Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cochise College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all types of students. They must have at least discipline to study to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell them to study hard in high school because the classes I took helped prepare me for college. High school is a stepping stone to college. So students who study hard in high school will not have hard of a time in college. Also, manage your time wisely. This is the key to success in college. Do not miss class because this will get you behind and it will be difficult to catch up with everybody else. The last one is DO NOT PARTY HARDY! This will ruin your chances to get a higher education and a successful career.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is only 52 dollars per credit. That is inexpensive compared to universities. So far, I am saving a whole lot of money going to a community college first, than an university.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cochise is alright. The campus is too small and does not live up to expectations I thought. I hoped the campus would be bigger. But right now, there are buildings being built. That is a plus. The school is getting a mini gym where the counseling office is at because the office is moving into a newer building. Overall, the campus is satisfactory.

    Am learning a lot

    Right now, I am taking two remedial courses because of a placement test that I was required to take. The college does not understand that I took pre-calculus which leads me into calculus. But no, I had to take trig again to get into calculus. For my reading class, I am learning how to read critically. But I learned that in high school. In my English class, I learned how to write interview, observation, and recall essays. I learned how to write descriptively and show a scene. For my Chemistry class, some subjects are review if you took chemistry in high school. If not, it will be new to you.

  • 10/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with nothing better to do or like taking all online classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, do not take classes full time (12 credits or around 4 classes) if you have a job or cannot devote all of your time to college.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are very good for a college at just $54.00 a credit, but you get what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    Like I said in my last comment, the instructors vary in quality and the increase in online classes while dropping face to face classes in favor of online classes has really made Cochise not the college it could be. I am passing most of my classes so far with the exception of two online classes that were not offered in face to face such as juvenile justice and psychology which are low level classes that most degrees require taking.

    Am learning a lot

    Some of my classes were interesting and I learned a lot. The placement test isn't the greatest of tests though, I tested into English 102 and maxed out the reading test, but because of the test score difference between the two tests, I had to come in and write an assigned essay, the essay assigned was not a good test of English and writing skills and so they then said the essay put me into English 100 which is two grades lower than what I tested into the first time. So then I had to take two more classes putting me behind which of course I have to pay for. The material was interesting enough depending on what class was taken. I've had some good classes and some bad ones. The instructors vary in quality. The online classes are all the same and are really not the best classes available.

  • 08/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Computer Science, Computer Information Systems, Nursing, and Psychology majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not cram for an exam!

    Bang for the buck

    Cochise college is the cheapest college i have found so far and I like it there so it fits.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its good for the most part you just have to make the best of it. It is school after all.

    Am learning a lot

    Depending on what field you are in you will learn a lot. I, for example, am a Network Technology major there and since we are so close to Fort Huachuca they are accurate in their teachings, but I have heard other students complain about certain teachers in other fields.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting an education

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the financial aid out there that you qualify for, think you qualify for or aren't sure you qualify for.

    Bang for the buck

    I received a study grant from Cochise college that pays for 12 credits hours' tuition and in the fall I am taking 14 credit hours, so i will only have to pay for 2 credit hours out of pocket(pending scholarships), which is under $150.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am very very excited to start college.

    Will learn a lot

    I am starting at Cochise college in the fall of 2011 and majoring in engineering. I am looking forward to learning a lot and taking great classes.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional students, low income students, online students

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cochise College is great for any one. You don't have to be from an in-group to make it there. You just have to have the drive for a higher education and a bright future!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask a question. All questions have merit regardless of what some one else my think. You don't no the answer, speak up. Your professor will only respect you more for doing so!!! sit in the front row, you get a bigger picture that way not to mention you learn more!!!

    Bang for the buck

    My tuition for my first three semesters was only $2667! That is not bad at all when you are a full time student and a single mother to boot!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the since of community I get when I am on campus. I feel at home there. It is as if we are all family.

    Am learning a lot

    After being out of school for fifteen years I thought it would be a struggle to grasp all of the new things being taught in college. I have found that every one on campus not just the teachers and staff but the students as well are all very helpful. At Cochise College every one makes you feel like you are family and are all there to help.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus, clean, and they also have campus security.

    Greek Life

    i am not a part of this at cochise college, but i know it is there.

    Food and Dining

    they have great meal plans, and a buffet as well as a restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    i do not know much about this, because i live close to the college. but the dorms are nice, and there are brand new ones. i have also heard form other people that they are great places to live.

    In three sentences

    cochise college is very student friendly, the staff is very kind and helpful, i have taken four classes and enjoyed all of them. i have also learned a lot at this school, and the academic advisers were very helpful making sure my schedule worked so that i could attend classes at the college and at my high school.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus has always seemed safe, we have security guards that patrol the area but i've never once seen a fight break out or any other scary situational things on campus, its always peaceful.

    Clubs and Activities

    its a community college so not too much in the way of greek or fraternity/sorority things. but the honors club phi theta kappa keeps things lively and their is normally something going on in the student union to keep the bored man occupied.

    Great for these types of students

    great for nurses, starting engineers, computer programmers, or undeclared majors in general. you'll find a subject you like here.

    Food and Dining

    campus has a nice lunch area and cafeteria to serve all the mainstream foods. definitely not the healthier kind, but certainly still tasty.

    Dorm Life

    since i'm actually writing this about the sierra vista campus, their really is no dorm life. but apartments around are plenty if you need a place to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be tough but are challenging in a good way and even all the more interesting. to speak personally i was amazed when i first took calculus i and found out all the applications that it still had today.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't bite off more than you can chew, especially in the mathematical, engineering, or computer science fields. their is a reason that 12 credits is a full time student, and if you are working on top of that becareful of what you take. weigh your classes to your strengths. if math is difficult for you and your taking two math classes already then that might be enough of a work load. other than that enjoy your classes because your paying to take them.

    In three sentences

    the sierra vista campus is great. nice small sized classes, and the instructors are on ball with their subjects. overall a good community college to attend and experience.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard of any crime. If any happened it must have been small.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs find one you like or two

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    entertainment available to take the edge off.

    Bang for the buck

    yes you do get good value for your money

    What to do for fun

    on campus there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    great food the area is clean and the taste is good.

    Dorm Life

    never done it, no comment

    Academic Rigor

    normal unless you take on more than you can handle

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the schedule and make you choice in advance. Have an idea of your major to keep on track

    In three sentences

    Cochise offer affordable prices for on campus classes. The faculty members are willing and there for you. The locations is great not much distraction.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any military student located on the local post trying to continue their life outside of the military one day. This college will give you a jump start with your credits. It is exstremly military friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    For 40 dollars I was able to convert my military education over and then on top of that, be able to transfer their credits to another school and be able to complete my degree in a separate field.

    What to do for fun

    Cochise College is located near Tomb Stone, a high tourist location that is a lot of fun to visit and build many new memories there. There is hiking, mountain climbing, and well booze.

    Food and Dining

    Again I was fed by the Army.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a Barracks so I can not really answer this question accuratly.

    Academic Rigor

    They allowed me to convert my military expeariance as intelligence into a certifiaction for a resonable price as a student just entering the military.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all your information ready and aim high, because the staff will push you, to push yourself.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is a valued college used by the military and civilian population. They are strong in moral values and have very flexible programs that can help you gain a certification and further your education into an associates degree.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are diffrent activities throughout the college where you can gather with your friends and play diffrent games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, seek help when needed, and take advantage of all the sources that Cochise College offers you.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College gives students the opportunity to get a head start in their education career. Cochise is one of the few institutions that provides students with one on one help, and with many different financial possibilities to help you pay for tuition and books.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is someone always on patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs for students to choose.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and people looking for a stepping stone for a bigger college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a lot of Mexican traditions at the school because we are very close to Mexico.

    Bang for the buck

    You get an awesome education or a small price. It was the smartest decision I made.

    What to do for fun

    Our college provides a number of activities it is also cloe to historix landmarks and other interesting places.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food from Mexican food to Italian food. They always have options.

    Dorm Life

    Have nice updated amenities.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have high expectations of you but they will do anything the can to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a small school butthe teachers want to see you succeed. It is truly a great school.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is a great stepping stone for many students. It allowed me to find my interest in school and pursue my passion.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    no clue

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no clueno clue

    Food and Dining

    no idea

    Dorm Life

    no idea

    Academic Rigor

    its basic

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep looking

    In three sentences

    SO far it has been a pretty good college

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to get a 2 year degree or students who want an easy transition into ASU.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally believe that college tuition is a rip off. If classes were cheaper more people would have to opportunity to better themselves.

    Food and Dining

    Food is simple and edible.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others. But you always have to be prepared to study your butt off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to take classes on campus not online.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is small but has some very talented teachers.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cochise College provides a very safe and healthy environment. Students can walk safe and happy to class without having to worry about a thing.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a great college here. It is affordable but many students as myself, don't have enough funds to cover my financial needs in my education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities here at Cochise College, which are very fun to do. It is a never ending list of fun clubs and activities the one can join.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very nutritional and affordable, students leave happy.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly would not be able to explain. I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors here are a challenge, and they only do it so that you are well prepared in your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    The student has to feel him or herself comfortable with the Cochise College environment.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College has a very healthy environment. The people and the staff are very friendly and always find a way to make you feel comfortable and to help you out. Cochise College also works very well with other schools such as the University of Arizona and Western New Mexico University.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is not very much security but the campus itself is very trustworthy and open.

    Greek Life

    I am not familiar with this topic.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations such as Trio, Student Government, Athletic Clubs and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to be pilots, nurses, major in any of the sciences, and others who want to resume their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ceremony for pilots of taking their wings so they can fly without fear.

    Bang for the buck

    There are always scholarships out there it is just a matter of applying and taking the time to do it.

    What to do for fun

    Our student government organizes many activities to those who live on and off of campus. Even open to non-students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good I just say. There are a lot of options to what you may choose and you are not pushed in buying from the cafeteria if one pleases to do otherwise.

    Dorm Life

    You have the option in choosing which dorm to live in as a full time student or an athlete. Everyone there is friendly and get along rather well. The community itself is very open and helpful towards students.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally I give them five stars because they have the whole academic package and a vast variety of programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your information and financial aid ready so their staff can set your path to a go.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is a great college full of friendly staff. They treat you with their uttermost respect and assist you by all means. The school has great classes and courses provided to all who qualify.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a pretty cheap school, but the amount of interaction between the entire campus makes the experience rich.

    What to do for fun

    Travel is big here, with Old Bisbee and Tombstone, it's a great place to really experience the old west. Mountain biking, horse-back riding, being outdoors-y is really the way to live to stay entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The Union cafeteria has some pretty decent food, its a great place for socializing as well as studying if need be because of the open space.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes depends on the teacher, some can be real hard-cases, some are more easy going at the end of the day, they all take their work professionally.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to open up to your teachers, the more they know you, the easier it is to find a way to get the job done for both sides. Personally, I had a teacher that I thought hated me for years, as soon as I opened up and let her know we both cleared some serious ground and passing was ten times easier without the awkward tension.

    In three sentences

    The small campus makes it easy to get around, and the teacher-student relationships are much more personal due to the small-town setting. Most students graduated high school here and the teachers also work at the high school so there's years of opportunity to learn what makes certain teachers click.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great tuition fees, very reasonable

    Tips for prospective students

    DO all your homework and study!

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with this College. The advisers and financial aid personnel are very helpful and nice, All my professors have been amazing!

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience is pretty superior, the cooks food is pretty amazing and so very fresh. They also give the food in a timely manner, Can't get any better than that!

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced the dorm life yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Cochise academics actually couldn't get any better. There are many opportunities for the students, there's many classes offered on campus, online, and there are many certificates, as well as degrees that can be earned online. The thing I dislike would have to be, all the hard work and extra paper work they have students jumping through hoops to turn in just to get in school. Yes, once you're in, it gets easy after all the hard work put into getting in, other than that headache, everything's excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel that students will love the school because of the generosity and willingness to help others that Cochise offers. Cochise is really big on education and making an effort to make sure all students achieve their goals. There's different departments for everything needed and all provide valuable and all needed information when asked. It seems that only people with good and positive attitudes are the ones they working the desk and it is awesome!! The only way someone would not receive the help or guidance needed or wanted, would be if they didn't put in the effort to open their mouth.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College isn't too bad, it was fine at first but now they're asking for a lot of unnecessary things that I can't do. With me being homeless and having no vehicle, they still expect me to get up to the school like everyday, as well as fax over papers. Other than the difficulties I'm having at the moment, the school is awesome.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small campus with open walk ways that are all well-lit.

    Great for these types of students

    Working.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Bisbee or Tombstone.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe that is well-stocked in the union.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know. They are unavailable

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are moderately paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid the computer tech help. You're better off finding help elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are helpful and knowledgeable. The campus in Sierra Vista is clean. Their tech support is convoluted, inarticulate and rude.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety average.

    Great for these types of students

    Cochise College is great start for any student who wants to get their generals out of the way at a fraction of the cost of University Schools. Cochise is also great for non-traditional students due to night , and on-line classes offered. The nursing program at Cochise is competitive if not better than other nursing programs in the state.

    Bang for the buck

    Cochise College is an excellent option for students to begin their general studies, work on a degree and transfer to any University with the confidence that they have been well prepared at Cochise College. Cochise is also a fraction of the cost of Universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that have activities going on during the week. if you want something to do all you need to do is look.

    Food and Dining

    The snack shop in the Sierra Vista campus is well furnished. You are able to grab something as simple as chips and a drink to a more full meal like a fast food restaurant. The food that I have eaten has been delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms. I am not able to comment on this question.

    Academic Rigor

    I belive that Cochise College is a perfect place to begin college life. The classes are challenging but the professors along with the Math, English and computer labs make the experience and challenge of mixing school and work possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest you visit the campus and go to any an all orientations for new and prospective students. This campus is very active in activities, and organizations to enrich the student experience.

    In three sentences

    I am attending Cochise College Sierra Vista Campus therefore I can't comment on the main campus in Douglas. The Sierra Vista campus I have found quite adequate for my needs as a non-traditional student. The staff and class schedules are helpful and flexible for non-traditional students and traditional students alike.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I take an evening class, so meals are home-based. But from what I've had at the college before, the meals are good.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my parents, so I don't know how living in a dorm would feel, so I don't have any suggestions on this topic

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure and security is on-duty 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rodeo, Soccer, Basketball, Baseball, and Aviation.

    Great for these types of students

    Every kind of student.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you can recieve frow Cochise is well worth your money, because of the hands-on teaching methods and the easy to retain lectures.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can play pool, basketball, hangout with friends, and anything else you can find entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide variety of foods, and a diffrent special every day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very laid back and fun. You can do evrything from hanging out with new friends to playing pool.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of Cochise College is very hands-on and very major oriented.

    In three sentences

    The life here on campus is very class oriented. The classes are very hands-on and educational toward your intended major. The students here on campus are very friendly and helpful.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many type of clubs and all clubs offer so much to students. Such as tutoring, scholarships, and much more. All the activities done in the clubs are very fun and interesting, everyone is involved and no one is left out.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities the student government do for all students. They make tiedying shirts day, movie nights, free deserts. Also, there are game rooms, there's ping pong tables, hockey tables, pool tables, xbox and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, the menu chanches daily. All the workers are very nice and they serve you gladly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a good experience! Single dorms or the town houses are great places to live. Especially when you are just a minute away from all your classes. You get to meet so many wondreful people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be for them to get involved in clubs and activities that always makes a change in their college life.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College has been a great experience for me. I think that is well organized and has some of the best teachers on campus. Also, there are many activities and clubs going on all the time and are really fun.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cochise College has security on campus at all times. They will help escort you to your vehicle as well as there are cameras in the parking lots. The security guards are very friendly and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    The classes are very helpful to the disabled.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cochise College is convenient in location. If you live in Sierra Vista travel time is not long at all. Cochise College has career week and they usually have cook outs and so forth.

    Bang for the buck

    The best bang for your buck is the nursing program. It is convenient and affordable compared to other universities.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy working out at the gym. I also like spending time with my family. My favorite past time is watching a good movie.

    Food and Dining

    Cochise College has a great dining area. The food is always good and they offer snacks as well. The location is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure if Cochise College offers dorms in Douglas, AZ but I know they don't have them on Sierra Vista campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer a wide array of classes that allow you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go see the friendly councilors. Take advantage of the online courses that Cochise has to offer. If your interested in becoming a nurse they have a great nursing program.

    In three sentences

    Cochise college is a friendly environment. It's a great place because it provides affordable and flexible education in an economically challenged area. The class are well structured and professional.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I have no live in campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is tough to get used to the way the professors teach at the beginning, but you get used to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the tools available! Library, tutors, and advisers are always there to help.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is great. People are nice and you receive a lot of help from the professors. The cost for classes are at a fair price.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe there and I know there is always a security guard near by.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to say there are options for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who does not want to move into a big university or just wants to get their AA before going.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a zombie versus humans game! ^_^

    What to do for fun

    I read, play video games, hang out with friends, play volleyball, and listen to music.

    Food and Dining

    Food is whatever I can afford so eating out is not much of an option, but when I do eat at the cafeteria it is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms I live out on my own.

    Academic Rigor

    If your assignments are not on time a lot of the teachers are cool and just take off partial credit from your paper but that's more points that you could have had just for turning it in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because your a student there does not mean you will be doing as much as others will, join clubs and make the most of your experience.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are nice and they have the will to want to teach. There are zero problems when it comes to student interactions. The school offers great availability to do homework on campus and enough research.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You get what you pay for and it is good. But they could lower the cost in some of the foods there. Either way, the food and drinks there are delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I, myself, have not lived in the dorms but I hear it's not so bad. It's convent being near the college rather than having to drive from someplace to attend the classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take you may or may not have so much to do. Some of the classes can be fun to take, but because it's fun doesn't mean you won't learn anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are applying for financial aid you must complete the FAFSA before the deadline to qualify for it. If you need to ask question do not be afraid to ask them. Do not overwhelm yourself by taking on more classes than you are able to.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice and quiet place with not so many students overcrowding the classrooms. Teachers are very helpful in helping out students but the student must let the teacher know, teachers are not mind readers! The library is a great place to study and the staff there are willing to help with research materials.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 - 7 campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are always something great to be involved in. We are constantly involved in our community, giving back to the children. You become such a social and outgoing person. These clubs do have instructors so for most of them you get college credit which is an awesome bonus. The students are the ones that overall are in charge of all the clubs. But I believe the most exciting part is being able to meet more of your fellow college classmates and become more involved in your college and the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like classes that are not packed with over one hundred students at one time. There is plenty of space to breathe and speak your mind freely. You will also get that one on one time if you are in need of it. The instructors are always around if you are looking for them and also the counselors are great help.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices for classes are very affordable for anyone really. They also have awesome payment plan options if you are unable to pay it all by a certain date. Very flexible and well worth the money I have spent thus far.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Government and all of our sports keep us very entertained through out the year. We are constantly having something to do every other week with student government and everyone is very active in school. Lots of school spirit!

    Food and Dining

    The Food at Cochise is very good but it can also get a little pricey. I personally cannot afford to go to the cafeteria every day and eat. You may also gain a few pounds if you do, Everything is pleasing to your eyes but not your body. They do need more healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    I currently do not live in the dorms at Cochise but I have not heard any complaints from any of the residents that do live there.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Cochise does very well, They push you but to a point that is manageable. You can pass every single class as long as you have that drive and dedication to do well. Every single one of my instructors have been more than amazing and I have really gained a lot from every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and really think your schedule through before jumping right into it. That especially goes for any of the medical field majors out there.

    In three sentences

    Cochise college is big enough for you to explore your options and find yourself but it is also small enough to the point where you still matter as an individual and people truly care for your future.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    There is no fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi theta kapa Cookies Holocaust group etc

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for girls in soccer and boys and girls in basketball. Or anyone who is looking to major in the nursing field

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really isn't any unusual traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Buy your books online preferably on amazon, the bookstore is really expensive. Don't eat on campus either unless you live in dorms, food is pricey

    What to do for fun

    I exercise, eat, and watch tv for fun

    Food and Dining

    Food is really expensive, probably overpriced because the food is lacking in flavor

    Dorm Life

    Great from what i hear, i don't live on campus so i just have to believe what the on campus students say about dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes are the most difficult but are very entertaining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect too much, the teachers are nice, and study if you take science classes.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is a decent community college. It doesn't provide many courses for the students in its Douglas campus. But none the less its an alright college.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Real safe campus, security is just a call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities for all. I'm currently in Phi Theta Kappa helping out with fundraisers and also in the Holocaust club getting ready to do more fundraisers and a trip to a museum in El Paso,TX.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Big Pit Fire evey year, the ceramics teacher makes a big pit fire to cook the clay ceramics like in the old times outside and they have activities and live music. Also all the clubs participate with fundraisers and raffles and food.

    What to do for fun

    I play golf, go to the gym, hang out with friends and at the college in my leisure time i play billiards.

    Food and Dining

    Good food in cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    New dorm rooms, good modern rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Good standing academic rigor, great education programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask questions and ask for help to the advisors at the college and teachers, everyone is willing to help. And also get involved in clubs.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college, Good teachers and programs. They have really good tutors and personalized attention to the students. They have many activities and community service opportunities.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not ate any of the food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorms, but Arizona is a very nice state

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were challenging and completion of them left me feeling accomplished.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is a good school for Veterans. Cochise takes care of its students and is always quick to answer any questions. They offer both residential and online courses.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have not heard of any issues.

    Greek Life

    Not aware

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of groups to join. Many activities throughout the year, not only by student body but by college as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Spanish speakers. Multicultural. military families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bonfire a yearly gathering ,arts and performances

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of groups to join. Many activities by student body.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is affordable. Food there is very good. Plenty of healthy choices available

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on dorms but the dorms seem well kept and reasonably priced

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors are more difficult than others but it also depends on the material that they are trying to cover.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at schedule online. Check boards for used books.

    In three sentences

    Easy access to classes, catalogs , etc. Flexible schedules. Instructors accessible.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt worried there in the day or at night. I have even left the windows down on my car for 3 hours while in class with my ipod and money in the passenger seat and everything was still there when I returned.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honors society. Not really a frat/sorority in the normal sense but it counts.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them. Look on the school website and pick some!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to knock out their gen. ed. classes for cheap before transferring to a university or students who are not sure what major they want yet and want to try a bunch of different classes. It's cheaper to find out at Cochise than at a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a little nature trail that has workout stations along it if you want to get out and get fit.

    Bang for the buck

    Cochise College is dirt cheap. In all 4 semesters I have been there its only cost me $4,000 total in tuition to get my associates degree. That is equivalent to one semester at a university.

    What to do for fun

    The student government has a lot of different things you can do. They play frisbee, volleyball, and other sports. They recently bought an Xbox One and have it setup for playing game on. There are plenty of fun clubs too like the tabletop gaming club that provide tons of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    There is a kitchen that cooks burgers, fries, and many other things. They also offer salads and sandwiches along with specials that very daily like country fried chicken or lasagna. There is also a little coffee shop in the cafeteria that makes some really good coffee, tea, and smoothies at a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    I am on the Sierra Vista Campus and there are no dorms on that campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As an engineering major I found my classes were easily passable as long as I put the time and effort into them. Make sure you use the Tutoring Center and teachers' office hours if you get stuck and you'll have no problem with classes! There's help everywhere!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to use the writing and math labs for any questions you need answered about your classwork or homework. The tutors are a mixture of students and paid professionals who are very knowledgeable and willing to stick with you and help you until you get it! Also, don't hesitate to visit teachers during their office hours. They are very approachable and willing to answer any questions you have about the class.

    In three sentences

    Cochise College is great if you're not sure what degree you want yet or if you want to get your general education classes out of the way but don't want to pay thousands at a university for the same classes. There is plenty of help available if you need it and the teachers and staff are very friendly. The small class sizes help give a better student to teacher interaction than would normally be received at a university.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cochise college is secluded from town, also there aren't any thief psycho people that you have to worry about. Most people are nice and respectful.

    Greek Life

    There are some social clubs that will organize party events every once in a while, Last year they organized a Halloween party with free food and drinks.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are always professional about what they do, it seems to me like they really care about fundraising for special events and trips.

    Great for these types of students

    Overachievers, big thinkers, money-savers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the Cochise college will organize a pit fire event, where all the students and anyone besides them are invited, there is dance performers, food, and other fun stuff as well. Also, if you and your friends have a band and want to perform for school, the college will be more than welcome to let you make a small performance at the student union. Cochise college is so awesome, they will even offer free cookies and punch if so.

    Bang for the buck

    Cochise college makes going to school truly inexpensive, that's one of the major reasons why I go to school here, FAFSA will cover up mostly all of your expenses. I personally think tuition at Cochise college is well worth the effort and attention that teachers put into their students.

    What to do for fun

    At Cochise college there are a couple of things that you can always do for fun. For example, you can hang out at the library and pick a interesting book to read, watch t.v. at the lobby, play ping pong or Xbox between course breaks, grab a snack at the book store or simply hang out at the student union. Also, you can go to the computer lab and get ahead on homework if you're an overachiever!

    Food and Dining

    The food is way good and healthy but, I wished it was less expensive!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but, to what I've seen they are remodeled, the rooms look nice and spacey.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you do, do NOT lose focus, attending Cochise college may be a huge challenge at times.

    In three sentences

    Great & caring teachers.