Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City Colleges of Chicago-Harry S Truman College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those looking to transfer to a four year university or those looking to join the work force immediately. Truman has great job placement seminars for those seeking a certificate or an AA degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early so that you can get a schedule that works around your preexisting work schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive for the quality of teaching!!

    Am enjoying being here

    Great location on the North side of Chicago. Easy to commute there and a lot of great, fun student activities and happenings that keep you busy.

    Am learning a lot

    Very good school to pick up extra credits or work towards getting an AA degree from. Teachers are very well trained and helpful. They are there to help you succeed.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    come and join us!

    In three sentences

    nowadays city colleges of chicago are experiencing an outstanding outcomes more than the previous times, and this show the hard work of not only professors and the students but also the administrations. even though there are some security problems, truman college is very a good place to complete the associate degree and transfer to a four year university. everyone should pass though community colleges if he wants to save money too.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the neighborhood is questionable but i felt safe in the school

    Greek Life

    Unaware

    Clubs and Activities

    many available

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to get a degree, and not all the college life specifically

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college IAI and accredited. I paid about 3000 a year on tuition, so you cannot beat that!

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is lousy but there are a couple of nice inexpensive dinning options

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    find reviews for your professors and classes before registering it helps alot.

    In three sentences

    I Have, very much so, found this school to be exactly what i look for the classes are small and the staff always very helpful. Many of my professors have been excellent, while some have been mediocre.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    inside your fine, outside is another story but its not that bad...

    Clubs and Activities

    many

    Great for these types of students

    Save money, make that financial aid money last.

    Bang for the buck

    fine

    What to do for fun

    Not much, but if you have your bike or car, go 5 blocks east and your at the lake shore.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria needs help but for a quick drinks or cookie it is fine, the hot meals are poor quality. There are a few sandwich places near by and a starbucks one block from the school, but dont venture to far its not the best of neighborhood, but its starting to get better.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    As far as for the general classes this is a good place to start, any of the cook county city colleges will start you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check with the 4 year college for required courses before taking any courses, you might need one course at one university and not at another.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college to get your feet wet and not expensive if paying out of pocket, the teachers here are excellent and friendly.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They are lots of student clubs with lots of activities. Summer time promises more activities, especially outdoors like soccer, etc. But, registration at summer is usually low.

    Food and Dining

    Truman college has a cafeteria with a large sitting area, but the food is very expensive and not so great. The menu list include sandwiches, pizza, fruit and some drinks. I would rather eat outside the school campus than pay so much for food that is not so good.

    Dorm Life

    It is very unfortunate that a wonderful college like Truman does not have a dormitory. I wish they have one, and I hope they will build one in the nearest future.

    Academic Rigor

    Truman is known for very rigorous academic standards. They are very thorough, accurate and strict. Many students have dropped only to go to other city college because of Truman's inflexibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    Safe time and money by going to Truman college. This is not an institution for student who doesn't have time to study. You will never regret going to Truman college if you are hard working.

    In three sentences

    The best of the Chicago city colleges. NCLEX passing rate for nursing student is consistently above 94% of national average each year. Truman college is truely a place to learn.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Do not now, never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The school is not big so it does not have many activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your on your own.

    In three sentences

    The school has a good science course. It is fun to go to. The school is OK for money wise.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lake Michigan is a couple blocks away from the school.

    Dorm Life

    It's a city college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes require you to study, study, study.

    Tips for prospective students

    To save money I would suggest you to complete your general eds in a city college.

    In three sentences

    Overall a great college to complete your general eds. Professors are very helpful and will go above and beyond to help you understand the material. Although, the neighborhood is not really safe at night, the school makes up for it.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Expensive cafeteria but there are many other options outside campus.

    In three sentences

    Great College! You can learn a lot for low tuition cost. Also, its easy to transfer from here to any University, public or private!

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults

    What to do for fun

    Variety of Clubs and Sports

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to register ASAP to get the best selection of classes. Online registration is very easy and convenient.

    In three sentences

    Truman College offers convenient classes even available late evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. Tuition is very affortable; less than $90 per credit hour for Chicago residents. Also, the location is good because it is right by the train station (Brown Line).

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports and get involve in clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food it is tasty well down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip number one, keep focus towards what you want, second never think you can't achieve it third work hard.

    In three sentences

    City colleges of Chicago - Harry S Truman college it is very beneficial for my needs. It is closed to my house. It is a small college and It is easy to get help by my teachers. It has free tutors.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus with sufficient security staff. *****

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different clubs and activities which I plan to enroll in some in the upcoming semesters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a new students with little idea of such locations.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a single mother of two with no job and going to school for the first time after a long time. Life is not easy but I am motivated to go and finish school with a degree.

    What to do for fun

    Involving in campus or community organisations.

    Food and Dining

    Have a cafeteria with somewhat reasonable price on their food sold. ****

    Academic Rigor

    Most students graduate with high grade point average and its educational standard is very high. *****

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about the TRIO program very helpful ,also utilize the tutoring center and you have great choice of instructors to choose from

    In three sentences

    An excellent college. Has a high rate of students graduating, and has a n excellent tutoring center.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is in the city and comes with city problems.

    Greek Life

    There is a group called Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth it, great teachers.

    What to do for fun

    You are in Chicago and fun is all around you.

    Food and Dining

    Very nice cafeteria and meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Very good teachers. many teachers were world class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can save a lot of money by attending a 2 year institution before attending university!

    In three sentences

    The school was great with a great selection of courses and great teachers. The school was affordable to me and others who cannot afford to attend university for four years. It also had a great sense of community and the students were definitely important to this school.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe because security is everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide range of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Who always feel Free to be themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    There are no excuses for someone not passing because they can recieve help for FREE! The tutors are instructors. Did I mention it's FREE? Computers are not a problem they are everywhere for students to utilize.

    What to do for fun

    Get to know different people because truman truly has the whole world in one place its amazing.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food anyone can enjoy in the area that's walking distance. Truman has it's own kitchen where food is prepared in front of the eaters eyes.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Students have space to open their minds and allow the brain to do its job; Think!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste a seat someone else could have taken advantage of. Grades are a reflection of the student. The only things important are your grades and professionalism. Prioritizing allows students to accomplish goals

    In three sentences

    Truman College deserves a big 10! Administrators are very helpful. The instructors I've had genuinely care.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of options

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Neighborhood is a bit sketchy but with increased security it is safe. Red Line is right next to the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has university professors on staff and I feel I have gotten good professors at a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    Love to read, run and practice yoga.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead to meet with advisors. There seems to be a lot of back and forth between administrative offices.

    In three sentences

    The school is convenient and fast growing. The educators appear to have a lot of experience. Welcoming to adult and working students.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    School lunchroom.

    Dorm Life

    Not an option.

    Academic Rigor

    School activities available. Take advantage of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending to class. Be prepared. Be successful.

    In three sentences

    International school with great professors and faculty.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Students who just want to attend a two year college before transferring to a four year institution

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs and being part of different organizations. It is also on the North side of Chicago. There is always plenty to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is awful. Better yet, there are nice, inexpensive restaurants across the street.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. It is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college and an average one at that. The classes are simply easy and the professors don't work as hard here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all that Truman College has to offer. Talk to your advisor regularly and get to know your professors because they will be the ones writing recommendations.

    In three sentences

    It is an okay school. It is a great place to start if you don't want to go directly to a four year institution. Just take advantage of joining clubs and organizations

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been about three shootings surrounding the school this year but no students were killed or injured.

    Greek Life

    Not that I know of

    Clubs and Activities

    Not really active

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are affordable.

    What to do for fun

    It's in the uptown area, not far from the lake front, restaurants, and a couple of stores for shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. I wish there was a wider variety. They serve what most colleges do i.e burgers, nachos, pizza. It's a little expensive too.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You really have to be dedicated to learning and doing the work. It can be intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply if you are insterested in interacting with people of various cultures.

    In three sentences

    Truman College has offered me a unique experience. I transferred here from a historically black college. It's very diverse and the professors challenge us to the fullest extent.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you can feel safe

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a bunch of them and they are really fun

    Food and Dining

    very helpul

    Dorm Life

    they dont have one

    Academic Rigor

    Very good school

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for advice when you need it. Never feel shy to asks questions. Always be focus in your decisions

    In three sentences

    It is a school that helps you to reach your goal. They guide you where you need to go. Always keeps the eye on your needs.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I attended Truman College for two years as a non-traditional student. I was heavily involved in campus activities, worked on campus and tried to keep a hefty amount of college credits, if possible. What I am getting at is that I was there at least 40 hours a week and the President and some of the Deans knew my name. Let me start with the bad news! 1. Shootings are common in the area. 2. There are a lot of rumors about how Truman works it's finances and it directly effects nearly every student negatively. 3. The administrative office staff don't really understand the concept of streamlining any process. They might seem incompetent at times, especially in regards to your financial matters (see two). 4. The school is old and some of the students treat it like crap and it just kind of gives you the impression of a prison. Truman is like a sour patch kid. Sour on the outside but sweet on the inside. Most of the professors I have encountered enjoy teaching just to teach. If you show initiative, they will look out for you and encourage you. Personally, I was able to find myself a wonderful mentor. Truman provided me with my first research experience in the biology lab, gave me an award, gave me opportunities to become a leader and work in my community. Truman opened a lot of doors for me including transferring to my top 4 year university on nearly a full scholarship. (2k a year for a 50k a year school!) City Colleges are maybe going a little overboard with the amount of (usually mediocre) programs they have available for students to join and workshops to go to. But, I suppose it's better than nothing? So yes, there are a handful of not-so-amazing things at Truman... but it was ok! It was the stepping stone I needed, it did it's duty.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cute security guards..

    Greek Life

    Phi theta kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs.. or start your own. it's really easy..

    Great for these types of students

    students trying to save some money or need some direction

    Bang for the buck

    Best option... affordable associates degree or transfer anywhere

    What to do for fun

    I'm in several clubs and I go to a few bars and clubs around as well. theres always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    restrurants around have decent student specials

    Dorm Life

    Students tend to live in the neighborhood.

    Academic Rigor

    Tons of room to explore and learn

    Tips for prospective students

    plan ahead and get registration/ financial aid done early. take classes with professors you liike Get involved, join a club

    In three sentences

    There's a lot to do and a lot of opportunities here. I really enjoy going here. Plan ahead.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This college is a cheap alternative. This college has helpful advisors. There is a diverse crowd.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs you can join as well as an option to start your own. There is also a gym where you can work out and a student center to study or just hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining room is very good compared to other schools. They also have vending machines and local restaurants, including a Chicago famous: Harold's Chicken.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming available.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are ready to help with your main academic goals. Although it is a community college, studying at Truman does not feel like it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to school in a community college is not a bad thing. It is inexpensive and helps you with the credits you need rather than paying thousands of dollars at a university.

    In three sentences

    Harry S Truman College is like no other CCC; they have a beautiful campus with plenty of resources. The faculty is also a great factor in why this school is fantastic. The teachers are friendly and willing to help in any way they can.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the danger is mainly outside the campus, towards Broadway.

    Clubs and Activities

    not a good variety of clubs. mainly honor societies and a couple cultural groups

    What to do for fun

    go the the gym, kill time in the computer labs, go to events organized by student clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Great variety of restaurants/quick stops around the campus. Mainly Asian. However the school cafeteria food is bad and unnecessarily expensive.

    Dorm Life

    *no dorms. it's a community college* but plenty of apartments/studios around for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    many students here don't care for school, most plan on transferring later, but there are plenty of dedicated students. Just take care of your own choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like most colleges, the teachers don't personally care about you, so make sure to keep up with the material and assignments. And it's the most diverse community college in the nation, so make friends!

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers know the material well, but some lack in using outside sources to make their class more interesting. The student body is generally split into two groups, those that don't give a crap and those that do. And the teachers and staff see that.