Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Coastal Carolina Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for the tpes of students who love to learn and who love to be in a place where you can excel and reach your full potential to either go to a further learning institution or go straight into the workplace. You have to be a hard worker and really want to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend this college, dont look at the size of the classes or campus, but look at the scores and statistics of the students after they leave this place and go on to careers and other colleges. This place is well worth a double take and a spot on the list of future possible colleges. If you love learning and enjoy a small but interesting environment. you will love this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though this school is small, its a great place to be. We may not have all the resources as big universities but the school does has is valued and very worth the money you spend. Although I have had financial help for the school, if I had to pay out of pocket I would because its worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. Its small but not too small. All the teachers I have had have been incredible and I have learned a lot. I wouldn't want to be at any other community college other than this one. Its making me fall in love with school and learning all over again. Its a great place for any and everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning is a big part of your college experience if not the biggest. And this school for being in a small city has been a large institution in my life my learning. I never knew I would learn so much in so little time.

  • 09/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Buissness, Nursing (although limited), Dental Hyg, medical administration, computer tech, pre-engineering degrees, and even cosmetology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get your FAFSA done as soon as taxes are done each year, register at CFNC.org so you can be eligible for the many grants and scholarships through NC. I have done so and so far, I have only had to pay about $2500 out of pocket for my educational expense. Not to shabby, huh?

    Am learning a lot

    I have been a student at CCCC for the last 1 1/2 years. I love it! I have had very few problems with instructors, actually. The only issue I have had was with an on-line class where the instructor would not grade or respond to my emails. Very frustrating. Other than that, the staff and instructors are more than helpful, always willing to answer questions and well worth it! Many degree and certification programs available to meet career needs!

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    2 year college

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy every minute of it.

    Bang for the buck

    Not that expensive, its well worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Love this college.

    Am learning a lot

    You do learn a lot and their electives are very nice. I love attending here. It gets me ready for a transfer to a four-year college of my choice.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have no idea what bang for the buck means- haha. I think 'buck' I think money for college!

    What to do for fun

    Well if your as excited about how amazing this school is like I am- take on some extra classes or get involved in the extracurricular!

    Food and Dining

    I actually stopped and got some snacks while I was creeping around campus before I enrolled- defiantly some tasty brain food!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms here, but the counselors hook you up with scholarship applications to make sure you have enough money for tuition, books, and living!

    Academic Rigor

    The academia is amazing, I love a challenge, and I love being involved in my education!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love science as much as me, defiantly enroll here! The science buildings and classes are phenomenal! I am so excited here!

    In three sentences

    This school has so many science buildings! The campus is clean and beautiful and so huge! I am so excited to start attending here!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Coastal has clubs of all sorts for people to join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria always has something good, and for great prices. Just because it's school doesn't mean that angry old lunch ladies are going to poison you.

    Dorm Life

    Coastal is a community college. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    College is a whole new animal when it comes to academics. The classes are different, the setting is different, and the people are different. Compared to high school, you learn a lot more in way less time. Either you can take advantage of it or you can become overwhelmed. Coastal makes things easy, there is always tutoring and teachers will help you. There's short classes packed full of all the things you need to move on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of the opportunities that you can take advantage of. Some students don't know about Financial Aid, scholarships, or grants. Coastal provides information and assistance with every thing that you may need. They also have night classes, 8 week classes, and online classes. The unlimited resourced Coastal provides is extremely useful. I would suggest that incoming students to have a plan, set goals, and know what kind of courses you want to take. Be aware that credit hours are important, and you need a lot of them. You don't need to know your whole life plan straight out of the gate though, Coastal gives you a chance to figure yourself out academically, and for the future.

    In three sentences

    They have a friendly staff, and dedicated teachers; they are always there to provide their assistance on what ever you may need. The amount of resources available to us as student, and even those who aren't students are numerous. Attending Coastal is a great experience, and one that I value greatly.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Coastal has a very well staffed security team who are conscientious about the safety of their students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Coastal has a multitude of clubs that address almost every aspect of college life. The school maintains a high level of interaction among the clubs and motivates students to participate in service learning (a 20 hour volunteer program with local/community foundations)

    Bang for the buck

    Coastal is one of the better college campus' for achievement as they are a University of North Carolina at Wilmington satellite campus. They offer several B.A./B.S. degree programs here on campus and they will soon be offering an M.A. in Social Work. This is a great opportunity for many students as it cuts the cost dramatically for the degree program and the degree will be from UNCW.

    What to do for fun

    Coastal has a Fall Festival and a Spring Fling; these events showcase several of the clubs and they have karaoke set up for each of the events. Some of the clubs set up games and other fun events. Food is free and all of the students engage in some activity.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is fair, they will make almost anything if asked and are always willing to meet a students request for specific food, so long as it is within certain parameters. The pricing is what one would expect on a campus.

    Dorm Life

    Coastal does not have dorms that I am aware of as it is a 2 year college.

    Academic Rigor

    Coastal is set up for you (the student) to succeed. Instructors are very helpful and they offer help to special needs students. Coastal is set up on a seven point scale so it is very important that you understand the scale and match your efforts accordingly. If a student endeavors to do all of the assigned work, the grades will come fairly easy. All the instructors want is a student who shows initiative and is willing to work in order to achieve their goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are prepared for college; this is NOT high school. Keep in touch with your instructors regarding absences or late assignments. Instructors are more apt to help those students who keep them informed over those who do not. Come prepared to spend the time necessary to fulfill the course requirements and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    Coastal is a great community college. The school offers a diverse curriculum and is focused on helping students achieve their goals. The school offers a multitude of clubs and endeavors to help each individual student with all of their needs.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    CCCC does have a cafe located in the student center. This cafe has a wide variety of cooked food items as well as a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CCCC.

    Academic Rigor

    CCCC has a very large selection of classes in many different majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would inform prospective students to take the ACA class during your first semester at CCCC. This class provides a lot of information about student finances and the college itself.

    In three sentences

    Coastal Carolina Community College (CCCC) is a great smaller college campus. It is a great environment with a lot of diversity. Both faculty and and administration are very friendly and helpful.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never any issues. A guy in my class lost his wallet, sent out a mass email asking if anyone found it and the following day someone returned it with nothing missing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Huge amount to choose from that stay very active all year long.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Anyone can succeed here.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost is to much, and they are very limited on financial aide.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. You will meet many people and get involved in many activities you will find to bring a lot of fun to your semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are usually understanding of life's situations. Deployments, children, work, etc. therefore they are willing to work with you and be leaneant. Although they do expect much out of you and push you for excellence. 3 stars is appropriate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to educate yourself on all the rules and policies as well as opportunities that maybe given at CCCC. Be as proactive as possible or else you will miss out on many things, or may be tricked into a lot of things.

    In three sentences

    Has great professors and resources to educated students properly. Business and administration at CCCC runs a little differently and makes life as a student very difficult.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have never gone to the main campus; the education center doesn't have anything fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have never gone to the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your military schedules and the amount of classes you decide to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate, and make sure you take the ACA 111 class as one of your first. This class can teach you the importance and lead you to focus on what degree you might want to pursue. Also it is a required class if you want to get a 2 year degree here so take it first (it is only a 1 hour course.

    In three sentences

    I am unsure about the main campus, but for the Marines stationed at CLNC, I can tell you that it is a great opportunity to earn some education. Maybe you are unsure of what you want to do just yet, but online, or the classrooms at the ed center make this a convenient location to get some schooling done. The classes I've taken so far have included teacher who really care and make time for their students.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its cheaper to come here then transfer over

    What to do for fun

    You can enjoy the mall and movies which is just down the street.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafateria there also is a Mcdonalds, Popeyes, and a Five Guys Burgers and Fries

    Dorm Life

    they do not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i have not started my classes yet so i wouldn't know

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never eaten cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    You live at home. No dorm housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Seven point scale instead of ten, which isn't that great.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a lot of security guards and people that watch the school all day and make sure people are safe.

    Greek Life

    I don't know if we have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not really heard about clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Coastal is good for people that are paying for college by them self.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People will fight for parking spots in the morning time. Finding parking spots in 10 minutes is great!

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Do class work outside when it is nice because coastal has a nice outside area that is very enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. I wish there was more to choose from. They are remodeling the dinning area right now so its going to look fabulous.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorm's because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The dental program is very hard to get into. Its very competitive!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to the counselor so you know you are in the right direction with your life. Also, never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Coastal is a great school. The staff helps you with everything and guides you in the right path. They also inform you in what you need to do to get ready for registration and much more.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Newly renovated cafe and grill.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very basic and the work is not very demanding.

    In three sentences

    Convient if you are in the Jacksonville area. The school in very affordable even without grants and scholarships. That is important to me because at any time those resources may not be available.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like being given the run around. Students who can handle being told 5 different things by 2 different people. Students who like wasting gas to go back and forth to the school because you call to ask a simple question and their response is always You have to come up here and 9 times out of 10 when you do go up there you're either there on the wrong day (even though they told you to come that day) or you're there at the wrong time (even though you weren't told a specific time to be there) so you're then told to come back good luck with that. Students who like being mistreated. Students who do everything right and still don't get enrolled in a timely manner nor get your books in a timely mannor due to the failure of the admission staff. Must I continue?

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is very nice, new and clean.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors seem nice and helpful but some aren't. You can pretty much assume that anywhere though.

    Tips for prospective students

    RUN!

    In three sentences

    HORRIBLE school,The admission staff is on some sort of power trip, most are very rude and not helpful at all, they act like you're bothering them etc. ( I could keep going ) There are plenty of other options and I would recommend using them. This school is by far the worst community college I have ever attended. RUN RUN RUN and DO NOT look back!

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards always present

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer

    What to do for fun

    Study in the cafe

    Food and Dining

    Normal community college cafe. Clean atmosphere and great areas for students to get work done in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Ask questions and you will receive the help you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions. Everyone is willing to help. If you don't ask questions, you may miss out on many opportunities to help you advance in your academics.

    In three sentences

    Every staff member I have come across has always been friendly. Everyone is always willing to help no matter how many questions you have. If they can't help you, they will direct you to someone who can.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like small class sizes and small campuses.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs and events on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you show up to class and get your schedule signed by your professors at the beginning of each semester if you have financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Coastal is a really good school. Other than having to take pre-requisites, the classes here are really great. Also, the school always has different activities and clubs the student body can participate in.

  • 10/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety here at Coastal is close to superb. Of course you have your occasional theft or heated arguments that almost go a rye but for the most part campus security is usually on point.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek life here at Coastal.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our clubs consists of the Student Government Association, the Coastal Choir, the Spanish Club, along with many others.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are laid back, open-minded, and culturally tolerant, Coastal is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Here at Coastal, we do not necessarily hold any specific traditions, however if we do; it is predicated on the fact that we are a former or current military community.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the student's here at Coastal are not required to pay for their two year tuition. Reason being mostly everyone qualifies for the Pell Grant or VA benefits.

    What to do for fun

    There are many resources students utilize to have fun here at Coastal. Everything from our clubs, our humongous baseball and soccer field, to our gym facility. Having fun here at Coastal is easy once you find your niche.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is well above average. Quite pricey; but above average.

    Dorm Life

    Being that Coastal is a two-year institution, it does not offer on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Although community colleges often tend to have stigmas surrounding them, Coastal prides itself on being academically stout. Your grade will definitely reflect the amount of hard work you put throughout your Coastal Career.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be a prospective student here at Coastal, I would suggests that you study extremely hard. Take every class equally serious and don't forget to utilize every study resource available. (ie) the math lab, the writing center, ect.

    In three sentences

    Coastal Carolina Community College is located in Jacksonville, North Carolina. Coastal possess a large military influence along side it's heavily diverse population of students. This diversity makes Coastal a very open minded and culturally tolerant campus.