Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Clarkson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are seeking a career in nursing, medical imaging, or physical therapy this is the school for you. Clarkson is great for student who want to be challenged and have a hunger for a quality education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out Clarkson. You won't be sorry. Great location and great education. Their motto is Prepare to be the best! so you know they have a lot of pride in what they do. Sends shivers up your spine doesn't it?

    Bang for the buck

    You defiantly get a great education at a private school for a reasonable price! I am a BSN student and have talked to some past graduated BSN students. They have all told me that Clarkson had fully prepare them for a career as a RN. They even said that some of the classroom tests at Clarkson were harder than RN boards. It just goes to so that Clarkson aims for the best!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a very home sick person, but the dorms here made me feel at home. There are so many fun spirited people here to meet. If you are struggling with testing, grasping a concept, or personal issues, Clarkson offers tutoring, testing accommodations, and counseling for free. They want to ensure that everyone gets the best quality education they deserve. They even have seminars for writing a resume and have you preform mock interviews with real Human Resource people from different local businesses, so you will be prepared when you graduate. It's almost impossible to fail here!

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes do not exceed 35 student so there is a lot of one on one time with the instructors! They have a curriculum that challenges you to research and look-up, so that you take it upon yourself to know your stuff! The instructors are all supportive and extremely helpful. They are always there to work with you if you are struggling.But they don't just give you the answer. They talk you through the problem until you figure out the answer yourself.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    parking lot is very close. the school is also located in midtown. there is occasionally a pan handler walking by.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a student council.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone with a caring heart.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everyone is just really nice.

    Bang for the buck

    free tutoring is offered.

    What to do for fun

    the school likes to keep the students involved so you contest almost once a month.

    Food and Dining

    the school brings a food vendor in 4 times a week so you don't have to leave campus. there are also restaurants within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms but the students that do seem to love it.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm in the pta program and be prepared to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is for students who actually want to be there.

    In three sentences

    clarkson college is a great school. it has some great teachers and staff. it's not over crowded like some colleges.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    campus event, fair, mall

    Tips for prospective students

    academic is priority

    In three sentences

    it has small class size. the staff is wonderful the campus is safe and convenient for shopping

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of free weekly activities for students to do. Movie nights, casino night and chainsaw jugglers are just some of the many we have had.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is the best decision that I could have made

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stay on top of your work. It's a challenging school but I love it

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students who value teachers who know you by name, not by a number. The faculty is very friendly, and they are always there to help you.

    Food and Dining

    One of the benefits, in my opinion, of living in the suite-style dorms is the kitchen to prepare your own meals in. Clarkson College does not have a cafeteria, but they do have area restaurants cater in lunch Monday-Thursday. It is easy to avoid the freshman fifteen when you are planning your own meals!

    Dorm Life

    With suite-style dorms, you get your own bedroom, a huge plus. You share a bathroom with one other person, and a kitchen and living room area with three others. There is a laundry room with FREE services, a small rec room, and a fitness room with plenty of ellipticals, treadmills, and weights to meet your basic fitness needs. All of these are open 24 hours a day. There are always activities like scavenger hunts, movie nights, yoga, volleyball, and much more to keep you busy when you have down time.

    Academic Rigor

    Clarkson College of Nursing will definitely push you to test your academic limits. A lot of study time is necessary to pass! The same is said of most nursing schools though. While the academics are tough, Clarkson College offers a lot of tools to help you do your best, like a Success Center with free tutoring and a Writing Lab to improve your writing abilities.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have buttons you can push in case of an emergency. You can call security to walk to your car or dorm. It is very safe and they are friendly to work with. 10

    Greek Life

    The have the national honor society but I am not sure if they have anything else.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have several activities: Student Government Association, Clarkson College Student Nursing Association, and other clubs that pertain to your career field. They also study abroad and have different activities for that as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who has a learning disability they are fantastic. If you are very passionate about your community, teaching other and your career field go for it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are starting to have movie night and keeping everyone active on campus life by inviting everyone to join in the fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Always rent your books. You can rent them from the college or websites. Save the money on books because you could end up with a lot of student loans to pay back. Apply for as many scholarships as possible to help cut the cost of tuition and fees,

    What to do for fun

    I run and play outdoors with the kids. I like to go hiking, ride horses, and trying new things. Whether you are scared or not.

    Food and Dining

    They have vendors that come 4 days a week and have a bookstore you can buy food.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in a dorm. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It requires a lot of study time and being organized. If you are organized and keep a pretty good study schedule. You will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you sit down with the advisors in the programs you are wanting to possible go into. Also do a job shadow so you are fully prepared for what the career path has intended for you.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson is an exceptional learning enviornment and compassion for people that want to further their education. They are willing to find someone to be a tutor. The Professors are there to help you succeed and not fail.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is teamed up with The Nebraska Medical Center.

    Greek Life

    We have it

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many to choose from, or start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working and goal oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have different things happening on campus, with many diverse clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Clarkson is a private school.

    What to do for fun

    Omaha life is full of diversity and different adventures! You will have to find your own.

    Food and Dining

    There are places to eat all around and 4 days a week food is brought in at lunch time for students to purchase.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not easy being a nursing student. You need to make time for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! I currently commute to and from school and I also have online classes.

    In three sentences

    I am currently a LPN-BSN student at Clarkson. It is a close knit family with students and faculty that are there to help you succeed!

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards on duty on campus.

    Greek Life

    They don't offer the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a student government and ambassador programs. A lot of students are involved in these programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Can't think of anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    I love how focused and driven the students are at Clarkson. The atmosphere is great and it helps you stay on track. It isn't like most college where the students are looking for constant fun. The students are Clarkson are focused on their education.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun activities they offer at Clarkson including intramural volleyball, movies, game nights, etc.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have a good selection of places to eat. All they have is a bookstore that sells gas station food and they have certain food vendors that come every day.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I don't really know. From what I have heard though, the campus life is great. It's a great way to meet new people but Clarkson has apartment style housing so it's more private than dorms. The dorm life isn't as exciting as most colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    I love their programs. They are fun and focused all at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Clarkson College is a really focused school. The classes are fast paced and you learn massive amounts of information at a time. I recommend a lot of studying.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Clarkson College. It is a very focused school. The atmosphere is great and makes you motivated to succeed.