Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Colby-Sawyer College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You have to like a small school. These people become your family!

    Tips for prospective students

    buy a good winter coat, learn to ski, and remember to relax a bit

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    self-motivated, individualized, unique students.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are prepared for snow, cold weather, and a lot of wind! it gets cold. it's also a rather quiet campus, so you make your own fun.

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive, but if you can come up with the money or the loans, it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have found that, despite the small size, it's very easy to find people with similar interests -- especially if you like alternative music and culture!

    Am learning a lot

    You get out of it, what you put into it. it's one of those schools where you aren't competing for attention, so you can get a good education.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    mountain day is a tradition holiday in csc

    What to do for fun

    fun thing hold by students and party.

    Tips for prospective students

    dorms are good condition, but the phone service here is not work very well, best phone service here is verizon.

    In three sentences

    csc is a nice college to attend. the study environment is very good, and the people here is very nice.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a phone call away... if they answer!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs which are great ways to meet people!

    Great for these types of students

    Bubbly & friendly

    Bang for the buck

    I wouldn't want to pay what I pay just to go to this school! I only chose it because it was small and in a secluded area. For what we pay it could be much better.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends, sit outside on the quad, and go for walks!

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, most of the time it tastes like there isn't any seasoning. However, when they have good meals they are very good!

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorm! Get to know the people around you and engage in activities within your dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    There are hard classes and most of the time you are challenged unless its a 100 level class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college before you go, this way you can find out if you love it! Don't be afraid to ask questions to get to know the college more, especially ask students!

    In three sentences

    Colby-Sawyer is a small private school. I love the small campus and scenic views. I don't like the people on campus because most of them are judgmental and mean.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I slept over, attended a class, had a great time and I'm already considering myself as part of the community... It really is amazing!!!!

    Will learn a lot

    The advantage of being a rural school, is that the students will be more concentrated or focus on school than anything else that could keep them back from achieving their goals...

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers at Colby-Sawyer are top notch. They are all really helpful and are always happy. If you need help they are always willing to help you, no matter what time it is.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. We have clubs for every major on campus. There are all sorts of clubs and if the school doesn't have one that you want you can start it yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    Campus is great for students who want a small school and who want a relationship with almost everyone else on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tradition on campus called mountain day. This is a day where the president will ring the tower bell on some given day. All classes are cancelled for the day and we get shuttled to Kearsarge mountain, we tie dye t-shirts, hike the mountain, and eat a barbecue.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is amazing and well worth the money. You get an excellent education for the money that you pay. Also you get most things on campus for free which makes it even more worth it.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is always something to do. Events such as comedians, wacky bingo, laser tag, and open mic nights happen on campus. RAs also conduct activities in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    Our school uses Sodexo for our food. The food is tasty and the dining accommodations are nice. The school is expanding the dining facilities right now and it is suppose to be awesome.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an experience that I would never want to give up. You get to know everyone and you are close with most of them. Your RAs are extremely helpful as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Colby-Sawyer are amazing. The professors work very closely with you to help you succeed. You learn multitudes of information at Colby-Sawyer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Embrace orientation. Take time to get to know the campus. Take a guided tour on campus.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who aren't interested in going to a huge city where you mesh witht the crowd. Here, you'll be part of a close knit group.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll need a car with four wheel drive and a good winter outfit. This is after all New England weather.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little expensive, but after all it is a beautiful area, which makes up for the price.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's a little smaller than my high school, but is like a small town similar to my home town.

    Will learn a lot

    I've met with some of the students here and they tell me that no matter which area of study I'm going to learn in, I will definitely be learning.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Twenty four hour safety everyday even on vacations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day! A day off for students and faculty.

    What to do for fun

    There always activities on campus sponsored by clubs, like comedy shows, open mic nights and outdoor theater.

    Food and Dining

    It is good food and they have variety.

    Dorm Life

    Great living and very easy to get around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything is hands on so you will be well off in graduation with your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage and visit the college not only is it great to find out information from the source, but it is also a beautiful spot to visit.

    In three sentences

    Colby-Sawyer college is a great place for interactive learning. It haves a good selections of different types of majors and courses. Going here provides you with a lot of opportunities in jobs and internships.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security and check points for students if they need help.

    Clubs and Activities

    A huge variety of both and some great student activities for the whole school like a yearly hike. All classes are canceled and everyone goes on a big hike!

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a maple syrup tap on campus and it is so yummy! they also have a little polar bear icon to let us know how much electricity we're using!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private college so tuition is higher than another in state college. The money is worth it though, 100% worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are endless hiking trips, kayaking routes, and cute local places to check out.

    Food and Dining

    24/7 food.

    Dorm Life

    substance free rooms available, and an amazing campus library I would love to live in!

    Academic Rigor

    There are a wide variety of courses to choose from giving you endless options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, study harder, and always stay motivated. Then, all your dreams will come true.

    In three sentences

    A breath taking environment to learn. Structured, but reinforces creativity. Colby-Sawyer college is an amazing support system in helping you reach your goals.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is never really too rowdy, and when it gets to that point campo has it under control.

    Greek Life

    No such thing at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am going to start a club this upcoming semester with a professor of mine. We are trying to become affiliated with Planned Parenthood.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Star gazing! Its unreal.

    What to do for fun

    At Colby-Sawyer I love to go hiking and take walks. The views here are amazing.

    Food and Dining

    The food here really depends on what you are used to eating at home.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to other colleges that I have visited, Colby-Sawyer has really done a great job. The one thing they need are more dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at Colby-Sawyer are there to help you, which they do. Like it has been said before, at this college you are not just a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that you do not have to hide your true self. Do not be afraid; everyone is very accepting here. Do your best, strive for what you believe in, and make a name for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Colby-Sawyer is a small college that allows freedom and respect from all staff and fellow classmates. The feeling you have walking around campus is one full of self-enjoyment and prosperity. Colby-Sawyer allows you to explore your mind with the help of a great staff.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety police don't look in-shape and don't do much other than giving people parking tickets. I personally haven't had to call them, but if a student didn't feel safe walking at night, a campus safety officer can escort them. A few of the officers are pretty good guys though.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college is becoming more aware of becoming sustainable and there is a committee students can join. There are hiking, camping, golfing and rock climbing clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who don't mind a small college. Students who a majoring in nursing or environmental science/studies. Also is the student likes a very low-key, one with nature experience, Colby-Sawyer might be for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One day every fall semester (usually in September) the College chooses a beautiful day during the week and at exactly 10 A.M a bell rings which means classes are cancelled. With class cancelled everyone either drives or is transported by the school in a bus to the local mountain named Mt. Kearsarge. The school provides t-shirts for Ty-dying, and afterwards students hike up the mountain where their met by a beautiful view. After the hike the school has a cookout for students, and the tradition is called Mountain Day.

    Bang for the buck

    Every college is expensive. I earned about 8,000 in scholarships my freshman year from the college and it still costs 32,000. The cost increased another $2,000 for the coming year. The best action to take is to find as many scholarships as possible. It's tough to justify an education that costs as much as a house.

    What to do for fun

    Dorms are within walking distance or a few minutes. If you love snowboarding or skiing you are given a season pass, but make sure you have your own equipment because the pass doesn't cover rentals. There is lake Sunapee to swim, and hike around, and a local beach is 2 minutes down the road. The college is 20 minutes away from concord, and Steven Tyler owns a house on Sunapee. He is usually seen in the area. There's always people hanging out on the Quad and having events at night.

    Food and Dining

    The college is becoming very aware of being sustainable, and a lot of the food is from local farms. The waste is also sent to the local pig farms. The food can get repetitive at times, but none the less there's always enough food for people and there's a good variety unless your a vegan. The dining hall is being re-done and will be bigger and modernized which is exciting. The dining atmosphere should be really nice this semester.

    Dorm Life

    Colby-Sawyer College isn't a huge instituiton, such as a state University, but there are plenty of events that take place throughout the year. If you love nature, there are plenty of hikes and trails to explore, but if you love huge house parties and constant parties then a State University may be better. The rooms are nice and if you have some friends in your hall, it's a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    I took a 16 credit semester during the spring and I'm taking 18 credits this coming fall. It's difficult for freshmen to adjust to the change in work load freshman year, but if you work hard you'll see results. Some courses are more challenging than others, and sometimes in depends on the professor. A class is only as good as the professor who's teaching it. The courses were rigorous at time, but it'll help you create a solid work ethic especially if you are determined to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Colby-Sawyer College offers a wide variety of courses for a private institution. Even if you don't have an idea of what to choose for a major, don't worry, there are plenty of classes to help you explore your interests. Also make sure to become close to your professors to help you out and become and active student.

    In three sentences

    Colby-Sawyer College is a small tight knit community in a beautiful area with few distractions which allows students to not feel over whelmed while offering well taught classes.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like hanging out with my roommates and walking around campus. I love watching movies and having girls nights!

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. It isn't the greatest food in the world but you will get used to it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is most certainly different from living at your house. Some people are loud and others are not. It takes some time getting used to living with other people in a room. Just be polite and people will respect you.

    Academic Rigor

    Work your hardest and you will get by easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's amazing!

    In three sentences

    I love the location of this beautiful school. I am so glad that I actually decided to go here. I can't wait for the next 4 years to come because I'm excited to further my education at such a great place.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing. They are always around and checking just to make sure you are alright. They make everything so easy. If you need help all you have to do is call their extension. Even the simplest things such as walking you from your car to the dorm you are in are a request you can make and they have no problem with.

    Greek Life

    There is barely any Greek life other than the honor society but there is not any defined Greek society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations I can tell you about but there wouldn't be enough space. There is every club you can thing of... if they don't have it you can make it a club!

    Great for these types of students

    Colby-Sawyer is a great choice for students like me. If you like close settings where you are a person and not just another number for the school, this is the place to be. If you like the one on one attention and being able to have a flexible schedule come join us at Colby-Sawyer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this tradition where one day the bells will ring at 10:05 and that means it is mountain day. On mountain day we go to Mount Kearsarge, Tie-dye tee shirt, have lunch, and climb the mountain as a school. Its a great way to get to know each other and spend a day enjoying the schools unique tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    For what I pay to come to Colby-Sawyer I am definitely getting my moneyâ??s worth. I canâ??t imagine going anywhere else now that I am here.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of campus clubs and activities. There is always something going on every night. There is very little time to be bored around here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! There are so many options and all are cooked to perfection. Right now we are building a new dining hall that is even better than the one we have right now. Anything you could possibly want can be requested and they will have it for you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are moderately sized. I'm in a force triple this year and we have plenty of space for the three of us. The halls as a whole are beautiful and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers expect you to study and know the work. Sometimes it is really hard and confusing but there are so many ways to get academic help on campus. You will end up with a good grade and understanding of the material by the end of the help sessions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the small town and close community this is the place to go. If you want that one on one from a teacher and no just be another student, each teacher takes their time to get to know you.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic staff and peers that make you feel at home every day! There is always someone there if you need help; academically, emotionally, socially, and so on. The best decision I have made so far was to come to Colby-Sawyer.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for outdoorsy students because it is beautiful campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At any one random day that only the College president knows, we have Mountain day. A day which no one knows, and when the bells go off at 10:30am, we all receive messages on our phones telling us that class has been cancelled for that day, and we go tho Mount Kearsage and have a picnic before climbing the mountain.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely bang for the buck considering the fact that Colby Sawyer College gives very good financial aid that can cover the entire cost of tuition. In addition to this, they also have the very best teachers, library facilities and computer laboratories.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus and if one needs to party, there is always a party to be found. In addition, the administrators make an effort to bring entertainers like musicians and comedians to the school. They also arrange socials and dances to help the student relax after a long week of assignments and home work.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and the dining staff is open to suggestions from the students. The only problem maybe is that it tends to get repetitive in choice.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms vary, however, since the dorms are small, by the end of your first semester you will have made friends with almost everyone in your hall. The living conditions are good and comfortable all year round.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is quite hard and a lot but that is to be expected from any good college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because there is high competition to get here yet since it is a small college they can only accept a certain number. If you need financial aid, be sure to apply early as it gives you a chance to talk over your award with your admissions counselor.

    In three sentences

    Colby-Sawyer College is located in a beautiful picturesque location of New London. Everybody both at the college and the town is extremely friendly and welcoming. The academics while challenging made easier by the free tutoring services offered to anyone who asks.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haunted.

    What to do for fun

    So many clubs and activities!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is being reconstructed right now and expanded!

    Dorm Life

    Very home-like and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a warm winter coat, it snows early here!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this college with its small-town, community feel and very friendly, involved professors.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, outdoorsy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day! Every year they pick a day in September and the president rings the bells to cancel classes. Buses come and load up all the students and bring us to Mt. Kearsarge to hike the mountain. There is a big cook-out and t-shirts to tye dye. Fun day!

    What to do for fun

    New London is a small town with not too many shops or restaurants. Make sure you have a fun group of friends so that you don't even notice the lack of things to do in town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time picking out your classes and make sure you take everything you need but also want to take. Also, joining a club is a great way to meet new people. Four years flies by and you don't want to regret a thing.

    In three sentences

    Colby-Sawyer is small and welcoming. You get to know many of the students and professors on a much more personal level. The scenery of the campus is beautiful.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since it takes about 7 minutes to walk the entire campus at a fairly leisurely pace- campus safety isn't INCREDIBLY needed at really any point. But they are very helpful and quick to respond whenever you do need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Definitely check out the outing club- a lot of neat adventures get planned through there. The international club is cool too- you'd be amazed how many countries are represented on little tiny CSC campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students. Partiers. Those who don't mind the campus being a ghost town a lot of weekends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't neglect to visit the greenhouse in Danforth! Really neat. Also be sure to spend at least a few hours studying in the upper lofts of the library but dress cool- it gets hot up there!

    Bang for the buck

    I think the campus is gorgeous, and generally very very friendly. You are getting a solid education and in most majors can be proud to say you graduated from here. But I feel that it is way over priced considering location and lack of overall experience (not academically.) Maybe it would have been better had I been in-state.

    What to do for fun

    This is where I was a little disappointed. While the campus and surrounding town are lovely, everything shuts down early and all that is left to do is what is on campus. Sure there are clubs and events during the week and weekends alike, but if you aren't a partier there isn't really much else to do but stay in and watch movies or leave the campus. For those of you who dont have a car- I would make friends with someone who does. Unless you are outdoorsy and get a real kick out of going for walks and such (which I did) you may not find much else for you to do to get a break from a hard week.

    Food and Dining

    While there isn't always enormous variety, I really liked the food. Much better than I was expecting, even though more people tend to complain than not. I truly believe those folks just needed something to complain about. The dining staff is also really fun. You'll get to know, and be known, by all of them and not a morning goes by that Mama T isn't singing away. Omelette day and french toast day during the weekends are always looked forward to.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are fantastic, some are not. There is really soemthing for everyone based n what you intend to achieve while you're at home in your dorm. For something quieter try McKean (substance Free) or the newest dorm Danforth. Best and Burpee are always a bit lively and louder.

    Academic Rigor

    While some of my courses were a major challenge, some were more of an open discussion, which is totally fine but I gave the three stars to demonstrate an evening out of the overall rigor. I was not a nursing student but I know THAT is a difficult major for sure. A lot of the professors are really interesting and down to earth which is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scholarships scholarships scholarships! I can't stress this enough. Be sure to take advantage of the absolutely breathtakingly gorgeous library and all of it's resources. The staff there is wonderful and always willing to help in any way they can. Also don't be afraid to use the ADC (Academic Development Center) where you'll find tutoring, testing help, note taking tips, paper reviewing etc etc etc.

    In three sentences

    While Colby-Sawyer has quite a bit to get involved with on campus (and a BEAUTIFUL campus at that) I have yet to understand why it is so gosh darned expensive. A great place for nursing students.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers are great! There are security camera around campus and emergency buttons to press in the parking areas. The campus is located in a quiet rural area and the officers are patrolling the campus all hours of the day and night. Additionally, there is always someone to answer the phone if it rings in the Campus Safety Office.

    Clubs and Activities

    Be involved! There are different clubs, one for everyone to join or start your own if you have an idea and people who would like to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad is a green space like a common in the middle of campus, the library is beautiful and offers talking and quiet areas along with computer labs and study nooks. The best tradition is mountain, one day in the fall semester all classes are cancelled and everyone goes to Mt. Kearsarge to hike, tie-dye and connect as a community.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with friends, go to the mountain (using our free seasons pass) and taking day trips. Concord has a lot to do and is about 35 minutes off campus.

    Food and Dining

    You receive a meal plan to the one dining hall on campus, the meal plan allows for unlimited swipes into the buffet style dining hall. The food is okay but not the best.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls each have their own flare, some are quiet while some are loud, some are clean and some not so much. Each building, expect Abbey, is co-ed living.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are helpful with various assignments, you learn a lot in each course that you take, all the classes are time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the windy days and bring rain-boots! Always make sure to smile and be ready to meet some great people and professors.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great small size. Beautiful college town. Wonderful new dining facility with many options.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    What to do for fun

    Sit out side and hang out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a lot of layers, be prepared to know everyone because it is small.

    In three sentences

    CSC is a really great school. I absolutely love it here. The campus is very windy.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers are always there.

    Greek Life

    Basically non existent.

    Great for these types of students

    Biology and Environmental Science majors. Not so great for people who want to party all day and night.

    What to do for fun

    CAB (The Campus Activities Board) does a relatively good job of making sure there are events happening. Couple that with all the club related events and the events that the RAs are required to put on and you have a great variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really good usually, especially the suite style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you take. But there is a good variety of class levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go find your classrooms ahead of time, you DON'T want to be late on the first day. Do your laundry on a Wednesday, you will have better luck finding an open machine. DON'T try to pick your own roommate before you get there, housing will do better usually.

    In three sentences

    Colby-Sawyer is a quite and all around docile campus for the most part. The dining hall could use some improving (food wise not space wise). The nursing faculty are all really mean so don't listen to what the college says about it being such a great program.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun thereâ??s open mic nights, CAB always manages to get a famous celebrities like Kris Allen to come sing for us, there are dances to go to each semester, the RAâ??s of different dorms always have some event going on like doing yoga, insanity, or making a dream catcher, and enjoying wacky bingo nights.

    Food and Dining

    The dining staff is always trying to bring something different to the menu every week. They take suggestions from students and utilize them. Theyâ??ll bring specific cultural nights to the menu. They made breakfast for dinner. There's a stir-fry bar, a salad bar, and sometimes they've used the stir-fry bar to make an omelet bar for dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The usually loud more alive dorms are Burpee, Best, and Rooke. The more quiet dorms are Danforth, Lawson, and McKean.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what program/ major a student is pursuing the level of difficulty is different. The more competitive majors at Colby-Sawyer College are probably nursing and business.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with papers there are students from Wesson Honors that are willing to help and students and other staff from the Academic Development Center at the schoolâ??s Susan Cleveland Library that will help you through courses you having trouble with. Always find a stress reliever, join a club, a sport, be with friends, or go to the gym and try yoga, Zumba, workout.

    In three sentences

    Close community, very alive, I enjoy that this college is small enough that you can say Hi to about 20 people you know walking 5 minutes to class. The professors I've had seem to love what they do and have fun with it, they engage the students. There are always many events to choose from every week that leaves me conflicted on which one to go to.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There when you need them

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Good amount of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Anxiety provoked

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    climbing mount Kearsarge every year

    Bang for the buck

    Good if your parents can pay for it, loans are ridiculously expensive

    What to do for fun

    sledding, hiking, on campus activities

    Food and Dining

    Better than most college's I have visited

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good in the suites

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on major

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bring too much stuff! Buy your books ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    Supportive, Academically focused, Student driven

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Nice and helpful clubs

    Great for these types of students

    For quiet,reserved,creative and funful students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain day

    What to do for fun

    skiing,mountain climbing,etc.

    Food and Dining

    Dunno but i know it'll be great

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    It's really cold but great and full of fun

    In three sentences

    Very great college,a family and a home away from home

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of campus-sponsored events, and lots of clubs and extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Gets old after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    You have to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good financial aid.

    In three sentences

    I love Colby-Sawyer. The location is beautiful, the professors are almost entirely good, and the people are nice. The fitness center is great, too.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have separate yet just as delicious menus for vegans. Can access it 99 times a day

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm, really. The new ones are great the old ones are just that, old. You can read more about them on the colby-sawyer website under residential education

    In three sentences

    I love it. There are so many interesting courses offered here, plus there's the maple syrup fountain that I keep hearing so much about. Who can say no to an unlimited supply of maple syrup, right? Also, they give great scholarships and financial aid which can sometimes completely cover the cost of tuition. That's close to $33000

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus golf is very fun for students who have a little time to have fun.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and events every week for people to enjoy. From artists such as Kris Allen from american idol performing here, to comedians from VH1 and on TV everywhere making us laugh on weekends, you'll always find yourself with something to do. For snowboarders and skiiers, there are free season passes to mount Sunapee to take advantage of.

    Food and Dining

    Some students here may complain about our service here Sodexo. Often students will say they eat the same things everyday here and there is no variety. Don't buy into that. Sodexo offers a wide variety of meals everyday, you just have to move out of your comfort zone and try new things from time to time! There are also vegan stands, and certain foods that are available for students who have certain allergies.

    Dorm Life

    You'll get to know people here very well. Entire dorms will get to know each other on a personal level in a matter of a month or two, and you'll have friends for a lifetime. The dorms themselves are relatively nice band loud at times. Quiet, suite-style dorms are also available to accommodate who like to work in peace.

    Academic Rigor

    For a small school, Colby-Sawyer College doesn't receive enough credit for being a hard school. There is a 50% transfer/incomplete rate here, which could entail this school appearing easier than it actually is.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a place to be challenged, this is certainly the place for you. As a predominantly only science college, professors will have you often think critically and connect things to form a bigger picture.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for a place to have a great connection with teachers, a friendly and safe environment while having fun at the same time, Colby-Sawyer is the place for you. One never thinks twice about their safety here as campus safety does a grab job of ensuring the well-being of everyone. With a small school consisting of less than 2000 students, you'll always see friendly faces you know.