Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Clark University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Clark has many different types of people but the overwhelming majority seem to be bright, motivated individuals with an interest in changing the world. Be it in art, the environment or community service, Clarkies are really dedicated to fixing problems and inspiring people. If you have a curiosity for learning, a passion for helping others and want to be inspired to embark on a quest for the truth and meaning in your life, Clark is the perfect match for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think your essay really makes a difference at Clark. If you are someone who has average grades but really wants to go to Clark, show them your passion and ability to inspire others. It seems like it's the little things you do, to show how interested you are in the school, make the most difference.

    Bang for the buck

    Clark, like many colleges these days, is very expensive. It does offer very good financial aid, but it's still pricy. My academic education has been mentally fulfilling, so the cost of classes makes sense. My dorm room is much bigger than I thought it would be and has more than enough room for me and my roommate to live in. The dining plan could use a revision but the food is always homemade and almost always good. I feel like I'm getting my money's worth but it would be great for Clark to be a little less expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Clark. I know this sounds cliche but I honestly can't see myself anywhere else. Clark is kind of an unknown little school so it was serendipitous that I even applied. Many of my other friends are unhappy at college, all based on different factors, and I feel truly blessed to have found such a great match. I felt at home here after only one day, and feel like I've lived here at least a year already when in reality, it's only been a semester. The people at Clark have really made it my home. I have such great friends that inspire me to challenge myself everyday.

    Am learning a lot

    I have, quite honestly, learned more in my first semester at Clark than I ever have in my entire life. The academics here are very good but in some cases you have to step up your own learning, it isn't always handed to you. All my professors are willing to devote as much time as it takes to finding answers to my questions, be it academic related or otherwise. They all truly respect their students and are so enthusiastic about their subjects. The thing that I really love about Clark it that I'm not just learning academics. I'm learning about myself. Who I am, what kind of lifestyle I want to lead, and who I want to pursue relationships with. We have many international students and I am constantly learning new ideas and beliefs from cultures so foreign to my own. The students here, be it someone from my country or another, really take our motto to heart: challenge convention, change our world. We have a thirst for knowledge and shaping our beliefs.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your idea of college is sitting in crowded lecture halls with professors who don't know your name, and having no social life outside of those classes, Clark isn't for you. If you are someone who wants to think critically about your education, and someone who wants to expand your horizons while doing so, Clark is the place for you. I cant think of a single logical person who wouldn't love Clark to its core.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a TREK if you can, they are an amazing way to meet other new students, and they are tons of fun! It's a great way to get settled into college and go on a lifechanging adventure at the same time!

    Bang for the buck

    While Clark is very expensive, I don't know anyone who isn't on scholarship, and the overall experience and amazing education is more than worth the price. You wont be disappointed!

    Am enjoying being here

    With so many student clubs and activities going on, I have never been bored while at Clark. There is something to do every day of the week for every type of person, and if there wasn't, you could start a club and make something to do. On top of that, there are so many interesting and genuine people at Clark to hang out with, I have enjoyed meeting and being with them so much, and they are the people who really make the Clark experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I have never been in such an amazing learning environment. There is a professor here for everyone with a different teaching style, beliefs, and ideologies. I have never had a class where I haven't learned something, and the professors are always so helpful whenever you ask for help. It's the perfect learning environment.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Clark is a really great school for students looking to get a global take on their liberal arts degree as well as students looking to make a profound impact on the world. With special programs such as the International Studies Streams, students cannot help but find themselves with a truly innovative sense of globalization and the way each person has the potential to interact with the world. Additionally, Clark is very involved with the community its surrounded by. Many students find themselves volunteering or working at non-profits, something which often results in a lifelong passion. Almost everyone I know is doing something that is making a difference. Clark's motto is Challenge Convention and Change Our World and students who wish to do so can really excel here. If you're looking to go abroad, learn about the world from the US, or get very involved in volunteer and community work this is definitely the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    During the Student Activities Fair, get information for any club you might be vaguely interested in. You will be surprised what you will end up caring about the most, and attending meetings early on can help you find a great place to thrive.

    Bang for the buck

    Clark can be very expensive, especially if you're living on campus and on the meal plan (which is required your first two years here). Financial aid often decreases each year your here and tuition as well as the student activity fee goes up frequently as well. This leads a lot of students to transfer out due to financial problems or put themselves majority into debt. However, if this is the place for you there is nowhere else better to be. Students truly love the environment Clark offers, and this makes it entirely worth the private school prices. Another important factor to take into account is the Accelerated Master's Degree program which can give you a Master's Degree free one year after graduating undergrad if you qualify to the program. This can save a lot of time and money when it comes to grad school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The professor's are incredible, the students are inspiring, and the environment is exactly what I needed to thrive. I have learned so much from the experiences I have had and that is worth just as much as what I have learned scholastically. Clark did more than give me the education I needed to succeed professionally - it gave me a passion for my work. With an incredibly active campus, I have been inspired to make a difference in the world. This is something I could not have gotten anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    Clark is full of people from everywhere with backgrounds all across the board. With a mix of all sorts of people everywhere you go it is hard not to have your horizons broadened. Additionally, what I have learned academically is great too. There is a little bit of everything here!

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with a dedication to community service and are driven academically. Students who want to be a name not a number! I already have a solid relationship with two of my professors and they fought to help me get into the classes I wanted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to current Clark students! They'll tell you a lot about the school and the social environment. Clark students love to let you know about the school and will let you know if they think you are a good fit.

    Bang for the buck

    Clark is very expensive but they have lots of scholarships to help kids afford it. I got nearly half of tuition in scholarships from the school and that was 100% merit based. They do look at both parents financials which took me out of the need based realm but I got the merit based ones which I needed to afford the school. Also the free 5th year to get your masters makes the cost seem much more reasonable!

    Will enjoy being here

    The 2015 Clark University facebook page has gotten me in touch with so many people. I already have tons of friends who are making plans for the school year to hang out and stuff. There is a since of community which I have seen at very few other colleges (and I looked at a ton of colleges).

    Will learn a lot

    I already am learning so much and I haven't even started classes. All the professors have been help and welcoming, answering any questions I have no matter how trivial. I feel like everyone is there to help you learn instead of cut you down.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police officers are all well-trained. There is even an mini-van escort service to assist in local travel to accomplish tasks and errands.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life recognized on campus by the University.

    Clubs and Activities

    Both academic and sports related activites are happening at Clark. Register early though, slots fill up quickly.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone except homebody's. Get out and see what awaits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SPREE DAY!!!!! You'll see what I mean. Love it!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Clark is expensive, but it is a University name that is well recognized with achievement and success.

    What to do for fun

    Worcester has ample opportunity for fun. Whether its dinner on Shrewsbury Street, a show at Hanover Theater or hiking a trail just outside the city, there are plenty of places to play.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food isn't bad. Meals at the Bistro are very good and cooked to order.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are large & students get creative w/spacial design and decorating. I loved living in the dorms. For upperclassmen, living w/your friends in a suite is both economical & fun.

    Academic Rigor

    As w/most academic programs, the more you put into it, the more you'll get out of it. With that said, there are some upper level classes that require significant reading and writing. Use your time wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan for all sorts of weather. New England gets it all from snow, hail & ice to hazy, hot & humid.

    In three sentences

    Clark University has excellent professors, academics & provides lots of opportunity. They are globally aware, while begin community orientated. Clark is an expensive school.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Again, were right in the middle of an urban neighborhood, but Clark has its own police force and a safety van that drives students from 4pm to 4am. University Police is really great and if you call them they would pick you up or do whatever you need to feel safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are HUGE at Clark. If you are into something Clark has a club for it, and if not you can make it yourself really easily.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, open-minded, international or interested in international careers, active in extra curricular, self-motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clark is the only place in North America where Sigmund Freud, the famous psychologist, every spoke. There is a statue of him in the center of campus and he has a Facebook. It is rumored that he left after Clark because he got food poisoning. oops!

    Bang for the buck

    Clark has really good financial aid, gives a lot of scholarships and once you are at Clark there are many opportunities for stipends and scholarships for research and internships.

    What to do for fun

    there are always on-campus activities and performances going on, as well as shuttles to Boston and the nearby mall and movie theatre. Lots of students stay on campus on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and the cafeteria has a wide variety of options. They are currently renovating the Bistro so that should be very nice. There are also a lot of great, cheap ethnic restaurants, pizza places and a diner basically on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are a bit run down but they are constantly doing renovations. There are a large variety of options from doubles, suites, apartment complex and on-campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is very dependent on your major. If you are interested in international development/relations, political science and geography are more rigorous than International Development & Social Change. The Psychology, Environmental Science, Biology and geography are all very strong programs. Classes at Clark are very discussion and participation oriented, but definitely whatever you make of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to enter a place that is liberal, very diverse and in the middle of a busy city.

    In three sentences

    Clark is a diverse, dynamic community where everyone is involved in a variety of interesting activities, both academically and extra curricular. Although Clark is in a not-so-nice part of Worcester, it provides students with cheap living and great community service, volunteering and internship opportunities. Clark University offers the small liberal arts feel while providing research opportunities and has a heterogeneous population; something that's hard to come by in a small New England liberal arts school.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Clark Escort service which is convenient.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs example: Hip Hop Collabo, Dance Society, Intramural Sports club, Outdoor club,many more

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a red square in front of the statue of Sigmund Freud. If you step on it, it is said that you do not graduate on time. If you mistakely step on it then you're suppose to rub Freud's head.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on campus; Bingo Night, Game Night, Movies Night etc

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best part.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and everything is accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the major, but the academic is challenging and makes you prepared for future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure the look what the required classes are and sign up early.

    In three sentences

    Diverse, Friendly, Welcoming

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Swim team throughout high school and year round swimming programs

    What to do for fun

    I can't wait to join the swim team...and, to find out what other clubs are out there for me.

    Food and Dining

    Food quality and atmosphere of cafeteria were great.

    Dorm Life

    Similar to the other schools I visited.

    Academic Rigor

    It looks challenging yet possible. I think I will be able to make it as hard I as I want to based on the course load I select.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research as many schools as possible. It will make it easier to identify your school...you will know it when you visit. My school is Clark University.

    In three sentences

    Clark has a wide variety of majors and clubs to choose from. The course offerings allow me to choose what I feel is important to learn about. I felt at home the first time I stepped on campus. I can't wait to attend in the fall.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is generally safe, and we do have campus police who patrol the area. however, the school is in the city of Worcester, and not in the best part of it. so, exercise caution and use the escort service provided by the school if you feel uncomfortable walking around the streets.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have many clubs and activities, and more are added each year by new innovative students!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are willing to expand your boundaries and comfort zone. This is a liberal arts school. our motto is challenge convention change our world and the other is categorizing people is not something we do here. we do have an LGBT community as well, who do a lot with the school community, so if you don't like that and can't voice your opinions nicely or agree to disagree, you many not want to come here.

    What to do for fun

    there are a ton of clubs on campus, a bus to boston every other weekend. the outing club takes camping trips every once in a while. there is a city bus that stops right outside the school that goes to the town hall, which from there you can get anywhere. And there is a bus to the mall every once in a while.

    Food and Dining

    Get the unlimited meal plan, it is well worth it and from what i remember all the meal plans cost the same anyways. there are no restaurants on campus, and the food comes from local farms and businesses. the chefs are great too and if you ask for something, they generally will try to do it.

    Dorm Life

    You have your renovated dorms with small rooms, or non-renovated with very large rooms (larger then any other college I've looked at). however people are respectful and the school try's really hard to match you with a good roommate, don't lie on that application and you'll be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder then others. sometimes it depends on the teacher, it also depends on the level of the course (100 level is easier then 200 level). But that doesn't mean you can't get a good grade if you study smart.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to study. Don't buy your books from the bookstore, their is a group on Facebook of students selling their old texts for much cheaper. Plan your schedule so you have time to eat, even if its just a quick bite.

    In three sentences

    Clark has a beautiful Campus. The people are extremely friendly and easy to get along with. The teachers love it when you come in for extra help, and also love to debate their topics with you.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Clark does all it can to keep students safe, including walking and driving escorts from 4pm to 4am every night. However, if you're beyond the radius of the campus at night, it is Worcester, so you may not be the safest on your own.

    Greek Life

    NONE. This is a wonderful thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    students with an open mind

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spree Day, held once every spring, is a day where all classes are cancelled and everyone goes outside and hangs out on the green. There's all kinds of food and fun going on throughout the day, definitely the best day of the year!

    Bang for the buck

    Though Clark is on the pricey side, I haven't regretted one thing about going here. It's worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    There's so many clubs on campus to join, it shouldn't be a problem to find something to do. There's also the city of Worcester, which has museums, parks, shops, and it's an hour from Boston by train!

    Food and Dining

    There's not a lot of options like on larger campuses, but the food is definitely much better than most colleges. There's a main dining hall for all three meals, a bistro that's open late (this is definitely a must when you're pulling an all nighter), and a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are great now that they've renovated them, but the upperclassmen housing is not as up to date, so don't expect awesome lounges with big tvs! But most of the suites on campus are great, especially for living with friends!

    Academic Rigor

    Being an art and theater major, it seems that many of my friends have a lot of written work/ reading to do, while I find myself spending an equal amount of time on rehearsing/making art. I would suggest picking a major that you don't mind doing work for, because there's a lot of work involved!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, Clark is the perfect place to do that!

    In three sentences

    Clark has a wonderfully personal and tight-knit community. The staff are incredibly helpful on a one-on-one level, and are genuinely interested in furthering your education. The students create a community where it's okay to be who you are without being judged.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clark offers so many activities throughout the week. From day to day, what to do for fun varies.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is somewhat mediocre. But the swaps program is a very convenient addition.

    Dorm Life

    The buildings themselves are small and close knit. The rooms are incredibly spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any college, you will find some classes and professors more difficult than others. In general, classes are rigorous and require a lot of work, but that's the same at any college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you believe Clark is the school for you, consider the location of the school. The university is not located in the best part of the city, so off-campus life isn't the best. But if that isn't a problem, consider what you want to major in. If you don't know, Clark may be perfect for you!

    In three sentences

    Clark University in an excellent school for those looking for a small campus atmosphere with a lot of student-professor interaction. Most classes are taking in a classroom, and even the larger lecture hall classes usually have under 100 students. Clark is also a great college for those who don't know what they want to do in college or for a career.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Escort system is great. Campus pd is awesome, they send you email alerts and don't care (too much) about smoking bud.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Soooo many groups to join, you're bound to find something you like.

    Great for these types of students

    off-beat

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spree day, drinking begins at 6 am and doesn't stop. Also the prof's are chill and cancel classes for the day.

    Bang for the buck

    Food is great, people are cool, classes are challenging, and the university is on the up and up.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want, no one here will judge you for doing something you think is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great, you will complain about it until you here about other universities food. Everything is made fresh in the higgins everyday. yum

    Dorm Life

    Just find people you like hanging out with and avoid the less-desirable.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a fair amount of work to keep you busy but not so much that you have no time for anything or anybody else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to incorporate the theme of challenging convention into your application.

    In three sentences

    Clark is a great school. It may seem a bit small at times but you just have to explore main south a little bit. The professors are great too, they really want to succeed so go and visit during office hours.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Worcester is a bit of a rough city, but generally people are safe when they travel in groups. The campus police officers are incredibly helpful, and should be used whenever one feels it is necessary. Most people I know have not had any encounters, but it is wise to not travel alone, especially when it is dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities. I personally was a member of the South Asian Student Association, despite not being South Asian myself. We did a number of cultural dances and events throughout the year, culminating in something called Gala, wherein students from all around the world put on a performance they feel represents their country. We have everything from quidditch to mock trial, along with things like Hillel, Clark Democrats, Clark Libertarians, book aficionados, a history club, a video games club, a table-top gaming club, intermural sports, Model UN, pro-Israel and pro-Palestine groups, and literally everything in between.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverted, shy, and niche students. But also great for extroverted ones as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spree Day is a great one. Once a year, classes are canceled and the administrators schedule a day of fun that includes bingo, a concert, bouncy houses, a mechanical bull, and much, much more. Just about anything goes on this day, so be warned! Also, the seniors wake you up at 6 in the morning.

    What to do for fun

    There is a never-ending supply of fun at Clark. Whether it's a cultural event on campus, or a dance troupe, or a party, or some video games in the dorm room, or one of the many school dances, there is never a weekend when you will find yourself in your room, twiddling your thumbs.

    Food and Dining

    Oftentimes horribly mediocre. Definitely the weak point. Food is easily accessible, but recent changes to the dining plan and a poor selection make matters much worse. The omlettes and variety of pizzas are a few of the bright spots, but the international cuisine and vegetarian options are, by all measures, sorely lacking.

    Dorm Life

    This is what I love the most about Clark. You might meet a kid from Afghanistan in one room, and then one from China in another room, and then another from Califronia or Washington. Clark is so incredibly diverse, and everyone has an interesting story to tell. The RAs are friendly and are always planning events for their residents. It is very likely that you will never be bored on a Friday or Saturday night, or even during any of the weekdays for that matter. There is something for everyone at Clark, you just have to look around a little.

    Academic Rigor

    Sure, classes can be a little tricky. But professors and TAs are incredibly welcoming and willing to help anyone out. There'll be times when everything seems like a bit too much, but getting down to business and putting your nose into a book really does pay off. Be sure not to put off studying for midterms and finals as many people end up doing, and always remember that academics comes first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't declare your major early. Shop around. You can change it at any time. Also, the dorms can get a bit stuffy so bring fans and humidifier.

    In three sentences

    Clark is a wonderful school: incredibly diverse; the eclectic mixture I was looking for. Liberal arts is the focus here, and we've got a great crop of world-renowned professors. When you picture college in your mind, you're likely thinking of Clark: the quintessential school that shatters every stereotype while allowing you a wide range of creative freedom.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Clark is in the poorer area of the city. This area is divided by ethnic groups making business in a section of the area. Clark is predominately in the Vietnamese/Asian section, which is not as dangerous as the other sections. Due to the clear urban development, Clark offers free and exceptionally efficient car rides from 4 pm to 4 am to any student that wants to be in a .5 mile radius from campus, which situates many stores/restaurants.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, but endless club, job, and internship opportunities due to the school being placed in such a big city.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs here, and if Clark does not have a club you are interested in, you can create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Very loving towards the LGBT community!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Freud statue can be seen dressed up every week by students.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is notorious on giving out a lot of financial aid, making final costs cheap and affordable. Great value school. Bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Clark offers free bus shuttles to Boston twice a month on a Saturday, and Clark offers free bus transportation every hour to two different malls every Friday and Saturday. To add, you can bet on Clark to provide free transportation and discounts to major event happenings in Massachusetts at least once a month.

    Food and Dining

    Not much of a variety, but changes every day.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are big, and cheaper compare to most colleges. Dorm life will be what you make of it!

    Academic Rigor

    Your grade is how much you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Leap Center for services such as: career services, writing assistance, academic advising, and other valuable services.

    In three sentences

    Small sized school with buildings conveniently spaced situated in an entertaining, urban environment. Exceptional transportation system makes up for the lack of sports life. Professors know you and will engage with you after class.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone in general. Many people say it's a hippy school, but there are diverse people in our school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be who you are. Clark is a pretty good place for everyone to settle in and be comfortable with yourself.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have dedicated campus police who do everything necessary to keep clarkies safe in our urban community.

    Greek Life

    none. we don't have frats or sororities at clark

    Clubs and Activities

    student council, latino club, choices, black student union, science fiction people of clark (spoc), and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    progressive students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    halloween scare night tradition, and taking pictures with the freud statue in front of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    its worth it ;)

    What to do for fun

    if you are into museums, eating, and hanging out with college friends in and outside of your school, clark is the place to be. with our great relationship with sister colleges like college of the holy cross, wpi, and worcester state university our fun is not limited to just our campus but goes beyond our borders into other institutions and essentially the city of worcester, ma.

    Food and Dining

    i love food! and here at clark its made well. sometimes there is a lack of options, but thanks to clark's dining services dept. starting next this year we will be offering more food options to students e.g. international cuisine, brand new sushi bar, and much more!

    Dorm Life

    clarkies love this school no matter what, but there are definetly some improvements to be made to some of the dorms. however, thanks to hard work and innovation clarks dorms will be fully renovated by this and next year.

    Academic Rigor

    you don't have to attend an ivy to be surrounded by academically competivive and rigorous students. at this private university students work hard and take pride in their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit clark! you have to love it here if you are going to get the full experience. aside from that if you are a hard worker, and desire to change your world by challenging conventionalism, this is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    one of the most unconventional, innovative institution's one can attend. as a freshman i still have much to explore, however being here for only a semester has changes my outook on life and my perspective for the future.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    clark university is situated in the heartland of worcester city and the condition is not very safe at night. the campus is, however, safe and students are strongly encouraged to walk in groups at night.

    What to do for fun

    there are many opportunities to have fun, whether students are involved in varsity, intramural, or club sports. clark has bus that travels to boston every two weeks free of charge so students can go into boston and spend the day there.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is great. you will be feed all the delicious and tasty foods of your choice. most freshman gain 15 pounds during their first semester (including myself even though i am an avid runner).

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is wonderful, and all the dorms are coed, meaning males & females reside on the same floor.

    Academic Rigor

    clark university prides itself upon providing rigorous academic studies for serious students who want to cultivate their knowledge and go further with education.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply to clark university if you'd rather enjoy the city environment while learning in school. don't hold back at this opportunity.

    In three sentences

    clark university is a great school that offers broad opportunities for students interested in many fields. the community and campus environment is wonderful. the class sizes are generally small and i rate it 7 out of 10.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    I would come here

    In three sentences

    Clark is really a great place to be. Awesome place to take learning into practical use.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police which is in the basement of Bullock Hall. Clark Escort which is student run vans that can drive to within a quarter-mile of campus. Clark EMS, if there is an emergency, trained students come to the rescue! I feel very safe on campus, you just have to be smart about where and when you go somewhere.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life which is great :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs I don't even know what to say!

    Great for these types of students

    Open-Minded and waiting to Change the World for the better!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spree Day: A day when the faculty decides to cancel all classes. Happens sometime in the spring in which great fun in had by all!

    Bang for the buck

    Clark is pricey just like all universities these days. But, they do give very good financial aid packages to those who earn them. Pricey but not unreachable.

    What to do for fun

    There are different events every week sent to the e-mails such as intramural sports, movie showings, game nights, and sports events. Let's just say you'll never be bored!

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, you definitely won't go hungry here and they have a lot of choices to eat. The Higgins Dining Room in the UC, Jazzman's in the Academic Commons, and The Bistro in the UC have many things to choose from even though things might not always be cooked they way you would like them to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! The rooms were large enough for me and my roommate to live in comfortably. Also I met most of my friends in the lounge area just hanging out and having fun!

    Academic Rigor

    You definitely have to work very hard for your grades here, as it should be. The professors are willing to help and guide you but you need to take the initiative on your learning or else you will move nowhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that the college essay has a lot to do with being accepted at Clark. My advice for whoever is reading this is to lay it all on the line, tell the school how you feel, what difference you want to make in the world, who you want to be like, and how you are going to do it.

    In three sentences

    When I was younger I never dreamed that I would be attending a university with professors that push their students as far as they can go, and then farther than that. Clark is a place where students have to have an open mind and heart and who want to make a difference in the world. At school our motto is Challenge Convention, Change our World if you feel up to the task, take a closer look!

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Clark University is the best liberal arts research facility I could ever have ever dreamed of attending.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can find so many people that share your interests, you can do almost anything for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should come to this college because there is a place for everyone. I would suggest you join clubs once you get here, clubs are great.

    In three sentences

    An incredible college with great professors. A safe place to explore your interests and be yourself. The best college that makes me very happy.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus has a lot of activities throughout the year that students can attend. Worcester has does not have as many activities as surrounding towns but Boston is only an hour's drive away so there are many opportunities to have fun around here.

    Food and Dining

    I eat on campus as often as I can. They have affordable food and it's all delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am a commuter student I have friends on campus that absolutely love living there and have made amazing friendships with each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Clark is a place where there are so many rewards for hard work. Therefore, I advise future students to get involved in as many activities as they can without hurting their studies and join the family we've formed on campus.

    In three sentences

    Clark University is a diverse and welcoming community of students that all are striving for excellence. As a commuter student I am surprised that a college that is such a treasure has always been located in my community. I am so happy that I chose this school.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clark has a lot of events and clubs going on everyday

    Food and Dining

    Because Clark it's very open in cultural life they have a lot of verity of foods to select from

    Dorm Life

    Sadly I won't be able to experience this my first year!

    Academic Rigor

    Clark it's very challenging and I'm looking toward to that.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's seem that the students were free and had no restrictions on what to wear or do on campus.

    In three sentences

    Clark it's the most wonderful, open college I have ever seen. It feels like your home. I'm looking forward to change my life.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn t much to do in Worcester, but the city is only an hour away from Boston and three hours away from New York City.

    In three sentences

    Clark is a small liberal arts school that offers a broad range of majors. Professors at Clark care for their students and the small size of the school allows for this. If I had the option to chose my college again, I would chose Clark.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They work hard to keep you safe, despite being in a high crime low income neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    the weirdos (in a friendly/positive way)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freud. Hug Freud and take a picture.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the department. Psychology and Geography are the most prestigious departments and the most rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on interesting projects and extracurriculars. Claim your passion, and write/tell Clark about it!

    In three sentences

    Clark has an incredible do-gooder spirit. Classes are rigorous and really broaden your perspectives. Interesting off-center but good-hearted and ambitious studen body.

  • 06/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    To highlight one club/activity at Clark, all of the work out options are great. The gym was just remodeled with tons of machines and is open all day so you don't have an excuse to not work out. As well, there are yoga classes, dance clubs to join, zumba, and tons more. It is all free, you can go with your friends, and a great way to keep in shape or relive stress.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are open to change and differences. Clark is a very welcoming place, especially regarding gender/sexuality topics. There are activities, classes, and friends for people of all different backgrounds and viewpoints, which really allows for students to meet new people with different perspectives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spree Day! Classes are cancelled for one day and the school brings in fun activities such as food, smoothies, ice cream, water slides, jello wrestling, and a lot more.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has tons of options. There is always a full salad bar which makes it easy to eat healthy. There are stations for those who are gluten free, vegan, and those who eat Kosher. The pizza is freshly made and there are new options at every meal. Pasta station is a great go to as well. There is a sandwich station with a lot of variety; great for when you need to grab something and quickly go. Several other stations change up what they have at every meal. There is always soda, several types of milk, juice, coffee, tea, froyo, 4 types of cereal that change every day, and some sort of dessert. The Bistro has great meals targeted for when you only have a short period of time to eat, and fresh sushi.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm was huge (compared to friends at other schools.) My roommate and I had room for everything, we even had just a tad too much closet space. It is great to live close to friends be able to call a new place home.

    Academic Rigor

    Younger friends always ask me if college is hard; I say yes, but no. Yes it is hard in the sense that you are learning more material at a higher level. No one reminds you about doing your homework, extra research is needed without notice, and it can be harder to earn good grades depending on the intensity of the class. But, in a sense it is the same as previous schooling. You have nights where maybe you don't have any work to do, but you also have nights where you are up until 3am and very stressed. If you have good or decent time management skills, keeping your grades up shouldn't be so hard. A bonus of college is that you get to take classes in subjects you like, so it makes doing homework and studying for tests a bit more enjoyable. At Clark, the intensity of the class depends on the subject, professor, and your comfort level regarding the subject. My academic experience at Clark is definitely harder than high school, but I really enjoy what I am learning and have managed to stay on top of my work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure about what college to choose, email the professors in your interested subject! They can talk about the classes they teach and research they are doing, giving you an inside perspective on your potential major. Also, reach out online to current and past students. A great way to do this is by joining facebook groups; tons of students ask and answer questions that you might have about certain schools.

    In three sentences

    Feels like home. All around a great environment.