Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Clarkson University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't like the city, people who are ready to step up their game and be challenged to do their best, and students who want a degree from a dignified college with a great reputation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and don't procrastinate like I do. I know procrastination is ingrained into everybody and sometimes it's hard to overcome it, but there were plenty of times when I fell behind in my work and felt overloaded because I blew off my homework or my studying until the last minute.

    Bang for the buck

    The price may seem a little overwhelming at first, but the price is reasonable for the type of college that Clarkson is and the college does its best to help with financial aid to lower your costs to go here.

    Am enjoying being here

    In my case, college isn't my favorite. I'm not a very social person, so I don't hang out with too many people. And since Clarkson is in the middle of nowhere, there's not much to do up here. Don't plan on coming here if you enjoy city life.

    Am learning a lot

    This college is very demanding when it comes to some subjects and very laid back when it comes to others. The big 3 courses, physics, chemistry, and calculus, serve as a filter for the students. If you can't keep up and learn the material, you might want to consider a different school. The classes can also be somewhat labor intensive at times.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student with a strong passion for science, engineering or business who consider themselves a little on the nerdy side and aren't ashamed of it. Additionally, people who are willing to push themselves and think outside the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off freshman year, but don't go all out either. Burning out freshman year is very unfortunate and many people do this right before their hardest classes. Keep a slow and steady pace, and get out of your book every now and then. Join some clubs (There are plenty that need help) or work on pledging Greek life (some of the co-ed fraternities even allow you to pledge freshman year...go for it!). Keep your head up and don't let the humbling effect of no longer being the smartest kid in school get you down.

    Bang for the buck

    Clarkson has been a fun, mostly wholesome, experience for me, and it's really a great place to go if you want a good paying job straight out of college. Many companies do a majority of their recruiting at Clarkson University, enough, in fact, to piece together an entire job fair of people willing to come up to recruit despite the unfortunate weather and location. A student at this school will get exposed to many more opportunities to prove themselves and be responsible than they would from attending most other colleges. There is also a really phenomenal co-op and intern program, that I haven't seen in many other schools--they really want you to have all the tools to succeed. It may be expensive, but they do work hard to get you scholarships, and it's definitely worth the money. You won't regret it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was always kind of the odd one out in high school. I had friends, but I always felt like the braniac. I am far from that here. I have been humbled a lot, something a lot of students struggle with, but I have also gained a feeling of fitting in. People here really understand me, and take me as I am. There's no pressure to act a certain way, look a certain, or impress a certain clique. It IS a small school, so by the time you get a few years in, everyone seems to know everyone else. The downside to that is the overactive rumormill, and the upside is that cliques don't really exist.

    Academic Rigor

    My absolute favorite thing about the science programs at CU is that there's always the opportunity to learn more. Most professors have no problem taking you aside and explaining things in further depth if you wish. In fact, Clarkson is one of the few schools I know of that allows freshman and sophomore level students to work in a lab. The small number of students really allows teachers to focus in on knowing the students in their major, and catering to the interests of each.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent people who are available 24/7

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in being involved in advancing science and technology to the next level.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a few strange art statues around campus including one that apparently once a year at a certain time of day makes a shadow that looks like a sailboat.

    Bang for the buck

    This college gives you it all: opportunites to get involved, things to do besides parties on a friday night, academic help, and connections to companies for internships and co-ops. And its a very friendly community which means you work with each other to come out as top students rather than step on each other to get to the top (which means you also get experience working with others which is good for the job market).

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs including sports teams, music, dancing, eco, gaming, and sports car club. Clarkson also has what is call Clarkson SPEED teams which include clubs such as FIRST robotics, Mini Baja, Steel bridge, Concrete canoe, Clean Snow mobile. And a few others which are more technical clubs that compete nationally and include students from many different majors. And of course there are always movies and entertainers or dances and parties to attend if you get bored.

    Food and Dining

    The dining areas are welcoming and pretty standard with some outdoor options also. The campus has an all you care to eat dining hall as well as a few smaller made to order places including a subway. The food compared to the standard of campus food is very good and and has a huge variety and healthy options as well.

    Dorm Life

    The options across the board are pretty good and all pretty close to campus. There is one dorm building that is slightly out of the way and is for the sophomore class but it only adds a 1-2 minute walk at most and has a huge field on the opposite side for relaxing and often a game of Frisbee or lawn games. The upper-class men housing is phenomenal and in a great spot. And to top it all off there are 5 Themed housing options offered to even freshman that let people interested in certain clubs or interests to live in the same building and be a much closer community.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and proffesors have a generally great teaching style and office hours if you need help. There are some classes where you may chance upon a language barrier (due to accents) or a class where you have more trouble than normal and need help. And when that happens your classmates and teachers are always willing to help and make sure you get what you need to excel. If you are willing to do what you need to learn Clarkson will make sure to return to you the best Academic experience that you could ask for.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is to make the trip and make sure you get to spend time exploring the campus. While here imagine what it'd be like to live in the dorms and be interacting with the people that you meet while visiting. And make sure you check out the classroom, lecture halls, dining halls, and club zones and see if anything catches your eye. Don't be afraid to ask questions because you might be surprised at all the options on ways to be involved at Clarkson.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson University has an amazingly welcoming environment; Although it is in a small town the green nature and short walks to and from classes creates a very friendly aura around most of the students and staff. Being able to get from the furthest of classrooms to the others in 5-6 minutes at most lets you not have to be as worried about running to class and gives you opportunities to be more relaxed and socialize. Also a big pro to this University is the vast amount of clubs and activities to be involved in whether its sports or videos games or even dancing there is something for you.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Down to earth, Love the Outdoors, don't mind the cold, eager to learn :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately don't looks down on it because it's small... but visit you really have to like the campus.... some people might not like the fact that it's in the middle of nowhere...

    Bang for the buck

    Good Scholarships!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is very cute! Fell in love with it at first sight !

    Will learn a lot

    Honors!!! The program sounds absolutely amazing!

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate or let yourself go through multiple lectures without understanding the material. It can be very overwhelming at the end of the semester so get on top of things right from the start.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting a great education for what I am paying and like most students, I have scholarships from the school. However, what Clarkson has in education it lacks in some of its facilities. The new student center and the business building are very nice but some of the dormitories are not worth what students have to spend on them. A lot of construction is going on right now so in the next 3-5 years this will not be the case.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the location, very close to the Adirondacks and some really great ski areas. There are clubs available for all types of interests and the hockey games are fun to go to. I like that it is a smaller school because I don't feel lost in the crowd and my professors know who I am. Potsdam is very small, so it may not be the right place for those who enjoy city life. Also, it’s very cold!

    Am learning a lot

    The coursework is highly challenging and requires a lot of time to be spent on homeworks, projects and studying. As an engineering major I have found that many of the concepts that I learned at school have been helpful during my internships. For anyone that is struggling in a class, SSS (student support services) can set up student tutors to help with the material. Also, professors and TAs have office hours where students can come for additional help.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. There has been no crime since I have been here, which has been for the last two years.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities here, and we are pushing to build new houses for them on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities here ranging from every interest. If there are none for you, create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like the wilderness, skiing and snowboarding, ice hockey, and a solid academic rigor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The holocroft house is supposedly haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive, but you will get out what you put in.

    What to do for fun

    You can play intramural sports, or sign up for several different clubs. There are over 100 clubs here, so there has to be one to suit your personal interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food is probably average.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not extremely nice here, but they're about the same as any other school.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study and word hard, you have no worries.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and make friends and find stuff to do, don't just sit in your dorm room!

    In three sentences

    It is a small school. You get personal with your teachers and other students because of this. Nice small friendly town.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really good. They are such nice people that drive around in their little shuttle cars. If you need help, they are always there, all you just need to do is call their number (This would be provided to you when you arrive).

    Greek Life

    I am in no sorority so I really can't say much here, although, the members always seem to have a good time in what ever they do.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs here at Clarkson, there is even the Foodie club that all you have to do is to taste really awesome cooking. One advice that I have mentioned before and that I would mention again though, make sure you join a club that you like and would participate in 100%.

    Great for these types of students

    Clarkson is great for Engineering students, great for people that like and find it easy to make friends, great for people that are not so interested in having fun and exploring, great for nice people, and most of all, great for people that like the quiet and calm life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Come here and find out ;).

    What to do for fun

    I think I should have made it clear by now that there is not much to do here at Clarkson, but if you are someone that knows how to have a good time no matter where, you have no problem. What people usually do to get their minds of school work or just to chill is to go for parties, to go bowling, to go mountain climbing, to go camping, to go round the really small town (You can even do this twice but make sure with friends, always with friends), to join really awesome clubs that have awesome meetings, to go for the Clarkson events like the hockey game or the basketball game, to go ice skating in the Cheel Arena, or just to hang out with friends. College life is all about experience, so make sure you have as much experience as you can.

    Food and Dining

    The food options here are limited. Because Clarkson university is located in a small village, there aren't also a lot of places to go to eat. In the University, the menu is really short. They have Pasta, Burgers and Chicken, you know, grilled food options, then they have the healthy section with Salad and other healthy food choices. They also have subway and a little coffee shop in the Science building, and that is all. In the town, they have Sergis, Pizza Hut, Domino's, Mcdonalds, Dunkin Donuts, the Balgery (A really nice place), and some other places not mentioned. The Dining hall in Clarkson is a very comfortable place to eat though. It is also a really nice place to catch up with friends, or, to read a book. Clarkson is an ECO friendly place so don't be surprised if you see a lot of recycle bins around.

    Dorm Life

    Why I rated the Dorm Life so Lowly is because the dorms aren't so great. You might be lucky to get assigned into a room with awesome floor mates, an awesome roommate, great facilities in the room, and a very nice and clean bathroom, and also, you might as well be equally unlucky to get assigned into a place that is not you at all, so its a win or lose situation here. I must hand it to Clarkson University though, although they are not everything you might be looking for, they always want the best for you. If you are not satisfied with something, you can always complain, your problem would be fixed, but the other problem is that, it might take a while.

    Academic Rigor

    Clarkson University has a good academic standing. The Student Teacher ratio is 1:13 so interaction with the academic staff is never impossible. The Professors are strict on their due dates for projects, so that is good, but if you have a sensible excuse as to why you cannot submit in time, the Professors are very understanding. Any problem you have, whether academic, social, personal, or probably you are not just sure of what you want to do in life anymore, Clarkson University has a really good reputation in putting you back on track, and I'm not just saying this, but I'm talking from experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Make sure you have a special group of friends before the end of the first week, and if not, at least before the end of first semester; if you don't do that, you would feel more alone than ever when everybody you know goes out with their own special group of friends. 2.) Make sure you know many people, and I mean a lot; Clarkson University is a very small University and trust me, you don't want to be that person that keeps on getting introduced, and not the one introducing people, if you know what I mean. 3.) If you are not friendly, CHANGE! For some weird reason, everybody in Clarkson university is really friendly. Always smile and people would want to get to know you. 4.) Don't be Weird and most definitely, don't be irresponsible with your choice as to how many people you want to have sexual intercourse with. Like I said before, Clarkson is a small College, and like high School, news travels fast. 5.) Don't rush into joining clubs. Make sure you like a club and you would participate 100% in its activities. A lot of freshman students make this mistake and end up ditching most of the clubs, and really, that is not a nice thing to do.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson University is not a bad place to be; sure it is not the best, but also is it not the worst. The quality of the education presented there I must say, is satisfactory and could pass for reasonable, but me being honest, the school doesn't have a great social life attached to it. If you have your mind set on a good school in engineering or other possible majors offered there, and not a flexible list of social activities one can participate in, then Clarkson university is the best place for you, but if you are the kind of person that wants the whole package, that is, having fun, going to places, and exploring life while handling school work, then you better be looking into more places urgently; I'm not saying that Clarkson university is a horrible place to be, but all I'm saying is that you should get ready to be bored from time to time.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually respond quickly but are more focused on giving parking tickets then anything else.

    Greek Life

    Many frats and sororities but many are not recognized by school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs both for recreation, volunteer work, and academics.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the typical 'nerd' as some people would say but generally there are many different types of people or cliques people will fit into.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clarkson has plenty of unusual traditions especially at hockey games.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are coming here for a degree and to make money based off of reputation and willingness to work, you can't find a better school in the NorthEast region of the United States aside from possibly MIT and Harvard.

    What to do for fun

    There are a wide range of clubs on campus to get involved in, especially for those willing to try something out of their comfort zone. There is a large majority of student in greek life as well, and plenty of on-campus jobs that will allow you to make money while attending school.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food, gets old fast but there are a few decent spots on campus and also downtown.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best dorms for incoming freshman and sophomores but fantastic dorms life for those who want to live on campus in the upperclassman years past sophomore year.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough courses but usually have payoff in long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Clarkson if you are willing to put in the time and patience with teaching. You will become a better student and a much more qualified employee in the future but will sometimes sacrifice the perfect GPA and academic standing you would get from a less prestigious school.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson is an extremely challenging university that will test you persistence, ability to think, and your willingness to work with others. The university often is difficult for small town kids but will shape you into a better student and person. The university overall is based solely on achieving a degree with little emphasis on the actual college experience you might be looking for elsewhere.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are ready for a challenge

    Will enjoy being here

    I've visited Clarkson and the Potsdam area numerous times and I have to say that I love it up there. There is actually quite a bit to do in the small area.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    wiling to work hard to learn a lot, want a hands on education, like to get involved, love the outdoors, interested in attending a smaller school

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Campus is beautiful, full of nice people and friendly people. Can't wait to attend this place next year. Super excited!!

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at this University are very good about maintaining a high level of safety and security on campus, as well as in the dorm rooms.

    Great for these types of students

    This University is great for students who are highly driven and motivated academically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A good place to hang out and study is upstairs in Cheel Arena.

    Bang for the buck

    This University is very expensive, but is well worth the money.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but can grow old after a while of being there. Just make sure that you switch up what your eating to avoid monotony.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes quiet hours are not enforced as much as they should be, but overall, I had a very positive experience living in the dorms at Clarkson University.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a tough University, but it is totally worth it. More work is expected of you than you could even imagine in high school. More work is done outside of the classroom than in the classroom itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you come to this campus knowing what you want to major in or not doesn't matter. Once you are taking classes and experiencing different subjects, you will truly realize what you want to pursue as a possible career choice. You may also change your mind several times.

    In three sentences

    This University is very concerned about the well-being of their students. My experience there as a freshman was wonderful. The campus is very welcoming as well.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. Our campus safety team is always on call if you need any assistance with anything. I have never felt unsafe around campus, even while walking alone at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is near and dear to my heart. As a sister of Delta Zeta, one of 4 sororities on campus, I speak highly of Greek Life. I joined Greek life to meet people and be a part of something bigger than myself. Being a part of Greek Life has made me want to try my hardest at school and I look forward to all of the networking opportunities I will have for internships and for after graduation.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have every club under the sun and if we don't have something you're interested in, it is extremely easy to create a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    Clarkson is great for any student wanting a personalized experience for their college career. Clarkson is family, as long as you embrace it and get involved on campus, you'll experience it.

    Bang for the buck

    With Clarkson's employment rate, it is definitely a great bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Clarkson has so many clubs that you can join. If you want, you can easily start your own club if the campus doesn't have it. Sports are big on campus, especially hockey! Get involved and you are sure to have a great time on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Clarkson has so many choices for food. From the Ross-Brooks diner with your typical all-you-can-eat style food, to Java City with a cafe atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are equipped with closets, mirrors, loftable beds, and a desk. The dorm atmosphere is fun and a great way to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you stay organized, you can succeed. Clarkson has many ways to get the help you need in order to succeed, you just need to use them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take use of what Clarkson has to offer! We have so many clubs; from Outing Club, Anime Club, Greek life, and much more! Clarkson's small atmosphere creates a close knit family and it becomes helpful when seeking help with academics.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson is a great school with a family feel. The small size of the school makes your personal experience at Clarkson enjoyable as well as rewarding. It is easy to get to know your professors and receive help at this small school.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, I mostly hang out with friends. The campus is extremely good with giving kids an alternative to going out to frats on the weekends. There is usually something every weekend, whether it be a comedian or a movie.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay,nothing special. It could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. The people that you live around will become your very good friends.

    Academic Rigor

    From my experience, Clarkson sets up its program to be difficult for first year students. Pretty much all kids in any engineering take the same courses. I think it's their way of finding that students that can handle a heavy workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are that Clarkson is ideal for pursuing a degree in the engineering and business field. So it would be one to consider. Another tip is that if you are more of a city living person, Clarkson is not the right place.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson University is a fun and challenging school, for sure. However, the town it is located is not very fun. Overall, Clarkson University is a great school.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of things to do on campus

    What to do for fun

    Clarkson has lots of clubs and activities, like the Outdoor club, which does things just about every weekend, and the speed teams, which are designing and building things to put into competition. And don't forget about hockey games, they are a lot of fun too.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Clarkson is not the best, but its college, no matter where you go, the food will suck.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are good, especially with them building and renovating them over the summers. Sometimes they can seem a little small, but they are better then other colleges i have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are really tough, especially the Engineering ones. Freshmen year you have the three big ones at the same time, Physics, Chemistry, and Calculus. This will just be a taste of how hard, but fun it will get in the years to follow.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students coming into Clarkson, its not going to be as easy as high school, but the classes should spike you interest more then high school because the Professors make it there job to make things more interesting.

    In three sentences

    The classes are difficult and demanding, but the Professors make them fun and interactive, so it's easier to learn. The campus is also beautiful, unlike many others.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Clarkson is a great fit if you are financially comfortable, studious, and outgoing.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of clubs to get involved in, and the choices are great. For example, there's the Integrator newspaper, the sports clubs, outdoor clubs, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even straight-A students have to put in a lot of time and effort for good grades. Professors don't give you an 'A' for effort.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson has a devoted teaching staff. The students are treated very well and living there is quite comfortable and home-like. Everyone is given resources and space to complete their work, which is important in this part of the state.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My first year, only a handful of accidents occurred on campus. The city of Potsdam is pretty isolated and we don't get to much hostile activity. The campus does lack blue lights, but there was not much use for them. Just be smart and never go out alone because that's insane no matter where you are. For the most part, Clarkson's campus of safe.

    Greek Life

    My knowledge is slim of this, but Greek life is big for some kids. There many different fraternities and sorties for many different reasons like for business, community service, or just partying. My two roommates are in a fraternity and it's kind of cool to know people in Greek houses. Some Greek house members can land you a job down the road. Greek life is great all-around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus, its impossible to known them all. What's also great is If you have an idea for a club, you can create one. I participate in intramural sports like basketball and my roommate is apart of Golden Notes.

    Great for these types of students

    For struggling students: Visit the Student Success Center. For overachieving students: Join the Honors program and visit Career Center. Athletic students: Join intramural sports for almost every sport. Gaming students: Visit the Student Center's gaming room. Musical students: Join Golden Notes and share your voice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During freshman week, Clarkson has a tradition in where they let off a plethora of fireworks, the school band plays music, and you have a chance to socialize with your incoming class. Its something down to initiate the freshmen class into the Clarkson family.

    Bang for the buck

    Most things on campus are very expensive. The University offers you a 500 dollar balance on your Knight card to use in a variety of places, but that will go towards your money that you owe Clarkson in the end. There are few places that I have encountered where you can really get a bang for you buck.

    What to do for fun

    Most kids know about partying, but If that's not your style, there is a gym that is open from 6am to 11pm on the weekdays and on the weekends, times vary. There are over 50+ clubs and organizations to join at Clarkson University. The Student Center offers pool, Foosball, table tennis and a game room where you can play video games, watch movies, or just hang out and socialize. There is also a huge monitor in the middle of the student center that is one of the main attractions in the Student Center. If all else fails, go to a friends dorm and hang out. Having friends on those long weekends can prove to be very beneficial to you and Clarkson itself!

    Food and Dining

    The Student Center has great food for a low price. Ross-Brooks dining which is connected to the freshman dorms is good for the first month, but lacks variety. They do have a salad bar which is great for a healthy option and a variety of cereals. Empire offers alot of greasy food. Its good, but on occasion. Too much and you will meet the freshman fifteen in no time. There is a Subway and a couple other places to eat on campus to give everyone a great choice. There are even places off campus to grab a bite to eat for ones that have some extra cash or Knight card.

    Dorm Life

    I had moderate Internet connection unless I was using my roommates wireless modem or I plugged right into Clarkson's Ethernet ports. I had basic cable which is a plus. The rooms are descent size for doubles, but bigger in the suites. Sharing a bathroom with the whole floor was not a problem most of time. Weekends are the worst because of the reckless party crowd. Just make the best out of your situation and you will love you dorm, just make sure you bring what you can like a TV, gaming system, laptop, microwave and fridge and you will be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    I have completely adjusted my work week. I went from doing work Monday through Thursday and on late night weekends to working Monday though Sunday. I do this so that I can continue to have excellent grades and still have time to myself to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help because the worst thing you can do is fall behind in college and have no help from anyone. I was a outstanding high school student and when I got to college, I was not ready for it even though I thought I was. I did not ask for help my first semester and I did poorly. I learned from my mistakes and ended my first year on Dean's List. Asking for help is not a sign of weakness, but a sign of strength. Another tip is to meet new people. Having friends will help you stay socially and mentally healthy because you will have people there for you when you need to work and when you just want to have fun. Having good friends helps also because they understand when its time to work and when it time to play which will help you and your friends down the road when its time to study for exams.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson University is a rigorous educational University that will push your academic and professional capabilities to new heights. Clarkson offers a variety of resources to help your educational and professional careers. Clarkson also offers extracurricular activities that will allow you to step back from your studies and rejuvenate your mind to fight the good fight of the academia world.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since Potsdam is such a small town, safety is never an issue. You have a sense of security knowing that you don't have to worry about yourself life you would on a large campus in a big city. Regardless, Clarkson keeps security personal on staff at all times and blue lights are located throughout the campus in case you ever feel in danger.

    Greek Life

    I'm not too familiar with Clarkson's Greek Life, but I can give a brief overview. Since both SUNY Potsdam and Clarkson are located in the same town, there are quite a few Greek houses as opposed to what just one small school would have. None are located on campus, but most of the houses are only located a short walk from Clarkson.

    Clubs and Activities

    The intramural sports are great! There are many different sports to choose from each semester and there is great competition. They split each sport up into three separate divisions, so everyone - no matter how terrible - can enjoy the sport. In addition to intramurals, there are many different clubs you can get involved in. The most popular type are the SPEED teams, which build Baja cars, snowmobiles, and even concrete canoes!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who are more into their studies than other activities on campus. Also, if you are into video games or other things along those lines, Clarkson holds many contests and competitions for prizes. If you don't like the cold, I would consider going somewhere else, or else you'll be miserable for a big chunk of the year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The really unusual thing I can think of is the Bone Saw. At the men's hockey games, there are a group of kids who hold a saw made out of cardboard, which they use to pump up the crowd and the players.

    Bang for the buck

    Like any college campus, the food and everything else sold in their stores is overpriced compared to what you would find at your local Walmart. Being a private technical school, the tuition is also pretty expensive, but for the education you receive and their job placement percentage, I would say it's well worth it in that respect.

    What to do for fun

    Usually, on Friday and Saturday night, Clarkson will bring in a comedian, magician, or something else along those lines to perform in the Student Center. Intramural sports are also a good way to keep busy, there's many different sports and each team is given quite a few games to play each 'season'. There's a video game lounge in the bottom of the Student Center that you can rent and also there are sound proof rooms to practice musical instruments. For the most excitement, go to a Clarkson men's hockey game when they play St. Lawrence University, it gets pretty rowdy.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is either hit or miss. At the Ross-Brooks dining hall, one night there will be a great selection of food and the next they have ran out of food and are serving leftovers. In the new student center, there is a great variety of stations you can choose from, and now that they have incorporated daily specials into their menu, it's definitely the best place to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I would've rated the dorm life higher, but the state that the freshman dorms are in have lowered by ratings. Built back when my parents were still in school, the freshman dorms are extremely run down and dirty. However, new editions to the campus gives these first years hope to move somewhere much more appealing. Living in the dorms themselves is great. The RA's aren't too strict and everyone respects their boundaries on the floor while still having fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Like you would expect any technical/engineering school, the academics are extremely challenging. Your freshman year is jammed pack with difficult gen ed's, including calculus I and II, physics I and II, and chemistry I and II. If you can through those classes, you've been successful. Each class typically assigns group projects and expects homework to be completed either weekly or due every lecture. In the end, if you put in the time and effort, you can be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to class is definitely the most important thing. Even if you don't completely understand what the professor is talking about, it's better to have him/her explain it to you than trying to learn on your own. Get enough sleep! I can't tell you how many people are asleep in class. The only way you're going to get the most out of your education is if you are actually conscious to learn. Don't forget warm clothes! It's easy to spot people who aren't used to the frigid weather of upstate New York, completely bundled up when it's still sixty degrees outside. If you're not from around here, make sure you bring extra sweatshirts and jackets.

    In three sentences

    The engineering program is rigorous and the professors expect a lot out of their students outside of the lecture hall. The campus itself is small, but large enough to accommodate adequate amenities, such as a library, student center, gym, hockey rink, housing, and parking. Most of the students that attend Clarkson are male, but in recent years, more and more females have been attracted to this college - myself included.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    anything you can think of including: knitting club, Golden Knotes (a capella singing group) pep band, club sports, ultimate frisbee- anything you can think of there is a club for!

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, Studious

    Bang for the buck

    The price may be daunting, but they are good about financial aid, scholarships and grants, so it is important if you want to go here to keep your grades up in high school! Their placement rate is high.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs, intramural sports and fun things to do on campus. The village of Potsdam is very cute with some really good restaurants. The Adirondack mountains are very close for hiking, and it is a great area to go x-c skiing, sledding, kayaking and canoeing.

    Food and Dining

    Ok, but I wish there were more choices for healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    Floors are co-ed. I have to guys living next to me, and girls are across the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely not for those who want to just party, or don't know how to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are city person, this school is not for you. Don't try to test out of the science and math classes (physics and Calc). You will do best to take them here and learn the way they want you to do it here. It also gets very cold in Potsdam, but the academic buildings are all connected, so you don't have to be in the cold often.

    In three sentences

    Graduating from here I will have great contacts, their placement rating is very high! Clarkson has a very homey feeling campus and small college town. There is plenty to do, and many clubs to get involved in!

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Some sororities and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering and business students

    What to do for fun

    Many people go out on the weekends and party. This isn't my scene so I stay in the dorms and do homework. There's very limited options other than party.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson has great professors who are really helpful. However, the lecture setting with 100+ students is not helpful to be successful. Biology majors seem to be shafted quite often as well.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very nice and always willing to help.

    Greek Life

    There are both sororities and fraternities off campus, and they hold fun social gatherings all of the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hockey is huge at Clarkson, although there are tons of other clubs and organizations on campus. the coolest thing is if you do not find what you are looking for then get eighty people to sign a petition and you can make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Clarkson is a great school for engineering students or those looking to get a degree in a science area. It is an awesome school for people who do not want to be in a city, who love the outdoors, who like a little snow and a cooler climate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tons of cool places on campus like in the hockey rink there are couches that you can do homework on, or you can book a room at different locations on campus so you can study alone or with friends.

    What to do for fun

    One of the funnest things on campus are the hockey games, that is where you can see the most school spirit.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good, although if you eat on campus all of the time it can get boring.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome the kids on your floor become like family.

    Academic Rigor

    Clarkson is an awesome school but unless you are a genius you are going to have to put in the time to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a huge change. Sit at the front of the class. Do not try to do your homework in your dorm room. Do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    It has an awesome atmosphere and I would encourage anyone who is looking to get a science degree to go here. I love the small campus and family feel to this University. Was my top pick out of eleven schools for sure!

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    heard it was ok nothing too well

    Dorm Life

    lots on campus to do but not get overwhelmed

    Academic Rigor

    heard it was a challenge

    Tips for prospective students

    This schoola is great for those planning to attend a math and science focused school it. It specializes in those subjects.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clarkson is 40 mins from the nearest city center or mall so the campus hosts events from comedians to bands that come on weekends for entertainment. Also Clarkson has greeklife so the various houses hold events on and off campus as well. Clarkson and SUNY Potsdam are only 3 blocks apart from each other so you can go to events at either college.

    Food and Dining

    Clarkson is currently updating all of the dining facilities and it makes them enjoyable to relax and eat at.

    Dorm Life

    Clarkson has a wide variety of dorms from hallway style to apartments to town houses. Some of the dorms are old but are being updated and renovated, and the new dorms are really nice to live in. You tend to spend a lot of time on your floor and with your floor or dorm mates so it makes for meeting some fun and interesting people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you and push your limits but there is also a ton of opportunities to work in groups and have fun with the work as well. What stood out to me is that Clarkson has so many opportunities for jobs, internships and study abroad programs and they have a high job placement percentage after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are looking at Clarkson or other schools, do an overnight stay before you decide. Stay with a current student in your perspective major and go to a day of classes with them and spend the night so you can explore the campus events as well. It will help you decide whether you fit in and are comfortable with the campus, plus it will allow you to meet upperclassmen which will be great to already know people when you move in as a freshman.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering students, though the PT and PA school is great and I hear the business school is ranked pretty high nationally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pep band is very spirited and makes the games all that much more enjoyable!

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is continually improving making the school a bit more expensive but making the overall quality of the school better in the long run.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus activities on weekends for those who are not 21 and there are a few bars in town for those that are. daytime activities are more prevalent due to winter sports being easily accessible.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is improving with the development of the new student center and an increase in the population of healthier students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and a large coat. This is a great school you just have to know how to use it to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    Excellent connections to future places of employment. Helps develop strong work ethics because of expected work load. As sustainable as a college in the north country can be without freezing to death.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 person found it offensive. 25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply!!!!

    In three sentences

    this school is amazing. it excels in engineering and business. their campus looks amazing.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is not overbearing on campus but has a definite presence. There are many fraternities of different personalities to join as well as 4 different sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    Clarkson has a 96% job placement rate and will help you be part of that statistic.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus activities almost every day and every night on weekends. You will never be bored at Clarkson between the campus activities or the many clubs available for you to join.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is pretty average.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman students all live together which creates a positive community.

    Academic Rigor

    Clarkson is a serious school for serious students. It is rigorous but doable if you put the time and effort in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know all of the resources available on campus and use them!

    In three sentences

    Clarkson is a great place for students who wish to study in a small school / small town setting. The education you get here is what you want it to be, Clarkson has all of the tools you need to succeed. The faculty and staff want to help all of the students succeed.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Clarkson University is a very challenging college where you will have to think outside the box. Although the education is tough it is comparable to common big engineering schools. The hard work will pay off because many popular employers look to hire students for internships, co-ops, and full time employment.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    New greek housing on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, outdoor activity loving

    What to do for fun

    Student life has shows every weekend where they bring in comedians, magicians, movies, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options but not the healthiest.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms aren't the best, but older housing gets better.

    Academic Rigor

    Very difficult classes, you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and talk to your professor and show your interest in the class and their research.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson has great academics and professors who are willing to go out of their way to help you understand and excel. They have countless free programs like tutoring, academic assistance, entertainment shows each weekend, etc. The weather and the buildings aren't the nicest but the academic programs and research opportunities make the college well worth it.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe walking around the entire campus. From what I have heard and read, students feel very safe at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There were so many clubs to look through and the excitement the students have about their cubs is contagious.

    Bang for the buck

    Campus offers many activities as well as challenging course loads. A lot of a lot.

    Food and Dining

    The times I have visited this campus, the food has been amazing. Many choices and variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard and play hard on this campus. Studies are extensive and exciting for those who want to learn and expand their knowledge.

    In three sentences

    Professors are very enthusiastic and genuinely care about you and your work. Feels very comfortable to be on campus and to speak with everyone. Campus is very well taken care of.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Small town, but you can go down to the park, visit the shops, and eat at the restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Food is all right, there is an all-you-can-eat buffet on the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty nice dorm life - the Schoolie dorms are especially good.

    Academic Rigor

    Very academically rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get general education requirements out of the way - ask your counselor what they are for your major.

    In three sentences

    Clarkson has a nice community, very tight-knit. The professors are friendly and helpful, especially in the smaller classes. The academics are great.