Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Clark State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any that don't mind living somewhere other than a dorm. For the driven student, an associates degree can be earned by the end of the summer, and for the more relaxed student holding a job and going to school will not be difficult. I especially recommend this school for single parents.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in and take a tour, it makes getting around much easier. Also notice that there is more than one building in more than one area. That will save a lot of time and gas. Talk to the bookstore workers and cashier's office because they will gladly explain how to avoid extra fees. Feel free to look online at the many online, night, and self paced courses Clark State has. This school is all about flexibility.

    Bang for the buck

    Several of the professors here work very hard to make sure that credits from Clark State will transfer to most major Ohio universities. So instead of paying for a years worth of credits at a four year semester institution for general classes, a student can pay one third of the cost and earn twice as many credits on this schools quarter pace.

    Am enjoying being here

    Clark State is a community college that hosts mostly working students. This means that some are parents and older than the “ideal” college student. This also means that Clark State is not really a party school, nor does it include dorms just yet. Fortunately the school and professors take into account the time that most students will be spending at work, so homework is usually manageable. About once a month an activity, such as alcohol awareness or a carnival is held to encourage school spirit. It's really easy to make friends here and the college staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here really care about how much students learn. One class that I had trouble with was Chemistry. The teacher not only met with me after school, but also video tutored me on a school funded program and set up a group study day for the entire class. The courses are not as challenging as a four year institution, but each student will learn almost as much as if they had gone to a four year college.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for adult students, since they have flexible class schedules. It's great for beginning students, so they can get their general education classes out of the way in a intimate environment. It's great for PSEO students. It's great for everyone who's looking to get the extra edge they need!

    Bang for the buck

    Clark State is 85.50 per quarter credit hour. It is really great since our classes will transfer to other universities. You're paying 3 times less for your classes versus a traditional university.

    What to do for fun

    You could be apart of various clubs, like Phi Theta Kappa, the Interfaith minstries, the Gay/Straight Alliance, the Creative Writing Club, Chess Club, and many others!

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria and cafe at the main campus in Springfield, but they are only open a limited number of hours. They don't have any cafes at their other campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    Clark State is great academically. They have smaller class sizes so you really get the one-on-one time with your teacher that you need. We also have tutoring services and disability services for students needing an extra boost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to pick a major and stick with it. Yet, even if you do decide to change, your general education classes here will transfer to many different colleges. Try going to Clark State Community College first and then transfer to a university to keep costs down.

    In three sentences

    Clark State is truly a college that has your best interest in mind. They make sure they are advising you to take the right classes in order to graduate on time, they have many different majors, and they try to make a schedule that best fits your needs. Clark State has truly been a life changer for me.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I ahev never had an issue with my car or belongings or myself as a matter of fact. There is police officers that patrol the building and parking lot 24/7. I feel very safe at Clark State.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sports that you can attend like soft ball, basket ball, and they also have clubs but i dont attend so im not sure of the names.

    Great for these types of students

    Down to earth, dont expect a hole bunch, small town college where you can get to no everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are really none that I no of.

    Bang for the buck

    Clark State has a lot of quite space for you to study, computers for you to use for homework projects etc, open labs for just time for yourself to study extra.

    What to do for fun

    If you have spare time and like to work out there is a gym availabe for you to use.

    Food and Dining

    We have a little cafe that has good food and drinks that include lates, and also a lunch room that also has vending if you dont have a lot of money.

    Dorm Life

    Clark State does not offer dorms so if your looking to stay in one Clark State is not for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic advisers are very helpful and are always there for you. I reccomend having an academic adviser they really help through school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask your teachers for help if needed they will help you.

    In three sentences

    Always helping students

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with an advisor, don't try to plan your classes by yourself.

    In three sentences

    It is ok. Classes for certain majors aren't offered enough.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sports and clubs you can get involved in if you choose to.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Busy but a good pace

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your deadlines for registration and financial aid. Ask questions and follow-up on details.

    In three sentences

    I am getting a great affordable education at Clark State. Everyone has been very helpful. It is a small college so everything is very convenient.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At the cafe you can get subs, soup, cookiers, chips, and so much more. The food is really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip is don't call your advisor because it's hard to get ahold of them. Instead stop by their office and make appointment.

    In three sentences

    What I like most about Clark State is that the classes are small. When you need extra help you can get one on one time with your professor. The professors do very well teaching.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are both hired security as well as criminal justice students working as school security, and campus security. I have heard of no incident on any campus in the year I have been there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to speak of. The most recent is a Kenny Rogers concert scheduled for Dec. 14th. This is only the second in a series of scheduled concerts by various artists.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. Clark State welcomes students of any type.

    Bang for the buck

    If your just looking for certification, a 2 year degree, or plan to go on to a 4 year college. The variety of learning opportunities at Clark State will give you much more than the cost would ever lead you to expect. A truky great learning experience without having to mortgage your next 20 years of earnings.

    What to do for fun

    All campus locations have regularly scheduled events as well as many special events at the different campuses. They are less than a 1/4 of a mile from the Fairfield mall, and less than 10 minutes from the Nutter Center which is an excellent venue for all sorts of events from sports to monster trucks to concerts.

    Food and Dining

    There are a huge number of restaurants nearby from BK and McD's all the way up. No on campus dining at the Greene county campus, but plenty within walking distance as well as less than a 5 min drive.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers excellent course work that will prepare you well for your upcoming career. Instructors are friendly, and helpful, but hold you to standards, and will help you meet those standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as you can. Take the compass placement test, and schedule an appointment with an adviser. Attend Orientation wide awake they provide excellent information, and can help with scheduling. They have free tutoring. If ou need help ask for it. They want to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Excellent Student Services for all students. A great diversity of degree programs with superior crossover relationships with a multitude of colleges. A large number of national and local internship opportunities.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A security guard is stationed there after five pm I think, but he is ancient and I would even be scared of him.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten there, so I have no idea.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Good teachers and I love school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to find out a lot about Clark State on your own, but do not let it get you down. Clark State is cheap and good.

    In three sentences

    The receptionists do not have clue what is happening. The teachers that I had were really good though, and I learned a lot from them. Overall, it was a good school.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very good

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all options.

    In three sentences

    They treated me with respect and honesty! I ahd most of my credits and was going to be put on a waiting list and they put me through to Ohio Hi Point asap and will finish my last semester at Clark State.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types and all ages!

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable and a great place for someone to earn their degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't really eaten the food, due to my building's location.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no food allowed in the computer labs.

    In three sentences

    Clark State is a great school for people to go to. It is not only affordable but also has great programs. The Graphic Design program there is always evolving, to keep up with the times.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking is monitored by security guards round the clock.

    Great for these types of students

    All ages, and students looking to bridge out to Wright State.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not that I am aware of.

    What to do for fun

    There are pubs and plenty of dining surrounding the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time for class. Always ask questions. Be in charge of your own educational experience.

    In three sentences

    The staff at Clark State are helpful and very informative. Clark State is a great stepping stone to Wright State towards a BA. I am looking forward to attending.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get bang for the buck. Clark State's rates are very reasonable, and you get access to the health clinic, gym, library, and many other perks along with a great education.

    Food and Dining

    The Eagle's Nest is OK, but very pricey and small portions. I have not tried the cafeteria yet, but the prices are the same so I presume it's the same.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life does not apply, as Clark State does not offer dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, Clark State is all for offering some of the best you can get- all for very low rates. Clark State keeps a very fun learning enviroment-both online and on campus courses. Clark State even offers different lengths of courses, for those who learn quickly or for those who need the full 15 weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please make sure your adviser is clear on what prerequisites you need to take. Also, be sure and always have a copy of your schedule on hand!

    In three sentences

    Clark State's friendly staff, up-to-date equipment, and great learning opportunities make it a great college to start out at. Clark State's rates are extremely reasonable, making it so anyone can afford to go. Clark State offers online, on campus, and hybrid classes making it accessible to anyone.