Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Clinton Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/09/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    the most because I am close to home and am going to a great college

    Will learn a lot

    about being on my own and going to a school that I choose from.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    smaller campus located in a smaller city so not a lot of crime. the campus does have security.

    Great for these types of students

    students who would enjoy north country activities. students who would enjoy smaller class rooms and to be a name not just a number.

    Bang for the buck

    fairly reasonable tuition, but goes up usually every year do to the economy.

    What to do for fun

    concerts, skiing, snowboarding, hockey, boating, hiking, (typical north country activities).

    Food and Dining

    great food from what i hear, but the meal plan is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    didn't live in dorms but fairly reasonable from what i've heard.

    Academic Rigor

    the criminal justice program was fairly good and not to academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    showing up on time and all the time is a big deal for almost all instructors at clinton. living off campus helps to save money.

    In three sentences

    clinton community college is a small college and fairly inexpensive. some instructors are great, others not so much, probably like most colleges. clinton is a safe friendly environment for the most part.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is always monitored by the campus security. very personable individuals who you can easily talk too.

    Greek Life

    I have not investigated the Greek life opportunities to give a helpful answer.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs available on campus. I was part of the Science Club which is affiliated with the National Science Teacher's Association. On campus there is a Club Fair were anyone can talk and start being involved in a club! A great experience to be had.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who would like to enjoy a smaller community college/community with some amazing professors, students, and the Adirondack views.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Alumi Association building. A house that feels just like home. Anyone is welcome to use the building set aside on the outside perimeters. A living room with fireplace, a kitchen, and a conference room are available to use. Photographs of the school when it was the Hotel Champlain are hung around for viewing and appreciation.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable. I was a part time sudent for the Fall 2011/Spring 2012 semesters taking chemistry and biology with the labs, and I was on a payment plan to pay out of pocket as I was working part time as well. The school (like others) have loans available.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of outdoor activities such as camping and hiking, shopping around town, and best of all jumping in a car with a bunch of friends and going for a ride off the highway and find an adventure of some sort. Be sure to bring a GPS if you don;t know your way around.

    Food and Dining

    Away from the chain restaurants; there are some delicious places to eat. Such as Arnie's, a time old traditional Italian place still owned by the family, Living Good's, The Pepper, an excellent Mexican establishment holding the name for the best margaritas in town (or anywhere I have been in my opinion). For anyone who wants to travel and explore; Lake Placid is not that far. As well as on Rt. 9 north in the Chazy area Up North BBQ cooking up pork and beef meals with homemade dishes. Of course there is The Happy Pike near Monty's Bay on the Lake Shore Road; everything being homemade and always fresh while sitting next to the Lake Champlain.

    Academic Rigor

    A great opportunity to establish your academia. I enjoyed both my professors and their enthusiasm for their subjects of knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to anything because any opportunity can come your way, and there are some amazing people at SUNY Clinton Community College to help you along the way to get where you would like to be.

    In three sentences

    A smaller community where you can get more one-on-one time with teachers and instructors unlike other universities. Opportunity. An environmentally concerned campus with tons of activities and events in relation to one's interests.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition is hard to beat in these tough, economic times. They are priced fairly and offer many services for the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available. The college hosts plays, concerts, and speakers on a normal basis.

    Food and Dining

    There is a basic cafe style/breakfast/lunch/dinner area. The staff are friendly and the food is always decent.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but have heard good things.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is challenging, but with all the tools available to students, there is no reason anyone should have problems making their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take advantage of the helping staff. There are so many resources available and all you have to do is ask for help.

    In three sentences

    The staff is always willing to lend a helping hand. There are numerous classes to fit any schedule and the schooling is flexible. The professors are understanding and caring of students, especially the adult students who have much going on.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Clinton is a great school but the president is driving the school into the ground. I am at risk of not being able to finish my degree because of him wanting to lay off teachers and get rid of courses and majors.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clinton always has something going on. Spots games to catch, Plays to watch. They even through a Fall carnival with bounce house and games.

    Food and Dining

    Clinton's food is great. The dinning hall overlooks the lake and it is always changing up the menu. They have food for everybody.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use a face lift but they constantly have dorm activities and there is never any trouble.

    Academic Rigor

    I say four stars because I am in the Nursing AAS program at Clinton. It is tough but the professors are great. You will be fine as long as you have good study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Clinton gets a bad rap because it a community college and they have a lot of city students. Don't let that detour you. It is a great school with great programs, all for a great price.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to start off your college life. It is small enough where you get to know the professors, but large enough to meet lost of new people. Clinton is a amazing nation rated community college, plus the views from Clinton's classroom windows are amazing.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The choir was my favorite group to be in. While it was small, it was a great group to make friends in, and the song choices were fantastic!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to pick your schedule! You really can get the perfect schedule, as long as you don't procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    Clinton Community College is an excellent place to learn. With the smaller class sizes, it's easy to get to know your peers and professors, and get the education you want. Clinton Community College has been such a great experience.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Cougar's Den is open every day for breakfast, snack and lunch. Food options range from prepackaged snacks to meals. They offer a meal of the day, but also make stuff to order like burgers, fries, sandwiches and subs.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about the dorm life as I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes move fast so stay on top of readings and assignments and ask questions when they come to you because you will be on to the next thing next class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know all the resources available to you and utilize them. Ask questions, the teachers and resources are there for you, so ask away and there is no such thing as a silly question. Look at the classes for your major and get all your pre-requisites and any other classes you can done ahead of time. Get involved and keep an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Older, brick architecture school on a hill-top that over looks Saranac lake and is only 10 minutes away from downtown Plattsburgh and the Hospital. The Douglas library has many resources and provides space for quiet study or group studies. The Nursing department has its own practice lab so students can practice skills before preforming them in the clinical setting.