, you're never far from a train, which will take you to a whole other variety of dining.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't really dorm life at Harold. There's student housing in various parts of the city & neighboring parts, but it is, in fact, a city college. Not a university.

    Academic Rigor

    At Harold, you are never that far away from a computer. So, keeping track of your grades & assignments is not as difficult as some people make it out to be. It is just like any other school - keep on top of your game and you will rewarded with the grade you deserve. Laze about and waste time when you know you should be finishing something and be rewarded with a grade that will have you cursing everything you know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get distracted by all the hustle of the city - keep your head in the game. Just because Harold is a city college, does not mean you get a free pass in this big world of continued education. Try to meet with your advisor early on in the semester instead of leaving it til the end.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington College is a perfectly diverse place filled with a variety of studies and interesting people. Like every other college, it has its ups & downs, but it is actually a great place with very helpful staff on hand. Registration for any semester is and always will be a huge pain here at Harold, but once it is all said & done, you're so relieved.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well if you're attending this school, you probably live in the city and already know what to do for fun. But they sometimes have events which, in my opinion, are not very fun.

    Food and Dining

    It's right in the heart of Downtown Chicago, so there's plenty great restaurants near by. Inside the school itself, there's a few food vendors, but everyone eats off campus.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    As with most community colleges, the course material is not difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I'm not mistaken, this school is open admission. When you are accepted, you'll want to be very proactive about seeing and adviser and registering for classes because that process can take a very long time if you wait.

    In three sentences

    It's community college, you get what you pay for. I took four online courses and received an A+ in all of them with minimal effort, so you can too. Not much of a community as with a university.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Harold Washington is located in Downtown Chicago so there are always plenty of places to go to. You have restaurants,bars,clubs,museums,stores..etc. Downtown is a great place to go shopping, eat with friends, go the park with family and basically have a good time.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the City life. Students who love to hangout with friends,grab a bite to eat, watch a game, meet new people and have a great time.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat with friends, catch a movie, watch a game, even go shopping with the girls or a walk at the millennium park.

    Food and Dining

    There are more then plenty of places to eat at. You have a wonderfully big variety of foods from fast foods to elegant intimate meals. Never a disappointment to go eat with friends!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are great because you get that one on one time with the teachers that many other colleges don't offer, classes are given based on your level of academics and there a=is always help e=in every corner!

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington is a great school to take your general classes out of the way and even figure out what major you would like to pursue. The Proffers are very nice and always offer great opportunities and advise. The school is very easy to feel comfortable in anyone can get the hang of it.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out the Art places in the very abyss of downtown Chicago!! The art is very intriguing!

    Food and Dining

    Try the food out right next to them!! GREAT SOURCES EVERY WHERE!!!

    Dorm Life

    Harold Washington doesn't have dorms though you can chose to live around the school in studio homes! Those look amazing though!! I would need one to tell you the truth for my Photography!

    Tips for prospective students

    Not much i havn't gone theikr just yet but even though my scholar ship money from the federal gov't will cover most of my tuition I still want to be able to buy my photography equipment and their is so much more to explore! so do your S C H O L A R - S H I P S E A R C H I N G!!!! (Doing that now).

    In three sentences

    I believe that harold Washignton is a great place to got o school at. The school is ina great location, couldn't have gotten any better! And last but not least it's where I want to go so it seems like great school to attend if I say so :).

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten here. Didn't even know there was a dining area until last semester.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are challenging, but I've passed every class so far with a B or better without books. That should give you an idea on how challenging the courses really are.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to transfer to a four year institution, make sure you choose the correct classes that can be transferred to the next institution, or you may be stuck taking classes you don't need.

    In three sentences

    The staff is completely disorganized, and it is a hassle to get the most minute question answered. The courses are not too bad, but also not too challenging, and the teachers seem to cater to the students at times, which tends to disrupt the educational atmosphere.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many cameras and to enter the building you must have an ID and it gives you access by scanning it on the turnstiles. Also there are buttons called the blue button they are lit blue and if in trouble or need assistance you just push it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join and a big library with librarians who are happy to help. Also it has many computers and places to sit and read.

    Food and Dining

    The basement is the cafeteria I've never bought food there, but I have ate in the cafeteria it is nice and clean.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes do require work. If your focused and attend all your classes it is easy. The hard part is being absent that can throw you off track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to your advisor! Most students don't pay too much attention or are not informed. I know I didn't know I had to speak to my advisor and a teacher suggested it to me. Once I spoke to my advisor I knew exactly what I had to do to be successful.

    In three sentences

    A helpful and friendly environment. Most teachers/advisors are willing to help you on anything you need. You must search to find all the help you need.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe school.

    What to do for fun

    I go to work and the gym, all outside the school

    Food and Dining

    I buy food outside and eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm because it is a community college and I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It is good work, but I wish it was more rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and stay focused. Meet all deadlines.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school, but it is not the college experience I want. Some professors are great at teaching their subject. They take the time to go back and review what we learned in the previous class.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is at an elite level. There is security all throughout the college, so students should not have a problem with feeling unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Th college offers all types of clubs activities; they offer the same as any traditional college.

    Bang for the buck

    You are sure to get a good education for the money it cost to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different programs and clubs for students to interact with each other, as well as the outside world.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many foods offered within the building. But there are many different places around the school for students to dine.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this school. Sorry guys.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college without moving away to a campus, then this is the school for you. Be prepared to be focused and have a great time learning exciting material.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington College is a great college for students to further their education while still getting the city vibe of Chicago. There are many different programs to help guide students to promising careers. This is a great school for all students of all backgrounds.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Aid usually pays for everything here

    What to do for fun

    Exploring downtown between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Always bring your own food or there are many fast food places around.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    pretty easy

    Tips for prospective students

    You as the student have to be on top of things. When transferring talk to the school you want to go to first! Always be on blackboard.

    In three sentences

    It's an okay school. The teachers are great but the advisers don't seem to actually help. They threw out a program without telling the students.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Probably one of the safest colleges in Chicago. However, you cannot mistake this as the main representation of the student's moral conduct. I've never been mistreated yet and the security has several means of communicating with students and faculty personally, which is very effective, but you will see signs in the library notifying students that some have been the victims of theft. Walk circumspectly, and try to have a buddy around, even if you have to make one of the person next to you in the computer lab once you sit down.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is represented. I believe there is at least one, I just don't remember the name. I'm not into Greek life or societies like Gamma.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am still finding out about this one. I'm hoping to see or start an Improv group within ICE.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who need to get general education course out of the way for transfer into a 4-yr to save money or prepare themselves mentally and emotionally for the higher learning atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any yet. Sorry

    Bang for the buck

    The biggest bang you will get is the diversity, and that especially if you choose your class times strategically. There are many cultures represented in every class. This is an introduction to college society and that is your door to the world.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a nerd by purpose. I want straight, strong As so I spend the better part of my day in the library. I suggest getting involved in student government (SGA) or finding fun in the city. The school's location handles most of these aspects for it.

    Food and Dining

    I give this a five because although the campus itself does not have fine dining, downtown Chicago does!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because this is a junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't find the rigor at this school to be very intense. I was home educated and high school was almost entirely self-study. Perhaps I'm just really good at teaching myself from a book so I don't need the lectures except for repetition. On the other hand, certain courses and instructors will require a massive amount of critical thinking from you within the subject and it will feel like university work. For an example, the fine arts course I am taking is far more rigorous than my science class. I will also say this, the faculty is top notch in core subjects. I have instructors who have earned graduate degrees at prestigious institutions like Northwestern University and The University Of Chicago (my fine arts instructor has attended both, currently working on a Ph.d from UChicago).

    Tips for prospective students

    #1 REGISTER EARLY find registration dates then get into the registration process weeks in advance of that date. The school serves upward 3,000 students, meaning you do not want to do anything with the massive drove if you can avoid it. They have a beta program in place to walk first time students through registration and orientation long before it is open to current students. #2 KNOW WHAT CLASSES YOU WANT it is very likely that the advisor you sit down with won't give you a description break down of every course. They will make suggestions and you might get rushed, as I did, and find yourself in classes you would have never signed up for if only you knew beforehand! #3 MAKE THE FINANCIAL AID OFFICE YOUR HANGOUT I don't have any more than about 2-3 months of experience with HWC, but I learned that you have to be proactive concerning your financial aid. I was delayed getting my book voucher because my information hadn't been put in the system yet. Keep up with them. #4 COME TO LEARN my goal for this semester is very simple: Get straight As to make you stand out to the universities I want to transfer into. Don't get caught up in any campus drama, extracurricular activities, or scheming how you will milk your refund check (left over financial aid). You will be far more satisfied with your grades and overall outcome if your purpose is to learn! #5 MAKE FRIENDS FAST there is no on campus housing, so the classmates who sit closest to you are the valuable assets to your studies. Also, get to know your instructors and professors and make them know who you are. The more they know of you personally in an academic setting, the more convincing they mealy write letters of recommendation.

    In three sentences

    Harold Washington college is the perfect junior college for students looking to transfer into a four year university that is culturally diverse. It is right in the heart of downtown Chicago so you get the feel of urban studies and opportunities. No matter what, you will leave this school a changed person and feeling like you can accomplish nearly anything.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe unlike others where I have seen people hitting people with rocks or hear gunshots.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are fun, but I only been in one and it is the calculus club so I cannot really tell about the others.

    What to do for fun

    It truly depends on what you like to do and how much free time you have.

    Food and Dining

    Not good, but there are many places to eat around the area of the school.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy to understand the professors, but at times you will need to know big vocabulary words to fully understand them; nothing a dictionary cannot solve. There are many great professors, but I would go to a website like ratemyprofessors.com before signing up for a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would try to get into a degree program as soon as I can, but I would go to an adviser for this type of advice. You could try programs that the school offers like computer science, child development, and many more.

    In three sentences

    I would give it a 4 out of 5. It is way better than the rest of the city colleges, but at times it is hard to get settled unless if you really try. After you get settled, everything runs smooth.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The first floor and second floor are set with on-duty police and security gaurds

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Kappa (Honors sorority/fraternity)

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Beta Kappa (Honors sorority/fraternity) SGA (Student Goverment Association) African American Club

    Great for these types of students

    If your open to City life and a diverse community and population, than Harold Washington is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is really inexpensive. If you are an in-state resident, your tuition is dirty cheap, including books. Your transportation for CTA is free if your enrolled as a Full-Time student( 12+ Credit Hours) and its called a U-Pass.

    What to do for fun

    Because the school is located in an urban enviroment, you will have access to night clubs, pubs/bars, restaurants, concerts ( McCormick Place, Rosemont, The Chicago Threatre, etc.). There are many theatres for movie entertainment also.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't any meal plans unfortunately, but being harold Washington is Downtown Chicago, there are several food and beverage restaurants available with access through public transportation( Metra, CTA, Pace). The prices vary and can kind of be a bit pricey because your downtown. There is an cafeteria in the basement of harold washington that serves salads, sandwiches, soups, fruit and veggy bowls.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any. The school is centered in the middle of downtown Chicago, so individual living is up to the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just as rigorous but not as much as a 4 year university, because your not going for as long. The coursework and load is still of college workload and requires the same amount of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come into harold washington with a positive attitude and it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college that offers many resources for first-time and transfer students to easily transfer smoothly over to a 4-year institution for their bachelor's degree. The professors and stafff are more than accomodating to students' and their personal needs. Every students needs and requests are equally important.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is no joke here. You need an active ID to even enter the building. There are safety drills throughout the semester and security guards all over the school.

    What to do for fun

    Check out a show and Second City. Check out a show at Millennium Park. There is ice skating in the winter and music shows in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small snack cart on the first floor with limited options. Fortunately, there are many restaurants like subway in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes are excellent for learning. Most work for most classes is done online so sometimes you feel as if you are teaching yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register Early. Meet with an academic advisor to speak about your goals. Go to every class. Keep up with your work. Form study groups in your classes.

    In three sentences

    The school is in a convenient building in the heart of downtown Chicago. The registration process is a nightmare. The professors and resources available are wonderful here.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With security guards breathing down your neck and the staff watching your every move, I'd say it's okay. Still, every now and then they let a wanderer from the streets slip by. Experienced that too.

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Kappa is the program they have posted up on flyers. But I haven't and will not check it out.

    Clubs and Activities

    I work and juggle classes. i have no time for activities. But as far as I know, they have Drama Club Gay Support Club Foreign language Club... not that many.

    Great for these types of students

    People who dont care about getting treated with respect. Loud, ghetto, ignorant people that come to socialize. Or people who have a thick skin who can ignore the foolishness to see out their educations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable, but registration is terrible. Pray that you can get all of the classes you need before they all fill up. Prepare to spend hours and days even trying to communicate with incompetent staff.

    What to do for fun

    Not. a.thing. Go home or take yourself somewhere else for that. Fun is very limited at this school. It's best to just come here to learn and leave as soon as your classes are over.

    Food and Dining

    Things are costly. Water is nearly 2 dollars and nothing is healthy. Just the run of the mill chips, pops, and junk. Plus the school looks as if they never clean any of the eating areas. Even the class room desks are filthy.

    Dorm Life

    This should be no stars because there are no dorms here. Probably for the better as too many ghetto students take up too much time here as is.

    Academic Rigor

    These three stars are solely for the teachers who really care about helping the students. They do a really good job with helping the students understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school that is serious about helping you as individuals, do not come here. When you go to the staff, you get the run around and you get send on wild goose chases just for the tiniest bit of information. The school is dirty and nothing is ever wiped down. Staff is extremely ride and ignorant and show their unwillingness to help you. They treat you as if they are doing you a huge favor by assisting you. And 70% of the students are some of the most ghetto, ignorant people who treat the school like it's just a place to hang out, flirt, smoke, and watch their rap videos. Terrible.

    In three sentences

    This school is unorganized. The staff are very rude and condescending. 50% of the teachers are the only thing that make this school worth while.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. You will need a school id to get into the building at all times and if you do not have your idea you will need to give a state licensed id to the front desk to gain entry into the school.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus, except for the honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are a student with a GPA of 3.5 or greater I would highly suggest becoming a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) not only is it active on campus, it looks great on your transcript and for most schools that you may want to transfer to they offer a scholarship just for being a PTK member. There are also some other clubs on the HW campus, but that is just one of them.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with me getting no financial aid this past year at Harold Washington it was still worth every penny. I learned a lot and had some amazing professors along the way. I wish that it was a four year institution because I was really beginning to love Harold Washington.

    What to do for fun

    It's in downtown Chicago... what can't you do!?! You can go across the street to the nail shop if you have a big break between classes or just go relax at Dunkin Donuts across the street. You could even walk to the bean in Millennium Park and relax if you'd like. You are downtown so the possibilities for fun are endless.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria in the basement as well as some vending machines throughout the building. I personally did not care for the food and thought that it was overpriced. However, most people bring food from home and just eat it in the cafeteria with some friends or while studying.

    Dorm Life

    Harold Washington does not have a dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, it depends on the class and the teacher. I know for my Eng 102 class some people had a really rough teacher, whereas I thought my teacher was pretty easy going. Some people seem to think that class at community college are easier than at a university, but I'm pretty sure Calc would have been hard for me no matter where I took it. As long as you stay up on your deadlines, study for your test and quizzes and communicate with your professors you should be okay with the academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip is register for classes ASAP. All of the gen ed classes tend to fill up pretty fast and the longer you wait the more likely you'll end up having to take other classes that you may need, but you weren't planning on taking that semester. Also, don't be afraid of online classes they aren't as bad as some people think they are, just make sure you look on ratemyprofessor, but that's for any class you take.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Harold Washington is a good school with very dedicated professors. The professors try to make sure you understand everything to the best of their abilities. Also, I feel safe when I am on the campus since you have to swipe your id to get past the first floor and gain entry into the building.