Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Col. at Brockport, State Univ. of New York Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 out of 31 people found this review useful. 1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not looking for a hippie school. Athletic types will do well here as well at prospective teachers. Basically every major our school offers is well rounded and a good fit, except for theater. Then you might encounter some problems. They aren't as top notch as some of the other departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the thoughts of snow scare you away from our campus. It gets cold, but the residence halls are known for warmth. And we have the best food in the SUNY system. No joke! Our dining services have been number one since 1994!

    Bang for the buck

    One of the main reasons I am attending Brockport is because it is affordable. I will not be hammered with bills once I graduate and I do not have to be worried about wiping my parents clean either. So far the price I am paying has yet to disappoint.

    Am enjoying being here

    The weather is cold and sometimes it is a drag to get out of bed for food, but I have made good friends, and all of my teachers are there to help me. I fit in on campus; the people there are like me and I am enjoying the freedom that comes with being independent from my parents.

    Am learning a lot

    So far, the academics at this school are not too challenging, but the professors do keep me on my toes. As part of the Honors Program I was given many opportunities and was able to adjust rather quickly into college life and academics.

  • 11/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outgoing. want to get involved. studying is a priority also. having a good time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let snow and rain scare you away. Buy a pair of rain boots and you for sure will have a good time jumping in the puddles. The food is amazing also, ranked number 1 in the SUNY system. they also let you know which food is healthy and what is not by ranking it on their system of green yellow and red. the dorms get really warm in the winter you survive in shorts and t shirt in the dorms but bundle up when you go outside. go to everything you can they put on some good shows and late nights.

    Bang for the buck

    Free stuff everywhere you go almost. Whenever there is a school sponsored activity like free messages they give away free stress balls. All the late nights include food and pop/water. The food is amazing. The classes are great.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is amazing. There is so much stuff to do. Every weekend there is Late Night with Ellsworth and the theme for it is different each weekend. There are things that go on during the week. So many free giveaways and free food.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are good. So far I have not had a tough time. The professors are engaging and none of mine so far have talked in a monotone. There is so much information to soak in.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing is to visit. When I visited what I thought was my first choice,, I changed my mind. When I went to Brockport, I found it to be just what I wanted. Brockport was perfect for me, but it may not be for you. Even though senior year may be hectic, be sure to make time to visit.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, Brockport is great. The people are very friendly. The teachers love what they do and want their students to succeed. The college provides lot of services to help students get involved in the college, answer their questions, and help them. There is also plenty of financial aid and scholarships available.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Brockport. The day I moved in, it felt like home. The RA's always have an event planned and there's always something to do on campus. If you want to go out, Rochester is close enough to travel to. I feel like I belong here.

    Am learning a lot

    My first semester went great. The teachers seem to really care about their students and how well they do. They are very helpful if your struggling or need advice. Even though it's a state school, the still demand excellence. My classes were not a breeze, but they weren't anything I couldn't handle.

  • 11/09/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 13 people found this review useful. 4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just let the students express themselfs.

    Bang for the buck

    I just have to say this is one of my strongest choices.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will be honored to attend this school.

    Will learn a lot

    I will learn alot about everything that i will need to.

  • 04/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like smaller personal classes, there are some with large classes, but most classes are relatively small. Social students, that want a balance of school and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit a few times, preferably at different times of the year, also, realize that what you will see is only a small fraction. On tours, you will seldom see or hear the drunken craziness that goes on during the weekend.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is definitely worth it. Brockport is one of the cheapest SUNY schools, but they are awesome. Most impressive is their food service that has been rated number 1 since 1994.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is very fun here, the college hosts alcohol free events every weekend. However, if you want to drink, there are parties all over, just be prepared for the party to be busted, the cops are relatively strict.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a great deal in my classes for my dual major in Meteorology and Water Resources. It may be difficult work, but it is definitely worth it.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college at Brockport is great for any type of student. Brockport offers most majors and often students looking to major in some type of physical education apply here. They also have an outstanding dance facility and the professors within the dance major are some of the nicest people I have ever met. Any student looking for a friendly community, a plethora of activities and clubs to participate in, outstanding food, and dedicated professors should apply to The College at Brockport.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started now! Senior year of high school is one of the most hectic times of your life and my advice is to get that college application in as soon as you can because then you will find out if you were accepted sooner. If you are looking for a friendly community with professors who are committed to students success this is the college for you. I recommend looking into Brockport's programs and if they have what you are looking for. I know for a fact that have an outstanding dance program and a very amazing education program that offers a background in the arts. Good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    I can't say much about this because if I could afford this college with no problem then I wouldn't be looking for lots of scholarships. However I know a lot of schools that are a lot more expensive and while there are some expenses I find to be pointless showing up on my bill the actual tuition cost alone I don't believe is too high and you do learn a lot while attending this college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here especially in the spring time. I'm not a fan of snow but I can deal with it. When it's nice out the campus and the town around it provides a nice place to just go for a walk, read a book, or just sit outside. There is always something going on here after classes and tons of free giveaways. The talent at this school is what provides for these fun night events and everyone here is friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of my classes have been very engaging. I have learned more then I thought I could in one year. Most teachers are so supportive and understanding. My classes have not been the easiest but they haven't been the hardest either. I have to study hard and keep on top of things in order to not fall behind.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with concrete ideas of their majors

    Tips for prospective students

    The spirit of the staff can be somewhat discouraging for prospective students. I had a hard time warming up to the faculty in my department and finding a niche at Brockport. Be sure to research your program and department thoroughly and be a strong advocate for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very affordable and the campus is beautiful.

    Did enjoy being here

    I attended SUNY Brockport in the Fall '10 semester and did not have a good experience with International Business department. I had a lot of difficulty dealing with petty technicalities and clerical errors amongst the administration that put a lot of unnecessary pressure on me for my first year at a university level. There was a change in requirements for my program that the academic administration had not been notified of, I was sent to 4 different offices before I demanded that the chair be called to clear up the confusion to reach the answer that the requirement had been deemed irrelevant and dropped for my major; basically wasted a month of my time for an obsolete computer literacy evaluation. My adviser was also a grand disappointment; I emailed him prior to registration about a concern I had and he overlooked my email and criticized me for coming into my advisement unprepared due to my lack of responsibility, despite my efforts to ask for assistance prior to our meeting. He generated an email for his list of students to advise and failed to individualize my needs as a student.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors are extremely knowledgeable and offer a diverse range of teaching techniques. There is assistance available to students who need additional help or tutoring, although it can be difficult to coincide with the tutors' schedules.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The College at Brockport features the blue light system. No matter where you are on campus, you can see at least three blue lights. If there is an emergency or if students do not feel safe, they can hit a button on the blue light and an officer will be there soon. Not only is there the local police, but the campus police are around too. The police are truly on campus to keep students safe. If students do not feel comfortable calling the campus police, they can call safe ride. Safe ride is run by students. Even if the student is drunk when calling, safe ride will pick the student up and bring them to their destination without any judgement. Safe ride is another service provided to help keep students safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not a huge part of Brockport but it is on the rise. Often times students wearing letters will be seen walking around campus. Greek life also take part in community service projects and are often seen raising money for various different organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Where to start? There are over 100 different clubs and activities on campus. If there is not a club for a particular interest, there could be if students apply to create the club. There is a rule that if a varsity sport exists, then that club cannot be an official club. For example, varsity women's tennis exists, therefore, the club for women's tennis cannot. There is not a men's tennis team, therefore the club for men's tennis can exist.

    Great for these types of students

    The College at Brockport provides a great liberal arts degree. Many students come to Brockport because they are interested in the dance program. Other programs many students come to Brockport for are the nursing programs and teaching programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the freshman class must read a freshman read. The purpose of the freshman read is to give students something to talk about and to have something in common with one another. Another activity that freshmen must do is Saturday of Service. S.O.S. is an afternoon filled with over 50 community service projects that students can choose from. Each location takes about two hours. S.O.S. is the Saturday before classes begin in the fall.

    Bang for the buck

    Students do get what they pay for, and even more. The College at Brockport is fairly priced and for the connections that students make and for the activities that are provided, the amount is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Brockport is a college town. There is Main Street, which is always full of activities. Students can go to a local theater and pay only $1.00 for a current movies. This offer is only on Friday nights at midnight. There are only three movies that play at a time. There is also a bowling alley on Main Street. There is also a variety of shops on Main Street that are very fun. Near by the campus is Walmart, Wegmans, McDonald's, Burger King and so on. On campus, there are tons of activities for students. Students can go ice skating and go to athletic games. There are various clubs/sports/Greek life on campus. Every Friday and Saturday there is an evening program known as Late Night with Elsworth (*Elsworth is the school's mascot-a golden eagle). Late Night is usually free and changes every time. It's used to bring students together and to get them involved.

    Food and Dining

    Students need to try it for themselves. Brockport is known to have the best dinning services in New York. The food is fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    The corridor style dorms have all been renovated within the last five years. They are spacious and promote students to hang out with each other. Although the suite style dorms have not been renovated, they received new furniture. The dorms are relatively close to the academic buildings which is convenient. However, they are not air conditioned. In the summer and the fall, the buildings get quite hot. It is advised that students bring fans. During the cold months, the dorms are heated. Not only do students just live with each other, they are part of a community. On campus, there is a program known as Living Learning Communities. Currently there are 10 on campus. They include: Leadership and Community Service, Green House, Recreation and Fitness, Honors, Future Health Professionals and much more! It is strongly encouraged to apply to be apart of a LLC.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes require a substantial amount of reading and writing depending on the student's major. There is an attendance policy. A student can miss up to three unexcused absences a semester per class. If a student goes to class and does the readings, it is not too hard to get a B. Students have to work to earn an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who attend the College at Brockport should get involved. They should try new and different things. One can never quite know what they want to do. A student might go into college saying they want to do x but they try x and find out that they really do not like x. That is okay, because there is so much to do. One can learn by doing.

    In three sentences

    The College at Brockport is committed to furthering the education of its students. Not only does the College at Brockport help students excel in the classroom, it also helps build connections. Connections are crucial for finding further employment.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Social Workers, Nursing...

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go to college! Visit and take a tour, the worst that will happen is you wont like it and you'll search elsewhere. The alternative, you'll fall in love and join us at Brockport.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive but thanks for scholarships its affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I studied abroad to Vietnam and I had the best and most rewarding experience of my life.

    Am learning a lot

    Everyday is a learning experience. At Brockport you have to learn in order to pass, if not your lucky to get a C. Plus if you have trouble there are many ways to get help.

  • 10/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    athletic, dance, normal

    Tips for prospective students

    the people here are generally closed minded when it comes to equality for all minorities so be prepared for that when you come

    Bang for the buck

    definitely worth the price! It is affordable and there are ways of finding more money once you arrive, the financial aid people are really helpful with that stuff

    Am enjoying being here

    I do like it here, the campus is medium sized and everything is within walking distance. It is not very disabled friendly. It is clean and pretty safe

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are generally helpful and understanding, they relate to you on an individual level and are pretty funny

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    bring rainboots and an umbrella everywhere you go. you never know when its going to rain

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are so many different types of people that there's a niche for anyone who comes here. I think pretty much anyone can come to Brockport and feel right at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, Brockport's located in Upstate NY, so we get snow and rain. A lot of it. So if you really don't enjoy the cold weather, this might not your cup of tea. Just don't let that be the only reason you don't come here, because it will be worth it, I promise! Get a winter coat and rain boots, and you'll be prepared for walking across campus during the winter. There's tons of clubs you can join and things to do on the weekends, so you shouldn't get bored very easily. TRAX is open till midnight, which is definitely a plus when your up studying for finals late at night and need a snack! Also, a car really isn't needed if you live on-campus, since there's a shuttle that runs a few times a week and during weekends that takes you to Wal-Mart and Wegmans, and another that goes to the mall. The walk into town only takes 10 minutes, too.

    Bang for the buck

    Brockport's definitely affordable. Since it's a SUNY school tuition is lower than a private school would be, but you still get a great education. On-campus housing seems a little pricey to me (it's double what tuition is), but there's a scholarship you automatically get if your grades are good enough that pays for most of housing. The dining plan is worth it, too - the food is great because we're rated #1 in dining services!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Brockport and feel like I fit right in. Living on-campus has been the best experience. Some of my best friends here are the ones I was randomly assigned to room with freshman year! There are tons of activities and free stuff for students, too, like Late Night with Elllsworth. So far, it's been great.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors I've had here have been pretty good overall. They all definitely care about their students learning and trying their best. Some have been a little more lenient than others when it comes to things like attendance and grading homework, but I think that's to be expected. There are tons of classes available, so you can try out lots of different material to see what suits you, and learn a lot along the way. It's a small enough campus that you're able to get to know your professors on a one-on-one basis, which is really nice. The tutoring center is really helpful with homework, too!

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    two campuses, major shift in metro center security over the past year or two. brockport stepped up and increased security after several car break ins - the increase makes everyone feel safer. kudos!

    Great for these types of students

    business and healthcare majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    muddy eagle run - the rotc does a 3 mile run in the fall with an obstacle course twist. the students have fun and its a great way to get fit in fitness!

    Bang for the buck

    best deal out there!

    What to do for fun

    health services puts on some really fun nights, and anything health or fitness related is always well organized.

    Food and Dining

    some great options, a recent focus on healthier options makes decision making easier.

    Academic Rigor

    tough but managable, its what you exepect college to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to other students before you sign up for a class, know what you are getting into. don't take too many classes at once, you won't enjoy your time or obtain any usfeul information.

    In three sentences

    dedicated to student satisfaction. educated professors with diverse backgrounds. fun school with great health services and health promtion group.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    smoke-free campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    a good variety of academic and cultural clubs.

    What to do for fun

    go to a bar down town, midnight movies, see upcoming rappers.

    Food and Dining

    i worked in catering which was low-pay and the food was prepared using unhealthy practices. i've heard better and experienced better dining experiences from other institutions.

    Dorm Life

    i'm not very familiar with the dorming on campus. it's much like most suny schools.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are fun and engaging and usually i'm surrounded by well-rounded students. the professors are knowledgeable and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    get in the honors program, you get full ride tuition and an ipad.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    live off campus and find an apartment, it will save you the big bucks!

    What to do for fun

    explore the town and attend campus events!

    Food and Dining

    best in the suny system!

    Tips for prospective students

    whether you're a jock, book-worm, or partier brockport offers everything you need.

    In three sentences

    brockport is known in the suny system for its athletics. a harder state school to get into, but well worth it. if you find that what you want to do with your life is offered at brockport, do it!

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to go watch my friends play in games from basketball to wrestling.

    Food and Dining

    brockport has the number 1 dining services within the suny schools. there is a lot of good places to eat here and the are open late.

    Dorm Life

    i loved living on campus and meeting new people but i cant wait to live off campus next year.

    Academic Rigor

    you need to keep a 2.5 gpa

    Tips for prospective students

    join a club or a team!

    In three sentences

    i love it here, the friends, my teachers, my classes, and the things to do. i am obsessed with my major, exercise physiology. this school has a lot of sports and we are very competitive as a whole.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police is known to employ parking-ninjas to keep our campus and parking violators in line. See 3:40 at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ub3LheUVj2M&feature=youtu.be. But besides that, its in your best interest to respect the police here and call on them when you need the slightest of help because they are friendly and great service men and women. All in all, I feel safe at home here.

    Greek Life

    If you're looking for a Greek Life, check out one of our nationally-recognized fraternities or sororities like Pi Kappa Phi, which sponsors a week-long 24/7 sit-a-thon to raise money for kids with disabilities.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you're a math wiz living in the Community Service Learning Living Community who loves winter sports, fencing, art, and research, raising money for cures to cancer, is also environmentally aware and likes to build houses for Habitat for Humanity, and wants to study abroad in Ecuador then Brockport is the place for you. But don't think Eagles are limited to just these activities, there's something here for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    The on-campus dwellers have the best opportunity for success in academia and extra-curricular achievement.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brock-the-Port is the last celebration of Brockport pride in early May. This is the time to blow off some serious steam before finals and get free food, gifts, gags, and concert tickets with awesome attractions like local bands and glowing foam pits.

    Bang for the buck

    Brockport has the lowest SUNY tuition and offers nationally recognized programs, such as the Study Abroad Program. The nursing program and dance program brag high quality education that draws in a variety of students.

    What to do for fun

    Whether you like mid-night bowling; rustic movie theater atmosphere; shopping the nearby malls; or spending a night with friends at one of the many on-campus programs, like GloFest or Bill Nye the Science Guy, Brockport takes care of its students all day and all year long.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing beats mom's home-cooked meals, but the food here does a good job getting the student body up and active. Diligent employees grill quesadillas, serve lattes, and roll out sushi with dedication and smiles.

    Dorm Life

    I am proud to belong to part of the Residential Living department. The professional staff is supportive and flexible, and the student employees are fiercely loyal to this program and student residents. The community here is top-notch.

    Academic Rigor

    While Brockport is no Ivy League school, the curriculum prepares students for Ivy League level education in further undergraduate and graduate school settings with it's variety of educational supporting programs, such as the Ronald E. McNair Program, and many research opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider what kind of college student you want to be: a daily party-goer who ends up on alcohol probation and failing out of school, or a successful college graduate who knows how to let loose and relax responsibly. That holds true for any college, but false rumors about Brockport's party-school status unfortunately draw in some students who quickly learn that we do not tolerate party-school type activities. Take heart that Brockport has strong academics to offer excellent students, and strong methods to maintain that learning atmosphere on and off campus.

    In three sentences

    Brockport is a small-town community for the entire world. From our international studies program, to our residential life, to our classroom, Brockport provided me with a taste of everything that I wanted in the world. Come to Brockport if you want a place alongside the beautiful historic Eerie Canal that will enable your personal and academic growth with dedicated faculty and sensitive-to-your-needs staff while you prepare for the real world.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety and suny police so it's very secure and well maintained.

    Bang for the buck

    I paid for a private institution before transferring here and the level of academic instruction is 10x better for 1/6th the price.

    What to do for fun

    Go out and meet new people, local town has attractions, and campus has activities everyday.

    Food and Dining

    Rated #1 in the suny system

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all aspects of the college from the dorms to the weight room, the ins and outs of everything. Consider commuting to save money.

    In three sentences

    A local suny college at an affordable price compared to private or out of state institutions. Respectable science department and professors offer a welcoming transition from college or high school instruction. Large enough that you don't know everyone, but small enough to meet and make new friends.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Besides parties, every Friday there is a midnight movie that only costs a dollar.

    Food and Dining

    The best ever.

    Dorm Life

    The people in the dorms are very friendly and the ra's do activities once in awhile.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on how hard your willing to work. If you work hard the work will be easy if not then don't bother going to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely looks at the classes being given here and make your decision based on that.

    In three sentences

    Brockport is a small school atmosphere with lots of good qualities. The food here is rated number one in the state I believe. And the price for attending here is pretty cheap.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no clue

    Great for these types of students

    commuters, traditional students

    What to do for fun

    work, hike, bake

    Food and Dining

    Average

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for the commute and lots of snow!

    In three sentences

    It's a decent school and has a lot of undergraduate programs available. It has an active campus life. It is a good education for the price.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue emergency lights all around campus as well as campus police that you can call in case of an emergency. There is also Safe Ride which can safely transport you from one place to another with a simple phone call.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are abundant here. Brockport has a full workout area, tennis courts, racquetball courts, squash courts, basketball, an ice rink, and the SERC Project which should be completed in the Summer of 2012. The SERC project is yet another recreational facility that further expands what it already has.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get a lot for your money. A good education, assistance to make it through each semester, great food, and great places to live.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on on campus such as Late Night With Ellsworth and other such events. Even if you can't find an event you like there are many clubs and activities you can get involved in. There's also the town which has midnight movies for a dollar, a bowling alley as well as several delicious restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing and I understand it's the number one food service in the SUNY system. Everyday there is new meals and foods to choose from and it is never short on deliciousness. On special occasions there are special meals and that can really give you the sense of home that you will probably miss.

    Dorm Life

    The first year dorms are nice which is to be expected. However, the other dorms, those for transfers and upperclassmen, I've heard can be dirty or cramped but overall it's something you'll get used to.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking to come here I suggest you do so. Not only are you going to find a large community to get involved in but you will also find that you want to be engaged in it. The campus itself is nice and very friendly and the food here is great.

    In three sentences

    The SUNY College at Brockport is a great school to attend if you have decided or are undecided as far as your major goes. They also offer a lot of scholarships that will help you pay for it although it's not all that expensive. The staff a professors here always greet you with a small and your never short of the help and encouragement you need to get through the year.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police is very quick to respond. After 8pm, any student can call for an escort across campus from Student Patrol which is very nice. There are plenty of blue light emergency buttons located around campus.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities affiliated with the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of opportunities to join clubs on campus. There are a wide variety. Also plenty of varsity, intramural, and club sports.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a medium size school with a lot of friendly people, sports, extra curricular activities, or opportunities to work, Brockport is great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of every year, the student government hosts Brock the Port which is an outdoor concert. Before the concert there is all sorts of delicious food and fun games and activities. It is all free for Brockport Students.

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoy Brockport. I work for Dining Services to help pay my tuition but it is a great job. The school is a State University so it is much cheaper than many private schools but in my opinion, I am still getting a great education!

    What to do for fun

    The town of Brockport has many places to eat at as well as bowling and a movie theater. There are movies every Friday night at midnight for just $1 with your college ID. Brockport Student Government (BSG) also has activities to go to on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Our two buffet style dining halls have a great variety of food. There are a lot of cafes to use your dining money at when you don't want to go to the dining hall. There are plenty of healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are all very nice and all the suite style dorms are being redone. Living in the dorms is a great way to meet new people. Resident Assistants are available for help.

    Academic Rigor

    I like my classes and the learning environment is well balanced. Classes are not too big or too small. Teachers are available for outside help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to communicate with your advisers. They are there to help you! The library is a great place to get work done.

    In three sentences

    The College at Brockport has helped me to meet many great people. There are plenty of opportunities such as extra curricular activities, sports, and jobs on campus. I have learned so much from all of my professors.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs/bars around. Downtown Rochester is a 20 minute drive from campus. There's lots to do!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty decent food, TRAX is the place to be if you need late night food!

    Dorm Life

    Depends on who you live with and if you like them. Some of the dorms do need some updating.

    Academic Rigor

    Brockport definitely has some tougher classes, but you can make your schedule as hard or as easy as you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely plan out your schedule, and find your classes, Brockport can be big at first! Try to make a friend in each and every class, it'll benefit you greatly! Lastly, don't procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    The College at Brockport is a small enough school where you get to know people, but big enough where you don't know everyone. The atmosphere is very positive, and people are (generally) very nice. It has a wide variety of majors and minors to consider.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    My dining experience here has been exceptional. Currently, I am working in the Financial Aid department during the summer and every Wednesday The Union provides students who work at the college with free lunches. The food is delicious and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    I am very excited to be living on campus this year. I have visited the dorms numerous times over the past few years due to the fact that my brother also attends Brockport. The dorms are the perfect size and provide a relaxing environment to stay in. Before they assign the rooms, the college provides a survey to the students in order to have the best fit roommates staying together. Those who have the same major and a lot of similarities normally end up together, making it easier for relationships to evolve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should encourage themselves to experience new opportunities and make new friends. They should definitely take the opportunity to apply for scholarships. I would also advise for students to see if they are eligible for work-study. Working on campus is one of the most amazing experiences you could ever ask for. It also provides you with an opportunity to make new friends with other students on campus and to gain knowledge that will help you in the work place.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school! There is no other University that I would rather go to. I have been provided with experiences and opportunities that will last me a life time.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, there is a police department specifically for the campus (so a quick response) and there are 40 blue light phones scattered though campus to get a hold of them when you don't have your cell phone. There are also escort cars when you don't feel safe walking alone and the Eagle run, which will drive you within brockport and rochester when you are not able to drive (intoxicated etc)

    Greek Life

    Wasn't involve in. There are plenty of fraternities and sororities to choose from though.

    Clubs and Activities

    The brockport student government manages so many clubs from academic, activism, fun, or political. Join them!

    Great for these types of students

    It has been said to be a dance and a teacher school. But plenty of other majors are accomodated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brock-the-Port is an end of the year party in May with live concerts and food that student and the Brockport community celebrates.

    Bang for the buck

    Very worth your money. It is affordable (but books will always be expensive) Try buying books online instead of the bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    With main street so close to campus, there is always dining and bars to go to. Also, there is the Erie Canal and many parties to go to in the historic village.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services have been rated number one in the SUNY system for years. There are plenty of buffet style dining halls and made to order foods too. Pretty affordable and very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the newer dorms (Thompson) and loved it. They are renovated, not too hot or cold with the seasons, free laundry, lots of fun activities, and a large furnished room to call your own.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it depends on your course load and the classes you choose, I have taken biology, health science, and psychology classes along with my general education credits. Your personal strengths play a role, but expect to put some work in, in order to get those very possible A's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to orientation and live in the dorms to help make new friends. They even offer living, learning communities where you can be surrounded with people who have similar academic interests. Attend the college events because they are fun but also the valuable networking.

    In three sentences

    I love the faculty, research opportunities, and career guidance offered. It is large enough to have the resources such as labs but small enough so you don't feel like just a number. It is affordable and enriching.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of Living Learning Communities and clubs you can find

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SOS or Saturday of Service On Welcome Weekend there is mandatory volunteer service for 4 hours (just do it, wasn't that bad and you get to help people)

    Bang for the buck

    Plenty of potential scholarships, just do your research! They are really helpful and supportive

    What to do for fun

    Late Night with Ellsworth on Friday and Saturday nights. Plenty of free stuff to win! Midnight movies on friday for a dollar, and parties and club events

    Food and Dining

    Rated #1 for food in the SUNY system! There are several different meal options to chose from and the flex dollars can be used for several different dining options in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are decent sized (good thing too because most freshman are requited to live on campus) and not air conditioned so bring a fan. most options are a 4 person suite, doubles are only offered to freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    In my first semester and so far not too bad. You are constantly reading textbook chapters so stay on your game. For slightly major assignments they give you about one-two weeks so pay attention to deadlines

    Tips for prospective students

    Check all the deadlines! Some of the scholarship deadlines come really early, some even before the school's applications deadline. Do research and apply to any that you might even be eligible for. No harm in trying and the financial aid office is really helpful

    In three sentences

    The school has a great educational program and study abroad, but sometimes the people content leaves a little to be desired. If you want to involved in the crazy, that's the easy way out, but do your best to avoid it.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities abound on campus- you can find anything you are looking for!

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters and family

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not a tradition or location, but the grey squirrels are very strangely colored.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school that has a teaching staff dedicated to helping the student better themselves.

    What to do for fun

    The village of Brockport has many interesting places to visit, and is within walking distance of campus. There are a ton of on-campus activities that are a lot of fun, and if those aren't enough, Rochester NY is just down the road!

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, but pricey. Don't be stingy when applying money to your food account.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms as I could save several thousand dollars a year by living off-campus and commuting in.

    Academic Rigor

    Very engaging, the BFA program has required high levels of effort. It has also given me high levels or rewards in return for the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask senior students about instructors, they will be able to tell you which ones are good! Be prepared to walk, but it's a fairly compact campus compared to many. Try to not live on campus if possible- it is much cheaper to live off-campus.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Brockport is a good school with interesting and engaging instructors and a wide variety of courses. Being in the SUNY system, it is affordable and close enough to home to let me spend time with my family. The Fine Art Department has been particularly enjoyable and helpful during my time there.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are always on duty and making sure we're all safe and taken care of.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, open to new experiences, energetic, curious.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do at Brockport. Eat at Jimmy Z's or other places in the village, go shopping, walk along the erie canal, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is imaaculate. We're rated #1 in SUNY.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone so far is friendly and cooperative. Nothing too bizarre happens often.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses require more work and understanding than others. Nonetheless, the instructors seem to be very excited about what they're teaching, whether the subject is boring or not.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's an event called Club Craze where you discover all the clubs on campus.

    What to do for fun

    This coming Friday Gym Class Heroes is playing on campus. We have random activities to entertain us,

    Food and Dining

    Rated number one in the SUNY schools. The cookies are really delicious, however I need to stop eating them all the time.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate and I get along so well. Other people living in my hall get along great, we just walk into each other's dorms to say hello.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can be hard at times. The firsts tests I've had so far were stressful to study for but easy when it was time to take them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely attend college visits!

    In three sentences

    So far Brockport is a pretty good school. The faculty are very nice and helpful. The food is awesome!!

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities and sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you take those opportunities, you will be getting your investment back!

    What to do for fun

    Late Night with Ellsworth and friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity that you are given! You never know what will be revealed afterwards.

    In three sentences

    Brockport is amazing! So much fun here and I have been given so many opportunities to succeed. I do not regret going here one bit!

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard any negatives but thankfully have not had to utilize their services so far.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved and don't intend on being involved in this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not been involved in any so far.

    Great for these types of students

    This is good for students who want to go to a smaller college. This college is good for students who want more one on one time with professors and a small campus that is not too intimidating. Also good for students who are looking for cheap tuition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any right now.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for New York residents is CHEAP! This allows students to get a good education and not have huge loans afterwards. I went to this college for that reason. I am a working professional and don't have much money to spend on college. This fits the bill perfectly!

    What to do for fun

    There are sports teams and many clubs that you can join. Be sure to use them to meet new people and gain new experiences.

    Food and Dining

    I have not used these services yet.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living in the dorm. I have not spoken to anyone about their dorm experience there.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to attend actual classes but I have spoken with other people who have attended and they say good things about the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please make sure to speak with multiple departments to make sure your application (and hopefully acceptance) process goes smoothly. They are there to help you along the way so make sure to use their services.

    In three sentences

    Brockport is a nice small campus. It has a great cheap tuition for students. Staff is very friendly to work with.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I guess it is an inexpensive state school and if your expectations are low, you might find this a good fit

    In three sentences

    Seemed disorganized, indifferent and not welcoming. We specifically traveled to see a specific department and receive a tour during their open house. There was no tour and only a presentation which we were not told about until after it had started. Disappointing because I called the admissions office and was told there would be a tour and a table set up to speak wth a department. The department had no table, no tour and only a presentation which we missed because we were unaware of it. Even the representative we met from the department seemed disinterested in helping us and could not have been more aloof. I am glad this happened, as we now know this is not the place for a student who would like to be known as a person and receive attention from department heads and teaching staff. This place left us cold. We have visited more than 20 colleges and this was by far the most disappointing visit to date. Even the check in person was curt. Moving on....Good bye Brockport!

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police are polite and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for all students wanting to learn and grow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Diversity seminar every year is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There are college clubs for commuters, and on campus students. Brockport is fun.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent, there are several places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Does apply to me I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You will put your analytical and writing skills to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! Ask questions! Ask some more questions!

    In three sentences

    This is a great college to broaden your experiences in culture. The atmosphere is equivalent to a big extended family. The potential for learning is endless.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe in my opinion. The school has campus escorts where you can be picked up from a specific location on campus and dropped off at the destination you please (on campus) if you don't want to walk alone at night.Officers patrol the campus and there are blue-light phones for emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities that students can become involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone goes to the Union to get free popcorn. The school has an open popcorn machine.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do on and off campus. The school has events every Saturday. There's shuttles that take you off campus to the mall, Wegmans, Walmart and other locations nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing, it's #2 in the SUNY school system. There are healthy, vegan and gluten-free options, as well as, food that you want to pig out on.

    Dorm Life

    Some people I know were not completely compatible with their roommate. Personally, I'm satisfied with my roommate and I love her to pieces, she's awesome. It's a great experience. Of course you won't like everyone but you can easily socialize with others. The basic necessities are available at disposable i.e. laundry room, showers, stove, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is great academically. Classes are not difficult. It's only difficult if you make it that way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Adjustment will take time, so be patient.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Late night with Ellsworth: every Friday ans Saturday night there's an event for students as an alternative to what you can do on your weekends. Go to the midnight movie on The Strand Movie theater: for just $1 you can watch a movie and it is sponsored by the Brockport Student Government. Go to concerts and campus events. Play boardgames with my friends, take a walk through the canal, go to the mall on Saturday mornings, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food and dinning services.

    Dorm Life

    Join the Living Learning Communities. I believe there's 10 of them. That way you get to live with people that are in your classes for most of your college years. My Freshman Residence Hall was way better than I expected it to be. With renovations happening, they might look even better for the incoming class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded. Try to join study groups for your classes. Visit the merchants on main street. Join clubs and organizations. Go to events with your classmates, roommates, and/or friends. Be proactive.

    In three sentences

    A medium size campus with a lot of resources. Quiet enough for you to get work done but close enough to the city environment. A very friendly campus with a great sense of community.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is quick to respond, within a couple of minutes in most cases. They rarely are in the way, and for the most part employ students to patrol as to not make a big presence on campus. I can't think of any time the police were a nuisance, or were oppressive.

    Great for these types of students

    Business, sports, arts, and science in my opinion. This is a sports and business college to begin with, but the earth science and biology departments are some of the best in Western New York. The only field that is truly lacking is technology and the computer sciences, as there is just too much competition with the other Rochester colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brock the Port is an annual festival hosted by the student government the weekend before finals. Its a final blow-out for student to help through the stressful period of finals, and I would urge you to consider going here if stress is something you have trouble dealing with. Its nice to kiss the college year goodbye with your friends before your final tests of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has its typical overpriced costs, such as the tuition (set by New York), books (Barnes and Nobel), and food. But as compared to other colleges and universities, it could be much worse. There are plenty of ways to bring the cost down, if you are careful, and I would urge to seek those cost cutters.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus, and of course, it does have its parties. It is situated on the Erie Canal, giving a nice outdoor place to visit, and the town of Brockport has all the amenities. NYC is 6 hours away, but there is Rochester 30min away, and Niagra Falls 2 hours away. Lack Ontario to the north and Erie to the West, as well as Buffalo, there is something happening all the time in Western New York. On campus there are events that take place on and off campus, including trips that will provide transportation.

    Food and Dining

    This place has variety, which is definitely preferable. There are two dining halls, Harrison and Brockway. Harrison is much bigger, and I would suggest dining there, especially since Brockway is sometimes closed. If the dining halls aren't your thing, then downstairs from Harrison is Trax, a kind of fast food place that offers bar-like food; pizza, fries, wings, subs,etc. There is also a mini grocery store next to it where you can get healthier things for your dorms. Lastly, there is the Union, which has your typical fast food places, but this place is closed on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are the newest buildings on campus, and have the largest rooms, so there is no worry, however you want to try to get into a building that has a study room for your major. Transfers will almost always go to Harmon or Gordon Hall. These rooms are smaller, but still within comfort. If you are lucky enough, go for the high rises. Perry is perhaps the best, but any of the 4 buildings will give you a comfortable living. There are townhomes, and there are off campus apartments, but in my opinion are more than they're worth.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes down to a university, academia is everything, and this is no different. Prepare for hard work, but also for a lot of resources and help along the way. The work intensive classes are no joke, but your adviser will work to ensure that your classes are spaces as to not burn you out. DON'T try to take more than you can comfortably handle. Its not about when you graduate, so pace yourself or else you may find yourself in danger. I can attest to this, as it happened to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Either have your own insurance, or prepare to pay for it when you get accepted. The dining halls are alright, but don't try to go stingy on the meals. Also, enjoy the radio station, The Point. It is one of the few student run commercial/community radio stations.

    In three sentences

    This is definitely a high choice university for business and sports, but also lesser known for the sciences and arts. It is the perfect distance from a large city, giving you either as much or as little isolation from the city life as you want. The campus is in the process of renovation, but is still beautiful.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Step Team, Rugby, Cheerleading, Martial arts, their are a lot of great clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Out going and open minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lake.

    What to do for fun

    Their are alot of opportunties that Brockport provide. Join the campuse life and you wont regret it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study first and play later.

    In three sentences

    Brock port is a great environment where everyone is willing to help you. The teachers are great and the students are even better. The programs at Brock port are excellent.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bike rentals are available on campus. The town has many fairs and outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    Dining halls are clean and well-kept. Food is above-average to average.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are in pretty good shape, security is excellent. Make sure you bring a fan !!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my professors are very fair and very communicative. The vast majority send out emails whenever there are announcements or changes which helps letting all students know what is going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Send in housing applications and deposits as early as possible to get the dorm you want. Choose your classes as soon as they are available so you can setup a schedule that matches your own.

    In three sentences

    There is a very diverse student body. Brockport has many degree programs to choose from. The town of Brockport is within walking distance and offers many activities.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe. There are police right on campus, and emergency stations through out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus, for all interests. Every semester the school puts on an event called Club Craze in which every club has a post where students can sign up. I go every year just to see what's new and it's always fun.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something happening on- campus. My brockport ( the colleges event website) has a calendar of all events and a list of all clubs and organizations on campus. Or, just ask around and you're sure to find something. If you don't look for fun, you wont find any.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is really tasty and, it's easily accessible from any where on campus. There are two dinning halls Harrison and Brockway. On top of the dinning halls there are many cafes and food shops all over. The only problems I have with the food is that there aren't that many healthy options which can be frustrating when you're trying to loose that freshman 15. Also the lines to the dinning halls can be very long at times.

    Dorm Life

    There are three housing styles on campus, corridor, suite and townhome. I have lived in all three and had a great experience in all. My favorite was suite style, even though it isn't as pretty (because the buildings are older) as the other options, I found that I interacted with my peers more when I lived in the suites. Residential life, while overzealous at times, works really hard to engage residents in activities. The activities may seem corny at first but it's a great way to meet new people. Also, a bit of advice, Brockport has extreme temperatures. It's either extremely cold or extremely hot, so bring a fan for the summer and extra blankets in the winter no matter which dorm you live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging enough that you stay intrigued and learn but not so hard that you'd go crazy with stress. There are so many resources on campus that aim to help students academically. The Student Learning Center offers tutoring for almost every subject. Also, the professors here are always available to help students during office hours, even the most strict teacher will find time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're really interested in the school call in regularly to keep up with your application status, that's what I did and I'm pretty sure that's why I got in, it shows determination. Also I would advise you to research the academic programs here to see if it's really what you want.

    In three sentences

    I love being a student at the College at Brockport. The environment is so welcoming and the entire staff seems really dedicated to creating a great college experience for students. Also the professors are really caring and encouraging.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 Stars good

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports

    Great for these types of students

    Quit, laid back

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Oritory

    Bang for the buck

    Bus comes to Brockport form Rochester

    What to do for fun

    Shopping

    Food and Dining

    Excellent!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but I have heard so great things.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars great school to attend

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students take a tour of Brockport college. Explore the campus and meet and greet some of the professors. I would encourage prospective students to visit Brockport's website.

    In three sentences

    Brockport college is and outstanding school with an relaxed atmosphere for a student to learn and grown in. Brockport features the latest technology to aid in learning, and offers students challenging, coursework. Brockport employs nothing but the finest and most knowledgeable professors.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe when I walk across campus at midnight. There are multiple emergency posts stationed around campus, in case you don't have time to pull out your cell phone. Of course, I feel safe from the outside world, but there are also people who could hurt me from the inside. You can't be too dependent on the police.

    Greek Life

    I have not met too many 'Greeks', and I have decided they are not worthy of such a title. They seem to be arrogant and only care for partying.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do here! Anything you can think of, there is a club for it. Most of these can be found on Facebook.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can be comfortable here. I myself am a reserved artist, and I have found myself opening up at certain times. When it is cold, however, it really gets cold. If you are allergic to the cold air, there are no underground tunnels here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many building roofs that are accessible if you can find the way up. These spots are great to relax at. I know nothing of traditions, except always partying on the front lawns off-campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I am quite satisfied with the quality of Brockport with how inexpensive it is compared to other colleges. They favor determination and respect effort.

    What to do for fun

    I have honestly found that walking around campus and doing your homework outside of your dorm is the best way to go about meeting new people and having fun. As an Art student, I hang around Tower a lot, and there is always something interesting going on.

    Food and Dining

    As I'm sure you know, the food here is famous. Unfortunately, many students here expect TOO much out of the food, and become spoiled and unappreciative. There are always different options, and always something healthy to eat. The Harrison pizza is one of my favorites.

    Dorm Life

    Other than the obnoxious drunks who trample around at 3:00 in the morning, dorm life is quaint. Anything negative only happens because of careless dorm-mates. Sometimes the R.A.s treat us like irresponsible high school students, but they're just looking out for the building as a whole, and most of us do act like that.

    Academic Rigor

    The advisers and professors actually care for your success, so asking for help is that much easier. The grading policies are understandable and understanding. Getting your homework done as soon as you receive it will make your whole life easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you learn the campus map in and out BEFORE your first week of classes, everything else will seem a lot less stressful because at least you know where you're going!

    In three sentences

    There are endless possibilities and choices here at Brockport, from majors to group organizations. Everything here is clean and efficient, including most of the professors. I love the variety of people here.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe to walk around at night.

    Greek Life

    Hardly exists.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tutor for EOP

    Great for these types of students

    STEM

    Bang for the buck

    Great value!

    What to do for fun

    Make friends who live off of campus. Visit Rochester for dining and parks.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food!

    Dorm Life

    Cramped, lots of construction going on. The noise will keep you up

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging course material offered in the STEM departments. The liberal arts programs offer mostly trivial courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should: -Make an effort to visit professors during office hours. -Take advantage of the free tutoring/training courses offered. -Spend time in the library to interact with students outside of your major and also to pick up a good book.

    In three sentences

    The college itself is under perpetual construction, but the village of Brockport is a quaint place to live while attending SUNY Brockport. My fellow classmates are motivated for the most part, which makes courses more engaging than if they were apathetic. Brockport is an affordable college that offers STEM programs at a slightly above par academic rigor.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone is given the numbers to put in their cells and there are phones on campus. I felt very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many options, and the LLC's are the best.

    What to do for fun

    So much! Just the common rooms are fun, but there are bunches of clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Dining halls are awesome almost like a mall food court.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing dorms, just enough room, some have a nice view too.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be challenging, but the professors are there to help.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency booths almost everywhere on campus and there are safety patrols who drive you from door-to-door on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS AND LOTS OF CLUBS

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet yet willing to step out their shell

    Bang for the buck

    RAs (Resident Assistants) in freshmen buildings are really amazing and it's good to create a relationship with them for the ear future Advisers are very good too. They tell it to you like it is, no hidden secrets (eg. You are never graduating in exactly four years unless you take both summer and/or winter classes) ALWAYS ASK QUESTIONS

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies with friends, attend Late night with Ellsworth in the Union, just walk around Main street, sit outside and there's always something to do on campus so you never bored.

    Food and Dining

    Food is average but can gain a couple of pounds in just a few weeks.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty nice especially living in the freshmen dorms because there's always an activity to do in the building

    Academic Rigor

    INTENSE but most likely depends on the professor

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always on task because once you miss an assignment or two, it's hard to get back on track Try to make friends with people in the same field as you so you'll always have some form of encouragement Get involved on campus

    In three sentences

    The college has a very quiet and productive environment which gives you the opportunity to study wherever you are All the professors want the best for you School work is pretty intense

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brockport has a Safe Ride which mean at any point in time if you are walking on the campus and you feel unsafe just call a certain number and they will pick you up and take you where you need to go. There are also numerous blue lights places throughout the campus. I have never felt more safe anywhere else.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brockport have hundreds of clubs that you can choose from and if you don't like any of them or can't find one that fits you, just make your own!

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for here at Brockport. Its a fantastic college and I am so glad that I was not only accepted but also choose to come here.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things going on at Brockport it is impossible to be bored. Along with main street and the surrounding town. The Student Government at Brockport puts on multiple different events every day. If you take the opportunity there is no chance that you will ever be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The College at Brockport offers so many options for food every day that sometimes its hard to choose. All of the food options are very healthy and also delicious. I believe that we are ranked number two in the SUNY systems food. Now I see why!

    Dorm Life

    I live in the oldest building on campus and although the building is not in the best shape you hardly notice it. The beds are surprisingly comfortable and most everything is very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Right now I am only a first semester so right now I am taking general education classes. Although they are not specific to my major they are challenging and are getting me prepared for the work that I am going to have to do later on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always sit in the front of big lecture classes. You pay a lot of money for your favorite concert right? You want the best seat possible. You're paying just as much money in college if not more, so why not get the best seat in the house?

    In three sentences

    The College at Brockport is in my opinion the friendliest college in New York. Everyone here wants what is best for you and will do everything they can to help you succeed. Professors are always available to help you and are more than willing to go out of their way for you.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive but there are many options in town that are cheap

    Dorm Life

    No idea, don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to do the work, this may be a state school but by no means is it a easy pass school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get stuff in before deadlines!

    In three sentences

    Well laid out campus, lots of opportunities, and new facilities. Childcare available through child ed program.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much in a small town.

    In three sentences

    Good school for a good price. However, staff lacks empathy. With that said staff in offices like financial aid, student accounts, etc. also lack knowledge of their jobs.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brockport is a very safety conscious campus. Students swipe their id's to enter residential buildings, campus police are certified officers with the ability to make arrests, and police make regular rounds around campus as well as within the buildings. There is also a service called Safe Ride, if you are on or close to campus and you don't feel safe walking around, call safe ride and they will pick you up and take you where you need to be. This service is only offered after 8pm, but if during the day you find yourself needing a safe ride, you call the same number and they connect you to the campus police who will give you a police escort.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are PAGES upon PAGES upon PAGES of clubs and activities at Brockport. There is something for everyone. Check it out on the Brockport website.

    Great for these types of students

    Brockport is a place for students who want a more intimate education. Who want to be a name, not just a number in a lecture hall. Brockport is for the students who want to be close to everything they need. But most of all, Brockport is for the students who don't mind the cold (that lake effect snow and the wind will get you every time! Brr!)

    What to do for fun

    Town is an eight to ten minute walk away. There are a bunch of cute little shops, diners, and a movie theater that offers 1$ midnight movies to college students. On campus the Student Events and Recreation Center (SERC) hosts sporting events, lectures with guest speakers, and concerts (we just had B. O. B. here!) The Seymore Union also hosts Friday fun nights that can involve ice skating, movies, and even grocery bingo. Events are happening continuously around campus, residential assistants (RA's) post flyers in the dorms frequently to keep students informed.

    Food and Dining

    Out of all of the SUNY schools, Brockport by far has the best food. Each dish served is labeled for gluten, peanuts, and other possible allergies. Brockport buys food products locally as often as possible, ensuring the healthiest and tastiest food for students.

    Dorm Life

    Brockport consists of three types of dorms: the regular corridor style for freshman specifically, four person suites for freshman and transfers, and six person suites for upperclassmen. Dorms are renovated fairly regularly. As a whole, the students at Brockport are a part of a very tight-knit community, you will often hear people calling it the Brockport Village.

    Academic Rigor

    As said earlier, the professors at Brockport are determined for their students to succeed. Many stay late after classes to speak with students and others have open office hours that students can go to for some extra help. There is also the Student Learning Center that provides free tutoring to students. Brockport WANTS you to perform to your academic best!

    Tips for prospective students

    GET TO KNOW YOUR PROFESSORS! Even the nicest professor can seem intimidating while teaching a large lecture. Don't let that stop you. Simply introducing yourself after the first class can be a MAJOR step in your academic excellence. Professors are more likely to approach you about issues in your work and provide you with solutions if you take that first step of establishing that student-teacher bond.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely wonderful. SUNY the College at Brockport is a nice and compact campus that allows students to walk everywhere from their dorms (even to town). Campus is filled with amenities, a top notch dining system, student health center, gymnasiums, and free tutors. If that wasn't enough, Brockport is filled with dedicated professors who are willing to go that extra mile to help their students achieve greatness.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very protective

    Greek Life

    Small and unrecognized

    Clubs and Activities

    Many opportunities

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking success after college

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with a club sport, eat out, and meet new people!

    Food and Dining

    Many options for all preferences.

    Dorm Life

    The suites allow a private space, while the corridors are brand new and beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are interactive and supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the office to help with financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Brockport is fun and has a lot to offer. The academics are top notch. The community is involved.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe. They have blue lights all around campus that you can press for the police. You can't access dorms with a student ID. the university police stay on campus and are always around. I've even been busted by them a couple times.

    Greek Life

    Avoid delta sigma at all cost parties included. They are creepy and drug and rape people. Picapps are pretty chill. Most of the sororities are crazy bitches,

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know much about them but I know we have about 100

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, mediocre dancers who want a degree, partiers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Jimmy z's is a must. Lax parties rock. Stone yard on the weekends can't be beat.

    Bang for the buck

    In state tuition is cheap. Room and board is pretty overpriced especially if you're not in a new dorm. I've pretty much only taken dance classes. The teachers are good it's just extremely easy. The gen eds I've taken are completely average.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the bars, go to house parties in town, get food at jimmy z's, calzonies, the brockport diner. There's movies and bowling. Join a club. Go to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! They have a lot of choices. Salad bar and deli everyday. Dessert and fruit options everyday. Some kind of pasta every night which I LOVE. ice cream bar once a week. They have a lot if options.

    Dorm Life

    I live in one of the new dorms MacVicar. It's very well kept, super clean, relatively spacious. Bathrooms are cleaned everyday. One of my friends is not so lucky she's in an older dorm and they have bugs in the ceiling that fall on them in the shower!!

    Academic Rigor

    Being a dance major I'm disappointed in the dance programs it's extremely easy, I have a 40 year old woman in my classes who looks like she's never danced before. My gen eds are completely average. I enjoy the school just not my major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have rain boots and a big winter jacket. Make friends who live off campus. Make friends with people on sports teams. That's how you get invited places.

    In three sentences

    Great town, great people, unchallenging in my major.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brockport is serious about safety. They even have a FREE engraving program where students can get their laptops and other valuables engraved to deter theft.

    Great for these types of students

    Brockport is really great for almost any kind of student. From English to Dance to Accounting, they offer many programs. The B.S. Accounting program is followed by an M.S. in Forensic Accounting program which meets the 150 hour requirement for the CPA exam. It is also nice that they offer classes during the evenings and has a robust online offering as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a SUNY school, you are comforted to know that the education is solid, the reputation is solid, the programs are solid and it is far more affordable than the private schools. That makes it worth the drive.

    What to do for fun

    Brockport itself is a small town but you're not far from Rochester. There are also a lot of parks around.

    Food and Dining

    I commute but there are lots of cafes around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but they did put some new buildings up which look really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    So far the classes I have taken do work you. No easy A's here. But the teachers will work with you to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a drive to the campus. It is possible to commute from Rochester if you don't mind the drive. The faculty is pretty responsive through e-mail and even the offices I've reached by phone have been the nicest and most helpful people I've dealt with at any school.

    In three sentences

    This is a SUNY school which means it is a great education and an excellent value for the price you pay. They have several accredited programs and cater to night and online students.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brockport is pretty safe. Since it is a small town the people are pretty friendly and walking around late at night isn't a big deal. They have this thing called safe ride that drives around, picks you up and carry you back to your dorm, there are also these phones which you are able to call the campus police if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and they even have a club craze where you can see all of the clubs they have. There are always activities going on and flyers are put up so it won't be hard to miss.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like quiet, if you love sports,

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on around campus. Look for the flyers. There are chicken wing eating contest, friday nights with Ellsworth where they show free movies, spa nights, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Brockport works around meal plans which allows you to go to the dinning halls. In the dinning halls, food is good at first but then it gets annoying. Sometimes they have special events or on special holidays they have really good food. There are also dinning dollars which you can use at some of the stores we have at multiple places around campus. You can grab snacks and drinks to go at trax, eagles nest, etc.

    Dorm Life

    As a first year student I suggest you choose a double because I chose a suite and those buildings are really old. But you have your own bathroom and common area and that's better sometimes because I don't have to leave my room much to do things. There's little study halls in each dorm which allow you to study just in case your roommate wants to blast music while your trying to do your homework. But overall dorm life is fun, RA's can get annoying but that is their job.the

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't necessarily hard. It's honestly depends on your work ethic and the time and effort you are willing to put into your studies. Another factor is your major but anyone who attends the college at brockport will do well and we have a good bunch of faculty and staff who do care!

    Tips for prospective students

    Brockport is a very cold place so if your up for it, this is the place for you. If you like partying? The school can be pretty quite at times so that might not be so good for you. It is a small school so you will see lots of the same people over and over so it won't be hard to make friends. Make sure you visit and spend the night and then do it again for orientation. Go to events they have on campus, make friends, utilize the library they have lots of stuff, join clubs!

    In three sentences

    The College at Brockport is a great school for nursing, sports management, exercise science, and many other sports related majors. Attending the college you will be able to know people and get involved with things that make you a very well rounded student.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police and Safe Ride are always there to help as well as the Residential Advisers! Along with this there are blue saftey lights all around campus

    Greek Life

    There's 4 Greek Life clubs

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for anything you could be interested in! and if we dont you can always start one!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone- Honestly!

    Bang for the buck

    There's always financial aid available and scholarships for people who look and seek it out!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies in Brockport, go to the SERC, walk around town, there's a Walmart and Wegmans fairly close to campus and if you want in walking distance. If you have a car there's a mall 20 minutes away as well.

    Food and Dining

    Never disappointing! There's a gluten free menu, and has the red, yellow, and green to show you if it's healthy or bad for you to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I love the corridor style it feels cozy and like you're at home!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your roommate about what each of you are bringing, to ensure there's no doubles of anything. Go to as many events as you want even if it's alone, you'll meet new people with the same interests for sure! There's no reason to stay in your room all the time, open the door and let people in and talk. The first year at a new school will be tough, but utilize professors hours and always ask questions!

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean, friendly, and the perfect size. The food is very healthy, for those interested. You will never feel out of place here!

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We a have 24-7 Safe ride service if you feel nervous about walking anywhere On campus police Well lit sidewalks emergency light polls and phones every 30 yards or so

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds of clubs and activities to choose from! Something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brock the Port - a HUGE on campus celebration after spring break

    What to do for fun

    Every Friday we have a local movie theatre that has $1 tickets available for midnight showings. We have an ice-skating rink open Friday nights We have hundreds of clubs, from Taekwondo and Rugby, to Equestrian Club and clubs for every major We have a bowling ally right up the road Right down the road we have Main Street, a cute little part of town that has the movie theatre, coffee shops, pizza joints, bars, smoke shops, and more

    Food and Dining

    We are rated #1 in SUNY schools when it comes to our dining experiences. Harrison and Brockway, our two dining halls are full buffet and are ready to accommodate every life style (vegetarian, vegan, etc.)

    Dorm Life

    I'm an RA in one of the Freshman Dorms and I truly believe the learning happens in the dorm, not the classroom. You learn how to live with others, how to do your own laundry, interact with fellow residents at building events, and of course start an independent living style. Our dorms are cleaned every morning by our cleaning staff and those who live corridor style also have bleached bathrooms every morning. We have lounges with flat screens, no-pay laundry rooms, and study rooms equipped with white boards.

    Academic Rigor

    I suppose this depends on the courses you take. If we are talking Art 101 or a swimming class, of course its going to be easy. But if you take many Biology and Chemistry classes like I did, you will know the classes here are hard but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure Brockport is the right choice for you by attending an open house and perhaps even one of our Scholar Sleepovers so that you can get a feel for what living here would feel like.

    In three sentences

    Brockport is a small yet supportive community in which students can really be themselves and set out to be the best they can be. The professors really care if you learn and we have a great Student Learning Center for all your tutoring needs. The campus is also quite beautiful in every season.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Caucasian white American

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    trax dining is amazing

    Bang for the buck

    reasonably cheap school

    What to do for fun

    A lot of sporting activities.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make lots of friends.

    In three sentences

    Very welcoming and organized.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun students can join a sport, a frat, a play, or club sport. This college offers so many exciting things for students to do. I am on the schools football team and I couldn't be happier with the program I've joined. The school has a fantastic sports program.

    Food and Dining

    Brockport College has the best dining services in my opinion. The dining halls are always making sure your food is fresh and that you get your meal the way you want it. There are two dining halls that are open pretty much the whole day, and once they are closed, there is tons of other on-campus dining services such as Trax, which offers phenomenal food at a cheap price.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are wonderful! They are all very roomy and clean when you first move in. All the RA's are nice and are here to help you.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at the college are wonderful. They all know what they are talking about and want to see you succeed. When teachers are not available for help, the college offers free tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for future students would be:l Do not let the college life get in the ways of your studies. Make friends with the same major as you. Get involved in student activities. The teachers want to see you succeed, so make sure that you are putting all your effort in your academic work.

    In three sentences

    The college is very small which I like. The dorms are very neat and clean. The teaching here is wonderful.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The greek life is small. This is due to the fact that this school is a big sports schools. Instead of a big greek life, the sports teams take place of that

    What to do for fun

    On campus events occur regularly. Things are posted vis email and on the college website. Movies, sporting events, and other interesting fun events occur on campus, and for free (for the most part)!

    Food and Dining

    We are rated number one within the SUNY system. Hot food is served for all three meals. And there is a huge salad bar that is open throughout the entire day.

    Dorm Life

    Just like any other schools, the dorms are not beautiful and huge. They are just like a normal dorm. The furniture is in good shape, fairly new. And the common areas are quite large in the upper class man dorms. This school does have a two year residency but this allows you to really see who you would want to live with for the last two years of your college career.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very prestigious school in which professors expect a lot from you. You are expected to put your best work in everything that you do. Professors will push you more then you may expect you can be pushed.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Create close relationships with peers and professor. -Stay on top of your work (do not procrastinate). -Get and stay involved with the school. -Attend social events as well as professional educational events. -Do not take these four years for granted, they will fly by!

    In three sentences

    This school is a very prestigious school in which expects a lot from each and every student academically as well as social aspects. Very close connections between students and professors due to the size as well as professors interest with having their students succeed. One will be set up for a successful future when attending this school.