Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

City Colleges of Chicago-Wilbur Wright Col. Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are uncomfortable with large classes or crowded hallways would feel more at ease when attending Wright College. Smaller classes mean more individual attention from professors which is helpful when students are struggling. The school is easily accessible and cheap for students who have obligations outside of school such as families or work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have been at Wright for two years and will receive my Associate of Arts degree before transferring as a Junior to a univeristy. Going to Wright saved me time, money, and frustration.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes were inexpensive compared to the ones of the same nature at other colleges and universities. It was more logical to attend Wright because I spent less but gained the same amount of information.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed my time at Wright because of the friends I made there and the relaxed environment which made me feel comfortable. The teachers can be very understanding and helpful and the campus is small and welcoming.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a great variety of interesting and pertinent courses at Wright which are taught at the same level as typical univeristy courses. I am able to comprehend more of what I am taught now in comparison to my time in high school.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus does have campus safety enforcer's...

    Clubs and Activities

    Im not really sure.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who require more hands on learning.

    What to do for fun

    Talk to professors, its not really anything much to do, but go to classes.

    Food and Dining

    Decent

    Dorm Life

    Wright has doesnt have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help, if you are unsure about something. the professors are mostly always happy to help.

    In three sentences

    Wilbur Wright is a great college. I think if you are avoiding the costly expenses of a four year intuition, then wright is the best choice to get your basic class over and done with.The professors are very friendly and helpful, and the classes are small, so you get a more hands on.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    wright college is a very good place to start off if planning to transfer to a four year college. it is also an inexpensive way of getting the basic courses out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    join the activities that they offer, if not then join their many sports that they offer. the college life can only be fun if taken good advantage of.

    Food and Dining

    i don't much eat here, but when i have the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life at this college as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    wright has many challenging courses of which to take and even the easier courses teach you something new that you never thought to have found out.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and get the main courses out of the way also listen to the college advisers and don't be hesitant to talk to them as they are there to help guide you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    this school is very helpful in what you're majoring in. wright college has been very resourceful in helping me find my true major. the staff here is very friendly and aren't hesitant to help out.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on this campus it's in a really good area, near the suburbs away from all the bad neighborhoods.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have wrestling, and other activities that involve drama, poetry, music and all that fun stuff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On top of the parking lot, nice and windy can see everything around very nice spot to just relax and think on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the professors the amount of money used for the courses is totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the scenery outside is very nice, there is food places located around and a mall about a mile down the road not too far, can get there walking pretty fast too on a nice day.

    Food and Dining

    They have an amazing place for gyros across the street called Wilbur's Red Hot's it's a fair price, you get what you pay for!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    College is pretty relaxing, depending on your professors and the amount of work you receive. Studying on your own is a must regardless of which course you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though it's community college, do not think it is easy, depending on your professor the course can be very challenging. If you feel the college isn't challenging enough then add classes to keep yourself busy.

    In three sentences

    The college makes sure you're prepared for university and making sure the student is heading towards the right path. Advisers are great, they help students find programs to help them get into other universities. The professors are very helpful always willing to help you on their free time.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with buddies from class.

    Food and Dining

    I was a night class student and vending machine was my only food option :/

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They have high expectations every student needs to pass with a 75% or higher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and find a passion and stick with it.

    In three sentences

    I am currently a student at wilbur wright and I had a great experience here. I am a continuing education student enrolled in the phlebotomy program and i highly recommend it to anyone. The teachers have great communication and teaching skills.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are well seasoned and trained. They have a good mix of race, age, and background experience. I even heard a few guys work SWAT for the Chicago Police Department and they work here part-time. Come on! The men are all friendly and in my experience have handled certain rare situations tactfully and in a timely manner.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa (a National Honor Society). Geeks wanted!! Didn't you hear? Geek is the new chic!

    Clubs and Activities

    *** Read above. around 25 different clubs like Circle K a community service club, Christian club, Stage Wright drama club that always get nominated at the state and national level throughout other community colleges, American Chemist Society, Animal Rights...so many different clubs. Or just hang out in the cafeteria and hear some good slam poetry and music/karaoke from our music club. Also, if there's something you want that they don't have they make it easy to start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. traditional and non-traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wilburpalooza is Wright's annual Welcome Back-to-School event. This event opens students up to participate on school grounds in games, activities along with meeting other students and student organizations (clubs).

    Bang for the buck

    No idea what this means, but if it's the cost of tuition then it's simple. It's a city college. Get your prerequisites here for a fraction of the cost at a 4 year. Books + student fees + application fees + cheap credit hour tuition = MORE MONEY IN YOUR POCKET with a QUALITY EDUCATION! You can't get smarter than that!

    What to do for fun

    GET INVOLVED!!! They have men and women basketball team, wrestling team, gym, pool, around 25 different clubs like the music club, community service clubs, christian club, drama club, and Phi Theta Kappa (a National Honor Society)...so much to do. Or just hang out in the cafeteria and hear some good slam poetry and music/karaoke by other students.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is ok. Not the greatest, but not the worst. Prices are o.k. too. There's a few fast food places across the street: Wilburs, McDonalds, Jays Beef, and Eli's Cheesecake. Then down the road you have a Subway, Dunkin Donuts, pizza place and Chinese restaurant too.

    Dorm Life

    They have none whatsoever, it's a community college, but their student life is GREAT by the way. Many clubs are available and they have a student government that cares for the campus and institute and really wants the student body to enjoy themselves and get all they can from Wright in a safe, fun and educational environment. Wilburpalooza, their big bang yearly event is a campus party that free for all students with games, laser tag, food and more. Though there aren't dorms, if you're sociable you'll find yourself at Wright for more than just your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but do-able. I often go for the hard professors because I need to learn the material for when I transfer to a 4-year. There are some class you know you don't need and can breeze on by with the minimum work, but then there are others that keep you sleepless the entire semester. Either way...you get the best of both.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stick to one adviser, but meet and sit down with a few different ones to get a few different opinions, this is also a good way of knowing if you're course selection is on the right track for graduation eligibility. As to choosing professors, by all means go and meet them and ask questions if you're unsure about a particular course/professor. And once you've been there a few semesters ask students and compare to get the best professors. A bit of effort goes a long way to get the best of the best at Wright.

    In three sentences

    Besides the wonderful location it is in the city, Wright has many talented professors and administration who genuinely care for the success of their students. It is easy to make friends and build relationships within the campus and they have a GREAT student life! If you're going to go with City Colleges Wright is the WRIGHT WAY!

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an area where security guards hang out on the first floor of the arts building, and they walk around sometimes just to check things out. But, for the most part, if something breaks out, someone will have to call them to come help.

    Bang for the buck

    One really good thing about this school is that if you get financial aid, you are covered and then some. By the the end of the semester, most of the students have financial aid money left and get refund checks.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch room has pretty decent food and is pretty roomy, with televisions and some computers placed around. There is also a McDonald's across the street on the Montrose side, and Wilbur's, a nice little place to eat with good food across from Narragansett.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there are no dorms at Wright.

    Academic Rigor

    Coming from a magnet high school, the school was pretty easy for me. I maintained at least a 3.2 in every semester I was there, without putting much effort in. I imagine if you came from a good high school or are transferring from a good college, the work will be nothing for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a teacher that you like and trust, and that likes you in return, to talk about transferring with. A lot of advisors at Wright seem like their goal is to make you actually graduate, instead of just transferring with the credits you might have.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many great clubs and organizations!

    Food and Dining

    Big and healthy lunch room

    Dorm Life

    Great academic environment. Many beautiful and quiet places to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Your future lays in your hands.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and enjoy your time at Wright!

    In three sentences

    Wilbur Wright College is a great college! They have the best teacher, academic environment, and facility. If you are planning to attend transferring school, this is one of the best schools to consider.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrol and cameras all over the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Council and Newspaper are probably the biggest clubs at Wright. A little more publicity would be nice though.

    What to do for fun

    You can join the newspaper organization or student council.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh but feels and taste like elementary school lunches.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to go to a college or university Wright College would be the best way to go becasue it's cheap, easy to get to, and very friendly yet safe.

    In three sentences

    As a current student Wright College hs a very friendly and safe atmosphere. I feel very welcome, and feel like the advisers are always available to help in any situation, as well as the professors. Also it's a very easy school to get to and move around, so classes are very easy to get to.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, organizations, student government, and make a difference for yourself by getting inlvolved with your school and your community.

    Food and Dining

    There is a McDonald's right next to the campus in case you don't like the food at right or if you're sick of the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't heard of any dormitories at Wright.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended the classes yet but I'm hoping they're not so bad because as an incoming freshman, I've heard that five courses (18 credit hours) is a lot. So that worries me a little, but I'm pretty confident I will manage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go there before you apply. Although it is a beautiful campus, it can be kind of confusing at first.

    In three sentences

    Wright's campus is very clean and the staff is very quick at helping you. You have a lot of course options that can be transferred to other colleges. The college advisers may need to brush up on tips to help students.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. There are security guards in the center of the campus and the security guards are always walking around.

    What to do for fun

    There's a pool and a gym, so it will help to keep in shape.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves pretty good food. The best part is that it's right in the building and it's not that expensive. They lounge out the cafeteria is pretty cool too.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging at times, but all the teachers make sure you know what's going on, and if you have questions they always answer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan for the moments you have a long time between classes. Don't slack off because it's a community college, it's not easier and you still need to put in work.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras everywhere that are being monitored. Campus security circles the parking lots and garage often as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive in comparison to other schools in the area if you are someone who is paying out of pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, dance, movies, theatre, environmental clubs, etc....

    Food and Dining

    Very small dining area since this is a community college. Food is average dining food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research instructors before signing up for classes (ask other students their opinion as well). Sign up for classes early because they fill quickly. Be prepared to be patient with the financial aid department, especially if you are dealing with loans.

    In three sentences

    Good, inexpensive college to complete prerequisites. Supportive staff of instructors and advisors. Only downfall, financial aid. They are not as helpful or proactive in assisting students as they could be.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are really friendly and always help when your lost.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    The Video Game club sets up fun things to do in the lunch room every day.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who isn't sure what 4 year college to transfers to but can get an associates that will transfer once they decide.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a nice path to walk on around the school and most of the plants have labels if your interested in them.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the most affordable schools in Chicago and classes transfer to 4 year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Join the Video Game Club!

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early to make sure you get a spot and always buy your books before the first day.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to get your foot in the door of real college life. The staff and teachers are friendly and easy to get in contact with. Campus is pretty big and the library is really cool.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many choices, great people to have fun with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a giant pyramid shaped Library building, and a scale replica of the Wright Flier.

    Bang for the buck

    And to that quality is not sacrificed for your big bang for a little buck.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends at our student center, or the cafeteria dining area. Every Wednesday there is an Open-Mic night by the cafeteria with some very good acts. There are also many clubs and organizations that can keep you interested in student life and to explore new activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria, as well as, a little family owned restaurant across from the school that always gives student discounts. Of course there is a McDonald's for cheap food when you might be in a hurry. We also have a great little coffee and espresso booth run by students on campus in the events building, they are located in the apple shaped structure.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm life here as there are no dormitories at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Interesting classes on many subjects, most teachers expectations are just right for students. They expect for their students to exceed but do not ask for a impossible amount of work to be completed or not enough from the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for transfer students and two year degree seekers, great faculty, and a good community for dedicated people.

    In three sentences

    Straightforwardly this school is one of the best two year colleges in the Chicago-land area. At Wright College I have had many teachers in a wide variety of subject, all of which had been very passionate and inspiring. I don't think it is possible to find a better school for you buck, I highly recommend this school.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe. I've been there almost two years and never seen a fight or even a spat.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa is my club where we do volunteer work etc. We are required to maintain a certain gpa to stay in the club, in turn we are given scholarship opportunities for being members.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't know what they want to major in should go here because you can study a wide variety of courses.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is worth the money because it has some of the best City College teachers and a wide selection of courses which many other community colleges don't have.

    What to do for fun

    Wright throws several plays every year in our huge auditorium. We have open gym on certain days. There is open swim for students and residents of the neighbor hood on certain nights.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a huge selection of places to eat walking distance from campus but the essentials are pretty much covered. There is a bar right across the street if that interests you. Also we have a great cafeteria that serves some pretty good food i.e. burgers, cheese fries, chicken sandwiches etc.

    Dorm Life

    Wright has no dorms. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you take your math, science, and english requirements right away or consecutively. DO NOT put them off you will regret it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never wait until you get to the third floor to use the bathroom! Use the bathrooms on the first floor or basement, they are always empty! Take some art classes! Take at least one or two physical education classes to stay in shape. Wilbur's has great food! Patrick Ham and Hui Min are two of the best professors in that school, take one of their classes! Register online! Registering at school and waiting in lines when you don't have to is a big waste of time. If you need more money for books, ask around and see who still has money on their book voucher, if they are a real friend they will buy your book for you.

    In three sentences

    Wright College is a great place if you want to attend a community college that feels like a small university. Most of the teachers are professional, helpful, friendly, understanding, knowledgeable and creative. The campus has a unique design, many places to hang out/study, and a beautiful library.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is plenty of security to keep an eye on campus grounds. They constantly roam the parking lots and parking garage to prevent vehicle break-ins.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs associated with the school ranging from literature enthusiasts to math lovers and video game players to pre-pharmacy students. Each maintaining active student participation to keep them thriving.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who can only attend school part time during specific hours. Each course has a wide range of dates and times offered to accommodate the working parents and those who want to transfer to a university down the road

    Bang for the buck

    One of the most affordable junior colleges in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria facilities are always kept clean and offer a variety of affordable meal choices.

    Dorm Life

    As a junior college the campus has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging enough so as not to be boring and not so difficult that you cannot leave the class without understanding the materials covered. The instructors are well versed in the materials they cover so that subjects can easily be broken down to the basics and related to real world situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a good educational goal so the academic advisers can help you set up a detailed plan to get the Certificate or Degree you want or the pre-requisites you need to transfer to a university.

    In three sentences

    Wilbur Wright is a great option for affordable school. The wide range of programs are perfect for beginning studies in any field, especially for those who want to transfer to a 4-yr school. The instructors at this school know their stuff and work hard to ensure the success of their students is achieved.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria I do not eat from there but I have tasted their food a couple times. The food is great but it is also a place to relax and enjoy some time with friends.

    Dorm Life

    Even though wright does not have dorm life, it will be a good experience If they had but it is still home to many people who attend this school.

    Academic Rigor

    They have many academic choices that one can choose from. Each degree has its own requirements so it is easy to follow and ee what classes a student needs to earn that degree.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good college, the staff does everything that they can to get a student on track and complete their education. Teachers do their best not to fail a student because they want them to succeed and they believe in their students.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security but I've never seen them do much of anything

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a couple great clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for future nurses, and back to school mothers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they put on a performance of the Vagina Monologues.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall I'd give it a three out of ten.

    What to do for fun

    There is practically nothing to do for fun except if there is a play on, then there is some decent entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is decent but they close by 2 pm every day which is kind of pointless.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Wright College.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are moderately paced and others can be a bit much. Chemistry at Wright can be extremely difficult and the end result is based on one test.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that anyone who is going to take classes at Wright College, take as many as you can, as fast as you can. Get out as soon as possible and move on.

    In three sentences

    They are decent if you want a quick education. If I had to do it over I'd go somewhere else because I like to be social and everyone here has a get in and get out mentality. I wish they had more theatre.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and i haven't heard or seen anyone get into a fight or robbed. There are always security just in case anything happens.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount your pay for your classes are well worth it, because it they are affordable and your get what you pay for. Students have access to the library, media room, tutoring, homework help, video game clubs, sport clubs, etc.

    What to do for fun

    After class the first thing there is to do is go out and eat with friends and talk about the lecture. I personally spend my time doing my homework and try to improve on my weak subjects. I also work in downtown chicago which takes much of my time out of the week.

    Food and Dining

    The Food at Wilburt wright is not diverse. But you are offered your fruits, vegetables, and proteins.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms in city colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    The work, projects and homework at Wright College are all challenging and helpful. The professor give work based in the lecture, and at times off the book. I find myself having challenging approaches to new problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    The class in Wilburt Wright college are fun and well oriented, professor will work with the student to meet there needs or question. Students who are starting the college life should get to know the professors and student around them. This can be a pro because if a student need help they will have people to help them in the journey to graduation or trasnfering.

    In three sentences

    There are times when a senior in high school has trouble attaining the scholarships that all the other students got because they were academically superior. This can lead to no money for college, but know one should be discouraged. City colleges are there to make it easy to pay for school and accumulate credit hours and class that would otherwise cost 5 times more in a a University.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the events they are the best.

    Food and Dining

    The food hasnt caught my attention yet.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorming here

    Academic Rigor

    The fact that I am really devoted to doing homework and make sure i understand the material really keeps wanting to go to class every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with your adviser, they are only there to help. Check out all the programs available or even the events.

    In three sentences

    Really does the job into introducing students to college level courses. The instructors do a great job with notifying students with the programs at schoo, such as tutoring. They make students a priority.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not many but there are still some like Wright Stage - A drama club A chem club, glee club, ....and others.

    Great for these types of students

    - Undecided about a major. - Financial issues. - Getting Gen Eds out the way without having to spend thousands of dollars at a 4 year university. - Looking to graduate with an Associates in 2/3 years.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not as people make it out to be. It's actually a good school and you'll meet great people if you give it a chance.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends after school. Join some clubs or sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get some GEN ED's out of the way without having to waste all that money. If you are undecided about what major or career you want to take or if you don't have enough means to afford a 4 year university at this point i do recommend looking into Wright. I honestly thought I was going to hate it there because it wasn't in my original plan to go there. But you just have to accept things that come your way and have an open mind. You have to be willing to give things a chance and work hard to reach your goals. You are making a wise decision by attending a community college that will cut the cost of college by more than half! Saves you money and you get credits taken care of for when you actually do transfer to a 4 year university.

    In three sentences

    Wright is really undermined and underrated. It has a great faculty and professors that are willing to get you to where you want to be. The environment is nice and everyone is very friendly and not only that but it is so affordable!

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    FUN!!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Concerts

    What to do for fun

    anything

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss the class

    In three sentences

    Beautiful, helpful and professional teachers.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students, commuters, and altogether busy students looking to jumpstart their education.

    Bang for the buck

    At only about $1500 a semester for a full-time student, school doesn't get more cost effective than this.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs and organizations that encompass many interests at Wilbur Wright. There is also a multitude of things to do for fun in and around the city of Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is limited on-campus. There is a basic cafeteria and plenty of vending machines. There are also a number of fast food restaurants in close vicinity of Wilbur Wright.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college for commuters, so dorm life is nonexistent.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is definitely less here than that of a four year college. This makes Wilbur Wright a perfect choice for students who have work or familial obligations. The teaching staff genuinely wants you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing to do at WIlbur Wright is to attend every scheduled class. If you can do this and put in the time and effort to study, you will surely succeed.

    In three sentences

    Wilbur Wright is located in the northwestern area of Chicago, a couple of miles west from the 90/94 interstate. The campus is easily accessible and minimal in size, making navigation very easy. The professors have flexible office hours which allow you to seek help in subjects and establish rapport.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel relatively safe at Wright. I typically only see security guards at their desk, however the atmosphere is low-key enough that I don't feel threatened by anyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't found anything that fits for me. Most of the clubs are math/science/medicine oriented. It's hard to find information on clubs as there isn't an online database and going to the student affairs office isn't helpful. They'll give you a list of available clubs but don't know club meeting times and as club officers are students themselves they aren't always active at answering inquiries about the club via email.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, career minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's not unusual, but I find Wright in Your Corner to be a very safe place. It tends to be quieter than the library when they aren't holding info sessions.

    Bang for the buck

    If you choose a good teacher Wright is absolutely worth it. If you are in a high-need financial aid bracket as I am, you should be able to attend Wright for fear. It's a relief. However, if you are looking for a true college experience, Wright may not be the best place for you. If you are planning to focus on your studies and aren't deterred by limited socialization (if you don't know people), then go for it!

    What to do for fun

    I personally find there are very few opportunities for fun. They have a few clubs, however, as they are student run, contacting club presidents and finding information can be difficult and/or inconsistent. There are events occasionally, but most are geared towards established groups of friends. If you don't know anyone and are more soft-spoken or shy, Wright is not the best place to branch out. I find the people to be a bit clique-ish and it resembles a high school environment.

    Food and Dining

    While I love the lunch staff, the food is not very healthy and ridiculously overpriced. Getting the lunch special (sandwich, chips, drink) and a muffin costs a MINIMUM of $5. If you don't like the soda machine drinks you can add on at least $2 for something from the refrigerator. If you want a higher quality dessert than plastic wrapped processed sweets, you add on $3. I spend between $7-13 on lunches. To save money, pack a lunch There are microwaves. The lunch room closes at 3p, so it isn't available from evening students. If you are there before 3p, DO NOT by bottled water. You can get a large Styrofoam cup for a little over 50 cents. Bottled water costs more than $1. The dining room itself is typically crowded and pretty rowdy. The tables aren't always clean. The only real benefit to eating in the dining room is if you can meet with friends, or would like to listen to the open mic on Tuesday or Wednesday (I'm not sure what day it is).

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at Wright College.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on who you get. I haven't had any teachers that were extremely rigorous in amount of assigned work. For most classes, if you do what you're told you'll succeed. It's important that you get a good teacher though, classes with incompetent teachers are significantly harder because they are often unclear with their wants an expectations. Avoid those teachers at all costs!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Look on ratemyprofessors.com to see who are the best teachers before picking your classes. -Do all planning early: register as soon as classes are available and pick up books/ids well before the first day of school. -Attend all relevant seminars and manage your time well. -Talk to your advisor and exhaust the resources given to you. -Talk to your teachers! A visible student is often a successful student.

    In three sentences

    Wright is an excellent college for those looking to save money, or those who are not ready for the rigor of a four year institution. The classes are flexible and can mold to any known schedule and good teachers provide adequate support and accommodations. There are relatively limited opportunities to expand your social circle if you have alternative interests, so I'd recommend this school for goal oriented people who don't require heavy social interaction.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety always seems to be up to par.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, from academic to athletic.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students who want to save money for general education classes, or students who want to return to school to finish a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There doesn't seem to be any.

    Bang for the buck

    Wilbur Wright Community College is worth the money for students who want to save annual tuition for general education, or for students wanting to return to school. The school is overall affordable, yet provides a very professional environment for it's students.

    What to do for fun

    There are many academic clubs to join, as well as athletic teams to take part in.

    Food and Dining

    There is food and dining, but it isn't included in the tuition.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is all around fair. The material provides a challenge, yet captures your interest. Among classes, school work, learning experiences, and expectations, Wilbur Wright excels in providing a great education for its students.

    In three sentences

    This institution is well organized when it comes to registration, keeping track of student progress during semesters, and till graduation. Wilbur Wright College also does a great job when it comes to preparing students for the transfer process and moving on to a four year university.