Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Love this school!

  • 06/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Arts students

    Tips for prospective students

    finish your general eds at kennedy king first so u can foucus on just culinary classes

    Bang for the buck

    Its the cheapest culinay arts school in chicago

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my teachers and i think the program is set up nicely

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like the chefs instructors are well informed

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to start SOMEWHERE! Not just fresh out of high school students! Anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel like I will be prepared to transfer to a 4 year University after I receive my prerequisites. So starting here will be awesome! Just to get the minor things out of the way. So you can get to the business.

    Bang for the buck

    Under 2,000 per semester!

    Am enjoying being here

    Walking in the doors, I feel welcome. Walking in the corridors, I feel safe. The people are nice and caring.

    Am learning a lot

    I appreciate my instructors and their teaching methods. My education is being taken care of here at KKC.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    . Our campus is highly security by off duty police officers and City of Chicago Police Department 24 hours day.

    Greek Life

    I have no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have participated in National Of Professionals Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) for pre-pharmacy students. I was the President of student chapter at Kennedy King College.

    Great for these types of students

    Kennedy King college is great for all types of students who come here to learn. Students from all walks of life attend our college. Although, campus is located in the heart of Englewood neighborhood. Our students are highly motivated to attend this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tradition campus. The sororities on campus are not allowed hazing, so our students don't have to experience this negative behavior tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Kennedy King College. I have learned so much from the students along with faculty on our campus. College life is a rewarding experience in life that every kid should experience.

    What to do for fun

    I read books and go to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    Our rate of cafeteria food and dining with 5 stars. Our culinary school on campus is one of the best in City of Chicago within city colleges. The food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    No rating. No Dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor 4 stars. The class work on campus is very rewarding you work hard and study, then you earn the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit our campus. Then sit and down and dine and speak to the students on campus.

    In three sentences

    I rate Kennedy King College as one of the best City Colleges of Chicago because we have new campus. We have new laboratories with state of art science equipment. Our faculty on campus are very helpful and resourceful for us to further our educations

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Pay attention. Take notes. Do assignments. Ask Questions. Get some sleep. Eat breakfast.

    In three sentences

    Kennedy King is a very decent community college. The school is so convient to city students. The instructors and staff are very educated and respectful.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not at its best once the sun goes down.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Culinary club. They seem to be a little unorganized but they try to get out there.

    Great for these types of students

    Undeclared major and students with financial struggle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not much of traditions. It is location is the city and a benefit of it being right off the train stop. Neighborhood is not the best at night.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it. You get what you pay for, your first semester is around 4,000 and that covers your chef coats and pants hats books and cooking kit. You can attend this city college baking and pastry course with just fafsa money and if you don't qualify or have enough they offer scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Not much but to study for FUN!

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary side this last semester had a buffet that they were in charge of one day out of the week. It is good! other than that there is a Dunkin' Donuts, a Walgreen's, A Fast Food place under the green line that is decent and chinese fast food.

    Dorm Life

    City Colleges do not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a baking and pastry major so all of my judgment comes from this field only. Based on this i give it a 3/5 due to the fact that onet of the two pastry chefs we have as instructors was replaced by a new one that didn't have much experience teaching and as a student that is offensive. The staff could of done a better job on finding a better chef.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's just college DON'T BE AFRAID! And people are just people. Simply remember the basics be polite, listen up, be respectful, be your best! Do not be afraid to make mistakes,you can only learn from them and your intructor is there to help you. But most importantly don't see your self above others. One of the beauties of college is being able to work with people as old as your MOM! So just like your mother they are full of knowledge. You can learn as much from them as they can learn from you and anyone else.

    In three sentences

    Kennedy King College Culinary and Baking Program is a well rounded school for those in undecided on a college major and those with a financial struggle. It provides you with the freedom to take your courses in the order you like after the first phase from either culinary arts or baking and pastry. It is surrounded with plenty of support from your teachers not so much the scholarship staff but it is a GOOD place to begin!

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't really hang around the campus after my classes are over.

    Food and Dining

    Their are a couple of restaurants on the campus and stores for you to pick something up before or after class.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are as hard or as easy as YOU make them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come to class, do your work on time and most important of all study, study, study!

    In three sentences

    Kennedy King is a great school to attend. Even though its a community college, its still offers you the same quality education that a traditional 4-year university would. This is the right school for me!

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its not if you are not driving

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    to help me in life to survive

    What to do for fun

    play sports or play video games and have party,s

    Food and Dining

    we have vending michines there

    Dorm Life

    i stay off campus

    Academic Rigor

    i am is in acting in not to good about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    student thats is there are likeing the school

    In three sentences

    the school is nice

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always read ahead of class, do your home works, don't miss laboratory works, and ask questions in class

    In three sentences

    It has great teachers here who are ready to assist you in any academic area It has good facilities. For example, swimming pool, soccer field Not the best school in terms of security

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Urban inner-city dwellers.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should know: The counselors are helpful and so are the people in financial aid. It's in an urban high crime area but there are lots of security and police officers on campus along with the emergency phone stations located throughout the campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a newly built school in an urban community that provides a good education for less than 4 year schools. They have smart boards in the classrooms which allows for the instructor to connect to the Internet and display content to the entire class. Lots of technology and contrary to some many of the student are eager to learn.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of security

    Clubs and Activities

    basket ball,gym,social clubs

    Food and Dining

    there are restaurants on and off camups

    Dorm Life

    there's no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Its not difficult

    In three sentences

    Its very clean. The teachers are cool. The classes are easy to find

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security in and around every building

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided or those that know exactly what they want to do and want to transfer to a 4 year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper than state or private schools for the same exact education.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Go to class then go home.

    Food and Dining

    I heard the cafeteria food is bad, but there is a place to eat down the street near the train station.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really push you to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get registered early or you'll regret it. You'll have to wait hours to be seen by a financial aid adviser and an academic adviser.

    In three sentences

    My professors are professionals in the field I am currently studying for. The financial aid staff need more training. Great place to learn overall.