Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Coker College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/10/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A normal tuition

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is cool and there's alot to do there.

    Will learn a lot

    Great School

  • 07/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students from small towns

    Tips for prospective students

    really close-knit school and a lot to do here

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a close knit environment, and a small community Coker is perfect for you. Everyone knows who everyone is, and there are no secrets to be had.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have study habits already down, and if you don't find some. College is wonderful to start your life, but failing out and wasting money is not the way to go. Understand that while these professors are willing to help, they cannot and will not slide you by on nothing.

    Bang for the buck

    While Coker is beautiful, it is very pricy.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a very small community, with fun things to do. The college campus itself is a great, and relaxing place to just explore.

    Am learning a lot

    Having the teachers know who I am, and being able to constantly have contact with them is very helpful. They are always willing to provide extra help if need be, no matter when.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Two tips I can offer, is to definitely go check Coker out and make sure that's the type of environment you'd like to be in. My second tip is apply for a lot of scholarships if you plan to go here. It is expensive.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors I've learned the most from were Dr. Shawn Lay, Dr. Banks, and Dr. Godbey. They are outstanding in their field.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety staff are for the most part kind and great to get along with. Just don't start trouble.

    Bang for the buck

    They could cut some costs. Too expensive for me personally.

    What to do for fun

    Have lots of friends, They'll make Coker fun. There's a $2 theater in downtown Hartsville. Florence and Columbia aren't that far if you want to hit up a mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than what I eat at other schools.

    Dorm Life

    The school needs to tear down a dorm building and add new ones to accommodate the incoming students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind and you'll do great.

    In three sentences

    It's great for meeting friends. Needs more variety of classes. On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 meaning great, I would rate Coker a 6.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is like family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1. One special tradition is the Coker Commissioners. There are about 14 commissioners a year who have their own group of incoming freshmen to watch over for that whole year. Boy commissioner wear vests and girl commissioners wear aprons.

    What to do for fun

    1. Go out to eat. Coker College is near many restaurant locations. 2. Taking boxing classes or play basketball at the local YMCA. 3. Go shopping.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs for each department are exceptionally geared to the education of their student. Some departments are more harsh than others, but you learn nonetheless.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Do not take freshman year lightly. This is the year when most students flunk out. 2. Drama between students is irrelevant towards your goal. Stay positive and keep your eye on the prize. 3. Remember to have fun, but get your work done first. One week will not be enough to do an essay. Procrastination kills.

    In three sentences

    1. The one on one relationships between teachers and students are very helpful. 2. The round table learning help students speak up more on their ideas. 3. The English and biology programs are great.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food could be better but it is manageable.

    Dorm Life

    It is calm. It could be a little bit cleaner on the out side part.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very good when it comes to helping you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you communicate with your professors. Please read your syllabus.

    In three sentences

    Coker College is a good school. I like it for the size. They don't have a lot of party like most college do so it is a plus.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their is always something on campus to do .If you want to get away their is a movie theater down the street.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small classes this is the school for you. its a small tightly knit campus where everyone knows everyone.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Coker College is an overall great campus expercience. The small town and area causes students to focus more on the task at hand rather than being caught in distractions that typical college settings have. Also, the small classes give a better one on one relationship between the student and teacher rather than just being known as a number.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a club called The Den on campus. There is movie theaters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to buy books. Apply for financial aid as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Coker College is a wonderful school to attend. The teachers and students are equally friendly. I would give Coker college a 10 out of 10.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is great on safety and strict on alcohol and drug policies. Campus safety also is very helpful if you ever get locked out of your room or your dorm.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, that I know of, at Coker

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities on campus sponsored by the Coker College Union (CCU). CCU brings movies nights and all sorts of events throughout the terms. Campus Life also has some awesome events.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want to slow down from the hustle and bustle of bigger cities and great for those who are from small towns

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ringing of the Bell on the Bell Tower Lawn is a tradition after winning a sports game for the teams.

    Bang for the buck

    A normal private institution tution.

    What to do for fun

    Even though most don't find the small community fun, there are plenty of things to do around the area. There is a movie theater in town, the beach is an hour away,and Florence has some nice malls and other attractions. During Halloween, there is also haunted house around the area that open up.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall has wonderful choices and choices for everyone. Whether you are a strict meat eater or vegan, you can always find something to eat. There are other options to choose from on and around campus.

    Dorm Life

    For freshman, it is rough the first year due to one of three reasons. either you are in the stairs-only building, you are in a community bathroom hall or you are having a rough time adjusting..

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes will seems to be harder than other, but each class has it's own ups and downs. The classes as a student ratio is smaller than most colleges which gives students more one on one time with asking questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research all scholarships available to you personally. Take a tour of the campus. Talk to your admissions counselor about cocerns and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Coker College is a great learning environment and a great place to learn about community. The classes are small but the professors know you by name instead of a number.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always on campus day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities for you to get involved with. About the second week of school all of the clubs on campus will come outside and set up tables you will be able to sign up for clubs then if you are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Coker College is great for students who need that one on one time with professors and who enjoy a quiet and peaceful community. If you like parties almost every weekend, live happenings, and a fast paste life... Coker Is NOT for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some traditions at Coker college includes but are not limited to cow days and band fest. Students are very interactive and involved when the campus has traditional events through out the year.

    Bang for the buck

    Coker is a very nice school that has many interactive activities on campus during different times of the year. I think the tuition is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Every other weekend you have parties but besides that its not really nothing to do at Coker. Students make their own fun or they go out to the surrounding clubs or parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dinning hall can be a little different at times. The one food that most of the Coker students enjoy is the pizza. There is always the Cobra caf�© and other local surrounding restaurants if you don't like the food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be kind of crazy on the weekends but overall its good. Community style bathrooms can become a problem when people or persons don't want to clean behind themselves. (you will have janitors on site though, be sure to have tissue and other cleaning supplies because janitors don't work on the weekends)

    Academic Rigor

    Coker College is very challenging academically but I promise every thing you learn you will use. I have attended Coker for one year now and I am using almost everything that I have learned on my summer job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask teachers for help AFTER class if you are struggling. Their are always tutoring offered for students by other students who are of high academic standing and sometimes the teachers themselves will help you. :-)

    In three sentences

    I will give Coker College a B+. The Staff is very friendly and willing to help students and locals are very supportive.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do on campus for fun. We have den night which are like weekend student parties. We have many performance for students to watch such as dance and theater productions. There is also a two dollar movie theater within walking distance of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dinning hall is good and occasion, however we do have a caf�© on campus and the food there is great!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are nothing but the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    Coker College is very diverse. The professors are very knowledgeable in their fields. The college works very well with student and helping them find financial aid.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Coker College is worth every penny!

    Food and Dining

    I do not stay on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    At Coker the professors teach at a reasonable pace. If you do not understand what is going on most professors will take the time to go back over it so you can understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending Coker College, I would suggest that you go ahead and apply you will not regret it. Call the main campus and see which program is right for you because they also offer a ALPHA program which is offered at nights. They will help you get on the right path.

    In three sentences

    I rate Coker College as a five star college. The staff at this college are so polite and helpful. They do not mind answering questions or actually helping you step by step unlike most colleges. The professors are great! They actually try to teach you, if you need one on one help they will help you with no hesitation. I love going to Coker!

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college is always having events. The different clubs will generally host events on campus multiple nights a week and on weekends. There is always a movie theater half a mile up the street and several food places. Florence is only a 25 minute drive and they have a large shopping mall, bowling and more.

    Food and Dining

    Like most college cafeterias, the food isn't always what you want but they do have a variety. There is always a salad bar, cereal bar and sandwich station available for you to access.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't as bad as some colleges. There are 9 different buildings for dorms, 3 of which are apartment style living. In all but 1 dorm, 4 people share a bathroom. The freshman and sophomore dorms have 2 people per room and the upperclassman dorms have 4/5 to a suite with your own personal room, a small living room and a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your professors and field of study, the academic side of things is about average. As long as you do your work and actually try to put forth an effort, you should do alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a smaller school with a student population of mainly athletes, then coker should be a possible option. We just added wrestling and next year we're adding track.

    In three sentences

    Personally, I feel that Coker was the right choice for me. I like smaller setting classrooms and I feel the majority of the student population is very friendly. The professors work really well with students and for the most part they work with you to help you pass.