Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Colby Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCC is an equal opportunity to all races and it sure proudly open to all.

    Tips for prospective students

    I, surely recommend CCC for others.

    Bang for the buck

    CCC offers student on campus jobs while taking courses.

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes I did, CCC was like a family to me when I was studying at CCC.

    Did learn a lot

    Yes, I learned alot from CCC when I attend it during the 90's

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The outreach programs don't have clubs and activities that I know of, but I know the campus has a lot of different things for students to do.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for traditional and non-traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am taking the outreach nursing program in WaKeeney, and most other schools don't do the outreach programs. It is so awesome that Colby is doing this for surrounding communities, because some people don't want to move from their home towns.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive, yes. Colby has seemed to make it all worth it for me so far! I am very excited to get started. I have felt like I wasted a lot of money at other colleges, but so far I am happy with every cent I have given to ColbyCC.

    What to do for fun

    I am taking Colby's outreach nursing program in WaKeeney, KS. Things to do for fun here is go to the dirt track races, hang out with friends, and go see movies in Hays.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in Colby.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great, I know the courses will be tough, but all the instructors have told me numerous times to talk to them if I have any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate and get all of your application materials in promptly and on time.

    In three sentences

    Colby has done nothing but helped me with every question I've had about admission to financial aid, all the way to taking online classes. Every person I have talked to has been so friendly and seems to really enjoy helping me with all of my questions or concerns. I am excited to get started for and represent Colby Community College on June 4th, 2012.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students at the Norton campus have a far better chance of observing an operation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Norton Campus is moving, as of July 2012 we will be in the newly renovated building just for the Nursing program in Norton.

    Bang for the buck

    Get to know the clinical staff if you are in the nursing program. There is always a chance to get more hands on for clinicals

    What to do for fun

    Norton has a pool open from Memorial day til Labor day. Sebelius Lake for fishing, boating, skying, and swimming. And there is always Norton Theater/

    Food and Dining

    All food is off campus. Attitudes and Town and Country are the only family dining. Of course there is alway Pizza Hut, McDonald's, and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in the Norton outreach campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The schedule is tight but using your time wisely you can still have time for yourself after the work is done. The teachers do have a conscience, even if they don't show it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class, Teachers always share part of their personal life. If you can remember these things, the teachers know you are paying attention, they may work as extra credit when you need it most.

    In three sentences

    Colby is awesome place to learn. The faculty is always willing to go out of the way to help each student succeed. A marvelous community college.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One security guard on duty during the day. If there is a threat on campus, the college will do all they can to keep the students safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, Phi Beta Lambda, Alpha Rho Tau

    Clubs and Activities

    Circle K, Band, Sunflower Singers, Student Government, Equestrian Team, Academic Bowl Team

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are just starting college, in a sport (athletic scholarships!!), want a small college, and who can't afford to go to a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is located out in the middle of nowhere. However, I have learned it's not the location that matters but the people. It's because of all the friends I've made that college life in the middle of nowhere is bearable and even fun.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the bar, watch athletic games, hang out with friends, bowling, movies, shopping, museum, swimming

    Food and Dining

    After eating cafeteria food for almost a year, it gets old. This is because they tend to serve the same food every once in a while. There is a variety, but not a whole lot.

    Dorm Life

    If you can afford it, live in the new dorms. They are more modern, updated and spacious. The old dorms have very close quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are challenging but there are courses that aren't as hard as they could be

    Tips for prospective students

    Colby Community College is for students who want to aquire an Associates degree or just want to take some courses to transfer to a four year school. It's a great school to get started at.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    thier is no campus safety on the weekends and you barley seem them at all on the week days

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    equistrian team is horrible here, soft balls okay

    Great for these types of students

    music and criminal justic

    Bang for the buck

    hell no

    What to do for fun

    nothing but to get drunk

    Food and Dining

    horrible unhealthy

    Dorm Life

    horrible no starts for this cat.

    Academic Rigor

    not that great

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to colby live off campus and avoid the equine / animal science department.

    In three sentences

    was once a good college . Mot gonna lie I loved goin here my first semster until everything went down hill. So much drama in the dorms. people start rumers becuase thier board. Finaical aid screws you over their is nothing to do on campus or off campus. I hate it here now and cant wait to get the hell out of here!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One guard who is old.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ha! My friend was on the Equestrian team and she was treated like SH**!

    Great for these types of students

    not worth going here

    Bang for the buck

    Heck no!

    What to do for fun

    nothing but go to twisters

    Food and Dining

    My friend found plastic in their food . Should I say more?!

    Dorm Life

    horrible mold and they have no room for single rooms

    Academic Rigor

    the equine teachers area B****

    Tips for prospective students

    go to a four year way better than this place

    In three sentences

    Should of went to a four year

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is one security guard.

    Great for these types of students

    I will participate in Brain Bowl. There are quite a few sports, vocal and band.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students who appreciate a small school environment.

    Bang for the buck

    This school will be a great fit for me. It is a small school and the staff is better able to give one-on-one assistance if it is needed. I enjoy the small-town life, which is another plus for me about this school.

    What to do for fun

    The college sponsors some activities, and there are various concerts and ball games throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the dining hall. You can get a 14-meal plan or an 18-meal plan. You have to buy one of these if you're living in the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    I have not yet lived in the dorms, though I plan to do so.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken outreach classes through this school, and the rigor depends upon the course and the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and it will pay off, the same as any other school. Remember to enjoy your time at this school, as well as gain from it academically.

    In three sentences

    I believe this school will be very helpful to me in beginning my education. I will major in general studies, because the course of study I want is not offered. I wanted to attend a community college before going on to a four-year school.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't much for security guards and such at CCC. Each dorm has a lobby which is locked after hours and remains locked on the weekends. In Living Center Northeast there are cameras on each floor that run constantly.

    Greek Life

    At CCC there are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    CCC has many clubs for students to join. For example there is student government association, vet tech club, international club, gay, lesbian, bisexual club.

    Great for these types of students

    CCC is great for the type of students who want to get away from home but not too far away. CCC is great for those students who don't want to go to a very large college. Its bigger than a high school but small enough to have around thirty kids to a class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mostly around CCC there aren't many unusual traditions. On homecoming we have a bonfire while the cheerleaders stand in front of the fire and yell cheers. Everyone is welcome to the bonfire. Following the bonfire that weekend is filled with a homecoming basketball game where the king and queen candidates are announced.

    Bang for the buck

    CCC is cheaper than most schools but there are schools that are cheaper than CCC. CCC charges around $3,000 for room and board but this is for students with the special out of state tuition, books, fees, and room and board.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do in Colby Kansas, but as a student you can find multiple things to do. There is always the option to hang out with friends in your dorm room, or in the lobbies of the dorms. There is also attending school functions, such as basketball games, volleyball games, softball and baseball games as well. If you're not into sports, there is a movie theater and a bowling alley in the town as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is hardly any complaining when it comes to food. Although, CCC cafeteria doesn't serve a large variety of foods. There is always a salad bar, desserts bar, and a pizza. The main course change but majority of the time it will be chicken that is served.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life can be somewhat challenging. For example, living on the first floor may seem like its great but there is no insulation in the walls or the ceilings therefore you can hear everything that is going on around you and above you.

    Academic Rigor

    In majority of my classes I have learned something new but in others I have not. Some of my classes are a review from high school. Though, most classes I have learned something new and useful.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any prospective students come prepared to class every day. Also, come prepared to learn and be able to do things on your own outside of class. The instructors will not babysit you like some do in high school.

    In three sentences

    CCC has great school spirit and students really get involved in attending academic events. CCC also has a fairly wide selection of majors to choose from. Overall, CCC is a great place to go for kids just getting out of high school.