Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City Colleges of Chicago-Richard J Daley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fine

    Clubs and Activities

    math club and honor society, ptk honor society, shpe member

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and societies for your own sake.

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    good reputation

    Tips for prospective students

    much cheaper

    In three sentences

    one of the best city college in chicago. most of the professors are excellent in their field of teaching. majority of the courses are transferable.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I promise you if you go to daley college it will be worth the time and the effort. It will be worth every penny spent because not only do they have great classroom atmosphere they have great teachers who teach the material in them.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here I enjoy the friends I've made. I've enjoyed the different activities that go on here for the cultures n its just so amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    There's a lot of material that is given to me to remember and because of that I'm learning a lot but I'm also remembering it too.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Everything covered by financial aid!

    Am enjoying being here

    Cool teachers really take their own time just for making sure you understand.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is the perfect place to start to get the best education for your money. Going here saved me about 12000 dollars or more per year.

    What to do for fun

    Many things around the area that you can do for fun on your off time.

    Food and Dining

    Great Cafeteria! 7/10

    Dorm Life

    Lived at home 10/10

    Academic Rigor

    I just graduated from the Nursing program. I will not lie to you, the classes were hard. We were given everything needed to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    IF you plan to attend a CCC please don't go in thinking it is easy. Make up your mind and do what is required of you and the teachers there will put in the work needed.

    In three sentences

    The school is great. The teachers here demand your presence and they give you their all.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are about two of these clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    They dont have many.

    Great for these types of students

    Financially conscious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Research the teachers is always a good idea at daley

    Food and Dining

    Daley has a small cafeteria but the food is good. They have plenty of junk food but they also have salads, fruit, and parfaits. Its open til 2.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existing

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has a staff available to help you get whatever information and academic advice available.

    In three sentences

    This school is a pretty chill school. Most student(of all ages) here have a clear idea of what they need to get done and most teachers(expierienced) make themselves available for the students.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very protective

    What to do for fun

    sports, game room, different fund raisers going on all the time, swimming pool and the gym

    Food and Dining

    very healthy food

    Dorm Life

    no on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Everything is very interesting you really learn there

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid it is very helpful and this school is a very good way to knock out some of you basic classes needed.

    In three sentences

    This school is very accessible. The school has helped me to complete the classes needed to continue my education. It is affordable.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for working students.

    What to do for fun

    Hit the swimming pool in the lower level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the schedules months in advance as classes get filled up pretty early.

    In three sentences

    It offers great hours for working adults. The professors want to see you succeed. Small class size is an added bonus.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Daley college have its own space where students can gather and hang out to play pool and some other activities. Or even the gym can be a fun place to work out.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest I have only ate once at school, due to my busy schedule. But I would say that the food is great they have a variety of it each day.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not hold dorms since it is only a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I would definitely give the college a four star. based on the experience of great learning with the professors I have had in the past.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend to take general classes of your major here. Tutors are available to help out, and selective teachers really push up the education to the next level.

    In three sentences

    Richard J Daley College has been my second home. So far throughout the classes I have taken, I have developed a more open vision to my future career. It has great professors that help you a lot in understanding the material.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is ALWAYS around! I feel very safe all the time! They are very serious about entering the school with an id too.

    Greek Life

    No greeks on campus :(

    Great for these types of students

    Great for adult students, parents, and people who have careers but are looking to advance.

    Bang for the buck

    Courses are very inexpensive and most are transferable to a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Daley has a game room for students. Its actually pretty cool!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what your intentions are for attending Daley. Its also a great idea to know what program you are enrolling in. After you've figured that out, make sure you and your advisor come up with an education plan.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security in the school and also in the parking lot to help students when they are needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is much to do on campus but it might be difficult to find the locations because every club/ organization has it own location where they meet and the locations can change.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Everyone is unique in there own way and that is what Richard J. Daley is about, having diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bookstore in the lower level on campus and there is a room right across from there which is the student recreational room where there are several organizations that are available on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are a lot less expensive than four year universities.

    What to do for fun

    Things that can be done for fun is join organizations that are offered on campus. There are many to choose from and therefore, there should be at least one that might interest you.

    Food and Dining

    The food might not be the best but there are days where the food is made such as taco salad and much more, which makes it interesting because some of the food might be the same but they have different things to offer.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes the rigor is there definitely, but like always some teachers will apply it more than others. However, I think that it is up to the students as well to gain knowledge no matter what the coursework is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and get to know where the classrooms are before your first day of class. For you information there is a student room in the basement where there are several organizations that students can become involved such as Student Government Association (SGA), Latin American Student Organization (L.A.S.O.), and many more. I highly recommend to be an active student not just academically because you will gain many skills and it will definitely help you manage your time better.

    In three sentences

    Richard J. Daley College offers students an opportunity to gain knowledge while not spending too much money. Also, there are resources for students such as scholarships for undocumented students. The college offers student a well learning environment and enables them to connect with their peers.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does not always check my ID, and it's not because they know me well, some of them would just rather tend to their phone than tend to their job... I heard Chicago Police will soon replace the staff as the new Campus Security.

    Greek Life

    At least Phi Theta Kappa exists.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since the student activity is currently on the low side, they are all getting better with time! IF YOU JOIN A CLUB AND BECOME A STUDENT OFFICER, YOU WILL BUILD PEOPLE SKILLS AND STAND OUT TO ALL THE RIGHT PEOPLE! (plus, it looks good on your resume!)

    Great for these types of students

    Busy folks, parents, people who need public transportation, full time workers and part time workers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A new work-out/exercise room has been put in place for staff and students, accessible during certain times on certain days. Also, nobody tells you there's a pool table in the Student Activity Center on the Lower Level!

    Bang for the buck

    YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR SO SINCE CITY COLLEGES OF CHICAGO ARE ONE OF THE, IF NOT THE ABSOLUTE, CHEAPEST COMMUNITY COLLEGES IN ILLINOIS, YOU SHOULD NOT EXPECT ANYTHING EXTRA FROM THE ADMINISTRATION, SECURITY OR THE BATHROOMS!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club and/or visit an event for one, there is usually at least one or two happening every month!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is average and only available to students and staff who go to morning or afternoon courses. Night students must not come to class hungry, or they will only have the vending machines to rely on!

    Academic Rigor

    Since most professors are flexible about some deadlines, so is there empathy for your life outside of class - don't be afraid to open up and talk to them, because they already walked in your shoes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always communicate with your professor and let them know if you need help or extra time because if they will not help you after class, there is free tutoring available and almost daily.

    In three sentences

    Most professors are flexible, as they understand we are community college students who live busy lives outside of their class (versus being a dorm student who does not need to travel far to class.) Many resources here are limited to average, but remember that you get what you pay for... While in attendance, consider joining a club or student organization- there are a few great ones!

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize city colleges to help reduce the cost of your tuition by attending school for two years and then transferring to a four year university.

    In three sentences

    Richard J Daley College is a good school community college and it is beneficial in reducing tuition cost as opposed to attending a major for four years.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! Be active in school and get to know people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm. This is a community college, none of the community colleges in Chicago have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some great professors in this school. Some of my favorite are in the Social Science Department. Once again, it boils down to attitude and hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to school with a if it's to be it's up to me attitude. In other words, this school will not hold you by the hand, but the resources are there. You just have to look and be persistent.

    In three sentences

    There are great professors that are willing to help, but you have to meet them halfway. This is a great school, and city colleges in general are the cheapest way to get through school for the first two years. I highly recommend students to start at a community college, it'll save them a lot of money!

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    all your help is at this school

    In three sentences

    its a good college. teachers are great. advising is awesome

  • 05/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Before any one can inter the campus every student has to pass and Identify him/herself with their school ID before a security. I think that the school would be a bit more safer if metal detecters were installed on the of chance that someone might want to sneak a weapon into the school.

    Greek Life

    The PTK (PHI THETA KAPPA) program is awesome. Joining alone has incredible benefits, but the great ones come from interacting with the fellow members of the club.

    Clubs and Activities

    It does not have many clubs as of now, but the number of clubs is increasing each and very year. Also it has a great honors program and does have the PHI THETA KAPPA honors program as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who are into meeting new people and making friends. You really get to bond with the new people you meet in and out side of class.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think that what we pay for is what we get. This is a community college and you are going to get community college academics, but even sometimes you get more for less. Several proffessors teach at more prestiges universities which at end teach you.

    What to do for fun

    I have out with my friends form time to time in open spaces made to pass the time. We sometime go to the game room to place a game of ping pong here and there.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Daley serves several different types of food taking into consideration the tastes of the numbers students at attend it every day. If it were to serve more healthy food I would eat there more often.

    Dorm Life

    Daley college is a community college and there for it does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Since Daley is a community college it does have its drawbacks. It doesn't have what is considered the material aspect of the college experience. What I mean by this is that it doesn't have as good equipment as what a four year university might have; taking a toll on some of it academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to study, and what university you plan on transferring over to after your second year. You don't want to graduate latter then what you have to. Also don't slack off in-between class periods.

    In three sentences

    Although it might not be the most expensive, fancy or high technological college in Chicago, Daley does have a bright side to it. I have come to met some of the most kind people at Daley; most who are now my friends. This alone gives Daley enough value for me to continue studying there for as long as I have to.

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe place to be, there is security everywhere and your vehicle is secure in the parking lot, too.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of students, specially for minorities.

    What to do for fun

    I do not utilize the entertaining center; however, they do have one and it's always full of students. It seems to be a great place to release the tension that comes with college education.

    Food and Dining

    Food was ok, very convenient for the long hours in class.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not a very complicated school; however, some science courses can be a bit challenging. But don't worry, the instructors are very dedicated and willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Obtain an education plan from day one, stick to it and commit to complete! Don't give up!

    In three sentences

    Daley College is very affordable. It's very student-centered. it has a great administration group.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I often saw signs around the school for different events to attend. I never went to any, but that might be something to look at if you're interested. The school is a commuter school. No one really hangs around; they come to classes and then go home or to the library.

    Food and Dining

    I've never had the food, so I wouldn't know.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The work was extremely easy. I took English 101, English 102, and Speech. Speech was the only one that I actually had to work, but it was easy. It's easy to keep putting it off, but just set aside the time to get it over with.

    Tips for prospective students

    You're going to have to learn to self-teach if that's not a skill you have already.

    In three sentences

    I took a few classes as part of the school's Dual Enrollment program as a high school student. Overall, you will have to self-teach and not depend on the teachers. I only felt challenged in my Speech Class. the other classes I took was English 1010 and English 102.