Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Clatsop Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small class sizes, teachers who will personally work with you, and who you can come to anytime about anything. They are each great educators and will laugh with you and help you anytime. There are even some who join students in other classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone going to Clatsop keep a rain jacket in your car, in Oregon rain comes on fast. Also, take a P.E. class from Mrs. Toyas, it will keep you sane when your other classes are causing stress.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely a terrific deal for any prospective student. They will work with you to ensure that you will be able to attend without your education costing you an arm and a leg. There are also many opportunities for scholarships and grants, I personally received one allowing me to attend for two years without having to pay a cent in tuition or class fees! For those who are just starting out, or getting back into the game, this is a great choice.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at Clatsop is enjoyable. The views from the every window in the college display the spectacular beauty of Astoria. My personal favorite is the views from the science floor where there are panoramic views of the massive Columbia river. I also love being able to be around students when I want to, and be alone when I need to study. The lunch room outside the cafe is the best place to hang out. There are so many different people here, ranging from coming back to school to those like me who have just got out of high school.

    Am learning a lot

    When considering Clatsop Community College for your education, my advice is to talk to students who have been at the college when you go to decide on classes. It really depends on your skills in each area to determine which teacher you need to be able to learn to your highest level. Otherwise, if you keep you mind open you will do well and learn a lot here at Clatsop.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't believe I've ever heard of anything bad happening on campus. Everything is very well lit and there are always guards around making sure students are safe.

    Greek Life

    Sadly there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The best club to be apart of it PTK (Phi Theta Kappa) it's an honor to be chosen and it gives you many opportunities to enrich your life.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great college for someone who is right out of high school who isn't quite ready for university life. Also, its wonderful for older generations to get their degrees in a flexible environment that works well around work and kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is apparently haunted, but then again, so is everything in Astoria Oregon lol

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is very well priced and you won't feel like they are taking your money, you'll feel its money well spent.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Astoria for fun and college students usually get discounts at every place you go. There are historical places to go as well as more modern like the movie theater and also swimming pools, lakes, mountains to hike, and shops to brows through.

    Food and Dining

    The caffe at the college has wonderful food and even more wonderful coffee.

    Dorm Life

    The college doesn't have dorms but it has the most beautiful apartments right near the college at an affordable price.

    Academic Rigor

    The college has challenging classes but will grade you fairly on the work you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to connect with your advisor so they can tell you all the benefits the school has to offer to their students.

    In three sentences

    A great place to get started on your college education. It's a very personal and encouraging environment. It has wonderful teachers who will help you every step of the way to a higher education.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join some acedemics

    Food and Dining

    they have a nice cafe

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions

    In three sentences

    I think that is exelent.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports and hangout with friends

    Food and Dining

    great food

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    its a good academic college for a two year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great two year college.

    In three sentences

    Its a good community college and with great teachers its a good first year college.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A fine cafeteria with an amazing view!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Clatsop Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be tested not only on academic knowledge but on teamwork as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research in the many options available to you at CCC.

    In three sentences

    An opportunistic college willing to aid you in any way they can.The professors that will be as good of a friend as a teacher. CCC has a very involved student body as well.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police for students who need escort to their vehicles anytime or issues with other students or non-students.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Along with traditional course work, out-of-class activities, clubs and other campus organizations are an important part of a student's education. At Clatsop, there are recreation and social activities throughout the year. Pi Phi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    Marine, Automotive, Welding, Business, Accounting, Nursing, Medical Assistant

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Has a great bookstore and library. There are many places to go and study just about anywhere on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Finding a roommate makes the dollar go along way if your living off of school funds.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Seaside or Cannon Beach for surfing and beach fun. Warrenton has a state park with history and also beaches. Astoria has museums and historical monuments and a great downtown area for visitors.

    Food and Dining

    Astoria has many fine dining restaurants and fast food. Has a Safeway grocery store with a nice affordable deli.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Clatsop Community College has a high standard of education and want all students to achieve there goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the labs as much as possible to help achieve a better grade. Take with your advisor if you have any issues. Financial Aid office is great to work with and join the Plus Program.

    In three sentences

    A great school. Caring for it's students achievements and goals. Skilled and knowledgeable teachers and administrators.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    disc golf!

    Food and Dining

    i don't usually eat at the college, it's a bit pricy

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are great, i have had good experiences with most of my instructors

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up as soon as possible for classes, they fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    the school does not have many options during a single term. i have had difficulty finding classes to fit my schedule. the classes i have taken have been very well conducted.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say the safty is great because they keep it safe. It is a drub free envierment so its great for kids and it has smoking areas where you don't endanger peoples lungs. The speed limit is around 15 mph and a dog welcoming environment (as long as they behave)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I would have to say the most interesting location is over looking Columbia river. If you enjoy that stuff the days that its clear you can see almost half of Washington State (medifor). Also about a hop skip and a jump from there is the Astoria Collum where if you walk up the thounds of steps and you can over look all of Oregons beauty's that Clatsop County has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    i enjoy to play video games but i don't want to make it my job. I do enjoy exercising with deciding to take Yoga because i have a bad back and think it would help out. I would enjoy walking around but i live about ten miles out of the town of Seaside and Astoria. I know that i live in Warrenton but i live two miles out of town that I can't just walk into town

    Food and Dining

    This college has a decent lounge with having a plentaful sized menu. They also have, in the bottom level, a cafe' for coffee and other related items. The teachers are kinda flexable on where you can eat and if applied they will lend you extra time to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but from what they explained,is there's enough room for you to get some time to sleep wile waiting inbetween classes. If you bring some food, i beleave, they will let you cook it there too. I didn't look into the dorm costs but what i can tell they are flexible and afordable.

    Academic Rigor

    From what ive found out the teachers are very supportive and they try to help some in need. The school has an excellent disability service, I am dislecsic and haven't been in specal education classes since eighth grade and i kind of wish i wouldn't have stopped being there. I have a hard time with mixing my letters up but the teachers understand this and try to help

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to go to clatsop college then you have thought of a good school, they have a weight lifting gym that is flexible on the lifting hours. If you want to live on campus they have a flexible living but you must remember that the coast isn't for everyone because we get allot of ran and people would say we are to relaxed out here but in the long run being relaxed is better then being sprung over mid-ters

    In three sentences

    I would say that Clatsop Community College has an excellent staff and a decent small but interesting school. They have all that one would need to start off there degree before transferring. The teachers are flexible and will work with the students if they need help with difficult assignments that no other student would be able to answer