Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Coe College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Those who want to play college sports but can't decide on just one sport and/or really want to focus on academics as well. -People who really want a community feel. -Students that want real feedback from professors. -Students dedicated to their work- it's not a place where you can just skate by!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply because the sooner you do, the sooner you can find scholarships and have opportunities to visit campus and meet teams and coaches. Getting a feel for the campus is really important so if you have the chance, take advantage of it!

    Bang for the buck

    Coe is expensive, but they have amazing scholarships and I know that I won't have a problem getting a job by the time I graduate. The price tag seems ridiculous at first, but wait until after you view your scholarship package before you cross it off your list just because of price.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is such a friendly environment because the campus is so small and it feels like everyone knows everyone. Also, it is very easy to get involved on campus if you know what you want to do or want to try new things.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really care that you are involved in class and that you benefit from class time as much as possible. There are so many resources that students can take advantage of which makes it very possible to succeed as long as you want to.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there have only been rare isolated issues with trouble, but students have never been hurt because of them. everyone has coe's security number plus there are security phones all around campus. it is very safe.

    Greek Life

    the greek life here are very involved. all that i have met have been very nice and welcoming. some of the groups often plan social events that everyone (even non-greeks) can go to.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a great number of clubs and activities here already, and if you can't find one that fits you, you can always start a new one.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of clubs to join, some being rugcutters (dancing), ultimate frisbee, and environmental club. also the student activities committee (sac) plans many entertaining events that students can go to. these are generally loads of fun and worth going to (and free!). also, there is the usual college entertainment of parties. If you have a car (or a friend with a car) there are plenty of nearby activities that are loads of fun, such as the Newbo Market, some museums, and a new and improved library.

    Food and Dining

    there are two options for meals: 1) the cafeteria and 2) charlie's pub (the pub). the cafeteria is open mon-thurs 7:15am-8:30pm, fri 7:15am-6:30pm (closed 2:30-4pm). they stop serving hot food between 9-11am, and often close before 8:30, generally at 7:30. they are also open on sat 8-9am; 11:30-1pm; 5-6pm, and sun 10:45am-12:45pm; 5-6pm. the food choices are limited, and often the meat is not cooked all the way. however, you can generally find something you are willing to eat. the pub is open mon-thurs 7:30am-11pm, fri 7:30am-3pm, closed sat, sun 4pm-11pm. the grill is only open for dinner, but sometimes is a nice alternative to going to the cafeteria. the grill food is not really healthy, so try to only eat there maybe once a week. the rest of the pub is basically like a mini-convenience store, mostly food (although they do have batteries and whatnot). it is overpriced, but as long as you use coe cash it does not really matter.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are cleaned daily except for over the weekends. also, the different dorm choices make it so anyone can be happy. if you want to have a quiet time, murray is the best choice. the freshman dorm, armstrong, can be loud. greene, the boys-only dorm is most definitely known to have crazy things happen there. vorhees, the girls-only dorm has a more at-home, relaxed feeling. douglas is basically just an older (sophomores) version of armstrong. There are also apartments and other housing options available for sophomores and up, but are highly sought after and hard to get.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends a little on the classes you take. there are some teachers who require a huge amount of effort and time from you, but most others require what i find to be manageable amounts. most of the homework load is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small campus! You will run into the same people everywhere, including that person that you partied with 3 weeks ago. Ask your teachers for help! They are more than willing to give plenty of it! Also, take advantage of the free tutors available through AAP.

    In three sentences

    the people of coe are very friendly and there are many ways to get involved. the teachers are always willing to help out if you need it. the campus is beautiful and kept clean.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -people who are willing to explore a lot -people who like sports but don't want it to dominate their life -art students

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Visit campus. I had no idea I would love Coe this much until I visited. They send out a lot of mail. Don't be scared of that, either.

    Bang for the buck

    Coe is really expensive. There. That's been said. But their scholarships are amazing. I wish I had applied sooner, but even applying only a couple weeks before deadline, I managed to get 2/3 of the cost covered just by the school.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone I met at Coe was really friendly, and it didn't feel like it was just because I was a prospie. In fact, this is the only place I didn't feel singled out for special treatment BECAUSE I was a prospie. I really got to see what the people were like, and what they were was REALLY nice and genuine.

    Will learn a lot

    I visited around ten schools and Coe won in terms of classwork hands down. Nowhere else did teachers seem as caring and students as engaged as here, even in more expensive, prestigious liberal arts schools.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that like the small-school environment. Coe is a fantastic school that has challenging academics, competitive athletics, and great people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! There is nothing like staying on campus for a day or two. Definitely helps in the decision making process.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not the cheapest option, but the classes, the scholarships, and everything out here is all worth it. Coe is very generous with their scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and the people are ridiculously friendly. This was by far the best college out of my choices.

    Am learning a lot

    Coe has small class sizes, and the Professors really care about each student, you can't match this in a large University. Every class I am enrolled in here at Coe is enriching and has opened my eyes to new possibilities and new frontiers of learning.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's in a big city, so common sense is a must, but it's generally safer than other schools smack in the middle of a metropolis.

    Greek Life

    There are some lively frats and sororities on campus, but they and the rest of the campus are never at odds. In fact, Greek Houses often hold cookouts for the rest of the school, and host other fun events.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons to do, from religious organizations to political groups to cultural clubs to environmental awareness groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! We've got all types, but you must be comfortable with a smaller school and more tight-knit environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's supposedly a ghost in Voorhees Hall. Flunk Day is a century-old tradition of having an all-out party on campus at the end of the year. And the ringing of the bell is a staple at every graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a strong education with decent financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Cedar Rapids has a bunch of bars and some decent clubs. For those who are underage or don't like drinking, there are a number of volunteer organizations as well as leisure organizations (e.g. cycling, bowling) in town. Political activism is also pretty strong.

    Food and Dining

    Generally, the caf food is pretty good, and there's a decent variety. They even hired a chef to make hot meals. There's also the option to buy snacks and microwavable meals from the Pub with Coe Cash.

    Dorm Life

    Different dorms have different standards. Murray and Greene can be messy, Voorhees is palatial, and Armstrong-Douglas is for freshmen and (generally) more athletic types.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are tough but friendly enough that they'll offer you all the help you need to succeed, as long as you're putting in the effort. There are no TA's, so you get the personal touch, too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to step out of your shell--try something new every chance you get. Coe has a lot of different clubs, and nearly half of students double major, so we like variety!

    In three sentences

    Coe is a small, tight-knit community of high-achieving but laid-back learners. Classes can be tough, but professors are personable and helpful, so students are encouraged to do their best. And as a small college in a big city, there are opportunities to make lifelong friends and still maintain a lively and spontaneous social life.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Coe is located in a relatively sketchy area of Cedar Rapids. That being said, Coe is in it's own little bubble. I have always felt safe, and unless you're wandering around off campus drunk late at night there's really nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is alive and well at Coe. I went through formal recruitment for sororities this year, and while I decided not to join any of the sororities, it was still a great experience. It's an awesome way to meet people and I would recommend that all new students go through rush.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many opportunities to get involved in here at Coe. There are lots of options for sports, whether it be officially or through intramurals. But there are also lots of artsy options, like art club or theater. Coe is also very open to students starting their own clubs, so if there's an opportunity Coe doesn't already have, you have the ability to start a club yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are motivated, ready to get involved, like to have fun (but can balance it with schoolwork), and are looking for a well-rounded liberal arts education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, as a Writing Center Consultant I have to advocate for our incredible Writing Center at Coe. We have the largest student-run Writing Center in the country, and conferences are free to all Coe students. The Writing Center is a really cool place to hang out, and there is often free food and coffee.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many unusual opportunities at Coe that you wouldn't have anywhere else. I attribute these opportunities to our incredible staff. The professors and faculty here really do care about the students, and will do anything they can to help and make sure you get the most out of your education.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots to do at Coe, on weeknights and on weekends. On weekends there are lots of parties and that sort of thing, but SAC (the student activities committee) provides lots of other sober options as well. There are concerts, and poetry readings, and pumpkin carvings, and t shirt dying, free bowling, and lots of other events all free to Coe students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria isn't bad, but it isn't very good either. There are lots of options that change every day, but there are some options that stay constant every day as well. We also have access to the PUB, a restaurant style dining center. We can use Coe Cash here if we're too tired of the Cafeteria. (They make a killer grilled cheese)

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Coe really depends on which dorm you decide to live in. Coe is a 4-year residential campus, which means that everyone typically stays on weekends and there is a lot to do. There are basically _ options for housing. You can live in Armstrong (the all-freshman party dorm), Voorhees (the all girls dorm, its pretty quiet and chill), Greene (the all-male dorm, again lots of parties), Murray (an artsy dorm with a lot of foreign exchange students), Douglas (a co-ed dorm of all ages attached to Armstrong), or the apartments on campus (limited to upperclassmen). Your dorm experience really depends on which dorm you choose. I live in Voorhees and love it, because it is quiet and a great place to study. The only downside to Voorhees is that it is less social than dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Coe is a very academically rigorous school. That being said, you can fit your schedule to be academically rigorous in your areas of specialty.

    Tips for prospective students

    You really need to plan an overnight stay. There are lots of small liberal arts colleges in the Midwest, and at first they all seem pretty similar. An overnight stay can often give you an idea of the REAL flavor of a school and the differences between other schools. My overnight stay definitely cemented my decision to attend Coe.

    In three sentences

    Coe is a great place to plug in and make new connections. The professors here give a lot of personalized attention and actually care, and there are lots of incredible opportunities. You receive a great education by having a lot of fun,

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is super safe! It is so small and nice, and there is low crime rates in the city and it is one of the safest place to be in and you can have the security number in your cell phone or at every other corner in the college and you are allowed to call them up if you need help or just someone to walk you to your dorm so you can feel safe and secure.

    Greek Life

    I don't know what it means by Greek Life. If it's about Sororities and Fraternities I'm not joining any of those.

    Clubs and Activities

    I will for sure join Coe Alliance and Multicultural Fission. I was thinking of joining the dance team but I'm not interested anymore but I really like the email and passion I see through the president when she keeps sending out those informational emails to the team, it just shows their hard-work and dedication.

    Great for these types of students

    What I love about Coe College is that it can be great for a different range of students' it doesn't target any specific student genre. Plus, I hate categorizing people and labeling things. It's better to be undefined.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't discovered anything unusual. Just that I am from Los Angeles so the weather is going to be something that's going to be tough for me, because in Iowa there's actually seasons.

    Bang for the buck

    It depends what type of financial aid you recieve from this school if it should be worth for you to spend on it. I have a great financial aid package actually through the help of this college! Because I received the full-tuition scholarship from Coe called the Diversity Leaders Scholarship. Anyone who is a minority and is accepted and is thinking of attending Coe can apply for this scholarship. I also know a man who has a full ride to Coe for his football skills. There is always opportunities out there!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many events and clubs for this small college!!! I have three different orientations! I am already enrolled into two different clubs/programs, And there is a week or Orientation with fun, random activities. I love it! There is always something to do and one can always hit the city for entertainment because I heard there's a lot to do out there too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is like any other college. Average, buet style.

    Dorm Life

    I think the dorm life is amazing, that's what I heard and that's how it seems! I think the best dorms to be in if you want a party environment is the Armstrong, all freshmen dorm. The other dorm is the all-boys dorm. A more academic-focused dorm can be the all girls dorm, Voorhees. So everyone usually can get the best of both worlds.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not so sure how the academic rigor is but so far it seems pretty well enough! Maybe more rigorous than an average college because the college already sent me a book that is required of me to finish it and I have to write three essays on it online before I even enter school! Pretty advanced because none of my friends have any of that.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think what you should consider if you want to go to this school is basically how big of a college campus experience do you want? I love going to such a small school but someone might hate it. You also have to think of the environment of the campus, do you want it mellow or fast-paced? You may want to consider the student-teacher ratio, I really think it's a plus that it is 11 to 1 but everyone is different.

    In three sentences

    Coe College is my dream school! It is urban, filled with a relaxed, mellow environment during the day. It is incredibly small but a friendly, caring environment. They also give their students a lot of resources and support.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The surrounding area is very dangerous. There have been multiple muggings every year, and armed robberies right off of campus, as well as a fun little drive-by shooting during freshman orientation. The campus is fairly safe and is called the Coe Bubble because crime rarely ever happens ON campus. It's kind of ironic we call it a bubble because most students are stuck in one intellectually as well.

    Greek Life

    Decent. Most organizations are based on cliques within the middle-school-like community of Coe, but there are some with better reputations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Decent selection, but meet at inconvenient times if you're majoring in anything to do with the arts. I haven't been able to join a single one.

    Great for these types of students

    Conservative, small town, average intelligence

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flunk Day: the school cancels class for a day and everybody gets blind drunk. Unfortunately, they delayed the hell out of it this year, so everyone's just been getting blind drunk anyway every night.

    Bang for the buck

    While cheaper compared to other private schools, Coe is not for the brightest members of society, nor the most liberal. The people who do well here are from small, sheltered Iowan towns and don't know much about the world.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Cedar Rapids is an industrial town and is run-down, ghetto, very unsafe, and very boring. People have fun by drinking away the fact that they're in Cedar Rapids.

    Food and Dining

    Abhorrent. Limited choice, low quality, way too high of a price for what it is. I switched this semester to cooking my own meals entirely, which is not cheap on top of the $4,400 meal plan and is inconvenient, considering there is 1 small kitchen for 240 people in my building. Also, the school requires you buy a meal plan until you get into an apartment (maybe junior year, most likely senior year).

    Dorm Life

    You are forced to live in dorms for at least your first two years, and they are not the greatest places to live. There is only one kitchen in some dorms, very limited and broken-down laundry services, and you get a choice of either VERY loud buildings or eerily quiet ones. You also do not have the option to move off of campus, not even if you're a 23 or 24 year old senior.

    Academic Rigor

    My high school classes were much more challenging and the only programs that aren't a complete joke are math and science.

    In three sentences

    DO NOT come here if you are from a big city, have an ACT score over 30, or have any self-respect. Coe markets itself as a liberal campus much like larger universities, but is remarkably conservative and protectionist. You will be miserable and it is hard to escape this dunghole of a college and an even worse city.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Coe is great for all kinds of students, but more so for students who would like a smaller school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your college wisely. Your college will become your second home. Don't stress about making new friends, it happens pretty naturally.

    Bang for the buck

    Coe is expensive, but I really feel like I am getting the most out of what I've spent. Smaller class sizes and lots of resources for help from counseling to career advice.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to school at Coe! I enjoy the classes and especially the people. I have never felt alone or left out at school. There's also always fun activities and shows on campus, I've never had a dull weekend!

    Am learning a lot

    Coe has wonderful professors who are always willing to help students during and after class. There are a wide variety of classes and majors to choose from.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social students, who are serious about furthering education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Coe and spend some time looking in to all that Coe has to offer you.

    Bang for the buck

    Coes expensive but it pays off when you look at the quality of education they are giving you plus they have a lot of scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    Coe as a good fun atmosphere, no matter who you are you could find something or somewhere to belong at Coe.

    Will learn a lot

    The Coe staff really care about there students getting all that they can out of their classes and you will enjoy being in them.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus and have not yet felt uncomfortable walking anywhere alone.

    Greek Life

    I love Greek Life at Coe. I'm a member of AOII and the girls are so amazing. I really enjoy being involved in the community and being seen as a positive role model. I also love that all the sororities and fraternities get along well and have a lot of functions together.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Coe we have Flunk Day, which is a random day where the college cancels classes. Then all the students have a relaxing day and can participate in all the fun activities that the college provides.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I'm getting the most out my college experience here because professors actually help me become a better student, the facilities are clean and nice and I can participate in many different things. However, I feel that college tuition overall is much more expensive than it should be.

    What to do for fun

    Coe offers a lot of activities for fun such as theatrical productions, free fitness classes and movies, and a range of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, but there are some days where there are only items that I don't like to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms, because it was really easy to meet people just by seeing them in the halls and people pop in and out if you leave your door open. Also, in the dorms I have everything I need.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though I was a strong student in high school, I found that I needed to adjust my studying habits and homework habits greatly in order to succeed and understand material. Also, lectures are essential to my understanding of course material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sit in on classes and make sure you stay overnight with a student on campus. It will give you a much better idea of what life is like at Coe.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not a lot of people are in Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Student-athletes and science majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flunk Day occurs once every year. Classes are cancelled and there are some things to do out in the Quad. It's basically a day of all day drinking.

    Bang for the buck

    Coe is a good school.

    What to do for fun

    There are events on campus and parties to go to usually on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is pretty good, but other days everything is just terrible. They do have a pretty wide selection to offer though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent, but Armstrong and Douglas only turn on air conditioning very late into spring so it gets very hot.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly challenging and require a pretty decent time commitment to get good grades. Dean's List requires around a 3.875 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to come in focused and ready to work hard right away if you want a good GPA.

    In three sentences

    Coe has a very nice but slightly old campus. Their facilities could use a little updating, but overall it is a very good school. The athletics are very competitive and most students are athletes.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Coe seems like a very nice school. Everyone I met there was really nice, and my admissions counselor seemed to go above and beyond the call of duty. He was always there if I needed questions answered (no matter how many I had), and I felt like I actually got to know him, even though we only talked on the phone. They give out a pretty decent amount of financial aid. When I worked it all out, I only had about 3,000 left that I had to pay on my own, and that was before I learned that I was eligible for a full tuition scholarship. But remember that the aid really depends on your situation, so I don't know if anyone else will find themselves with the same amount of aid that I had. I was able to attend one class, and everyone there was really nice. The discussion we had during class was interesting and I didn't feel too intimidated to participate, even though they were sophomores and I was only a senior in high school. The tour guide I had was really forthcoming with information, especially since we were both black and he was in the major that I had chosen. I can't speak for any other African-American students, but sometimes I'm just really curious to know the racial dynamics of certain schools, and he was really open and honest about it. The only cons I had about the school was that the kids there did not give me a great lasting impression as the night went on. We had a concert, and the kids there were drinking and pretty much acting the fool. I try not to be too judgmental about things like that, because I know I can be a bit of a prude sometimes, but I felt that it was completely inappropriate to start drinking at an event that you know prospective students will be attending. It just didn't feel right. I also felt that the grounds needed some serious renovation and upkeep. When I had to go to my host's on-campus apartment, we were pretty much trekking through puddles and mud because the ground was so uneven in that area. It was not a fun ride because I was wearing my fancy shoes and trying to tug along my suitcase at the same time. And then, to make matters worse, even though my host was so sweet and open (we literally had an impromptu question and answer session), her apartment was so dirty that even I had the urge to break out the disinfectant and gloves. I'm not saying that everyone's room was like that. Even the dorm I visited earlier in the day was nice and clean, but again it just felt like the foresight of the students was seriously lacking. She should have tried to clean if she knew a prospective student was coming. At the end of the day, Coe has a few faults, but I'd still recommend this school. Just know that you need to take everything with a grain of salt and be able to judge things for yourself. I'd say that a visit to this school is the best way to know if it's right for you. Good luck!

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    As a result of the size of Coe, I was not expecting so many clubs to be on campus. They have something for everyone and I can't wait to be a part of extra curricular activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When the freshman come to Coe, there is a ceremonial Ringing of the Bell When you come on campus as a freshman, you ring the bell and you also ring it when you graduate. I always thought that was really cool. You feel like you're a part of a community more so than a school.

    Bang for the buck

    I was expecting Coe to offer me MUCH less financial aid than they did. Not everyone can go out of state to a private college and pay less than her friends that are staying in my home state and paying more.

    What to do for fun

    Coe is right next to the Cedar Rapids River, so dragonracing is always an option. Also Coe is located in the second largest city in Iowa, so laser tag, bowling, karaoke, and other fun activities are always available for you.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to eat at the school, but the meal plan that they offered me is going to help me a lot with paying for food while I attend.

    Dorm Life

    Coe has a great way of making sure you are matched with the right roommate. After you fill out the roommate preference form, the counselors in the Res Life department hand-pick a roommate for you that matches your likeness. The college also offers modular furniture which makes decoration of the rooms fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The only exposure I've had to the academics at Coe was the Summer Reading Assignment. We read A Primate's Memoir by Robert Sapolsky and it was a great read! However it wasn't very difficult, and a lot of aid for the reading was provided for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't throw away small town or Mid-west colleges because sometimes they offer more attention than you would ever receive from a huge university.

    In three sentences

    Coe College is a magnificent school that tends to the needs of it's students. Everyone is incredible personable and all of the teachers are very friendly. I can't wait to attend this fall!

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to the mall (somewhat close), random activities on campus (there are a lot).

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you possibly can.

    In three sentences

    The environment is absolutely great. Amazing teachers, awesome students, friendly faculty. It's kind of expensive but totally worth it.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who would have trouble fitting in elsewhere. Granted, part of that is just me and my friend group, but the campus is warm and inviting and people are friendly. You just have to come out of your dorm room and try talking to them.

    Bang for the buck

    Coe is expensive, even after scholarships. However, if you want to learn, it is amazing. Just understand that you will be most successful if you put in work beyond what is expected for your classes--much like in real life.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of campus organizations who host events, and Coe tries to ensure there is something to do every weekend. For the most part, leisure time is spent hanging out with friends and, if a car is available, possibly the occasional trip to Iowa City. There are parties, which while generally unannounced occur frequently enough.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone complains about the food, but that is mostly due to a lack of variety. The food is reasonably good, and there have been some efforts recently to ensure that there is a greater variety available for students. If you really want to know what it's like, visit when there isn't anything planned for prospective students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are, well, college dorms. They're decent, but nothing extraordinary. Freshmen not interested in parties should probably try to get in Murray or Voorhees instead of Armstrong. Regardless of the facilities, the student body is friendly and RAs are helpful and polite.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of classes varies by professor, but they tend to require a reasonable amount of effort without being crushing. It doesn't take much to skate by with straight 'C's, but for those who want to learn something while in college, there are plenty of opportunities, including independent study.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Stay for an overnight visit and talk to current students -Meet the faculty in the field you desire to major in -Your first year you can experiment, so don't worry too much if you don't know what you want to major in

    In three sentences

    Coe College is a well rounded liberal arts school with a surprisingly strong program in the hard sciences. It is small, and maintains a warm and inviting atmosphere for those with a diversity of backgrounds. Faculty members are helpful and genuinely want to see students succeed.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe with security that you can call anytime to escort you anywhere on campus you may need to go at anytime of day or night.

    Greek Life

    I am apart of Alpha Omicron Pi sorority at Coe College and it is the best decision I have ever made. I think Greek Life at Coe is the shining star of the community. Greek life enhances me everyday providing me with leadership skills, social skills, and philanthropic service to name a few. People involved in Greek Life at Coe College tend to have a higher GPA across campus and constantly give back to the Cedar Rapids community. I would highly recommend at least trying it out, there is an organization for everyone at Coe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Coe offers so many different clubs and activities that it is impossible not to get involved and become more integrated in the Coe and Cedar Rapids community. Everything from Gay Straight Alliance to Service Learning to Student Activities Committee that puts on campus events is offered.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On your first day of orientation week the freshman ring this great big bell we have on campus. It signifies the start of your experience at Coe and when you graduate you ring the bell again to signify the end of your journey at Coe. Also during finals week the school puts on a late night breakfast where the professors serve you breakfast at midnight!

    Bang for the buck

    Coe offers crazy amounts of scholarships and the wonderful experience and education I am getting at Coe is mind blowing. I can't imagine getting such an amazing education for my tuition anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Coe is great in the activities offered on campus. There are late night movies some Friday nights for free, there is a campus variety show every few weeks where you can do anything for five minutes and not be judged, and those are just the regular activities. Campus constantly has a variety of activities throughout the year to keep your weekends busy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. While it's not the worst, it's not the best either. Sometimes the food options do not have the best variety.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love living in the dorms. I love being so close to all of my friends and it's a great way to meet new people. Coe is unique in the fact that you are required to live on campus all four years, but I love that because I have become so connected to the Coe community that I wouldn't want to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am constantly challenged with the content of my studies which is very important to me. If something is too easy I don't really learn much, but I can gladly say that after each class I take I feel like I have learned something valuable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for an overnight stay with a current student, it's the best way to get a feel for Coe and whether it's the right fit for you. The Coe community is something that is truly unique and you can feel assured that you will be accepted. Also try to meet a professor in your area of intended study, each professor is highly knowledgeable in their field and are highly approachable.

    In three sentences

    Incredible individualized education for students. Coe prepares students with phenomenal education while also creating a cohesive community that becomes apart of the Coe College experience. I couldn't imagine being happier than at Coe College which has truly become my second home.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are smart enough, there will never be any problems on campus safety wise. Be smart by going with a group after dark and basic things like that and you will always be good!

    Greek Life

    Very welcoming and doesn't haze in the least. Go through recruitment to meet people!

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to join on campus. There are options for everyone and you can easily create your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a ghost associated with Voorhees Residence Hall. Her name is Helen and I have not experienced her yet, but she exists.

    What to do for fun

    Go through recruitment for sororities or fraternities. You can get into a lot of social events through them. There is shopping nearby as well as movie theaters. There is a lot to do if you are looking!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is a good company with decent food, but it does get old after a while because you live here and eat here at least two meals a day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cleaned every day, except weekends. They are in great condition with the air conditioning/heating units being some of the only small issues I have experienced.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class, but Coe is a tough courseload. They are trying to make you learn the material and keep it in your mind for time to come. Therefore, you have to put the effort in for it to be beneficial to your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight! You want to know what to expect when you move into college, than stay with a current student. Visit with a professor or a class. It is important to feel welcome by professors and faculty not just students.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Coe College very high on any scale. There have been very few bumps in the road and it is an amazing school. There is an amazing community of students, professors, and faculty that is super welcoming to everyone who attends.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24 hour escort service, and security can always be seen patrolling campus. I always feel safe on campus, even though students have been jumped only a block off campus.

    Greek Life

    Sororities at Coe are not the stereotypical cliquey groups that you often see in movies. They are here to offer services to the community.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a wide variety of students on campus, so this is really a school for open-minded, eager students.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a group which is responsible for bringing in big names in entertainment, from pop bands to slam poet duos. There are weekly speakers that come in from different colleges and universities to give science and English department talks each week. There are at least five things to do each week.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide range of food, and it is easy for vegetarians and vegans to have plenty of options. Occasionally the food will be sub-par, but there's always plenty to eat. Also, the cafeteria staff are very friendly, and some make an effort to learn every student's name.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are all fairly large, and have individual heating/cooling systems. However, a few are often dirty, because Coe is more of a party school than I thought it would be. However, you never feel pressured to join in if you'd rather go to bed early. Also, there is a good variety of room options.

    Academic Rigor

    I have never felt overwhelmed by the work load while here, but that also completely depends on your habits. There are a fair amount of readings and projects, but as long as you stay on top of your syllabus you should have fun while learning a lot. The professors balance difficult material with guidance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for every scholarship that you can get, and don't stress too much. Just go to a school where you feel like you fit in, and know that everything will work out, even if it isn't in the way you originally intended. Also, don't freak out if you don't have a major planned. You have two years or so to come to a decision.

    In three sentences

    Coe College excels at making the transition from high school to college as easy as possible. The admissions staff is always friendly (and there are great scholarships available.) No one can ever say that there is nothing to do, because the college brings in entertainment regularly.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The caf gets very gross after a while. My main complaint, besides food quality and lack of options, is that it has very inconvenient hours. I have missed many meals due to my work schedule that I will never be compensated for. Coe's alternative dining option, the Pub, has your typical greasy fare. I wish they had fresher and healthier options, as it is a nice place to eat/study if you are in a hurry or don't want to eat with a group.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are, as in most places, a mixed bag. I live in Douglas Hall on an all-freshman floor and it is the equivalent of an honors floor, which I have enjoyed for the most part. Most freshman live in Armstrong, the freshman dorm, which is connected to Douglas. It is about as nice as your average dorm, not too small, newly renovated bathrooms. However, dorms are only as nice and tidy as their residents, and putting a whole lot of alcohol-crazed frosh together does not create a great environment. I'm very glad to not live in Armstrong. For those who like non-stop parties, it is a lot of fun, and I know that many people are close to their floor mates.

    Academic Rigor

    Coe is as hard as you want to make it. I worked very hard my first semester and earned a 4.0--but then again, I went into several help sessions and would blow off social events to study or complete assignments. An A is elusive, but Bs are accessible. Coe is not a competitive place, and many students are satisfied with a B or a C. You'll be challenged in the classroom, but not outside of the classroom, as intellectualness does not extend after hours to the general student body.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight. I never stayed overnight, as I only visited Coe for their Scholar's Weekend and wanted to be well-rested, but wish I had. Ask admissions to get you in contact with current students who are in your prospective major. Are these people the types you want to surround yourself with? Coe is very much a residential college--in fact, you really won't get off-campus much unless you have a job outside of campus or have a car.

    In three sentences

    Coe College is a mixed bag--while it really works for some, it is not for everyone. Academics at Coe, especially the social and physical sciences, are top-notch; professors are truly knowledgable in their field and are extremely accessible, if you choose to take advantage of it. However, Coe's location is not so great, and if you are looking for a social scene outside of small dorm parties, you are out of luck.