Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cleveland State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many officers at every corner as well as circling the parking lot checking on where vehicles are where the need to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fitness club, beta club, nursing club, art club, any club you can think of!

    Great for these types of students

    Fitness center for students who enjoy being fit, outside tables for student who prefer to be relaxed and at peace while studying, a library with a coffee machine for those who prefer drinking coffee while reading or working on any work etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any!

    Bang for the buck

    This school has a wonderful fitness center with all kinds of activities and clubs you am join. There are monthly contests that go on a to who can lift, run, or push more!

    What to do for fun

    There are many classes that you can take to pass the time away but have fun. Such as a backpacking class, walking class, and some karate classes!

    Food and Dining

    The kitchen faculty is very organized and great cooks! It is like your in a cafe but you have so many options to eat or I you simply want to relax.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is a 2 year degree program for an associates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be alert for college opportunities, research for schools that seem like your at home and it will help a lot in your studies.

    In three sentences

    Cleveland state community college is a small but convenient college! Cleveland state is a 2 year school. It has an amazing nursing program! I am applying for it spring of 2015 after I complete my prerequisite courses. I'm excited to start my journey as a nurse, Cleveland state has some of the best professors and coworkers to help make sure you maintain a good standing and on the right track. The buildings and classes are easy to locate. This school is very warm welcoming and I'm so glad I chose this school to attend!

  • 11/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CSCC is great for anyone that wants an Associates Degree or like in my case is wanting the to get the basics before going off to a four year college. I am working towards an Engineering Degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that everyone meets with a counselor prior to making their schedule. They can help tremendously in getting you on the right path to your chosen career.

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely getting the bang for my buck! I used the Hope Scholarship and a small amount from a subsidized loan to cover my expenses. I did not have to be a burden on my parents, I am paying for college on my own!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really am enjoying the convenience of being at home and attending college. I am going to school with my girlfriend, friends from my local high school and reconnecting with friends from other schools.

    Am learning a lot

    When I was in high school, I thought it was cheesy to go to my home college but I have changed my mind. My professors are great and I am being Challenged!

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police building is right across the street from the college. i have never heard of or seen violence take place there. however, cleveland state is supposed to be a tobacco free campus and daily i see people smoking on the school grounds. this is something that needs to be enforced more efficiently.

    Clubs and Activities

    many times throughout the semester, there will be activities to get involved in. for example, every spring in the campus library an event will be held especially for children dedicated to dr. seuss to promote reading.

    Great for these types of students

    cleveland state is a community college and is great for those who are seeking a two year degree. also, for those who are interested in transferring to either cut cost or bid time to consider career opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on campus, all the math classes are located in the science building. i finding it unusual that the math lab however, is in a completely different building. i ended up getting lost my first week at the school because it just makes logical since to me to have it near the math classes.

    Food and Dining

    cleveland state has a café in the student center. the food menu is always kept up to date on the schools website for your convenience.

    Dorm Life

    there are no on campus living corridors at this school. this means it is in your best interest to know how far of a drive the school is from your own home and how long it would take you to commute each day.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to every orientation. the faster you learn your way around campus, the more at ease you'll feel and the better prepared you'll be when issues arise. also, strive for good grades. also, i would recommend going to see a student adviser. they are the best people to help set you on the right path for your intended career choice.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is not very strict at the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activites someone can join at the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions I can think of.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Cleveland State Community College someone can go to the basketball, or baseball/softball games. Or one could go to the BCM across the street from the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is really good, but very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorm's at Cleveland State Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    They are not very strict at Cleveland State. It just depends on who your teacher is and what they require.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow up with your classes and make sure they transfer to your next college you are planning on attending.

    In three sentences

    Cleveland State is a college that does not necessarily help you when needed. It is a good school to get your core classes out of the way. Make sure to follow up with the school you will be transferring to next to make sure your classes will transfer.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is 5 stars.

    What to do for fun

    Baptist Student Union on campus is wonderful. You can also go there and get hot free lunches.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is large. It is not pricey. The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is high ranked among colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    All the tips I have for prospective students is enjoy your time there. It is a wonderful college.

    In three sentences

    Financial department was very helpful. It is easy to find your way around the campus. So far all the teachers I have had are wonderful.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap school with accredited degrees. Can almost transfer anywhere.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs to join. And lots of things around town to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is sub par. Pretty much like high school all over again

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    If you attend and you try your best you will not fail. You may not get the grade you wish but you will pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class be respectful and you will not have a problem getting the grade you are shooting for. Make friends that is a big part of the college experience, And it will a go a long way for networking in the future.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college that has an amazing atmosphere. All of the teachers are more than willing to help you. Classes are easy to sign up for and the tuition is pretty inexpensive.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is a key to a safe enviroment. At Cleveland, every student must have their IDs handy.

    Greek Life

    To be honest, I have know idea what about Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and activities that you can become involved in at Cleveland State.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun in Cleveland. The campus is right next to a shopping center. The have intermural sports and of course college sports.

    Food and Dining

    They have good food in the campus kitchen. I have dined there once or twice and it has been good both times.

    Dorm Life

    I live an hour away from campus. I don't know what the dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    Cleveland State is really about studying and making good grades. They want you to be able to learn as much as you possibly can so you can bring it out into the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip I can award others with is to try to stay on track. Once you are behind; it's hard to play ketchup. Study Study Study! Never go into a classroom without knowing what you will be tested on.

    In three sentences

    This is my first semester at Cleveland Sate Community College in Cleveland. I really enjoy the time that I have there. There is always a helping hand reached out to assist you with your problems.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Bang for the buck

    IT IS GREAT! VERY AFFORDABLE!

    What to do for fun

    They have pool and all kinds of clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have good, affordable food.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the school has a very good curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure to go to class and actually try and you'll do fine.

    In three sentences

    I think that It is a great to school as a transition from high school. I love that they make it so affordable. Everything is very easy to access and I love it!

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great breakfast!

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are all very nice and will help in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for non-traditional students, such as myself. very laid back atmosphere.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're really nice, and helped me out by jumping my car quite a few times.

    Greek Life

    There is the Phi Theta Kappa Honor's society, but that's about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Decent. Not a wide variety, but not bad.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, goal-oriented, students with specific classes to take. CSCC is not great for students who are only going to college for the college scene. There aren't parties or socials, there's just school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'd say the most significant difference about Cleveland State from other colleges in the area are the math classes. Math classes at CSCC are completely on the computer. The lectures are videos which you can access from home or school. Homework can be repeated as many times as you want until you get the grade you're aiming for. Most of the classes even have unlimited tries on the tests. Mastery is the goal. There are mandatory math lab hours for each class, and when the class meets, there is no lecture, you just continue on with modules. In short, it's awesome. If you want an A, you just retake things until you get it.

    What to do for fun

    Get into a club or something. There aren't a whole lot of socials, but finding a good social group is always a good idea.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, but high-priced. The cafeteria is at a great place on campus and has a lot of great studying areas.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say the classes are on-par with other colleges in the area. I found them acceptably challenging, and most of the professors were very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Math classes at Cleveland State are awesome. I've really enjoyed the math lab and go-at-your-own-pace program. I'd say the best tip is just to do some research on the professors before registering. There are very good professors, and some not-so-good ones. It's always nice to know beforehand what you're getting into.

    In three sentences

    Cleveland State is small enough to know you by name, and high tech enough to prepare you like a university. The enrollment process was fairly simple and pain free, and all the staff I met were very accommodating. I like the classes I've taken, and I would say that this is a great school to take classes at an extremely affordable price.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It gives generous scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs are available for students to join.

    Food and Dining

    Cleveland is a GREAT town!

    Dorm Life

    Cleveland State does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Cleveland State is a community college, but it is not easy by any standard. Professors make you earn your grades, which is a great thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cleveland State is an awesome place to do dual enrollment courses or get your associate's degree. They have plenty of guidance available to make your transition to a four-year school easy.

    In three sentences

    Students, professors, and staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. Upon entering campus, you immediately feel welcomed. I love the course variety and options.