Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Colgate University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 out of 26 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious and hard working people who want to be involved in a lot of groups and activities while also gaining an excellent education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find things that you can see yourself involved in and that you may become passionate about. The best way to build community here is to be involved in student organizations, or find a calling and start your own group.

    Bang for the buck

    Colgate is expensive. Colgate is very expensive. I have come to realize though that you aren't just paying to be lectured at and spoon-fed information. The faculty here is well paid and they all love Colgate and the students. They are dedicated to teaching and enriching the lives of their students through the lessons in class and interactions and involvement on campus. A Colgate education encompasses so much more than knowledge from textbooks, it teaches you how to think and how to analyze any situation you may find yourself in. It is undoubtedly worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Colgate is a great place to go to college. There is no denying the fact that it is rural and isolated, but I haven't had any problems with life on campus. There are so many students interest groups and events on campus that everyone stays busy and the isolation isn't really noticable. Also, between school organizations and the Greek organizations there are always musicians coming to campus: everything from up and coming bands to headliners.

    Am learning a lot

    I came to Colgate with a pretty narrow idea of what I wanted to study and what I wanted out of my collegiate career. Colgate has, however, reshaped my ideas about the potential of a college education. I thought that both the core program and the distribution requirements would be a nuisance, but I have actually discovered a wide range of interests that I probably would not have explored had these programs not been a vital part of the Colgate experience. I am able to focus on, and engross myself with, my major but can also study a broad range of other interesting subjects.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sociable, athletic, and those who like living in a small community.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think its very important to come visit the campus because only certain people will like living in such a remote town. Its important to talk to students at the school besides just the tour guide too because we will give prospective students straight answers. Overall though, just about everyone I know here loves the school and is very happy they chose Colgate.

    Bang for the buck

    Colgate is one of the most expensive schools which is very frustrating because sometimes I feel like I'm being punished for working hard and being smart because I have to pay such a high price to have a fulfilling education. However, the cost of tuition doesn't seem to be a major issue with anyone here because we all recognize that Colgate has great facilities and we are getting a top notch education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Colgate has a beautiful campus and it is situated in a quaint town in central New York. Sometimes I feel like I get stuck in my weekly routine but there are always little things I can do to break out of that, whether its going out to dinner in town or going to an interesting lecture. Sometimes I wish the food was better at the dining hall but its pretty standard college food. Because Colgate is a pretty small school, I feel like there is a good sense of community among all of the students here.

    Am learning a lot

    Colgate is a liberal arts university and there are a lot of distribution requirements that we must fulfill. Some people feel that this forces them to take classes that they would rather not take. However, I enjoyed all of my classes, even the ones I did not expect to like. Colgate gives its students the opportunity to learn about many different fields and get a broad education. When it comes to classes for my major, I feel that I am gaining a lot of valuable learning and I end each semester feeling like I accomplished a lot and I am always proud of my hard work.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Colgate is completely safe. There is never a moment where you feel threatened. Rumor has it that the last time someone used a blue light on campus (located throughout the campus in case of an emergency) was to check the score of the Colgate v. Cornell hockey game. Safety is never an issue with Colgate or the quaint college town of Hamilton, NY.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is pretty heavily involved at Colgate. About half of the eligible students (Sophomores and above) are involved with Colgate's six fraternities and three sororities. You don't need to join one to stay a part of the social scene, but it does help a lot if you do join one, especially if you're not part of a sports team or large club. You can have more fun at Colgate without participating in Greek Life than most other schools, but it does add to the experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost any club imaginable is available. From the club Ultimate Frisbee team to the whistling a capella group, there is something for everyone. The COVE heads most of the volunteer groups, such as Habitat for Humanity and Adopt-a-Grandparent. The Activities Fair during each semester allows every student to see all of the clubs on display and get involved. Another great aspect is that anyone can start their own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard Workers, Athletes, Outgoing individuals who like to have fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The number 13 is Colgate's lucky number. Every Friday the 13th is Colgate day, as students, faculty, and alumni across the world wear Colgate apparel and participate in special events.

    Bang for the buck

    Colgate is one of the more expensive schools, but the experience, both academic and social, is special. Not only will you get a great education here and be prepared for a future career, you will meet your best friends and never want to leave. Ask any alumni you meet; every single one loves the school and will tell you that. They'll even be jealous that you might be starting your four years there!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do at Colgate. This is one of the best parts of the school. Every weekend there are free events up the hill or in town, whether it be concerts, open dance parties, dinners, or speakers. There are options for everyone as well, as game nights and movie nights can be found in conjunction with parties down the hill. There's never a dull evening at Colgate; if you're available at any point during the week, there's always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    Frank Dining Hall is the typical dining hall for a college. Filled with multiple options, the staff tries their best to mix up the options. After two years, however, the food can get repetitive. There are some meals to avoid, but salad, bagels, a sandwich/wrap station, and ice cream are always available. The COOP has solid options offered daily for more fast-food style options, all of which are of good quality. The Edge is a sit-down restaurant for dinner on the freshman meal plan and is a great change of pace on occasion. Donovan's Pub is a little further down the hill, but is a newly-reopened hangout for dinner as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always active and fun. The smaller size of each dorm is a great to facilitate friendships between new students. A great benefit of Colgate is the size of the campus. Even if you don't make your best friends within your own dorm, you will be close enough to other dorms to make best friends close by. Freshman dorms are typically nice, most of them either suite-living or more modern doubles. Sophomore year is less evenly distributed, with the prize possessions being the two sky suites, two of the best rooms found on any campus. Whichever way you look at it, the rooms are livable, and everyone is close enough so that you will absolutely find your niche.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be time-consuming, but again, it's all in the preparation. Some classes, especially the hard sciences, require much more work spread out throughout the semester, whereas others, more of the liberal arts subjects, require big projects which come in bunches. The work load isn't unbearable, but you must learn to budget your time and not fall behind. As long as you plan well, you will have plenty of time to have fun, meet new people, join clubs, and relax!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take AP classes, invest in extracurricular activities, and learn to budget your time! Colgate is like any college, which wants to see you challenge yourself, expand your mind, and be able to do all of this successfully. College is mainly about learning to use your time wisely, and good habits start in high school. Not only does Colgate want to see that in you as a prospective student, but they also will as an undergraduate.

    In three sentences

    Colgate will give you four of the best years of your life. More importantly, however, it will set you up to have a successful career in any field which you wish to enter. Nobody wants to leave Colgate, but when they do, they are as prepared as anybody graduating from a top university.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    go-getters, philosophical, partyers and nerds, those with some type of musical talent, readers, well-rounded, athletic, happy and friendly

    Tips for prospective students

    Come during April Visit Days and eat a chipwich - it's a tradition! Also check out the athletic trails on top of the hill - the views are great!

    Bang for the buck

    Colgate is the sixth most expensive college in the United States. Worth it? Completely. The financial aid program at Colgate is outstanding, and there are plenty of work-study jobs to go around. Every experience at Colgate is something that you won't forget, like seeing the Metropolitan Opera in New York City, listening to a Holocaust survivor, or getting free ice cream at a Raider hockey game. I turned down a full ride to go here, and I don't have any regrets.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are tons of clubs and organizations on campus to get involved in. The religious communities on campus are great as well. There is always something going on, and many times, it's free. In addition to having great fun keeping busy, the people at Colgate are great, too. I have friends from all over the country and around the world. The people really make the experience what it is, and I couldn't have found a better bunch.

    Am learning a lot

    Colgate has a really great Core Curriculum program that gave me a great view into a wide array of subjects and helped me to expand my interests. The libraries on campus are filled with resources that have helped me through my academic experiences. And I couldn't even imagine having more approachable professors. Everyone at Colgate is dedicated to giving you the best possible, well-rounded, liberal arts education that they can.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interested, involved, friendly, outgoing, hardworking

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities in high school and become well rounded and interested in the world because it will make you an interesting applicant and work hard because college is a lot of work.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is top notch so its worth all the money that it costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I couldn't be happier at Colgate. There are tons of events to go to and people to meet. Everyone is passionate about something which causes the creation of tons of clubs, groups, and campus events. People are always willing to try something new and there is somethign to do for everyone

    Am learning a lot

    At Colgate you are not only surrounded by incredible professors who are experts in their field but your are surrounded by curious and intelligent students so you are constantly learning both inside and outside the classroom. You will be challenged to do your best because you will realize there are so many things you can learn at Colgate.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Here at Colgate thirteen is our lucky number! Any Friday the thirteenth is National Colgate day and it is likely that a flash mob will take over some part of the campus. Raider Ice Cream is also a favorite of ours and is introduced during various campus events such as Move-In day and basketball games. Also be wary of any first kisses at Taylor Path it is said that you will marry anyone you share a first kiss with on this path.

    What to do for fun

    While Colgate is in the middle of nowhere, there is actually quite a bit to do. On the weekends we have Take Two movies playing in one of the campus buildings, sporting events, famous lecturers, the Jug, a movie theater, a club dedicated to hosting fun late night events that range from rollerskating to rockclimbing, a games club that hosts Nerf gun wars once a month, and a variety of other clubs that will ensure that you will have plenty to do. In fact I don't think four years will be enough to get through half of the stuff I want to do!

    Food and Dining

    While some people like to complain about the food here, everyone will admit that it isn't as bad as they make it out to be. We actually have very good quality food. The only problems are that if you are a picky eater some nights there won't be anything you like, and generally the chicken is always bad.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are rowdy while others are more laid back, the one you end up in will be determined by matching your interests with others. For example, I choose to live in wellness housing which means that everyone in my dorm doesn't bring any alcohol or drugs into the dorm, and it gives us the added benefit of being the quietest freshman dorm. All the dorms are nice and have enough space except for Curtis which has tiny rooms but is known to be very social.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes here that are ridiculously difficult, while others are easier. Despite this, if you don't put the extra effort in to go beyond just memorizing terms and basic information you are likely not going to be getting the best grades. Professors here challenge you to not only repeat back the information you learned, but also to think critically about the information. You really have to take the time to understand to do well, but that just makes those A's that much more satisfying!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take AP classes in high school. If they aren't available, then take the most challenging courses you can. If you can start to think of your coursework outside of the textbook and take the time to really think about what you are reading it will be easier to make the transition from high school to college. Also learn how to manage your time. One of the best things about Colgate is that there are a ton of opportunities available for you, the only thing you have to do is make an effort to pursue the things that interest you and make time to participate.

    In three sentences

    Colgate University is a Liberal Arts school on the top of a hill in the small village of Hamilton NY. It is a place where you are a part of a community and where you are likely to see at least three people you know on the way to class. Most of all it is a prestigious school that will challenge you to work hard and grow as a person.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Generally very homogeneous in race and class - white and middle/upper class. However, Colgate is trying extremely hard to diversify its campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into everything open minded. Get involved. Ask questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricey school. Worth it? I say yes. My parents will be on board after they see the kinds of job offers I get

    Am enjoying being here

    It's tough in the winter but I wouldn't trade my experience for anything else. Greek life and other campus activities are great in keeping me constantly busy.

    Am learning a lot

    Colgate blew me away. I entered intending to major in biochemistry and go pre-med but Colgate has opened my eyes to more than I could have imagined.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened at Colgate, and I do not know anyone else who has. The campus always has high safety ratings and is located in a safe small town. The biggest threat according to administration is sexual assault. So, girls should always be sure to travel in groups and watch our for one another, but again while I have heard of guys at parties overstepping their boundaries a bit, I have never felt threatened while going out or have known anyone to have been assaulted.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs, and from my experience plenty of opportunities for community service. There are lots of club sports as well, but I don't know much about athletic options. The drama club and music programs are both excellent, and one can participate fully in both no matter what their major may be.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to a small rural liberal arts school, and can handle a lot of coursework and many basic requirements

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Colgate is obsessed with the number thirteen. The saying goes that the school was founded by thirteen men with thirteen dollars and thirteen prayers. At Colgate, we celebrate school spirit on Friday the 13th, wear the number thirteen on Colgate shirts, and point out occurrences of the number thirteen.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are challenging but rewarding. The school has a lot of spirit and a great community. However, it is very expensive, and despite their efforts to have more late night activities and improve dining both areas could use work. But, I would recommend Colgate above any other school for those who want to go to a small liberal arts school

    What to do for fun

    If one likes to go out at night, the options are limited to the Jug, a small and less than glamorous club downtown that has specific freshmen nights, and frat parties which are kind of hard for freshmen guys to get into from what I have heard. If one doesn't want to go out, there are other options such as free movies and game nights, but from personal experience it can get a bit boring sometimes. I would recommend bringing board games, video games and movies, which will also be a great way to make friends at the start of freshmen year.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the student center, or The Coop is a set menu with some specials and is always good, and is the place to get late night food on campus. The new Donovan's pub menu is also good, and is a good option if one is down the hill but wants to eat using the meal plan. The Edge, a formal restaurant on campus, and the main dining hall Frank are usually good but sometimes disappointing.

    Dorm Life

    Room size for freshmen varies greatly. Some complain about Gate House, the now permanent but originally temporary housing, but it is close to the student center, has good sized rooms, and the students in Gate house are good friends. Campus safety and RAs always do rounds but the damage bills usually tend to pile up anyway and certain dorms can be very loud. If one is worried about damages and noise, I would recommend substance-free housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is very rigorous and the school definitely practices grade deflation. However, students are supportive of each other's studies, professors are always very helpful, and resources like effective tutoring and the writing center are also available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to attend a small school in a small town. Colgate students, faculty, and alumni form a close community and it is easy to connect with others, but it isn't right for everyone. Visit schools of different sizes and in different areas to see what suits you the most.

    In three sentences

    A school of mostly very privileged white students, but despite the lack of diversity most students are friendly and hard working. The campus and surrounding area is beautiful, although the village of Hamilton may be too quiet for some. The faculty and staff go out of their way to help students.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Colgate's lucky number is 13.

    Bang for the buck

    It is hard to wrap your head around the price of a private university when you are a young adult. Colgate's tuition is similar to other private liberal arts colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are some good restaurants downtown plus a chocolate shop and a cute boutique. My friends and I take gym classes for fun, like golf lessons and spinning class. Colgate shows free movies every friday and saturday night. There are always brown bags and lectures with free food to go to that are also very interesting.

    Food and Dining

    Colgate has one dining hall and the COOP which is a convenient place to get lunch and hang out in between classes. They also recently opened a pub on campus that serves food for dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms vary in size depending on the building. However, everyone has a strong sense of loyalty and camaraderie with their dorm. It is a great place to meet people during your first year. I always loved hanging out in the hallways chatting with people on my floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Colgate is challenging but it taught me to work harder than I ever imagined. Now I feel prepared for anything that I will encounter in my future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of as many events on campus as possible, especially the ones with free food! Join lots of clubs and get involved with your academic department. Finally, Colgate has lots of great research opportunities over the summer or during the semester.

    In three sentences

    Colgate is an isolated community where everyone feels very connected to each other. Wherever I go I see people I know which makes me feel very at home. It is a challenging school but I have grown up so much from my experiences here.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    13 men who each offered $13 and 13 prayers: Colgate has an obsession with number 13, from the Colgate 13, an all-male a capella choir to every Friday the 13th being dubbed Colgate Day. Adam and Eve: On Taylor Lake Colgate always has a pair of swans named Adam and Eve, although it is currently rumored that they are Adam and Steve.

    Bang for the buck

    Colgate is expensive. But it seems that most people can afford it on campus. Approximately 50-60% of the campus pays full tuition as it is a rich kid school. But if you are eligible for financial aid or can pay the tuition without trouble, it is definitely worth the cost

    What to do for fun

    Colgate is considered a party school to many, but there are also a whole variety of alcohol free activities. Every weekend two movies are shown for free, such as The Hobbit or Les Miserables. Many parties are alcohol free. During the day, there are a variety of clubs and activities to attend according to your interests. And while downtown Hamilton is small, it is only a short walk from the main part of campus, so it is a great place to have a lunch outing with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Students have three options on campus: Frank Dining Hall, the Coop, and the Edge Cafe. Frank offers the typical dining hall experience, with hamburgers almost every night, a varying hot entree, pizza, pasta, salads, sandwiches, and always a vegetarian option. While eating there every night can sometimes become tedious, the food is rarely bad. The Coop offers a hot grill with fried chicken, burgers and grilled cheese, as well as a sandwich, salad and pizza station; also available is pre-made grab-and-go style sandwiches and salads. The Edge is all grab-and-go, though few people eat there as it is not particularly conveniently located for most people.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others, but none of them are complete disasters. Most people make friends with their floor-mates, and in some buildings, floors can become communities.

    Academic Rigor

    While Colgate is sometimes considered a party school, you must also realize that in order to reach the point that they have time to have fun, they must first complete their work. The students are smart and will spend any amount of time to perfect their work, and most professors do not expect much less than near-perfection. You will be challenged to the point that you do not think you can pass a class, despite the fact that you have received decent grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to show that you are an individual; the school loves to say that the student population is diverse in religion, ethnic background, economic class and student personality. Share your passions and the experiences that have made you who you are. And as with most colleges, stress that your leadership skills and the contributions you have made in order to make the world a better place.

    In three sentences

    Colgate University is a liberal arts university where you can take classes and explore your interests in any variety of fields. While you may feel forced into the required courses, the five CORE subjects allow you to expand your horizons and gain a better understanding of how the world has developed and will continue to develop. Plus the learning and social environments are very supportive; while many people fit into similar niches, those who are not afraid to show their individuality are welcomed with open arms as well.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Colgate is a very, very, very safe campus. You can be walking home at 3 in the morning from a party or the library and you will feel totally safe. Campus safety officers are on call 24/7 and there are blue lights around that can be seen anywhere on campus (press these in case of an emergency and Campus Safety will be there within a minute). Sometimes Campo officers are a little too present (like when you're trying to have a party), but it's nice that they're always there trying to keep the campus safe. There are also Hamilton police officers that patrol heavily at night in town.

    Greek Life

    Greek life I believe encompasses a little more than 30% of the student population, but often it feels like more. There are six frats, three sororities, one all-women social club, and two all male social clubs. Because Greek life is so popular, the sororities are pretty large, and there's an unequal amount of frats and sororities, we are trying to campaign to the school for another sorority. Because Colgate is in such a small town, often the only parties available at night involve the Greek scene. The school is trying to open up more non-Greek social events, but for now many people join Greek life just to have a social life. However, the Colgate administration is anti-Greek and they've been cracking down more on closed parties and the drinking policy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, acapella, club and varsity sports, theater

    Great for these types of students

    Smart but social, preppy, sorority/frat, health-conscious, outgoing, ambitious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some good places to go to get away from campus are the quarry behind campus and the Yurt, which is a short drive away. We often go to the quarry to build a fire and make smores but you can actually rent out the Yurt for about $20 a night and sleep there with a bunch of people. Colgate's Spring Party Weekend in April is a famous four-day celebration funded by the school and the frats where students can unwind before finals and listen to some awesome concerts.

    Bang for the buck

    Colgate is suuuuper expensive, but if I could do it all again I wouldn't change a thing. Colgate is a wonderful university with so much opportunity for students and unlike other universities where you have to struggle to make opportunities for yourself or feel left behind because the attention is focused on graduate students, Colgate professors are great about letting their students know about new projects and summer programs. The students are awesome and Colgate is one of the most beautiful places in the world, so in my opinion, it's worth a little student debt.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of people take advantage of club sports like soccer or rugby to fill their free time. If you are musical, various instrumental groups, chorus groups, and acapella groups are great choices as well (the acapella groups are an AWESOME way to find a close-knit group of people who will help Colgate feel more like home). Many students go out to brunch, lunch, and dinner at the various restaurants in town and there's also an old movie theater where you can see new movies for free on their release date. The drinking/party scene definitely predominates at Colgate, however. Even if you didn't party in high school, don't be scared though! Going to parties is a great way to meet new people and there are a surprising number of students who still go out all the time but don't drink.

    Food and Dining

    Freshman and sophomore years you will probably eat most of your meals at Frank dining hall or the Coop. Both have decent food with plenty of dining options, which is good for your first year. Typically by second year you'll be sick of Frank, so look for brown bags -- these are lunch talks put on in the women's studies center, the Cove, and other locations that offer free, DELICIOUS food. Make sure you get to these events early because they are super popular, especially with upperclassmen who have to pay for their own food. Junior and senior year you are usually in a Colgate apartment, an off-campus house, or Greek housing, which means you will probably have to go food shopping at the local Price Chopper more often.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen and sophomores live in dorms. The dorms are great and great places to meet new friends. But be careful - Colgate has been cracking down more on alcohol and some RAs are more strict about writing students up.

    Academic Rigor

    It's rare to find students who don't spend most of their time in the library. Colgate classes are definitely intense and professors expect a lot out of you because the classes are so small. Participating in class is often mandatory but all your hard work is worth the extra effort. Professors are really approachable and want you to understand what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to visit! Stay with some freshman and attend a few classes so you get to know the student life and academics. Any dean would love to talk to you as well - Gary Ross, the dean of admissions, is definitely a fan favorite. When I visited Colgate it was summer and there was no one around, but Gary Ross welcomed me and talked to me and my parents for almost two hours! Ask lots of questions because students LOVE Colgate and can't talk enough about the campus, clubs, nightlife, and academics!

    In three sentences

    The mindset of most Colgate students is work hard, play hard. Many students spend their days our beautiful library and their nights enjoying the Greek scene on campus. The student population is well balanced and super smart, but most tend to be preppy, health-conscious, and Greek.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They seem to be working to improve their relationship with students, and I have personally never had a bad experience with them. All the officers I've spoken with are friendly. Besides the typical campus safety duties, they provide driving services for injured/extremely ill students, which is invaluable on our hilly campus.

    Greek Life

    Pretty prevalent on campus, but not everyone joins, and campus life isn't centered around the Greek system. I am not part of Greek life, but I have friends who are, and they really enjoy it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a TON of clubs on campus, and even if the one you want isn't available, it's pretty easy to start your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you don't like the number 13, don't come to Colgate. It is OUR number, and though I'm not a tour guide who can tell you every instance when Colgate has been connected with 13, here are just a few: the address is 13 Oak Drive, the zip code is 13346 (first two digits are 13, last three digits add up to 13), and most significantly, Colgate is said to have been founded by 13 men on 13 dollars with 13 prayers (I think I covered all the thirteens in that myth).

    Bang for the buck

    On the surface, Colgate is really expensive. If you can't afford the sticker price, they will do their best to make it affordable. The Colgate experience gets you a lot - a great alumni network, great professors, great classes, great extracurricular options, interesting lectures from world leaders, and so on - and a Colgate degree is, so I've heard, considered to have high value in the job market. While I have yet to test this theory myself, any of the alumni I've ever talked to are adamant that a Colgate degree is one of the best you can have for any field you are trying to break into.

    What to do for fun

    Most people like to go to The Jug, which is the closest thing to a club you'll find in the area. Clubs and other groups will also host events, like game nights, and there are the house/frat parties that you find on every campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Coop, the Edge (which may soon be replaced by a Moe's), and library cafe are all pretty dependable for good food. However, Frank - the regular dining hall - is far more variable. When it's good, it's great...but more often than not, it's less than satisfying and my friends and I often resort to cereal for lunch/dinner. There are a lot of options though, and there is a vegetarian station, as well as a fro-yo machine and ice cream every day.

    Dorm Life

    Overall, the dorms are great. You have a lot of different options, and some dorms end up being really close - especially Gatehouse, one of the freshman dorms that's set somewhat apart from the others. If you like quiet dorms, you should probably request substance-free housing, although depending on which dorm they locate it in, you may still have issues with noise.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, this largely depends on what program you're in and what professors you have, but everyone I know feels challenged by most of their classes. The Core Curriculum and Areas of Inquiry requirements mean that you have to take classes outside of your major, so this can be one of the most stressful parts of a Colgate education for some people, but it's also a great opportunity for growth and exploring connections between different fields of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus - and if you're really serious about it, and can afford to go on more than one trip to the campus, you should visit in multiple seasons. This is mostly because of the huge range in weather, but even though the campus is beautiful year-round, you need to decide if you would be okay with the extremes in the weather - especially trudging up the hill in the winter (it is a pretty steep hill, and most people I know end up going up and down the hill at least once a day, so you get used to the hike, but it's still something you should consider).

    In three sentences

    Colgate is a great place for research and study abroad opportunities, amazing professors, extracurriculars galore, and one of the best alumni networks you'll find at any college. Their need-based financial aid is incredible - a Colgate grant has helped me cover the majority of my tuition. However, the student body is largely white and very preppy, so be prepared for a lot of homogeneity with small pockets of diversity.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety will always react of a call from one of the blue lights on campus. Also, if you need a ride you can call them and they will transport you. If you are ever injured they will pick you up right away and take you to the hospital or medical center located on campus as well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a small part of the Colgate experience, but it does exist. While there are 7 frats, there are only 3 sororities. Rushing occurs in the beginning of the sophomore year, and students are encouraged to rush just for the experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student body is extremely active both in town and on campus. There are tons of groups based off of volunteering, lots of sports clubs, and outdoors adventure groups. Personally I am a member of Pep Band, a Sidekick, and I played club softball. There is always something going on on campus, and there are hundreds of clubs to join based on your interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Colgate is a great place for students who want to study and excel during the week and then party on the weekend. The frats and sororities hold open parties most weekends, and they're a lot of fun to attend! Also, the weekends on campus can be filled and fun without any parties. Anyone who is looking for stimulating classroom discussion, an active student body, and a rigorous educational experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you kiss on the bridge on willow lane your relationship will supposedly last.

    Bang for the buck

    Colgate is very expensive, but I think it is worth the student loans. The professors are helpful and I think the connections found at Colgate are worth it. I just completed my Freshman year, and yet I have an internship in my field this summer. I think the connections and experiences you will find at Colgate will be well worth the money spent.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of good places in town to eat at, and a few movie theaters. Mostly students stay on campus. There are movies played in Love Auditorium every week and different plays. Sports games are always exciting, especially men's hockey!

    Food and Dining

    The food at the beginning of the year is wonderful, but as the budget depletes so does the quality of food. However, freshmen unlimited meal plans are perfect especially if you just want a cup of coffee in the afternoon. The Edge is a great place to eat, and Frank Dining Hall (the main one on campus) is undergoing major renovations over the summer, which will greatly increase the quality of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept well and the roommate assignments are more accurate than one would think. However, you can apply for a transfer if you have problems with your assigned room or roommate. Floors usually hang out in the hallways together depending on the dorm building, and it's a very open campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that Colgate is very demanding. Professors assign a lot of reading and example problems, but it is manageable. Last term I took five classes on top of extracurricular clubs, and I managed to do well in my classes. Be prepared to work hard, but enjoy the work you're doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into your field of study and search on Ratemyprofessor before applying for your first year classes. Oftentimes, the subject for CORE classes or FSEMs is really interesting, but the professor you receive may not fit your major or your interest.

    In three sentences

    Colgate has inspired me to push on with my career and pursue my dreams. The staff I have worked with has been helpful and has made classes engaging and exciting. Also, the student body is extremely accepting and open.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo is really just there to make sure everyone is being safe, and there not out to get you unless you are just being too rowdy.

    Greek Life

    Its here, but it doesn't have to be prominent if you aren't looking for that kind of stuff.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons to choose from

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    13 is a big number here! It is no longer unlucky! Every Friday the 13th is also dubbed Colgate Day in Hamilton.

    What to do for fun

    There are free movies in Love Auditorium on Fridays and Saturdays. There is almost always either a party or something going on during the weekends. Some people go out on weekdays as well; it just depends on what you are in to.

    Food and Dining

    First-years are required to get the unlimited meal plan. You get unlimited meals at Frank, the main dining hall, and when you get tired of their food, which actually isn't bad, you have 35 meals at the Coop and 200 flex dollars for various places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms aren't too small and you get to know people in your dorm really quickly if you just give it a chance.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a first-year, but I can already tell how highly Colgate and its professors hold the value of academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes, an open mind, and be ready to get to work and have fun!

    In three sentences

    It is absolutely gorgeous here, and I love the small town feel! And despite being fairly rural in upstate New York, there is always something to do. Both social life and academics are important here.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A huge number of clubs and activities for a relatively small school.

    Great for these types of students

    Comfortable with small towns and little diversity. Hard working and hard playing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a torchlight march up the hill during freshman orientation and another down the hill at graduation.

    What to do for fun

    See a movie on campus for free, including a foreign and indie film series. Watch a university or student theater production. See campus speakers. Attend a cappella concerts. Go to a bar or a Greek party. Go to sporting events. Go to game nights and club events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest on your housing applications. Do research into classes and professors when selecting your courses. Make sure you are ok with the sheltered nature of the college. Make sure you are prepared for a not very diverse student body.

    In three sentences

    Colgate is a small, sheltered liberal arts college with challenging academics and a vibrant social scene, but at times it can be too small town for some people. If students search for the right people and opportunities, they will find them. Colgate also has excellent financial aid and alumni connections.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had much of a problem with Campus Safety. I have met some of the officers that work in this department they have been very nice and focused people who have the best of intentions for students. They realize that students will make mistakes and when they call for help, it is their responsibility to help no matter what.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and Sororities are definitely active on Colgate's campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Dancefest, University Church, Midnight Philosophy, WRCU, COVE

    Great for these types of students

    Students who look forward to a challenge and want to be able to go to a place which they might have never gone before. Someone who wants to achieve great things will be able to meet great people who have done great things themselves in the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Friday the 13th which is Colgate Day. There is also a list of 101 things to do on campus before you graduate which includes sliding down the snow hill with a stolen tray from the dining hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, the mandatory meal plan for first years is entirely too expensive ($2,000+ each semester). Tuition is also very expensive when considering the classes we take. However when one gets into the social network that Colgate provides that can be developed through Career Services, it becomes a little bit more worth it. The activity fee ($140) is not too bad considering all of the events that go on at Colgate which are free! Movie nights, game nights, on campus radio, dances, parties, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Most people like to go to the Jug in downtown Hamilton at night to party. However I find that it can also be fun if you are able to go to house parties like at La Casa and perhaps some frats. There are also on campus organizations that sponsor game nights, philosophy discussion nights, barbecues and other fun group activities.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is nice, however for the amount of students admitted to Colgate they should have more than two dining places. Or at least make the main dining hall (Frank) bigger. The food is average, there is really nothing special about it (Colgate is supplied by Sysco after all). The hamburgers, chicken, etc. all come frozen, so it is to no surprise that the food is not that good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are definitely old. There haven't been any renovations lately so the insulation can be pretty bad and this makes the winters much more unbearable.

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing less than challenging! There is little room for rest and getting a job. It is quite difficult but character growing. It is all worth it if you are able to focus and manage your time (even if you do have to work on weekends!).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the campus at least for a few days on your own. You will get the tour when you get there, however do not hesitate to ask real students how they see the climate at Colgate and what issues there are. Be prepared especially since you will be staying there for 4 years of your life! It may not seem like a long time, but those 4 years will change your life.

    In three sentences

    The campus is definitely beautiful and clean. The faculty is well-accredited and dedicated to the education of their students. Also, the school has some of its flaws which are somewhat apparent, however there are many progressive and active people that are changing the academic atmosphere gradually but surely.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The tour guide didn't mention much about Campus Safety.

    Greek Life

    40% of eligible students are involved with Greek life, but there is not a high pressure to pledge, according to our tour guide.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently if you get your first Colgate Kiss on Willow Path, that's the person you're going to marry. According to our tour guide, during Reunion Weekend, there were 3 marriage proposals on Willow Path this year!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and organizations to choose from, and it was cool to hear how easy it was to start a club if there wasn't one that suited you!

    Food and Dining

    Unlimited meal plan freshman year was really surprising, but what surprised me more was that all of the nearby eateries would deliver right to the dorm door!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very large and those in the Gate House are even air conditioned! I was really surprised at all of the room that these freshman dorms had!

    Academic Rigor

    According to our tour guide, the rigor is kind of surprising at first, but the school gives students as many opportunities to do their best (with tutors and personable professors).

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT THE CAMPUS.

    In three sentences

    This campus is absolutely beautiful and the availability of the shuttle system was something really unique. The tour I had was super informative and the stories told by the tour guide made it relatable. I could see myself as a possible student at Colgate in the future.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the college first. Some may not like how isolated it may seem.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pond on campus with two resident swans, Adam and Eve.

    In three sentences

    Colgate is an academically rigorous community with an absolutely beautiful campus. It is a small liberal arts college located in western New York.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 8 people found this review useful. 20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drinking

    Greek Life

    Drinking

    Clubs and Activities

    Drinking

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to drink

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of drinking

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive

    What to do for fun

    Stuff

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok

    Dorm Life

    People are noisy

    Academic Rigor

    Hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard.

    In three sentences

    It is cold up here. Academics are good. People are good too.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It is not as overwhelming as everyone thinks it is. About 40 % of the campus participates in greek life. The social events are not confined to greek life but if that is what you like, it is there. There are three sororities and six fraternities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The torch light ceremony is a nice tradition and Feature at Colgate which involves the Konosioni ( an honor society) marching up the hill with lit torches leading the incoming freshmen. When you graduate you will march down with the torches.

    What to do for fun

    Many people do participate in the drinking culture however once you get invloved, if that is not your scene you can find people who share similar interests.

    Food and Dining

    Frank dining hall has a lot of variety but it can get old very quickly. Frank dining hall has something for everyone including vegetarians and vegans, specifically the Wild Mushroom.There is The Coop also on campus that has grilled food like chicken tenders and and fried chicken sandwiches and more. There is also pasta, salad, and a deli. The Coop is the most popular late night option because it open until 1:30.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is guaranteed all four years. Freshmen and sophomore live in traditional dorms with various styles and sizes including suites. Sophomores through Seniors have the option for themed houses and town houses as well as living off-campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be passionate in your essays. Test scores are not the most important factor.

    In three sentences

    You will have great relationships with your professors. There are endless opportunities in every field including internships and research. It is very easy to get involved and foster a passion.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food seemed like just a typical college cafeteria and I was disappointed to find out that there were only two dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are a little but bigger than your average dorm room and some are airconditioned. They are also separated by year which I liked.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I learned in the information session Colgate seems to have a heavy rigorous schedule but the professors and staff seemed to really care about their students.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Working on fostering better relationships with students.

    Greek Life

    VERY prevalent, but also possible to not join and still have a social life.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO many options.

    Great for these types of students

    Partiers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Work hard, play hard. Chipwiches in Admissions. Spring Party Weekend. Invented Spring Break.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously it's very pricey, but it's an experience like none other.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of partying but there are a lot of options outside of that in smaller friend groups as well. The administration attempts to plan many non-alcohol related events.

    Food and Dining

    Fewer options than other campuses, but a very cozy feel.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms aren't the best but it gets better with every year.

    Academic Rigor

    This school will make you WORK HARD.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you take every opportunity and go to as many extra lectures and activities as possible. Brown bags are the best.

    In three sentences

    A very small town with a community feel. Very engaging classroom setting. Will teach you how to think and you will be smarter after 4 years.

  • 07/17/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options (including vegan and vegetarian), but my favorite part is the sustainability. They use local farmers and producers, which keeps the food fresh and good for the environment. The first year, a meal plan is required, but you get to use the dinning hall as much as you like.

    Dorm Life

    Most of Colgate's students live on campus. I think this is because campus housing is guaranteed, which makes it so much easier for students. The best part of housing, at least compared to other schools, is the the wonderful gender inclusive housing. The dorms are small (but aren't all dorms?). There are suites, doubles and singles. There are laundry and study/lounge rooms within the buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The core curriculum is designed to challenge students in many disciplines beyond their major. As such, some courses are hard for some and easy for others. I like how you have to take a variety of classes like Legacies of the Ancient World and the Science of Art. There really is something for everyone. In addition to classes, Colgate offers a lot of research opportunities, which is extremely beneficial.