Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Coastal Bend College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/27/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I hope to fit in... i am a mother of a little boy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never Give Up!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I will achieve my goal.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am very easy to get along with.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes. Focused deeply in my career.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Coastal Bend is great for all types of students, at least the ones who value their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, even though the campus is affordable, it isn't free. Student loans are not fun, and the meeting to get one is long. Take it from me, getting scholarships is way better then having to pay out of pocket. Oh, and join SSS! (Student Support Services, it's a Trio program) They are an incredibly helpful program, you can tutor, or get a tutor (or both!), their is always a counselor there for you, and you won't have to wait for one of the general counselors. They help with everything, laptops, books, trips to other colleges, workshops, transfer, course guidance..everything. I can't think of a reason not to join.

    Bang for the buck

    The best part about Coastal Bend? It's affordable, and worth every cent. Financial aide covers just about everything if you don't live in the dorms, you will have to pay a little more if you need one though, that's only if you already live nearby though, if you're from out of town, you'll definitely save money by staying in a dorm instead of an apartment. They're pretty nice rooms too.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Coastal Bend, at first I didn't want to go to such a small school, I just wanted to go straight to a University, but once I got here, it was great. The teachers are helpful, and actually care about the success of their students, classes are fun, and the students interact well. It's a really great place to start the transition into a University.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here really know what they're talking about, and the small school setting makes it easy to communicate with them when you need a little more help on a certain topic, plus your fellow students help a lot too. It's easy to just hang out with them before the teacher comes in and just talk about the assignments in a relaxed environment.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The campus of Coastal Bend College is suitable for individual of all genders, ages, and ethnicities. I have seen individuals attend this college from completely different religious and economic beliefs, however, having this diversity is what makes the campus so enjoyable for you get to expand from the norm and broaden your intelligence in regards to how others live their lives and how though their beliefs, and morals may be different from those of your own, they have lead you to the same point in life which is furthering your education at an outstanding college campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any prospective students of Coastal Bend College, never feel self-conscious about who you are or expressing yourself for you will find that diversity, individualism, and personality is the foundation in which this community college was built on. For all prospective students I suggest that you should take full advantage of the resources that are available to you from computer access, library center, and specialized silent study rooms. Also prospective students, never feel as if you can’t ask an instructor to slow down, repeat his or herself, or to explain a topic further for I promise you that they will happily do whatever necessary to ensure your success.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordability at Coastal Bend College can be manageable for any income. If an individual is lucky enough to qualify for financial aid then the entire cost can be taken care of, along with the cost of books and school materials, all the while leaving a hefty award amount for the student to receive at the end of the year in which could be applied toward driving costs for out of town students, or optional summer courses. The bookstore, vending machines, library, and cafeteria are all also extremely reasonable for any and everyone. I feel that Coastal Bend Colleges’ affordability is the gift that any institution can give to students looking to set foot on the path of success.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love every second that I am on campus and have even found that I look forward to being on campus. Staff members, students, and visitors always have smiles on and are quick say hello, wave, and spark a friendly conversation. If you seek aid in finding your way around and throughout the campus, there is no need to hesitate about asking anyone within sight for they will all belatedly extend a helping hand. The schools resources are all terrific for the sub is furnished with couches and chairs so that u can joyfully relax and let time pass with friends while you wait for your next class to begin, the book store is filled with items in which you can purchase to aid you along your learning path or merchandise in which to proudly represent your Coastal Bend College pride, and the library as well as the computer rooms are always open for any research in which you need to indulge yourself in.

    Am learning a lot

    Coastal Bend College is unquestionably the ideal community college. Coastal Bend College is remarkably staffed with intelligent, caring, and eager employees that always have a smile on their face. Instructors will go to any distance necessary to aid you along your path towards success. I have seen instructors go above and beyond by breaking down materials so that any and every individual can grasp, listening to students feedback if they are moving along to quickly, staying after hours till the sun goes down to tutor those who seek it, and holding group tutor sessions on their personal weekend days before tests. They immediately return messages whether they are over a text, phone call, or email and will always aid you with whatever knowledge they have regarding questions that you may seek answers to, and in those rare instances that they do not know the answer, they will make it a priority to advise you to someone that will.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Awesome instructors. Very friendly and helpful students and instructors. Calm environment.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People not sure of what career they want; people who want to get their basics out of the way; single parents; high school graduates who want to take baby steps on getting out in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out, explore, talk to people, take your studies seriously. Get acquainted with the teachers there because you'll need them in the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh definitely. It's ideal especially if you receive a Pell Grant and live in town because, chances are, you will get a pretty nice refund. It's an extremely low-cost college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've definitely enjoyed it here. A lot of my teachers have been supportive in my mental health, which had lead to my grades slacking in some department. The counselors are willing to help you out at every and any corner.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm in the art program, and while I have learned a lot - especially under Duryea and Quintero, you will start to run out of options once you take the classes. Everything is about what you'd expect in a basic community/junior college, so no real complaints.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are not a strong student coastal bend college is a great place to start. it helps a student learn what it is that needs to be worked on before going to a larger school.

    In three sentences

    coastal bend college is a very good college. it is not as fancy as a big university, but that is also what helps keep people focused on their classes. it also can give you more attention than bigger universities due to the smaller class sizes.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beeville is a small little town. So you really have to just make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    They up'd how much we had to pay for our meal plan and give us less food.

    Dorm Life

    We make our own fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are somewhat easy but even with the harder classes teachers are always ready to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coastal Bend College is a great learning environment. The classes are small and teachers are always great about helping students.

    In three sentences

    Coastal Bend College has a great learning experience. The teachers are nice and the faculty is too. They have a lot of events that bring people together and get them talking!

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always walking around campus. Rated 5

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs to join. Rated 5

    Great for these types of students

    First time students, anyone who does not like crowds, anyone who likes small town atmosphere, and anyone who wants to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    Because this is a community college, things in the bookstore and books bought on line are cheaper then at a University. Also a lot of students share books or borrow from each other, which saves a lot of money. Rated 5

    What to do for fun

    They are always having something going on in the sub. They celebrate several different holidays. Show movies and have contests.

    Food and Dining

    They offer several different choices for meals in the sub. From hot to cold items and severe three meals a day. Rated 5

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus, but here that everyone who does live in the dorms likes it. Rated 5

    Academic Rigor

    Rated 5

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and join Trio. The best organization for students who qualify. The stuff is always there for you and everything is keep confidential. They are there to help you and they truly want you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Is a small community college. Most classes are small and you can get more one on one help if needed. It's more of a small community where everyone knows everyone and you can always find someone willing to help you with any problem.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Prices are pretty low compared with other colleges and I have enjoyed my classes.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is full of computer labs! And some nights they have a free movie night. Also there is a hang out place with other games and TVs.

    Food and Dining

    Some people like the cafeteria, but I prefer to pack a lunch. Also vending machines are found all over the campus, and they take credit/debit cards, which is great when you can't find any cash.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. Sorry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read and reread your syllabus. Everyone learns in different ways so check for any extra reasources. Also some teacher's almost never use the book, instead they focus on their study guides and use those to plan the tests. Last but not least: do the work!

    In three sentences

    I love the campus! They have a great, small town feel. The teacher's are great too (once you understand their teaching style).

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Soccer Phi Theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    Hispanics. African American. White.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    What to do for fun

    Playing soccer.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every so often the college has events for students such as black history month, movies on holidays, and tail gate parties at the beginning of the fall semester.

    Food and Dining

    Foods ok.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are good.

    In three sentences

    Coastal Bend is a good college to learn from. It has small classes so you can get the help and understanding you need. Its easy to get along with other students.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Student safety is great. If you have any issues they are there for you 100%

    Greek Life

    No comment here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much to speak of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students taking core subjects until they decide what to major in, going into the LVN or RN program and living in Beeville.

    Bang for the buck

    From my experience and I have lived in Beeville for 4 years now and still out of district tuition, I could be attending a major university for what I have to put out in tuition and fees.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley, movie theatre and shopping close by. The college offers some events, plays, Cinco De Mayo festivities and other holiday related fun.

    Food and Dining

    Sorry...this leaves a lot to be desired. I'd rather have a dollar burger from Sonic or Stars. However, the Baptist Student Ministry has free lunch on Thursdays and they are very good.

    Dorm Life

    The college apartments are the best. I never stayed in the dorms. A little pricey, but it is all bills paid.

    Academic Rigor

    Perfect except for this semester. The online courses for my degree plan are over the limit. I have never had so much homework in my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going into the Nursing program, I would suggest taking a CNA course to get prepared in addition to Growth and Development class. If you're not sure what you want to do, just stick with the core subjects and decide later. If you don't like online classes, make sure your degree plan offers your classes at the college.

    In three sentences

    If you live outside of Bee County and even if you move to Bee County after you start, you will be charged out of district fees among double the internet fees and double many other fees. The instructors are awesome and extremely helpful and I have learned a great deal from them. Overall, except for tuition issues and book prices if you buy at the online bookstore, which is the only way you can if you are on grants or loans, it is a good school.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa is a fun and awesome club that only selected people get asked to join in. Usually the ones with good grades and good GPA's. Other clubs offered are Criminal Justice and STEM Club and also the English club.

    What to do for fun

    In between classes there is a ping pong table to play with or you can sit and enjoy a movie on the tv offered in the lounge.

    Food and Dining

    The only food and drinks offered are from vending machines, however there are restaurants nearby in a walking distances. You can bring food and warm it up in the microwave offered.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here on campus, however it is easy to find others to possibly carpool with if you are coming from out of town.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has challenging academics, but if you focus and do all the assignments, it is worth all the hard work. Studying pays off so make time to study and classes won't be so hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your close to this campus come here and start with your basics, it's easy and near. This school has given wonderful experiences I have had no problems it is a great school to attend for your first year.

    In three sentences

    Coastal Bend College is great community college to start of with. Everyone helps you get the needed documents together to apply for school and to apply for financial assistance. I would rate Coastal Bend College at a score of 9, 9 being great on a scale from 1-10 1 being horrible.